TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Clare Daly criticises ‘inaccurate’ Socialist Party, says she is now ULA TD

The Dublin North TD said that the criticism from her former colleagues in the Socialist Party was “inaccurate” but said she would not engage in a war of words following her resignation earlier.

Clare Daly (File photo)
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE DUBLIN NORTH TD Clare Daly has confirmed that she has resigned from the Socialist Party and in a statement says she is now a United Left Alliance (ULA) deputy.

Daly has issued a statement this evening following an earlier statement from her former party which was highly critical of her political relationship with independent TD Mick Wallace.

She said that the content of the Socialist Party statement was “inaccurate” but added that she did not wish to engage in a war of words with the leadership of the party.

Attempts to contact Daly today have been unsuccessful.

Meanwhile, RTÉ News reports that Wallace, who has been embroiled in controversy over his tax affairs in recent months, has described the Socialist Party statement as “too laughable to merit a reaction”.

In a statement issued this evening, Daly says: “I can confirm that yesterday I resigned from the Socialist Party and redesignate myself as a United Left Alliance (ULA) TD. I believe it is time to prioritise the building of the ULA.

“The success of the Household Tax Campaign and the prospect of an intensification of vicious attacks on working people in the next budget makes the building of an alternative political force, that can present a real challenge to the establishment parties, an urgent priority.

“Unfortunately the potential of the ULA has not been fully realised and it is now time that the component organisations prioritised the building of the ULA.”

Daly said that despite the statement from her former colleagues she hoped to maintain “good working relations” with the party which comes under the left-wing umbrella organisation, the ULA which also consists of People Before Profit and Workers and Unemployed Action Group.

Daly described the ULA as a “real movement of people power”.

The alliance wants to become a full political party but as TheJournal.ie reported in June but there are differences among its member parties as to just how quickly this should happen.

Daly’s statement continues: “I note with some regret the inaccurate content of the Socialist Party statement issued today. I have no intention of engaging in a public war of words with the Socialist Party leadership. I am proud of my record as a Socialist Party activist and public representative, as a shop steward representing Aer Lingus workers and a campaigner with people across Dublin North and beyond.

“I will continue with the same intensity and passion to represent and fight on behalf of working people inside and out of the Dail. I will be judged on my record over twenty five years and my future record.

“I have the highest of regard for the members of the Socialist Party especially those past and present who worked tirelessly with me on numerous campaigns over the last 25 years. I hope to maintain good working relations with Socialist Party members and look forward to working together as ULA members.

“I will be working closely with those who have made a priority of building the ULA and offer my support and assistance to branches and members in developing the ULA nationally. I hope to see a large number of ULA candidates running in the local elections.

“I will also continue to support all those fighting austerity. A real movement of people power needs to be built to stop the wave of attacks on ordinary working people.”

Read: Clare Daly resigns from the Socialist Party

Read: ‘It’s imperative the left unites’: How the ULA wants to become a political party

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (130 Comments)

• It will be interesting to see if 2 lefts will make a right……

• Maybe Mick will now be wearing a pink shirt…… ironed.

• In other news a People’s Front of Judea member is now a member of the Judean People’s Front

• I’m confused….the United Left Alliance is not a party but a umbrella group for Socialist Party, People Before Profit & South Tipp Workers and Unemployed Group. In reality Daly is an Independent TD.

So the ULA doesn’t have a problem with Wallace tax issues?

• Who says the ula want her as an unaligned member she does not represent me I believe that other members like me will not appreciate her presumption that we somehow are ok with her alignment with mick Wallace and her view that she is not accountable to anyone. What a waste of a good brain ego is always the downfall of politicians

• I,m confused too, well Mike Wallace dodged some tax ,got caught, admitted his wrongs and made arrangements to pay the tax, and yet the media is down on him like a ton of bricks

• Mick 01/09/12 #

We are all confused…i think someone should pull her aside and tell her that her love is blinding her and, that he is a very bad boy…not one to be hanging round with if she is serious about her “give us more handouts/won’t pay tax” policies…

• Gerard, Mick Wallace not being behind bars is what is grating on many people, it proves the ‘one rule for them’ rule..

