TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Budget 2013: the main points from today’s announcements

Here are the most notable measures announced by Ministers Howlin and Noonan today.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Updated 16.40

THE IRISH GOVERNMENT’S Finance Team announced Ireland’s sixth austerity budget this afternoon.

Finance Minister Michael Noonan revealed how his department plans to increase the tax take to €1.1 billion in 2014, while Public Expenditure and Finance Minister Brendan Howlin explained how he plans to reduce spending by just under €2 billion.

Here are the main details from Michael Noonan’s speech:

Property Tax

-New Local Property Tax to be introduced on 1 July 2013;

-Exemptions will include:

• Any new or previously unoccupied homes purchased up to the end of 2016;
  • First-time buyers in 2013;
  • Those in unfinished estates for the next three years;
  • Most of those exempt from Household Charge this year.

-The tax will be charged at 0.18 per cent of the market value for houses worth under €1 million;

-Houses valued at more than €1 million will be charged at 0.25 per cent of market value.

Other Property Measures

-Introduction of REITs (Real Estate Investment Trusts) to help NAMA offload its commercial property portfolio.

Cigarettes and Alcohol

-A bottle of wine will be more expensive from midnight because of a €1 rise in excise duty;

-Pints of beer and cider will jump by 10c;

-Excise duty on spirits will rise by 10c per standard measure;

-The duty on a packet of cigarettes will increase by 10c;

-Roll-your-own tobacco will increase by 50c per packet.

PRSI

-The minimum level of annual contribution from the self-employed will be raised from €253 to €500;

-Unearned income – for example rent receivable, investment income, dividends and interest on deposits and savings – will be subject to PRSI from 2014;

-The PRSI-free allowance has been abolished meaning a loss of €264 per year for employees.

Pensions

-From 2014, tax relief on pension contributions will only subsidise pension schemes under €60k per annum;

-The reduced rate of Universal Social Charge for those over 70 with an income of more than €60k will be discontinued from 1 January 2013;

-People with AVCs will be allowed to withdraw up to 30 per cent of their value at the individual’s marginal rate of tax.

Small Business and Jobs

-Noonan outlined the details of a 10 Point Tax Reform Plan which is designed to help the SME sector;

-The haulier industry will receive a rebate on diesel with effect from 1 July 2013;

-Approval for the CRO to extend its team of available reviewers to appeal credit decisions from lenders;

-VAT rate to remain at 9 per cent for the tourism industry.

Agriculture

-An extension of the 25 per cent rate and the special 100 per cent rate of stock relief until 2015;

-Introduction of a relief from capital gains tax arising on disposals of farm land for farm restructuring purposes.

Film Industry

-An extension of the Film Tax Relief Scheme to 2020;

-Reform of the same scheme to a tax-credit model in 2016.

Motoring

-The excise duty on petrol is to remain unchanged;

-Vehicle Registration scheme to change to a dual-system so next years cars will be either 131s or 132s;

-The rates of both VRT and motor tax across all categories will increase with effect from the 1 January 2013.

Other

-Carbon tax is to be extended to solid fuels on a phased basis over two years. A rate of €10 per tonne will apply from 1 May 2013 and increase to €20 the following year;

-Corporation tax is to remain unchanged;

-DIRT is to increase from 30 to 33 per cent;

-Capital Acquisitions Tax is to increase by 3 per cent to 33 per cent;

-The threshold to which Capital Acquisitions Tax applies is to be reduced by 10 per cent;

-From 1 July 2013, Maternity Benefit will be treated as taxable income but will be exempt from the USC.

Here are the main details from Brendan Howlin’s speech:

Health

-Spending in the area of health has been increased by €150 million;

-The Drug Payment Scheme threshold is being increased from €132 to€144 per month;

-People over 70 with an income of between €600 and €700 per week will have their medical card replaced with a GP card;

-Couples with an income of €1,200 to €1,400 per will will have their medical card replaced with a GP card;

-The prescription charge payable by medical card holders will increase from €0.50 to €1.50 per item; The monthly cap for families has been increased from €10 to €19.50.

