TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Pic: Enda Kenny is on the cover of TIME magazine this week

The Taoiseach features as part of a story on ‘The Celtic Comeback’.

Enda Kenny TIME

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY makes the cover of TIME magazine this week for a feature piece entitled ‘The Celtic Comeback’.

The green themed frontpage also notes that ‘Prime Minister Enda Kenny is rebuilding his country’s economy. What the rest of Europe can learn from him.’

TIME’s website features an interview with the, er, interviewer Catherine Mayer as well as a video of her interview with the Taoiseach in which he talks about the Irish economy and walking to work.

In the interview he is asked about Ireland’s perception internationally as the model for economic recovery and he says:

While it’s gratifying to hear the comments internationally about how Ireland is a model of how you can do this, where people work with government, we want to go beyond that – to retrieve our economic independence, in the mean time, to have made the changes to the structures that have to be made here so as when we do emerge from this programme, not only can we seen to be a model for other countries to follow but that we can also use that experience and expertise to help others.

He says that Ireland has the “best demographics of any country in Europe for the next 25 years” and “a tax system that allows for flexibility and for people to invest here”.

Mayer also asks him about walking to and from work at government buildings from his home in Dublin on a daily basis, querying whether this leads to him being the subject of the ire of angry members of the public. He says:

Sometimes they have their arguments, if you talk to taximen or busmen or housewives or shoppers or people going to work or coming from work on the streets and Irish people always like to feel that they have access to those whom they elect and if they want to say something to a minister in government or to the head of government I think that’s very important. Their point of view is of interest to me.

He says that he has “no interest in looking for either credit or thanks” and says that in dealing with Ireland’s economic challenges he does not want a return to the boom years:

The Celtic Tiger years were false years. They were built on a veneer of endless wealth without hard work. What I want to do is go back to the time before that, to the late 1990s when Ireland was creating a thousand jobs a week, when we were recognised in competitiveness as being in the top three in the world, when we were exporting huge quantities of quality brand products and that’s where we need to get back to.

Read next:

Comments (248 Comments)

• Maybe we could get Lucinda Creighton on the cover of Playboy now.

• Inside feature, how to be a good boy and do what germany tells you

• Whatever peoples feelings on Enda or the Goverment. This can only be a good thing in restoring Irelands reputation worldwide… Lets try know to knock everything.
      D

• Declan, how can you restore a reputation based on spin, rather than reality?

• Daisy.
      Just watched the interview. Did not seem like spin. Listen…Business and People all over the world look at this and say…Good on Ireland…. Thats cant be a bad thing for investment etc. Why does it always have to be a bitching session on here….Its so draining.

• probably easily enough daisy, afterall reputation is based on spin

• @ Declan, much as it irks me, I have to agree with you on this issue. Enda and his crew are not fit for purpose, but if we want to get out from under the troika it’ll mean returning to the markets, and how the world views Ireland will be important. So this is a good thing, and it’s better for everyone not to begrudge this. It’d be nice to get a bit of insubstantial spin from you though, just so everyone can get back into the proper boxes and back to business as usual. :-)

• It should be a good thing for ireland, but what it’s taxpayers, unemployed, elderly and sick have to go through at the expense of reckless others is sickening and even more sickening to know there are individuals out there that think it’s acceptable!

• I think what the article is trying to convey is that if u are rich and want to stash your money somewhere, try Ireland, the land of the little people. And u know what little people have, little balls.

• To be fair to the current govt, they inherited this mess. In no way was it ever going to be possible for their policies to be popular. So bitch and moan all you like about water charges etc etc, the fault lies with the previous administarion IMHO

• Have to agree with Declan on this one. Other than those profitting from our insane bank guarantee, there is not one soul on this island who is happy about the situation we’re in. But we are where we are. It’s infuriating and insulting, but there’s no turning back the clock.
      This feature paints Ireland in a far better light than, say, chaotic Greece, and sends a really good positive message to investors. I don’t want to pay for the banks but that doesn’t equate to belittling every good-news story about Ireland that circulates around the world and serves to improve our chances of nailing down a few more jobs.
      Plenty people look at European countries struggling to manage their debt and lump them all in the same category of hapless-tax-evading-dumbasses. This is a useful PR exercise for the whole nation and won’t hurt us.
      Although I probably won’t say it again this year, well done Enda.

• @ Dec – But would it be better to tell the world what a useless, disorganised, mis-managed, callous, unfeeling country we are. Who benefits from an article like that?

• Isn’t having an economy built on a lie what got us into this mess in the first place. But I do agree a positive view of the irish economy can be good for investment.

• This is a good news story for Ireland. Most of the comments here are so miserable – predictable yet disappointing.

• One thing i learned from being in the retail business for a while and having endured a few holdups in my time is, if u show you are a soft touch and don’t fight back, these parasites are going to keep coming back for more and more. And Kenny is going to welcome them with open arms.

• @Nikolas, I totally agree that the article is great for Ireland! From an outsider looking in all they can do is admire us (the taxpayer) for taking on such a huge burden! After all we are paying for debts that are not ours! Why wouldn’t you want to invest here???