• I think Mick Wallace has got away lightly for what he has done. However the hypocrisy of the media particularly Independent Media is staggering. Whilst these guys backed Fianna Fail and Bertie throughout blatant corruption , they have launched a massive campaign against Wallace.

• What do you mean he made arrangements to pay it? i thought he said he wouldn’t be able to.

• Indeed he dod SB!

• ……”did”

• Yes Gerard you are terribly confused. Dear Mr Wallace claims its the business MJ Wallace and sons owe the money of which he is only a director off. And by hiding behind that charade he is not liable. Also he made a settlement to the tune of 1.4 million which not a single cent can be paid as he is claiming to be penniless.
      So this criminal is hiding behind his Dail membership and the good people of Wexford whom elected him and refusing to actually pay a cent. A jail cell is all he should be warming not a seat at the Dail bar. Hope you are less confused now.

• All the people talking about Mick Wallace… So he should be behind bars while Michael Lowry is still able to work as a TD and speak in the dail?? Getting paid with tax payers money. And Ray Burke should be allowed to keep his 3 million euro pension?

• it must be love love love .

• Splitter!!!

• Doesn’t the ULA include the Socialist Party?

• So Clare has aspirations to lead a party….that doesn’t exist. And will continue her fight against unfair taxes. Like VAT for example. And clamping charges. And anything else Mick doesn’t like.

• The next thing we’ll know is Mick will put her into labour….

• Wasn’t she already a ULA TD?

• You couldn’t make this stuff up!!
    I don’t know whether to laugh or cry

• Clare daly can feck off. Im sorry I wasted a vote on her.

• Yeah wasted vote. Should’ve voted for James Reilly instead, he’s great, or Michael Kennedy, heard Fianna Fail are a decent bunch.

• That woman should have to resign her Dail seat! She’s let thousand’s of decent hardworking people down. One of the most inspiring orators I’ve ever listened to, but it seems it was all lies. You made Micks bed Clare, now go lie on it!!

• ‘hard working’?!! Majority of those who vote for Socialist Party don’t work, or ever intend to.

• Martin 02/09/12 #

Irishtaxpayer , u make me laugh , Fine Gael tried to con the irish taxpayers out off taxes on their minor staff for 9 years. Yet Fine Gael were formost in their condemnation of Wallace. Such hypocrites. ! Cant wait till undereducated people like u loose your jobs due to your right wing goverments actions, or lack off rather, and realise that you were always a left winger at heart, but had not the intelligence to realise it in the first place. Wheres my BMW gone ( that I couldnt afford) shame on you.

• Good riddance!

• Another fine example of just how much of a moron this woman is. I wish she would do us all a favour and crawl back under her rock” we don’t care Clare” you are about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike. I don’t believe her political legacy will be that memorable.

• David 01/09/12 #

So basically, Clare doesn’t want to talk about being kicked out of the SP.

• “You cannot bring about prosperity by discouraging thrift. You cannot help small men by tearing down big men. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot lift the wage-earner by pulling down the wage-payer. You cannot help the poor man by destroying the rich. You cannot keep out of trouble by spending more than your income. You cannot further the brotherhood of man by inciting class hatred. You cannot establish security on borrowed money. You cannot build character and courage by taking away men’s initiative and independence. You cannot help men permanently by doing for them what they could and should do for themselves.”
    Abe Lincoln

• She was elected as a Socialist, should they not now repoll the electorate?

• How do the ULA expect anyone to take then as a serious contender to run this country when they can’t even keep their own party in order, they spend more time arguing amongst themselfs about just how non-tax compliant you can be and still be a TD then they spend debating with the government.

• cont’d …. yet Sean Quinn has left the country with debts of billions, and has gone to great lenghts to hide assets, yet Kevin Myers can write this about him in the sindo “Courage and enterprise — the willingness to take risks and to invest — are what made the Celtic Tiger, and Sean Quinn was one of the giants of that period because he exemplified those qualities. Now, I genuinely don’t know what he did and he didn’t do, but I do know this. To get out of the deep dark hole that we are in, we need more Sean Quinns” In the same vein Ulick McEvaddy described the ‘maple ten’ as national heroes….. where is the outcry in the media !! Seems like its highlighting the venial sins of some to cover-up the mortal sins of others is the media’s priority!!

