TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Taoiseach: Bank debt deal will be dealt with by Finance Minister next year

Enda Kenny has said his meeting with Angela Merkel today will not be about making a decision on a deal for Ireland’s legacy bank debt.

Enda Kenny speaking in a video posted to the Irish Government News Service, MerrionStreet.ie
Image: Screengrab via YouTube/MerrionStreet.ie

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that discussions on a deal regarding Ireland’s legacy bank debt will be conducted by the Minister for Finance Michael Noonan throughout 2013.

Ahead of a meeting with German chancellor Angela Merkel in Berlin today, Kenny has said that today’s discussions will revolve around Ireland’s presidency of the EU, which begins on 1 January, and ‘The Gathering’ project.

In a video recorded for MerrionStreet.ie, Kenny notes the joint communique issued by Merkel and himself last month regarding Ireland’s ‘special’ status when it comes to dealing with its €64 billion in legacy bank debt.

But he said that the matter – concerning whether or not Ireland can access eurozone bailout funds to retroactively capitalise banks – will not be up for discussion today despite pressure from opposition parties for the matter to be dealt with more promptly in order to ease the debt burden.

Kenny said: “Our meeting today is not about making a decision on a deal for Irish bank debt. That matter will be discussed and negotiated by the Minister for Finance during the course of 2013.”

Watch the full message:

YouTube: MerrionStreetNews

Guten Morgen: Enda Kenny to meet Angela Merkel in Berlin today

Read next:

Comments (93 Comments)

• I’d rather if it was discussed now please!

• Still hiding behind a camera and still refusing to be questioned live on issues! Officially the most spineless taoiseach

• It will be dealth with ONLY after Germany elect their new Government in August 2013, so that means we MIGHT know what is going to happen this time next year, but more like 2014.

• After the seismic shift as claimed at the end of June by Kenny we were told October was the date. That was then moved to the end of this year and now Kenny is saying sometime in 2013. Anyone else seeing a pattern? Seems we are being thrown a few crumbs for comfort while meanwhile more money is paid to bondholders.

• Kenny has a job to do concerning the Presidency. The fact that this is under discussion today is normal. Please stop the continuous bleating . The Finance people will deal with the horrible issue of the Banks. Can you not understand the simple logistics? In fairness , this Government inherited a lousy hand of cards to play, everyone appreciates that.

• We also appreciate that the hand the government was dealt did not force kenny to overblow the june declaration and did not force kenny to claim a deal would be done in october. Its on kenny and noonan rory, stop passing the buck

• Did I mention a word about the EU presidency? Rory I’m not the one who in June claimed a seismic shift in EU policy or put October out as an important date for the alleged bank bailout. Maybe it would be better if Kenny stopped the bleating and spin?

• Rory, that excuse has worn out. We all know they inherited a lousy hand but did they have to keep playing the same game?

• Cut your pay and pension Enda. When the worst despots in Africa raid their countries coffers for millions we call it theft. When it happens in Ireland it’s called an “entitlement”

• Hope is a good breakfast but a poor supper .
    Enda all your promises have amounted to nothing. We are worse off from having elected you.

• @kerry – This will rumble on and on until we have paid the unsecured bond holders back. Its pure spin.

The german banks are squeezing us because they know we wont protest in great numbers.

• Red Ed 01/11/12 #

Ps The gathering!!! Who would want to return to a country that forced them to leave. Im tired of these gimmicks keeping people from the real story

• You spin us right round, Enda
    Right round like a record,Enda
    Right round, round, round
    You spin us right round, Enda
    Right round like a record, Enda
    Right round, round, round.

Spinmeister

• Enda Kenny has absolutely no ability to understand never mind negotiate our banking system.

• That’s it Enda, lead from the back. You are worth every penny that we pay you.

• So, the deal was promised by kenny and noonan for october, and now the first day after october, the deal is re-promised for 2013.

Has there ever been a more cretinous and ineffectual leader?

• After they qualify for their pensions and bolt, when the whole lie is exposed.

• The gathering . Discuss the project!? Oh sweet mother of lord leaping Jesus! Time to bring the gun into politics Nd straighten their backs !

• Snap election is what we need, but again this will never happen in the isle of zombies who are scared of protesting their anger of an incompetent party.

Many people have said this before on this site, but its true

“In other countries the government is afraid of the people, in Ireland the people are afraid of the goverment”

• There should be a vote of no confidence in this government as they have delivered nothing.

