TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Australian police force poaching trained gardaí

A garda source told TheJournal.ie that the link to the Western Australian Police’s recruitment page has “gone viral” in recent days.

Image: Western Australian Police via Facebook

THE WESTERN AUSTRALIAN Police force is hoping to hire “a significant number” of trained officers from the UK and Ireland in a recruitment drive over the next six months.

It is currently seeking applications from serving gardaí with between three and seven years service to fill vacant roles in the region.

The application process opened last month and there has been a “number of enquiries from Irish police officers”, a spokesperson for WA Police told TheJournal.ie.

“However, [we] are yet to receive any applications from Irish police officers.”

Last year, six members of An Garda Síochána emigrated to become officers in Australia and are now being considered for permanent residency visas.

A source from within the Gardaí told TheJournal.ie that the link to WA Police’s recruitment website has “gone viral” among rank-and-file members as tensions with senior management grows and concerns over possible pay cuts rise.

GRA President John Parker said the situation for gardaí here is getting more frustrating, adding it wasn’t just about pay but also conditions in stations.

When asked about the Australian scheme he said he was “cognisant of the fact that some people have reached rock-bottom and want to give something else a chance”.

“Any reductions in numbers would be worrying…in the overall scheme of things, our own Minister would want to start recruiting by the end of the year.”

Australia is looking for already-trained officer because of a skills shortage across the whole region. Those interested should be under 50 years old and need to meet a number of other requirements, including physical fitness and vision standards.

Successful applicants will undergo a 13-week transitional training course at an academy in Joondalup. On graduation, the pay scale begins at $64,077 (€49,597) per year and increases on the third year of service. By the fifth year, salaries have reached over $70,000.

It is understood that the force picked Ireland for the drive because gardaí are already well-trained and speak English.

The recruitment process comes as rank-and-file gardaí threaten industrial action. They plan to “turn off the goodwill tap” from 22 February if the government refuses to budge on pay cut proposals.

Read: Garda Commissioner to meet GRA as plans for industrial action get underway

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (109 Comments)

• Jimmy 18/02/13 #

Good luck to them. Why wouldn’t you go if you had no ties here. Young, no family or mortgage. Chance of a better life, I know what I’d he doing…..

• Any chance the Ozzies want our ‘trained’ politicians??? Now, that would be the perfect solution…………. for us anyway!

• I wouldn’t recommend any Garda to come over until they find out where they’d be posted. There is no shortage of police in the major cities therefore the Irish lads would be posted in the undesirable places like mining towns.

I’d recommend they contact ex Gardai that have already made the switch

• What’s wrong with mining towns?

• I know one Garda who left & joined the WA police; he said that the Irish & UK applicants were given their choice of posting.

• They’re fine if you’re there temporarily but they have a short shelf life, predominantly male populations, poor amenities, middle of nowhere and everything is over priced as the people working in the mines have a disposable income that they are happy to spend.

• Glen 18/02/13 #

Kevin, you would generally only find out where you’ll be posted after graduating from the transition course. In the case of regional WA (Western Australia) there is a mix of country and mining towns, many with free or heavily subsidised housing. The mining towns may be rough and ready, but with free police housing, subsidies, shift allowance etc many coppers are many tens of thousands of dollars better off. These are normally 2-3 year postings.

• Glen, in no way would I want to dissuade you but if you have never been to Oz then I’d recommend you come on a fact finding mission before making such a big decision especially if you have a family. Some of these small towns are hundreds of kms away from a decent sized town.

That said country people here are far nicer than the city people and from what I’ve seen they don’t have the male macho personalities of the city people.

• Pong 18/02/13 #

A great opportunity for young Gardai…..

• Has anyone checked out the pay scale. It’s amazing. The basic pay is €57000-€60000 before the shift allowance. No guard here gets that ….

• I knew there would be at least one dope who looks at the pure salary without looking at the cost of living. Australia is about twice the cost of living than Ireland.

• Cost of living is through the roof over there.

• Yes cost of living is higher but the cost of living in Ireland in comparison to wages is ridiculous.

