TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

ESRI: Black people report highest rates of discrimination in Ireland

More than one in ten adults in Ireland say they have been discriminated against based on factors such as age, gender, disability, ethnicity, or race, according to the ESRI.

Image: JFunk via Shtuterstock

MORE THAN ONE in ten adults in Ireland say they have been discriminated against, with black people reporting the highest rates of discrimination.

That’s according to a new study by the Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI) which found black people were almost four times more likely to have faced discrimination than white people in Ireland.

Women were more likely to experience discrimination than men, particularly in the workplace, while people aged between 45-64 were more likely to have faced discrimination while looking for a job.

People with a disability were more likely to have experienced discrimination in services, particularly in health and transport.

Asian people and people from other ethnic groups were more likely to report discrimination in both work and some services than white Irish people, but were still less likely to have experienced it than black people.

One in ten of those who said they had experienced discrimination took formal or legal action in response. The report found that those people who did take action were generally more well-off and had better knowledge of their rights.

The highest rates of discrimination were reported in recruitment and in the workplace, with the lowest rates found in education, public services and transport.

The research, which covered the period 2008 to 2010, found there has been relatively little change in the rates of discrimination reported over the last decade, although it did note a small uptick in the number of people who said they had experienced serious discrimination which had had a major effect on their lives.

“Discrimination remains an enormous challenge to Irish society,” said Renee Dempsey, CEO of the Equality Authority, which jointly published the report along with the ESRI.  She said that Ireland needs to strengthen its commitment to equality “as a key element of our strategy for economic recovery”.

The figures were based on an analysis of the Central Statistics Office’s Quarterly National Household Survey from 2010 which questioned people about their experiences of discrimination.

Read: ESRI: One in five people are living in jobless households >

Read: Almost half of people are not saving at all – survey >

Read next:

Comments (83 Comments)

• Here’s one for you… Was entering car park in swords pavillions shopping centre a few days ago, the entrance of which has 2 entrance barriers. 3 cars were queuing up for the left hand barrier with no cars queuing for the right hand barrier. I initially had put my car in line behind the 3rd car, a red 02 Yaris, but on realising the empty lane at the other barrier, overtook the Yaris and the other 2 cars and proceeded to the right hand barrier, entered the car park,and parked my car. On walking from my car the aforementioned Yaris pulled up, whereupon the Nigerian female driver got out, and stated that what I had done was dangerous. She stated ‘The way you drive it not safe’, ‘Did you not see the baby in the back seat’, and then stated that ‘Just because you are Irish doesn’t mean you can “do that”‘,( Still not quite sure what ‘That’ is…:-) Anyhow she proceeded to state that I was a racist shouting ‘You are racist’ repeatedly. Finally as she sat back into her car, she stated that ‘If my car was damaged you would be in trouble’. She then accelerated away (without putting her seatbelt on), leaving me to get on with my life:-). How nice. As for the encounter, I recorded the whole event, (about 30 seconds of a Nigerian woman accusing me of being racist), on my iPhone, and am tempted to post it to YouTube, along with the overtaking maneuver (The ‘racist’ occurrence’) which I’d also recorded on a dashcam iPhone app I have. It isn’t blacks, it’s Nigerians that are the aggressors.

• That is exactly my point so every black people U come across now are
      Nigerians, are U an immigration officer or what nd what gave U d impression that the lady in question she a Nigerian

• Are you Nigerian Andy ?
      Just asking thats all.

• I was in a maternity hospital a while back. Where a Nigerian woman who arrived by ambulance was abusing the staff because she was not being admitted before my wife.
      She was told that she was not even in labour and she would be admitted shortly but continued to scream abuse at everybody.
      There were other expecting mothers there nobody else behaved like this.
      I think that this is the norm in Nigeria where you need to scream to get attention, Nigerians have discovered that in Ireland this is usually a very effective way of getting what they want.
      And there’s always the race card to muddy the waters if things don’t go their way.

