TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Centuries-old rituals to be carried out as conclave begins

Cardinals will be sworn in with a solemn oath that threatens anyone who reveals the deliberations of the conclave with instant excommunication.

Image: Jae C. Hong/AP/Press Association Images

CARDINALS MOVED INTO the Vatican today as the suspense mounted ahead of a secret papal election with no clear frontrunner to steer the Catholic world through troubled waters after Benedict XVI’s historic resignation.

The 115 cardinal electors who pick the next leader of 1.2 billion Catholics in a conclave in the Sistine Chapel will live inside the Vatican walls completely cut off from the outside world until they have made their choice.

In a series of centuries-old rituals to be carried out today, cardinals will be sworn in with a solemn oath that threatens anyone who reveals the deliberations of the conclave with instant excommunication.

Dozens of Vatican staff working on the conclave, including cooks, drivers and security guards, swore the oath yesterday and jamming devices have been installed to prevent any bugging or communication in or out of the chapel.

Vatican Crowd Control
(Italian Police officers outside St Peter’s Square, at the Vatican, yesterday – Gregorio Borgia/AP/Press Association Images)

The prayers will begin with a special mass called “For the Election of the Roman Pontiff” in St Peter’s Basilica starting at 9am.

Cardinals will later file into the Sistine Chapel from 3.30pm chanting in procession to invoke the Holy Spirit to inspire their choice.

The cardinals are set to hold a first round of voting later today – but the Vatican has already said it expects the smoke from the burning of the ballots to be black indicating no papal election has taken place.

Ballots on subsequent days will be burnt at around 11am after two rounds of voting in the morning and at around 6pm after two rounds in the afternoon – the smoke is famously turned white if there is a new pope.

Catholics around the globe have been praying for the conclave, which is expected to last no more than a few days.

‘Praying for the cardinals’

“We’ll be praying for the cardinals until a decision is made, it’s the part we play in the conclave,” said sister Celestina, 62, a nun from Croatia, kneeling in a church near the Vatican.

“The Church is like a boat, all the faithful are sailing in it together but we’re without a helmsman at the moment.”

Among the possible candidates, three have emerged as favourites – Italy’s Angelo Scola, Brazil’s Odilo Scherer and Canada’s Marc Ouellet, all of them conservatives cast in the same mould as “pope emeritus” Benedict XVI.

But the rumour mill in the Vatican has thrown up more names too including cardinals from Austria, Hungary, Mexico, the Philippines, South Africa and the United States – many of them inspiring pastoral figures in their communities.

The field is wide open although a few key aims unite many of the cardinals after Benedict’s rocky eight-year papacy – reform the intrigue-filled Vatican bureaucracy, counter rising secularism in the West and find new inspiration for Catholics in the way John Paul II did.

The scandal over decades of sexual abuse of children by paedophile priests — and the efforts made by senior prelates to cover up the crimes – has cast a long shadow over the Church that will be an ongoing challenge for any new pope.

Celibacy and artificial contraception

There have been calls from within the Church too for a rethink of some basic tenets such as priestly celibacy, the uniform ban on artificial contraception and even allowing women to be priests as in other Christian denominations.

“We need someone able to provide the Church with what it needs in today’s world, someone who will help it open up to the world and listen to the people,” said Roger Seogo, a priest from Burkina Faso in west Africa visiting the Vatican.

The tradition of holding conclaves goes back to the 13th century when cardinals were locked into the papal palace in Viterbo near Rome by a crowd of angry townspeople because they were taking too long to make their decision.

That conclave still dragged on for nearly three years but the rules have been reworked since then and the longest conclave in the past century – in 1922 – lasted only five days. Benedict’s election took just two days.

Benedict stunned the world on 11 February, announcing that he no longer had the strength of body and mind to keep up with a fast-changing modern world shaken by vital questions for the Roman Catholic Church.

In a series of emotional farewells attended by tens of thousands of supporters, 85-year-old Benedict said he would live “hidden from the world” and wanted only to be “a simple pilgrim” on life’s last journey.

Vatican experts have said the German’s decision, which makes him only the second pope to resign by choice in the Church’s 2,000-year history, could mean future popes will also step down once their strengths begin to fail them.

