TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Revealed: Life behind the scenes at the secretive Bilderberg conference

Documents sent to attendees, including Michael Noonan, outlining the culture of the high-powered and confidential meetings.

The Minister for Finance, Michael Noonan, was one of three Irish attendees at this year's Bilderberg Conference - a secretive meeting of high-powered figures in politics, business and media.
Image: Yves Logghe/AP

IT IS ONE of the world’s most secretive and high-powered groups – bringing together figures from the political, financial, diplomatic, corporate and media worlds in a confidential four-day conference discussing all manner of sensitive topics.

Today, TheJournal.ie can shine a light on some of the inner workings of the Bilderberg conference – an annual meeting where the world’s most powerful and influential people meet to discuss the shape of the world and what can be done to improve it.

Documents obtained under Freedom of Information legislation reveal the full agenda of the 2012 meeting, which counted Ireland’s Minister for Finance, Michael Noonan, among its attendees.

They also provide previously unconfirmed details about the protocol and nature of the invite-only event – the secrecy of which often prompts accusations that the group’s ultimate task is either the advance of capitalism worldwide, or the formation of a unified global government.

The 2012 conference, held just outside Washington, DC, took place over the June Bank Holiday weekend – requiring Noonan to leave Ireland on the day that polling was taking place on the crucial Irish referendum on the eurozone’s Fiscal Compact treaty.

The minister’s attendance cost a total of €4,366 – about three-quarters of which was his air fare, with a hotel bill for $1,161 (the Marriott Westfields hotel charged Bilderberg attendees $355 a night, plus taxes, for their rooms) and €261 in other miscellaneous expenses.

Asked about Noonan’s attendance in June, a spokesman for the Department of Finance said the conference provided “an excellent opportunity to sell Ireland on the world stage”.

“The Minister is working to promote a positive image of Ireland and to attract jobs and investment into Ireland,” he added.

‘All discussions are therefore private’

The documents inform participants about the nitty-gritty of the annual event, including details on its dress code (casual dress for daytime, formal wear for evening meals) and even informing them that personal staff are generally not welcome unless agreed in advance.

“Participants attend in a private capacity, irrespective of their official position,” it advises.

The sole purpose of the debate is to have an exchange of views about the issues on the agenda, from which participants are free to draw their own conclusions.

They stress that the meeting does not issue any formal communications afterward, nor take a vote on any resolutions – with all of its discussions taking place on a strictly not-to-be-quoted basis.

“Fruitful discussions are enhanced by an atmosphere of mutual trust in which participants can express themselves freely,” attendees are told.

All discussions are therefore private and off-the-record; the press is excluded from the meetings.

No aides, no spouses

They reveal how the few personal staff brought by some guests – likely to include members of various royal families who were on the 2012 attendance list – are given their meals in a separate room, so as to preserve the general confidentiality of any discussions.

While there is some flexibility for bringing personal staff, there is none for significant others: attendees are told that participants “may not bring spouses to Bilderberg Meetings”.

The briefing notes – sent in two batches, one at the time when Noonan accepted his invitation to the conference and a second shortly before departure – also contain the original intended attendance list for the 2012 meeting, which includes several names not on the ‘official’ list.

The list may be incomplete, however: reporters covering the conference said they understood US presidential candidate Mitt Romney had been present, as had Microsoft co-founder Bill Gates. Neither of those men appeared on either list.

Also included is the conference’s preliminary agenda, which again differs from the published official ‘final’ version. Among the topics down for discussion were Trans-Atlantic relations, ‘Putin 2.0′, the politics and geopolitics of energy, tackling the nuclear threat of Iran, instability in the Middle East, and the economic and political outlook in China. Topics listed as being discussed, but not included in the preliminary list, include US foreign policy and a discussion on the sustainability of the Euro.

Bilderberg has only a small full-time secretariat, which the documents reveal to be based in the Netherlands – but which shuts down for the duration of the annual conference.

Its financial setup means it does not cover accommodation costs for the participants; the 140-or-so people in attendance, all of whom stayed at the Marriott Westfields hotel, were each charged the same $355-per-night rate for each of the three nights that they stayed.

The hotel, situated about 20 minutes’ drive from Washington’s Dulles international airport, was booked in its entirety for the four-day event; it reportedly removed all non-Bilderberg guests in the days ahead of the conference in order to beef up its security.

Even still, security is so tight at the conference – given the concentration of high-powered guests staying in close quarters – that attendees are required to add special labels to their luggage, carrying the conference’s ‘B’ logo.

Though the hotel is entirely booked out, attendees are assured that the final guest list is not given to the hotel until the latest possible opportunity. For 2012, the hotel also used a special name – ‘Palm Tree’ – to refer to the conference before details of the venue were publicly released.

Other attendees at the 2012 event included the presidents of the ECB and the World Bank, the Queen of the Netherlands and the Crown Prince of Belgium, three European Commissioners, and figures of many of the world’s leading companies including Google and Goldman Sachs.