• The two Nigerian people in those anecdotes sound proper rude, maybe we should have them all expelled from the country?

• I know your being sarcastic, but those thumbs up your getting could be ironic to your sarcasm!

• Am I discriminating against that Nigerian guy by not responding to his emails?nShould I help him get that money out of Africa??

• Chances are you didn’t get the job because you weren’t the best candidate. Don’t just play the race card.

• I’d have to agree with you, it’s like assuming all chines people are good with computers, not mr Wong, he only thinks he is good. I want my money back

• Is that black face in the your profile pic?

• You know all jokes aside, back in the 80′s I had the fortunate experience of living with a Nigerian family for close to 3 years in London, they treated me with the greatest of respect, and are my friends to this day. But I have had friends who traveled round the globe three times and come back with the same suspicious “lets find an Irish bar, arrant we great” attitude, who do hold prejudiced to anyone different.
      My attuned; every one is the same till the prove them selfs better.

• …with all the respect due in the world…this is a factor that will be faced if you migrate to an environment in contrast to your own ….it is something that must be considered if you are going to go where the ” grass looks greener” ….not for one minute would yer man condone discrimination ….but it is a fact of life…

• Scarr 14/12/12 #

I would have thought it would be Roma gypsies who felt the most discrimination, as I have yet to hear of a person who genuinely doesn’t have a pain in their face with the begging. All this survey indicates is that certain Africans are generally more sensitive to perceived incidents of racism.

• What do you call a black man flying a plane?

A pilot, you feckin racist.

• There is huge discrimination against Nigerians within the African Nations. I wonder why??

• im quite aware that there is a certain level of racism around, however often enough if you are playing the race card for no good reasom other than trying to your own way, you are making people more intolerant to all of those of your race…its not right, however its human nature to stereotype. But also we need to remember as other cultures need to that racism works both ways. We need to educate each other on the differences in our cultures, but that goes for everyone, the irish should not have to change to adapt to other cultures or else we will habe a situation like england where there is so much disquiet over immigration

• i worked in inchicore about ten years ago . and thy opened a cafe . notice in the window . . . . NO WHITES . . talk about the kettle calling the pot black

• made up stories that can not be possible man, look for another story to say, I’ve work with alot of this black people, they are the best race to work with, very submisive and tolerant unlike other race that thinks, they are uncontroable nd feel they are on top of the world

• “made up stories that can not be possible man”- yet you have the bible as your picture the biggest made up story ever?

• if what U said is a true story, did U make any step to report to the Garda, I sincerely beleive that U cook up this story of urs!

• im paul , hes john but as we can already see your not the brightest spark

• Jerry 14/12/12 #

SUBMISSIVE ?

• you can red thumb all you like it won’t change the facts

• @John – So if you saw a sign in a window “No Whites”, then surely (a) you called the Gardaí to report this hate crime. Or did you (b) just do nothing about it and wait ten years to post it on the internet? Or is it (c) a total crock? If I were a betting man, I’d put my bottom dollar on (c).

• While not in Inchicore, for a long time the Hairdressers on the cornor of Parnel street /Marlboragh street in Dublin had a sign in the door saying Blacks only Hairdresser, not sure if it is still there as I have not been down that way in afew years, and yes I reported it to the Garda at the time but my reply from the Garda in question was that it was to much hassel to even approach the subject and that if they went up there and forced the issue they would only get the its “because i’m black card played “, now I did not make the complaint in a station, at the time I was working on the Door of Fibber magee’s and mentioned it to the guards as they passed one day. But from this response it really is a case of one set of rules versus another, as a doorman I have had the race card played afew times for refusing black people. I have never refused someone entry to a venue that I have worked at based on there skin color, I have refused them entry based on the way they dress or there attitude or there general demeanor.

• em, Derek, might that have been because cutting African hair requires a very different set of skills? Perhaps that’s what they meant and it just appeared exclusionary?

