TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

British police believe Madeleine McCann could still be alive

Officers from the Metropolitan Police say they are looking to have the investigation into the girl’s disappearance nearly five years ago reopened. One detective said that they were working off the possibility that Madeleine could still be alive as a new age progression photo was released today.

Image: Metropolitan Police

BRITISH POLICE HAVE said they still believe that Madeleine McCann could be alive nearly five years after she went missing at a holiday resort in Portugal.

The Metropolitan Police in London have released an age progression image of the girl ahead of her ninth birthday on 12 May. McCann was three-years-old when she went missing from her family’s holiday apartment in the resort of Praia da Luz on 3 May 2007.

Her disappearance sparked a worldwide appeal for information about her whereabouts but to date she has never been found.

Detectives who are examining the case say there is a possibility that Madeleine is still alive and are appealing for anyone who can provide direct information to get in touch with them.

Last year British prime minister David Cameron ordered a review of the case following an appeal from her parents, Kate and Gerry McCann. According to PA, the review has cost £2 million.

Detective chief inspector Andy Redwood, who is working on the case, said: “From the outset we have approached this review with a completely open mind, placing Madeleine McCann at the heart of everything we do.

“We are working on the basis of two possibilities here. One is that Madeleine is still alive; and the second that she is sadly dead.”

Detectives from Scotland Yard’s Homicide and Serious Crime Command are conducting a review of the investigation, working with a team which includes a senior investigating officer from the Policia Judaria in Portugal.

The Met says that its aim is to work with the Portuguese with a view to having the case – which has been closed since 2008 – reopened.

But speaking on a BBC Panorama programme to be broadcast tonight DCI Redwood says it will be up to authorities in Portugal to take the case forward.

“It is a sovereign decision for the Portuguese authorities,” he says. “But obviously what we seek to do is to bring them the best quality information to assist them in making that decision.”

The original investigation by Portuguese authorities has caused controversy in Britain after Madeleine’s parents were each made an ‘arguido’ or a person of interest in the months following their daughter’s disappearance. The status was later revoked, clearing them of any involvement.

They have spent much of the past five years campaigning for their daughter and information about her whereabouts.

Read: McCanns say newspapers ‘made up’ stories about Madeleine >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (94 Comments)

• To everyone insisting she isn’t alive: have you heard of Jaycee Dugard? She was kidnapped at age 11 in 1991 and spent 18 in captivity. She was raped repeatedly and basically made a sex slave, but was found alive and well in 2009. She wrote a book about her experience. It just goes to show; you really can’t make any safe assumptions in cases such as these.

• Yeah,there is a lot of those cases. The parents can’t give up and I think it’s great that we are reminded every year in the off chance one of us actually sees her or she stumbles upon a picture of herself! Until there’s a body,there’s hope. Thats how I’d feel if this was my kid

• Cases like Jaycee Lee Dugard, who was found after 18 years, will always give the McCanns hope that she is still alive.

Hard to say if she is or not, the Portuguese authorities didnt exactly cover themselves in glory at the time. She could easily have been gotten across the spanish border which is about 90 minutes from where she was lifted, her hair cut & dyed etc, its the unusual eye condition that she has which will be impossible to disguise without some sort of contact which may help find her if she is still alive

• what really amazes me here is the bitterness of people

• I only hope some day, she will be found safe.

• I really hope to God these detectives are proved right. This is the worst nightmare for any parent and if she is eventually found I cannot imagine the celebrations.

• it must be very difficult for her parents to get closure. i think its good that the pm is ensuring every possibility is exhausted

• Don’t you think it must be hard to say i wish she was alive i really do wish she was taken by a mother or father that couldnt have children so stupidly kidnapped her and is being looked after really well… but i really do hope that if she was taken as part of a sex crime or something like that, that she died shortly after she was taken… because could anyone anywhere really hope that she’s still alive after all these years and going through horrible torture x. either way i hope she’s found……… its so said to think she’s out there somewhere…… my little girl is nine and to spend one day away from her is torture never mind all those years ……..

• Have to agree with Marykate if she was taken for sex I really hope she died soon after being taken, I have a three year old daughter and would prefer to think she was at peace now rather than endure years of torture……..

