TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

VIDEO, PHOTOS: Eamon Gilmore’s car egged by protesters in Dublin

One man was arrested when the car carrying Eamon Gilmore and Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald was forced to turn back after an Éirígí protest over cuts to child benefit.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A CAR CARRYING Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore was egged and forced to turn back from an event during a protest in Dublin this morning.

Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald was also in the car which was travelling to the launch of Unicef Ireland’s campaign for the children’s rights referendum.

The incident happened outside The Base youth club on Blackditch Road in Ballyfermot.

Members of Éirigí held the protest outside the event calling on the government not to cut child benefit. Éirígi councillor Louise Minihan said that protesters wanted to get the message across to the Ministers that they were not welcome.

“We organised the protest as part of our Hands Off Our Children’s Allowance campaign but other people were there too who wanted to give Eamon Gilmore a piece of their mind,” Minihan told TheJournal.ie.

“One person works in home care and has had her hours cut, other people have had cuts in their wages while others are struggling to pay their mortgages”, she said.

“When the car pulled in a few eggs were thrown, there were some slogan chanted, so they left”.

The Ministers were forced to turn away from the event and did not attend the launch of the Unicef campaign.

A 28-year-old man was arrested at the scene and is scheduled to appear in court this afternoon charged in relation to the incident.

Minihan said that the protest had been intended to show the Ministers how cuts were affecting people.

“These people don’t seem to live in the real world,” she said. “They make these cuts and they’ve no idea of the heartache they cause for people who are struggling. Put simply, they can’t go ahead with these cuts when people can’t afford to put food on the table and then expect to be welcomed”.

(Warning: video contains strong language)

(Video: justinjustinjusti/YouTube)

Labour TD Michael Conaghan who was at the launch said that the event still went ahead without the Ministers.

“The people who tried to disrupt today’s event do not represent Ballyfermot,” said the Dublin South Central TD. “Their thuggish actions should be roundly condemned”.

Louise Minihan spent seven days in Mountjoy jail earlier this year for refusing to pay a €1,500 court fine after she threw red paint over then-Minister for Health Mary Harney.

Eamon Gilmore protests

Eamon Gilmore protestsEamon Gilmore protestsEamon Gilmore protests

Eamon Gilmore protests

(All images: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland)

Pic: Enda Kenny is on the cover of TIME magazine this week >

Read: ‘No ministerial involvement’ in selecting primary care sites – Gilmore >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (197 Comments)

• At one time i would have been shocked, but i think people are just fed up and feeling voiceless, …..

• Waste of egg

• We can all moan and complain about the protestors here, condemning them etc, but this country has been warned for four years now that it is going to get messy if they continue putting foreign interests ahead of their citizens, today should come as no surprise and it is only worse it will get.

• I would have thought however, that a socialist group would be in favour of means testing child benefit, surely giving more to needy and less to well off is a simple enough concept to understand and sits well within the ideals of a “socialist”. Don’t understand their point tbh but more than get their wider anger!

• @ Diarmaid: They are just thugs using the possible changes to child benefit as a cover for their thuggish behaviour.

• To be fair there is a group of them there that probably are but I would be afraid that because of the actions of a few that all protestors will suddenly get labelled the same which will be wrong and also a handy line for the government to use as well.

• @Ryan – I wouldn’t regard myself as socialist but would certainly agree that the gap between the haves and have nots continuing to grow is simply unfair. This government has done a great job of making sure that the middle class pay for the majority of costs in this country. The rich are left alone and the most vulnerable deserve to be protected.

Statements like yours are simply an attempt to brush off ideas that you don’t agree with. Stating your opinion as fact doesn’t make it any stronger than just your opinion.

• Don’t give us this bullshit labelling them as thugs. Its convenient do discriminate. They had courage to protest and tell this useless Minister to get out. Its a free country. They have a right to do it. Calling a group of people that are protesting thugs, is just class discrimination.

• It’s not anything to do with class. If they were upper-class rich kids throwing Marks and Spencer’s free range organic eggs at people they’d still be thugs.