• Dietrich, its actually the chemicals needed for the hair are different. asian and african hair need much stronger ones

• I’m sure of the facts with the sig ave in the window of the hair salon. However worded poorly… The sign could have read… “Seeking skilled hair dresser with proven abilities to satisfy all requirements concerning hair textured of tbose of Africa and alike” But I don’t tbink the sign would’ve fit in the window.

• its not a coincedence the picture is a ginger man…….(ill get back in my tin now) :-P

• I’m not a racist but…

• how about doing away with all these ‘racisam’ laws and just treating everyone the same regardless of colour or country of origin? i was born and brought up in the northwest of england and there are towns there where ‘racial policies’ have gone beyond mental. churches not allowedto ring bells on a sunday or at a wedding in case it ‘insults’ the muslims, schools where nursery rhymes and childrens games have been banned because they contain certain ‘offensive’ words, schools where the lessons are taught in punjabi or bengali because the majority of the children are asian and their parents dont speak english. if the same sort of ‘race’ legislation gets a hold here in ireland you wont know whats hit you, i workedinalarge city centre hotel in liverpool in the 1980’s as a chef, one young trainee(commis) chef of ‘mixed race’ decided one day that he was going to convert to islam, and therefore would no longer work with any meat that was not killed in the halal way, he also wanted time off to pray. it was explained to him that it was not possable or legal to obtain meat killed in this way, though they would accomadate and respect his right to pray, treating it as they did tea breaks or cigerette breaks, the very next day he came in withsomeone from the racial equalities board and a solicitor claiming that the hotel was ‘discriminating ‘against him and hiss religion. the case ended up in an industrial tribunral and he lost on the grounds that he had effectivly made himself unemployable due to refusing to work within his job discription. he then tried to take a case to the high courts and failed, all his legal costs were covered by legal aid, but the hotel had to lay out thousands to defend themselves.

• There are no direct flights from lagos to ireland so there shouldnt be any refugees from that country here. Are you racist for saying half the taxi drivers on rank in drogheda with copied or sharing psv liceances werent irish FACT! There was inspection and this is the truth if someone is a bum doesnt matter what colout there skin there still a bum.

• john fox 14/12/12 #

Andy. not made up i have. friend who worked wit me back then. and now is a garda. and would swear to this on a stack of bibles

• The laws are in place to help everyone as they stand .
    True story mans son did his house up for his wife wheelchair bound needed a chair lift a year to wait for one . So they were selling their car asking £4000. Three men came round asked them to keep it till next day . They returned next day with a check from the social , man rings up to make sure it’s ok . Oh yes they said poor things they are embarrassed to have to get on a bus . This mans daughter in law he said she would love to have been able to get a bus .
    This is a true story told to me by this couples Father .
    So laws are all very fine but it will cover ALL aspects of life as above.

• My brother has a car garage, has received 3 or 4 welfare cheques down the years for cars. When he called the office to enquire as to its validity, he was assured it was and that the people were issued the cheques because they were being subjected to racist abuse on the bus. Both reasons are ridiculous to provide unemployed people with a car they shouldn’t need and can’t afford themselves.

• an ersi report for something that was already widely known..mmm the race card so easy to play ……

• Ah, it’s all played up

• Whilst I acknowledge there are incidents of racial discrimination which is unacceptable, I do believe that the race card is played without a second thought. A fortnight ago I was in Tesco and a Nigerian woman was turned away from a cashier because she had a trolley, the lady started roaring at the cashier that she was a racist and she was going to complain to the manager that she had refused to take this lady at her register because she was Black. The poor cashier was mortified and was trying to explain to her that that wasn’t the case but this woman kept shouting and roaring at the top of her voice. I was behind her in the queue and pointed out to her that in fact she was in the express aisle of ten items or less and that’s why the cashier wouldn’t serve her. She then shouted at me that I was racist aswell and promptly left her trolley and stormed out.

• What a load of B.S !!!

