TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Dog hacked to death with axe on Valentine’s Day

North Wexford SPCA said it was one of the “most brutal” cases of violence against an animal the group has seen.

File photo
File photo
Image: Dog image via Shutterstock

AN ANIMAL WELFARE group has called for action following the death of a terrier dog who was hacked to death with an axe by its owner at a property in Wexford on Valentine’s Day. The man later told inspectors that he was trying to put the dog down.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Colin Webb, Chairman of North Wexford SPCA said the organisation got a call on its emergency hotline on 14 February to a housing estate where they were told a dog was being attacked.

A female inspector, dropped by on her way from another call where Webb said the man made violent threats against her. The gardaí were called to the scene and negotiated with the owner for the dog to be taken away.

“It was still breathing at that point, only slightly though, and we knew he was practically dead at that stage,” Webb said. The dog was taken to the local veterinary clinic but died in the car on the way.

“We haven’t got the full report yet but the initial inspection shows the dog had a fractured skull, punctured ribs, multiple broken bones and a broken skull,” Webb said. “You can see from the photos we took that the axe went right into the dog’s head.”

Images seen by TheJournal.ie are too graphic to publish but they show serious slashes to the dog’s head and face as well as a number of puncture wounds.

Webb said this is one of the worst and “most brutal” cases of violence against an animal he has ever seen. “In terms of hostility against inspectors it’s the most serious threat we’ve seen as well, she was very shocked by it,” he said.

The owner of the dog told inspectors that he was trying to put it down but Webb said any unwanted dog can be surrendered to the local dog warden “without any hassle”, and when that option is available, it is “incomprehensible as why this pet owner felt this was an appropriate action”.

The incident was reported to gardaí and Webb said they are investigating the incident. “We want to see a prosecution on this,” he said. “We’re hoping that gardaí will secure a successful prosecution – the gardaí here are very good to us and they take these matters seriously. But we’ve been to court before and the cases have gone nowhere – it’s just so hard to get a conviction.”

Webb said the animal welfare group is “not confident” of a conviction and that they are frequently “frustrated with the law” around animal cruelty.

Read: Animal rights groups condemn ‘brutal attack’ on fox in Laois>
IN PICTURES: Taylor the puppy settling into his forever home after cruel ordeal>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (129 Comments)

• It is hard to be shocked anymore in this country but stories like this remind us how incredibly cruel an animal mankind is. Hopefully this animal is put behind bars.

• Name and shame him!! Evil man

• There are two tragic items on this news piece :
    1. A innocent dog hacked to death
    2. An SPCA admitting that it is so hard to get a conviction for animal cruelty in this country ….. Says it all for the so called Animal Welfare laws in this country.

This man should be imprisoned for what he did to this defenceless animal but I won’t hold my breath !!!!!!

• Why, why,why are convictions difficult to obtain????? Is it the Judiciary, the legal system, what? If this Pyscopath did this to an innocent animal, what would he do to his wife/ children/neighbour if they irritated him. He is a danger to society.

• I agree with you, Fiona. It is disgraceful if such a vile deed goes unpunished.
      There is well documented evidence that a person capable of this sort of sadistic cruelty to an aniaml is equally capable of doing the same to another person. Many brutal and violent crims have abused animals too.

• @ Fiona . What are animal cruelty convictions so hard to get ? Because successive governments have failed in their duty of care to the abandoned animals of this state . We are still working from Animal Welfare Laws going back to 1911 . And don’t think the new bill that has still to pass through the Dail will make any difference . It offers very little if not any extra protection to our animals . Shame on us as a nation !!!!

• “Trying to put it down”?!

Was it a ZOMBIE dog, perchance!? No? The go direct to jail and rot, you despicable excuse for a human being…

• why has the perpetrator not been named? if he’d attacked a human we’d know exactly who he is

• Disgusting, no living creature deserves to be treated like that. I hope that justice is done for that poor dog.

• Jesus this is so horrible! how could anyone do this to an innocent little dog!!