An Irish connection

Other Irish attendees included two former attorneys-general: Peter Sutherland, now the chairman of Goldman Sachs International and who sits on Bilderberg’s steering committee, and barrister Paul Gallagher who still regularly represents the likes of IBRC in court.

Irrespective of whether any of the three Irish attendees are invited to future conferences, they will all be briefed on what is discussed: the documents refer to a ‘summary report’ of the conference, outlining what was said at each debate (though not the person who said it).

This summary report is sent to the attendees of the conference, and to those who had participated in previous meetings.

Among other previous Irish attendees are another two former attorneys-general: former Tánaiste Michael McDowell and practising barrister Dermot Gleeson. The late former Taoiseach, Garret FitzGerald, also attended during his tenure as Minister for External Affairs in the 1970s.

Ireland’s Freedom of Information laws provide that third parties must be consulted on any request which would result in the release of their personal information.

The only redactions to the documents – other than details of credit cards used to book Noonan’s transport and accommodation – are the names and contact details of staff from the Bilderberg secretariat.

The group takes its name from the Dutch hotel in which its first meeting was held in 1954; the first conference was prompted by fears of a growing anti-American sentiment in Europe, leading a Polish politician to arrange a confidential meeting between a small group of individuals from both sides of the Atlantic.

The meetings have been held every year since, with one exception – 1976, when a bribery scandal involving a member of the Dutch royal family resulted in the event being called off.

Read: What are the Bilderberg Meetings – and what’s Michael Noonan doing there?

Read next:

Comments (134 Comments)

• thejournal said “Participants attend in a private capacity, irrespective of their official position,”

If Noonan was attending in a ‘private’ capacity how come the Irish tax payer is picking up the tab?

• I’m on hold to the department of finance right now, trying to ascertain who paid for this! If it was the taxpayer, then surely Noonan has broken some kind of law?

• I got through to Minister Noonan’s office, and fair play to them, they were very courteous, and not afraid to attempt answering the question.

I asked the Ministers Aide, that if the Taxpayer funded this trip, even though it’s explicitly stated that attendees are in a private position, does this break any Ministerial Code of Conduct.

She said she’d get the details and call me back. She then asked if I was a Journalist, and I informed her I’m a concerned Citizen and Taxpayer.

• Fair play Daniel. Will be interesting to hear what the answer is. Keep us updated!

• Absolutely Daniel, keep us in the loop!

• Gavan, what’s your take on this, in terms of the Ministerial Code of Conduct? For example, I know in the USA, it’s an impeachable offence for a US Governor/Senator or President to engage in any non-official business other than Official Gov business, and that all activity is recorded and noted through the relevant channels. For example, Obama having a private meeting with a CEO off the record, he could be impeached.

Update, just got a call back from the Dept. Noonans private secretary, a Mr Sean Kinsella, is fielding Bilderberg queries. He’s on leave for 2 weeks, but I have his email address.

I can post the email address, but not sure if I’m allowed under data protection

• @Daniel – In all honesty, I’d never heard of such a rule existing in any jurisdiction before now. My gut would tell me that it’s difficult to pass a law telling someone what they can and can’t do with their free time.

The point about who paid the bill for his travel is an interesting one – I suppose there’s probably a distinction to be drawn about participating in a private capacity and being invited in it.

• I think it is interesting that there is a representative of the Dept as in Mr Sean Kinsella , who is ”fielding” any queries about the Bildeberg Conference and that no one else in the dept can answer a straight yes or no question , simply put by a concerned citizen and member of the public ! Keep us posted Daniel. This is an interesting one !

• Yes, it has to be a private gathering because under US federal law (Logan Act), it prohibits any Americans at this meeting from negotiating with foreign officials in such a clandestine manner. However as we all know they’re not there organising their social lives.

• So Peter Sutherland the chair man of Goldman sacs the”advisors” to the government . The “advisors” who advised the government to pay the bond holders .and the bond holders are Goldman sacs .

• he was there to ‘sell’ Ireland.
    ah well least he admits it :-D.
    well done journal for reporting on this.

• An ultra secretive, high power, invite only group…in which you attend in a personal capacity, irrelevant to any position you hold…(was the ?4,366 cost paid by HIM, or by us taxpayers?)

…jaysus, doesn’t Noonan represent the man on the ground very well!! ffs!

“sell Ireland”?…oh that’s great…apart from the fact NOBODY apart from the group themselves really hear what happens in the meeting!!

• Is this where he literally began to ”sell” Ireland piece by piece ? But who knows ? As you say none of it is reported !

• Your right Eileen, piece by piece, little by little we are slowly being eroded! If he was there representing Ireland then he should reveal what was said!! I hate FG!!

