TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

‘Croke Park must deliver more savings’: Mixed reaction to latest review

While business group Chambers Ireland called for more cuts in the public sector, unions pointed to the effect the agreement has had on the lower-paid in the public service.

Public Expenditure and Reform Minister Brendan Howlin
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE LATEST REVIEW of the Croke Park Agreement by the body tasked with overseeing its implementation received a mixed reaction today with calls for more savings from the agreement between the government and the public sector unions.

The second annual report of the agreement showed that there had been total savings of around €920 million for the taxpayer in the agreement’s second year with a total saving of €1.5 billion made since the agreement came into effect in 2010.

The findings were welcomed by Public Expecnditure and Reform Minister Brendan Howling who said they showed how the public sector was doing “more with less”.

But Fianna Fáil’s Seán Fleming claimed there were some gaps in the report with no details on “severance payments” for public sector workers.

The business representative group, Chambers Ireland, said that the agreement between the government and the so-called social partners needed to generate more savings through cuts to pay and pensions.

“Given our huge deficit which sees us borrowing over €1bn a month to fund the State and its public service pay and pension bill, more needs to be done to deliver savings urgently which will close this gap,” Seán Murphy, deputy CEO of Chambers Ireland, said today.

“A pause on increments and cuts to allowances must be on the agenda if we are to improve our public finances.

“The chair of the Implementation Body has noted elsewhere that 63 per cent of civil service workers are eligible to receive incremental pay rises, including some 2,776 earning more than €70,000.”

Murphy went on to say public sector unions must not be allowed to block any reforms to increments and allowances.

Unsurprisingly, the unions were not in agreement with one of them, SIPTU, saying that savings had been made at a cost to low-paid workers in the public sector.

The union’s vice president, Patricia King, said: “The review also confirms that those workers at the lowest pay levels across the public service have contributed substantially to the reforms in work practices to date through roster changes, redeployment, the extended working day and loss of allowances.

“They have also suffered from the loss of regular, rostered over-time which, in the majority of cases, is calculable for pension purposes.

“The big challenge for the next two years of the Agreement is the accelerated implementation of critical reform and change and to ensure that the burden of such transformation is shared across all levels of the public service,” she added.

As a result of the agreement, staffing numbers in the public service have fallen by 17,300 over the past two years with an anticipated drop of a further 11,500 more workers in the public sector by 2015, the year after the agreement comes to an end.

Read: Croke Park deal saved €920m in second year, report says

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• Don’t normally reply to this ‘tit for tat’ crap, but couldn’t keep quiet on this one. @ Sean re: your Fireman comments, I’m employed as same, yes I read the job description when I applied and it’s terms, pay & conditions also, all of which have been decimated by this government. I’m 13 years in the job, with 3 children & last year I qualified for a GP Visit card !!! A Fu**ing disgrace. We do risk our lives day in day out, I’m not looking for medals or the sort, just a decent living. I left a trade to take up this position, initially taking a 50% pay-cut, because the starting wage is pure crap and yes it increases over time with experience. This year alone in DFB which has around 900 Firefighters we have at least 90 on FIS, which is disgraceful. As for your comment about the builder, fisherman etc being riskier, cop on, just because less of us than them are killed each year doesn’t mean we take less risks, it means our high level of training and competence allows us to, thus saving lives, day in day out. No disrespect to any builder, fisherman etc etc, but god forbid Sean, if you or your family are ever in need of our services, I wouldn’t imagine your childish comparisons would exist for long. As I said before hopefully you never need my services, but sometimes that’s only when people truly realise the risks we do take. Keep Safe.