• A “hands off our children’s allowance’ protest and people can be heard shouting, “We don’t want your money”. really!??

• The irony of this republican group being represented by a “gentleman” in a Liverpool FC hi vis.. :)

• Lfc on the viz vest lmao……

• Airy Gee and their tricolours and Brit team shirts. Bunch of clowns!

• bren 05/10/12 #

I missed the bit where they told him ““We organised the protest as part of our Hands Off Our Children’s Allowance campaign but other people were there too who wanted to give Eamon Gilmore a piece of their mind… One person works in home care and has had her hours cut, other people have had cuts in their wages while others are struggling to pay their mortgages”.

All valid points, but he didn’t hear any of them.

• That`s nothing wait until after next budget people not going to take anymore,Taking cuts all the time to pay off bond holders and gangster bankers.

• With respect, that’s what was said about the last budget and the bond holder payouts. “…people won’t take it anymore…” nothing has happened, its just rolled on regardless of public outrage

• Reg 05/10/12 #

Éirígi, what a bunch of wasters.

• It wasn’t to long ago that happy Gilmore would have been out leading a protest like this shame on all of labour for standing over this

• For once I don’t condone that Eirigi crowd for protesting against the ministers today . Gilmore is an absolute disgrace to the morals and ideals of the Labour Party. He’s a spineless , sneaky person. He wouldn’t even defend Roisin Shortall for fear of upsetting the coalition.

• The panicked head on the Gard in the photo. You’d swear the protestors were after throwing a grenade at the car.

• Ah here leave it out!!

• I wonder if all the ‘charities and children are above politics’ types are aware that the new head of UNICEF, who invited Gilmore & co. along to this launch of a campaign supporting government policy, is none other than former Fianna Fail Minister, Peter Power http://www.unicef.ie/NewsMedia/UNICEF-Ireland-Appoints-Peter-Power-as-Executive-Director-72-281.aspx

How ironic that a man booted out of office at the last election for his role in destroying the futures of the next few generations of Irish children is now heading up a charity promoting children’s rights and using that position to back cuts in child benefit that FF would have introduced itself if it had got the chance.

When asked last year how much its CEO gets paid, UNICEF refused to divulge the information saying it was confidential, but in line with other international charities – i.e. €100k+ http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfgbidgbqlgb/rss2/

Remember that Power will also be entitled to a fat ministerial/TD pension to compensate him for all his hard work squandering the boom and running the country into the ground. No wonder he has no problem with child benefit being cut.

• At least their out protesting unlike the all talk no action people,!!!!!

• I thought Eirigi hated Britain? Why do they wear Liverpool FC jackets?

• Because as members of Eirigi, logic has never entered the equation.

• A political group called the National Socialist Workers Party (better known as the Nazi party) exploited the political and financial turmoil in Germany during the 1930s. I do not need to repeat the chaos, killing and destruction that they eventually visited upon the continent. This group has a similar sinister agenda on a smaller scale and they are pursuing power by exploiting the turmoil in our country today. As bad and all as things are in this country do we really want to repeat the failed socialist experiment that these people propose. I have read some of their policy papers and as far as new ideas go they are empty. There is of course there policy of lets blame the Brits for everything, it’s all their fault. Hang on, that rings a bell, did the Nazi party not have a similar policy of blaming a particular group for the ills of Germany.
      This group is a sinister front for a sinister organisation we all know who they are. They will shove their warped nationalist political philosophy down our throats and if you do not dance to their tune well then you can always be sent to the camps for re-education

• This is just a list of the more senior of the highly educated Einsatzgruppen commanders, all of them were committed National Socialists. I am just reinforcing my point that education does not make your actions more legitimate.
      Éirígí constantly make the point about how many MA and PhD holders they have.
      SS-Brigadeführer Dr.Franz Walter Stahlecker KIA 1942
      SS-Gruppenführer Dr. Otto Rasch died Nuremberg 1946
      SS-Gruppenführer Prof. Otto Ohlendorf convicted and executed for war crimes 1951
      SS-Standartenführer Dr. Franz Six sentenced to 20 years for war crimes in 1948 released in 1952 for co-operating

• Maybe you should ask them why.