• well done stephen very well said

• ‘sell out’ Ireland more likely…

• It’s quite obvious that Noonan wasn’t invited in a “come for the fun of it” capacity. He was obviously summoned to receive instructions. Not that Fine Gael need to be told. They’re more than happy to be sell Ireland Inc as long as they get their cut. Oh gawd I hate Fine Gael too Ryan. :(

• It is completely undemocratic & in reality a means to corrupt democracy – by the fact of politicians’ attendance.

‘Private capacity’ my a**e. Noonan & others are elected to represent the ordinary people – the majority – not receive 3 days of intensive brainwashing (& further ‘summary’ reports every year) in private, by the worlds’ super wealthy elites.

Don’t care if such elites meet among themselves 9their right as private citizens), but whatever is discussed with serving politicians should be recorded verbatim & added to the public record. Not necessarily for immediate or full public release, but available thru’ a defined legal process of public rights to government information.

By inviting politicians for such private meetings the elites show utter contempt for democracy. They have the power to make or break politicians. By definition the views & interests of the wealthy elite few will rarely, if ever, coincide with those of the majority of citizens. They have no business seeking such private influence over elected officials in a properly functioning democracy.

Picking up just one item on their ‘aganda’ – ‘What to do about Iran?’

There doesn’t need to be any ‘to do’ about Iran – they are a sovereign country not threatening anyone or engaging in military adventurism. Whilst they have no nuclear weapons, there is another middle east country that has developed dozens in secret, ready for immediate use & IS engaged in a long standing, illegal, occupation & various other military adventures beyond their own borders (Georgia for one) – Israel. Yet the Bilderbergers wish to discuss Iran, posing the question in a loaded fashion that clearly indicates their predisposition.

Note also, the Bilderbergers & their ‘steering committee’ are chock full of the world’s elite bankers. Do they deserve such private access to politicians who are supposed to represent us, given the events of the last few years, still unresolved?

Any politician with any sense of democracy should have told them where to get off, not attended.

• Choooon 14/08/12 #

Sell Ireland? Yeah right. He was there to get a set of instructions on how to further impoverish the people of Ireland.
      I’d recommend people to have a look at a documentary called ‘The Deception of Obama’. It’ll give a good insight into what is teally going on the World. They are gradually trying to take our liberties away from us.
      Que the red thumbs, but I don’t care. I have educated myself on these things and the power these people desire is frightening!

• sounds like a stonecutters meeting

• Definition of “conspiracy”
    noun (plural conspiracies)

a secret plan by a group to do something unlawful or harmful.
    Definition of “theory”
    noun (plural theories)

a supposition or a system of ideas intended to explain something, especially one based on general principles independent of the thing to be explained.

Typically, shills apply the term “conspiracy theory” to the questions and musings of people they wish to silence and/or discredit.

I think it is clear, from the definitions of the words, that there IS conspiracy and it is NOT just a theory re Bilderberg meetings.

I recall when the mere mention of such a meeting resulted in one being labelled a “conspiracy theorist”; it seems little has changed, even though knowledge of the existence of the Bilderberg Group meetings has become more mainstream.

Thanks, @Gavin

• So much for democracy. Our Minister for Finance, the man who controls and dictates economic policies that impact on every man, woman and child in the state attending a meeting of a secretive and elitist society and we are unable to question him concerning the matters discussed and conclusions drawn.

Absolutely f@cking ridiculous.

As an employee of the state Noonan should be forced to provide the electorate with a full report on the issues raised and conclusions drawn during his attendance at the Bilderberg conference or to stand down as Minister for Finance.

• Thanks to the Journal leading with this. You’re the Al Jazeera of Ireland :D

• Bilderberg now have control of Al Jazeera. Press TV or RT would be a better metaphor. Yes, thanks to Journal.ie for this. Incidently, RT were the first Mainstream International 24hr. news channel to send it’s cameras to a Bilderberg meeting. Hoping to see Journal.ie there next year as this thing opens up.

• Its all about controlling the people of the world through the money system,they print money backed by nothing and then they wage war against ordinary people and take more and more control.We pay for the wars through taxation,so we will always be pushed down and it wont change unless we stop it.The federal reserve act of 1913 will end in america at the end of this year,so that means the dollar won,t be the reserve currency of the world unless the powerful banking elite can get the act passed through congress again,keeping in mind the last time (1913) the act was passed through congress only 3 or 4 congressmen were present.The elite know they wont have a chance in hell of getting this done this time so they are crashing all economies to bring in a new currency across the globe.To do all this,there will be war,rising prices,food shortage,no jobs,ect,ect.The whole system is corrupt,it always was.What they are doing at these bilderberg mettings is making sure the few wealthy families keep control of the money system,in short they are playing god.

• RE – To the people of Ireland, including Mr Noonan.

Can ye imagine an Ireland where it’s society were well educated, well looked after by a well managed health system. A nation of people that were truely represented by the politicians that they would elect. Where big business was big only because all each man, woman and child of this country would have a stake in it’s ownership. Services run by the people, for the people and of course, for the people.