• This story brings no new facts to light. It is good that hope has not been lost. Everyone has different opinions on Maddie being alive or dead. Those who believe she is dead are run down as insensitive by those who either believe she is alive or refuse to accept the horror of her being dead.
    There is no new evidence either way. An opinion is just an opinion. Everyone hopes for the safe return of this girl. Four years is a thousand lifetimes of torture for the parents. They were suspects at one point too. This case is getting huge attention, true, but I can’t remember any missing person that had the media headlines all over the world so fast and for so long. I hope she is alive but fear the worst. Either way it has to be agreed that we may never know. Not being a believer in god I would say that it would be nothing short of a miracle of she was recovered. What a day that would be

• I would not like to think there is a person in the entire world who would hurt a three year old, no matter what vested interest they had in snatching her in the first place.
    In the best case scenario, she was snatched by a couple or a single woman who could not have children themselves and are doing their level best to conceal her so they might have a normal “family”… and if that “family” is any way stable, this young girl will grow up to know exactly who she is and find her real parents sooner or later. She’s going to have some sort of memory of who her real parents were anyway.
    In the worst case scenario, like it or not, she was snatched by a pervert for their own gratification. I don’t know how the psychopathic mind works, but I wouldn’t fancy her chances of living past a certain point as we have seen in horrible stories in the past. I, like the other positive minded people here, can only hope that it’s the former that will come about eventually and the McCann family can be reunited some day

• If,by chance,she was snatched and given to people who wanted a family and were actually going to look after her then you can guarantee they wouldn’t tell her where she came from. They would tell her she was an orphan and they adopted her.
      That would be best case scenario. 3 is too young to remember when there’s so much else going on. You’d probably have a feeling that something happened but I can’t imagine you’d recognise your parents easily.
      I really really hope that they find her alive. But I’m not sure I believe they will. If it was my kid though I would never give up. I would give up everything to get my child back. I have no doubt they are doing everything they can and I support them 100%
      Even finding a body at this point would give them some relief. It’s the not knowing that would drive you insane

• Unfortunately there are all too many people capable of hurting a three year old. In the absence of facts, people must put aside their fears and cling to hope.
      Obviously it would be wonderful if she were unharmed , and we’ll all- well most- continue to hope for this but I’m sure her parents have reconciled themselves to the possibility of horrible news. I think closure of any kind would be something now.

• I live with hope that this nightmare ends for her parents… and also that the healing can begin.

• and idiotic / insensitive comment of the day goes to……..

• It is very unlikely that she is still alive. Firstly it never made sense to snatch a child of her age who would have a good idea of who her parents are. It would have made more sense to have kidnapped one of the twins who would not have a very clear idea of who their parents are at a young age.

• Alan browne= gobsh1te

• Do they put as much time and effort into every missing person?
    I think not.

It would be good to see her found, don’t get me wrong (Mostly because I am fed up of hearing her name *Wait to be lynched*) but it’s very unfair on the other people trying to get the same done for their missing family members or friends.

Just because the media latched onto this girl (Didn’t latch onto the negligence of the parents for too long though) doesn’t mean that it should be given more priority than the thousands of other cases out there.

People will not like this comment but I don’t really care. :D

• Lets call a spade a spade, the circumstances are not the same as every missing person. If a child went missing here it would be in the headlines constantly, like it was, with poor Robert Holohan.

And this is even more extreme because it was a blatant kidnap. At the end of the day, in the Western World, genuine non family related child kidnappings are so rare that each of them have their own hype.

• Maybe it has got more coverage because the McCanns have done more than most to keep Madeline’s name in the news?? And you are sick of hearing her name? I hope you continue to be sickened then because I personally would have no problem hearing her name every day until she is found.

• @Seamus
      Fed up, I don’t feel ill from hearing her name.
      Slight difference.

• Well don’t bother clicking in to the story then! Simples

• I still believe that her parents should be held accountable for the neglect of the three children.Their whole family could have been wiped out not just Maddy.

• Liv, do you not think they have suffered enough? With what you propose the other kids would then also lose their parents.

• I’d have to agree with Liv even though there’s no proof that Madeline was killed the McCann’s were totally irresponsible that night and while the price they paid has been horrendous there’s no escaping the fact that they behaved like selfish idiots leaving several young children on their own.

• I agreed Liv, why they weren’t charged with child neglect is a mystery. I have two grown up kids and I would NEVER have left them in the car to run into the shop for a newspaper never mind to go for dinner! That’s not to say I wish they find their daughter, but the more time goes on the less likely this is. They have a living sentence, like many other parents and families.

• It’s a class thing. If the McCann’s were a working class family who abandoned the kids to go get pissed while being too cheap to pay for the hotels baby sitting service they’d be widely condemned for such an act.

• The theory the Portuguese authorities were working on was that she died in an accident and her parents covered it up. If they had suspected murder they would have charged the McCann’s

• I believe that the McCanns themselves were not involved because their story has been so consistent since the first time that we first heard about it. The pressure that they were and are under is so tremendous that if they were lying they wouldn’t be able to maintain it. One person might but not two.

