TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

GRA protest at pay talks ‘a bad day’ for Garda reputation: Shatter

The Minister for Justice criticises the attitude of Garda bodies for refusing to participate in the public pay talks.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTER FOR JUSTICE has described yesterday’s picket by the Garda Representative Association outside the talks on reaching a new public pay agreement as “a bad day for the force”.

Alan Shatter has again criticised the GRA and its sister body, the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, for not participating in the talks – saying the most appropriate way for the associations to address the issues they oppose would be to participate in the discussions.

The AGSI has not been part of the talks since January 25, while the GRA – which represents ‘ordinary’ rank and file members – pulled out on February 4.

“Yesterday was a bad day for the reputation of the Force when, outside Lansdowne House, members of the GRA executive saw fit both to engage in protest action, and criticise and abuse other trade unions and public representative bodies” participating in the talks, Shatter said in a statement.

“I am concerned that what took place yesterday could discredit the Force in the eyes of many people.”

Shatter also said comments from the GRA’s PJ Stone, who said the GRA had never been part of the talks, were “grossly” misleading.

The facts are that all public sector representative bodies were invited to a series of meetings which were facilitated by officers from the Labour Relations Commission.

A number of options were put to the Garda Associations at those meetings.  The intention was that these options would be negotiated with the Garda Associations with the objective of realising the relevant savings in the Garda Vote.

Shatter said both associations had decided to withdraw from the discussions before “any meaningful engagement”, but said the associations could only address the concerns about Garda pay – or put any counter-proposals on how else to make savings – by taking part in the talks.

“For as long as the GRA and AGSI remain outside the talks they can have no such influence and I would, once again, urge each body to properly represent the best interests of their members by re-engaging immediately in the talks process,” he said.

The minister added that while tense relationships between Garda bodies and the Minister for Justice had been a feature of politics “throughout my political life”, it had shown “disrespect” to the Taoiseach and Garda Commissioner, Martin Callinan, to openly question their authority or express a lack of confidence in them.

Read: Sergeants and inspectors join garda action in protest over pay cuts

Read next:

Comments (171 Comments)

• I would love to see an open public debate with the G.R.A and Shatter!

• Now that would be brilliant. That would really show the public what he’s like.

• GRA protest at pay talks ‘a bad day’ for Garda reputation: Shatter

Fine Gael/Labour a bad 30 years for Ireland.
      Fine Gael/Labour = Fianna FAIL

God help this country, it’s amazing that there is NO mention of pay cuts for the political ELITE
      Shame on them all

• Shatter is a disgrace. Everyday he and his colleagues are a let down! The gra have been backed into a corner, their actions a last resort.

• Unfortunately would not be allowed.They have GRA and AGSI muzzled..I am amazed they have let free speech go this far…Get ready for the Big Stick to come down. Important that Garda associations stand together when it happens. Make no mistake the govt politicans are seething with Garda associations. An example is when PJ Stone on Pat Kenny this morning the Dept of Justice took the unprecedented step of e mailing the Pat kennty show while he was on air to try to spin. It is sickening but censorship is one of the tools they will use.

• That is something you will never see as the man just refuses to hear any view but his own as he spits out the same phrases and soundbites ad nauseum last month it was the success of operation fiacla this month return to the talks all the while blaming the garda commissioner for station closures and the FF govt for this round of cuts.

The Taoiseach admitted to Michael Martin that morale is low but Arrogant Al just talks away as if nothing is wrong in some misguided belief that he can shame the Gardai back in to talks. This approach he has taken has done nothing but get members backs up and strengthen the resolve against any possible pay cuts. No doubt they thought that Gardai would roll over but from initial observations they are very worried and carrying out a propaganda war in an effort to discredit any action taken to prevent a pay cut. Thankfully the public have seen through it and our colleagues in the 24/7 Alliance are shoulder to shoulder with us. As Senator John Whelan said this week in the Seanad “Even Stalin couldn’t turn a Sunday in to a Monday” yet the Minister for Cuts, Minister Howlin is seeking to do exactly that.

