TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Ahern “hurt and disappointed” by Mahon, will leave Fianna Fáil

“I can’t allow this blemish on my character to go unanswered,” former Taoiseach says of Mahon report.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

FORMER TAOISEACH Bertie Ahern has defended his evidence to the Mahon Tribunal and said he was “hurt and disappointed” by the Tribunal findings, which he rejects as “inaccurate and unsubstantiated”.

The Tribunal report said Ahern had not truthfully accounted for over IR£65,000 in lodgments to bank accounts associated with him. The report’s publication on Thursday prompted FF leader Micheál Martin to propose the expulsion of Ahern, Pádraig Flynn and other FF politicians identified in the Tribunal.

The expulsions are due to be put before the party’s national executive on Friday.

Ahern has now confirmed that he will resign from the Fianna Fáil party, saying he doesn’t want the motion to expel him to become “divisive” for the party.

In a piece published by the Sunday Independent, Ahern says that the resignation “is not an admission of wrongdoing in regard to the report of the Mahon Tribunal,” adding that “nobody should try to interpret it in that way”.

He described his decision as a political one, saying that he believes the party has “more pressing issues to contend with than whether or not I am a member of a local cumann in Drumcondra”.

Ahern also repeated his earlier assertions that he told the truth to the Tribunal and had “received no improper payment”.  He also criticised the Tribunal for rejecting his evidence and the evidence of those he said had corroborated his statements.

“I have done nothing wrong,” he added.

“I have to be true to myself,” the former Taoiseach writes. “It would be far easier for me to say nothing and try to forget about this nightmare. But I can’t allow this blemish on my character to go unanswered.”

On Friday, Martin said that a “root and branch” review of the Dublin central constituency would be carried out and that the local organisation’s assets would be transferred to the national group.

Yesterday former councillor Joe Burke, one of the members of the trust which holds the deeds to St Luke’s in Drumcondra, where Ahern still uses an office, said that he would not block efforts to transfer control of the property to the national FF organisation.

However, Burke criticised the media and Micheál Martin for pursing Bertie Ahern.

In a statement responding to the Mahon report on Thursday, Ahern said he would “continue to examine ways in which to vindicate” his name.

Good Friday Agreement ‘cannot absolve’ Ahern on Mahon implications: Martin >

Mahon on Bertie: Payments worth IR£165,000 ‘not truthfully accounted for’ >

Bertie Ahern: I hid nothing…I have told the truth >

Read TheJournal.ie’s Mahon Tribunal coverage in full >

Read next:

Comments (80 Comments)

• He still doesn’t get it does he

• Brian 25/03/12 #

It’s entirely appropriate that Ahern is being given a platform by the Sunday Independent to try and excuse his shameful actions. Both belong in the past, both are proven liars and both are utterly deluded.

• The arrogance of the man!! This whole situation says more about the Irish people than anything else! Why all the screaming for Aherns head now? The tribunal findings only confirmed what everyone’s know for years! At the end of the day, nothing’s going to change. There’ll be a few so called investigations, and then in a few years the DPP will say there’s insufficient evidence to bring charges against anybody! Ahern, Flynn and co will still live Comfortably at our expense! At the very least, the government has to find a way to cancel their pensions!

• @Brian,

This is typical of the Sun Independent. It’s no different to the cheap tabloids, just its size in sheets/print. They did the same during the Presidential election. They totally left Senator Norris out of their issue the Sunday before the elections because he thanked McGuinness during the RTE debate for his part in the Good Friday Agreement. They were, supporting him up to then.

They printed 2 pages on the elections with photographs of the candidates. The only one missing was Senator Norris. How pathetic is that. Journalism my ass, cheap tabloid journalism alright!

• Scrap his pension AND hit him with a massive CAB bill for unpaid taxes.

• “Blemish on my character”. What character?

• Ciaro 25/03/12 #

If Micheal Martin had any balls he wouldn’t accept Aherns resignation. He should face the shame of expulsion.

• “I have to be true to myself,”…. that would be a start I suppose…

• Why cant people just accept that he had a combined communion and confirmation fund of 380,000? is it really so hard to believe?

• Nicola 25/03/12 #

Well said. His comment about the stadium disgusted me. On his watch this country walked a path to disaster & his only regret is not building a stadium? The arrogance of Bertie Ahern is quite simply astounding. Aside from corruption allegations, he has been found to have lied under oath. And for that alone he shouldn’t be receiving a penny from the state as a pension. He is a disgrace and if I ever come across him I will tell him so to his face.

• He describes the Mahon report as a ” blemish” on his character …says it all really ! A blemish is a pinprick this is a a huge and irreparable self mutilation on his own character…Aherne you are a dispicable character !

• Gangster. Simple as that!

• I have yet to hear of any politican ever holding up their hands and admitting wrong doing in any of the multiple tribunal findings through out the years,, no all of them trot out the well used phase ” I was never in politics because of the money” I’m surprised that the politics hasn’t a charitable status at this stage!

• @ Niamh

Love your comment. I know ‘a few’ do start out meaning well and want to help the electorate, but sadly, they do get lazy, sometimes they may feel they are banging their heads against the wall, and sadly, this is when they give up.

