TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Child protection reviews reveal 378 abuse allegations about 146 individuals

There was a higher incidence of abuse amongst those in religious orders and the National Board for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church of Ireland said this is worthy of further consideration.

File photo
File photo
Image: Chris Radburn/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THE NATIONAL BOARD for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church of Ireland (NBSCCCI) has said its reviews of four dioceses and three religious orders dealt with 378 allegations of abuse relating to 146 individuals.

Out of those cases, there have been just 12 related convictions.

The board said it could not offer any explanation as to why there was a “striking” and “marked” difference between the number of allegations and the number of convictions. It suggested that “this is not an issue that only exists within the Church but reflects a situation which is present throughout society as a whole”.

In his overview of the second tranche of reviews, CEO Ian Elliot said that as a result of past practices, there have been examples of offenders being able to continue their abuse for longer periods than they should have. He said it should be noted that clear policies now exist that place emphasis on preventative actions to ensure this does not happen again.

The numbers of allegations are significantly higher in this batch of reviews when compared to the findings from the first tranche published last November. That round of reports took in six dioceses and no religious orders.

The NBSCCCI noted that the three religious authorities reported a markedly higher experience of abuse allegations than the dioceses (Cork & Ross, Clonfert, Limerick and Kildare & Leighlin).

Altogether, the Dominican Friars, the Spiritans and the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, received 267 allegations of abuse pertaining to 89 individuals since 1975.

The board said that although it is a “very small sample” and “may not be representative”, the higher incidence of abuse is worthy of further consideration. It said this could be of particular importance as the reviews also found “examples of significant practice deficits such as the non-reporting or delayed reporting of allegations when they emerged”.

However, Elliot said there is now a complete openness and commitment to change in each of the religious orders. All three confirmed their “sincere intention to develop and set in place the highest safeguarding practice henceforth”.

Overall, the NBSCCCI said the findings from the seven reviews were mixed “with some examples of good practice and sound development” mixed with “very poor” situations that need to be learnt from.

It said that although all allegations of abuse have now been reported to the relevant authorities, some were “very much delayed”.

Elliot also praised each of the seven church bodies for their openness and willingness to publish the reports voluntarily, even when there was poor practice highlighted.

Read: Findings of child protection reviews published >

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• We have been hearing these Bishops apology statements so often now they have become meaningless .

• We criticise the US and gun control, but pedophilia is our gun crime. Ignored and excused.

• The US had lots and lots of clergy cases too even

• The sad thing is, that it is only when there is a cover up in a formalised setting like a church is there a chance of exposing it. People have no idea how common this is. In a closed setting like a family, it rarely comes to light. It was estimated to effect 19.7% for females and 7.9% for males, in a 2009 study of 22 countries. It actually makes me want to get sick.

• “It said that although all allegations of abuse have now been reported to the relevant authorities, some were “very much delayed”.
    Totally unacceptable!

• I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again the Catholic Church aka the Catholic Corporation is probably the most corrupt institution to ever exist.Hypocrisy is there speciality! They are a contraction of there own dogmatic beliefs sell off all there assets and help the poor, the sick of the world,not to mention the victims of there inhumane abuse ! Didn’t that bearded fellow teach that ?Is it not in that book of contractions the Bible ? The Vatican and it’s Nazi leader Pope,God’s Rottweiller if you are truly sorry show it
    Sell the billions of assets and make a statement of serious intent. How many people actually just go along with religion due to trans-generational learning ? Open your mind to logic science and true empathy not superstition, hocus pocus and folly, blind faith and ignorance people.It keeps the Cowardice Inhumane Monsters in power who will continue there 2000year old corruption and abuse at peoples expense.

• Vincent 05/09/12 #

What do all the holy joes have to say about this that have been so vocal in opposing same sex marriages. Church against union of loving couples while hiding this horrible abuse. This should stick to rooting out their own evils and dealing with that before they preach their narrow views.