• I seen the images of this poor dog and I can’t even put into words how shocking it was I’m glad they have not been posted here.
    I was very upset I cannot understand how anyone could inflict this level of cruelty to any animal
    When are the laws going to change
    It’s dreadful
    And if this man ( if that’s what you could call him ) will do this to a defenseless animal well I’m sure he would to another human

• OMG that poor dog suffered long enough for someone to call the hotline and for the gardai to arrive. This makes me so sad and angry that people can treat animals this way and not be punished. What’s to stop that maniac getting another poor dog. He should be named, shamed and convicted.

• What a disgusting person. The journal won’t let me post what I really want to Describe this guy as. (Abusive filter thingy). The guy who did that Is nothing but a waste of skin who should be drowned in a sack. What a waste of life. Give me five minutes alone with him. Lets see how long he lasts!

• Take him round the back and smash him to pieces.

• SL 20/02/13 #

“We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals.” Immanuel Kant

• Writing this as I fend a kitten and a puppy of my lunch. The kittens twin has just peed in the corner of the utility (toilet training – very hit and miss) and the puppy’s mother is snoring gently at my feet.
    Even though its a pain trying to fend the bite in my mouth from the claws and pays, and I’ve to go off and disinfect the utility floor and show the kitten where the blinking litter tray is (again), I just do not understand how you can do something like this to a helpless creature.
    Utterly incomprehensible.

• Animal Welfare in this country is so far down the list it has dropped off completely. There is no excuse for this and the man who did this should be jailed – but he wont – he probably wont even get a conviction. We are a disgrace as a country the way we allow animals to be treated.

• So cruel ,ya know it just shows how some people can be so disconnected from compassion .Life is all
    about learning lessons ,I guess this guy has’nt learned any in this one .

• Sick excuse for a human being,obviously mentally ill and only when he harms a human being will he be dealt with,Animal welfare laws need to be revised and fast as we are seen in a very poor light by the rest of the world when it comes to animal welfare .Gandhi said ‘we can judge the morality of a nation by how we treat our animals’ doers not say much for Ireland does it.

• I’m guessing some judge will fine him 50 Euro and his lawyer will argue that he is hoping to go to America and a criminal record will prevent him for entry. The Judge will let him off with a warning and wish him good luck in the US.

• I hope he gets locked up and subjected to the same treatment he visited upon this defenceless animal – evil b@stard

• Any person guilty of a crime like this deserves 2 weeks in the electric chair.

• An axe? Sounds more like he wanted to inflict pain then just put the poor dog down. If not then someone should remind him what century this is and that there are more humane methods available. Evil.

• Such a person is surely a vile, despicable piece of filth. May bad luck follow him for the rest of his days.

• Horiffic! Surely he must get jail time, i’m sure the inmates will finish him inside!

• It makes my heart hurt to read this !

• This is sickening, to actually do something like this to a living animal who cant defend itself is disgusting. The cruelty of some humans is really uncomprehendable. Sentencing for such crimes should also be much more severe….what a terribly cruel and cowardly act.

• This is horrific, that person should be named and shamed. I couldn’t even read all of the article it was too sad.

• Rotten Person! Putting it lightly

• The images are too graphic to publish! That’s the problem and the reason IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN AND AGAIN!

The images shouldn’t be too graphic to publish, The images of what this man has done should be displayed along with who he is and a picture of himself.

Let the public know what and who this type of person is.

If anyone wants to leak the pictures to me I’ll do it

• I recall the saying, “Publish, and be damned” A picture is worth a thousand words. One carefully chosen image would not be wrong or gratuitous and should be considered appropriate in the context of this article.
      Also remember this worthy maxim, “Opinion is free, facts are sacred” Show the facts.

• I seen the images on north Wexford society for the prevention of cruelty to animals Facebook page

I’m not sure if the images are still there

• So because the journal dont want to upset people by putting up pictures of a hacked dog it means someone will do it again. If your so eager to see them then just google it. But what a silly comment. But I havent seen them and im glad they wont show them which doesnt mean im going to go down and hack my dog

• That’s not how i meant it Phillip, I wasn’t having a go at the Journal, I meant they should be published somewhere with the picture of the attacker as a deterrent and letting people know what this person is like.