Imagine what it would be like to experience low taxes on our labour and the services we avail of. No TV licence, no hidden taxes, no stamp duty. Everyone with equal opportunities, positive outlook on life and generally a happier, safer existance.

How does something like this come about?

What if our government (We the people) created our own line of credit. Sovereign paper money or digital credit lent by one publically owned bank who earnings would cover its running costs / wages – No interest created so no new money is pumped into the system thus no inflation.

How can we trade with this new currency?

Well, we have a country of roughly 70,000 sqkm. Atleast half of that is land that can support livestock (Remember back when we had fields upon fields of animals all accross the countryside).
      We have an unbelieveable 200 million acre marine resource full of marine live.
      In that 200 million acre area, we have untold billions worth of oil and gas.
      We have western and southern coasts which boasts one of the best sites in the world for renewable energy both wind and wave.
      We live in a country which is rich in raw materials and minerals (steel, lead, zinc, silver, aluminum, barite, and gypsum)
      Ireland’s arable land can produce vast quantities of turnips, barley, potatoes, sugar beets, wheat, beef, and dairy products.

We literally can be the ‘best little’ country in the world.

But when we are forced to borrow foreign credit (Which is created out of thin air) and not create our own, when we elect money hungry, selfish traitors to represent us – we loose all ownership of the resources above. All our public services are in a deliberate mess. Over paid, under worked, under qualified, unpatriotic self servicing middle and higher management that squander resources to the point that services are poor, even life threathening.
      We have sold our national resouces both marine and land based for next to nothing.
      We have a government who serve foreign interests and not the people they promised prior to each and every election.

The difference between 1916 and 2012 is that back in 1916, all of us were the same. We generally were of the same ‘class’ We banded together as we had nothing to lose if we had nothing to start with. This power of unity helped wrestle our country back out of the hands of 800 years of repression.
      Since then, over time, they slowly divided us.
      We now have atleast 6 social classes.
      1. The Underbelly – who never work, live off the state and encourage their children to do the same. Dont marry as they’ll lose their free house and social welfare payments and ‘entitlements’.
      2. The Working – who had limited education, now working in low paying service jobs, living day to day, week to week.
      3. The Lower Middle – who have semi skilled jobs, renting as they cannot save enough to borrow against. Have just a bit saved but cannot risk spending it incase something happens.

4. The Middle – who are educated up to 3rd level. They are stuck with over priced mortgages, in negative equity. Possibly have one spose who have lost their job if not both. Wishing to escape this hell and immigrate.These people are scared to death for themselves and their loved ones. Highly stressed and desperate. No health insurance, savings tied up when used to borrowed against for their mortgage.

5. The Higher Middle – who have been hit with the financial crisis, but havent lost much. Are property owners or very close it. Middle management in the public sector or highly educated working in niche industries in the private sector. The are looking to the future as normal.

6. The Higher – who have their money made. Their children will gain employment either from their education or nepotism. Have private health policies and investment properties.

How can any nation rise up and take back their country when its clearly and cleaning divided. No leader or leadership, no one to risk everything like they did in 1916.

• Excuse the typos and grammatical errors. Sent from ‘smart’ phone.

• We can just get u to kick their ass Jason. I’ve seen your work, impressive.

• Great to see Journal.ie covering the activities of this group. Just one point: I would replace “advance of Capitalism” with “advance of Corporatism”. It would be great if their wish was the advancement of the free market, competition etc, but actually competition is the enemy to these people. The whole purpose of these meetings to consolidate wealth into the hands of a private club, a Fortune 500, instead of a healthy middle class; Monopolies instead of Small Businesses. Pulling all the energy to the centre. Massive Corporations, armies of Slaves. Everything that Democracy, Free Market, Human Liberty, stands against…….these people are stand for.

• Can someone explain why the Monarch’s of democratic country’s are invited? Aren’t these people supposed to be “Figureheads of State” and aren’t the elected government supposed to be looking out for the welfare of the people??

They only invited Noonan coz he’s a soft touch. If the Bilderberg attendees don’t like what he says, then they can ignore him just like the Irish people have with the household charge.

• “Participants attend in a private capacity, irrespective of their official position,”…….. discussions are therefore private and off-the-record; the press is excluded from the meetings………..if so, then how come the Irish public paid for Noonan’s costs??
    Gavin, are you going to put this to the Dept, or Mr. Noonan himself??

• So I presume he will be questioned about his attendance and dealings at such a meeting
    in the Dáil as a representative of the Irish state and the capacity in which he attended ‘Minister for Finance’ ?

• Wow this is some scoop. I am sure RTE will cover it on the six one news, along with a story on the massive increase in the number of Drones used in conflicts around the world and that over 50 countries now have drones, coz that is what an independent media would do. Right?