If Al wants to save a few bob why not cancel the trip to Mali for the Army, can we honestly afford that expense. Lets get rid of the Govt jets and lets examine the 640m we are giving in Overseas Aid. Let Minister Burton make a serious effort at tackling welfare fraud, let the politicians lead by example and take a wage more befitting the size of our nation. Get rid of the grossly overpaid advisers who recently got raises which beggars belief. Tackle the outrageous Free Legal Aid scheme and make it more cost effective but of course Al won’t tackle his own will he. The whole thing has echoes of Haughey telling us to “tighten our belts” except this time its the other party telling us the same. When all these things are done come back and ask me for a wage cut and I might consider it but until then I remain in opposition.

• And Shatter has the temerity to say that those who verbally assail the taoiseach as disgraceful. I really now do believe that this government is completely out of touch, not only with the electorate, but with reality in general.

• Cracking post billy

• If your going to make a point by all means so so but leave the army out of it .

• Jack I have the height of respect for the army but can the country afford a mission to Mali is all I am saying

• I understand what your saying about the army deployment to Mali billy but that’s a decision made by the politicians not the PDF , I admire what the GRA are trying to achieve for its members and I’m sure if they have the resolve to hold out along with the AGSI they will win the day. At least somebody is representing the Garda , as for the defence forces we’re f****d. The sooner shatter goes back to chasing ambulances the better.

• I would love to post a comment but I am afraid of repercussions

• Gra and agsi were made sit in a separate room to the meetings they were told what cuts were being made. They offered fully costed alternatives which would save the required amount but were told No the money must come from pay cuts. It is bullying in its most vile form, the unions at the talks are looking to protect their members pay, it looks like the frontline workers are gonna take the hit.

• As a member of the GRA executive that proudly took part in the protest yesterday I would love to know from Minister Shatter exactly which trade union or representative body we abused ?

• Robbie knowing your fierce look I’d say some union head saw you and just got afraid, fair play to ye I believe it was brass monkey weather there.

• as a citizen of this nation ; why are you sitting on your hands ….there are several constitutional issues with the way this state is being run at all levels ….you swore an oath to protect the state …the state is it’s people , those people have one protection against the massive debt being run up at ours and yours expense ! ………..
      talk is cheap ….
      here’s an honest question G.R.A. ; are you in this for your own garda income or are you in this for the future of the state ……
      just asking because if you’re in it for yourselves then you are no better than the government …if you are in it for the decent people that are here to stay then I will back you to the hilt !
      just asking ..because no one else is …it’s a fair question and if garda want to red flag I appreciate your right to do so …. but it’s a framed question designed for the truth and if you are really garda then you should know this … you are trained in questioning after all ……..no offence and if you take it that’s your decision

• Spot on Robbin was about to aske the same question, the only mention of abuse in any report came from the ambulance chaser himself.

You can be sure media would have been all over anything even remotely like a use had it occurred (not that it would)

The man is rattled.

• A bad day for the reputation of the force was back when Alan Thunderbird Shatter was delegated as Minister for Justice.

• What is most “disrespectful” is the way the government thinks front line workers should be docked pay because of the fact that they have to work nights, saturdays, sundays and public holidays!

• The last time I checked we lived in a democracy. I don’t think the members of the GRA did anything other than exercise their democratic right to engage in peaceful protest. How dare Shatter criticise that right, just because it doesn’t suit his agenda.

• shatter now there is a minister that the public have lost complete confidence in….

• I’m incredibly proud of our Gardai and sad to see the minister’s ill tempered comments about them. Every man and woman who puts on the Garda uniform deserves our utmost respect for taking on their challenging task.

• ‘A bad day for humanity’. The day shatter took office me thinks

• Mr. Shatter is misleading the public …. The GRA and AGSI are NOT allowed to participate in the Croke Park II talks because they are not allowed be members of the ICTU.