Cardinals prayed for divine guidance at their last Sunday masses before the conclave in churches across Rome.

Ouellet said this was a “unique time in history for the Church”, adding: “The whole world is waiting”.

“We pray that the Holy Spirit may indicate to the cardinals the one that God has already chosen,” he said.

US Cardinal Sean O’Malley – also a possible contender– said in his homily: “Let us pray that the Holy Spirit enables the Church to choose a new pope who will confirm us in our faith and make more visible the love of the Good Shepherd.”

- © AFP, 2013

Read: Explainer: How is a new Pope chosen? >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• Seems very inefficient.

Why does God not just write the name of the new pope in fire in St Peters square or something?

Or at the very least he should whisper in the ears of a majority of cardinals before the first round of voting so they don’t need to waste all this time and effort when they could be off doing… whatever it is they do.

• The fact that the church won’t accept Gospels including the following, just because it supports the idea that there’s no need for organised religion annoys me. “The Kingdom of God is inside you, and all around you, not in mansions of wood and stone. Split a piece of wood and I am there, lift a stone and you will find me.” – Gospel of Thomas

• The catholic church doesnt want you praying at home. They want you in church, emptying your pockets and telling the priest your most intimate thoughs so he can guilt you into giving more money.

Its always been about money. The reformation happened becuase of it. The only thing that changed is hereditary titles……

Theres even a gospel of judas but its ignored becuase it contradicts the current teachings.

• The knostic gospels that your speaking of were written several hundred years (think it was two so I’m not sure) after mark, Luke, John, Matthew, so even in the historical sense that raises questions about their validity. If you can correct me or elaborate let me know.

• And I agree with you Leonard, there are a few contradictions that come to my mind also, like let him who is greatest among you humble himself. Hard to stay humble with a title like your eminence.

• If we’re going by time I think the earliest validated Gospel was written 70-80 years after Jesus’s death. The Gospel of Thomas is different in that it isn’t people talking about Jesus, it’s a collection of words he spoke word for word over time and was put together way after his death. From memory I think the Gospel of Judas is the earliest one written from any of the Gospels and it was rejected because it told of how he didn’t betray Jesus, he just did what he was asked by him. I haven’t read these in a long time, so I may be wrong on bits of this.

• Wikaepedia cites some debate with some saying it was written at 130 AD at the earliest, the carbon dating of the copy was at 260 AD bit it does contain second century theology. :) some reading would need to be done really!

• “cardinals will be sworn in with a solemn oath that threatens anyone who reveals the deliberations of the conclave with instant excommunication.”

Unusual that breaching the rules of celibacy doesn’t have the same punishment.

• phil 12/03/13 #

The Vatican should move with the times and change the century old rituals. I think e voting machines would be a good place to start. Im sure there somewhere in the world that could supply them.cheaply ;)

• The ridicule of ridiculous religious ideas is no different to the ridicule of ridiculous political ideas. Nobody deletes comments when people point out the lunacy of Sin Fein’s strategy to burn bond holders while the country was looking for a handout from Europe. Why should comments be deleted for pointing out the lunacy of a belief that one can literally eat the flesh of a deity?

These are not attacks on people, they’re attacks on ideas. If religious ideas are extended a free pass from ridicule then I demand unearned respect for the Ulster rugby team. I believe they are perfect and anyone who challenges this view should have their comments deleted.

• nobody is suggesting a ‘free pass’ from ridicule.
      But in fairness, – literally hundreds of hateful comments daily, directed at ONE single group/ organisation or belief system, – that is not right either.

• Paul 12/03/13 #

Zoe Ive been reading comments the last few days and I struggle to find the hateful comments on Catholicism you talk about, but then again I have only found this site the other day.

I have read and written comments questioning Religion in general. I fail to see any picking out Catholicism for particular hatred.

• Zoe, does the catholic church not deserve such a torrent of abuse?

With the upmost respect to you having your faith, can I ask a serious question?

What would jesus do? Seriously, if he came down from heaven, would be happy with how ‘his’ church has evolved?

Would he want it fixed, or left alone? Would he want his devouted followers to follow the course laid out by the clergy and vatican quietly or subserviently? Or do you think he would want you to question the wrong and clean the church?