I agree with Eileen above, If I was a secret organization that is coming more under a microscope and I knew it was possible my agenda would be asked for in a freedom of information request I would have 2 agendas. Sky one did a documentary on the Bilderberg group before under the pretense it was conspiracy theory nonsense, except they found it wasn’t.
    Charlie Skelton in the Guardian is worth a read every year.
    His reports from the Greek one show just how important privacy is to these super powerful people.
    Fair play to Vincent Browne who mentioned it in his article in June too.

• So, german bund boy went to a secret meeting of a secretive society where no spouses or aides are allowed attend to secretly discuss a secret agenda, but he was really “working to promote a positive image of Ireland and to attract jobs and investment into Ireland”

An insult to our collective intelligence. The man who is doing most in this nation to further create a two tier society attends a meeting of the Bilderbergs, who are famed for trying to create a two tier world, and we’re to believe he did so in our nations best interests?

• Founded by the pro nazi prince of holland the group denied their existence up until recently. It is not covered by the media because they own the media. Noonan did not go to sell us he was summonsed to go to get his orders on how to enslave the Irish people and steal our natural resources. The bilderberg group met in Dublin in 2010 and not a word by any associated press. Kenny was quizzed about this on and he nearly pooped a brick. Look on YouTube bilderberg group exposed on pat kenny. These are the elite who control the world

• This stuff would make the ordinary person just wanna vomit!

• ‘high powered figures’ as in Noonan!!!! They big guys have Him there to keep him happy and give him the impression that he is being included!

I bet at lunch he is in the corner with the kiddies menu.

• Noonan flew to Chantilly on the day before the Referendum on ESM. It is obvious that his invitation was to receive orders from “die kamaraden” in the event that WE disobeyed orders and voted No.

• It’s a meeting where the most powerful make sure the slightly less powerful do as they are told,
    To keep the world in a constant state of war and fear and misinformation, to keep the most powerful in place.

No one elected has the right to attend a secret meeting especially using the electorates money,

• noonan attended a meeting of greedy bankers that was defintely not in favour of the ordinary taxpayer in ireland

• Very dangerous Group

• And why exactly would former AG Paul Gallagher be there?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Gallagher_(barrister)

Would love to be a fly on the wall for the ‘what does Putin v2.0 mean’

Agenda even mention the future of democracy. these meetings should be public imho

• “When you see that trading is done, not by consent, but by compulsion – when you see that in order to produce, you need to obtain permission from men who produce nothing – when you see that money is flowing to those who deal, not in goods, but in favors – when you see that men get richer by graft and by pull than by work, and your laws don’t protect you against them, but protect them against you – when you see corruption being rewarded and honesty becoming a self-sacrifice – you may know that your society is doomed.”
    Ayn Rand

• limofax 14/08/12 #

Ayn Rand is a self professed enemy of intellectualism. Jennifer Burns called her writings “the ultimate gateway drug to life on the right” and Rand is the darling of the republican far-right. Objectivism is a phase most sensible people who get involved in, will grow out of. Most! The ones that stick with her philosophy call themselves the “Tea Party”. She does, like most writers provide the odd good quote every now and then but her teachings are the work of someone who espouses selfishness not only as a virtue but probably the most important one of all.

• @limofax – Ayn Rand and Milton Friedman are possibly two of the smartest people who have ever walked this earth in terms of economics. Unfortunatly the left generally fail to appreciate their brilliance.

• limofax 14/08/12 #

Milton Friedman has been the most spectacular failure worldwide in economic terms. In fact his fans are solely responsible for the economic mess the world finds itself in. Those are the facts.

• Milton friedman preches free market economics, the free market has never really existed here or in the US, the collapse was not capitalism or the free markets doing , and as for the after effect, milton , rand or anybody else who believes in the free market system wouldnt have bailled out the banks or been paying rediculously high social welfare so the debt wouldnt exist.

• Limofax- The corporatist elite are becoming increasingly emboldened. Senior politicans and their cronies meet blatantly behind closed doors. They don’t care who knows it. The same taxpayers who are expected to cover the increasing loses of banks and bondholders are expected to foot the bill for this meeting.
      Rand forewarned the dangers of allowing politicans too much power. That this would ultimately result in the moral and functional corruption of societies and economies. She warned against heeding the call of self-sacrifice from those in power.
      History shows us that the merging of political and commercial interests results in dilution of freedom and the destruction of justice for ordinary people. A sure route to serfdom of the masses.
      Rand advised that the antidote to rising corporatist power was the advancement of individual rights and liberties rather than the erosion of same.
      Perhaps before you critique Rands observations, you should read them first rather than relying on third hand accounts.

• limofax 14/08/12 #

I have read them. Like I said, it was a phase. I just don’t like/rate/believe in her writings. I don’t rate her type of selfish individualism as workable in any type of society. She starts good discussions they eventually go knowhere. Honestly, she was good to chat about when we were in college when we thought we knew it all, before we actually lived in the real world. I never questioned if she was intelligent, she obviously was, but that doesn’t make her right. As for Milton Freidman, a fail is a fail. But look, whatever floats your boat.