Perth however, is meant to be uniquely expensive as a result of the mining boom but any other major city in australia is significantly cheaper to live in then dublin. Just take rent for example. €1k a month for an average 2 person apartment over here is 12 grand a year. For a graduate that’s about 30-50% of your total wages. In Australia it’s marginally more expensive. Maybe $1500 a month for an average 2 person apartment. Wages in Ireland are just ridiculous.

• Yeah and that doesn’t include shift penalties of $50 for nights (that’s the premia payment we are so lucky to get here)

• Also consider that the Aussie dollar is unusually high against the euro at the moment. It wasn’t long ago you could get A$2.00 for €1.00. If it balances back….

• Lamb 18/02/13 #

The cost of living is huge. Its not just the flights out there that cost a fortune.

• Flight prices to Australia haven’t really changed much in almost a decade (I’m a travel agent). You can get there for about €950 which is roughly IR£740. This is what I paid to go to Australia in 2001. I was lucky enough to go to Australia las May and I was shocked at the cost of living! It is massive. Their wages might appear higher, cost of living is huge, housing bubble etc. Now where did I see that before?

• Hey I wasn’t just looking at the salary. I know it is expensive to live in Australia. I was pointing out the wage is double what it is here only … I have no intentions in leaving this country.

• They need them to deal with all those unruly and drunken Irish in Perth we keep hearing about.

• Ideal for a young person under 30, you would survive, sure the locals would feed ya and then marry a big farmers daughter or son with a farm of one million acres ….sorted.

• Wats dat Paudie? Dats a kangaroo Seamus.

• Well it’s actually what shatter wants.he is reducing the force and stocking up reserves. Sooner people realize that the better and fight to keep gardai

• Are you aware of the cost of living there? That’s hardly a huge salary in western Australia.

• So originally Australia was a penal colony, and now they’re trying to “poach” Gardaí………

I’ll get me coat!

• 15 years ago I shared a house with a cop in oz, lived in a town outside Melbourne, hung around with 5 lads who were all cops, all of them had second jobs all of them hated their job. None of them are cops now

Named my son after one of them, googled that cop last year and found out he was responsible for the arrest of carl Williams (underbelly) a year after that he was arrested himself for corruption. And sacked. When my son is old enough, im looking forward to telling him about the guy he was named after

• Kevin can you give me an average monthly cost of living in oz, food, bills etc
    Cheers

• Stone the flahmin crows fella’s. The Aussie accent wrecks moi flamin ‘ead. And the Shiela’s av hairy ahmpits :) Ya can’t be doing that lads.

• I’ve said before and I’ll say it again Irish peoples acceptance of these cuts is amazing! …did anyone ever here of this word… It’s a big one now, hope your all ready : RESISTANCE

The banks and your govt are criminals! It’s up each and everyone of us as Irish citizens to resist their cut backs and austerity plans . Wake the F**K up!

• Jump at it lads, jump at it, ye might be appreciated over there……

• @williamgrogan so you dont think this country is in the soup because of complete over reliance and investment into a construction sector that could never be sustained. the list of businessess you outlined above havent been able to profer us a soft landing in the wake of thé construction industry implosion which kind of proves my point that we over relied on it. as regards listing agriculture – esp at this time is questionable at best . apart from thé horse meat craic there are more farmers in ireland over 80 than under 35. despite what u may feel this would not inspire optimism in most folk i reckon

• Australia is crap compared to Ireland. If i can’t get a job or start a business out there, people will think it’s my fault. Here, i can blame Enda Kenny.

• The aussies want them because they speak english. And we will be left we yellow pack garda reserve, who dont speak english. Wonderful.

• Already know lads heading over.

• Poached from Ireland, scrambled to Australia, and fried under a west Australian sun..are they gardai or eggs??

• What happens when the Aussie boom turns to bust (or like the Irish boom, is this time different?)?

• massive difference. They have vast amounts of mineral resources as well as enough crops to feed all of Asia.

• while australia has some of thé hallmarks of à boom/bust scénario they have à few more strings to their economy than building sh1t loads of unnessary houses.

• So Australia is different? (This time, as opposed to their previous mining busts, they are dependent on China http://theconversation.edu.au/how-china-drives-the-australian-iron-ore-boom-and-bust-9063 ). If gardai start buying up properties to let, then its well past the time to get out of Australia. It might be (tasty and) tempting to go Ireland in the sun but the problem is that the same mentality is driving the economy (high prices, high property “value”, immigrants etc) and what goes up must come down.