• @Nikolas, I totally agree that the article is great for Ireland! From an outsider looking in all they can do is admire us (the taxpayer) for taking on such a huge burden! After all we are paying for debts that are not ours! Why wouldn’t you want to invest here????

• One thing i learned from being in the retail business for a while and having endured a few holdups in my time is, if u show you are a soft touch and don’t fight back, these parasites are going to keep coming back for more and more.

• @ Declan and the rest of Enda’s cheerleaders. Lets not get carried away here. This is spin, good spin from Irelands perspective but only spin.And remember spin is not going to aid actual recovery.
      Enda and the clowns around him plus the self serving mandarins in the public service are doing nothing to rebuild this economy. In fact the opposite. Every internal measurement that would indicate recovery is negative. We all accept that the mess was created by FF but FG and Lab are just following FF policies dressed up as their own. Their gamble is that events elsewhere will have a positive effect and then they can claim credit. Big gamble

• @ Derek – you analogy is a bit vague. Who sees us as a soft touch? Who are the shoplifters? No-now’s stealing from us. Rather we signed a contract that put us in a bad position, but it’s all legal. We’re the side that are edging towards not honouring our agreements. Yes, it’s a bad deal, but sulking won’t get us out of it. acting like equal partners, acting responsibly is not the same as being a soft touch.

• @ Dec – don’t be so precious. If the article leads to new investment and new jobs, isn’t grumbling to yourself and feeling hard done by a small price to pay?

• No Nikolas, it’s not being precious when more and more people are suffering as a result of the hardships they are being put under and soon to be put under more! Enda and co promised a lot of hot air that got them where they are now! And while the better off like yourself can sit back and gloat the rest are trying to figure out how to make ends meet! Precious me arse!

• @ Dec – So, people in Ireland are suffering and that is rational and valid reason not to open up channels that could lead to more investment, more jobs, and so a lessening of the suffering of the same people in Ireland? It sounds precious to me, I’m afraid. You’ve a surfeit of misplaced pride that you’d refuse help to solve a problem you shown you can’t solve on your own.

• The article is the least the lapdog should be doing. However I have very little faith in his ability to get the sort of investment that would actually help this country. Its all well and good bringing in foreign money into this country, but exactly how much will it cost us. Tax breaks, corporation tax rate which will effectively be 6 or 7%, free rent and rates on buildings. And at a time when we have our greatest resources leaving the country in droves. Edna is a busted flush, and an examination of our countries finances by any external investors wont be covered up by whatever spin it wants to spill.

• Perception is reality, well done Enda, even if it is bullshit- we need all the positive international press we can get!

• I see the bigger picture here Nikolas! I wouldn’t get your hopes up on a flood of jobs any time soon! To much damage done by previous governments that are just being continued by the present! The previous shower walked into the trap of austerity and the current one are accepting the punishment of it! Even when they said ” not another red cent!

• Dec – I would far rather be cautiously optimistic than defeatist and malingering. This isn’t the first Irish recession I’ve lived through and, irrespective of the boom and bust policies pushed by Irish politics, the quality of life and quality of services available to the Irish people are today, even in the current crisis, toweringly higher than they were at the start of the 60s. For the most part, this improvement did not come from the politicians, but the working population, and it happened by chipping away at the system, not by sitting around complaining. What exactly have you done or are doing to improve this country?

• I work my bones off!

• censored 05/10/12 #

Nope, reputation is based on substance. Since the start of the crisis Irish people have been blathering about “confidence” and trying to spin the facts. Unfortunately the markets see through it. Wake up.

• Z? 06/10/12 #

Censored, congratulations on being promoted to Official Spokesperson for the International Markets. Oh wait.. What’s that? You weren’t. Ahmed just speaking outa yer hole about things you can’t back up and don’t really understand, as per usual. Arrogance like this shouldn’t be surprising from someone who gives themselves the title if “censored” but doesn’t have anything to say or any knowledge important enough to censor… I’m in it for the lulz, you seem to be here for your ego…

• Remember the feature The Economist did on Cowen and Lenihan. Utter BS.

• “What the rest of Europe can learn from the Celtic Comeback”…

They’ll learn that it’s more important to ensure that billions are given to anonymous unsecured gambling debts than looking after the elderly, the disabled, the deprived, our education system, our health system etc

Irish Governments since 2008 are nothing but spineless, lickspittle, lapdogs more concerned with their own expenses claims than the people who elected them.

• I’m completely shocked! He’ll really think he’s made it now. God help us all!!

• Many people on the outside look at Ireland and think the recovery is working across the board, right down to the schools, health service and the public at large. They are completely unaware of the debt and uncertainty the population as a whole are dealing with. They are oblivious to the hardship on the ground.

• Pedro 05/10/12 #

I’m bored of complainers. Has this article done anything to harm the Irish Economy? No. Has it done anything to help the economy? Its remains to be seen.

Bottom line is that the worst case scenario is this does absolutely sweet f’ all.