• About time we started to fight back and stand up for our rights…

• A minister with a garda driver and body guard and a couple of guards keeping the crowd back….on the day the government reject a proposition for harsher sentences for those who assault emergency services.

If someone attacked the minister you can be sure they’d be prosecuted to the full. Yet someone decks one of those guards doing their days work protecting others and all of a sudden the dpp drop the charges. Even if it go to court there’d just be probation act/small fine/ ?1/week damages to the guard or a suspended sentence…..nice eh?

• He’s gone up the back, he’s gone up the back!! I wonder if they caught up with them.

• All You see on The Journal week in week out are people calling for everyone to make a stand against this government. This group of people have, and are now being slated for it! I don’t agree with or support Éirígí but at least they’re doing something !

• Fair play to the protestors.

But you know in gilmores mind he’s merely being victimised for having to make the tough decisions

• This video just keeps giving. Scared Gardaí, LFC High Viz jackets and Bob Marley at the ready for the victorious moment!

• Protesters should be ashamed of themselves,

I’m not saying they can’t protest, they can but not at the expense of Unicef and the people that put in alot of hard work for Unicef as a organization.,

• Barry 05/10/12 #

Curious on the red thumbs, do you think its ok for protesters to do what they want the result of which have a negative affect on a charity. Whats next they affects Barretstown?

• I didn’t even know this event was going on so thanks to the protests I do now.

I don’t think this was at any expense at all to Unicef nor an insult to their work either. In fairness, their brief is children and these two were showing up for a photo opportunity while pushing out the idea of a cut to child allowance.

Politicians should be going nowhere without an umbrella these days.

• Charities are not saintly institutions above political debate and criticism. UNICEF is a member of the Children’s Rights Alliance, which came out in favour of cutting child benefit and introducing a two-tier system earlier in the week. A few days later UNICEF is bigging up the government for being progressive on children’s rights by launching a puff campaign in favour of the referendum, which is overwhelmingly likely to be passed without them wasting money on a PR campaign for it. Irish NGOs have behaved disgracefully on the issue of child benefit, backing cuts that will damage he actual realisation of children’s right while praising the government for giving children rights on paper. The whole referendum is a smokescreen for the actual attacks on children’s rights coming in the budget.

• They’d already targeted a children’s charity recently enough. The Jack and Jill foundation.

• Leigh – Eirigi feel they were inaccurately misrepresented in the J&J situation. So far as I can figure out they were asking J&J to reformat or pull out of a K Club event to which the British Army were invited. They seemed to be of the opinion that the British Army wouldn’t be the best partners to be involved with for a childrens’ charity.

I’ve made this point a few times in this thread so I would like to make clear that I have no affiliation with and do not support Eirigi in any way but I am interested in both sides of the story and I’d say there is a lot more appetite for criticising Eirigi than hearing anything they might have to say back.

• Tomy – They can fee that they were misrepresented all they want. They’re using a fundraising event for sick children to push their own political agenda. The ‘Brits out of Kildare’ posters and their own protests at the Queen’s visit should prove that. Personally I’d be more concerned about any Eirigi ‘support’ for Jack and Jill than that of the British army.

• Leigh, aren’t the ministers using the charity for publicity too???

• @tomy iona well said.i also like to hear both sides of the story as i know how manipulative the media can be & i read about the j&j protest from the eirigi website.people believe so much bs the media tell them without looking at the other side of the story.

• Phil – Undoubtedly, however I imagine they were invited by the charity.

• Gavin – exactly. We need to stop getting our news from sources like TheJournal.ie and start getting it from bastions of unbiased information like eirigi.org.

• Complete thugs. Why don’t they protest at Leinster house. Targeting a UNICEF event is low by anyone’s standards. Having listened to some of these guys on the radio they only seem concerned about cuts to benefits. I wonder how many of them were on being its when jobs were plentiful. Anyone who thinks child benefit should be handed out to rich and poor alike will never have the best interest of this country or the poor at heart

• took a while for them to scramble. don’t agree with the name calling but they are making a stand. more than most in the country we are a nation of arm chair moaners.