Social Welfare

-Spending in the area of Social Welfare has been increased by €150 million;

-No primary weekly payment of social welfare has been changed – that is pensions, disability payments, jobseekers’ allowances and benefits;

-No change to either the rate or duration of weekly fuel allowances;

-Child Benefit has been cut by €10 per month;

-The duration of Jobseekers’ benefit will be cut by 3 months;

-The supports available to the telephone allowance scheme as part of the Household Benefits package (electricy, telephone and free TV licence) will be reduced. Changes to the electricity allowance will also be implemented.

Jobs

-Enterprise Ireland is to be given €139 million to support indigenous Irish exporters next year;

-The number of places available across the labour market activation schemes will be increased by 10,000 because of extra funding;

Education

-The higher education student contribution will increase by €250 each year between 2013 and 2015;

-Increase in the staffing schedule for Fee-Charging schools in 2013 by two points;

-Reduction of €13 million in the allocation to VECs;

-Reduction of €25 million in the allocation to higher education institutions;

-Sick-leave arrangements for teachers and SNAs will be made similar to those working in the Civil Service.

Expenses Reform

-Howlin proposed to abolish the system of ‘unvouched’ expenses;

-The Minister is also planning to reduce the money available to deputies through the Parliamentary Standard Allowance and the Party Leaders Allowance;

-He also wants to abolish the €35,000 severance payable to resigning Ministers.

Other

-€17.4 million to be provided for the building of a new youth detention facility at Oberstown;

-€9 million allocated to improve the energy consumption of central government buildings up to 2015

As it happened: Budget 2013>

See TheJournal.ie’s full coverage of Budget 2013>

Read next:

Comments (96 Comments)

• I think the worst treated people at the moment are the self employed. Imagine paying all that tax and getting sod all in social welfare if your business goes under.

• the self employed were always treated badly in comparison with their employees and it simply is not fair or sensible because they are the people who take the risks and put all their efforts into making business viable and making work for others.

• Yup.. I shall now be even more screwed.. What’s the point huh?

• As a self-employed person for some 15 years I look forward to another year of sleepless nights!
      Why? Cause I get NOTHING if things go belly up if my customers dont pay up despite the fact I pay into society like everyone else.
      Fair? Don’t mind taking a bit of a hit but come on! This is crazy stuff.

• Howling wants to abolish ministers severance pay ,why does he not just do it ?…..

• Why, Everyone are you having gos at each other? They are scewing ALL of us!!!

• i am now in the ‘welfare class’ after years of giving as a social worker . it’s not my choice…I have Parkinsons AND muscle myopathy and use a wheelchair. we are NOT scroungers, nor are we DELIBERATELY making life harder for others. Some comments above are completely outrageous. we have no increase in our benefits yet increases in drugs items, cuts in electricy allowances and other small household help is cut, already coeliac food has been taken off the medical card. we have NOT been ignored in the cuts and I know one disabled woman in despair tonight wondering how she will cope. Get real all you non-disabled people. Health is your wealth and you will know this if ever you get seriously ill or disabled.

• Well said! A lot of people like to get on their soapbox about how well off those on welfare are, but if they were forced to rely upon it they would soon change their tune!
      Especially if the reason that they were forced to rely upon it was due to their health. I wish you the best and hope that something positive will come of all this for you.

• Who the F.. K gave you thumbs down. Heartless Bastards.

• That budget is going to cripple a lot of house holds.

• What an absolute joke! Social Welfare goes essentially untouched?! How about cutting some slack for those of us who are keeping the ball that is this country rolling here. Maybe those who are being gifter social welfare could chip in and start shovelling too, lighten the load a bit for the rest of us. Yeah, i know, thumbs down blah blah but at this stage surely it’s obvious to everyone that a contribution from social welfare would go a long way. Even a tenner a head per week. But no! Thanks very much Ministers Noonan and Howlin! Maybe next time ye could buy us dinner before ye f*ck us!!!

• Totally agree. I cannot understand how the so called middle-class are expected to keep the whole country afloat while supposedly poorer working (or non working?) class do not have their welfare payments touched, as if to do so would cause the sky to fall.
      It goes without saying that a society must care for its most vulnerable, but a huge amount of social welfare recipients somehow seem to live quite comfortably in comparison to even double income families! Regular foreign holidays, plasma tvs, X Boxes, cigarettes, pints etc with neither parent working is something my wife and I can only scratch our heads and wonder how it’s done. The ‘coping classes’ are not coping at all.

• What world are you living in mate. Try live on social welfare for awhile with a small family in a rural with no prospects of a job. Do a bit more research, before putting comments up like that. You will get a little surprise.