Best case scenario is that its a step in the right direction to international investment in this broken country. A FAR bigger step then writing on a piece of cardboard and sitting outside AIB anyway.

• censored 05/10/12 #

Yes, it has done something to harm the economy. All these pretend “good news” stories make our negotiating position untenable. Enda is an idiot.

• They must know something the rest of us don’t.

• This is another one that looks like it might have been a case of being duped by theonion.com

• Yes, The Celtic Comeback, steal €500m quid and the GAA will back you to the hilt, it’s the story of SEANY QUINN.

Time is irrelevant. Every single article focuses on political personalities, so disconnected from the realities of every day life. Last article I read in it was talking about how because Jamaica had a female President that it was on the road to being a more liberal country. It just reinforces the cult of the personality as opposed to the real truth, that only large numbers of normal people can actually bring about change.

• A photoshop headline more like!

Comeback? Wot comeback?

• There is a bit of nuance there. Jamaica’s new female President stated openly in a pre-election debate that she supports gay rights; this in a country with a record of extreme violence towards gays and her predecessor stating that he would under no circumstances place a gay person in his cabinet. So yeah, fair comment that it may indicate a more liberal trajectory that she was elected freely and fairly (elections in fact involve ‘large numbers of normal people’), and this not simply because she’s female.

And don’t forget; this is just a regional edition of Time with this cover. They have several others this week as well.

• First Rosanna and now Enda! I tell you, we’re on the pig’s back now!

• by the way….this video, have a look at the ONLY advertisement at the start…..who is being advertised?…GOLDMAN SACHS…….who gets their hands on a chunk of the billions we are paying unsecured bondholders….GOLDMAN SACHS….nuff said!!!!!

• JakkiB 05/10/12 #

wonder do they have photos inside of sick people on trollies waiting for days for a bed or the homeless people going to the soup kitchens and lets not forget the pensioners freezing in their homes because they are afraid to turn on the heating due to the costs!! He’ll be in Hello mag next :p

• What the journal is becoming for me now is; read the article, skim the first 3-5 comments, ignore the rest. It’s just not worth it

• All that photo is missing is a woman playing the harp and Michael Flatley dancing behind ‘Edna’

I presume he is now known as the man who single-handedly brought Ireland out of the recession?

Sure the rest of us are only numbers

• Inside pics of bondholders popping champagne whilst ordering their Porsches. Well done Enda. Bilderberg boys love you. Well done.

• what comeback? I mean, we’re certainly not there yet

• Enda Kenny’s 5 Point Plan

Point One – Protecting and creating jobs. FAIL

Point Two – Introducing better, fairer budgets to keep taxes low. FAIL

Point Three – we will create a completely new health system. FAIL

Point Four – smaller, better government with the people’s money spent wisely on vital public services. FAIL

Point Five – a political system that achieves more and costs less, with the Government leading by example. FAIL

• Vincent 05/10/12 #

I’m not a FGer or a FFer but people seem to have forgotten whom led us in to this sh*t! we are in. No doubt FF will do better in next election due to people’s memory loss.

• Flute !!!, “the Celtic comeback” my arse!!!, I seen Micheal Martin in UCD last week he was with a bunch of lick arse students all wearing yellow t-shirts with ” the comeback kids” printed on the back, do they know something we don’t!!??

• Wasn’t our precious esteemed Taoiseach Biffo featured in Time a few years ago?!?! Beware Enda!!!

• go on Enda ya good thing!!

• Zartan 05/10/12 #

“What the rest of Europe can learn from him”? Is this a joke? Massive unemployment and emigration, with taxes, charges and fees squeezing us all and many more years of it to come. If there has been a Celtic comeback, most of us have missed it.

• Ah Zartan , don’t tell me you missed the Celtic tiger comeback , during the long hot summer of 2012 ??? m yeah everything’s grand now , seems the billions we gave to the banks will start being used for to fix the distressed mortgage market , the employment numbers are growing , the reform minister actually did some serious reform ,something like 1 out of a thousand allowances or something , there’s been no stroke politics at all, and all the pigs bags are packed and ready for the flight..

• This piece wouldn’t look out of place on the cover of Weekly World News.

• Not wishing to sound uncreative but ‘seriously this is a f****n joke, right!’

• Elrat 05/10/12 #

Bet ya that boll## Bertie is a jealous as hell !

• The new motto of this Government is “LETS FIX WHAT ISN’T BROKEN” There isn’t a decent pair of balls among any of the government ministers. Labour ministers wouldn’t even back their junior minister of Health and walk away from Fine Gael Party colalition. Fine Gael think sun shine out of their Arse….only problem there is too many European Diplomats have their hand up Government Arse’s the sun is unable to shine….. Are the times really stuck for cover shot.. why not come to Ireland and take pictures of real Ireland were it’s citizens are being subjected to class stratifcation of society all over again.. Rich get richer, poor get poorer..

• Question -

Would you vote this government back into power?

