TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

ESRI: Austerity is working – and there are few other alternatives

In a report published today, the think-tank forecast that Ireland’s economy will grow by 0.9 per cent this year.

Image: Eric Skiff via Flickr/Creative Commons

IRELAND’S ECONOMY WILL grow by 0.9 per cent this year but the unemployment rate will stabilise at around 14 per cent, economists at the ESRI have predicted.

The Economic and Social Research Institute has also said the austerity measures over the past four years are having a positive impact which can be seen in the improvement in the public finances. The report noted that there are very few alternative open to the government to stimulate growth.

In its Quarterly Economic Commentary published today, the ESRI said that it expects the eurozone will continue to “muddle through” the ongoing turmoil in the region. The report says that the reaction of the private sector to the crisis will be a key factor in Ireland’s economic recovery.

The Institute forecast that Ireland’s export growth will slow down in 2012 compared with previous years.

The Irish economy returned to modest growth in 2011 with an increase in real GDP of about 0.9 per cent, the report estimates. It predicts that this economy growth will continue but remain muted.

The ESRI also warned that while austerity measures are helping to correct the public finances, they are causing a slowdown in economic activity.

Consumer expenditure is forecast to remain relatively stable in 2012.

The report also includes the first forecast from the think-tank for economy activity in 2013, which it believes will see an increase in GDP of 2.3 per cent and an unemployment rate of 13.7 per cent.

Taoiseach meets Angela Merkel and ‘Super Mario’ >

Government unveils scheme to get unemployed back to work >

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• Wait for the ‘ revised downward forecast’ in about six months

• Forecasting is for the weather man! When it comes to the economy, no one has any idea what’s going to happen in the near future! Idle speculation is all it is…

• Growth predictions revised downwards in 6 months ? It’s usually every 3 months. But it’s hardly surprising as the ESRI & every other mainstream economist is accepting economic forecasting models that are based on completely flawed assumptions as to how the real macro economy works. This is why they did not have the vaguest clue anything was wrong mere weeks before the ‘crash’. Have they addressed any of these issues since? Not at all. Why would they, the top few percent who have controlled all this for years & thoroughly captured economics education institutions, are doing very nicely, thankyou.

It really is that bad. If you want to find out why, read Prof Steve Keen’s work here: (One of the very few who did make accurate predictions of the crash, and had a solid methodology for doing so – ie not a lucky guesser.)

http://www.debtdeflation.com/blogs/

Note to the Journal author of this article.

When writing about ‘growth’ or economic output for Ireland, +please+ do not just talk about it in terms of (total) output – GDP. Uniquely in the Eurozone, Ireland’s foreign (MNC) owned export sector is huge – some 5 times greater, at least, relative to the whole economy compared to any other country. This skews the GDP figures massively and masks what is really going on. This sector’s ‘inputs’ are largely imported with very little added value for Ireland except labour, and profits are also exported. Moreover, it tends to be more capital intensive & not job rich. The ‘growth’ in the sector that has given the illusion of some recovery has been mostly a ‘rebound’ phenomenon & there are even some serious downside risks related to expiring patents in the pharma sector that comprises over 50% of these MNC exports.

GNP (Gross National Product), that strips out much of the MNC export sector is a far more crucial & relevant measure of economic activity for Ireland & should +always+ be discussed alongside GDP to get a balanced picture. You will find that the GNP figures actually reflect what is really going on in the jobs market (still tanking) & what our real prospects are, given that most families incomes are dependant on the domestic, not MNC export sector.

If you find that ESRI or others only want to talk about GDP, they are most assuredly trying to ‘spin’ a PR line for the policies Ireland has adopted.

• The ESRI have been getting it woefully wrong for years:: http://shar.es/g7TUi

• Ciaro 24/02/12 #

Now that the The Economic and Social Research Institute has commented on the Economic element, perhaps they would be so good as to comment on the Social element?

• The ESRI is not Objective nor Independent perhaps akin to an embedded Ratings Agency for their Government. The question “Am I doing a good job?” is usually answered in the affirmative.

• Neil 24/02/12 #

Unemployment is over 14%. On average 5 businesses a day become insolvent. Cut backs in health are having a detrimental effect.

But if you exclude that then perhaps austerity is working…

• Neil 24/02/12 #

While this will look like schizophrenia I do need to ask what your solution is that avoid both borrowing and austerity, considering that one third of the cost of PS pay and SW is being paid for by borrowing from the troika?
      We can avoid borrowing, or we can avoid austerity. But we can´t avoid both.
      So what´s your plan?

• Neil, you know as well as I do that asking for an alternative to austerity that allows us to continue to provide services, social welfare and current levels of public pay now and into the future is never going to be met with a rational or feasible alternative.