• how come on construction sites the only black to be found was at the security gate yet there was a high percentage of black taxi drivers. Was construction work too physical? Discrimination my arse.

• Wow, the ESRI continue to amaze me!

Not only are they able to successfully predict a recession (well, we were a few years into it by the time they copped on to the fact) but they have now made the ground-breaking discovery that black people suffer discrimination more than any other minority.

What’s next? The ESRI to say we revolved around the sun?

• State schools funded by the taxpayer and run by the Catholic Church are legally able to discriminate against gays. Discrimination is all too common here and often State sanctioned so the government should lead by example.

• What about the Irish people being discriminated by its own Government?

• Is Anthony For real????? Who blamed the British(in the past) and the church(sadly to this day) only for what they done and it was well documented as you should well know so I don’t know why they were brought into it???

• Ireland does of course have racism. Just because we don’t have marauding gangs of skinheads, doesn’t mean we don’t have problem. If I’m being honest, there is certainly less open racism than there would be in Spain or Italy – but Irish racism takes a different form. It usually starts with “Now I’m not racist but, ….”, and ends with “..just the Nigerians, not all Africans” or “..Just the gypsies, not ordinary Romanians”. It’s as if people have convinced themselves that they cannot be racist, by virtue of being Irish.

Individual cases (like in these comments) are always given as examples, so entire communities can be tarred with the same brush. If one refugee partially pays for a car with a welfare cheque, then the Irish Daily Mail (or disgruntled bloke down the pub) comes out with “Free cars being given to refugees, you couldn’t make it up!” Yes you could, and you did.

• Ah, most of the comments on here just go to prove how ingrained it is in Irish society. Refusing to actually take a look at the problem and providing conjecture and one off incidents as “evidence”.

Ireland, we’re better than this. And we should be considering the amount of problems we’ve experienced outside of this country within living memory.

• Yeah, this attitude of highlighting what’s not genuine in an attempt to dismiss what clearly exists makes me uncomfortable.

• My post above was to highlight the fact that the word racism is used too quickly. Genuine cases of racism are completely undermined by trivial and pointless episodes like the one I recounted in my comment above. If people want to be taken seriously then they should acted seriously, black white, gay, straight, male, female …. It doesn’t matter. The story of the little boy who cried wolf springs to mind…… How can we combat genuine racism when the race card is brandished in our faces everyday?
      I

• The people who are being genuinely discriminated against are probably very frustrated by these individuals too.. and all the more so for the fact that they get more attention and exposure when discrimination is being discussed.

• @ Deirdre, my point exactly! I firmly believe we need to tackle racism but If we are to do so then all groups in society need to TAKE it seriously and not shout the word ‘racist’ anytime they don’t get their way or what they want.

• My point was that people are too quick to hightlight those incidences and not that fact that genuine discrimination exists.

• @ Deirdre, to combat one you can not ignore the other. If racism is to be overcome then all sides must have their say therefore The negatives have to be explored and discussed in order for a solution to be found. Do you not think that people are quick to highlight incidents because they happen all too frequently? As a result GENUINE cases are brushed aside.

If you have taken umbrage with the fact that I recounted an incident I witnessed then you should know that I do not make sweeping statements and run. I was backing up my point that the racism card is used too quickly by giving anecdotal evidence.

• I’m not taking umbrage with you personally. You make very good points. More the fact that, this morning I have seen a disproportionate number of people talking about experiences like yours at the mention of discrimination. These are alongside comments that outright dismiss discrimination in Ireland. Again that’s not to say that yours does.

This to me seems to lend the opportunity for those who wish to believe that it doesn’t exist, or just don’t want to do anything about it, to dismiss it. Just my opinion.

• Ger 14/12/12 #

My sentiments exactly.

“Oh well this one time I was called a racist for [something that clearly wasn't racist] so the whole study was obviously flawed!”