Dislike = yes you would
    Like = no you wouldn’t

• With this momentum he might even chance Vincent Browne’s show one of these days. As long as the Q&A’s are agreed well in advance of course.

• I really DO hope this is some kind of Onion Joke. I mean seriously!!! I can’t even think straight here. We are on our knees, …..Water Charges, Property Taxes, Cuts to Carers, Cuts to Children’s Allowance, Unemployment at frightening levels, Evictions daily, Young People as our biggest export, a Generation of anxious, stressed children living with deprivation and worried parents ……. I could go on and on but the picture is clear. ‘Edna” and his Gang are a disgrace….the rich get richer and the poor get poorer…..is THIS really seen as a “Comeback”?

• This is gone beyond a joke. Does the rest of the world actually believe that Enda Kenny and his party are having a positive influence on the people of Ireland??

Enda Kenny is nothing but a coward and a lier.

• i want to laugh, But i don’t want to wet myself!

• Jobs and investment for Ireland in 3…2…1.

• More evidence for the inclusion of a ‘dislike’ button on Facebook!

• Will Time apologise when the truth dawns. As Mr. Gogarty once said “Will they f—!”

It is a frightening comment on the state of journalism world-wide. This is obviously just regurgitated spin. Five minutes work would lead the interviewer to the truth.

It should also give pause to those who still believe in the wisdom of the market. The foreign traders who have driven down interest rates for Ireland ove rthe last few months are just as young, lazy and badly educated as this Time journalist. (I don’t know but I assume it is some bright young thing).

The frightening rthing is that this spin could get us back to the markets too soon , at horrific interest rates, just to satisy the vanity of Enda and Eamonn and their mad determination to be ‘sovereign’ by 1916. This may succeed but it will only make things much worse in the long term.

• I’d imagine the 2% of the population that were forced to emigrate last year would disagree and the 97% of the rest of us that are stuck in this disillusional hellhole.

• How worrying this is!

I recently cancelled my TIME subscription because of their consistent failure to get their facts right whenever they covered an Irish matter. They also published a multi-page article on women achievers in the 2012 Olympics and failed to mention Katie Taylor at all!

Now here they go again, but this time portraying a damn fool on their cover and crediting him with turning Ireland around. He has turned us around alright, into the abyss!

It concerns me deeply that anyone on the outside looking in could possibly conclude that Fine Gael have done anything whatsoever to benefit Irish citizens, our society or the economy upon which we all depend. Instead, the actions of Enda von Kenny and his gang of moronic and self serving clowns has served to depress our people, compound our economy’s decline and generally hurt every ordinary citizen in so many ways.

I feel a strong “letter to the editor” coming on.

#disgusted

• seriously this has to be a joke.

• Damn! It does not cover the dartboard….

• His reward for handing out 1 BILLION to the invisible man. Corrupt world

• Smirking Sleeveen!

• What’s the point in making the rest of the planet think we’re grand?What a joke.

• It could be a lot worse… Imagine the big fat whiskey noses on bertie or biffo on there instead!?

• Hitler was on time magazine “man of the year” 1938

• Z? 05/10/12 #

And?

• @Z?. It shows that Time magazine can get things very wrong. wake up Z?

• Z? 05/10/12 #

Very droll. Am I asleep? What’s my name? A bit embarrassing how long it took you to figure that one out.

• Z? 05/10/12 #

Actually, it just shows that when people are too thick or lazy they will composure something to Nazis. If you can’t be moderately intelligent, at least be original. You’re the third person here to make the same lame non-point.

• Forde 05/10/12 #

Z? I think you need a cup of chill the fu*k out

• censored 05/10/12 #

It’s a good point. And Z?, you should just go back to sleep until your master calls.

• Z? 06/10/12 #

Not being chilled out is kinda my shtick. Nice to see Censored again jumping in at the end on someone’s else’s bandwagon, very brave and heroic, attacking a troll in defence of someone who already had shown they were well capable of defending themselves. Arrived late to the party and in a bit of a sulk, are we? Nazi comparisons are lazy, end of. They’re overused so they’ve lost any power to be meaningful, to insult or to shock.

• Z? 06/10/12 #

Talking about my “master”. Yum, that kinda talk is getting me a little raised. All sorts of fun images exploding in my little head. But, prey tell, o font of all worldly wisdom that you are, Censey old boy, who do you think my master is? Interesting bit of tinfoil-hatism you’ve brought up there. Sound say “brought up” though, it’ll just get me going again…

• i just puked

• has anyone watched this video?…I have, it almost made me physically sick!!, …he says we are meeting him on the street as he walks home from work and we greet and thank him for bringing us through this period, which he describes as “new and exciting”….the same muppet who refuses to be interviewed by Vincent Browne….when was the last time you were embarrassed???……watch this video, you will be not just embarrassed but tearing your hair out!!!!

• He regularly gets the homeless peasants kissing his hand and tugging their forelocks, as the ponies and traps rattle through the gaslamped streets. Women swoon at his feet as he gives them a sly wink and children drop their spinning tops and hula hoops to run behind him chanting his name.