• Dalygate

• mcbab 01/09/12 #

As a soap opera this beats all the rest hands down !!!

• Clare who

• Have to agree with mick collins she is doing untold damage to the ULA as long as she is involved with mick wallace.
    she cant be sleeping with the enemy!

• I just read the SP Statement on her resignation as reported on the journal, it is without doubt the most vicious, petty and vindictive political statement that I have ever read. I would not be a fan of any of the cast of characters in this episode but Clare Daly from what I know of her strikes me as a capable person in putting forward her agenda.

• But was it inaccurate as she claimed?

• It was without doubt completely true anyone exposed to her directly will tell you she is without doubt one of the most arrogant me feiner she is rude abrasive and egotistical. She has over the last while refused to engage with both ula and socialist party choosing a man over her politics. A vey able articulate woman but deeply flawed character that is incapable of being accountable to either the membership or the people who elected her. It is her that has been vindictive and backstabbing of everyone around her what she says in print and actually does are two different things

• No idea, as both sides are conveniently avoiding specifics. Just a load of fuzzy mud-slinging.

• @Sean Beg, no idea who is telling the truth. @ Betty Lou, fiesta heard of Clare Daly many moons ago not in the bin protests but when I worked in a Dublin Airport based Company. Management there would have expressed views on her not dissimilar to what you have expressed. I have never met the lady so I cannot comment one way or the other.

• What views did i express exactly?

• The Socialist Party Statement must have been signed off by Joe Higgins and the acid just sloshes from it to such a degree that Daly’s later Press release is completely naive if she thinks there will be future collaboration with her former colleagues. So much for sharing a jail cell as a part of her marketing campaign to gather future votes at election times. The real problem is one of judgement and inappropriate relationships getting in the way of principle and ethos. Daly’s political value has just collapsed and huge collateral damage has been caused to the Campaigns with which she was associated.
      It will be fascinating to watch her trying to recover as the Dail vacation comes to an end.

• Sean beg, I was only answering the question by you by basically saying I did n’t know the answer one way or another. So to answer your follow up question I am not aware that you expressed any views on the matter so again I cannot tell you what views you stated exactly. Hope that deals with all your queries!

• Bring on the Revolution!

• Clare is turning her back on the most vunerable in our society and has lost any socialist principles she believed in. She appears no different to other politicians that embrace the establishment ( excessive wages, unlimited expenses and privileged pensions) , she is perfect SF material now. Disappointed in her.

• Its just as well that Clare lives in a civilised Democracy if she was living under Uncle Joe as apposed to West Kerry Joe she she would put up against the wall and shot.

• If there’s one thing this proves is that we need a decent opposition in this country. ULA are basically a sideshow that’s going to be gone at the next election, FF are totally discredited and SF… well, are SF. There’s certainly room for a left of centre or centerist party offering a viable alternative to FG/Labour.

• n365 01/09/12 #

A massive let down. Fianna fail are laughing in their champagne glasses. And fg and sinn fein

• Gives a whole new meaning to political Affairs!
    Ha ha.

• Why are people disappointed and surprised. As a cynical old bastard having seen politicians whether left, right or independent promising all sorts of new dawns over the years I know that each and every one of them are interested only in one thing, that is being elected and getting the nice pension. The ones who promise the most are most often the ones that disappear after election make a total mess and leave their electors screwed again. It’s a sad thing to say but I really believe that there is no such thing as an honest politician.

• I hope the ULA becomes a party we might have a party that actually gives a sh*te about the average people, not just sucking up to the super rich to line theyre pockets.

• Mick 01/09/12 #

A bit Disgruntled there are you, why don’t you just become rich and then everyone will suck up to u???

• great contribution mike

• Mick 01/09/12 #

It was a genuine question…why don’t you? U received an education the same as the next person did u not?..use it and get rich instead of blaming politicians and the like..