And you cant find them on google, well i couldn’t after you mentioned it

• I agree. Animal cruelty practises (even when the culprits don’t see such activities as cruel) shoud be exposed fully and comprehensively. Then maybe this horrific ill-treatment will be stamped out or at least curtailed.

• @John Fitzgerald
      Do you really mean that someone who takes an axe to a dog does not know what he is doing is cruel? This is a black and white issue.

• Only one option name and shame the person for everyone to know who they are

• It’s issues like this only confirm my belief that we were the wrong species to inherit the Earth. What sickens me more is that the demented lunatic who did this will only get a ‘slap on the wrist’ fine or at worst a short suspended sentence.

• The animal welfare legislation in this country is outdated and gives Gardai or ispca inspectors very little power. It’s a total joke but I would really love to see this savage get jail for this.

• Hang on. This sicko took an axe to a dog. He broke the Protection of Animals Act. It’s a criminal offence. The Gardai can deal with it as a result. The only variable here is whether we fund the Gardai enough to have the manhours to do so and if the Judge who hears the case will give an appropriate sentence – and neither of those things will be fixed by changing the law.

(And the ICPSA is an NGO, the law shouldn’t give them any powers because they have no duties under that law – powers are extended to state officials. And I say that as someone who has a lot of time for the ICPSA).

• Then why wasn’t this piece of filth arrested on the spot and hauled off as he so richly deserves?

• I don’t know Conor – I’d ask the Gardai.
      Given how severely we’ve cut their available manhours and how many stations we’re closing and how much work we’re overloading them with though, I think the problem might be obvious and depressingly economic in nature.
      But my point wasn’t to say there’s no problem; it was to say that the problem was not the law, but how it’s implemented. The law is fine. Wasting time on writing a new law wouldn’t help because the Gardai wouldn’t have the manhours to enforce that new law properly either.

• Mark, you obviously don’t have enough time for the ISPCA since you repeatedly call them the “ICPSA”

• Just a typo Stephen (though I have a lot of time for the ICPSA too since I know a few of the people in it).

• I don’t understand why the owner can’t be named/photographed? Surely he would be considered a danger to society? There is obviously no doubt this guy is guilty, so why does he have the luxury of privacy? I’m so depressed by this story.

• Hope this guy is punished severely! How can one be so cruel? What a disgusting act. That poor dog! :(

• stephen 20/02/13 #

Depressing …I know there are a lot of good people knocking about , but overall I think it’s about time humankind was made extinct.

• Hope this guy is punished severely! How can one be so cruel? What a disgusting act. That poor dog! :(

• Cruelty is everywhere Darren, but compassion for animals everywhere too. For every person who does something like that to an animal there are decent people who do their utmost to alleviate the suffering of animals.

• This disgusts me but there appear to be very few convictions to any forms of animal cruelty in Ireland and we’re the only country in Europe who still permit fox hunting and one of the few were coarsing is legal. Anyone who does get prosecuted are let off with a slap on the wrist. Remember the kangaroo that was brought into the disco last year, was that even investigated?

• There needs to be public pressure on the gardai to successfully prosecute this evil monster and set down a standard in Ireland which is completely intolerant to animal cruelty!! I’d have him in solitary confinement for the rest of his days if I could

• Note to General Public

I don’t think it’s fair that worthy topics like this one are being hijacked by activist groups.

• So do you agree with this act of animal cruelty?

Personally I think an attack on a dog is the same as an attack on a human

• Wow I just read some of the posts left on the Animal Liberation website… I had no idea they were so active here. I all for animal rights but releasing mink into the countryside has a massive negative impact on our native fauna.

• Isn’t it a grand little country we live in.

• Dam right stephen, I’d gladly join in!

• John, tell us what is false so we can make up our own minds.

• What amazes me is the ignorance of the obvious- anyone who would consider hacking their dog to death as a rational means to euthanasia is clearly not rational, and likely very capable of violence in many ways.

• Take a run and jump Noel. I think Stephen’s attitude is spot on. The guy who did this to that poor dog deserves to have some vigilante justice visited upon him. You are just a coward who will find every excuse in the book to let the gutter slime of our society get away with whatever they want. You fu*cking disgust me.