I tell ya, that’s a long walk from Kildare St to Mayo!

• Forde 05/10/12 #

Hitler made the front page of TIME once, didn’t he?

• For f@@ks sake,I’ve really seen it all now.

• Are ya having a f**king laugh? What an absolute joke. How out of touch is this magazine and how pompous of kenny. The people of Ireland are suffering today more so than any other time and its leader is on the cover of a stupid magazine telling everyone that its all going to be ok! Ask me b****x

a backward bunch of

• Whatever you think of him, and I don’t think much, this will be good for investment in Ireland. This is spin, but when is politics not about spin? Better a good spin than a bad spin

• Enda and co. seem to be putting more thought and effort into branding Ireland as a country in recovery than they are into actually achieving that.

• Obviously Time haven’t been here lately..

• I seriously thought this was photoshopped.

• The Celtic comeback haha seriously like more like

We,ll make the banks come back with billions and the people suffer with pittance

A disgrace is what he is!

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• Does it mention the 5 point plan?

• Barry 05/10/12 #

Say what you want but clearly the rest of the world…including the USA views Ireland has doing the right thing, this is good for Ireland, good for jobs and good for investment.

• Save you rhetoric for the next EU referendum.

• What good is perception abroad when the reality for those that live it is the complete opposite?

• Z? 05/10/12 #

Investment. A shop with the slogan “we’re a bit sh*t really” isn’t going to do well.

• Barry 05/10/12 #

Dermot, i don’t support either FG or FF so don’t be assuming i do, I’m merely speaking the facts.

If the international community didn’t view Ireland in a better light then say Spain or Greece then we woudn’t be seeing stories like this. you can bitch and moan all you want but its clearly the truth.

• @Barry
      This is what America thinks Barry
      from last weeks wall street journal:

It’s been two years since Ireland forked over €45 billion to the private creditors of its largest banks. The bank bailout drove Ireland’s deficit to 32% of GDP and played no small role in forcing Dublin to take a bailout of its own from the European Union and International Monetary Fund.

But many of the beneficiaries of that bank bailout were themselves privately owned financial institutions in Germany, France and elsewhere in the EU. The late Brian Lenihan, then Ireland’s Finance Minister, later made it clear that Ireland first guaranteed the banks’ debts, in September 2008, and later paid out on those guarantees in full, under heavy pressure from the European Central Bank. The ECB feared that defaults by the Irish banks could lead to huge losses in larger EU economies and a more generalized banking crisis.

Whether that assessment was accurate at the time, we’ll never know. What we do know is that Ireland, in effect, bailed out foreign banks owed money by Irish ones, and that Irish taxpayers were left with the tab. In fact, they’re still paying—senior unsecured creditors of Allied Irish Banks will receive a further payment of €1 billion this coming Monday, October 1. The bank, now more than 90% state owned, lost €1.4 billion in the first six months of this year, but its bondholders are still being made whole.

For months, Europe’s leadership has talked endlessly about breaking the link between sovereigns and their troubled banks, and are currently in the process of setting up a system that will allow direct bank recapitalizations at the European level.

Ireland, meanwhile, has been left out in the cold. Ireland’s national debt stood at 25% in 2007, but has since ballooned to more than 108%, largely due to the cost of bank recapitalizations and bond repayments. In June, the European Council agreed in principle to find a way to ease this burden on Irish taxpayers. But earlier this week, the Finance Ministers of Germany, Holland and Finland issued a joint statement that said the EU’s bank bailout funds should not be used for pre-existing “problems”—such as Ireland’s.

Ireland made its share of mistakes before and during the financial crisis. But no small part of the current pressure it is under comes directly from the generous treatment of the creditors of its commercial banks. This was done at the behest of the ECB, and largely for the benefit of its neighbors. Irish taxpayers should not have to bear that load alone.

• The rest of the world is glad that we’re paying back unsecured bondholders and glad to give us a pat on the head occasionally, while chuckling at our stupidity.

• Try and see the big picture. It’s only in Time Europe magazine. Suits da ole Rotschilds agenda to publish this in their propaganda pamphlet. Encourage the rest of Europe to embrace austerity like docile dumb Paddy. Also helps dumbo Kenny look good at home.

• rebuilding “His” country… if it is his country… them he and he alone can pay off the banks….

• The worst is still to come. Time are going to look very foolish when I read this from my GP’s surgery in 12 months from now.

• Gotta be better than similar photo of Brian Cowan on the morning after the now infamous Galway think in .

• Noonan at Bilderberg Group and now Kenny on front page of Time ragazine .Kenny too thick to realise he’s the butt of a joke by the Wall Street owned rich rag.He’s country,s been torn apart and he thinks its fine to go on a Banker Rag taking credit from them..Ah jesus we must be the thickest nation on the vplanet going by all the Enda Fans on here.There rubbing it in big time ye mogs.The teletubbies could take over this country were so thick.

• If everyone here, emailed FG or Labour to show their disgust? You’d be achieving more, than ranting here!