• Out out out reminds me of a scene from the general then the man with the hood up made me laugh

• Well done Ballyer!

• Dont agree with eirigis policies or practices but fair play to them! At least they are doing what everyone else wants to do…. Get your point across!!

• Thats what happens when you isolate people and treat them like shit and cut their services. Its his own fault.

• Totally agree its a long time coming and I’m surprised it was only a few eggs, there’s people on here, actually there’s sheep on here that do nothing but moan about our situation and that’s all they will ever do, moan.
      Although violence is wrong there’s only so much some people can genuinely take. There comes a point when enough is enough.
      I’d never have said this a few years ago, I’m not a violent person, but the government of this country deserves everything they get.

• JakkiB 05/10/12 #

so what have you done Barry in form of protest at the current situation in this Country?? Or maybe you are happy with things, These protesters are doing nothing compared to what the Government are doing to the people!!

• Bunch o’ good fer nuthin’ troublemakers

• Yep, Gilmore and Fitzgerald certainly are that.

• Fair play it was a
      Peaceful protest over more cut back thanks to te government giving €18 billion to bondhders this year

• @dan – As much as I don’t agree with the ‘beliefs’ as such of Eirigi and the likes, I do believe that they were well within their rights to put Gilmore in his place. Pity he wasn’t on foot. That would have made it all the better to watch for 2 reasons..
      The first been to see him get egg in his face at last and secondly, to stop me from vomiting with disgust in seeing him been chauffeured about in a state car.
      Shame on him – but also shame on the Eirigi guy waving a placard and tri-colour whilst sporting one of ‘Englands most famous football teams..LFC – Traitors the lot of them!

• Barry 05/10/12 #

Boy Russell, pity he wasn’t on foot?

Why?, because they would have actually attacked him? Since when is such activity ok? Since when did Eirigi have the right to be judge and jury and decided if its ok for somebody to be assaulted?

We have laws in this country and a justice system, Eirigi do not have the rights to decide how anybody should be treated. If they believe somebody has done something illegal then let them pursue the matter through the justice system.

I’m not defending any decision by FG, but its very important to remember that we have laws in this country and they should be followed. Its not upto a bunch of loud month protesters to assault somebody and think its ok and think they can get away with it.

• Yep, protest the protesters because everything is GRAND.

• @Dave Ball * Boy Russell

No type of violence is acceptable. This was a violent attack on two human beings. I hate violence and most of all I hate bullys. These individuals cornered the people in the car. We can demonstrate peacefully and get out point across without being violent.

Dave, it was far from ‘peaceful’. It’s as bad as when that silly woman threw red paint on Mary Harney. I don’t have time for many politicians. I too get angry and want to slap aherne, harney, most of the F Fail asses, I don’t like Kenny or Gilmore either but I certainly would not corner and bully them the way these individuals did today.

• @Barry – Well you’re either up for the job or you’re not! Gilmore and the likes know what it’s like at this stage and indeed before they decided to enter themselves for election – Afterall when they (Labour/Fianna Gael) were in opposition, they were all out and against Fianna Fáil with great anger – didn’t Pat the fat Rabbite just about beat up Deputy Carey (FF) on live TV pre election!? So yes, what’s good for the goose and all that…
      I don’t support FF, FG,SF nor Labour, so I’m a slight neutral here, but still a citizen who’s annoyed and frustrated!!
      Pigs the lot of ‘em!
      Go up around Merrion row at lunchtime someday and watch the fat cats walking out’ve the shelbourne hotel and other fancy rests.
      A disgrace!

• Nothing says don’t knock me down in the dark quite like an LFC High Vis Vest. if he gets the matching Stevie G ear muffs, that man is bomb proof for the winter….

• Elmo 05/10/12 #

A few weeks ago the government was going to cut carer’s allowances and other such things for disabled people. They got together, they made their signs, they protested outside the Dáil and they got lots of publicity, got their points heard and did it without resorting to attacking cars, using other organisations events to get free publicity, shouting abuse at ministers or anyone getting arrested.
    I’m all for people making a stand if they fell it’s necessary to do so, and as a lot of people have said far too many sit in their arm chairs complaining to anyone who will listen and do nothing real about it, but these people went about it in a stupid and unnecessary way and for that reason I have no time for them and no respect.