• It’s just spin spin spin cut cut cut from shatter, no media outlet seems to pick up the fact that the GRA and AGSI, as you so rightly pointed out, cannot take part in the talks anyway, why is this not relayed to the media or are the media being brainwashed by the spin?

• As an Irish citizen I’ve had enough of this man…. It’s time to go!!

If I have no confidence in your ability as Minister for Justice I can only imagine how the men & women of An Garda Síochána feel!!!!

• Enter what talks??? Gra and AGSI were not aloud enter the room in which the talks are taking place when they arrived at the talks! Hardly respect from the government towards Gardai. Why is Alan shatter angered that Gardai are not using their own private cars and mobile phones. He doesn’t use his own mobile phone, car, or laptop!!!! The word Hypocritical comes to mind

• A bad day for the force are you joking me this should happen more and more days

• Someone needs to take that shovel from Alan shatter.

• this from the man who has destroyed the force

• I don’t understand why he keeps saying come back to the talks. Gra are not even allowed in the room next to the talks let alone the same room. And the Gra are misleading the public. It gets better and better every day with this man.

• No the disrespect is coming from Shatter to our Garda force

• There are the bones of 12,500 men and women awaiting their leaders, the comissioner, the minister and the taoiseach to step up to the plate to provide genuine leadership and strength. To move on from silly sound bites and genuinely show frontline workers that the necessary dangerous jobs that they do 24/7 365 are resourced properly to provide the services that the people of ireland expect and deserve.

The minister may feel disrespected, i feel neglected.

• B 22/02/13 #

“A number of options were put to the Garda Associations” is exactly what was done, i.e. here are the cuts in pay you choose which ones you want…there was no option for no cut to pay.

How can you negotiate when you are told your pay WILL be cut, it’s only how the cut will be implemented that’s up for discussion.

• Liam 22/02/13 #

It will be a bad day for the force when they are not able to carry out their duties as a result of Shatter’s incompetence.

• Not like they were invited last time. Shatter really is an arrogant liar.

• why would the public take offence with the garda protesting…fair play at least they are standing up to the government unlike Jack O Connor and SIPTU who have just left the private sector high and dry…took the union contributions during the good times and followed gilmores lead and turned their back on the paye sector

• The figure is bull , most frontline workers are on under 2000 a month after everything comes out including allowances , overtime. The right hand side of my payslip looks more impressive than the left with the list of items coming out . Best of all is the pension related !!!

• It is important to allow An Garda Siochana the full opportunity to vent its resentment and sense of anger, to protest, to withdraw personal devices, take blue flu, work to rules, withdraw services and express their indignation.

The protest will enable them get this off their chests and feel that they have stuck it to the Minister and to the Government.

Good stuff!

• Sad thing is those sitting beside him are politically movivated. Not so much guards but lapdogs. Step over own mothers for another bit of red on shoulders.

I’m afraid the minister either knows what’s coming and is gearing for a fight or is really to clueless to see what’s about to happen. Either way to be honest its a battle thats unwinnable for him. Guards will walk out and not talking one blue flu but could be weekly.

Last time eru and recruits were there this time there not. No cover, just think what happens in halloween night its mayhem and guards go flat out to keep it from spilling over. Think now those same criminals will go nuts day of all out blue flu. Is the minister prepared in his leafy d4 house to face this?

• Everyday is a bad day for the governments reputation!!

• nivek 22/02/13 #

Such an obnoxious man. Trying to paint the GRA in bad light as usual so the public opinion will grow against them! Afraid it won’t happen shatter the frontline staff deserve what they earn, unlike yourself and your ministerial buddies..

• I genuinely think that the AGS is held in high regard by the public at large (and rightfully so). However militancy at this stage would be completely self defeating. It may have worked in the past but there is 0 general public support for these actions. The private sector taxpayer is finding a voice and Fine Gael T.D’s are becoming emboldened by public support to break the unions. If the GRA continue to rock the boat (whatever the relative merits of doing so are and if I were a member of AGS I might hold the viewpoint that they were within their rights) I genuinely believe it will be to the detriment of its members.