• And what, pray tell, would a snap election yield?

• John 01/11/12 #

So true, a nation of harmless brainwashed obedient sheep…these shower of bast**ds wouldn’t be accepted anywhere else in the world

• Come on now guys, instead of spouting populist rhetoric and red-thumbing everything that isn’t explicitly anti-government, why not provide a well thought out answer on what exactly an election, if held tomorrow, would yield?

Or am I “barking up the wrong tree” here in expecting something more than just ranting and soapboxing?

• snooch 01/11/12 #

It was the same bull before the last referendum. You lads are in the minority. Anti establishment nonsense with nothing else to so other than spout crap on forums all day.

If there was a snap election we’d have the same results (Other than labour). Because 90% of us are ordinary people trying to get by and do our bit to getting this country back to normal.

• As was said “As empty vessels make the loudest sound, so they that have the least wit are the greatest blabbers”, something which a cursory glance at the comments made on the business/politics/economy articles here can confirm.

Anonymous aliases spouting anti-Government, anti-establishment and indeed, quite anti-Irish comments, which fail to stand up to the most gentle prodding. Brave enough to call for heads and protests, yet not brave enough to put their name to it and then the same people have the gall to call Irish people “cowards” and “sheep” for essentially not rioting?

And yet, populist, anti-Government rhetoric is all the parties these people support offer the country also which is why, election after election, we see the parties in question failing to gain any traction. I’ve little doubt that these are calls to anarchy and disorder merely for the sake of it, without any thought as to the damage it would do the country nationally and indeed internationally both immediately and for the foreseeable future.

You’re absolutely right, “snooch”, an election tomorrow would most likely yield the same or similar result. Support for FG remains almost the same as pre-election, Labour have only dropped a few points, FF have risen seemingly and SF remain the same fringe group they will always be.

We have a broken economy and a broken, over-bloated political system where we tolerate such nonsense as the “whip system”. An election tomorrow would solve neither. Riots or “mass protests” as they’re being disguised as by some here will also solve neither and both measures would come at a massive cost to the taxpayer.

But hey, why let those nasty things called “facts” stand in the way of a good rant, or the opportunity to spout some stuff about “Edna” from behind your computer, from an anonymous account, for some backslappings similar members of what amounts to a tiny, fringe element of society?

• Well said, Richard.

All I see in the comments sections of these articles is people demanding that “TDs work for free/minimum wage/whatever”, or that politicians are all liars and should be put in jail, or saying stuff like “whatever way the government say to vote, I’ll do the exact opposite.” No matter what the government does, people here will find something to whinge about, regardless.

Yesterday we saw the article about Gardaí getting segways. People whinged that this as a waste of taxpayer’s money, and never bothered to check where the segways actually came from (hint: not the taxpayer). I saw someone comment that the money should be spent on giving the Gardaí gym memberships. But I guarantee that if an article popped up that said that gym memberships were actually given, they’d still be complaining.

Snide bickering and should, should, should, should is all I see Yet these people contribute absolutely *nothing* to the discussion, and are providing zero help to the situation we’re in.

• Ok…Lets have a snap election Zombie!!!! What will the outcome be?? FG will still have 70 plus seats…FF will gain seats. Labour will suffer and the rest will probally stay where they are… Whats happens then?? Enda Kenny will be chief again…and will have to decide whether he goes with Labour or FF….
      Or maybe you think there will be a left wave and SF will all of a sudden be relevant!!!! Very doubtful thankfully

• @Declan, You must have a powerful crystal ball? How many seats did FF have after the last election, compared to before it? You have to admire the Blind Loyalty of FG followers, their best defence is personal Insults!

• Stephen, can you go ahead and detail the personal insults on this particular article directed from Fine Gael supporters towards other people please, because I’m not seeing any?

In fact, what is on display is horrendously written diatribe directed towards the Government and the “sheep” or “zombies” who aren’t explicitly against them. The same behaviour, you will note, that is witnessed from those who support the “No” campaigns in every referendum.

Indeed, if you were to take a better look than it appears you have, you will see that it is those who are anti-Government or anti-establishment that not only fling insults, including some that are bizarrely sexually charged, at those who simply don’t share their opinion but also turn up to legitimate protests and incite violence both against one another and against, again, those who simply don’t share their opinions for simply not sharing their opinion.