• Mick you’re a bit naive if you think hard work makes you rich. Most rich people get rich the hard way – by burying their rich parents. If hard work was the way to get rich every African woman would be a millionaire.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Big issue with you arguments there, 1 we are not in Africa, we all got educated…or had the opportunity to be educated…that is an astronomical difference. And 2, yes…most people do inherit their wealth…but the rest create it by hard work and risk. I can’t see any reason that any abled person in Ireland cannot think outside the box and either create their own job or work for someone else…if they can’t do that that ate not trying hard enough!

• Martin 02/09/12 #

Mick, maybe u should give up your civil service job and get a dose of reality. Many people who went to college for 4 & 5 years in this country are unemployed in ireland because their sectors have completely collapsed. How many jobs have u created ,none I bet , very few entrepenuers or business people of worth would have either the time or lack of humilitiy to comment in such a manner and insult other country men with their ignorance. Te

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Rubbish, I work in the private sector and I also have my I own small business that I work weekends on..not fully viable to go full time in yet but hope to in next 5 years. In fact if you read my other comments I have no time for waste of any sort-included the fore mentioned civil service. Now in relation to the collapsed sectors…..wat are people going to do about it? Go back to college and find a sector that does provide employment? Create a niche business in that current sector that will make you money or find a job in that sector in another country. People don’t have lack of chooses…have the balls to make the right one and they will succeed.

• David 02/09/12 #

But mick, there are those that just want to moan and get everything handed to them for nothing. It’s a mentality that these people are brought up with you know.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

True for a lot of people that they were brought up that way but some people were not brought up like that yet are still carrying on like that. It’s sad to say that a lot of the Irish nation have gone soft…blame everybody else for their own decisions and not having the self respect to get up off their back sides and doing something with their lives…ye only have one lads, it’s yer choice!

• Martin 02/09/12 #

Pathetic stereo typing of people, such Rubbish. I’m a flash games developer and employ people both in Ireland and on-line from all over the world, and I still realise that some of our people are in situations that they can’t get out of , like those who have kids that have lost their careers, and can’t afford to have childminders while they study for a new career, and as a result they are stuck in unemployment, most people dont want handouts and the loss of pride that comes with it ,but I guess everything is nice and simple in your right wing little world.

• We already do …. S/f

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Very few are stuck my friend, where there is a will there is a way. Eg. Study on line at home…always give a solution, not an excuse… And stereotyping? Come on mister, you assumed I was in the civil service and you told me leave it??? What was that about? Fair play on the flash development though, I like that…u’d want to upskill soon though…it’s too costly and on the way out…no excuses about sectors collapsing and all now….

• I have written about the prospects of the left and the Socialist Party on http://garrettmullan.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/the-road-forward-for-the-left/
    I worked closely with Clare for years. She is a hard worker and well regarded. The Socialist Party is also genuine. I am out of the party since 2009. Read my blog and you will get an idea of how this came to be… Separately, in regard to the article here, I am not sure what Clare is saying is inaccurate about the SP statement..?

• “The Workers Party has traditionally been a hostile Stalinist organisation. ”
      Could you explain what you mean by this ? Hostile to what? And how do you justify the term “Stalinist” in relation to the party?

• The Irish political comedy roadshow keeps rolling on

• wish they would all resign, and give way to a government for the people and stop taxing and charges we cant afford, do they care about people who loose jobs, no jobs out there , struggling with a mortgage, house floods, and no way we can repair never mind sell houses, i am going to give up and just let them house me, give me money every week, and live the way they want us, its stupid to own a house in this economy, but they give out more and more to new citizens and take from the people, how much did all that shite cost in dublin, and we pay, they tax us to give money to local government, our council are repairing and replacing and replacing as wrong foot paths in ,, in a small village ballyheigue, we pay, why cant we get proper engineers in our towns, 1 year for one street, its a joke and we pay for this wastage,,, our country and government are a joke, and a big one, i am going on strike, wont pay nothing only take, sick of trying and only to here they are wanting more for them to waste, give us jobs, give us garda, give us hospitals that work, schools , colleges, the basics for any country, in denmark they get paid to go to 3rd level, here we want them unemployed and bring up more wasters, my kid is up for college next year if i stop paying mortgage and insurances and live in my car outside council offices, they cant leave us there i believe,,, and see what becomes of myself and my kids

• Yawn

• Fair play to Clare. Glad she didn’t stay silent on the matter, she should have been first out of the blocks on the matter of her resignation.