• John,0 public support? I think your wrong there,everyone i know support the Guards and other frontline workers.

• Have to disagree Norman. And I think if you were honest with yourself you would admit that the public don’t support militancy by public sector unions, unfortunately there is just too many people who are suffering a lot more , and just to say I have genuine heartfelt sympathy for those in the public sector caught with massive mortgages, I just feel that it is a societal issue that has to be dealt with on an overall and equitable basis with no group getting preferential treatment. For your average taxpayer supporting militant public sector unions would be like a turkey voting for christmas.

• John,my family,friends and everyone i work with has voiced their support for the Guards and others.I believe the reason is they believe that when the government is finished with this group,they’re next.
      Lastly this is what i have experienced,if your experience of support for the Guards is different thats fine but don’t generalise.

• If you read my post you will see that I state that the public respect the guards but have no sympathy for militant action.

• john …they have sympathy from me for “militant action” ……….. but I would hardly describe not using your own car or your own phone or laptop as militant action…………… just making the point as a member of the public who has no relation in the garda force ….unless you count a second cousin that I only see and talk to at family funerals as a relation.

• Define militancy? A lawful protest and one been done inside the laws afforded to every other citizen of the state, except of course a member of AGS, passive militancy?

• Is he really trying to piss off the gardai?! ffs show them some support Callinan you whipped donkey!

• Is shatter for real…… I think most of the public are behind the guards

• my god the government must be living on another planet.. GRA and AGSI have to sit outside the room where talks are being carried out they are not allowed into the room to participate in these so call negotiations . negotiations my arse.. we are not asked.l we are being told. and this is suppose to be a democracy.. no this is THEIR WAY OR NO WAY.. Shame on them.. its utterly disgraceful.. i ask would yous implementing these cuts do my job?

• A bad day for shatter, a good day for joe public finally sticking up for himself and letting the government know where they stand!

• I wonder if mr shatter called 999 would anybody turn up?

• In my opinion the people of this great nation never lost respect of our Gardai; however, we have lost a great deal of respect of those who hold high office. They will never live in the world that most people live in, nor will they queue in an A&E department. I doubt they would even have treatment in any of our hospitals should the need arise.

• it is utterly disgraceful what is happening. where is it going to end. more more takes, levy’s, and now a pay cut. and with the price of everything going up. and as for the GRA and AGSI going back into talks, how in the name of god can they go back into talks when our reps arent even allowed into the room where SO CALL NEGOTIATIONS are taken place. and its not negotiations wither we are being told, not asked. its THEIR WAY OR NO WAY. its utterly shameful

• PLACARD action of making GRA views known to unions inside Lansdowne House was NOT a picket …. Nobody was prevented from going in, or approached and asked not to go in, the footpaths were not blocked, the entrances were kept fully clear.
    MINISTER should state facts – and the truth is “THERE was no abuse of anyone at the pay negotiations ….. All Union reps at the talks will acknowledge this …… IF minister is trying to say that a placard saying “Come out – dont sell out” AND “1913 Lockout – 2013 sellout” AND “Betrayal by unions” AND “Shatter’d By cuts” is Abuse then once Again he’s stretching it….. And by not clarifying his comments he’s allowing a view to be taken by persons reading his statement “that the decent men that were holding placards were verbally abusive towards people” …. That is untrue, that is misleading …
    Committed, hard working GRA reps, who were on rest days or had taken a days annual leave (off duty Gardai) who were making their members views known in a calm manner should not be tarred and tainted … And once again I re-iterate GRA were told €60m cuts over 3 years, €18.2m this year (the total figure is not negotiable, savings from retirements, manpower reductions, incentivized career breaks, redeployments will not be counted, savings made anywhere else other than pat cuts will not be counted)…SO, exactly what’s there to negotiate – the only thing to negotiate is the order in which cuts are made. GRA point is Gardai can’t afford to give more