• Seamus it’s still money for nothing! It’s just disheartening to work so very hard to struggle so much to see the welfare class never be touched! Why get a fuel allowance, free tv licence, medical card, social housing, a lot on free travel passes etc… I’m not attacking everyone but the lazy lifers and long termers and I know everyone knows who I’m talking about

• @Cholly, A lot of people forget that this country had the lowest unemployment rates in Europe during the so called celtic tiger. Plus a lot of those entitlements you mentioned are for the elderly with the exception of social housing and the medical card. A lot of myths are being thrown around, without any facts to back it up. Social welfare is an easy target, no union to protect them.

Rememeber, who got us in this mes in the first placand direct you anger towards them and not at people who dont have a voice.

• Social Welfare is not money for nothing. While those unfortunate to lose their jobs, through no fault of their own, worked they paid lots of money in tax etc into the social welfare system.

• The problem is that the cost of living is increasing, making it impossible for those dependent on welfare to survive on any less, so cutting core welfare payments is not a practical option.
      However, as private and public sector wages have been slashed over the past 5 years, the gap between earnings in lower paid employment and welfare payments has narrowed, thus diminishing the incentive for the unemployed to seek work.
      Coupled with this government and the last’s spectacular failure to implement any job creation measures whatsoever, the situation is unlikely to improve any time soon.
      The cost of living is artificially elevated by businesses’ struggle to maintain the punitive overheads imposed by the state in the form of taxes, rates etc.
      Welfare recipients are not to blame if it does not make economic sense to relinquish their payments in favour of some half-baked job bridge scam nor does this mean that welfare payments are excessively generous. Welfare payments are fair and only seem excessive in comparison to wages which have been decimated by successive governments’ mis-management of the state’s finances.

• What world am I living on?! I’m living in a world where both my wife and I work full time, pay crèche and child minder fees, mortgage, medical bills, bin charges and universal social charges. There is no relief of allowances for us there. We haven’t had a holiday, apart from a weekend away in Galway, in three years. We don’t smoke and drink only a little and almost never go out as a couple because a babysitter is too expensive. I live in a world of universal social charge, pension loss, fuel increases, no way of getting loans to ease the burden, no one protesting for my rights. No one saying don’t take any more from them ’cause it’s not fair.
      That’s the world I live in.

What’s your world like Seamus?
      How do you cope?

Be careful, your heart is in danger of bleeding all over the place.

• WTF – its always about Social Welfare and they have such a great lifestyle! Man I hear that one more time I am going to throw up!!!! Living on 200 Euro/week with a child NO family support some granny who can replace childcare or taking care of me is NOT A JOKE – but really NOT enough!!! Fact is I CAN NOT pay my oil bill in the moment! Any questions? Well the rich shud be now targeted for gods sake with all their ailes they find to pay NO taxes or so little. And ME I soon can not afford my car anymore and am applying nationwide for jobs so without car I am totally screwed. Living in the country so I can afford the rent and needing the car then to go to the job – and totally alone!!! SO WELFARE IS NOT A LIFESTYLE and not a joke but mainly sleepless nights of worry – no matter how many thumbs down i get!!!!!

• John 05/12/12 #

Reduce social welfare? What a moron, you try living on E180 a week you clown

• Never said it was money for nothing. Social welfare is a policy I totally agree with. However I also agree that recipients should not be consistently protected when it comes to making cuts across the board. It should be proportional, but involve everyone in society.

• John 05/12/12 #

Sorry, that last comment was for the deluded goverment spin junkie above me, Colin

• Dave,I think cholly is refaring to the free loaders who have & never have had any intention of ever working due to our outrageously generous social welfare system we have.Theres a world of difference between these parasites & the decent people who are now in financial free fall because of the decisions of a corrupt few.

• Fully agree mate, plenty of people sponging off the system and not even being checked up on. Part time work that would equate to their allowance is fair

• @Colin, I understand your anger but lashing out at the percieved lavish lifestyle of social welfare recipents (Regular foreign holidays, plasma tvs, X Boxes, cigarettes, pints etc with neither parent working) is woefully misguided.

Last year this governemnt published a study in partnership with social justice Ireland in which they found that poor families have seen income levels dtrop at a higher rate than income levels at the top and the cost of living has shot up.