• Obviously a very sick individual with some deep routed mental problem. Fair played to the authorities but this is more than likely just one of many abusive cases against defenceless animals and it’s the unreported cases that are of real concern..

• Judges are hard set to put child abusers and rapist in prison so what hope for this case against an animal, judges are far to removed from reality the punishment should be decided by the Ispca

• So who is this person, Michelle?

• Nothing will come of this. The gardai are not interested in animal cruelty. This is a shocking incident and the guy should be locked up. But he wont be…

• MrKnow 20/02/13 #

Because this act of cruelty was so violent i think that this guy should be made an example of, if they let this go they have failed miserably. Why in this country is something like that allowed to slide without punishment? We get jailed for not paying a tv licence but you can hack a dog up with a axe and nothing! its a joke. I hope people push for this to be the last straw on animal cruelty and make an example out of this piece of s#%t! Please have a heart and jail this sick bast%#d.

• Hopefully the perpetrator will be found and brought to justice. It is sad that some people feel a need to cause horrific suffering to animals, whether for fun, “sport”, or just to vent frustration. We should remember that animals have a nervous system not terribly different from our own. People must band together to combat this kind of cruelty.

• Cut the bast@@d nuts off

• There in lies the problem, if one doesn’t pay their TV licence they will get 7 days in jail but this inhumane person hacks a dog to death and won’t be punished. It’s time the judiciary got tough with cruel evil people.

• I read this earlier on today an I was filled with such anger at that fuker, now I read it again and I’m nearly in tears thinking of what that poor dog must have felt. It’s beyond belief. Can we start a protest r something if he gets away wit it?? I’m not sure what to do

• I feel sick reading this. I really do. Some people just don’t seem to have respect for animals. My cat was poisoned. It’s murdering animals which is just sick. It’s extreme cruelty.

• I as an animal lover believe if you have no respect for animals, you have no respect for humans either.

• Mark Dennehy…My post speaks for itself. I oppose an act of animal cruelty whether it is one that is illegal or one permitted by law. As for bloodsports, I am entitled to oppose them, whether are the banned ones or the ones awaiting abolition. And the ISPCA incidentally, (an organization you appear to admire) also rightly opposes bloodsports and indeed warmly welcomed the ban on carted stag hunting, an horrific bloodsport banned in 2010.

• Hi John, who claims not to be with the Hunt Saboteurs,
      There’s no law saying you can’t oppose fieldsports. The intellectual dishonesty you apply in constantly hijacking any topic to badmouth people in outlandish ways however, does have an entire Act (the Defamation Act) opposed to it.

And the ICPSA do actual work with animals. Anyone who shovels the poop I can happily have a civil disagreement with and respect their views. The ICPSA don’t bully people, don’t ally themselves with criminals like the vandals in the ALF, they don’t commit criminal acts, they don’t get arrested by the Gardai and they don’t have criminal records. Animal rights extremists, on the other hand, have an awful tendency to have all of those things.

• John fitz, I don’t know anything about u but I’m in 100 percent agreement wit u, spot on .

• May hell rise up to meet this sick filthy piece of shit!

• The NWspca are an organisation that was put together by members of the community and more recently were given the use of a small premises by a local vet. They are all complete volunteers and selflessly give up their own time for fundraising, making rotas for dog walking, feeding, fostering in their own homes etc not to mention dropping everything at the last minute for emergencies. These people work their back sides off for nothing in return purely in an effort to save and or rehome (for whatever reason) as many animals as is possible. I know this as I know a lot of the volunteers. They should be highly commended for the rescue attempt at this awful crime committed to this poor dog. There was absolutely no need for this to happen, as stated by NWspca, it would have been much more humane to “surrender” the poor dog. These volunteers are coming across more and more horrific incidences, this I think, being the worst, it’s time for this country to do something about it . It is out of control and what next? A volunteer was in serious danger a dog hacked to death but yet they may not even get a conviction! Support your local animal shelter as best you can, they do amazing work! Well done NWspca

• Completely in shock. Can’t believe this story. Hanging too good for that guy. That poor dog. The pain and confusion it must have experienced.