• @ Stephen Church: This is the most turkey-ish statement I’ve seen yet on this site – and that’s saying something.

Ayn Rand was a certifiable nut job whose ‘ideas’, which make a virtue of selfishness, have gained circulation precisely because they favour bankers and the rich, and the kind of people represented at Bilderberg. She and her followers are the enemies of the vast majority of people.

• For those that have read and understood Rand, when she wrote about selfishness, she was advancing the cause of the rational self-interest of the individual.
      The most socially damaging episodes of the past 100 years have emerged as a consequence of collectivist philosophies, which required citizens to suspend their ‘selfishness’ in the interest of a greater cause. Nationalism required citizens to suspend their own interests to promote the cause of the nation. Socialism required individuals to suspend their own interests to promote the cause of the collective. Fascism required individuals to suspend their own interests to promote the cause of the state.
      Now the latest collectivist crisis requires individuals to suspend their interests to promote the cause of state protected corporate interests.
      No collectivist episode has ended well for those that were subjected to it.
      If you want a job done well, do it yourself. If you want your interests protected you must do it yourself. Politicans will pay lip service, while also demanding more sacrifice. It should become increasingly clear to Irish people that politicans do not have their interests at heart and are more interested in the welfare of bankers and maintaining the status quo than the hardships of individuals and families. Only a nutjob would rely on these same politicans to protect his or her interests.

• Shape shifting lizards the lot of them

• Correction this group does not meet to make any attempt to improve the world they are powermongers and hell bent on ensuring the few that have the wealth in this world keep it – I’m surprised that the Journal is so naive to suggest that there is any sentiment amongst the bilderbergs for the benefit of mankind

• Peter Sutherland is the official autobiographer for the Rothchilds.

• I honestly can not imagine that with all the preparations to keep this ”conference” private that some one would accidentally leave an agenda ,badly typed , to be found. It does not make sense, to me. The list seems to be a reasonable list of discussions , and I just wonder is it the real one. I dislike having the notion that there are conspiracies involved , but why else is it so secret ?
    I can not imagine Noonan fitting in with these types either. As some one above said ”I bet at lunch he is in the corner with the kiddies menu.” Maybe the two barristers were better able to hold their own among that group of Power Wielders….
    Dangerous times and we must all become more aware !

• the new world order is starting to rear it’s ugly face this is the beginning of the end people watch out for the next phase engineered economic collapse of the dollar and then the euro bayyen down the hatches it’s going to get bumpy

• Any taking over the world organisation that has Noonan as a member can’t be up to much.

• We need to get rid of these greedy snakes. The Bilderberg Group, Bilderberg conference, or Bilderberg Club is an annual, unofficial, invitation-only conference of approximately 120 to 140 guests from North America and Western Europe, most of whom are people of influence.[2][3] About one-third are from government and politics, and two-thirds from finance, industry, labour, education and communications. Meetings are closed to the public.

• Good work digging that up journal, on the ball

• To clarify Bilderberg’s meeting will follow that of its brother group, the Trilateral Commission, which will gather at the Four Seasons Resort in Dublin, Ireland May 6-10 2010

• Hold on a second. “Participants attend in a private capacity, irrespective of their official position,”. Yet it says the minister’s attendance cost a total of €4,366. So who paid the bill? If the Minister was there in a private capacity it better not be the Irish tax payer. I as an Irish tax payer object to paying for a Ministers expenses when he is attending something in a private capacity.

• fair play gavin at least your makin the people think .i thought they,d done well to keep it in this long.
    Im not very impressed that a group like this should be allow meet and especially the fact that our current minister is STILL ALLOWED make decisions for our nation CALL FOR REVOLUTION DOWN WITH THIS CORPROTOCRACY

• Why does everyone always get so worked up about the Bilderberg conference?
    You’re only not invited because you’re not important. Most people are ants. But you’re happy ants, with lots of shiny toys like smart phones and 3d TV’s to keep you in thoughtless and controllable.

• Grassroots my left ventricle!

• Wake up and educate yourself Shane. Start by watching Endgame on YouTube. Maybe then Loose Change.

• Did the journal cover the 2010 meeting in Dublin?

• Interesting the meeting wasn’t held in 1976. I wonder what 1977 brought insofar as war/regime change/global money laundering etc.
    When words actually meant what they were suppose to, whereas now war means peace and so on. Oh look Jimmy Carter was Prez and he wanted a full and complete report on human rights practices around the world.

• Jesus my mistake biography slip of the finger

• Nice to see Facebook had a representative in Sheryl Sandberg COO

• Firstly, great article Gavan.

This is probably just a very naive view given my complete lack of economical and political knowledge but, is this group not a good thing? Does it not give a rare opportunity for some of the western world’s most powerful and brightest economists, politicians and business people to discuss major world issues in an environment where their ideas and views can be expressed truthfully and with no public backlash? That will surely allow them some extra freedom to voice more creative and unorthodox solutions to problems.

