TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Commission will not strip Flynn’s pension before court ruling

Current commissioner Maros Sefcovic says Padraig Flynn’s pension may be stripped, but only after he is convicted of an offence.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION has said it will not consider any moves to strip former Irish commissioner Pádraig Flynn of his European pension unless Flynn is convicted of an offence in court.

Several MEPs had called for Flynn’s pension – thought to be worth around €50,000 a year – to be stripped after the final report of the Mahon Tribunal said he had acted corruptly in taking a donation intended for the Fianna Fáil party and keeping it for himself.

In response to contact from Labour MEP Nessa Childers, however, current commissioner Maros Sefcovic – whose brief includes the administration of the Commission itself – said any such proposal could not be considered as yet.

Proposals to strip him of his pension would only be dealt with if Flynn was convicted of an offence in a criminal court.

“The Commission’s understanding is that the findings of the Mahon Tribunal have been referred to the Criminal Assets Bureau and do not represent the verdict of a court after due process,” Sefcovic said in a letter to Childers seen by TheJournal.ie.

“Therefore, the Commission will await the outcome of the referral of the findings of the Mahon Tribunal before taking a decision on this matter,” he added.

He added, however, that the Tribunal’s findings “appear at first sight to be a matter of serious concern and I fully understand that there is widespread anger among Irish citizens”.

Existing EU treaties require commissioners to behave appropriately in connection with any appointments or benefits they receive after they have held office.

They also allow the European Court of Justice to consider a request from the European Council – the group of political leaders of all EU member states – or the current Commission that a former commissioner be stripped of their pension rights.

Although the alleged IR£50,000 payment from developer Tom Gilmartin occurred while Flynn was a cabinet minister, the Tribunal also found that Flynn had falsely contrived documents while a Commissioner in order to portray the donation as a personal one.

The Tribunal also rejected evidence given by Flynn between 2004 and 2006, after his retirement as a commissioner, on the nature of the donations he received during his time in Irish politics.

Childers remained positive about the response, welcoming the acknowledgement from Sefcovic about the concern among the Irish people, and saying Flynn had “disgraced Ireland’s good name in Europe”.

Read: What WOULD it take for a politician to lose their pension?

Read: Call for EU Commission to drop Pádraig Flynn’s pension

Read next:

Comments (30 Comments)

• His face just screams “I’m a cock”.

• Has he not been arrested yet?

• What a arrogant pr**k

• let him keep his pension until proven guilty and when found guilty, which I am hopeful will happen, backdate all repayments from day one, plus jailtime plus fines , dont fall into the Callely trap and give him cause to sue the govt

• Fagan's 04/04/12 #

There are countless people receiving pensions from their time as EU comm. that have charge sheets that would make P. Flynn blush, or at least grimace slightly. Fraud, massive tax evasion and corruption etc.

If they hold P. Flynn to account, then they will have to hold many others to account as well and that just ain’t going to happen. A great pity.

• He does have the physiognomy of something that erupted out of a bog hole.

• You have to laugh at the idiots from his former constituency defending the scumbag “I would still have a lot a time for him, he done a lot for this town. If it wasn’t for him we wouldn’t have an oul fire station there” was one quote from some idiot. Pathetic and idiotic but sadly it probably encapsulates perfectly the Irish Political system i.e. Bog Politics. As for him losing his pension etc or ever being brought to book, like everyone else here, i’ll continue to breathe as normal. Inhale, exhale, inhale, *blood boiling* inhale, exhale…….SCUMBAGS!!!!

• Fagan's 04/04/12 #

Agreed. Instead of people saying oh he got us a firestation, or a new road. Why aren’t people asking why is this not a given for all of the country. Christ, this is normal stuff that ye are asking for, it’s a given in even poorer countries than here.

• Brian
      Heard same on Bertie when Mahon came out, RTE interviewed people around Drumcondra, fuckin old biddies (I’m middle aged myself) saying how great he was that during the snow he organised dinner for them in the Skylon Hotel, some people unfortunately don’t see the bigger picture! Jesus wept!

• Ah Jesus lads give the man a break how else is he supposed to run three houses and pay his housekeepers….poor Padraig.

• So…that means we’ll be depending on our lack witted government to bring charges against this tool….and how long will that take?? Months….years…??

• The evidence is there! I assumed the EUR50,000 he put towards a farm was from F Fail supporter, that was supposedly to go to F Fail, but unfortunately fell into there horrible individual’s hands. To me, that’s stealing. Jail, Jail, Jail and take the pension too!

Then, go after the rest of the thieving bas . . r ds including aherne!

• Fagan's 04/04/12 #

No the money was from Tom Gilmartin, a developer, a honest guy who was told while working on a large project that if he did not cough up 50k donation for FF, that they would have his work stopped, destroying him. So Flynn in fact robbed the money from FF, who were trying to extort Tom Gilmartin for funds.

This was after a meeting with such luminaries as Charles J Haughey, Brian Lenihan, Seamus Brennan, Liam Lawlor, Ray Burke had a person ask Gilmartin for a 5million payment, A party of extortionists, criminals and traitors.

Naturally FF have not even bothered to ask for this money back, not asked for Flynn to donate it to charity, not even condemned him or Ahern. Their nat. Exec. refused to issue a statement doing so, instead they ” inappropriate fundraising activity in the past”. If Flynn starts talking, he’ll take down every prominent FF in the last 30 years, and half the Cllrs in the party.

It’s hard ti imagine that there are 15% of the people that would vote for them tomorrow. That kind of bad goes all the way to the bone.

• @ Fagan’s,

Sad really, to think that it was “the norm” and probably still is there. That’s what I meant. Wasn’t his in the first place. Sadly, this horrible man ‘piddle flynn’ sees nothing wrong with what he did! His answer, “we were all doing it, it was our bonus”!!!

God, can you imagine if he started blabbering with that mouth of his. Hopefully, he will. Many would be very supprized to hear the list of people he’d be hanging. I wonder is that because he was ‘allowed’ put it in his pocket, as they were obviously doing the same and worse! (Allegedly!) Awful horrible people.

• Nessa Childers deserves support for her integrity. De Rossa (aka Frank Rossi) abused her on the phone over the appointment of Cardiff – appalling considering her level of integrity and his lack of it. Sadly it is the likes of De Rossa and Cardiff who with the support of the our government who get their way.
    It is not that many years ago that De Rossa was being followed 24/7 by the special branch for his activities.
    Will the Garda be following Pee Wee to see where he hides his money? I am surprised hid daughter hasn’t convinced him to hand it over to her to invest for him!!!!!!

• @Frank2521

Hear, hear on Nessa Childers.

On Piddle Flynn, he and others probably have their off shore accounts well hidden (allegedly!) Oh sorry, no, I forgot, that’s against the law, isn’t it?!

• Elrat 04/04/12 #

Heard they named the new baby giraffe in Dublin zoo Beverly – the neck of them !!

• Nessa Childers is a woman of substance; I salute her.

• Joan

Yep it’s an absolute joke and by the looks of it some of those fools have been here clicking the dislike button. No wonder Jesus weeps, fools!

• Ah – he got those people the “roads” & got them their mother’s “pin-shins” !! Have I got news for u lot – you “are” entitled to the roads & your mother is entitled to her pension – anyway.

Add New Comment