• MrKnow 20/02/13 #

p.s, i hope this guy gets thrown into a pit of dogs that rip him to pieces. Then we will take him out when he is just about dead and that’s when I’ll cover him with salt and lemon juice, set fire to him and laugh as i exit. Anyone want to join me?

• Anyone who’d hack a human to death for this is much worse and just looking for a “moral” excuse to be homicidal ultra violent.

Just torture him. Dip his hand in blood and let a wolf go at it for an hour. Lesson learned. Rinse and repeat if he does it again.

• I hope the c@@t dies a horrible slow painful death because if I know someone who had done that they would certainly get what’s coming to them !!!

• This sort of cruelty says a lot about our society. We need to establish the causes of this sickness in our national psyche and deal with it.
    In the meantime the bxxxard who did this should do time!

• Mark Dennehy…ah. Mark, the act WAS illegal, in case you didn’t notice, and the gardai are investigating. However I would be equally opposed to an act of cruelty if it were one permitted by law. I think that is a reasonable view?

• If I caught the bastard I would cut his fuking legs off!

• The dog in queastion was only a pup,i feel sorry for the people who have to live near him,the photo is still on face book,poor little thing,he was probadly abusing it for a long time and decided to finish it of that day.

• Vile person, violence towards animals is a trait found in many serial killers. This person should be put behind bars.

• Would you really? You’d love to hack another human to pieces? That’s disturbing. And I thought the dog hacker was bad. You’re much worse.

• Neil 21/02/13 #

If the criminal legislation is not able to punish this man severely enough then he should be detained indefinitely under the Mental Health Act. The man is clearly mentally unstable and represents a threat to society.

• Sounds like a great idea Mr know. Count me in. He deserves it the dirty bastar.

• jamie 20/02/13 #

Like it or not there is a double standard when people call for “animal rights” and then go back to their bacon fry up. Pigs are as intelligent as dogs and cats, yet we breed them to slaughter them. I’m saying this as a meat eater……

• John Burke…circulars from animal protection groups are sent worldwide, and copied and passed along to groups everywhere. I am not an “extremist”. I believe in legal and peaceful campaigning and anyone claiming otherwise is defaming me. Simple as that.

• So you will publicly condem actions by Dublin Hunt Sabs associating with known criminals and loyalist terrorists?
      You will publicly condem all fire bomb actions past and present by
      Animal liberation Front and the Justice Dept?? And any form of illegal actions???

Funny then that your website is plasterd full of illegal action newspaper clippings of animal rights terrorist actions in Ireland.
      http://www.directactionireland.com/

• While blood sports are not something I would choose to participate in…the people who do participate in them aren’t all bad. They certainly are not comparable to some of the disgusting people involved in various extremely bad animal welfare cases over the years.

The real problem in our country is that it is too easy for people to get pets that they will not look after. Especially dogs. Dogs can be dangerous if not trained properly and can cause serious road accidents if they are allowed wander. There are too many people that think a dog will be great way to entertain the kids but they never think of all the walking, picking up shite and feeding that is involved.

• Mark Dennehy again…there is no “intellectual dishonesty” in stating that I oppose an act of animal cruelty whether that act is illegal or permitted by law. For example, if I condemned carted stag hunting (an activity proven to be cruel to animals) right now, nobody would bat an eyelid. But if I had condemed it prior to the Summer of 2010, when it was still legal, I would, by your logic, have been “badmouthing” a decent bunch of lovely fieldsports folk.

• Can’t stop thinking about the poor little dog, am heartbroken. Hope the evil bastard gets a long stretch in jail :(

• What a sick animal how can it (the one wielding the axe) not be convicted and put down? Is this what we have come accept? Hope when he goes its on pain too.

• It’s remarkable..!!
    This guy must have zero empathy and no compassion whatsoever.
    He’s quite probably a potential danger to society…

• I can’t believe people are giving some comments thumbs down. Shameful

• What a piece of sh*t

• Well said John

• Surely with enough pressure from the public,8 something can be done to ensure that this vile excuse for a man is punished? I mean, he’s clearly a threat to society? Why is still allowed to walk among the rest of us?

• Neil 21/02/13 #

someone should leak the name and address of the man in question.

• John, are you accusing someone of an illegal act in public without proof?

Add New Comment