• Shatter is a bully and a liar. He has single handed started to dismantle the gardai due to his personal feelings. But let’s not forget that senior management from superintendents and above are also causing this problem. Just happens that these positions are political appointments. now I wonder would this have anything to do with the cuts and figures being altered to suit to career objectives of these people whom want promotion and need to align themselves with whatever party are in power now. Our own managers are doing this to its members and will sit back while those that do the work and don’t get rewarded suffer

• Paycuts=Mortgage Strike. Anyone else agree?

• Based on the statements of bigger unions ie Siptu etc GRA right not to be in talks. Siptu appear to have the role of getting an agreement so labour don’t have to legislate for a pay cut.

• Here’s a question for the gardai out there ;
    Is your average wage more or less than the non-national family that were reported as being in receipt of between 80 and 94,000 euro in benefits……….
    As the above figure is benefits it’s tax free so maybe a takehome salary of 1600 to 1800 or 6,400 and 7,200 monthly would be a good guideline for your calculation ……
    I’m just asking because I’m curious as to whether I’ll tell my kids to get a job when they grow up or are they better off on the dole ….. so a simple more or less would suffice as figures are irrelevant when you’re talking about nearly 7,000 euro a month to live on (tax free)…..
    Can i vote in Bosnia is another question but I won’t bother asking it now !

• A hell of a lot less.

• pat…the country is rotten to the core in my opinion …… and there are alot of decent honest people in all walks of life getting a hammering while certain individuals at the top are “cleaning up” ….the question is do we as a nation fix the problem or do we all remain in our factions fighting for our own bit …I’m a farmer and I have to supply an industry that has allowed a cheaper product directly distort my ability to make a living …….and the I.F.A. …well they are not exactly stinging the processors or supermarkets with ridicule or law–suits for that matter ….what’s wrong …I don’t know but I can have a damn good guess!
      And do you know what the beauty of the whole thing is that the farmers have to pay for the vets directly to inspect these companies …value for money?….breach of contract ? ……
      the reason I bring up the meat crisis is because there has been nobody arrested yet and that’s the gardais job …not criticising but just letting you know that when we complained nobody listened …… why should we listen to you now ….we want to by the way …but !

• Scapegoating at its finest

• Im starting to feel sorry for the man now ,, he cant be that stupid not to stand aside and let someone else try

• These figures are put forward by the dept of justice …….who runs the dept of justice again oh wait it’s Alan shatter
    What needs to be done here is a balanced indept look in both sides of the story to find out who’s lying

But can u trust a state run media to do it I don’t know – but I hope so it would cut through the b.s.

• So John let me get this straight you are happy with 17 secretary generals are receiving a salary of €227912 plus expenses p/a each. When they retire each will get a one off payment of €341,868 and then receive a pension of €114,000. Their pension should be their salary and before people start jumping on the bandwagon and saying this will only make a small dent in the billion yes I know that but they need to start from the very top and work their way down to the bottom.

• @ John a Garda can retire at 50 yrs old once 30 yrs service is complete. Taking the average life expectancy of a male is say 90 yrs that amounts to €25,000 a yr of a pension. Doesn’t look as appealing now as a €1 million pension pot reported in the Indo.

Under the old roster system it was noticed the average life expectancy of a retired member was 5 yrs. The GRA campaigned Governments for years to set up an investigation which was ignored.