• Alien8 05/09/12 #

Completely agree with the Hippocrates in FF/FG, and the apologists like David Quinn, having a screwed up moral compass. If society normalised homosexuality, then the repressed sexuality that these, now evil, feckers may have given them a different path in life. I find it hard to correlate the huge percentage of same sex abuse in all tenets of the catholic church – nuns, priest, brothers or whatever other names they use, with the level of sustained abuse in wider society. These young people enter the priesthood with either repressed, or at least fecked up, sexuality. What turns them into monsters?

I would propose a three step strategy to safeguard children, none of them involving an internal church forum:
      1) Normalise homosexuality at all levels (equal age of consent, equal marriage rights, equal divorce rights and equal death rights).
      2) Remove homophobic ‘ethos’ from education and government services – your religion says gays are bad, that’s fine, but you cannot be involved in a school.
      3) mandatory sentencing for abuse of children, suppressing evidence or knowing about abuse and not reporting it.

Without these steps, this will carry on. The figures of ~150 priests not convicted cover nearly every parish in Dublin. Does every local church (parish?) contain a rapist that some bishop knows about, but the local society does not.

• I half agree with you. The RC church should lead by example. But on same sex marriage the argument must be that ANY institution can refuse to conduct the wedding if they don’t want to do it. Current proposed legislation could mean that if a church, temple or synagogue refused to marry the couple the institution could be sued. Now we must provide protection for everyone’s civil liberties

• The board said it could not offer any explanation as to why there was a “striking” and “marked” difference between the number of allegations and the number of convictions. It suggested that “this is not an issue that only exists within the Church but reflects a situation which is present throughout society as a whole”.

This surely is why the the reviews were sought…total whitewash!!!

• if you support the Roman Catholic Church then you support a powerful organisation which is in the business of protecting rapist of children . Please don’t be deceived. The catholic church is a business it is extremely wealthy and corrupt. Think for yourself , believe the evidence . Research the history of the church from the eyes of others.

• Nothing but super standard where kids are concerned. Lock them up and throw………

• As I look through these reports, the one thing that’s glaringly missing is any mention of the suffering inflicted on children. Paradoxically, the Sacred Heart report says “Their actions indicate a disregard for the suffering of victims“, and I find the same of the reports.

The reports read like a box-ticking exercise: How well are we covering our asses on this? Very little mention or acknowledgement of the suffering caused and lives destroyed: it’s all about “Us”.

Now, the remit of the board was to “ascertain the full extent of all complaints or allegations, knowledge, suspicions or concerns“, so that’s not necessarily a criticism of the board, rather of those who set the terms of reference.

The other thing that’s missing (again) is any preventative measure – an analysis of why these abuses are so prevalent within the RCC, and how to prevent them (rather than just how to deal with the fallout). Again, that’s not in the board’s remit, but it is the elephant in RCC’s room.

• Two thousand years ago an unknown Preacher .called the clergy at the time .The blind leading the blind .If he was here today he would be saying the same thing.

• “Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent. Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is he neither able nor willing? Then why call him God?” – Epicurus
    “If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed.” – Albert Einstein

“Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day; teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime; give a man religion and he will die praying for a fish.”

• 84% claim to be Roman Catholic in the last census!

So while Johnny was down in his local giving it socks about paedo priests his poor auld mammy was at home puting him down as Roman Catholic on the form!!

What a country!!

• Alien8 05/09/12 #

Families put down ‘catholic’ as the default choice for a large number of people who associate the group catholic with ‘not Protestant” and “not atheist”. Out of my family (of 22), only 2 have been to church in the last few years, yet all but 6 put catholic on the census. Go to a church, and think – is this 80% of the area in the few masses here.

I wouldn’t use the census to see how many people support the catholic church, anymore than I could use the census to find out how many people can hold a conversation in Irish.

• ‘Fraid Government policy is based on census data… The arrogance of the Roman Church hierarchy may also be.

• I resigned from the RCC so they could no longer claim to represent me or my views. Write to your local bishop and resign from the RCC now!

• All religious who have raped and abused children and those who have facilitated the perpetrators of such criminal acts must be exposed. See http://www.bishopaccountability.org

• Its time to expel the Church, But the Holy Joes/marys and our facist FF/FG won’t have it!

• Expel a whole organisation for the action of 147 people? Maybe fix the organisation and ensure this never happens again and allow practising Catholics practice their religion.