Not only that, you and others appear to equate those who are not explicitly anti-Government as being a “FG follower”. It isn’t so black and white, Stephen, do you understand that?

But again, hey, why let “facts” stand in the way, eh?

• That’s not a personal insult.

You have to admire the blindness of those who can’t see common sense, their best defense is calling anyone who disagrees with them a FG follower.

• censored 01/11/12 #

And yet the FF/FG/Labor apologists have only dug us deeper into the hole, in spite of having the power and responsibility to make changes. Sheep should not boast of being the majority, especially while they’re en-route to the slaughterhouse.

• excellent commentry Richard…
      Stephen….why don’t you tell us what way you think a snap election would roll??

• I can’t argue on that point Richard, you are right!

• Declan- Well i’ll have a go, an election will be called after the Budget at least or after Merkel gets re-elected at most. Angela will turn around and say, Sorry lads but no deal and thanks for being quiet up to my re-election. When that happens you will see a lot of new faces running for the Dail then, who’ll get elected is anyone’s guess?

• Richard- I have been looking for some of the insults, have they been deleted? I know one earlier towards myself, was deleted. I am afraid, I can’t point one out to you on that point?

• Will there be a referendum on this proposed banking union?

No doubt it will be linked to the debt deal, FG need to have something to cajole another yes vote out of us.

• Dermot
      That’s not a bad idea.

• The proposed wording has been published in Draft form:

1 The State recognises and affirms the natural and imprescriptible rights of all bankers and shall, as far as practicable, by its laws protect and vindicate those rights.

2 1° In exceptional cases, regardless of their monetary status or because of, where bankers fail in their duty to such extent that the safety or welfare of banks is likely to be prejudicially affected, the State as guardian of the common good shall, by proportionate means as provided by law or just a nod and a wink, endeavour to supply the place of the bankers, but always with due regard for the natural and imprescriptible rights of the banker.

• Then It’ll be put off until 2014 then 2015…then the excuses will start and they’ll trot of into retirement with pensions that are multiples of a workers wage. But lets be honest…we voted them in a stood by while they tossed their promises in the bin and turned their backs on us to appease Angela and protect the banks, bankers and bondholders.

• oi Kenny your a jackass

• Don’t forget to pack a spare underpants Enda as you will no doubt soil the ones you have on you when you meet herself….

• Kick it into the next century for all we care enda. We know you are a traitor with the rest of this government so say whatever you like before you are annihilated in the next election or before it hopefully.

• They will be annihalated at the next election, but it will be with a huge pension to fall back on. That’s all they are wangling for now, just get the qualification period out the way then all their worries are over.Morals ,decency honesty or self respect are completely alien to the vast majority of politicians of every party.

• Sounds like our vote for democracy has now been put under question due to the powers of EU banking supervisors! Vote No now before the damage is done! June referendum was forced politics and again will be under fire with extreme pressure to force another deal in 2013 for unconstitutional banking supervisors telling us the Irish people how to spend the meager amount of ADL money! You think cuts in public spending will be affected , think again, private sector will collapse and there goes the system due to the unthinkable proceesses within the system! Flawed, flawed, flawed! And illegal! Enda may be seeking EU presidency therefore a huge conflict of interest is on the horizon for People of Ireland in regards to our Sovereignty, Democracy and Constitution! Please vote for “NO more Austerity”! it’s going to cripple Ireland and the life as we now it! Do not let banking politics get in the way of our freedom for life! Vote “freedom for life” v.s the big sellout!

• Red Ed 01/11/12 #

It’s got to the stage that nothing our government does surprises me anymore but this is one of those decisions that may seriously affect us. We should be out on the streets in huge numbers.

• That God we are all on the ‘road together’…

• Why am I not surprised ! . I wouldn’t expect anything else from this man.He and his cohorts are too wrapped up in the upcoming eu presidentship to think about the Irish nation.

• That a boy enda you hob nob with your eu buddies talking waffle while this country is on it’s knees about to take another big hit in the next budget

• Just keep pushing the boat out Enda until there’s an election, and you retire comfortably on a huge salary. Then the next shower of numpty’s (who are only in politics to look after number 1 and nothing else) whoever they may be will keep going on about how they ‘inherited this mess from fianna gael’ and how ‘fianna gael should’ve got a bank deal when they were in charge’ etc etc etc…..all the usual political bullsh#t that all of us seem to swallow time and time again.