• Adrian the value of a pension is what it would cost you in real money terms to purchase that stream of income in the form of annuity. i.e if you rang Irish Life on Monday and said I would like to buy a pension of 25,000 for the rest of my life and I am 50 years of age they would tell you that it will cost you an up front payment of circa 1.02 m , the rest is made up of the lump sum (which as it is tax free adds about 5k per year to the salary scales you see above in my mind) . That is how pensions work in the real world. The only difference being that if a private sector worker has a pension pot of that amount he would have to pay 5k a year in the government levy (which is a much much more unfair than the pension levy as the pension levy is merely a small contribution to the very large cost of a defined benefit pension) . Still think it is equitable? Look at it this way The average basic of a guard is 44k a year over 30 years, then you have 40 years (using gyour numbers) at 25k a year and a lump sum of 80k. If you do the math and ignore premium payments and overtime then you would arrive at a cost to the state of circa 70,000 per year of service (and that is taking out the non contributory pension that you would get when you hit 66). That 70,000 per year of service for your average guard is a hell of a lot of money for this country to spend and (the figure does not even include allowances or premium pay but I imagine that this would be somewhat offset by the pension levy so I have excluded them however if you did the actual math I imagine that the 70,000 would actually rise a but more). On top of that the private sector pension is subject to the pension contribution, huge admin fees and the volatility of the market, the public sector pension is guaranteed by the state. Maybe think of that next time you argue that AGS members are getting a raw deal.

• And what to Gardaí do to earn that pension? For the vast majority of them they work at least 30 years, during which they work a roster where they’re in around the clock, seven days a week. They miss weekends, holidays, birthdays. They get assaulted and threatened on a regular basis. They expose themselves to danger on the roads, witness first-hand the results of fatal accidents & suicides then have to break the sad news to relatives. All of this is accepted by members going into the job, but so too was the recompense. No one seemed to have anything to say about public sector wages & pensions during the boom, except to laugh at people who joined. Now that the greed of some in the private sector has reduced the country to penury, it seems some people have taken to attributing the ills of the state to the public sector worker & acts like their remuneration was some sort of secret. The public sector didn’t cause the crash, we’ve suffered along with everyone else but we’re not going to be the scapegoat for the nation’s economic ills.

• The only one losing respect from the public is minister shatter himself. He is totally arrogant man who talks down to people. Oh yes he is a barrister with loads of money doesn’t care about any one else. Workers should have an all out national strike for a couple of days wake them up on this and other issues

• Sinead must be related to some one in goverment if she believes that horseshit

• I hope the GRA and or 24/7 alliance members don’t protest outside the whitegate oil and gas refineries. That would bring the government to a standstill.

• Garda rules, ko!

• Dario Fo 23/02/13 #

Cosgrave, richie ruin and Cooney were child’s play to Enda and co…

• Pj Davis 23/02/13 #

Billy, just to put your comment into context, the Permanent Defence Forces are sending approximately 9 personnel to Mali … its most likely being funded by the EU / UN. hardly grounds for bankrupting the country but more of a goodwill gesture. Either way its good for the members of the Defence forces.We have an outstanding organisation that has suffered its fair share of cutbacks so this deployment will be viewed very favourably amongst our ranks. As Jack has pointed out, the vast majority of our members wholeheartedly agree with the Gardai plight but we object strongly to people comparing to or using our good reputation as a pawn to win favour with the media.

• PJ I am in no way trying to undermine the good work done by the defence forces. I have worked side by side with its members and have some members to thank for keeping me fed and watered on a number of occasions. I do not begrudge your members the opportunity to carry out overseas missions either. I was just using the Mali mission to highlight how we seem intent on solving everybody elses problems without fixing our own. It may be a cost negative mission funded by others and if so fine. Take the homeless issue that’s a problem and another strategy has been announced to solve it this week. Would a portion of what’s spent on overseas aid go a long way to helping solve the issue. I s

• I have to say I fully agree with all the above comments.

• Is it safe to comment here with all the Guards on posting–better check my lights and tyres before I go out tonite.

• http://www.nospinireland.com/Gardai.html

Let the facts speak for themselves

• Facts have no place here in the land of the permanently outraged.
      Away with you.

• @ John mcCarthy
      Your pay scale you have a link to; please deduct approx 42% from it, that will give you a more realistic take home pay! That’s if you want to show the true facts! Ignorance is bliss!