Yet, today they are going to drive more poor families into the arms of money lenders so they can heat their homes and pay their elec bill.

Again, direct your anger at those, who got us into this mess in the first place.

• I mean I agree that a single young man should NOT get welfare – I APPLY nationwide WHERE ARE actually jobs and with a child so shud be the young lads. there is NO reason at all for them to have a council house – time to leave mummy and go to search for work – spelled FLEXIBILITY!

• I’m not angry Seamus, I’m sad and worried. Please don’t patronise me about reports and being woefully misguided and to blame the right people. I live in an estate where, in three of our neighbours’ houses there is 1 adult working out of 6. They all have children, as I do. They have the same house as I do, obviously. They have 5 cars between the three houses.
      However, each of these families goes on a 2 week holiday every year (Florida, Spain, Lanzarote respectively last summer in fact). I know the lifestyle they have as I’ve been in each of their houses and I’ve seen the tvs and the x boxes with my own eyes. One family is going to New York for pre-Christmas shopping – the father is the only one working. Now these three houses are my neighbours and we get on great with them. However, with each household in receipt of significant social welfare payments of one sort or another they simply have not got the fear and constant pressure my family suffers. To hear people like you defending these ‘poor’ people regardless of the facts, doesn’t anger me – it breaks my heart and makes me wonder how did I get to this point with my wife and family.

• @Colin, So tar everone with the same brush. btw pure hyperbole. I have never seen any family on social welfare living that sort of lifestyle. Unless they were up to their neck in criminal activity..

• They’re saving the social welfare cuts for when they need a second bail out.

• Well I have seen it Seamus. In fact I see it every day. Literally.Just because you haven’t doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. I’m not tarring everyone with the same brush – I’m saying it doesn’t make sense to me how SOME, some that I KNOW, on social welfare can have a lifestyle that I and my wife cannot. I’m not begrudging them at all – I’m asking why they must be protected, lifestyle and all, when I am not. It’s that simple. I’m not mad at them, or jealous if them or conflating the whole problem that all social welfare classes are spongers. Just asking why are they untouchable?!

• @Colin, and again it was not social welfare that got us into this mess in the first place. What about all those tax breaks for the rich n Only last week those going to private schools can claim some of that back. Or those hiding money in offshore accounts to avoid paying taxes. Do you see where I am going with this Colin and you have mentioned those in your estate at the other end ripping the system.

We know the problem, any solutions Colin rather than pointing the finger. BTW Colin my family and I are emigrating at the end of next year because we have had enough.

• Seamus, that’s my point. All the tax breaks, all the privileged, all the loopholes should be treated with the same scrutiny and rigour. As part of that, social welfare should not be immune. We’re all in this together or we’re not.
      I’m very sorry to hear of your personal situation and wish you and your family all the very best. Go neiri an t-adh libh.

• Y’know, that’s weird.. I know a family living on welfare (I know a few, but I’ll use one specific example).
      They moved down the country during the boom because the price of houses near the rest of their family were ludicrous. The father was working – they were doing ok. Then the bust hit and he got laid off, 2nd time in the time limit so redundancy was taxed at a much higher rate.

Now they are in a county with no jobs in it or the next ones over, in negative equity, and reliant upon welfare (which they only got when redundancy ran out). They have a family member in citizens info, so they are claiming EVERYTHING that they are entitled to.
      Family of seven, €350 per week – due to reduce a little due to cuts in child benefit. This is for mortgage, school, fuel, bills, food etc..
      They can’t afford holidays.. The TV came from a friend who was upgrading their own, the Xbox was a second hand job – as are any games. Car is second hand, in fact – anything that they have was got on the serious cheap.

I’m sure they, and the family member in citizens info would like to know which extra payment these guys with the lavish lifestyles are claiming that keeps them so comfortable..

• The self-employed provide jobs for years and don’t get a red cent if they go bust and become unemployed themselves?

WHAT ? Now they are being taxed even more.. I’m so cross..

• Could they not have left wine alone…

• So my wages will be down €260 a year plus want me to pay a property tax!!! On top of the €2500 y a year in management fees I pay. You can run and jump. Would you like me to sell a kidney while I’m at it!!!

• I am a bit miffed about the exemptions regarding property tax – I dont see how there is any equity in it at all.