• What a disgrace that once again the republican movement are dirtying the tri-colour, AGAIN! The rest of us can’t use the flag then without being associated with that shower! Surprised to see Liverpool FC getting involved in matters of the Irish State!

• Elmo 05/10/12 #

Hijacking a Unicef event to launch a campaign to improve children’s rights and have their voices heard just undermines anything they’re trying to achieve. They need a new campaign manager or PR guy. Idiots.

• Eh, no. The event went ahead with no problems. The point was to prevent Gilmore and Fitzgerald getting their cynical photo opp. when they are preparing to cut funding for children in a number of areas.

• Eirigi are a bunch of waster trouble makers.
      Read the founder of the Jack and Jill foundation’s comments on how eirigi have subjected his children’s charity to vile and abusive attacks
      They are the lowest of the low and I have no doubt these people wouldn’t work on batteries. They contribute nothing to our society and should be condemned at every opportunity.

• Elmo 05/10/12 #

It may have gone ahead but they still used the event to stage their own protest. The upcoming referendum is a very important one for children and if they gave a stuff about it they would have left them to get on with it today and taken some other opportunity to make their point. Seems they care about children’s allowance but not children.

• In the interest of some balance I’ve posted the following to your earlier mention of the eirigi and Jack & Jill foundation:

In relation to Eirigi and the Jack & Jill foundation – I’d never heard of it but did find this as part of a reaction to the accusation they were targeting the foundation:
      “It is therefore as supporters of the Jack and Jill Foundation that éirígí has raised serious concerns about the appearance of the British Army at a fundraising event for the charity. It is simply not acceptable for an Irish children’s charity to use the British Army, who have been responsible for the deaths of countless children in Ireland, Iraq and Afghanistan, to raise funds for its operations. It is distasteful, offensive and divisive. Over the last forty years dozens of children have been killed by Britain’s force in Ireland and yet not one soldier or RUC member has been brought before the courts in relation to their murders.”

• There’s no balance there tomy. One quick google search will reveal the type of abuse that eirigi have subjected a children’s brain cancer charity to.
      The fact you condone this says a lot about you.
      I really truly hope you never need their services.
      Don’t bother replying to this. I’m done with you.

• Condone?

What about the post condones it? I’m sorry you see it that way.

• I’ll try again since my last comment didn’t pass the screening.

“Minihan said that the protest had been intended to show the Ministers how cuts were affecting people.”

How exactly does egging a car and swearing show how cuts are affecting people?

• Head bangers if you ask me,listen to them making a holy show of themselves,protest if they want but do it properly,and as some one pointed out doing it at a UNICEF gathering…mindless

• Eirigi are a group of wasters

• Its a case of “when” – not “if” that people are going to start reacting like this.I’m surprised it hasn’t happened before now – and with the upcoming budget that is supposed to be BAD – there will be more of same to come-Expect FG and Labour heads to going to hiding, coming out only in groups or with protection.

• I hate crustys,going around doing stupid protests and bumming off the state

• That’s just how the bondholders want you to think. They’re laughing at you as they crack open the bubbly, you do know that?

• Spot on. Wasters all of them.

• Petr, most people are not feeling sorry for Gilmore, I’m certainly not. He betrayed everything he said he stood for.
      But I will never support wasters like that eirigi mob. Unlike most decent citizens, they rejoice in times like these as it gives them ample opportunities to cause trouble. That’s their only aim in life. To be waster trouble makers.
      Please don’t support them, rather try and get ordinary hard working people out on to the streets. Then the protest would actually mean something.

• Disagreeing with their point of view does not make them “wasters”. I’ve often thought that many protest groups are somewhat misguided but to write off a protest as a bunch of hippies, wasters, troublemakers as many protesters get referred to is to put the blinkers on.

There’s little point in ignoring that there is some substance to such protests.