• That’s a fair comment. Don’t know why people can’t realise that in all the time the Public-Private battle was going on, they got in and screwed the lot of us. At least the people who try work for a living anyway. We’ve all taken cuts, and by the way, I’m Public Sector……..I left a better paid job in the Private Sector in 2003 to take it. I’m a Paramedic, I did the tests, the interviews, the case studies, the skill stations, the internship etc etc, and I did it because I wanted to do it, I wasn’t “handed” a job, I damn well earned it. But as I said, every single worker in this country is getting shafted……..while all the big boys laugh at us. Wallace owes €2.1 million, stated he won’t be paying it, why isn’t he sacked? How come we get shafted for a €100 Household Charge and a “leader” *cough* of the country can seemingly get away with that? We need to smell the coffee people!

• Wallace owes is 20 million.
      Remember Wallace owes the banks 19 million that will never be paid.
      Of course his answer was that if they gave him time to work on his debt…… What?
      Property prices will quadruple in the next 2 yrs and Mick will be back in the black. Mick Wallace has cost the tax payer 20 million and any employment he has ever provided is of no value compared to his debt.
      Mick Wallace has cost the state dearly but we will forget that because he’s a nice guy and is involved in football.

• rayven 13/06/12 #

It’s a race to the bottom now with the wealthy actually getting richer now than in the boom but government haven’t the political will to get this money

• Public and private sector workers fighting on here, get a grip. Your all working for the same reasons. circumstances have changed is all. Save your time and focus on the government and what we can do to get out of this mess as new employment is the only savour of this state. The public private battle is the oldest trick in the book to distract everyone from the real issues. Sorry for preaching but its wearing thin and your all smart enough to know better.

• Go after wages again squeeze all the fecking money out of us. Causing more to default on their mortgages . Causing more to go on the dole . Costing the taxpayer more. Calling for more cuts……. Vicious downward spiral….

Leave us alone and we’ll spend whatever we have on goods and services. Creating employment..

Cretons the lot of them.

• Neil 13/06/12 #

Those wages (and those generous pensions and lump sums) are being largely paid out of massive borrowing from the troika. And the idea that paying the PS big wages and generous lump sums and pensions through this borrowing will grow employmemt is a bit off. Reaity is it just grows their savings accounts.

One day the troika will stop lending to pay these wages which are 50% higher than the UK equivalents. And the fun will begin.

• 50% higher? I’d like to see your workings. I compared Garda pay to PSNI pay and found very little difference.

• Neil 13/06/12 #

Check average police pay in England. Check their pension arrangements too.
      The difference in teacher and lecturer pay is even more stark.
      The idea that cutting positions and not pay is good for the country is a joke. Cutting positions is a direct cut in services and cuts out options for the unemployed.
      The troika know this (we saw it in the leaked paper), and when a second bailout comes (which it must if there is no global economic upturn to lift our export sector) then the CPA will certainly not be funded by it.
      But I’m just saying most people expect anyway.

• So you have no workings i take it.

• He never does seanbeag. Just blind vitriol. Most public servants earn less than the average industrial wage and over 40% of those earn less than 20K. He’s talking through his hat as usual. Neils made quite the name for himself around here constantly attacking every type of person whos not exactly like him.

• Wrong the borrowings are all to pay bankers and bond holders no need to borrow anything just stop borrowing billions to pay billions back to same circle. Madness you do know this right?

• What’s all this rubbish about increments, when I get mine each year its impact is insignificant. About ?30 a month of it may come to me the rest disappears into taxes, increased cost of living blah, blah……
    Where’s this all going to end. Will people be happy when the public sector is out on the streets protesting (NO!)
    But at the same time when we are at the frontline, working our ass off (the majority of us) people are still unhappy.

• Completely agree with you. My girlfriend is actually better off on the dole. After all her expenses she is left with feck all. But people here would have you think that all public sector workers are have €50ball fights during their lunch break.

• @ Nollaig, so your increment gives you a net of 30 euro, that would be an annual gross increase of approx 720, as a percentage of the average industrial wage that woul be nearly a 3% increase, which is above the inflation figure, and your complaining, in the private sector there are pay freezes and in some cases reductions.

• Michael, with a pay freeze you are not moving backwards, it will take public servants 5+ years to get back to where they would have been if their pay had just been frozen instead of being cut 15%.