• Ah, Stephen, I said exactly that three or four weeks ago, but I actually did so many times since, and I can assure you I was not careful with my wording , I said what I felt, and told them to wake up and take note of what the decent people of Ireland really thought about them.
      Eh, got no replies though/.

• I’m seriously considering it!!
    Seems straight forward enough; highlight the problems in Ireland, present a solution that satisfies the majority, then once in power do a complete u-turn on the promises made. Easy!

• A puppet controlled by the elite banksters who contrived the collapse of Europe then pose as our saviours enabling the enslavement of our people and the raping of our natural resources.

• Am 05/10/12 #

An interview with the captain on the little Titanic. Spot the icebergs yet Enda! If you can’t blind them with brilliance, baffle them with bull……t

• Rest of Europe can learn how to cripple Your Nations People whilst bailing out bust banks.

Yeah Kenny is a real poster boy for failed austere politics. Idiot.

• The leader is good the leader is great……like f*ck he is. did Time get their dates mixed up surely this is the April 1st edition

• How much did this article cost the Irish people … ????

• This is a massive boost for our reputation in America, something that hundreds of thousands of jobs here rely on.

• Great something for the dart board!

• more like the “Waste of time magazine”

• Time magazine is a rag, also, Hitler was time magazine man of the year at one stage, take from that what you will.

• paper does not nor will not refuse ink!!If the govt. are so keen on helping the country get back on its feet,delay the payments to the bondholders and use that money to reinvest in Ireland.Why should we suffer an our children suffer for debts that we didn’t run up??Look at O’ Reilly….he gets 4,000,000 from the govt. to do up his house in Offaly,when firstly he is a T.D for the North County of Dublin,then he charges the taxpayer 5.00 to go see his house!!! I wouldn’t piss on him if he was on fire!Fine Gael cannot blame the whole mess on the last govt.Can anyone honestly say that Fine Gael were not taking backhanders during the last govts. reign? Honestly????

• Time(s up) magazine?
    Enda Kenny the come back kid…..whilst there is much needed World wide perception that Ireland is recovering under the influence & guidance of strong leadership my back and spirit are as broken as my purse strings. Maybe if the government led by financial example instead of living/retiring like kings I would feel something other than “same old same”
    Another photo to add to his glory wall.

• Any publicity is good publicity…

• CSEC BIO 05/10/12 #

FFS … This is a disgrace. Ends says he wants no credit or thanks then why give himself a pay rise or address the nation pre budget day 2012 or the Michael Collins memorial?

Everything… Everything he does is to get his name in the history books even if that means 2 million people are pushed off the financial cliff.

Only in the US can he be seen as a saviour after all this government policies are right up Mit “I don’t care about 47% of the people” Romney’s street.

• Gagsy 99 05/10/12 #

did he give himself a pay-rise?

And wouldn’t it be unusual if the Taoiseach didn’t occasionally address the nation?
      If anything Enda Kenny is too low profile which is I believe a deliberate strategy.

• The Time Magazine must have been hard up for a story this week, but it’s nice to see the Muppet is back in his office. If Oireachtss Report wasn’t so serious a topic, it would make a great comedy show.

• Gagsy 99 05/10/12 #

Lets hope things get worse, eh?
    That’ll show them.

• Turns my stomach, Diarmuid Flynn should be on it instead!

• Z? 05/10/12 #

So, Ye all don’t like negative coverage in Europe, Ye all don’t like negative coverage in the US, Ye all don’t like positive coverage in Europe and Ye all don’t like positive coverage in the Us.

Marketing geniuses the lot of Ye. I truly hope none of you work in retail. No wonder consumer sentiment is low.

BRW, where would you stash your bike if, by some miracle, the situation improved in this country? You’d have to go back to insulting travellers/immigrants/taxi drivers/teachers/anyone more successful or content on a full-time basis I suppose…

• Oh you would you go away out of that. This piece is such utter bullshit, how could you be happy about it? Positive image fair enough, reality is that things are as bad as ever for the people actually living here while Enda gets his reward for handing over ANOTHER F**KIN’ BILLION euro to UN-secured bondholders.

Sickening.

• Z? 05/10/12 #

I never said I liked the article, I only pointed out that the level of complaining here is mindless, unoriginal and knee-jerk. People are moaning after not even reading the headline, not even the article. Same old same old, it’s not going anywhere and it’s getting boring. Change the record.

• This article should be seen as it truly is – something that the Irish will undoubtedly say “wtf?!” to but in reality it’s the equivalent of embellishing your CV.
      You never got a job out of writing your CV to say that you sleep in all the time and like to sneak out for 2 hour lunchbreaks do you?

• “What I want to do is go back to the time before that, to the late 1990s when Ireland was creating a thousand jobs a week, when we were recognised in competitiveness as being in the top three in the world, when we were exporting huge quantities of quality brand products and that’s where we need to get back to.”

Then he meets with Tony O’Reilly.

‘Thanks for the brown envelope. I’ll see to it that we continue FF’s legacy of selling off our oil and gas fields to your company, thus depriving the country as a whole of the opportunity to export said gas and oil.
    Thanks for the brown envelope.’

