TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Investigation into garda detective killing continues

Gardaí have confirmed that there have been no arrests at this stage as the investigation into the shooting dead of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe continues.

Detective Garda Adrian Donohue
Image: Garda Press Office

THE INVESTIGATION INTO to the killing of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe in Louth on Friday night is continuing today with a reported 100 gardaí assigned to the case.

The 41-year-old father-of-two was shot dead at the Lordship Credit Union at Bellurgan in Jenkinstown, north of Dundalk at around 9.30pm on Friday night.

Donohoe and his partner, named as Detective Garda Joe Ryan, were on their usual cash escort at the credit union office when Donohoe approached four men in a car and was shot in the head by one of them.

The armed raiders fled the scene with what is widely reported as being €4,000 in cash and headed in the direction of Dundalk. Ryan was not injured in the incident but is said to be extremely traumatised by the event.

A garda spokesperson confirmed this morning that the investigation into the incident is ongoing and there have been no arrests related to the shooting at this stage.

Condolences

Gardaí say want to speak to anyone in the Bellurgan, Jenkinstown, Dundalk area between 6pm and 9:30pm on Friday night as well as anyone who may have seen a dark-coloured saloon car driving towards Dundalk – or possibly the M1 – during the assailants’ getaway.

Anyone with information is asked to contact the incident room at Dundalk Garda Station at 042 938 8470, the Garda Confidential line at  1800 666 111, or any Garda station.

“This is a cry for help for An Garda Síochána and for wider society – and indeed society needs to make some choices here,” Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan told a press briefing at Dundalk Garda Station, where Donohue was based, yesterday.

A book of condolences has been opened at St Patrick’s GFC Club in Lordship, where Donohue lived with his family, and will be available to sign from 11am this morning.

“RIP Big A. Thanks for all you have done for our community. x,” a message posted on the St Patrick’s GFC Facebook page said this morning.

Separately nearly 40,000 people have ‘Liked’ a Facebook page paying tribute to the late detective.

Read: Commissioner issues ‘cry for help’ as more details of Garda’s death confirmed

More: ‘An outrageous act of cold blooded violence’ – Taoiseach condemns garda killing

More: Community shocked after shooting dead of ‘respected’ Garda detective

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• Wow that mans life rubbed out for just 4 grand and no doubt its spent already! Don’t know how these people sleep at night

• They will be got, those rats won’t hide forever.

• 100 members of the Garda and a shocked nation looking for these animals.

• Can’t help but wonder if the culprits were mere amateurs. €4000 for a life. Don’t think it will be too long before they are caught.

• A brave man’s life for €4k? Piano wire, lamp posts and testicles spring to mind for the cowards that did this. Hanging would be to easy for them!

• Terrible. Name and shame these filthy animals A line been crossed.

• Don’t matter if it,s £4 or 4 million, the way they killed this man, father, and husband was sick. This mans family deserve justice, unfortunately we don’t have a suitable punishment for the culprits. I just hope and pray that the culprits families and friends name them. And soon, ,RIP a fallen hero

• Elrat 27/01/13 #

Anybody who harbours these pond life should also be charged with murder!

• R.I.P. Garda.

• Mr Shatter its time to relise lives and society is more important than money,
    My Condolences to this brave man’s family and colleagues.

• The thin blue line just keeps getting eroded away.. Not much left of it now.. Gardai and Society need to unite as one and stand up against all these so called political leaders

• 4 grand? ffs. if life has become this cheap we need the death penalty back. hook up an electric chair and fry them.

• The money is there to pay the Gardai if Shatter and his pals cut their own pay and perks. The Guards deserve to be paid properly for the job they do and we deserve to sleep in our beds at night knowing that if something happens we can call our local station and not one an hour or further away

• it’s a battlefield up there in Leinster house (being sarcastic!!)

they deserve all the luxuries they’ve secured and we sit idly by after the government stated they will not even discuss cutting their own wages or expenses!! (no need to point out sarcasm here i hope)

• Just go away Ruairi.

And learn to spell in the process

• Gardaí believe it was a criminal gang rather than dissidents. Lot of people on here yesterday evidently thought they knew otherwise and spouted their usual anti-republican bile on a comments page that should’ve been left for RIP messages and messages of support for the Gardaí.

• im sure we are not being given all the details, but when did these guys get the money if they were sitting in a car when approached by gardai, had they already robbed the money or did they rob it after they shot the garda?
    one other thing im confused about is why do gardai escort security company’s, if securty companies cant collect money without garda escorts I think they shouldnt be doin such a service
    rip to the officer

• It amazes me why someone would give a thumbs down to a post saying RIP to this brave man. Shame on you faceless cowards

• Should ther not be the death penalty for murderers of Gardai and Prison Officers, or at the very least TOTAL life imprisonment?