• Tax rates are universal Barry. The pay scales might be inconvieniant to a lot of the statements around here but they are the facts.

• Add in the FACT that is gross pay and most of those allowances a rank an file would never see, the boot and uniform allowance Gardai get is now taxed along with a lot of the other allowances, then add in the USC, PAYE, Pension related tax, mortgage, bills, car tax, fuel, insurance,property tax, water charges, medical. What’s left? Not much. Down 20 odd % already sure here take another 10.4%

• Tax rates are universal I will give you that but the pension levy isn’t

• Yes Jamyee but everbody pays thes things. As for pensions again the below would indicate that it is still a pretty good deal (given the reduction in bond markets the value would have gone up in the meantime). Everyone has the right to fight their case but given the present state of the country and the facts above it would seem that some of the cases around here are not too strong

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/garda-pension-worth-11m-26518918.html

• The elephant in the room is not the salary (which despite the protestations is very good by any measure) but the level of debt that individual workers have. It is not the individuals fault as everyone had to buy a home and everyone be they public of private partook to some extent in the hubris of the Celtic Tiger. The only problem is that there cannot be special treatment for any particular section of society. We need to deal with the debt issue together and look for solutions for society at large rather than as different special interest groups shouting we are different. There needs to be a recognition by public sector workers that the pay and benefits I receive are the tax’s and cuts that someone else has to pay and endure. It is a finite pot which has gotten a lot smaller.

• John McCarthy
      Based on a guard living 40 years ( approx) after retiring except it has been proven that working shift work over a prolonged time cuts years off your life. Sure if I live to be 200 it will be worth over 2 million.

• The actuarial value of your pension is based on what it would cost you to purchase and income stream of a given value which would guarantee you an income for the rest of your life of a given amount. But why let the facts get in the way of opinion….

• Your allowances are out of date pal and thats a Fact

• Not for existing members as far as I am aware.

• your facts are wrong any allowance is actually taxed/usc/p levy at 63% all told, plus i think youll find that no one is getting 5000 euro a week for a car, get the boat you clown

• Tax’s are universal Colin, and there is only 1 class of citizen despite what some around here think.

• Figures released from the Department of Justice show Gardai earn on average 56,000 per annum excluding overtime. One of the highest paid police forces Europe.

• Forgive my language Sinead, but that figure is horse shit.

• B 22/02/13 #

Post the link please.

• Well Sinead seen as your an expert on the remuneration of European police forces. If the Gardai are one if the highest paid who are the highest ? And who are the lowest.
      Seen as your qualified to tell everybody that the Gardai are one of the highest paid you must know the figures.
      That figure is absolute spin and hyperbole. Time you stepped away from the Sunday independent and back to reality.

• Ha that’s the biggest lie ever.

• B 22/02/13 #

Why are your tweets on private setting? Afraid people will rightly judge you by your comments?

• Thats the problem with their figures, they are averages from the highly paid officer ranks to the every day guard. If one person earns 200,000 and another earns 40,000, the average earnings are 120,000. Averages are only averages, they are not reflective of the norm.

• Obviously foundation level Maths in the Leaving Cert proved a bridge too far for poor Sinead!!

• Average the pay of the top ranks, Commissioner €200,000 pa, Chief Super €110,000 pa, Superintendent €90,000 pa against the bottom ranks Sergeant €52,000 and Garda €44,000 and you may well get an average of €56k. However the top ranks work 9-5. They won’t be affected by cuts to allowances. The Guards, Sgts and Inspectors who work these shifts are facing a 10.6% cut. That’s a total paycut of 30%+ in three years. No Garda or Sgt is earning €56,000 basic.

• ISBA 22/02/13 #

What we earn in Ireland is one thing – it’s our cost base that is the problem – Ireland is ravaged by cartels falsely inflating prices in virtually every sector so your euro buys very little in Ireland. Despite this Governments promises to take on white collar criminality, cartels still operate with impunity. Effective competition law enforcement would lower prices by at least 20% and a lot more in some cases.