• Alien8 05/09/12 #

Dot he father ted math: 150 ‘known’ rapists out of how many priests? About what 2000 priests in total- that’s 13% and very conservative. That is a huge reason to state that this is a child abuse supporting, or at least allowing organisation.

And for raping children, you do not get a second or third chance. Just go.

• But it’s not just the action of 147 people. It’s the actions of their superiors, and their superiors’ superiors, right the way up to the pope himself. The organisation can never be fixed because it’s intransigence, conservatism and bigotry is controlled from within.

• Ah vinny, you could be an Apologist for the Church and their ignorant views! Prevention is better than cure, out with the whole lot of them!

• I’ve been advocating the expulsion of this evil church for some time, I’m also a member of FF, so please don’t assume all FF members support this organisation

• There can be no fixing an institution which on one hand wants to influence all our everyday lives in this Country while at the same time seeing itself as above the common law we must all abide to. They can’t have it both ways and should be removed from any area of public life where they have influence or input.

• @ Stephen Kearon, Are you a TD , Senator or Councillor? If we ever do find the courage, to expel the Church? Then we could get FF/FG/Labour and sinn fein to go with them, that’d be called progress! Bertie Ahern tried to get the taxpayer, to pay for most of the Church’s abuse. That’s FF for you, they bankrupted the country and we are suffering again!

• Ailen it’s 147 individuals, not all priests and nuns but some lay people. Every single person without fail should be prosecuted to the letter of the Law no exceptions.

That does not change the fact that going by your figures the majority of priests are honest descent people and do not deserve to be labelled child abusers because of the actions of a minority.

Are we honestly saying here that every nursing home in the country should be closed down because of the scandals of the last few years and that everyone who works in a nursing home either abused of covered up abuse?

I have no love for the Catholic Church and couldn’t say when I was last at mass but to call for it to be taken from people who do attend because of the horrible actions of a few is over the top

• Alien8 05/09/12 #

I wouldn’t blame Bertie Ahern for taking the decision on paying for abuse claims, that seems to be down to Michael Woods and his extreme catholic civil servants – who were responsible for obfuscating the referenda on abortion to include so many conditions that, again, both children and young raped women, are the least protected in all of their decision.

Oh, they are still there. Still going to mass every Sunday and making biased decisions on behalf of elected representatives every day.

Feckers.

• Dear dear Stephen, one brush covers all. Why use terminology like “holy joes” I would assume that 99% of Christians, Catholic and Protestant as well as Anglican would support rooting out these people and punishing them accordingly. But religion is not the problem it’s people who use their position in these organisations to abuse vulnerable people. By all means support finding and dealing with these people but lay off good God loving holy people.

• Martin- Take off your blinkers and open your eyes, The Catholic church are an evil and ignorant organisation. I left the Church years ago, I suppose you were educated by a Catholic run school and therefore you were brainwashed!

• Stephen. Yes I was educated in a Catholic school many many years ago, and I agree a fair bit of “Brainwashing” as you call it went on, but over the years I have learned to form my own opinion on issue relating to faith religeon and life in general. I have also learned that it is better to be tolerant of other peoples views, than to just make hard line statements you maybe will agree that taking a hard-line on anything only leads to war, conflict and an ultimate brakdown in civil liberties. Just look at most of the Middle East. I totally accept your view but I do not agree with it (is that wrong) I will give you credit for being a grown up adult and would expect the same from you. I find that racism, secterianism and foundemantalism all eminate from people deciding that everyone in a group of people of the same faith, ethinic background or organisation is exactly the same. I will give you an example. e.g. every German person is a nazi. Now I know you will disagree with that statement well I hope you do. Can I suggest that just for the sake of arguement not all Catholics or Christians or Muslims are “holy joes”

• What about the abuse that went on in Protestant institutions or are these to be swept under the carpet by the kick the Pope brigade.

• Given that the vast majority of clerical abuse cases in this country involve the roman catholic church the difference in the level of media coverage is hardly surprising. That is not to say it hasn’t gone in protestant institutions and there are plenty of cases reported in the U.K.
      However I think you will find that its the popes brigade who have been doing all the sweeping under the carpet and worse when it comes to abuse carried our by its members.

