Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 February, 2012

Dana insists dual citizenship “not a problem” for election

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

DANA ROSEMARY SCALLON has insisted that her status as a dual citizen of both Ireland and the United States does not present a problem to her election campaign – believing that it is an advantage.

This morning’s Irish Times reported that Scallon had taken US citizenship in 1997, shortly before her first run for the Presidency of Ireland – but that it was decided not to disclose that citizenship before the election.

Colm Keena’s report cited a court case involving Dana’s family in Iowa in 2008, which outlined a meet between her sister, brother and husband – when it was decided that it “wouldn’t look very good” if people knew of Dana’s dual citizenship before that time.

Scallon explained to Radio Kerry that she had taken US citizenship because her family had lived there for some time, but that in order for the family – and for Scallon’s children – to remain resident there, it was required to become a citizen of the United States.

Scallon told interviewer Jerry O’Sullivan that she was not present at the meeting where it was decided not to disclose her US identity, “and my husband and brother have no recollection of that conversation”.

‘Advantage’

“I would like to say that it’s stooping to a new low to raise a family dispute – a personal family matter. Yes, it was a very hurtful time, and I feel it is a new low – every family has their difficulties, and nobody wants their family difficulties to be aired,” she said.

Dana said, however, she had never been asked about the matter before “and knew it wasn’t a problem… if I’d been asked, why would I want to hide it?”

She added that when she signed the forms seeking US citizenship, she was told she would not have to renounce her Irish citizenship – even though the US oath of allegiance sees immigrants “absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen”.

Scallon said, however, that her status as a dual citizenship could be seen as an advantage. “We claimed a part of Barack Obama… I would have no difficulty in Americans claiming a little bit of me as an Irish president,” she said.

Later in the interview, Scallon defended her stance in declaring that she would not sign any bill that would “decimate the constitution”.

“The people would never place, before the president, a bill that would decimate the constitution,” she said.

Scallon also dismissed her poor showing in recent opinion polls, saying she had never polled very highly in advance of elections, and had always performed above pollsters’ expectations on polling days.

Campaign diary: Where the candidates will be today >

Poll: Higgins and Gallagher bolster leads in latest poll >

In full: TheJournal.ie’s full coverage of the Race for the Áras >

Already a fan? Complete your signup...

Get breaking news from The Journal.ie via Facebook. Just click 'Like'.

Read Next:

Comments (75 Comments)

• Mark Malone 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Erm. The present Prez has dual citizenship, much the same as about a quarter of the people on the Island.

I think whats shes saying is like the vast majority of folks citizenship is used (for better or worse) as a tool of mobility. Oaths of allegiance, like swearing on a bible, are an anarchonistic fall back to fuedal times and actually a wee bit bonkers. Not everyone shares that view of course, but the fact that lots do suggest that its a reasonable assumption.

• Brian Ward 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

How can she become President if she has said these words ” I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state or sovereignty, of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen” She has renounced her allegiance and fidelity to the State of Ireland and has also said ” that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same (the USA)”. This was finished off by “so help me God” so this is a serious oath taken before God, an oath that she also claimed that she couldn’t remember taking. I have no problem with her or anyone else having dual citizenship but if they want to be President then their oath loyalty to a foreign country surely bars them from being Head of State in this country.

• Mark Malone 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Because a lot of people see these oaths as meaningless. Politician lie and talk shite all the time, so folks are kinda taking their cue from them!

• EDDIE BARRETT 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

By way of confirmation the current President did not renounce her claim of Citizenship , as Dana did .
      Mary has dual Citizenship by legal entitlement .
      Dana cannot have it both ways – she must withdraw from the Election immediately , as she is clearly a complete work of fiction and is insulting the office of the Presidency!

• Patrick Kennedy 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

I think that you are 100% right Brian. It is impossible for a person to swear an oath like that and then go on to swear another one that is in conflict in this. It may seem symbolic to some but it is an essential part of the inauguration and important in affirming what the person is to stand for.

I don’t care for any of the abuse and unfair statements that have been aimed at Dana but this is an important matter, a person seeking to serve as Head of State has sworn an oath of allegiance to another country.

A constitutional oath of allegiance is not feudal and at some stage it always desirable that a person who wishes to serve the nation in such a role does then symbolise this by swearing to do certain things.