• Time has different editions for US and Europe so I doubt that this will be the US version.

Still, any positive international coverage is good in my opinion.

• this piece wouldn`t look out of place..dood…dood..dood ….dood…..welcome to the twilight zone

• eoghan 05/10/12 #

Must only have a few pages in it cause he done f all since he came to government

• “What the rest of Europe can learn from him?” Well where do we begin?

Youth unemployment running at aprox 40% for under 25 year olds and the Govt. answer is the sham that is Jobbridge…..

screw the paye workers to pay back unsecured bondholders

…….Get totally ridden by the IMF and the EU…..What other great lessons could Enda teach to the world?

It’s not being negative to point out total incompetence and injustice. There are plenty of alternatives.

• Is this the Halloween issue ? Front cover cut out scary mask and all !

• If it didn’t have such a slippery shiny cover my toilet paper stocks would be sorted for a few months.

• There is a big tit on the front page of time! Who needs the sun?

• Get Jimmy Mc G on board he will give you the toughness needed to enhance your profile in dealing with our European neighbours. Just ask James Horan.

• What a load of absolute bull’

• Jasmin 20/10/12 #

I nearly throw up after reading this ! What a joke ! him and his Irish Govermeant are all a Joke ! they are nothing but Greedy heartless self serving white collard criminals who think nothing of attacking the most vulnerable people in our society ! Such as handicapped children and adults who are supported by care organizations such as Cope Foundaton and many others ! by taking away the funding needed to help this poor people and to help mantain the running of this organizations that take care of them. The goverment really will stop at nothing to protect thier overpaid wages and overly lascivious life styles will they?

• must be stuck to put up enda kennys photo on the cover micky mouse be more fun

• Why did ye take my comment down? As I said they must know something the rest of us don’t. The journal seems to be getting big into censorship these days. Didn’t realise the blueshirts had so much power!

• alan 05/10/12 #

Isint it amazing that earlier on there was nearly 300 comments calling this plonker all the name people really feel about him but about 200 have been removed, sad this site is so biased towards Fine Gael

• Is it April 1st? This has got to be a joke.

• They are hallucinating.

• Please someone tell me this is some sick joke. They must be hard up for stories is all i can say. I can think of at least 100 other faces on the planet that are more deserving of an appearance on time than him. His arse licking got him somewhere at last .

• Crime Watch his picture should be on!!!

• Dave 05/10/12 #

Great!!
    Can’t wait to see the movie??

• In the past we had Paddy,Kerry and Cavan jokes…..this is a Mayo joke gone wrong,Enda Kenny is a German Muppet, Angela Merkel says “SCHNELL,SCHNELL” and Enda says “JA,JA”…..Mien Fuhrer,this is a big unfunny joke!!!!

• ROBERTO 05/10/12 #

what a load of codwallop

• I can only hope that there will be a “Celtic comeback” and that the naysayers above are proved wrong. Here’s to the future. Maybe Enda will be proven right?

• The naysayers as you call them are living with the reality of life under FG/Lab. Blind acceptance of the hype surrounding celtic tigers or comebacks is what got us here in the first place and has be shown to be bad for our health.

• The government does seem to be saving money in a way that cuts as little as possible. Obviously cutbacks are inevitable (Enda could’ve repeated Haughey’s famous declaration of “we are living beyond our means” and he have been wrong), but the government seems to be trying to save money through optimizations and efficiencies wherever possible. Like getting rid of the Junior Cert in favor of a system largely administrated by individual schools: the Junior Cert is a huge expense because of the logistics involved and by switching to a Continuous Assessment model like what 3rd-Level education seems to favor, we save money without losing out on anything – if anything, the new system will be BETTER for education.

Like I said, cuts where we DO lose out are inevitable, but the government seems to be trying its best to save money in other ways as much as it can. And it IS possible to save money but still retain our public services if the government is creative and intelligent enough in what it spends its money on. The Millennium Spire is emblematic of everything we did wrong during the boom – it’s tasteless spending for the sake of spending, it cost way more than it was supposed to, and will continue to cost us money into the future because of how its promise of being “self-cleaning” was bull, and it doesn’t even demonstrate any real artistry. If we can avoid money pits like that going forward, we’ll be just fine. Therre are two areas where we aren’t doing as well as might be expected, and those are health services and state pensions. Everything else is around about where you’d expect it to be.

• Definitely airbrushed!

• Why didn’t they interview someone important

• It was a slow week

• just lost all respect for Time Magazine. Its trash now.

• this is a sick joke

• Makes me want to puke…

• Sharpies at the ready for a blitz on the nearest newsagents…

• Great PR opportunity for Ireland. if this brings in more jobs and helps restore some of Ireland’s shattered profile, who could complain.

Oh wait, Chicken Licken is out in force on the forum, complaining.

• Arb, maybe from a business perspective Ireland might benefit from this PR stunt. But I don’t like the man. He lied to the people of Ireland and does not deserve a profile boost for raping our hard earned money.