In response to all the people complaining about the trip possibly being funded by the taxpayer and about Noonan being ‘told what to do’, does that really matter? It’s not a lot of money when you consider the huge sums that we owe. Is it not worth it if he gains knowledge and skills that can help us manage our financial crisis? Also, I don’t think it should really bother anyone if some of the world’s leading economists are telling him what to do to set the country right again….

• Shane. Have you noticed the mess the world economy is in currently? Take a look at the names attending that conference and notice that many are involved in the very area’s you mention which brought us to this sorry state. Do you really think that they should be allowed to become more creative or unorthodox?

Regarding Noonan’s trip in a private capacity seemingly paid for by the Irish tax payer at what ‘value’ would you consider it unethical to use state funds to pay for private travel?

• I can just imagine the reaction on this website if it was revealed that Noonan was invited and turned down the chance to attend. There would be uproar I’m sure, calling him useless and unable to do his job. Most of those that criticise his attendance would have criticised his non-attendance just as much. So it’s more point scoring than proper, valid criticism.

Secondly, if it is so secretive how come they consented to having the agenda released?

And finally, as for the agenda itself, surely these are all topics we should ALL be discussing or already are discussing (e.g. Iran, Putin’s dominance in Russia, the economy). It’s just when politicians and others aren’t being recorded by journalists, they can give honest opinions rather than politically correct, self-censored ones. Obviously I can understand the journalist’s “frustration” at this.

• ” if it is so secretive how come they consented to having the agenda released?”

How do we know its not a faked agenda? A group as secretive as the bilderbergs are as likely to release the real meeting agenda as michael noonan being at a bildergergs meeting for Irelands benefit.

Its called disinformation. Secretive groups ae good at that stuff, and its not exactly rocket science.

“I can just imagine the reaction on this website if it was revealed that Noonan was invited and turned down the chance to attend. There would be uproar I’m sure, calling him useless and unable to do his job. ”

“Do his job”?

I thought fine gael HQs official line is that he attended as a private citizen?

• True that it could be misinformation, but I can’t see the Dutch really going to all that bother. I suppose it adds to the fun for you all though if there are conspiracy theories and so forth.

I don’t know what FG HQ has to do with it? The documents come from the Department of Finance. Did you not spot that in the story?

• limofax 14/08/12 #

Did the Fine Gael press office write that comment for you?

• @ Ryan. I’ll simplify. Why are you inferring he was there ‘doing his job’, when the official line is that he attended as a private citizen?

• @ limofax: Ah I see – anyone who voices an opinion different from yours must be a “blueshirt” I suppose? Must make life nice and simple for you.

I’ve stated many times on here that I’ve nothing to do with FG, yet I’m hit with the same old silly names over and over again. You should try to come up with a few new ones!

My apologies for not going along with the rabble raising, tabloid style tone of the rest of the comments – full of conspiracy theories. Sorry for having a different opinion to yours as well – NOT!

• @ Tootrue: And what would you have said if it was revealed he had turned down the opportunity to attend?

• @Ryan: I’ll try again. Why are you inferring he was there ‘doing his job’, when the official line is that he attended as a private citizen?

Oh, and I would have been delighted if he had turned down the invitation. A sitting minister for finance of a financially distressed nation has no business attending the bilderbergs.

• limofax 14/08/12 #

Ryan, calm down man. You really need to chill out. Maybe you’re not a ‘bluebottle’, but you seem to come out in a rash everytime someone has a different idea to you or criticises the government. I left a comment further below about this issue and why we should talk about it. If you look at the amount of comments this story has generated you will see that a lot of people want to know more about these events and that clearly the vast majority of then aren’t all conspiracy theorists. Not everything is black and white Ryan. Maybe you should try listening to other points of view and try to understand where other people are coming from, you’ll definetly be the better for it. I used to be a very right wing conservative when I was younger but years of travelling and life experience eventually changed my views. I’m less gullible now and I tend to treat these type of press releases for what they are, the work of some PR advisor who provides us with some basic facts but no information. This is not a left or right issue, this is a democratic issue.

• @ too true: You praise the government? Somehow I doubt it. I don’t think you’ve ever once done that. As for Noonan, the official line from the agenda is that he was there as a private citizen. However he was invited because he is Minister for Finance (I note no other TDs were present) and during his term as Minister, he is a representative for this country.

@ limofax: “but you seem to come out in a rash everytime someone has a different idea to you or criticises the government.”

Says he who resorted to glibly dismissing me as a member of FG in his original reply, just because I have a different opinion to yours. Name calling isn’t exactly debate now is it? And then you dismiss me as “gullible” later on in your post? I’ve responded to each of Too True’s responses so you can’t exactly say I’m not engaging in debate.