Report this comment

Actually I just saw something else there Mark “that I will bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law”.. Interesting that our future President (yeah right) and Chief of Staff of the Irish Armed Forces could technically be called upon by a foreign nation to bear arms for that nation. I wonder does Dana see that as a problem? :-)

• Eileen Gabbett 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Dana is running for President and presumably she wants to win, at the end of which she will have to swear an oath . One wonders will she take it as seriously as she took her oath of allegiance to America to obtain her citizenship? …. I don’t mind any one having dual citizenship and run for presidency ,IF, they are born into it .But for Dana To knowingly have sworn that allegiance and then try to hide it by the ‘sin of omission’ shows the true caliber of this woman. Shame on you .

• Chris Mac 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

That why she’s at 5% and falling

• Michael Hegarty 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

If elected, our Presidents Diplomatic Immunity would be compromised, as she would be President of Ireland and a mere citizen of the US. Its fine for Joe Soap who has emigrated to have Dual Citizenship but its not good for Our President. Very poor foresight from Dana.

• Peter Nolan 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

I don’t have a problem with dual citizenship and I don’t think it’s an issue. As Chris points out, she’s hardly the first candidate or even President to have such citizenship (though, *possibly* the first to not have it by birth and actually swear an Oath disavowing Ireland).

The only *actual* issue is the claim by Dana’s sister that Dana deliberately *concealed* the fact because she thought it might damage her electability, As with so many things in politics, the cover-up, once revealed, is often more damaging that the original ‘sin’ would have been.

• Kirk Delaney 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

@Peter Nolan
      The only *actual* issue is the claim by Dana’s sister that Dana deliberately *concealed* the fact because she thought it might damage her electability

Swearing an Oath disavowing the country that she now wants to be president of is the *actual* issue surely. The possible cover up is a secondary one.

Or does the oath not matter do you reckon ?

• Eamonom 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Much as I find her to be a bit of a joke. I don’t think there is anything new in this story. I always had it in my head that she had dual citizenship from the last election14 years ago. It’s a bit of a non story

Report this comment

I think the issue people will have is that a person who wishes to be our head of state has sworn an oath of allegiance to another nation. It might be symbolic in some respects but it doesn’t seem very logical or rational. To conceal it doesn’t look well either, especially in the wake of more serious matters being concealed by others.

• Pen Name 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

It’s not an oath of allegiance, but an oath of renunciation. She renounced allegiance to all other states and sovereignties except the US. It would be ludicrous to have such a person serve as Irish president.

Report this comment

” I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same”

• Pen Name 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

This comes first:

“I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen”.

• Victoria Hall 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Does she not have a British passport?

• Rory McNulty 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Unless she renounced British citizenship she’s also a British citizen, whether or not she’s a passport.

• Michael Hegarty 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Word has it, that she is selling all her passports to fund her campaign. I heard she has citizenship in over 100 countries.

• paul madden 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

its not a problem for the electorate as she’s not going to get elected president of either of the countries she holds citizenship for.

Report this comment

That is not the point Paul,We all know she will never be elected .She took the Irish electorate for fools and her so called oath too.The woman respects nothing.

• Simon Power 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Non story. I would have thought that her right wing church crusading would be more news. If that’s the best the media could "dig up", shes a lot more virtuous than I had previously assumed.

Report this comment

It’s a small story but not a non-story. A non-story would be that she fell of a chair or the like. This was an oath as part of a legal act in becoming a citizen of another country.

“I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state or sovereignty, of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen”

I think that’s an issue. You can’t swear such a thing and then go on to act on the behalf of a “foreign…state” now can you? Rather

• Mike Reid 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

look at the view count, i believe to alot of people, it is a story

• Rory McNulty 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Never had any respect for her after she won the Eurovision for Israel.

• Miss Carroll 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

I’m actually getting a bit sick of Presidential candidates telling us what does & doesn’t matter to the electorate. McGuiness says his past isn’t an issue for the electorate. Norris says the same about his letters. Now Dana and her citizenship.

I guess we’ll see on polling day what does and doesn’t matter.

• Phil Quinn 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Totally agree Rory, spouts out right wing crap for years and then has a sex change and moves to Israel….double standards

• Adam Magari 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Just when the farce seemed to be in danger of stalling. The fact that she has two citizenships is astonishing enough, but not disclosing such to either the county councils or her likely voters really calls her openness into question. Personally, I believe that she has ruled herself out of contention, and should do the honourable thing and preserve some dignity. There’s plenty of room in the doghouse beside McGuinness and Norris, but does she really want to go there for the next three weeks?