• Tomy, I’m not calling protesters wasters, just eirigi. They do nothing but pull stupid stunts and contribute nothing to society.
      There are plenty of groups I don’t share an opinion with, but i respect them. But eirigi is not one of them. Not everybody’s opinions deserve respect you know.
      And regarding your earlier comments regarding Jack and Jill. There is an interview in today’s star with the founder. He has personally been subjected to vile abuse for the past month.
      This is a charity for children’s brain cancer. There is no room for politics in it. They need to raise money however they can. Surely you couldn’t disagree with that ?

• I certainly don’t think that charities should raise money “however they can”. I get their point about the mismatch of a childrens’ charity and any army. (Though I do think that affecting a charity’s support is going to far).

I had only heard of the J&J thing when you mentioned it earlier. I hadn’t heard about anyone being subject to ongoing abuse about it. Which of course I agree, nobody deserves.

Just found this too…. http://www.leinsterleader.ie/lifestyle/entertainment/charity-attacked-over-army-band-concert-1-4288034

• Anyone else think that Louise Minihan should be sent back to her home planet?

• Why was my comment removed? Does the journal condone the attacks on the Jack and Jill foundation by eirigi?
    This story has being reported in a number of newspapers recently including again today.

• No comments at all have been removed from this piece, ManOnTheStreet. Sometimes it can take a minute or two to appear on the site so maybe wait a bit and see if it shows up. If it doesn’t, let me know and I’ll tel our tech people that there’s a problem.

• Thanks for the reply Christine. But my comment still hasn’t shown up.
      I assumed it was removed because I was very critical of eirigi. Although I did refrain from swearing.

• I checked the commenting system from this end and there’s no record of any other comment from you being left on this site. Maybe you can try leaving it again? Sorry about that – not sure what went wrong there. We’d only ever remove a comment if it breaks the comments policy and so far at least, none at all have been removed from this thread.

• Christine, comments often disappear when the submit button is hit. Happens to me quite often So much so I have started copying what I’ve written before I hit submit in case my comment disappears. Maybe you could have a word with your tech people about it? Thanks in advance.

• It’s never happened me before but I am quite new around these parts.
      I apologise for immediately getting defensive and blaming the journal.
      Thanks again Christine.

• In relation to Eirigi and the Jack & Jill foundation – I’d never heard of it but did find this as part of a reaction to the accusation they were targeting the foundation:

“It is therefore as supporters of the Jack and Jill Foundation that éirígí has raised serious concerns about the appearance of the British Army at a fundraising event for the charity. It is simply not acceptable for an Irish children’s charity to use the British Army, who have been responsible for the deaths of countless children in Ireland, Iraq and Afghanistan, to raise funds for its operations. It is distasteful, offensive and divisive. Over the last forty years dozens of children have been killed by Britain’s force in Ireland and yet not one soldier or RUC member has been brought before the courts in relation to their murders.”

• You’re fine, don’t worry about it. We wouldn’t censor someone’s opinion – the comment would only be removed if it contains abuse, legal issues, hate speech or any of the other things mentioned in the comments policy. Kerry, I’ve mailed the tech team now and let them know. I’ve seen a few complaints from people over the past week or so but hadn’t realised it was happening quite so much. Hopefully they can work their tech magic and get this sorted asap.

• Ok, this could be it:

The tech guys are looking into the issue now, but they’ve asked me to mention that there is a filter for swearwords which will stop comments appearing if they contain obscenities. They’re going to try and bring in a message that will pop up if someone tries to post a comment containing words like – well, you can imagine, but in the meantime, it’s worth bearing that in mind when posting.

I’ll post any more updates they have on this.

• while you’re at it, I haven’t received and email notification of any replies to comments in about four months! not one! I always tick that box. I emailed your tech guys once or twice but never got a response.

• Problem isn’t offensive language in my case Christine- honest :-) In my case it seems to happen when after hitting submit the comment isn’t posted immediately. It seems to be some sort of timeout, no error reported though just the comment disappears.

• That’s really strange, Kerry. The tech guys are on it, so fingers crossed it can be sorted asap.