• They may have suffered but their decision has effected their daughter Madeleine way more than they cost they bear.I don’t pity them but the innocent child that is paying for their stupidity.I am most certainly entitled to my opinion as are you so scroll down and on to the next individual who you don’t agree with.

• Liv, it was a discussion. I asked you a civil question there’s no need for the “I am most certainly entitled to my opinion as are you so scroll down and on to the next individual who you don’t agree with”.

• The two parents on that first interview in Portugal 2007 gave me a gut feeling all wasn’t right with them and are letting on more than they know. One big media circus, when will it end! plenty more twists and turns to come! In the meantime Google the official statement given by Irishman Martin Smith to Gardai in 2007. Quite revealing! this sighting is still crucial yet was swept under a carpet!

• Thanks Gavin. I read the statement and there is absolutely nothing in it that we wouldn’t already know and adds ZERO to what happened to her other than a man might have taken her. Am I missing something?

• Perhaps you need to read more yourself. Delusional. Just the type of waster that would be out burning witches during the middle ages. Christ is said to have spoken about such stone throwers.

• Gavin are you saying they can never enjoy themselves again

• I wish all you negative types would put a sock in your mouth until you have absolute proof that Madeline is dead. One can only hope for the best for this child and I don’t understand how some of you people can think otherwise. It’s just sickening to watch you running down the efforts of others.

• It’s sicking to see you hoping that someone will never have children just because they don’t agree with you. Probably one of the most offensive comments I have ever seen on this website.

• I said this in a reply to another post but:
    Maybe all this attention on Madeline has prevented other sick bastards from attempting more abductions?

• *18 years

• There is no way she is still alive. I don’t mean to be insensitive, but whoever had her would have gotten rid of her because of the media hype.

• Because you know the mind of a child snatcher?
      I’m sure if you were a parent of a kidnapped child you’d have to hope upon hope that they were still alive. There have been note able cases in the states of girls being found years after their abductions.

• @ Sean, if it was your child and there was a 1% chance that she was alive, there is no way that you would give up. I know I wouldn’t. The likelihood is slim but it is there. I wish them well.

• I agree 100% with Sean. The biggest piece of evidence in this case, was Madeline herself, and due to the media hype, any person holding that information/evidence, would of had to get rid of it. Its common sense, and stupid to consider someone as having the ‘mind’ of a child snatcher. As a mother, that 1%, I would like to think I would be logically and not to let the theory eat me up, but realistically I’d probably clutch onto any hope too.

• Interesting theory as to how people who kidnap kids might think and thank you for sharing that with us. Let’s just hope they aren’t thinking like you.

• Your very welcome!

• I agree with you Sean that is is more than likely dead but not for the reasons that you mention, although they would have a bearing on it. The main reason I believe that she is dead is because of her coloboma in her right eye. This is very rare http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/7256513.stm Any doctor in Europe treating a female child would be very suspicious. In Ireland (based on BBC figures) there are about 2250 girls around her age which is not a lot considering that’s for the whole of Ireland. Divide that by the number of doctors and I dare say each doctor sees 1 case in a blue moon.

If she didn’t have this condition then you might get away with it but the thing is that the condition is too recognisable. If the abductor didn’t free her then the only other conclusion is that he/she killed her. I would hope that this is not the case and that is also what the police are hoping but anybody who knows anything about child abduction cases would tell you that the hopes of finding her are extremely slim if not none. Hope is always there and no parent would ever give up.

• If you don’t mean to be insensitive, keep your view to yourself…. Idiot!

• I totally agree with you Paul and so do an awful lot of other people it seems. It’s creeps like Claffey that make my skin crawl and I just hope to goodness he never has kids of his own.

• Sean is right in thinking what he thinks, sure the police think it! I have 3 kids, the thought of something like this happening to one of them is unthinkable but to be honest, I’m a responsible parent and would never leave my children alone in a room in a foreign country while I wine and dine in the restaurant!

• Sean…
      I would very much agree with you.
      Whoever abducted Madeleine had to dispose of her because of the global media hype.
      Maybe this intensive media coverage was a mistake.

• yeah, but what was the right thing?
      Maybe the media could have helped found her?

• True. I don’t think keeping it quiet would have been an option. And in most cases the media helps in situations like this. However, with the entire world looking for her, in my opinion the last thing anybody would want is to risk being caught.

• Yeah, you’re right. there’s no way they couldve just done nothing, and the Mc’Canns had to do something. Who knows whether media helped or didnt help.
      Maybe the media attention prevented others from abducting small girls like Madeline?

• Everybody leaves there child alone for a short period of time thinking they are safe, its not like they didnt check them, I think people need to think before they comment

• Seamie 25/04/12 #

I reckon the parents did it. Bit strange to leave the kids alone in there apartment.