• there are similarities Conor but Australia won’t go bust if mining takes a dive as other industries that mining has killed such as manufacturing and in particular tourism due to the expensive dollar will spring back into life.

Property has already peaked and hasn’t increased since 2008. There was talk of a bubble burst but we have probably rode that out.

Due to an overhaul of the banking system in the early 90s there is strict regulation in place, hopefully eliminating the possibility of the financial sector

And most importantly accountability exists in government as the opposition parties turn up to “keep the bastards honest”

• Well said.

• Themanwithnoplan2012, that’s a silly point. Ireland has lots of strings to its bow as well; IT sector, eBay, Intel, HP, Microsoft, Pharma, Argiculture, Bailey’s, Whiskey, Financial Services etc..

• @Kevin Mannion

Sorry Kevin .. it’s all eggs in the one basket again.
      Their tourist industry is totally reliant on Asia, so a slow down in Asia = slow down in mining = no money to be a tourist. Also the tourist industry in Australia is miniscule in the over all scheme of things.

I cannot for one moment listen to anyone else say “accountability exists in government” in Aus.
      What can I ask do you ever base this assertion on?

The ‘overhaul’ in banking ..ok yes they have cartels. And that can make them stronger.
      But when you buy a house in Australia and you have less than 20% of a deposit (vast majority of buyers)
      You have to take out insurance. This is supposed to protect the banks (Bond Holders).
      This insurance is under written by the federal governments … ring any bells anyone??
      House prices are vastly over valued, and the echos of Ireland 2008 are scarily similar.

It’s called the lucky country for a very good reason.
      The reference has nothing to do with the warm weather.

• William, with the exception of agriculture, I assume you’re speaking tongue in cheek. And to mention the financial sector who are the one (aling with the property bubble) who got us in this mess in the first place? Oh, please!

• Mary, I’m not speaking tongue in cheek. The Financial Sector isn’t just AIB & BOI. I’m talking about the companies that employ tens of thousands of mainly young people in Dublin in the docklands etc. eBay announced 450 jobs last week, Facebook another 100, the IT sector is crying out for staff. Which part of Ireland do you live in, a cave in Kerry?

• Fyi, William, I live in Dublin. And it wasn’t just our local banks. It was a malaise in the entire financial sector from the States to China, with people playing musical chairs with sub prime mortgages and debts and the big financial companies with their hedge funds, playing the markets in an entirely reckless way. The property bubble here and the previous government’s mishandling of the situation just exacerbated the situation in this country. (Not that the present government are making a much better job of it! )
      And as for foreign companies. It’s geat to see them coming in and giving employment, but you know as well as I do that if the decision is made to relocate then they move away without a backward glance.

• There will be a soft landing of course.

• Step out of the VEHECIALL LOL

• I would tell any garda to go to Oz. Travel Travel Travel . I spent two years away with UN in two different countries, Fantastic experience with new people. You can develop tunnel vision if you stay in the one place too long I have been to Oz recently, great place. GO GO GO This country is ********************ed!

• Linden village

• LOSE DA HATTITUDE

• In 2002 a Royal Commission said
    “…the full range of corrupt or criminal conduct from stealing to assaults, perjury, drug dealing and the improper disclosure of confidential information have been examined. [The Western Australian Police Service] has been ineffective in monitoring those events and modifying its procedures to deal with that conduct and to prevent its repetition. The fact that there remain in WAPS a number of officers who participated in this conduct, and who not only refused to admit it, but also uniformly denied it with vehemence, is a matter of concern.”

Sounds like a splendid organisation!

• Aussie bubble will never fully burst, as long as our lambs are sent to the slaughter on a daily basis. Over here you have qualifications to do a particular trade or skill, then when you get to Oz, you have to go on a training course to earn the papers they want you to have. And that will be $3000 Paddy or Mary, please. Put all those dollars together on a daily basis from all the refugees, and that will help keep those bastards afloat. We should do the same here for all the Chinese, Pakistani, Polish, that will be doing a yellow pack Garda job, or any other work. Economy sorted.