They realise that it is not a 9-5 job, they forget that they’re being paid way over the odds and expect ‘overtime’ payments, so that’s when they feel they’re entitled to be different to me, you. That’s when some of them (allegedly) choose the wrong path called, “Me, Myself, I” Shame on you aherne, flynn etc.

• Think you should close comments for this article or you will be deleting most of the abusive comments for rest of the day. And its a lovely sunny day as well.

• We never got a chance to see how many gombeen in fianna fail still follow the the auld corrupt ways. Thats unfortunate becuase I think the party is full of flat cap gombeens

• jimbo 25/03/12 #

Lyin b*****d you where caught now get lost face the facts and your punishment

• Now that we have the mahon report and its findings in respect of corruption in local,national,council departments when it came to gaining planning permission.Can we now have a statement from Phil Hogan as to the reasons why he shut down 6 investigations into local planning decisions which were set up by John Gormley.What is he afriad of been exposed

• Good riddance to bad rubbish! The test is now whether FG will push for a full legal investigation via the DPP.

• Don’t hold your breath on that one. A way will be found to brush it under the carpet. They’ll go through the motions & nothing will come of it. If I sound cynical, well – we’ve learned to become cynical when it comes to our politicians. The new & younger breed of politicians have an opportunity to clean all that out. I hope !!

• Now all we need is Michael Martins resignation too! This facade of being shocked at the Mahon report is laughable! He was sitting around that cabinet table when all this was going on

• Lock him up and use his big pension to fund his 20 year stint in Hotel Mountjoy!

Simple, he’s banged up where he belongs and it doesnt cost me, the taxpayer, a penny!

• Theyre all out of step except Bertie. Thats his way. Just hope he shuts up now as I cant take any more.

• He is hurt and disappointed!! Gawd fkn love him, what about the population of this country who are on their backs struggling to survive because of him. Jump before you’re pushed as he did before, typical.

• Correct, Carmel. He’s running away like he did before. A slithery, self serving ****. He’s on up to E2,800 pension a week. A week !!! For what ? Ruining a country. That should be taken off him straight away. Up to E2,800 a week !!! FFS !!!!

• Why was my comment removed? is it because I pointed put that journalist were complicit in the 15 years of Berties buggering of the country, or that Bertie rang ring around Enda or the mention of Brian Dobson interview (sic) before the election which allowed Bertie to explain it all away? I really need to know so I know how the Journal manages the way opinions are expressed.

• “I have done nothing wrong,” he added.
    “I have to be true to myself,” the former Taoiseach writes. “It would be far easier for me to say nothing and try to forget about this nightmare. But I can’t allow this blemish on my character to go unanswered.”

I, I, I, I, ME, ME, ME, ME, MYSELF, MYSELF!!!! Can anyone see a trend here? I am not a psychologist but I do know when I hear a true NARCISSIST speaking. He still and will always feel he has done ‘no wrong’.

The fact that he ‘did things in a round about way’ – short with the truth eg. lodging monies in his daughters accounts etc. obviously doesn’t mean that he has done wrong, but it was not his money, not taxed and revenue knew nothing of it. I put it to CAB that they go through all bank accounts belonging and named in his daughters and ex wife’s names and also his mates with a fine tooth comb. Also, when he was Minister for Finance and Taoiseach, CAB should go through every Contract/tender he signed and confirm that these people were not relatives of his and/or close friends.

Just a suggestion.

• I’m pretty hurt and disappointed too Bertie – but for slightly different reasons

• You should probably keep them to yourself…….

• @charlie. While I note that you don’t want me to criticise your dear Bertie I refuse to be silent just because you want me to be. Maybe you & your FF cronies should take your own advice. As for me I’ll use sarcasm to criticise when I want to.

• Sarcasm also dude….. I wouldnt vote for Fianna Gaelabour party ever again. I made the horrendous mistake of voting fine gael in the last election. We now have proof that the Fianna Gaelabour Party are all the bloody same. Corrupt gangsters, thats every member of all three branches of that party. Root and Branch. Not a decent person in the membership of those parties….. Decent people wouldnt stay

• Scumbag that all I can say!!!!!!

• “True to myself”
    And no1 else obviously !!!
    Bet he’s still so arrogant hel start his campaign for president in 6 years !!!

• “hurt and disappointed” Ahern take a few minutes to read over the above comments and maybe you will get an understanding if how we feel.

• he knows what he done, he’s gettin the hell outta dodge now. shame he will most probably not see the inside of a prison cell. my da went to jail for not paying his tv licence. wonder how long bertie would get if the system had the balls to do something about it?

• Blemish on your character Bertie? More like you being a massive blemish on the Irish people. Now go bury your blemish of a head in shame you crook.

• I’m actually beginning to wonder is he now living in some parallel universe?

• He is hurt and disappointed! What about the rest of us,on this beautiful Sunday I go into my phonebook to ring a few friends but unfortunately 80% have already left for Australia and Canada while I’m left here to pay off a mortgage on a house worth less than half it’s original price so fkin sad

• Well said Stephen, find myself in the exact situation. The only upside I can think of is that Bertie will be brought to justice through criminal and revenue proceedings. How all tds and councillors are taking notes.