• Or the year after, it will be dealt with when we have paid all back, what a joke and we are worse for believing the spin

• Another staged propaganda address from our dear leader.

• The Campaign against the Household Tax (CAHWT) is the only viable defence the people of Ireland currently have against the looting of our country to pay for gambling losses of the infinitely greedy banks and financiers.

The current Austerity program being implemented by the government under instruction from the ECB and IMF is the means by which Irish citizens will be forced to pay for the Bank Bailout. The Household tax is one strand of this austerity program in addition to multiple attacks on the income of ordinary people implemented in recent budgets and the numerous cutbacks to our social support structures. These measures will soon be followed by the introduction of property and water taxes and further cutbacks to social welfare.

The CAHWT is currently focused on fighting the introduction of the Household tax which is one aspect of the austerity program. The campaign should consider broadening its objective to address the source of the nation’s economic plight in addition to the symptoms.

The cause of our current financial crisis is the socialisation of the banking debt whereby the Irish people have been forced to pay the gambling losses of reckless financial institutions. This loading of private debt on to the national balance sheet is utterly indefensible and has made economic recovery impossible.

Therefore, the removal of this illegitimate debt from ordinary Irish people is vital to the future of our country. The previous and present governments have categorically failed in their duty to the Republic in relation to the banking crisis and so the people must protect themselves. The CAWHT has achieved massive public support in the past year and this momentum could be used to defend the rights and interests of the Irish people. One powerful tool that the CAHWT could utilise in defence of the people is a Mortgage Boycott.

The proposal is a National Mortgage Strike with two demands:

1. No more funding of the banks from the States’ resources for any reason.
    2. The State is reimbursed for the banking debt that has already been paid to date.

Demand 1. Unfortunately a significant proportion of the bondholders have already been paid off at this stage thanks to the abject surrender of the last and present governments in the face of ECB demands and threats. There are however enormous sums still being paid to bondholders on a daily basis and this haemorrhage needs to stop. (See the Bondwatch Blog from Diarmuid O Flynn to see the huge losses we are suffering every day). On top of this there is still the €31billion of promissory notes to be paid and the interest which amounts to €47 billion approximately. We can’t allow any of this money to be paid. Heaped on this again are the billions we have pumped into NAMA which is just another bank bailout under a different mask. All this looting of the nation needs to stop immediately.

Demand 2. The money we paid to date to honour the bank bonds had disappeared back into the global financial casino and is gone for good. But there are ways to recoup our losses if the government was brave and radical enough. The figures are not entirely clear but since the banks extorted the blanket bank guarantee from Brian Lenihan in Sept 2008 there has been at least €64 billion directly taken from the Irish people and pumped into the banks. On top of this is NAMA which has taken €72 billion worth of bad loans off the banks’ balance sheets. We will be very lucky if we recoup 50% of this, so let’s say another loss of €35 billion. That leaves a conservative estimate of €100 billion which has been extorted from the Irish people so far.

Even the most conservative establishment and commentators now agree that the ECB exceeded its authority when it demanded that Ireland repay the bank bondholder in full. Ireland may have a legal case it can take to the European Court of Justice in relation to this. Therefore the first port of call for the government should be Europe with a demand for repayment for the banking debt that was illegitimately imposed on us.