People in negative equity who are having difficult paying their mortgage; people in negative equity with huge mortgages who purchased houses over the boom time period and people who paid huge amounts of money in stamp duty will not receive an exemption – where is the fairmess in this ?

• Seamus never said you were MATE! I also pay high rates of tax and have seen a drop income due to last couple of budgets, don’t have kids but I do not begrudge all you randy feckers pumping out those walking € signs called kids, obviously I jest but arguments can be made on both sides

Peace!

• People who have difficulty paying their mortgages can apply for Mortgage Interest Supplement, and once they are in receipt of it, they will be exempt from the Property Tax.

• any good xmas songs we can all sing together lol

• Goodbye fg/lab. You have yet again proven yourselves to be lieing two faced traitors.

• Divide And Rule. The government is doing a great job at turning the classes against each other. That’s very clear from reading all the above posts. And this, people, is why we as a nation will roll over every single time. If Noonan is reading these posts then I bet he is laughing into his Brandy XO.

• We are in the deepest recession in history and in an austerity plan. Why is anyone or anything excempt from paying tax through schemes

• well as a self sustainable self employed person I am thinking of getting a job and loosing that job just to be able to be eligible for the scratcher. soo9oooh much for me being able to sustain my ability to not be a burden on the state. PRSI up the guts of 100% and I bet we still can’t count on the support of the state when we need it

• I think it’s ridiculous they cut child benefit yet again!!
    They have been told time and again to means test it.
    I reckon they will keep cutting it until it suits them then decide to means test it when were all getting much lower!!
    I know ppl who don’t even spend it just put it away and save it.The rich don’t need it and they would be saving so much to means test it!!
    I know I need every penny of it every month and so do alot more!!

• Good point, should be means tested. Any family earning over a hundred grand should not be getting child benefit. Fianna Fail made that a universal payment to win votes. An absolute joke, orignally it was brought in for poor families.

• Shame on this govt. A new exodus in 2013. Seriously how can we survive here and enjoy life. It truly is shite here.More taxes.

• you forgot the most important point.

. WE’RE ALL FCKED!!!!

• Another attack on the poor with cut in child benefit , raising car tax, we have two cars over ten years old in our driveway. So we are doubly hit , plus NCT every year and petrol going up.. Enough is a enough, if you have to travel to work it is simply not worth it anymore, esp if you are low paid.. Its is driving our family out of the country.

The labour party, have sold out their roots and no longer represent the working poor, looking after their mates in the middle classes who earn in excess of hundred grand a year.

• Budget great time of de year 2 have it!!! So much stress on family’s already before Christmas and de budget 2 add 2 it….

• The Irish Government is the enemy of the people and has been since the foundation of the republic.

• Andy & Colin, you are both responding to a troll, and there is the problem, you pick up on a small number of career welfarers and base your argument on this, and this is exactly the plan, they have the people fighting amongst themselves and miss the point, Who is responsible for creating the environment to facilitate the extraction of wealth from you and your country.

A country is judged on how we look after our young/old and vulnerable , how we doing??

Ireland is a very very wealthy country, this budget did nothing to balance this out, it will be proven to be regressive in time, and in line with FG ethos, and it has to said labour are now lost as a alternative

• Im 19 . I recieve 100 every week for my social welfare payment. I was in third level education and had to leave cos of the costs. Ive lived here 10 years , have no family here at all , live between friends and help towards all and any bills, as well as feed myself, pay for travel to look for work cos i cant afford a car. I depend nearly entirly on the kindness of the friends ive made here… And there are some people saying us on social welfare should be cut. Its very unfair…. I tried desperatly to find a job and i still am . Because trying to eat, pay bills, get buses, etc its really… Truely difficult on 100 a week . Its not my fault theres no one who wants to hire me even though ive volunteered in shops, worked with kids, taught free classes … No one should be mad unless its at the people who put us in this situation. I dont know a single family that can even afford a babysitter any more…

• The only people laughing are those who do f@ck all and still manage to have a few quid to throw at the bookies and the barman.

• Abolish the budget!

• Can’t wait to see the back of Baldy Noonan. Oh.

• @puchinface, I am not on social welfare and neither is my wife. Ands plus MATEwe have seen a sixty per cent drop in our net income with two kids to support. But we dont go blaming social welfare.