• Billie Hetfield 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

How can you have dual citizenship and run for election in your original country? The US allow you to keep your original citizenship as long as you don’t become a diplomat for the original country.

This leaves Dana 2 options. Drop out of the race or lose the American citizenship. How did she get away with it when she was an MEP?

• Cpm 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Fair’s fair, she’s right – her dual citizenship is “not a problem” for election, it’s her lack of support that’s the problem

• Mark Dennehy 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Her 1040 IRS form would make for interesting reading were she elected so – all US citizens, worldwide, must report all their income to the IRS via a 1040 form and they’re currently cracking down on that (http://www.financialpost.com/personal-finance/citizens+living+Canada+Time+come+clean/5178975/story.html).

It’d be amusing if the Irish President suddenly found herself owing tens of thousands in fines to the IRS in the US for failing to complete paperwork…

• Adrian Martyn 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Mark, your should really consider a carrear as a journalist. This is only the latest interesting insight you’ve made on an issue in this campaign, and one which actual journalists seem not to be investigating. Fair play to you.

• Paul Cunnane 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

“The people would never place, before the president, a bill that would decimate the constitution,” she said.

Clearly she looked into her heart to know what we, the people, would and wouldn’t do.

• Richard O'Callaghan 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

If her Oath of Allegiance to the US means so little to her, how can her Oath of Office to the Irish Presidency be seen as anything more than hollow words to her.

And if she is making public pronouncements that she really didn’t mean what she said in her Oath I wonder would that be something that the Immigration and Naturalisation Service in the US might take an interest in?

Finally, with regards to staying in the US (and why oh why didn’t she stay there?) why wouldn’t a Green Card have sufficed?

• Billy Kelly 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

What nationality was the main man Dev from he was president of Ireland for a spell I think.

• Alan Hynes 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

He was an American citizen by birth and never took that or any similar oath. The issue is not dual citizenship; it is the oath.

By the way, Dev, who I am not a fan of, later renounced his American citizenship.

• EDDIE BARRETT 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Not relevant – he was born there and reared in Ireland – he never swore allegiance – neither did Mary McAleese!

Dana must pull out – she is a complete joke!

• Adrian Martyn 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Actually, Eddie, de Valera was born in New York and only came to Ireland as a three or four year old. Now that I think of it, though, he did later take an oath that was not an oath ….

Report this comment

For a women that has made much of being a defender of the Irish Constitution, she has shown a complete and utter disregard for Article 9.3 of that self-same constitution;

“Fidelity to the Nation and loyalty to the State are fundamental political duties of all citizens.”

She has, under oath. renounced all loyalty and allegiance to this state and promised same to a foreign power. Such a person is not fit to be president.

PS And just to be clear to those who would defend her; the dual citizenship is not an issue. What is at issue is the nature of the oath that she took.

• Marguerite Hoiby 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

Totally agree with youm she doesn’t show any integrity for the top job, does she?
      Conveniently, forget dual citizenship?
      Hello! I don’t think so, I have dual citizenship, Irish & Australian and I don’t think that this fact could or has ever slipped my mind!

• Marguerite Hoiby 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

What a fake?
    She shuold have stuck to singing, that was her calling not politics!

• Bren Adams 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

So what if Dana has an American passport
    Gallagher sat at the table with Bertie and his gangster friend’s while plotting the demise of this country
    Some of these friends are now living in America laughing at the Irish people.

His decision not to have posters to save the Irish people money.
    Is he for real why does he not ask his buddy Fingleton to return the 1 Million Bonus?

Report this comment

1) Her dual citizenship is not the issue; it’s the nature of the oath she took.

2) The rest of your contribution is entirely off-topic.

• Report this comment

It’s most certainly not her dual citizenship I’m worried about.

Report this comment

Indeed not. The dual-citizenship doesn’t worry me either. It is the fact that she took an oath to renounce all loyalty and allegiance to a state, to whose presidency she now aspires. I had many other reasons for not voting for her, but this is now my number one reason. It also shows her up as a hypocrite and this is somewhat re-enforced by the comments of the judge.

• Report this comment

Fair enough, but had this not come to light, would you even have considered voting for her anyway?!

Report this comment

No, as I said, I had many other reasons for not supporting her.

• Keith Colton 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

She’s either very naive, very foolish or both

• Seamus Ryan 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

If the oath she took when becoming a citizen of the United States doesn’t matter, it’s hard to see how the oath she’d take when becoming President of Ireland would matter.