• The gardai in this country are useless and lazy and anyone who has ever been the victim of a crime that is beneath that of murder or a serious assault will know that from experience. Look at the number of vehicles driving around at night with 50% of the lights at the front of the vehicle not operational, this is the only developed country in the world where a serious safety problem like that would be tolerated by a police force, whose job it is to enforce traffic legislation.

They don’t have to bother themselves with speeding or parking offences, those have long since been outsourced, every single retail outlet and pub in the country has to put on its own private security, you’d have to seriously ask yourself what it is the Gardai are actually doing.

• Nearly 300, 000 views on this article? Might explain why the journal is slow to load today?

• Michael Collins Ghost………thats for sure ,red thumbs for danger ,green for go,,but the citizen is not stupid ,this kind of take over is not good for democracy. Having watched here now for weeks the truth is clear its organized and other writers are affraid to have their say herein

• CPC7 18/02/13 #

Those interested should be under 50 years old and need to meet a number of other requirements, including physical fitness……

Ah, shite, fitness tests, hard luck lads…..

• @StephenGriffith Yeah, an outrageous cost of living chased by outrageously high salaries, chased by an ever increasing cost of living, followed by more crazy salary expectations, where have we seen the likes of that happening before?!?!?!?

• Excuse me we’re bleeding gorgeous

• Headline should read: “Public sector workers MAY now have to look at the option of emigration, for a better career, as hundreds of thousands of people in the private sector have been doing since 2008″, SHOCK HORROR.

• Looks like the GRA have the thumbs on this page well and truly managed!

• Perfect solution. Off they go and stop complaining!

• Nicer life-style and climate but surely they are taking a pay drop by going there when you factor in allowances in Ireland?

• We should be paying our Gardai to take up these offers, let’s see how far the profound ignorance and incompetence that we are used to seeing out of them, will get them when they land in Australia.

• Would love if we sent the lads from Crimebusters!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8k1d8uX9Gw&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• 70K after 5 years, an absolutely ridiculous salary by any reasonable standard for that kind of job, wait ’til the shít hits the fan over there with their economy when their bubble bursts and see how long they are paying those wages out for what is not too far off a low skilled job function.

• It’s only about €38,000 after 5 years, the US dollar, sterling, euro and Australian dollar are not like for like, they have varying exchange rates

• AUD 70K wont buy you much in Perth.
      You need 2 incomes at that for any decent standard of living.

• @ Gaius Gracchus AUS$70,000 is €54,000, its very easy to find that out and its €16000 more than you thought it was.

• You will find that alot of police forces pay higher now then the guards. The psni are on much better wages as are nypd when you add in allowances for nights and holidays.
      I’m sure someone will say a police officer in latvia earns less but come on lol. Pick any police force in europe they are much much better resoursed too I don’t think anywhere in eu would we see police driving under powered cars and also they have much more advanced stations and PPE
      The guards for years took hit after hit but it is time to take a stand. Otherwise we will lose our best.
      Older guards are doing alright still but its younger who still have house and car to pay for are the hardest hit.
      I look at myself, 3 bed house well outside dublin rooms rented out a 14k car deposit loan for house and personal loan of 4k now that’s not extragent by any means and I’d find it near impossible to get by. Just about but hit me with unexpected bill and I would not be paying mortgage that month.
      Now I don’t think its unreasonble for a person to expect to have a modest house and a modest car in any society. Granted I bought in boom time but sure if I was unemployed and had partner with baby is fair much much better off and thats not right.
      By the way I have the application for the WA police. I’d hate to leave but like many if I could leave rent out fully and pay for it from over there I would. Hopefully we can stop more of these savage cuts and invest more into AGS and let us get on better with what we do best

• @Ian, yes it is now, but in 5 years time that 70k will have depreciated as the AUD has been steadily weakening against the Euro since the end of last year, barring a second round of bailouts for EU countries, that trend will continue

• brilliant now our financial experts who wont even use their own to comment are advising other countries on their payscales and cost of living.im sure many australians are waiting anxiously for the thumbs up from irish keyboard warriors on how their managing their economy

Add New Comment