• Neil 24/02/12 #

@Donal
      I know, but I´m going to keep asking the question. Too many people are getting away with claiming that we can avoid borrowing while increasing spending and avoiding new taxes.

• Neil, I could have sworn Greece were just let off €130 billion, but no, you are right, we should just pay back every red cent that every Tom, Dick and Harry decided to risk in our ludicrous no gamble economy, cos feck it, the moronic tax payers will just pay it back anyway.

• Keith – you want to be Greece? Are you on drugs?

Also, forget the banks and the bondholders, regardless of them we have a massive gap between income and spending.

• Neil 24/02/12 #

@Keith
      Most of our national debts are from the government spending more than it takes in taxes. Most of our borrowing is from the government spending more than it takes in taxes.

We can tell the troika that we´re not going to take responsibility for the bank debts, but who do we then borrow from to cover the government spending? The bond markets? At what interest rate?

• I do not wish to be Greece, but I would like you lot to realise that there are other options, austerity is choking the economy and is a vicious cycle increasing unemployment and reducing the amount of taxes the State takes in. I agree that PS and SW should be reduced, but I think this should be done at a slower and more manageable rate than you lot would wish for, this could be achieved if we weren’t having to pay regularar massive payments to a completely unsustainable debt. Why are you so keen for those that took advantage of our weak government to profit from the misery of Irish people?

• Keith, less austerity = more Government spending of money we do not have.

The ERSI report confirms that despite everything austerity is not choking the economy. When we started down this road 3/4 years ago, the likes of Jack O’Conner predicted that austerity would lead to a deflation death spiral. This has not happened.

Not paying all out debts means our external funding gets cut off.

I don’t like having to pay for the mistakes of Anglo etc. any more than anyone else; however, I have yet to hear a rational alternative as to how we can avoid doing so. Just deciding to do so unilaterally would be a sovereign default, blocking us off from the markets for 10 or more years, and we would also be blocked off from the EFFS money. This would mean massive and immediate austerity.

• You are all quite right, we should not be spending money we do not have, so why are we paying back 100% to unsecured lenders? Significant reduction of debts is needed, and at some point WILL be given.

• Keith – that is not completely the case, junior bondholders have taken massive losses.

We are paying back all senior bondholders because the only people who will currently lend us money are making it a precondition that we do so.

If we get a good deal on the promissory note, our debt will become sustainable.

• Donal
      Are you for real ? A ”good deal on the promissory note ” .You do realise that this promissory note is to a DEAD BANK. I am sure you know right from wrong and ,black from white and up from down …….
      So why is it you believe that we should all suffer to keep the very wealthy very wealthy ?
      If we must suffer austerity then let us suffer it by doing what is right and not by paying off dead banks,and very wealthy bankers etc oh and don’t forget the UNsecured bond holders……
      Why should I or my children do without so that some fat cat’s child can get another coat / shoes/ or get taken to a concert etc,.
      It is NOT my debt. The ESRI could not predict the color of grass………..

• Eileen,

Where did I say that we should all suffer to keep the very wealthy very wealthy?

Fat cat? Please, take some anti-cliche pills or something. The banks and bondholders are only part of our problem. We grew our spending on the basis of property tax income that no longer exists and will never come back. We have to cut spending and raise taxes no matter what.

The real question is, what is your alternative? One that keeps the lights on.

• PS Donal
      I forgot to mention we need a growth in Employment .
      Make Interim Jobs . There are so many unemployed construction workers
      out there on the live register …. Create jobs for these lads and lasses.

• We need jobs for the unemployed
      Low capital.
      Jobs should be created for the workforce .
      Then start retraining programmes
      And as for the fat cat comments ….
      Well manners prevents me from calling them what they really are .
      But Donal , Please answer me this . Are you prepared to allow your loved ones
      do without unnecessarily to increase the pile in some very wealthy ”fatcats” bank or bank account , for the
      sake of ”looking ”good ?
      I will do with out if it means getting ourselves out of this awful mess ,but not while we are lining others pockets.
      Raising taxes never solved a recession . We need Employment .

• Eileen,

Any large construction project has to out to a tender that any European construction company can put in for.

Personally, I would rather that we try and keep teachers in schools rather than building any white elephants.

Also, any major construction projects have to get Troika approval.

• paul mc 24/02/12 #

Remember Michael Howard on Paxman? “Did you threaten to overrule him?” and all that.

Fourteen times, he asked that question. Fourteen. And not once did he get a response. Instead, he got a full-show demonstration of all the things people hate about politicians, from ducking to diving, squirming to swerving, and basically pulling every move available in order to avoid answering the question.

I hope the people who continually refuse to answer the “what next” question, the people who abhor austerity and balk at the bailout and detest debt while never even hinting at the idea of an alternative, are aware that this is exactly how they come across.

