TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Cowen compares banking crisis to ‘multiple plane crashes occurring at once’

In a speech in Washington, the former taoiseach also attacks conventional political thinking in advance of the crisis.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive

FORMER TAOISEACH Brian Cowen has compared the onset of the 2008 economic crisis to a series of plane crashes, all taking place at the same time and each for different reasons.

In a speech delivered at Georgetown University in Washington, Cowen argued that the simultaneous banking and sovereign debt crises that began under his watch were not solely the fault of international factors, but also down to the design of the euro.

“In some respects the Euro crisis is like multiple plane crashes occurring at the same time where manufacturing design faults, exceptional conditions, pilot errors and mistakes by air traffic controllers all led to disastrous and unexpected results,” he said.

The former taoiseach and minister for finance said that while some would expect him, as a former European leader, to blame the crisis on international factors like the collapse of Lehman Brothers, this was not solely the case.

There were European factors to blame too, he argued – such as the euro’s failure to accommodate the “great divergence in the strengths and weaknesses of individual countries”.

“For example, Spain, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Greece, and France all have very different problems and very different prospects,” Cowen said, saying the European crisis was “result of the interaction between the global market factors and weaknesses in individual economies”.

The former Laois-Offaly TD told his audience that similar problems could be prevented if governments were encouraged to build greater surpluses instead of increasing their spending in line with tax.

He added that this had not been encouraged in Ireland, however, because there was no political appetite anywhere in Ireland to cut down government spending as long as exchequer revenues remained solid.

“With the benefit of hindsight, budgetary policy should have leaned more heavily against the wind – but let’s be clear about what that would have meant.

It would have meant higher income taxes, lower levels of employment, and higher unemployment. It would have meant less spending on education, healthcare, research and development, infrastructure, and social welfare. These expenditures at the time were widely seen as highly desirable. [...]

A countercyclical policy stance would probably have required budget surpluses of 5-6 per cent of GDP and an unemployment rate around 7 per cent. The question we ought to reflect upon is whether the political system could have come up with such an outcome in the context of strong economic growth and widespread confidence about continued strong performance.

In Ireland’s case, he said, this had not been put forward by political parties – who instead wanted to debate “how best tospend the extra resources that were coming in to the Exchequer”.

In full: Read Brian Cowen’s speech at Georgetown University (PDF) >

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• Those planes were hijacked.

• You know, I read this, and think ‘What a load of pure codology’. If it was a plane crash, then weirdly many in first class seem to have survived intact. They may have moved their ass[et]s to a safer environment, like ‘the wife’ for example.

As for saying his government should have maintained a surplus, then going on to say how this would have meant fewer jobs, poorer infrastructure, etc. This is sheer rubbish. I can’t think of a major project where we didn’t overspend GROSSLY. We could have done what we did on less than half the budget in most cases. To give my favourite example of how little money benefitted: the HSE. All we hear is how the HSE is suffering from budget cuts, which of course it IS. But when we were happily spending our surplus, people still died on trolleys. The HSE is suffering from the budget cuts very badly because it entered austerity at such a low bar. I notice he’s quoted referring to the global contribution to Ireland’s problems, and the euro contribution, but not the IRISH contribution – which was less of a plane crash than the cognoscenti fiddling while we burned.

• Well said Paula!

• Nicely put Paula. The governments answer was to pump more money into say the HSE and then turn to the electorate and say how wonderful they are. No attempt was made to improve efficiencies and decrease the overall cost. Benchmarking, c’mon that has cost us billions, and have we received any improved services for that.
      Arrogance ruled the day. E voting machines, talks of a bertiebowl. Unvouched ministerial expenses.

• Mostly agree but what major projects for example are you talking about us overspending? The port tunnel? That was a minor overspend (disregard a dodgy estimate of 300odd million and others that didn’t include compo to property owners)

If there is overspending then it has to be determined based on the signed contract value/accepted tender price.

• @TomTraubert Without Googling to back myself up (am in work and don’t have time!), the LUAS comes to mind – way over budget, and a couple of years over deadline. Then the Dublin Integrated Ticketing System! Don’t even get me started on that fiasco. I like to quip it was “hurried through after ten years”, which cost a massive 50+ million euros.

• Agree with you entirely Paula on the First Class passengers surviving intact. Between NAMA and the tribunals many of the legal and financial elites continue to enjoy Celtic Tiger fee income.

• That’s a great idea, we should make him Taoiseach………..oh wait…………!

• hmm not the wisest comparison to make in the US. Even if it was you took the only parachute Cowen!

• Why was this man giving a speech?

If I designed a building that collapsed and killed hundreds of people, do you think anyone would care if i gave a talk on how to design buildings?!!

• The results were predicted for years before the collapse, but you did not listen Mr Cowen. You’re still not listening.

• D Burns 27/03/12 #

“In some respects the Euro crisis is like multiple plane crashes occurring at the same time where manufacturing design faults, exceptional conditions, pilot errors and mistakes by air traffic controllers all led to disastrous and unexpected results,” he said.

Yeah, and us, the passangers have to pay for the crashes out of our own pocket! Go back to sleep Cowen…

• Ah I see Brian! You’re completely innocent in all this! You were only doing what you were told!!