• Please read what I said ” in the private sector there are pay freezes and in some cases reductions.” that is reductions…………..

• Yeah, think I read a statistic somewhere that between 5-15% of workers in the private sector have suffered pay cuts. 100% of public sector employees suffered pay cuts.

• I think you will find that figure of private sector who have taken pay cuts is closer to 68%, and the rest lost their jobs.

• I think you’re making figures up now, Michael.

• @Sara, no not making up figures, did omit that I should have stated “remainder” excluding those on pay freeze, aplogies for that,figures come from IBEC study

• “What’s all this rubbish about increments, when I get mine each year its impact is insignificant. About ?30 a month of it may come to me the rest disappears into taxes, increased cost of living blah, blah……”

So you’re complaining that your guaranteed annual increase doesn’t cover your additional annual costs.

Ok, that’s a fair complaint. I wish I had a guaranteed annual increase to cover these additional costs too, including the extra costs being created by the public sector – have you noticed that the government seems to be increasing all possible charges that are levied on the general public for use of public services?

This is at a time when we are supposed to be REDUCING costs to be more competitive ….

• Sara, he IS making up figures, and cherrypicking others. You can see what he’s up to further up the thread with his ECB report.

• Apparently the Germans knew all the details of this report before it was released.

• Having worked on deep sea trawlers I can tell you it is extremely dangerous. How many fishermen have died in the last few years compared to firemen (not downplaying what they do, have much respect for them). Have you worked at either?

• dave 13/06/12 #

Maybe we should all worry more about yesterday’s report which made out that’s lot of people in the country are better off bumming off the state that working…maybe we could save some money on this free legal aid crap and give a 3 struck you out system then you pay for court from your dole or whatever……. This I work harder than you crap is getting old everyone picked there own profession and these will always take hits at some stage no-matter what ya work at. when the next boom is happening no-body will be jumping to fight over it again the private sector will be again higher paid and won’t care what the nurse or ambulance driver is getting these things all go in circles I’m afraid get on with it everyone….

• Same old crap. The majority of private sector employees actually got a wage INCREASE last year, but lets ignore that because that does not suit does it? Lets also ignore the fact that I pay the same taxes as you PLUS a pension levy so I actually pay more of a % into the state coffers than you do but again, lets ignore inconvenient truths

Heres a question, why did none of you whingers join the fire, ambo, gardai, teachers, binmen or defence forces during the aul days if it has always been such a great number? Well? Because you either earned more and looked down your noses or couldn’t get in.

But ok your right, I throw in the towel and will go on the dole instead of earning my keep. Protect your own home and family from violent criminals while I watch every single euro match and spend all Christmas day with my family (for a change)

Regards
    soon to be on the dole Garda

• Well said Paul I totally concur.

• Paul.
      You pay more in to a pension because you get more out. But we will ignore that to use your term.
      You get a full pension at what 55?
      I’m not saying you are a high earner but I don’t know what argument you are trying to make. All this protect your own house nonsense.
      Where do you get your statistics that most private sector workers got a pay increase last year?
      It’s tough on most people but the one comfort you can take is you won’t face losing your job.
      Everybody only sees the situation from their own little island. Try sitting on another island and the view is different

• @ Sean. I hate to tell you Sean but I also pay the pension levy but because I am a retained firefighter I do not get a pension. The numbers were done a number of years ago regarding our gratuity payment. A clerk working for 25 and paying the pension levy will get the money he payed into it back in roughly eight and a half years but a retained firefighter working for 25 year, paying the pension levy and getting the gratuity at the end of service will never get back what he pays in as the gratuity is less than the payments total. I really wish that everyone would stop making sweeping statements regarding the “fantastic pensions that all public sector workers get” we do not all get these pensions and before anyone jumps in saying that it is only us this happens to , it is not, some teachers are in the same boat so are temporary office staff.

• Sean, the retirement age for full pension in the public sector is 65, not 55. The amount of shite being spouted in this site is mind-boggling!