For everyone else: It’s worth bearing in mind that there’s a range of language that can trigger the filter: everything from gobs***e to er, worse stuff. Not saying that that’s what happened here, obviously, but just want to explain to anyone reading this that it’s something to be aware of when posting.

Paul: that’s really strange. I’ll pass that on to the tech team as well and see what the story is.

• Three times i tried to post a comment and it failed every time.

• Hi Christopher, it looks like your comments are being caught by the swearword filter. If you post the same comments again but without the word ‘sh*t’ then it should work.

• I have just written 2 comments explaining that I have had the same problems with comments, and guess what, no post. In fact I have had this problem regularly.

• Hi Patrick, the system isn’t showing any record of any of your comments being blocked. Were you using a different account by any chance?

• I regularly have problems posting from ipad via FB. Get the “there was a problem posting your comment” message, often followed by “duplicate comment”
      Or not, often it disappears.
      I always copy and paste because its so unreliable for me.

• johnny 05/10/12 #

@tomy, in relation to the jack and jill event i think it would be best if eirigi $#@&ed off and minded their own buisness. its nothing to do with them and is an event which will be well attended by irish people who want to see the band and support the charity. Im sure these irish people have the right to attend this eveng in peace

• About damn time that someone had the balls to do more than moan and gripe from behind their keyboard.
    Respect to these people.

• I remember a certain contributor on this website saying how Eirigi members are all very intelligent people, many with PhDs, including himself. Others would have PhDs but they dedicate themselves too much to politics. I wonder are these the people he was talking about?

• What’s your point, that working class people are stupid?

• I don’t think that the amount of MA or PhD holders is really relevant here. Just to draw a parallel during the war crimes trials of the Einsatzgruppen execution squads in 1946 it was remarked that many of the officers charged with the most heinous crimes held MA and PhD qualifications. So what point are they making about holding MAs and PhDs. Education is not immunity. Its their arrogance that speaks volumes.

• Someone obviously objected to my list of Nazi war criminals with PhDs. The information is freely available for anyone interested.

• Just shows you what type of people support these groups

• eoghan 05/10/12 #

Ya I agree a waste of eggs do people not realize that all these ministers have 3r4 advisors that advise them on what to cut etc its the advisors that run this country the tds are puppets most of them aren’t even qualified for any of the positions

• I can’t believe the driver wasn’t arrested for driving through the protesters!! I clearly heard several people shouting “Ow, ow, ow, ow” as he drove over their toes??

• Not enough Gardai on the streets even to look after their bosses

• I find it amazing that there are so many people up in arms because this happened at a UNICEF gathering, that vile organisation who claims to have the “best interest of children” at heart. They have been found to be involved in so many cases of child-trafficking, heavily involved in international pedophilia rings, and are responsible for the forced vaccination and sterilization of millions throughout the developing world.

1987 Belguims head of UNICEF Josef Veerbeck along with 2 other UNICEF employees were found to be the driving force behind a pedophile ring that spanned 16 countries, one of the employees , Michel Falu was found to have available for sex trafficking children as young as 8 months on a database on his UNICEF supplied computer.

India’s head of UNICEF Cecilio Adorna, arrested for the rape of another UNICEF employee, UNICEF stayed quiet on the matter despite they having produced volumes on the sexual exploitation and rape of women , it was investigated by the United Nations and no charges were brought, after all UNICEF employees enjoy diplomatic immunity.

2003 , several UNICEF employees were identified using a ship that was chartered for “peacekeepers” , to traffick young girls from Thailand to East Timor , UNICEF staff were also involved in the trafficking of young girls in Sudan, Liberia & Haiti

• Bruce 05/10/12 #

what the hell does gilmore expect? A bouquet of flowers for screwing the decent people of Ireland?

• Eirigi, they remind me of another bunch of bully boy national socialists in their infancy.

• Wow, an egg! that’ll certainly show him, Mr Gilmore will now see the error of his wicked ways. I bet the car wash cost will come from the politicians expenses, thank you Eirigi – you’re really bad ass!!

• Labour’s way or Eirigi’s way?
    Eirigi’s way!

• The Gardai should of arrested the aggressive ones, at least something!