• Planes, trains and imbeciles.

• What a powerful analogy, but unfortunately he didn’t develop it to reveal the entire picture for his audience. He conveniently neglected to mention that he had direct responsibility, as Air Traffic Controller in effect, for quite a number of the aircraft converging upon one another in this catastrophic aviation pileup he describes. Not only was he responsible for charting the correct course as advised by all of the readouts and data available to him, he was also ultimately responsible for dictating the ultimate altitude and airspeed of those few aircraft under his supervision at the time of the disaster. Unfortunately, before he abandoned his workstation and headed off for a ‘Ball O’ Malt’ or ten and a sing-song his minions, he’d insisted that all of his charges had to accept that they were where they were, that the fundamentals of his calculations were sound and that they should maintain their converging courses, speeds and altitudes going forward. As he’d also ensured his own job security by employing numerous Captains and First Officers who were equally as incompetent as himself if not more so, it was inevitable that something would eventually go awry.

• And the bondholders and bankers and politicians are given the parachutes. And continue to earn money and give speeches. Charming.

• Does not say alot for Georgetown university that they have to get Brian Cowen to lecture them in economics !

• Ardo Ci 27/03/12 #

Former Taoiseach me arse! This gobshite was Finance Minister and new all too well the state of play behind closed doors. T-shark more likely. Would he ever get the hell out.

• Ciaro 27/03/12 #

What a snivelling lying piece of shit!

• Does he not know where he is? He is a hairs breadth away from comparing an accounting messup with the death of thousands of people in the twin towers…

Foot in gob.

• Well thought out analogy there Biffo – thanks for explaining it all In language us ordinary punters can understand.

Health Warning — Ladies and Gents this is an example of the intellectual heavy lifting that can happen when your brain turns to sop.

• Dope!

• Let’s start with some legislation to cut his pension by 90% and then cut his freedom to be able to walk and talk by 100%. Stick him in a ghost estate and cattle prod him if he tries to escape. round up his mates and put them in there too. Sure it was a plane crash Biffo and we all know who was drunk in the cockpit you useless plank. I’m sure we’d all feel better if we were never to see or hear from this ogre again.

• Did he discuss how political corruption had shaped the many policies and politicians that crashed the economy? As Finance Minister he bumped up public expenditure by 10 per cent per annum. All helped build the fire under the property bubble and killed competitiveness. He was front and centre defending Ahern. Taxpayers still do not know the exact sequence of events and advice that led to the disastrous Cowen-Lenihan bank guarantee. He will go down in history as the man who oversaw the bankruptcy of the nation and the replacement of sovereignty by rule by the IMF/EU/ECB. Under the Cowen the experiment called ‘Irish Independence’ came to an abrupt end.

• Scarr 27/03/12 #

Unfortunately in our own plane crash at least one of the pilots appeared to be drunk at the wheel

• Another FF waste of space hocking his mutton on the lecture circuit…it just goes to show that they do really have no shame at all…Ahern was a liar but this guy was just a fumbling buffoon.

• yes Brian Cowen you fat waste of space it had a lot to do with you as “finance” minister only going to the central bank 3 times in as many years!! you incompetent fool!!!!!!!!!!!

• Did Brian Cowen get a Brain transplant?

• Politicians.
    Gotta love them, they are so like managers.
    Ask questions they know the answers to – make comments on how things are and how they should be.. the stuff a 5 year old drunken kid could do (Kids – drinking is bad).

• jimbo 27/03/12 #

BIFFO

• Yes, Cowen nailed it!

The reason why Ireland collapsed financially is because we spent too MUCH of infrastructure, healthcare and education…

And because, once we had all those foreign national builders immigrating to Ireland, we HAD TO create a housing bubble to give them all a job.

And at least, even though we’re now busted, we have brilliant infrastructure, a brilliant education system, and a world-class healthcare system.

• What he conveniently forgets is that every Irish budget from 2000 onwards was greeted by the Europeans warning us about overheating the economy and the dangers of our pro cyclical strategy. The best that can be said of this gobshite is that he inherited his Dail seat, inherited the job as Tiaoseach and underwhelmed in every ministerial post he held.

• i wish this ignoramus of a man would shut his hole!! nobody cares what you have to say Cowen!! you had your chances to do the right thing but even as finance minister you failed to do anything right!! you are a complete and utter gob$hite and we are blessed to be rid of ya.

• B7584 27/03/12 #

Right, this only enforces one thing…
    Americans ARE THAT thick.

It’d be like us wanting to get Jeffery Dahmer over to host the Rose of Tralee.

• RDX862 27/03/12 #

Jeffery Dahmer is dead and from their website

“The BMW Center for German and European Studies was established in 1990 as one of three North American “Centers of Excellence,” each supported by a ten-year grant from the German government and administered by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).”

• 27/03/12 #

Brian,

I do wish you would refrain from being so cute. Could you please search in Google for ‘ Central Bank Common Informer’ and tell us that you were unaware of the sting on the widows and orphans of Ireland

Cheers

Supergrass

• Pity he was’nt on the plane when it crashed

Add New Comment