• Increments are used in the private sector it basically allows a employer to pay someone less when they’re inexperienced also when someone leaves initially they’re replaced by someone who paid less and won’t be on the same rate for between 6 – 10 years depending on the job

• No it’s not more dangerous to be a farmer, builder or fisherman.

• I, and a good number of people in the same industry as myself (not construction) have had 20% reductions in our private sector jobs in the last few years, Michael’s assertions are not made up, that’s just the harsh reality.

• D O C 13/06/12 #

Neil you truely are a ballbag

• The ECB refuse to enter talks on bank debt until the imbalance in public sector pay is addressed. The government need to address this issue with some sense of urgency.
    “According to national account aggregate data, the wage earned by a representative public sector employee is higher than the one earned by a representative private sector employee in all the countries of this study, except Belgium, France and Germany. In particular, in the period 1995-2009 the ratio of public to private compensation per employee is found to be consistently below one in the case of France, slightly below one in the cases of Germany and Belgium, around 1.1 for Austria, around 1.2-1.3 for Italy, Spain, Greece, Ireland and Slovenia, and above 1.5 for Portugal.”

ECB Working paper 1406

• Is it just me or does anyone else think these “savings” are money that should never have been spent in the first place??

• Bench marking was accepted when private sector wages were higher, now that they have come down surely this should also apply to the public sector, and I know about pension cuts but these were too generous to start with.

• They have come down. The Gross Pay has been reduced and the pension levy is deducted also. That’s a massive cut in basic pay. Shift allownaces have been reduced as well. Overtime is scarcely used these days. Any new staff hired also start on even lower wages. More wage cuts will lead to a lot of mortgage defaulting from the lower paid workers.

• So has gross pay been reduced by 42% , which was the differential figure between Public and Private sector as per ECB study, I think not. Overtime is not a right, and those that added it in to their figures to obtain mortgages beyond their real means will now have to cut their cloth. Benchmarking is about aligning the wage structure and rates.

• Overtime is not a right. But the absence of it surely reduces the pay bill substantially.

And does your 42% take into account the “pension levy” reduction?

• Can you link to that ECB study Michael, cos it sounds like absolute crap. You may in a small number of cases be able to cherrypick a figure of 42% for a certain job, but across the public sector? Not a chance. Not even close.

• The public sector pension is overgenerous in the first place, as pointed out by the troika, those in public sector are also in protected employment, which is why private sector should be above due to volatility factor.

• Relevant section please if you don’t mind. You seem to be well versed on the facts so I’m sure you can find it faster than we can….

• Seeing as though Michael didn’t want to post it…… The relevant cherrypicked figure is in table 3b and uses data collected from 2004-2007 i.e. before the 15% pay cut, and uses gross earnings per hour. When you actually use the calculation of a public servants yearly net salary that figure drops to 17%, again this is BEFORE the 15% pay cut.

Oh, and its an average across the entire sectors, it does not compare like for like which is the proper way to do it.

• As a POR hourly rate is accepted international criteria, as weekly hours worked varies .I didn’t post table 3b, as if you can’t be bothered to read whole report you are the one cherrypicking, as for averages against like for like public sector comes off better than if you compare averages. Refering to the dates both sectors have fallen since study and private sector more so. Accept the fact you are a protected species………………

• @Michael
      A bit sweeping to state that private sector wages have fallen, so the public sector must follow suit.
      The evidence points to the opposite in fact. We’re all aware of the pay cuts that public sector workers have suffered over the past 3 years, however they are often conveniently overlooked by those trying to make your argument.
      It is also a sweeping assumption that that the private sector have also suffered pay cuts, and once again there is compelling evidence which is at odds with this:
      http://www.independent.ie/national-news/no-change-to-private-sector-pay-despite-the-recession-3083667.html

• So where does your 42% claim appear if not in the table using data from 2004-2007??