And when I say clean, I don’t mean in the horribly accurate Mrs. Doyle; I mean this…

If you love your church, why not help fix it? Surely a better use of you time?

• Define hateful Zoe? I don’t recall any hateful comments being made towards catholics.

The problem is that you’ve become so sensitised to criticism of your religion that you interpret even the mildest criticism as hateful, even if it is not, and aimed at you personally (or catholic humans) when it is not.

When I laugh at the practice of eating the invisible man in the sky, I am ridiculing a religious belief. An Idea. There is nothing hateful about that.

As far as I’m concerned, if the religious can “hate the sin and love the sinner”, I can hate the religion without hating the religious.

• Some craic.. can we mock the Muslim’s tomorrow?

• Except that no one here is mocking Catholics – just the absurd 4th century circus that’s going on in Rome.

• John F 12/03/13 #

You’re dead right Paddy! Double standards on this site, If it were Judaism or Islam they were having a “playful” jibe at they’d all be hiding under their tables at Journal HQ

• Yes, Paddy & John
      the rcc is fair game, – hundreds of hateful comments daily.
      Can we slag the Muslims, Aisans, or Jews sometime?
      Somehow I don’t think so !!!
      typical playground bullies, – the usual EASY target.

• Meanwhile, in a galaxy far far away, the sixth of the twenty-eight stages of meta-generation for Jessel, the Trifelge Trutinard begins.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQ9sJVJMiYM

• Hi all,

Let’s knock this on the head. A number of comments on this piece have already been deleted. This was done because they were flagged by you, the users.

If there is a comment that you take issue with, click on the “Report this comment” link and bring it to our attention.

Kind Regards,

Paul

• Paul,
      I’d like to take issue with ONE organisation or faith group, – daily being subject to hundreds of comments of ridicule or hatred or hostility.
      It wouldn’t be possible to flag or delete, – all of the hateful or abusive comments.
      Will the comments eventually move, – from hatred of clergy, – to hatred of ”catholics” in general.

• Yes Zoe, the rcc is fair game? Any thoughts on why that is?

• I’ll make you a deal Zoe, when Hindus have interfered with Irish politics for generations I’ll speak up.
      When Rabbis have raped hundreds of Irish children I’ll join the protest.
      When Muslims run 90% of Irish schools I’ll join the condemnation.
      Is that fair enough for you?

• Ireland is mainly Catholic and because of that fact and the track record the Catholic Church has is the reason people comment on this site. Muslim and Jewish faith hasn’t dictated and influenced previous governments. (And why would anyone want to randomly slag Asian people? ) get over the fact thst people hate the Catholic Church because of its worldwide crimes against humanity Zoe.

• Zoe Daly 12/03/13 #

… and I suppose all the GOOD that is has done worldwide, is airbrushed out of the picture…

• No, it’s just completely outweighed by the evil.

• Well the good will never be highlighted anyway.
      anyway, – I’m leaving the playground for today – enjoy the rest of your trolling.

• Nice one Sham.

• Paul 12/03/13 #

Good/Evil – all that is relevant is facts and evidence, and religion has none of these. Religion may have done good but the bottom line is that God doesn’t exist and it is built on a made-up stories during a time when there were no scientists with the vast amount of knowledge which we now have.

Personally I cannot deceive myself into believing in a God like so many others do without any sort of evidence.

And Zoe and co. are completely trolling but at least they give an opportunity for discussion.

• It really does sound like a cult crossed with a drag show

• They could pick the new Reading manager while there at it !

• If the voting bishops are influenced by the holy spirit, then why don’t they all vote the same way? Just sayin’.

• As soon as they are locked in, on comes the techno music then its orgy time

• There does seem to be a lot of anti- catholic church sentiment about and that’s without
    the Journal reporting the latest findings of a commission set up to investigate church abuse in the Netherlands. The commission’s report which was published in Den Haag today found that from 1945-2010 thousands of girls were sexually abused and subject to violence by spiritual leaders of the church. With 40% of the victims being continually raped by priests over many years. The victims of this horrendous abuse were between 6 and 14 years of age.

• “Meet the new boss – same as the old boss…” – The Who, Won’t Get Fooled Again.