In response to your below post, I don’t necessarily agree with all the participants and I think that a wider selection from more diverse backgrounds could be included. But equally I stand by my original post that these ARE topics which should be discussed, but just by politicians but by all of us. And as I’ve also said, often politicians can’t discuss issues to the extent they would wish to because of the fear of incomplete ideas being reported – in the era of leaks, constant media presence and constant campaigning toward the next election rather than actual ruling.

• I had praise for the government in relation to their stance against the vatican, including kennys speech in relation to the cloyne report. Next time they do something as praiseworthy, I’ll praise them as well. But I won’t hold my breath.

• Bribery time for the bilderbergs ?

• If u go on the web type infowars.com . Axel jones he like micheal morre but better everything he talks billerberg

• I just don’t know what any of this means to my daily comings and goings. I do know a bit about history and I have to say that in those highly unusual times when the world was not under the control of some all powerful empire, only total anarchy existed.

Should we be glad our country is included in the inner ranks of the new empire? Or should we be afraid that we’re being sold out to some elite with an unknown agenda?

Ah, I don’t know, those with wild and little informed theories can have their speculative say, I’ll read them later to my endless entertainment, all I know is that the grass needs to be cut and the spuds dug out for the dinner.

• I’m always a bit bewildered by the conspiracy theories surrounding the Builderberg conferences. If this is some massive attempt at the advancement of corporatism, or a type of new world order, then why do we know about their meetings?

Surely if they were serious about changing the world they’d meet without anyone knowing about it?

• And how do you propose to have 140 of the most influencial people in the world converge in the one place without people knowing about it David? Oh, and knowing about the meeting is neither here nor there, knowing what is discussed at the meeting is whats important. And thats what kept secret.

Really, you need to try harder.

• Is this the official Press Statement on the Bilderberg Conference from FG ? They did meet without anyone knowing about it ! There were no reporters , no joint statement afterwards and no comment from Noonan or his two cohorts either…, Secret Meetings , by dangerous people .

• limofax 14/08/12 #

David, you do realise that only in recent history have their meetings become known about due to outside pressures and only few years ago a Guardian journalist was arrested for taking pictures of the guests cars arriving at one of it’s meetings. Not everybody who wants to know more about Bilderberg meetings are conspiracy theorists but it’s a good trick to turn people off asking about them. I don’t think it’s unusual for people to want to ask what our democratically elected officials are doing on our behalf or even what they are being told what to do. Even if he is travelling in a private capacity or not, Noonan wouldn’t have even been asked, if we hadn’t elected him. Unless of course the fate of the world depended on our secondary school curriculum. While they do now provide an ‘agenda’ to the press, we never hear what was actually said or even if anything else was discussed. When wealth cannot be more evenly distributed and private debt can be so easily be socialised, people naturally want to know how these decisions are made. So when a group of the worlds leading political, banking and industrial figures hold meetings behind closed doors and don’t reveal what was said, I think it’s entirely fair for people to ask questions and more importantly demand answers .Fair play to Gav and The Journal for highlighting this grossly underreported event.

• The cabinet is held behind closed doors, union-government negotiations are held behind closed doors, EU council meetings are held behind closed doors, parliamentary party meetings are held behind closed doors.

As much as we’d love to know what is said behind closed doors you’ll never stop politicians and other high profile figures from having discussions that aren’t recorded or aren’t disclosed to the rest of us.

• Member of young fine gael sees no problem with senior member of fine gael who happens to be minister for finance attending bilderberg meeting.

Didn’t see that one coming.

• @ David, all those meeting that you say that are held behind closed doors generally issue statement or disclose what was discussed. Why even cabinet discussions are published after what is it 30 years?

About the only discussions that I’m aware of in recent times that were not recorded are the discussions that took place prior and on the night BL etc., decided to guarantee the banks and look were that got us.

• @david,Very big difference david, cabinet,, parliamentary parties are ELECTED by the people, union leaders ELECTED by the membership,or maybe that has no consequence in your world(order).

• These conspiracy theories crack me up. ‘Pinky and ‘Noonan’ the Brain’ – sure thing boss..!

• @Joe Kelly
      Serious question ! What is your own personal take on the secrecy behind this annual conference . Especially as there are no reports on what is discussed there. I am interested in what you think.

• Some of this is awesome. Now, it seems, that unelected people have , according to some, no right to meet behind closed doors for private discussion. Consenting adults, you know.

• Rory, is Michael Noonan our unelected Minister for Finance?

• Gaius, the the answer to your query , if properly put , is that Noonan was elected to the Dail and APPOINTED Minister for Finance. You seem not to have read earlier comments in whih for a peculiar reason , the was a debate about Noonan being invited in a “private capacity” [ which exercised a lot of minds]. Please , guys , get real .We may think what we like of this meeting but , it is better being inside the tent… and you know the rest of that phrase. Practicalities. Not some imagined form of begrudgery [ if that is possible].

• Rory, he may have been invited in a private capacity, but he was invited due to the fact of the position he holds. Why else would he be invited, to give a presentation on how to make people detest you?

Add New Comment