TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Good news: eBay to create 450 jobs in Dundalk

The new jobs will be in customer services, sales and compliance.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Jobs Minister Richard Bruton at the announcement of the 450 new eBay jobs this morning
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

ONLINE RETAILER EBAY Inc is to create 450 new jobs in Dundalk, the company has confirmed.

The jobs will be in the areas of customer services, sales and compliance. The announcement was made by Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Jobs Minister Richard Bruton today.

The announcement is a further employment boost for the area: the jobs will be based at an operations centre in Dundalk  alongside the company’s PayPal subsidiary, which last year announced it was to create 1,000 new jobs at the facility.

EBay Inc has been in Ireland since 2003 and currently employs 2,300 people between its PayPal and eBay facilities in Blanchardstown in Dublin and Dundalk Business Campus.

The new jobs were supported by the Department of Jobs and IDA Ireland.

Information about the job vacancies can be found at ebaycareers.com.

Read: EBay’s 4Q performance caps company’s best year yet >

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• Even if this just means more Europeans coming here to work, the knock-on effect for Dundalk business will be good.

I bet people wish they’d focused more on their French/Spanish etc in their Leaving Cert, and kept it up afterwards.

Government should launch language brush-up training courses as a component of their back-to-work initiatives. 6 months intensive oral and aural training, for those who already have the basics but have forgotten, would go a long way to enhance local job prospects.

• This is actually a brilliant idea!

• Genuinely is a great idea!

• Arbitrasure
      We’d have to import the language teachers to achieve that. Have a look at the complete failure to teach our own language to pupils over twelve years of primary and second level education and then look at teacher salaries which are among the highest in Europe and their teaching hours at the lowest levels.
      Strong Unions and kids as human shields !
      We never learn .

• Richard, it’s not the fault of the language teachers, it’s the fault of the curriculum. The syllabus is all about the written language and not the spoken language and that falls with the Department of Education. Only recently have more marks been awarded for the oral Irish exam. Previously it was I think 10-20% so it was pointless teachers ‘training’ students to speak it.

Remember, although we’d all like to speak Irish, when it came to exams you didn’t care as long as you got the marks. The marks were awarded for written. You were taught the written exam even if you didn’t truly understand what you wrote down. You rote learned everything and as pointless as it is, the LC is all about getting good grades and teachers know this. Parents, students and the public would be crying if students weren’t getting the grades and were instead learning the language. If the exam was 60% oral then it would change but again, one teacher teaching 30 students in what can only be called a compromise for a language room? If you want to learn a language you immerse yourself in the language but schools cannot cater for that.

And Richard, teachers in Ireland work the 2nd longest hours in the EU so get your facts straight before you start spouting. And the salaries are pretty low considering other IRISH jobs. Comparing to other countries is rubbish as you don’t take into account standards of living, costs of living etc. But here, social welfare in Ireland is among the HIGHEST in the EU so cut that too while you’re at it.

• Conor
      You must be a teacher and defending the appalling failure to do your job or teach a language obverse a twelve year cycle simply because the syllabus is wrong is about as sick a comment as I have ever heard on the subject.
      So let’s get this correct, you support highe relative pay for teachers because we have high levels of Social Welfare and the cost of living is high and none of this has anything whatever to do with ability to teach or results.
      We may as well reduce teachers pay to Social Welfare levels and get Teachers from the dole queues.
      What an idiot.

• Those very courses are available in……..Dundalk IT. 100 metres from the PayPal campus!

• Eh ….if you’re unemployed you can get ‘tell me more’ online for nothing, go to library in ilac and do group chats with foreigners to learn more etc

I learnt French fluently from being a beginner in one year. Whilst working

No need for teachers really. Needs INITIATIVE by people. Spoon feeding is not necessary!!

• if your not Irish , this is great news altogether ,

• Congrats dundalk

• Ah brilliant news

• Keep ‘em coming Christine

• I Was out there last year when the demolition began on that building with the sanction of the IDA, it was shameful that a building, built by the IDA at a cost of millions ( to the taxpayer) was torn to shreds and basically thrown into a skip, while its great news to new jobs coming online it was a shame to see a brand new building destroyed.