• Whats the opposite of Teflon :)

• I genuinely think the Sunday Indo should hang their heads in shame for publishing his rubbish. The man had 14 years to convince us all he was a stand up fella and while he personally may have fooled the thicks in Dublin Central, now that the truth has finally come out, it’s about time we stopped treating this guy as a celebrity and started treating him like the lying manipulative criminal he really is. No one sees your average criminal from Dublin, Cork or Limerick being afforded column space on a Sunday, so why should this con man be given it? Criminals and the gobshites they manipulate will always claim their innocence, Bertie should propose to be tried in a court of law if he is so certain of his own innocence.

• Bertie doesn’t have blemishes. He IS the blemish

• Bertie is as bent as a hex key

• EMD 25/03/12 #

LOL Sean I assume you are kidding because if you are not I think you are commenting in the wrong place. Run for the hills my man, run!

• What a 24 carat idiot!

• good man Bertie….get hold of that evidence and prove everyone wrong

• Oust the whole Dail and start again 

• Bertie Ahern and Politicians are the reason we have rule books in the first place. Politicians are so egotistical that they cannot see the difference between right and wrong.

Its a pity Ireland has corrupt court systems that cannot deal with those who do harm to a nation.

In practise its not egotistical politicians who are at fault, it is a corrupt judicial system, which has extended into Europe and those employed in law know where their bred is buttered.

• Ok censors here is what I wanted to say but perhaps less inflammatory:-) My heart bleeds for him. Anybody else, other than someone form the political class, would have had to answer to a court of law not a mickey mouse tribunal. He got off very lightly in my estimation.

• Elrat 25/03/12 #

Who voted the lying fcuk in only the people of Dublin !!

• the main point here is, that since its inception the FF has failed ireland. and since its inception we have let them. Oh yeah we’ve complained about it, but ultimately we dont have the balls to do anything about it. As a nation we need to say f**k you FF, bertie and chums. i’d like say crawl back under the rock you came from but then justice wont be served. we’ve heard all the stories, no solid proof etc. lets do what iceland done and hold our ex “leader” to account for his actions. me my wife and three kids are thinking of immigrating in a year or 2. there is no hope left for this country unless its run like an actual democracy, (in the litetaral sense)…

• I am no fan of Aherne or FF But in fairness, to say that FF has failed Ireland since its inception is just totally out of order.
      The history of FF and the people it represented in its first 40 years is a proud one by any measure.

What happened after that and paticularly since the late 70′s is appalling and so serious that the party should be disbanded in disgrace.

Lets not re-write history here.

• @ the grinder, i can totally see what your saying, but can you honestly say that without knowing it to be true. what exactly have FF done for us that was for the good of the general good of the nation. so what you are saying is that de valera was a good legit politician? and all since him were in it for the good of the nation? Dont get me wrong i believe there is at least one decent FF member. once again through sheer FF egotism this country is in bloody ruins. since de valera we have given FF chance after chance and we have been screwed over time and again.

• Jeez guys why did ye have to go and upset Bertie like that!..

• Dont leave Bertie….! We want you back as our leader! :)

• Hi folks, thanks for all the comments on this.
    Just to note: the Tribunal did not accuse Ahern of corruption in its report and a number of comments have been removed on that basis.

• I would accuse all Irish Politicians of corruption and i have the evidence.

The illegal use of opinions in law means that we have never had a parliament and that the corrupt traitors of Ireland and the the supporters in the courts have destroyed generations of Irish People’s lives.

To prove all that i claim we need a court system that works.

Your censorship of people is in error and that a loyal Irish citizen has a duty to speak out against traitors.

• @ LoyalIrish Citizen Than make your own website where you can spout your fairytale nonsense.

• @Sean Beag: As I am right in what I say what are you achieving by calling it a fairytale. If you have children they will inherit your mistakes.

Decades of child abuse, decades of corrupt politicians, civil servants, solicitors, barristers, developer, bankers and god knows who else.

These people get away with the crimes because of people like you.

Maybe you should learn to be loyal as per the Irish Constitution.

• By all means post some of your “evidence”

You go on about respecting the constitution when you clearly have no respect for it yourself. You obviously don’t agree with the whole section on legislation as you call laws “opinion”. Similarly you don’t recognise the courts system which is set out by the constitution. It’s likely that the only part of the constitution you really want to follow is the bit about your rights. So don’t talk to me about following the constitution. You’re disrespecting it more than anyone.

And might i remind you that the Constitution was written based on peoples opinions. Opinions which have changed over time but the constitution doesn’t reflect this. Laws, on the other hand, are a much more up to date representation of the views of the people.

• EMD, I have never ran away from anything and I’m not going to start now but thanks for the tip…….

• Bertie has done things in his life that were wrong but we all have, every detail of his life is up for scrutiny, I would love to look into the life’s of all who are judging and dig up a few skeletons, we all have them. What do they say “people in glasshouses shouldn’t throw stones”