• If this is a criminal gang then things are getting very bad indeed. It shows that they have no fear of Gardaí, no fear of a short sentence in an Irish luxury prison. I believe that they are not afraid because they know that 9 times out of 10 an unarmed Garda will turn up before an armed one. I know people that this Garda was armed, however he was ambushed without a chance. I believe that arming the Gardaí should have been discussed in the Dail after the uniformed Garda was shot at twice in Dublin late last year. I believe that if they arm the Gardaí they will improve their on going training. They will put fear back into the criminal, and this is the only thing they fear, they are cowards. These people will not want a fair fight. Imagine if you are a criminal, you know that if you do something it will be most likely unarmed Gardaí that turn up. Now imagine if you are a criminal and every Garda that turns up is armed. We are living in a new Ireland, international criminals live and work in Ireland. Our Irish criminals have access to more firearms than ever. Tazer or firearm it is time to protect our Gardaí. 99% of the worlds police are armed, why are our police not worthy of that protection. I really believe that we will not need to wait 17 years for the next murder. So now folks what do we do?

• Rest in peace.. Condolences to his Family and all his comrades friends & everyone who loved him.. Sad times.!

• Arming uniformed Gardai will never happen and not for some reason of tradition or good faith. It is a purely financial move to save money on extra training, extra weapons & ammunition and litigation arising out of using firearms. Gardai used to all be firearm trained as standard but that stopped in the late 90′s to save money. Alan Shatter is currently trying to remove and reduce firearms and armed Gardai at local level preferring specific specialist patrols to cover. The whole Police force is being run on a shoestring with sub standard vehicles and equipment with Gardai winging it in the hope that nothing goes wrong. They can throw 100 Gardai at this horrible murder but it’s too little too late. It’s guilt money. Nobody should be murdered at work but it is clear that there is no longer a fear of law and order. All this government can do is pit the private sector against the public sector but it seems that, for now anyway, this brave Detective has united people in his death with unprecedented support for our police from the public. Don’t let Detective Garda Donohoe die in vain.

• Nobody gives a f*ck about your story here mate…

• what the fcuk are you blathering on about?

• I was deeply saddened to hear of your loss. My thoughts are with you. I hope there will be justice. To the family, “Casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.” – Hebrews4:15-16. It will keep you strong and face the world with a happy heart. Please accept my condolence words.

• Jack what if the Gardaí paid for the weapons out of their own pocket? Just give me a sec to explain. What if they fronted the cash up front and then received a tax incentive later in the year? I know a hell of a lot of Gardaí that are interested in this. It would up skill the Gardaí, and give them immediate protection, better protection. I do not want to see another Garda killed or injured because the did not have better protection. There is some top notch tech available at the moment. Go onto YouTube and look up alternative tazer technology. Worth thinking about, if the GRA are looking at these they should take note.

• Damien, I have no idea how Gardai would feel about that but I imagine they would have to still be trained to a Garda approved standard costing money. As a relative of an ex Garda I support the police force having seen at first hand the conditions these fine people forced to work under.

• Wait till it happens to you or someone you know and get no help whatsoever. Freedom of speech.

• Why is there over 100 gardai assigned to this case if he was just a normal guy or some thug with criminal history there wouldn’t be that amount of gardai assigned to the case

• Forgot to mention this is a bad thing and I do hole they get caught RIP

• There are enough trolls on here without you adding to it Stephen.

• Because Stephen when you kill the civil power in cold blood the hole fabric of society starts to tear at the seams… I agree, every death should be afforded the same resources but it’s not possible. These s*um have to be found, they have to be punished so severely that it sends a message.. Our country is losing control. Respect is all but gone… It’s time to throw away the gloves, not just take them off and take these low life b*sta*ds out…. I VOLUNTEER

• The main reason is that the Garda was acting in the line of duty. Were it a Soldier,fireman,nurse the same resources would be utilised.
      If you look at the teams that are involved in any murder case you will find the same resources are utilised.
      Of late the Garda have brought closure to old cases and caught the guilty.
      Even if someone “known to the Garda”gets shot the Garda will allocate a large investigation team.
      The Garda are like a large family and like any family if one is slain it angers the rest .
      Sorry for the long winded reply but I have a feeling a few folk will have a go at you.

• The Minister needs to offer a deal immediately to one of the three guys who didn’t use the gun in this appalling murder. To help make such an arrangement legally kosher he should sit down with the Director of apublic Prosecutions and ensure they are of a similar mind in the event that someone comes forward to give evidence.
      The cold blooded shooting of a Garda who had his empty hands out is clear evidence of a sick and perverted mind. If the robbery was being carried out by Republicans they need to know that this shooter is a major liability and it would be wiser to hand him over to the State immediately as the Gardai ramp up an all out war on the Movement and its thugs.

• Mark where did you get the idea that it is Republicans when it is now being widely reported that this was probably the work of a criminal gang from Louth. To use the death of this Garda to further your own personal political agenda is, in your own words, ” clear evidence of a sick and perverted mind”. You ranted own with the same shite yesterday with absolutely no evidence and you are still at it today. Any chance that you would show some respect to the fallen Garda by not trying to use his death as a means to attack others. It is disgraceful and shows the height of disrespect to a brave hero defending the community, you should be ashamed of yourself.

• Couldn’t have put it better myself Brian, Mark is a disillusioned troller, ignore it from now on.

• @brian

Just ignore mark, he was commenting all day yesterday having a go at people for no apparent reason. It’s obvious he’s a troll.

• Folks,
      mark aka paddy,michael j etc is a known and reported troll that posts only to cause a row.
      He/she cowers behind a false twitter account .
      Pay no attention.

• No crime without poverty,no poverty without crime

Add New Comment