• What building was that. The one in Dundalk where PayPal is located now?

• hilarious!usual misery guts, naysayers on this somehow making out a jobs announcements to be bad…

• Great news,would love my Waterford to get this kind of good news,but sadly I cannot see it for the next few years :-(

• Wahoo! Any job creation is good news

• Great news..well done to all involved in landing these jobs .

• Congrants to Dundalk & the IDA who I am sure had an important hand in obtaining these jobs.

• Its absolutley unbelievable how nasty and vindictive some of you are about the irish language. You use an announcement of jobs in dundalk to spout your usual nonsense about how “useless” irish is. Grow up. Or better yet change the bloody tune.
    As a dundalk native i am thrilled at this job announcement. See that? Thats a normal response to good news.

• It’s simple, why bother setting up 27 call centers across Europe (one per EU country) when you can just setup one in Ireland and then employ native speakers of the relevant European languages. Major savings to be had in comparison. I know if I was ringing in from Oslo I’d prefer to have the call answered by somebody from Bergin or Narvik as oppose to someone from Ireland making a hames of Norwegian.

The end of day the staff will be paying Irish taxes (PAYE/PRSI) and their paypackets will be spent in the local economy.

• Great news for Dundalk. woukd be great if a county like Donegal got a jobs boost like this

• ‘Mon the town!

• Joe Reid 14/02/13 #

Great news and well done for Dundalk and achieved without a seat at cabinet. This is the fifth jobs boast to Dundalk in the two years of this government. How sad that Drogheda does not have an influential TD in this coalition shambles.

• How many of these 450 jobs will Actually appear …. ask around Dundalk, about how FEW of the much touted 1000 jobs have already been handed out by Paypal.

Its amazing how people believe the Headlines that scream 1000 or 450. The reality is that only a Fraction of these promises turn into Real Jobs. Don’t believe it – then pick up a phone, and ask a local.

Whilst ANY new job is a much needed addition for Dundalk; it would be better to announce the Real number of new positions AS they arrive in future, and not in a Political Opportunist mutual back slapping exercise like today.

Considering that eBay are a global entity; then it highly unlikely that they decided on Dundalk because of this week’s promissory note story…. How can any politician feed such Rubbish to the media, and expect us to Believe it.

It’s almost as believable as 1000 jobs.

• Untrue.

• Gerry I have to disagree with you there.

This is brilliant news for Dundalk. Between Paypal and Ebay that will bring there main workforce in Dundalk to 1450 over the next few years, granted not all positions have been filled but Paypal did say last year that theses jobs will come in various stages over the next number of years.

Apart from the Jobs part of it this is also a brilliant endorsement for Dundalk, the town received a lot of negative press in the wake of the killing of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe the Sunday World’s description of Dundalk was a disgrace and uncalled for. The entire town was outraged with this killing. So for a major international company to continue to expand in town goes to prove Nicola Tallagnt and the Sunday World wrong.

As for the ‘Political Opportunist mutual back slapping exercise’ who really cares??? As long as they deliver on their promise to deliver the full 1450 jobs then Dundalk and it’s surrounding economy are the winners.

• Great news, shows the importance of having language skills. Think we should teach a European language in primary school instead of all the time wasted on communion, confirmation & the like, which should be done outside core teaching hours.

• John F 14/02/13 #

Majority of jobs require a european language, not much good for the locals but great news for the local economy!

• if local people want the jobs bad enough they will upskill

• Dundalk has a great IT less than 100 metres from the PayPal campus. Training & producing quality bi-lingual graduates won’t be a problem.

• Scrap Irish and teach European languages in primary schools, you want Irish for your kid then go Gaelscoil

• @Vincent, agree 100%, it’s nonsense that you have to Irish to work in guards etc. Given a choice I would not have had my kids wasting their time learning it. I’d sooner they learned Japanese or Russian, any language that may be USEFUL. If people feel passionately about it, fine speak Irish, but it shouldn’t be forced on those who don’t want to learn it.