• Includes the commissioner, deputy commissioners, assistant commissioners, chief s and superintendents and inspectors 100k plus wages. Easy to get an average of 59 k then.

• we also have one of the lowest figures for going on the top rates of tax ! ………….. and we also have food being sold at one of the highest costs in Europe ; 18% over the european average !

• MrKnow 22/02/13 #

I feel for public sector workers like the gardai, but i hope they understand that we that work for a living pay the same bulls#%t taxes and levies that take most of our wages too, remember that next time you stop someone over there nct out or there tv licence not been paid on time, doing the governments dirty work, there lowlifes! Side with the people against the government and we can pull them down together.

• Figure released by Dept of justice today says guards earn 56,000 pa excluding overtime. I assume that includes pay and unsocial hours payments. It is a very good pay for garda rank in those times and better than rest of EU countries. Gardai would be better off talking and not being like characters on picket duty and insulting those entering the building as alleged. Maybe some of them are in the wrong job for their talents. Let them try the private sector !

• brendan i can guarantee you its nothing like that. I think my basic is around 43k. Factor in tax, usc, pension levy you could take away half. Additional pay such as unsocial hours is taxed as a second earning and as a result we only see about 40% of it as usc & pension levy apply at this rate. Also these unsocial hours only add up to about 4k per annum before deductions. And before you think its still decent pay you have to remember its hard to repay a 350k mortgage on that pay along with other bills.

• Brendan please don’t let me believe that you actually believe Gardai have a voice at the talks. They are in an annexe room to the talks with no negotiating powers at all. If you don’t believe the humble Garda contact AGSI whom you might have more confidence in. Both GRA and AGSI were presented with a list of cuts as well as a wish list in relation to extra Sundays extra hours a cut in keane and rest days. Alternative saving suggestions such as career breaks were welcome but could not count towards the savings Target. At the same time the dept conceded they may not be able to make a pro rata saving from civilians in the dept why was this ? All told it was like being asked to choose the knife to cut oneself or it would be chosen for us. It is very easy for those looking in from the outside to call for Sunday public holiday and night duty allowances to be cut. Most never worked a Sunday or Public Holiday in their lives. When the 9-5 brigade go home Friday and there is an emergency before 9 am Monday they are damn glad to have the frontline workers to answer the call. For this service and missing family time we deserve everything we get, its what we signed up for pay and conditions included. Perhaps the govt think frontline workers are a soft target if so they are wrong. In an earlier post on this article I have outlined savings we as a country could make they might not be politically popular but then again neither might cutting frontline workers

• They should be greatfull they have a job,get on with it & stop crying.

• Lets discuss this like adults…. Thumbs up if you think Shatter has handled this issue well. Thumbs down if you thinks he’s a knob

• Yeah the majority in this country always know whats best. Their infinite wisdom gave us Fianna Fail for 15 years and the IMF.

• Sinead if I may …… there are those of us who expected our politicians to prevent the I.M.F. from ever coming near the place …terms like “soft landing” …or the bank guarantee was only going to cost the state 4 or 5 billion to re-capitalise the banks! ………… point being if you control the information you control the people …..
      Joseph stalin…
      ………..It is important to have an election……………. “those who cast their vote decide nothing those who count the votes decide everything !”

• Control the information? The information is all there, and FF are still the most popular party in the State.

The sad fact is Fianna Fail bought elections with giveaway budgets and parish pump politics. People only cared about their own selfish agenda and have gotten everything they deserve.

Bring on those red thumbs!

• Ah yes the famously right wing national union of journalists!

• It’s official… He’s a knob

• readers wont express their views on hear about the gardai,having noted the aggression,character assination, and holding the belief that they will be marked persons., But i am not affraid of their threats my life is an open book and i look forward to the inquiry in the dail so I can tell all about the way the gang in here took my good name

• Are the army reps pd fora in talks or what’s their position just asking

Add New Comment