• Alien8 05/09/12 #

Nothing to do with the ease of access that our constitution has given to give potential child rapists access to schools and previously detentions centres and CBSs, and laundries. As these reports come out the government is still glad to say “at least they are reporting this, steady as she goes”. Why does no one (from our politicians) say: no church will have direct access to children, children in schools, children in hospitals, children in detention or children in care. Because they are all cowards to stand up to anyone, and should be treated like Brady and his ilk, who do the minimum required, not what they SHOULD do. Ill take a bet there will be another report in 10 years time, blaming the “reporting mechanisms”, “society in general” and they’ll appear with sullen faces looking for sympathy and say “at least we’re making progress with reporting”

• I am still a practicing Catholic and have the fundamental human right to practice my religion fully and freely in this or any other country. I know so many wonderful priests who work really hard for their parishioners and go above and beyond what is expected of them. It is so unfair to tarnish every priest with the same brush. I am sick to my stomach about what happened to so many children at the hands of sick individuals and I believe the perpetrators should never see the light of day again. I grew up in a pretty big parish, we had 8 or 9 priests and the only scandal involving one of ours was when he ran off with a nun! I knew of 2 people who were sexually abused, one was by their own father and the other was by a member of the Gardai. Institutions don’t create paedophiles, they are paedophiles first and foremost and choose careers that give them as much access as possible to vulnerable children, priests, social workers, teachers, gardai, doctors and worst of all, family.

• Well why don’t you do something to clean up your church. As long as you are supporting an organisation that abuses children, you yourself are part of the problem. Your actions endorse theirs.

• @Andrea I appreciate and respect your religious views and somewhat agree that Institutions don’t make paeophiles. However, the Catholic Church actively and purposely sheilded these criminal individuals from the law. In some cases they even moved the perpetrators and in turn put a whole new pool of children at risk. This series of reports shows that even up to recently (last year for instance) their own child protection guidelines were not being fully adhered to – reporting of allegations to the gardai simply did not take place or were delayed. This is the very definition of institutional and it is inexcusable. As I have mentioned in another post, the evil perpetrated and the institutional cover-up far outweighs the good that is done by genuinely fine priests.

• @Doc, And how exactly should or could a lay person “clean up” the church, have you any brilliant suggestions or is it just that vacuous comment? I made it quite clear in my comment that I was disgusted by what has happened in the church, it doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t be allowed to practice my religion in my country anymore. That was my point in relation to other comments about removing the church entirely from the country.

@Irish, I know the cover ups and reshuffles were outrageous, I have never claimed otherwise. I was saying that it shouldn’t tarnish the great work done by brilliant priests or mean that practicing catholics should not have a church to go to anymore.

• Well @Andrea I’m sorry but it does tarnish the good work- it’s the same hierarchy afterall.

• Fully agree with all the reporting about the abuse’s the Catholic church perputrated on innocent children.But, i’m sorry find it strange this is dominating the media when the government is under pressure over cuts in the HSE budget.

• Resel 05/09/12 #

oh so if they die its “lets be respectful to the family bla bla” but for children that were just abused then the HSE is more important?

• Resel are you stalking me,i won’t ask you to read my comment and use your limited intelligence.But your still angry because you couldn’t get to say all you wanted to say about the death of a child yesterday.
      You have some serious iusses and i feel you are in need of help, which i’ll be honest i hope you get.
      Btw the type of love you have for an animal,well its just not right.
      I would strongly suggest you stopping commenting to me and i will do likewise.

• Resel 05/09/12 #

Stalking you?? Don’t flatter yourself!

• It’s time to ban this shower of perverted bastards! Why would anyone that’s anyway decent and god fearing want anything to do with the catholic church? Surely enough’s enough!

• So a report on the sexual abuse of children should take a back seat?

Are you serious?

• Resel 06/09/12 #

dont bother damian – he has no logical arguments and when you do make a valid point he will just get abusive and accuse you of stalking. the red thumbs on his comments say enough.

Add New Comment