• Vincent / John

Last time I looked the only jobs remaining in the country requiring an Honours Leaving Cert in Irish are, Primary Teacher, Second Level Irish Teaching, Third Level Irish Lecturing & Law

For Second Level & 3rd Level Honours Irish is understandable, you must be able to teach Irish at that level.

Law is totally understandable as English is the joint language of the state so laws must be written in Irish.

I do however have a problem requiring our Primary Teachers to have Honours Irish in the Leaving Cert as;
      1. They will never be required in their teaching careers to teach at that level.
      2. We do not require our Primary Teachers to also have Honours Leaving Cert’s, in English & Maths, the other two main subjects of the curriculum, never mind Honours in History, Geography, and Music etc.

I always found it strange that when teachers did not want students to know what they were talking about the spoke in Irish.

I would like to know how much of the Education budget is spent teaching of Irish and how many jobs are created as result of this “investment” in Irish.

• Japanese or Russian? Really? Japan is a long faded economic power now being eclipsed by south Korea and Russia has little economy outside of natural resources so I doubt either would be beneficial to learn for the future

• @Gavin, still languages used and used by 100′s of millions of people, unlike Irish. So regardless how unlikely it is that they may be of use (my orignal point) Irish will be of no value to them in the real world + they’ll have wasted (in my opinion) probably more than 10% of their schooling on it.

• sean 14/02/13 #

It is good news for the town , however how many will be recruited on job-bridge which they have been doing on an on going basis since q4 of 2012 ,
    My cv already gone in , need to get working back home asap , travelling to and from dub everyday is crippling me

• Very welcome jobs yes but?! As these jobs require multiple EU language skills and Ireland has one of worst records in EU for language skills, we have to ask why they are locating here?? Tax?

• Are these jobs the same jobs PayPay announced last yr for Dundalk or different jobs altogether????

• How much tax will the company pay or is it just the workers who pay tax never the profit maker as they fumble in their greasy tills

• Joe Reid 14/02/13 #

Thomas Francis Meagher you are correct O Dowd is a junior minister and obviously has no influence in the coalition shambles. Drogheda people complained for years that Dermot Ahern was responsible for targeting employment and business initiatives for Dundalk. Drogheda people elected two local TD’s O Dowd and Nash in the last election, Ahern has retired on his large pension pot and still Dundalk get all the new jobs.

• Anyone got figures for how many irish citizens e-bay employs here?

• Jangles 14/02/13 #

oh yea that kind of information is just lying around. What number is satisfactory to you 50%? 60? 80?
      Is a Spaniard’s PAYE worth less to the exchequer than an Irish mans. Welcome to the EU, freedom of work and movement goes both ways since we joined in the seventies. Irish are free to gain employment in UK, Germany etc. without natives keeping the jobs for themselves. The jobs will go to the best qualified.

• A good week for jons ; E bay 450 minus hmv 400 = 50 jobs net ….. 1 per week this year ….cool ! …what’s our birth rate again !

• keyesbob 14/02/13 #

In regards to the training in foreign languages: Those promoting this idea for its economics do not understand why companies locate call centres in Ireland. Ireland is valued for the excellent command the Irish have for the English language. In addition to good skills and a good work ethic, it is a low-cost country for international corporations to operate. However, there are other, lower cost countries within which to operate for other languages. In the case of Spanish, this could be done on the cheap in Central and South America, but Spaniards may have trouble with the different versions of Spanish spoken in those countries. The economic collapse has been particularly difficult for Spain, so I would image that companies would find it worthwhile to hire native Spanish speakers in Spain. I believe similar economics would hold for France and French-speaking countries, with the exception that France has a better economy. Perhaps if an Irishman learned Dutch, or German, they could find an economic niche within which to operate. However, they will NEvER be as good at the language as a native speaker. Additionally, many of these countries now have intensive training in English, much moreso than Ireland has in other languages. I would encourage workers at these call centres to work on their technical skills, and ability to easily understand a variety of accents in the English language, (English, Indian, American, Australian, Scots, Canadian), instead of labouring under the false belief that acquiring skills in a second language will mean the person has better job prospects.

Add New Comment