Especially considering her own Christian views, which presumably mean that taking an oath in the presence of Almighty God and all that would mean quite a bit to her.

Can’t have it both ways.

• Niall Sheridan 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

So, Dana’s a yank. She, by a formal declaration, renounced her Irish Citizenship. Why is an American citizen on our presidential election then?

• Mary Cleary 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Dana doesn’t matter. She is not going to come anywhere. In fact I feel she doesn’t even want the presidency. She is merely using it as a platform to highlight the constitutional issues she is constantly spouting on about and her scepticism about the EU.

Report this comment

riona.nifhlanghaile@environ.ie
    Dear Ms Ní Fhlanghaile,
    It has come to my attention that Dana Rosemary Scallon, a candidate in the current Irish Presidential Election, is a citizen of the United States of America. By a formal act of renunciation of other citizenships, she acquired such citizenship, as that is how such matters occur in the USA. This therefore would seem to make her ineligible to stand as a candidate in the current election. I should be grateful therefore if you would kindly advise me as to how I may proceed with this matter so as to ensure that Dana Rosemary Scallon is disqualified from the election.
    Is mise le meas,

My letter to the returning officer for the election of today.

• Anne Brady 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

SHE IS SO DISLIKED BY THE IRISH PEOPLE… SURELY SHE MUST KNOW THIS BY NOW….

• Derek Richardson 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

shes not drawing the dole like some other dual citizens in the country , so its alright to work the other way kennedy was irish , american but it,s not nice to be america ,irish, shower of wafflers and hypocrits and i do not support the lady but ye are making a mountain out of a molehill

Report this comment

Derek ! sigh….. It is the OATH she swore that has people upset . She was not born to dual citizenship with America, she chose to renounce the state , this state and now wants to be President here .

• Derek Richardson 138 days ago #
      Report this comment

she was to be dual citizen to be british what would ye have done then eileen and whats this patriotic bullshit an oath to a country who brought this to the fore only a shower idiots who draw up constitutions and then plagiarise them when it suits aka politicians cop on eilleen and the rest of ye

Report this comment

Derek try to keep up. It is the oath that is the problem not the dual citizenship.

• Theresa Daly 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

After all her waffle about the constitution it turns out she swore an oath on a foreign constitution.
    “Dana you hypocrite”.

• Bren Adams 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

A lot of Irish people in the eighties were forced to immigrate to America for employment.
    Quite a few took out American citizenship due to necessity and have returned to Ireland.
    Should they be denied the right to run for president?

Report this comment

Frankly, if they took that oath, then yes. By taking that oath they renounce loyalty and allegiance to the Irish state and pledge same to a foreign state. Unless they formally reject that oath, renounce their American citizenship and reaffirm their Irish one, they they would not be acceptable.

• David Killeen 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

So does Dana have a valid Irish passport or does she not?

Report this comment

” I would have no difficulty in Americans claiming a little bit of me as an Irish president,” I wish they would take all of her.

Report this comment

Dana filled out and signed the US oath repudiating her Irish citizenship. The US Oath of Allegiance for new Citizens says; “absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen”. But, now, if it’s a problem for Irish people, she’ll give up her Irish citizenship. That’ll mean she will be a stateless person in law. She just cannot re-become an Irish citizen on her say so! In the interim, if she signed for an Irish passport since repudiation, then she did so under false pretences and should be liable for prosecution. Also, what is her immigration status as an American in Ireland? She isn’t an Irish citizen – on her own word to the media, so, like any other citizen of a foreign country, she should be investigated by the Garda Immigration Bureau as an illegal immigrant. She clearly, under the constitution, is not an Irish Citizen so she should not be allowed to be a candidate for election. What a farce!

Report this comment

Shes allowed to be an Irish citizen as well as a US citizen and she has to formally renounce her irish citizenship to lose it.

Report this comment

By signing and making the oath of allegiance to the US, that constitutes a formal repudiation of her Irish citizenship. Saying I didn’t really mean it cuts no ice in law!

Report this comment

Dana Rosemary Scallon is Ireland’s Sarah Palin!!!
    Pity we don’t have a Tina Fey for her too, then we could have a real laugh!!

• Donal Lynch 138 days ago #
    Report this comment

Forget all the crap about her being a yank , she was born in London and no not londonderry , let her f**k off , one things for certain she’s not Irish so f**k her and the bomber . Let’s get an Irish man /women for the park

Add New Comment