Kenny, Gilmore and their respective parties should be lined up outside Leinster house…….and the only question that should be asked is “which one do we egg first”

• Everyone is entitled to their view. And I would not be giving this government 11/10, more like a 6.5, but I am still positive on what they are doing in extraordinary circumstances.

As far as I am concerned, he has not lied. I resent people making serious charges like that just to rile up anger when it is undeserved.

If you are referring to a failure to keep to his election manifesto; as a mature adult, I expect that to happen with a crisis economy and our complete and utter dependence on the global economy and financial system.

My view is the country is still holding together, he hasn’t gambled the future on a rebuttal of the Troika.
      Not taking that gamble may in the fullness of time have been the wrong thing to do. But I would not call Kenny a liar just because I disagree with the position he has taken.

• dave 05/10/12 #

That’s where he has been hiding away haven’t seen him do anything that concerns this country in a while. Keeping a very low profile on these shores.

• Kenny taking credit for Irish resilience.

• This is a joke right? Jesus.

• Well done Noonan – your trip yielded results – getting your mate enda onto the front page was money well spent! Oops – did WE pay for your trip?

• It’s a joke, right ?

• Hay ED must be something in water… as they’re both from MAYO

• My God people, this idiot thinks he is a prophet sent by God, another Padraic Flynn gobsh**e. All this man has done is burden the next 2 generations with insumountable debt and sent half of this generation to the four corners of the world, this man is no hero, what bloody celtic comeback, how dare Time magazine, how much did he pay them, just sick, vomit. Everybody in Canada gets another year if they apply and these Asswipes are trying to say they have got us all 2 year visas, throwin eggs, we should be throwing bricks.

• Enda walks to work? Can anyone verify this?

• Heard a quote from Aliaster Campbell tonite about Enda on front of Time mag. He said ” what is that about”. Seriously what the f is it about when emigration is soaring.

• *wouldn’t have been wrong

• mirror mirror on the wall a well dont worry we cant and wont be able to pay the 150 million of debt we are carrying

• I thought this guy was trying to run a country, no? No! He’s off attending photo-shoots and trying to explain how amazing and noble he is! That’s why we elected him i suppose. Oh, Enda, you little brat you!

• I think this is great! Fake it til you make it and all that, having people think we’re on the way up is beneficial for us! I also think its nice of time to feature enda and push some more interest our way…

• G.U.B.U. !!
    Grotesque, Unbelievable, Bizarre, Unprecedented. Haughey got it right.

• How are people reacting so poorly to this? I am in no way politically affiliated, nor do I honestly care about politics (I believe that the less you know the better) however Enda Kenny has been a breath of fresh air. He has made some extremely difficult decisions and all without making a fool of himself. Whatever you think of the man personally, look at his work. Out of all of the countries who are in economic trouble we are performing impeccably. Our country is still a respected European economy (Unlike Greece and increasingly Spain) a reputation that was glued back together by this current government.

People are moaning that no one is marching on the city centre over these issues, truth be told if everyone was struggling so badly they would be marching, the fact is they aren’t and just feel the need to moan about something.

To those who think that Enda appearing on the front cover of Time is a bad thing, put down your copy of The Daily Star and perhaps pick up a copy of Time…you may be pleasantly surprised…and no, there aren’t tits on page 3 of Time.

If you think that it’s difficult to be working or middle class here, go live elsewhere. You will soon find that we have some of the best social safety nets in the world with regards to welfare, education and health.

• What a load off horse-sh*t!! You are probably on the Fianna Gael payroll.

How on earth can you say Kenny is doing a great job??
      What about the promises made Pre-election? Not 1 of his 5 point plan has materialised.

You obviously have your financials in order, have never experienced threatening letters from your local bank over mortgage arrears or have a ill family member sit on a trolley in A&E for 3 days before being looked at????

Yeah our beloved leader is doing a super job alright….can’t wait until Decembers budget to find out what other ways I can pay off unknown bond holders for debt created by senior bank officials and businessmen

• has Neil Lennon been sacked?

• I always liked him and I say that even I know the thumbs will jump down immensly ;-) He is a down to earth guy and he is not out and shouting and making fuss. He is just working away and knows what he is doing. Of course still a politician and difficult to not be lured in that game but he is a quiet good stabile man. i always thought that. And I also know that Ireland will make it. With their ability to live with the simple life and generally their simplicity – It is really a GOOD thing that the boom is gone as Ireland is forced back to what it is – a simple and very spiritual country! I love Ireland and am sure that IRELAND is one of the VERY FEW country who will make it in the NEW AGE which will hit us from 2013!!!

• This government may have inherited the mess we are in but they had lots to say about alternatives before the election, both Fine Gael and Labour. Now they are going around with their heads up their asses looking for ways to tax and deny the poorer classes of any dignity. They have forgotten and reneged on pre-election promises and sometimes I wonder are they in fact practicing ethnic cleansing and euthanasia Mr Times indeed

Add New Comment