All you need to do is look at some of the stuff written about Praveen Hal… (can’t spell it, sorry), like “In India he wouldn’t even get an inquiry”. I’ve seen and heard comments like that so many times, though they are in a very small minority. Even if it were true (these people are hardly experts on Indian society anyway), what difference would it make? This isn’t India.

• Well put Paul

• @Jane O’Sullivan – Quote “How can we combat genuine racism when the race card is brandished in our faces everyday?”

Really? Every day? Not once in my life has a foreigner accused me of being a racist or using the race card, and as far as i know, none of my friends have either. What a ludicrous exaggeration and bizarre statement!

• @ Malcolm, if that is all you have been able to take from my points then that is quite sad. Just because nobody has said it to you doesn’t mean if doesn’t happen on a daily basis. You have utterly missed the argument I was trying to make. Just take a look at some of the comments posted, quite a few of them mention incidents where people have been accused of being racist over the most trivial of things. The fact that there are so many stories is example enough of the fact that the race card is played FREQUENTLY.

• Paul, how is that different from the ESRI’s survey? People’s perceptions are either important or they aren’t. You can’t have it both ways.

• @Jane – I’ve no doubt the example you gave is real, but that just sounds like a mad woman. If she used the race card on you and the cashier, then what about the overwhelming majority of foreigners or minorities who don’t use the race card? I do not get your argument that these incidents undermine genuine efforts to stamp out racism. How do they? We have decent anti-discrimination legislation in this country meaning someone who has been the victim of racism has rights, irrespective of the actions of those who cry wolf.

I don’t think I utterly missed your argument. You did make a completely exaggerated statement which I quoted verbatim. Racism will never be “overcome”, which is why legislation needs to be in place to protect people against it. The insane ramblings of that Nigerian lady you mentioned should not taken seriously at all, and should have no bearing on those who have genuinely been discriminated against.

• @ Malcom, firstly, this woman DID call me a racist and also the cashier, so there’s no ‘if’ about it. You are correct in saying that not all foreign people behave in this manner and i would add that Irish people can be equally as rude and unreasonable. You quoted me verbatim saying I was using exaggerating language, again perhaps you are right but that is just semantics. The fact of the matter is that people are too quick to accuse others of being racist, I do think that is a valid point to make and I also think it affects genuine cases of racism as people are fed up with what they see as another race trying to get their own way by shouting ‘racist’.

So where do we draw the line? I do not agree with racism but I equally don’t agree with the term being hijacked by those who just simply want to get their own way.

• Fair play, discrimination is a terrible thing and should be stamped out. I don’t know if it should be illegal however, to have and to voice an opinion, no matter how stupid it is.

• I’m curious…. For all of you folks who have commented about Nigerians, how do you know they are Nigerians? Isn’t that assumptive? Am I Nigerian? Not! I am an African-American with African, Irish, American-Indian and French ancestry. I am here in this country and now my home by choice and this does not include welfare.

So folks… Those of you who are rude to me or give me dirty looks before realizing that I am an educated American… Take the chip off your shoulder, respect your selves and this good country and understand this country has a lot to offer. I see it even though you may not.

• The Irish suffered from racism for years and unfortunately acquired a victim mentality In the process . At one time they blamed the British for everything , now they blame the Catholic Church !

• Anotbony, there are many African-Americans in the US that suffer the Vivtim Mentality. This attitude often causes trouble for the individual and others with whom they interact. Yes, for over 200 years Africans and African-Americans have been treated unfairly. But we can say that women, people with special needs, gays and like suffer the same indignities and disadvantages in the US.
      It is not fair and will never be. This is not to say to become complacent and accept and complain.

But better… Many Irish should take the advice of my father… Get over it and do something about it. If more folks took my dad’s advice.. I believe fewer people in America and Ireland on long term welfare.

Thus stop being the victim.

• Jimmy 14/12/12 #

What did the black guy do with his M&Ms? Eat them

What did they white guy try and do with his? Put them in alphabetical order

Add New Comment