• Funny seeing all these tricolours and some idiot with an english soccer jersey in the middle…Louise minihan is nothing but an uneducated clown

• I put a comment on this page that has just been deleted which just gos to show we are policed on the internet until the right version of events is given in the mind of one moderator, this is not a free comment webpage and i would reccomend people air their views elsewhere

• Al McGee 05/10/12 #

> Somebody has responded directly to your comment on the article “VIDEO: Eamon Gilmore’s car egged by protesters in Dublin”.
      >
      > Author: Ed Staunton
      > Comment:
      > Gardai lie about being punched all the time to get the week off

from the email I got.

Prove this. Prove they’re lying

Or better still how about you take off your tin foil hat and wake up and cop on.

The thing is it is people with the same mindset who’d be the very first person to call the Gardai to sort it out if someone wronged you

• Ed, you’re completely free to post anything you want – as long as it doesn’t break the comments policy for the site. The number of comments we actually remove from the site is tiny – we get between 1500 and 2000 comments on an average day and I’d say around 1 per cent of those comments are actually removed (those are my own very rough figures so they’re not gospel but they’re a rough indication).

Think about it from our point of view: we’re not going to leave up any comments which put us in a dodgy legal situation (especially since we’re the ones who have ultimate legal responsibility for anything posted by commenters: we’re the ones that get sued, not you guys). Also we’re not going to leave up comments where people are being abusive to other users or using hate speech. That’s not the kind of discussions that we want to host on our site and it’s not exactly the kind of thing that other people want to read either.

So basically, we remove very, very few comments, but the ones that are deleted are taken down for a reason.

• Belly Up 05/10/12 #

That comment would not put you in a dodgy legal situation

• You can see the full list of reasons why we’d remove a comment here. Putting the site in legal jeopardy is just one of them.

• KENNY NEXT FOR THE EGG TREATMENT

• Phew. For a while I thought there was no solution to the country’s economic woes. And to be honest, I never actually thought of throwing eggs at the Tanaiste. But clearly, the Eirigi people had it all worked out. And now that the Tanaiste’s car is covered in eggs, sure we’ve nothing to worry about. All our troubles are over. We’re rich again….!
    Or are they just a bunch of ignorant attention seeking idiots who are so utterly inarticulate that throwing eggs is their only means of communication?

• priceless!! ?9 cleaning bill so there is an arrest court case and conviction. costing how much? no wonder we re a special case!!!!!

• It shows the level of intelligence that gang have – they couldn’t wait and fed it to them for breakfast.

• Everyone has a legitimate right to protest but there was no need for this kind of carry-on. A number of these protestors unfortunately let the whole group down!

• Cops should have sorted it out. Protest good, eggs bad, guards did not do their job. Unicef lost out.

• What could 2 of them do against 25 headtheballs?
      Use the lasers from their eyeballs or perhaps use their super ice breath …. For goodness sake!
      If ever you saw an example of how
      stretched the Gardai are it was there.
      The recruitment embargo should be lifted immediately.

• Gerard 05/10/12 #

I could only see 2 guards there, what do you think they should have done differently?

• join the protest on 17th oct. concerning cuts that will affect home helps to sick, elderly and disabled. i’ve cut and pasted details below from SWP. I am not a member of any party. I am disabled and frightened.

The home helps themselves are protesting again on Weds Oct 17th at 3pm in O Connell St and will hopefully join the Nov 24th pre budget march with a massive contingent of workers and supporters. SIPTU need to roll in behind these demonstations and throw their full weight into resisting this cutbacks and the privatisation of our essential services.

Let’s keep the pressure on!

Can you poster your area for the protests? Or if you can take some leaflets and posters:
    John Lyons PBP 0877729292

If you want to get organised and join the socialists. Text JOIN to 0863074060

• Eggs this week, what next week ?.

• In reality in todays world with all the violence and upheaval, an egg is the most violent out politicians got and the shitter got annoyed. Irish politicicnas are the envy of the world. When we are the poster boys , they mean the politicians and the way they keep us pacified and docile and inactive.

Add New Comment