• Farmers in this country p1ss me off. Their kids have got the grant already and EU grants and tax reliefs still come their way. They have the highest figure for offspring entering Third Level. This budget will certainly lower the rate of unemployed and they’ll beat the records for emigration. 100,000 to leave next year?

• Not true. I’m the son of a farmer, got no college grant. There’s many more besides me, this believe that all farmers children get the grant is ludicrous. I know alot of farmers heavily encourage their kids to enter third level as there is no hope of them being able to support themselves off the land.

• Wrong. Im a farmers son and had to take out a student loan to put me through college. The only people in my course who get student grants are those who dont actually have a farm. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it

• Farmers produce the food that you eat every day, you’d do well to remember that. If you enjoy quality Irish food produce and not hormone laden Brazilian beef and Asian chicken then you should support Irish farmers. Most people can’t make a living from farming anymore in Ireland that is why their children go on to 3rd level.

• I might gain a few enemies here, but, how and ever. I work full time, My husband works full time. Yes, we are lucky to be employed, we work very hard, we’re passing ships in the night, we rarely see each other as we work opposite hours. I have a huge problem. I work with two men, who are full time with me, their wives have moved home to Latvia as there is no work for them here.
    Their wives and children are home in Latvia and are still entitled to claim childrens allowance from Ireland. Can this be right?

• Dublin Airport is going to be a busy place.

See what all our indulgence gets us?

• What makes someone who has never or looked for work entitled to social welfare??? What contribution to society do they make??

• Martin,, what?

Hang’em high is this your solution!

• Very good point, its all about their contributions to society, is how our government sees them . Look at the savage cuts in our carers allowance for the answer to that one. The lack of funding and cuts to our mental health services . Cuts in child benefits, the rise in elder abuse in Irish families and society in general. Prisons full, hospitals straining over the lack of resoursces and staff . Really what contributions to these people actually make.????

• What’s that about “couples who earn 1200plus will have their medical cards replaced with gp cards ? – what does that mean – I assume if u earn that u would not get a med card ?

• @Colin Moran, you are definetly having a laugh.

• Anyone know if those on carers’ allowance were attacked?

• snooch 05/12/12 #

What a stupid comment

• The online bookies get away scot free again not a penny tax to pay well done the Tallaght agreement

• This Country is ruined. Why have we not went out and done what the French and Greeks have always done. PROTESTED! we all take the Irish attitude of ‘Mary will be there, no point me been there too or its only going to be a few people there no point in me going’. Yes we did once, The older people went and protested and they got their medical cards back. It shows us protest works.
    Yeah we are in a recession. But I disagree with everyone who says there is no work, so il sit on my big fat arse and keep my 188 for doing nothing. Maybe get up and volunteer, if anything it will stop you going crazy, and depressed. From that it might open a door because you would have gained experience learning something new. My next point is not intended as racism but I think that people coming into our country should have a job lined up or atleast enough money to keep them living for several months without the support of the Social welfare, The refugees in Ireland are very bad. I went down with a friend as he had to sign on and the majority were foreign nationals. Simply absurd as if we went to their country we would get nothing! Australia have a system that you must have money to support you, If Ireland followed suit we would have a more prosperous economy with people actually coming here to work instead of an exodius of Irish people saying goodbye to our shambolic Nation!! I hope Ireland can prosper again… I really do, But until it does we need to make massive changes, and thats not robbing the poor to feed the rich. It should be fleecing the rich and providing for the poor…

• What the bloody hell is a GP card,will it still give disabled persons free medical attention?????????free prescriptions????????And who decides whether you are eligible to have a medical card still and does the amount you get from the social influences the decision???Many questions to be answered!!!!!

• Thats great news my Social Welfare stays the same :).

• And here’s the problem in a nutshell. No encouragement to look for work. Thank you Mr Deane for making my point. The “thank God social welfare wasn’t touched” mentality. A slap in the face to us poor eejits who do work and yet find ourselves no better off for it. I’m a worker, working hard all my life. I’m a father, i’ll go without so my family have. But because I work they say this is no problem for me. If I don’t work, this government will provide for me. So why would I work? Why do I work? Am I only kidding myself? Certainly looks that way. I hear people say they were working and through no fault of their own lost their jobs and are now entitled to welfare. By that logic, when I retire am I going to receive a back payment from the government for the welfare I didnt claim? Can’t wait for that!

Add New Comment