• Yes, this is pure fantasy.

• My point is why do they get constant media attention when 1000s do not, why are they so special. I have my opinion about the parents, from day one, and i am sticking to it. Those that defend the parents are condoning its ok to neglect children, plain and simple!

• Wow, I was going to argue with you until you called most people here defenders of child neglect. I shall leave you to enjoy your day and the rest of your days as the idiot you seem to be. Good day sir.

• I agree that the parents were stupid for leaving their kids like that. Even at home I don’t go out the back garden for more than a few minutes at a go without checking every now that he’s ok in bed and that all the windows and doors are locked,also the dogs have to stay in the hall so they can alert me. Maybe that’s over the top but it gives me comfort and better safe than sorry. As for when on holiday?my son stayed in our hotel room either in the bed with us or on the ground beside us with us closer to the door and only one of us could leave at a time!! I couldn’t ever leave my kids in a strange room on their own like that. But I bet they’ve paid for it every single day since!!!

• You thought that from day one Gavin? Based on what – a feeling? A hunch? Because it could not have been anything else, given that on day one nothing much was known.

Assuming your hunches are not correct (and it’s just an assumption, I don’t know what happened) I imagine that they must have tortured themselves repeatedly with what ifs, and must regret beyond bitterly taking what they believed was a safe decision that turned out not to be. Perhaps they were careless, they certainly made a terrible mistake but I think to call them neglectful parents is a stretch.

Most of us do our very best to keep our children safe, but in spite of that I don’t know a single parent who has not at least once had that terrifying heart-stopping experience when you momentarily lose sight of a child or think that you’ve lost them, for whatever reason. 99.9 times in 100 it’s nothing at all and ends quickly in relief – but you are still gripped by the feeling that this is the one time when there is reason for your fear. If every parent who has ever experienced this is to be called neglectful, so be it. But it will be a lot of people.

• Yet another clueless wally who hasn’t a clue himself about family and kids. Safe enough in his own clueless certainty to be able to attack a good family.

• another story. conveniently two weeks before the anniversary and three before the birthday. ah yes. Here s to the only missing kid in the world. what about the many others who do not get a mention? Somethin still stinks about this case and i think the Portuguese police where original barking up the right tree. Time will tell. .

• Jesus Gavin you can’t make accusations like that based off of the red tops reporting at the time. You’re basically alligning yourself with Daily Mail readers the world over. There was NO PROOF whatsoever that the McCanns killed their child. If there was one iota of proof you would have seen it by now.

• For one moment Gavin, put aside what you have come, for whatever reason, to believe and consider this. Suppose you had a three year old child who was abducted. Suppose you have nothing to prove that this child was not still alive.

Would you not do everything in your power and use anything you could – birthdays, anniversaries of the abduction, anything at all – to bring the case to public attention and keep the image of your missing child fresh in people’s minds? And at what point would you stop pushing, pushing, pushing for continued police investigation – would you give up on your child after a year, two years, when?

Answer those questions before you start making insinuations about something you (like everyone else) have no definitive explanation for.

• First time in months that I looked in here,,,,,,,,now I know why I couldnt be bothered,,,,,grow up,, the lot of ye,,,

• oh for those who harp on abduction abduction abduction. there is no proof there was one.

• I hope Madeline will be found alive and do feel she will be. But … Although as a parent i sympathise with the McCanns I still cant get it out of my head that they neglected to be good parents I have never had a babysitter or left my son alone or with anyone other than my mum and he’s 15 .

• The point of that sighting was when Smith seen Gerry McCann leaving the plane back in the UK with one of his other children asleep in his arms, he got an immediate flashback to what he seen that night in 2007 and was almost certain that individual was Mr McCann! This has been for whatever reasons quietly ignored.

Five members of the Smith family saw a man resembling Gerry McCann carrying a girl resembling Madeleine at the same time she disappeared, they cant all be wrong?

Funnily enough, they didn’t look too bothered when they were sat in the executive boxes at Wembley for the FA cup semi a couple of weeks ago!! They’re more guilty than they let on!!

• It’s such a sad case, and I guess as a parent myself you’d never give up hope or belief that your child was still alive and well somewhere in the world. Yes, there are several cases of abducted children being found years later but unfortunately it’s generally the case that the poor kids are killed within a couple of hours. One ray of light ironically is that Madeline was snatched in Europe with access to several borders so she feasibly could have been moved somewhere else. If I remember rightly, the story didn’t go global until after several days.
    What about engaging the use of a Psychic as these people can and do have success.

• She could be in Austria, lot of people tend to go underground there

Add New Comment