• @ Too Truefelt, please read reply, stats are based on period “2004-7 both sectors”, both have now changed proportianaly….good night

• How convenient that it was me that had to mention that the stats are from BEFORE THE CRASH and before the 15% across the board cuts for the public sector. And that those stats don’t mention like for like i.e. that a cleaner in the public sector might earn more than a cleaner in the private sector, but conversely a nurse in the private sector probably earns WAY more than a nurse in the public sector.

Thanks for playing. Off to bed with ya……

• No wonder we’re in the mess we’re in, with idiots like you working in the public sector, I stated that stats referred to a given period and that after that both proportionally changed, which any idiot can infer that the stats are probably still valid, but that would not suit your way of thinking, As for nurses in the private sector, of which my wife is one, over the last 4 years their pay has dropped , where as in the public sector wages have increased above inflation, and that is FACT, so before spouting of get your facts right……………………

• @ Michael, I’m not complaining. in fact I’m well aware of the % but thanks for using up your time to do the calculation. Have a good evening.

• Well 5 seconds of my time was not wasted, your opening statement ” What’s all this rubbish about increments, when I get mine each year its impact is insignificant.” sounds like complaining to me. Have a good night….

• The headline numbers look positive but what are the real numbers nett of generous lump sums and pensions to be paid into the future. The savings are less than 50% of the claimed figure, would be my guess. To tackle the Euro 15 billion annual current borrowing requirement is going to need much wider cuts in the salary and pension costs of the whole public sector. increments and increases……..dream on! You can’t get feathers from a frog.

• Increments are used in the private sector. I think they are even used in relation to minimum wage. Doesn’t the minimum wage differ in relation to your experience?

I would agree that deep see trawlers are quite dangerous. I didn’t mean to include that one. Certain jobs are inherintly dangerous, (ie walking into a fire) while other jobs are dangerous when performed unsafely (ie building).

• How many public sector workers have lost their jobs since the recession? Average wage for teachers is one of the highest in the EU. Of course public sector workers have had to suffer cuts but comparing the stark reality for many private sector workers, losing their jobs, emigration and pitiful pensions at retirement I believe that we need to radically restructure the public sector.

• If you check out the stats for death and injury in the workplace on hsa.ie, farming, fishing and construction are multiple times more dangerous than being a fireman.

• Having a bad day are we!

• He looks like he has something.

I’ll get banned if i say what

• Gareth.
    There is no disrespect to the job you do. As for the safety element being a fireman is less dangerous than the livelihoods you mentioned because of the emphasis you put on safety.
    I agree, and because of that it is safer.
    Driving a bus is dangerous if not done properly. As for needing your service?
    I’m sure you will take no offence if I say I hope I never need them and if you saved my house or family members I would be very grateful. However, the point I am making is whether cuts are made or not is an issue that should not be determined by the job you do.
    I wouldn’t make an exception to a fireman as distinct from a clerk.

• @ Sean, I never said I should be left alone and the clerk, binman, or the likes wages should be cut, all I was stating was that I’ve had a massive reduction in my take home pay, somewhere to the tune of 23% over the last 3-4 yrs. I was also one of the idiots that bought an overpriced concrete den. I do a dangerous job and I want to be fairly rewarded for it. It’s not right that anyone working in the public sector, frontline or not, should also have to rely on state handouts, its disgraceful. What I will say is that there is a lot of tidying up to be done in the public sector & yes it could be done a lot quicker. Some departments in the council are a joke, I’ve no problem saying that. I also have an issue with the amount of social welfare dished out, and yes i did the sums, I’d only be worse off to the tune of €83 a week if I was on welfare in the same circumstances, that’s a weeks work for €83, but ta f**k if I’m sitting on my hole doing nothing ( that’s is by no means anyway directed at anyone that has lost their job) This country is backwards and needs serious reform on all levels, quick. But whilst that Dail is full of gangsters it ain’t gonna happen. Again, keep safe & hopefully we don’t meet :) take care.

• Idiotic comment.

Add New Comment