Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Bord na Móna workers to vote on industrial action in pay row

A train carrying peat fuel across the Bog of Allen for Bord Na Mona's Edenderry power station
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

WORKERS AT BORD na Móna will take a vote on industrial action later this month, in a dispute over a pay increase at the semi-State body.

Unions representing staff at the company say they are due a 3.5 per cent pay increase, which was agreed in 2008 under the Towards 2016 social partnership deal.

However, Bord na Móna management have said funding the increase would necessitate spending cuts elsewhere and put jobs at risk. In a statement, the company said it had offered unions a lesser pay increase which had been rejected.

The Labour Court stated in November that the unions had a valid claim to the increase, but said talks were necessary on how that claim could be addressed. In recent weeks the two sides have been in talks at the Labour Relations Commission.

“Unfortunately workers at Bord na Móna have been left with no choice but to ballot for industrial action,” said Oliver McDonagh, secretary of the Bord na Móna group of unions.

“Management has consistently refused to honour the spirit of the Labour Court recommendation. Bord na Móna workers have shown great patience and dignity in dealing with this intransigence.”

In the statement, Bord na Móna said: “The company made a generous offer of an upfront payment of some €800 per employee and a three per cent per annum potential payment.”

However, it said unions had refused to accept that some of the increase would be made dependent on reaching business targets.

Explainer: Which State assets are being considered for sale?>

Read Next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• neuromancer 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

How can these companies make these kind of “deals”? This just would not happen in the private sector.

• gingerman 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh no here we go again…..

• Karl Doyle 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Look jobs are being lost everywhere due to our incompetent government whether we like it or not and the Irish unions are just drama queens, they should be given a bloody oscar at this stage. I’m probably gonna get a lot of thumbs down for this but idc.

• Begrudgy 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

How much do these bord na mona workers earn a week. Just wondering if they deserve any sympathy.

• Gerard Murphy 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Any striker in this semi-state should be Turfed out.

• Thomas Cooke 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh for Peats sake let’s not get bogged down in the usual arguments.

• sluazcanal 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Give them the pay rise. then next month hit them with a 10% paycut.

• jimbo 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

this is a load of boggixs

• Mark Rodgers 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

How would we know that they were on strike?

This is a joke…………….I thought all the bogs were to be shut down?

Against the massive pain that is being felt in the private sector it is now time that The Croke Park agreement was booted off the pitch. Sell BNM to any one willing to purchase it and let the workers then see what stupidity and greed can create. If buyers don’t form an orderly queue then the State should lease the Company for a nominal sum.

• John 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Pity about the little issue of the “Private Sector” getting the Country into this mess in the first place (private greed).
      Great idea aswell to sell off all the Semi-States…the only indigenous heavy industry remaining in this Country, who contribute directly and indirectly to THIS State through Dividends, direct and indirect Employment and services…yeah, sell ‘em all off and increase further -the foreign investor shareholders’ wealth.

• Silent P 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

They are semi-state not public sector so outside the Croke Park agreement. Average €47,000 a year to cut turf. That’s more than a Garda earns. This country is off the wall.

• David 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@john. they’re only making money off the backs of the rest of us. Sell them off

• Darren Bates 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Great picture of the BNM Narrow Gauge railway there lads ;-)

• Inda Kinny 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

From a purely business perspective there should only be pay rises if they can be afforded and they should go to those who have performed best over the last 12-18 months. Like a normal business. Blanket 3.5% pay rises are just silly. A pay rise for nothing, never mind the knock on effect in pensions costs – and because they’re DB pensions we as a country will end up having to probably pay about €10bn to make up the vacuum in pension funding for semi state companies over the next 30 years. Pensions are the next big bomb for this state.

• Paul Lanigan 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sack em. Problem solved.

• Mark Rodgers 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

John …..your facts are totally wrong as Bord an Mona costs the State in subsidies more than they pay in dividends.
    Wow!
    When you examine this extraordinary situation in a Company that sells its product at global energy prices and pays nothing for its raw materials you are only left with machinery costs , distribution and LABOUR.
    Wow.
    The fat lady is singing her song John and baby it’s cold outside!!!!!!!!!!! !

• John 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Mark, those are 2009 figures in a FG document from when they were Government wannabes! My comments weren’t limited to just BNM, but Semi-States in general.
      Private shareholder greed still doesn’t have a Social Conscience. I’m a ‘State Employee’ at the moment and I would love a 3.5% increase in my weekly State Subsidy.

• David 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

They have damn nice tractors though. No problems with the budget there, only the best for BNM.

• Paddy Murray 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

€47,000 before tax. Same old guys on as normal saying sack them,cut there pay. These lads like many others pay large amounts of tax and have over 30 year service with BNM. Don’t come on slatting them for what they were promised 4 years ago. Only for them many of you would not be able to keep your backsides warm. I bet people here leaving comments have never seen a bog let alone worked on one.
    Grow up

• Gavin O'Neill 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well there are other ways to heat a backside besides turf, coal, oil, electricity and gas for instance.

• Karl Doyle 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The average wage is in the region of €24,000-€27,000 before tax, I’ve saw bogs and saw people working on them and it’s not worth €47,000 even if that’s pretax. If they paid €20,000 taxes that would be fine but they certainly shouldn’t be paid more than the average person in the current scheme of things.

• Mark Rodgers 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

John did you think we were from the Public Sector ….we knew where you worked. I did not suggest we sell all State Companies. That would be madness. But your company is not delivering the goods……..well sell well.
    Now ye want more money…………………there must be secret State Labs producing these people!

• Conor Kirwan 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

BNM is not profitable and not offering productivity gains, therefore the pay rise cannot be afforded. We were all promised things four or five years ago, I’m sure we’re all aware that that was the ancient past.

It’s about time the semi-state bodies caught up with the private sector and the public sector with regards to pay and pay agreements – what was previously agreed is irrelevant to our present needs and capacity to deliver. I’m very sorry, that’s the way it is, the rest of us faced up to it, now it’s your turn BNM.

• Joe Roddy 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why has BNM not been privatized yet? Just sell the firm and management can run it like a business with true competition and it isn’t an issue for the tax payer anymore.

Although they can go on unpaid strike for the next decade for all I care, as like EBS I don’t use their service so won’t notice.

• Ann Murphy 13/03/12 #
    Report this comment

I have worked in BNM since 1984, I have a wife and 4 children, and my yearly earnings before tax is 27,000. Ido not know of any person in the area that i work that takes home 47,000 or anywhere near it. Remember 47,000 is an AVERAGE figure. I wonder have people who were taking home two to three times my wages in the celtic tiger days now become the new begrudgers.

Add New Comment