• She has, effectively, stayed silent. All she did was confirm that the Socialists removed her / she resigned on her own free will without any pressure from other sources.

• From the article “Daly has issued a statement this evening following an earlier statement from her former party ”

Was the statement issued in sign language kevin? And considering the deafening silence of inda during the referendum campaign I wouldn’t go around accusing people of staying silent,

• I think Clare Daly takes some great stances on important subjects and that won’t change. She may have stood in support of Mick Wallace because of Michael Lowry being allowed to be re-elected after his tax evasion and investigation, and Ray Burke getting a 3 million euro pension after pleading guilty to making false tax returns. Fianna Fail and Fine Gael were hypocrites to attack Mick Wallace in the manner they did, so maybe that’s what she was standing up for. She is not following the party line and so gets shafted. To be honest I think the way that the SP have gone about this has done more damage to them than Clare Daly sitting beside someone in the dail has.

• Fiona …you silly thing! Sitting beside?……………

• Yes. That’s one of the things the SP said. That by sitting beside Mick Wallace she was giving public political support to Mick Wallace. For anyone to say there’s anything else going on is presumptuous and childish.

• Anyway my main point was that there was a media hunt of Mick Wallace while an ex Fianna Gael TD is allowed to sit in the Dail after being found guilty of tax fraud and and ex Fianna Fail TD was also found guilty and put in jail but is allowed to keep a pension worth 3 million. Things have to change on a whole, not just turn on the independent who doesn’t have party backing and maybe that’s what Clare Daly was standing for. Not the desire to iron his shirts as some people claim.

• Two seperate issues there. The biggest problem is that if you want to function as a party you need to have some level of cohesiveness and consistency in approach. The more radical left, being often based on emotive and ideological politics is more prone to splitting and faction-fighting than parties closer to the centre.

This is one of the reasons why (I think at least) they’ll never see actual government and are essentially a perpetual protest movement to naysay whatever the government of the day is doing and depending on economic conditions prevaling will have varying levels of representation.

So, as Clare, Ming, Richard and the rest are all too aware – they’ll never be legislating for anything themselves so in order keep getting elected it’s got to be all about personal profile over party. The tragedy is that we need a proper opposition to keep the government on their toes and we’ll never get that from the ULA. What we will get is another three years of grandstanding, wild unworkable solutions and campaigning on “local issues” – which is just old school FF cronyism of a different hue.

• Regarding Taxpayers and ‘welfare scroungers’…
    How many jobs are we short in this country? Hundreds of thousands. According to your lights/abilities/desires/ego/laziness/
    ambition/health/ opportunity etc etc you either work or you don’t.
    Now you ignorant apes who think you prop up the country with your TAXES you don’t. End of. And the world will turn..

• If it’s not propped up with taxes, what does support the state? The common man? That is tax. Industry? That also translates into tax. Taxes are the basis of a state that aims to support all of it’s people inclusively and at the highest standards possible. We mightn’t have it now, but we definitely will not have it without a tax system that provides enough revenue for the state to provide these things. The aim of any socialist-leaning policy should be to increase tax revenue in a way that fairly reflects the income of the tax payer, and that attempts to eradicate unemployment, not glorify a welfare class. Anyone who can work, should work. Tax fraud cannot be acceptable. If you do not agree to these points, any claim to be socialist or left-wing is not credible.

• Mick 02/09/12 #

Yawn, I’m at a loss… What are are you trying to say? U either work or you don’t? what does that mean? Is it If you don’t work you don’t need to try and get work? Explain please?

• “The Workers Party has traditionally been a hostile Stalinist organisation. ”
    Could you explain what you mean by this ? Hostile to what? And how do you justify the term “Stalinist” in relation to the party?

hi Tom,

I should correct that and say ‘viewed as’ by the Socialist Party. on the basis that the party had an orientation to Russia.

Garrett

http://garrettmullan.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/the-road-forward-for-the-left/

• Martin 02/09/12 #

Fine Gael need to go to prison for tax evasion.

Add New Comment