• Cardinal Tucson from Ghana to win, i hope they call him Pope Pius love that name :)

• To point out the crimes of the Catholic Church is bigotry? (Wait for the faithful to defend the indefensible)

• I have placed my bet, got the beers & crisps in, let the show begin, i might even make a few quid.

• Holy crap!

• Surprisingly, Sky News are covering it very extensively. Of course they have hours of news time to fill in, so it’s a godsend (!) for them.

• mammy 12/03/13 #

Thought the journal had a sense of humour

• If you want to adopt a cardinal to pray for, visit http://www.adoptacardinal.org

Enter your name and email address, hit the green button to receive your cardinal. Be sure to pray to the Holy Spirit before you hit the button though and ask him for guidance :)

• I can’t understand why all these non believers bother commenting on a story like this other than to directly insult & upset people of faith.

• Paul 12/03/13 #

because religion garners too much respect in society and needs to be taken down a peg.

• Too much respect? Catholics are persecuted on a regular basis by hateful bigots like yourself.

• Persecuted?? Grow up!

• Paul 12/03/13 #

Hateful bigot? Not sure where you got that from. I don’t hate religion I just think it is ridiculous and it is ridiculous the amount of wasted time spent on it. You obviously don’t take criticism well. I wonder why? Maybe its because you know you believe in a ridiculous thing. Think about it.

• I cant understand why you belive in a man made religion, based on a book written 100′s of years after one of theain characters death and has been edited quite openly to make conversion easier.

On top of all of this, no facts have ever come to light to prove anything in this book is true…..the leaders of this man made religion over the centuries are guilty some of the most horrific attrocities and more recently have been found to cover up the rape and torture of innocent children.

I cant understand how despite all of this bs, people still ignore reason because they have ‘faith’ that no matter what they do, if they’re remorseful they’ll live in the clouds in paradise…….

Yeah, good luck with that..

• very true Carl,
      – this is their daily playground.

• Really Carl, what else do you expect? The RCC have raised the marginalization of some other members of civil society to that of an art form. Most other religious organizations appear happy enough to keep themselves to themselves. Not so with yours. That sticky and altogether narrow agenda that personifies the catholic worldview serves by it’s nature to ostracize, alienate and exclude others.

I’ll never understand a plea for tolerance from members of an organization that advocate intolerance.

• Bertrand Russell: There is something feeble and a little contemptible about a man who cannot face the perils of life without the help of comfortable myths.
      Almost inevitably some part of him is aware that they are myths and that he believes them only because they are comforting.
      But he dares not face this thought!
      Moreover, since he is aware, however dimly, that his opinions are not rational, he becomes furious when they are disputed

• ‘Excommunication’ ha!

• Seriously why is this getting the level of attention it is? The pope is only a figurehead because church dogma is given by god so it can’t be changed…apparently.

• The pope is basically the roman emperor. The emperor was the head of the empire and when Rome converted to christianity, the emperor became the head of the church.

FFS, thry never even moved very far. For the first thousand years all popes were Italian until Charlamaine, a Frac became pope. Even 600 years later there was uproar when a spaniard became pope as it had become traditional (again) that italians were always pope.

It was the same with the Roman empire.

• My point, which became vague is that the roman catholic church is just another empire that continued its ways for another 1700 years, long after the original empire fell.

• Ruairi I do be blue in the face trying to explain this to people! And they also lost 68 gospels in the transition from church to empire!

• I’ve gone purple explaing how the story of noah and the ark was copied from greek history (see zeus and his flood) and my personal favorite……the story Horus(egypt), the son of a god, born to a virgin mother…..thousands of years before jesus….. and so on…

Christians openly celebrate the birth of their savour months after his originally recorded date…

The church changed Jesus’ birthday to december to coincide with the winter solstice to make conversions easier.

The church is a business, more followers, more money.

This all ties to my argument that the catholic church is still the roman empire.
      The Romans would always adopt the gods of a conquered people to make their assimilation into the empire easier….becasue the more people, more money

• Jesus is a fictional character – as real as SpongeBob Squarepants!

• And let’s not forget Mithras, Adonis, Dionysius, etc! All the same story. In fact, Mithraism was the religion before Christianity in the Roman Empire. Not too difficult to change the main character from Mithras to Jesus then.

Add New Comment