• Eileen,

Of course we need to increase employment. However, if we do things like attack people or business with capital then foreign investment will cease or trickle off to nothing. It is people and organizations with capital who create jobs. However, increasing employment doesn’t solve our immediate problems of keeping the lights on.

And it’s not a question of ‘looking good’ – far from it. It is simply that we have to do as we are told if we want to continue to access external funding.

Again, I ask you to explain how we continue to provide services, social welfare and current levels of public pay now and into the future without doing what we are currently doing.

• Donal this is the problem right there
      Who said anything about BIG constructions.
      Think small , local community based schemes.
      What comes to mind ?
      ”Any large construction project has to out to a tender that any European construction company can put in for.
      Personally, I would rather that we try and keep teachers in schools rather than building any white elephants.
      Also, any major construction projects have to get Troika approval.”
      This is a BULLSHIT comment and You sir are a trouble maker and UNREASONABLE .I have children to collect from school . Good day.

• Sound Eileen – you keep on going NAHNAHNAHNAHNAHNAH and refuse to answer the question.

• paul mc 24/02/12 #

Did you threaten to overrule him?

• Donal
      ” It is simply that we have to do as we are told if we want to continue to access external funding.”

Do as we are told !! … That is a pathetic argument !
      Do as we are told…..| I have heard it all now .
      When has that ever solved anything ?
      Oh I get it now …..It is the teacher pupil thing just like your little leader Mr Kenny…..
      You have not answered one of my questions .
      I can understand if you are afraid , but if you say enough is enough
      then that fear will go .
      Chance it . It is liberating ! :) :) Bye !

• Eileen, you didn’t ask any questions that I didn’t answer but as per usual you refuse to answer the below question.

I ask you to explain how we continue to provide services, social welfare and current levels of public pay now and into the future without doing what we are currently doing.

Also, your responses are becoming juvenile. I always try to remain civil and not resort to personal insults, even if I strongly disagree with what you are saying.

• The thing is ”Donal” ??
      I have answered as have many other people answered you .
      You are the one who refuses to answer anything I have put to you .
      So there can not be a reasonable discussion with you.
      Like I said Have a good day !
      I am glad that I will stand up and be counted
      and not somebody who will do nothing only what they are told to do :) :)

• Why when talking about the troika and borrowing everyone seems to mention SW, why not for once mention the ones who are immune to austerity and remain untouched by recession and how much of the troika money goes into their wages, expenses and other perks they receive by virtue of being career politicians?.

• jj 24/02/12 #
  • iBob101 24/02/12 #

How accurate has the ESRI been in the past? Really accurate or completely rubbish? Where’s the list of previous ESRI predictions against how things turned out? If you can’t be bothered checking how predictions turn out you shouldn’t publish predictions at all.

• Works for who? Not the man or woman with a mortgage with 2 kids trying to survive. Must be the political ‘elite’ and their friends it’s working for…. 3500 on laundry expenses anyone?

• Here’s a clip wherein Bertie rejects some rather negative findings from the ESRI during the boom years.

Now I’ll warn you all: if you regularly comment on thejournal.ie, you probably have two firmly held beliefs:
    1) I AM SO MAD AT WHAT THIS ARTICLE SAYS
    2) I HATE BERTIE AHERN

This video may cause those two views to come into mutual conflict, and thereby cause your head to explode. So watch at your own peril.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THWbrFy5NWM

• franco 24/02/12 #

Predictions are for someone with crystal balls ..

• Austerity is working and is necessary to tackle the ongoing a difference between Govt spending and income.

Regardless of bank recapitalisation costs, no state can continue to spend more money than is coming in.

The main failing of the Govt is allowing Labour damage the cuts:tax ratio in favour of more taxes

• The ERSI should take a long walk off a short pier!!!

• The only reason we will grow by 0.9 percent is because forecasted exports are still strong. Eurozone crisis is working for exporters because a weak euro gives a better return for there investment. austerity is not working it is crippling Irish business and employment prospects for indigenous businesses that are not exporters.

• Begrudgy 24/02/12 #

Are these predictions ever right?

• Austerity is not working in my house…
    I thank God the winter was not as bad as was /is being suffered in Eastern Europe …
    All these guys / gals making these ”predictions” are getting very well paid and can afford the extra taxes
    being foisted on us all .
    The ESRI,………. pfffft………….

• This is some good news and we should take encouragement. Ireland will recover and it starts now.

• Strange maths these people use when 250,000 customer leave the country.

If the emigrants stayed here and spent 10,000 per year that would be 2.5 Billion worth of business. Now that they have left he country that means 2.5 Billion gone from the so called economy.

ESRI take a very artistic approach to accounts and paint a very different picture.

• the ERSI are writing rubbish and since when was austerity working in this country/

• paul mc 24/02/12 #

Or not. That’s much easier, sure.

Add New Comment