Another way to recover the money stolen from us would be to take ownership of the bank’s Mortgage Book in return for the state aid which the banks extorted from the country. Again the figures are not entirely clear but we have pumped approximately €20billion into AIB/EBS at this point. The government could immediately take ownership of that €20billion figure in performing mortgages and direct the monthly income stream to finance the country and help reduce our deficit. The bond money has disappeared but there is still real wealth in the banks in the form of bricks and mortar which can be leveraged to help the people.
    If the loss of some or all of the mortgage book results in the collapse of AIB/EBS then so be it. We will step in and take control of the retail banking network to keep the branches and ATMs open etc. We own the bank almost entirely now so we can take as much of the retail banking system as we need to serve the country. After the deposits have been moved to the new state retail bank, the remainder of the bank can be liquidated and divided up among the creditors or sold to an interested party. The same policy would be applied to all of the failed banks. Essentially we would extract our national stake from the banks through the housing/property stock, take the banking infrastructure that we need to support the people and dump the rest.
    We need to stop the charade that the Irish banks are functioning financial institutions providing the normal banking services such as credit to the economy. They are not and they may never be again. This is an unprecedented crisis and we need to take complete control of the banks and exploit them to ensure the survival of the nation. What the government have done so far is to nationalise/socialise the debts of the banking system while allowing the banks to retain control of their assets. We need to reverse this position and nationalise the assets of the banks to save our republic.
    The poetic justice of a Mortgage Strike is that it would directly target the Banks who bear a large portion of the responsibility for breaking the country. The recent property bubble amounted to a enormous theft from Irish people where hundreds of thousands of people have been saddled with huge debt just to put a modest roof over their heads (in most cases) An insider elite of landholders, developers and bankers became enormously wealthy on the back of this bubble while the political class encouraged the stampede. This debt is now a millstone around our necks but it could be used as our most effective weapon to drive real change for the better in how this country is governed.
    A Mortgage Boycott would force this government to finally begin to meet their responsibility to the Irish people instead of pandering to the infinitely greedy banks. This would involve a large number of people withholding their mortgage repayments until the government meets the 2 demands outlined above. As the Irish state now owns most of the Irish banking system, the impact on the government would be immediate and substantial.

The protest should insist on a mortgage freeze for the duration of the Strike so that people are relieved of the burden of paying their mortgages without any penalty until a satisfactory conclusion is reached.
    So for example if a person’s outstanding mortgage total is €200,000 to be paid over a 20 year period then this is the amount and timeframe which will apply when the boycott is over. The withheld monthly payments would not be transferred over to the banks at the end of the strike but would instead be paid at the back end of the mortgage term when people’s finances should hopefully have improved.
    The freeze would have the advantage of easing the financial pressure on the people striking while increasing the impact on the financial institutions and the government by depriving them of income for the duration of the strike and with no prospect of receiving the outstanding money until people reach the end of their mortgage terms. No penalties, additional interest or any financial sanction would be accepted from the Banks or the strike would continue.
    Obviously, it would take a significant number of people to commit to the action for this to be effective but it should be possible to kick start the protest with the full resources and momentum of the CAHWT. Momentum for the civil disobedience is achievable with so many people already under serious financial pressure thanks to the greed and stupidity of our banking and political elite and other vested interests. The Central Bank’s figures to June 2012 show that 10.9 per cent, or 83,251 out of 761,000, of Irish home loans were in arrears and all told, 168,000 mortgages were in some form of financial difficulty.
    With these figures, a reasonable target might be in the region of 250,000 mortgage holders who are prepared to sign up and commit. When the target figure has been reached the protest would begin the following month and continue until the government undertakes to stop rewarding the failed bondholder gamblers with our money and future.
    Our past and present governments have signed up the Irish people to foot the bill for the banking collapse to the tune of €100 Billion and counting. FG and Labour will tear the heart out of this country with vicious cutbacks and tax increases to pay for this robbery while our young people look at an empty future and emigrate in their tens of thousands. This is wrong and has to stop.
    It’s time the government realised that they rule the Irish people only through our consent and they do not have our permission to bleed the country dry to provide a transfusion to the parasite financial elite.

• one hopes mr kenny has his knee pads with him,, all the grovelling to merkle must be taking a toll on his knees,,, the man is a waste of a heartbeat

• Mumma Merkyl said we could have some sweeties if we were very good boys and did our homework pillaging the little people of Ireland until they do something MORE THAN BLOODY TALK ABOUT IT.

• When we find out, that no Bank Debt Deal is going to happen. Then It’s time to leave Europe, or have a vote on our future in the EU!

• Nydon 01/11/12 #

Bank debt deal? I thought that was already sorted to everyone’s satisfaction?
    http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/aib-uses-pension-bailout-to-pay-exchiefs-up-to-500k-3279532.html

• Fianna Fail’s auction politics have signed us up for debt that the blueshirts are gutless to correct.

• Well done Enda……You are full of hot air and have absolutely no back bone. Your dismal leadership skills are holding true. Passing the buck to Mr. Noonan I see.
    “No taxation without representation” is just a phrase I guess!

• Thanks for that bit of news Enda. Makes my plans for emigration that bit easier knowing the country is DEFINITELY screwed.

• Nozaed 01/11/12 #

Well done Enda, your doing a great job and also getting back our good reputation abroad.

Add New Comment