TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Focus turns to councils as McGrath deals blow to Norris hopes

Independent TD Mattie McGrath says he won’t be signing David Norris’s nomination papers, as four councils prepare to meet.

Independent TD Mattie McGrath says he will not nominate David Norris - all but ending his hopes of an Oireachtas nomination.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

SENATOR DAVID NORRIS’S hopes of securing a slot on the ballot paper for next month’s presidential election will today turn to the county councils, after Independent TD Mattie McGrath all but ended his hopes of an Oireachtas nomination.

McGrath said last night he would not be lending his signature to Norris’s nomination forms, after hold a meeting of his constituency and electoral staff in Co Tipperary.

Of the 70 or so people who had attended the meeting, McGrath told RTÉ, around three-quarters had voted to suggest that McGrath not back Norris’s papers.

With the support of 18 Oireachtas members already secured, Norris is still two short of the 20 needed to secure his nomination through those means – with only one TD, Michael Lowry, yet to show his hand.

Lowry had been reportedly willing only to support a nominee if they had already secured 19 nominations.

Some of yesterday’s newspapers suggested that Senator Martin McAleese, who had otherwise indicated a desire not to nominate any candidate, may yet be willing to offer a nomination, in order to avoid a position where a popular candidate was denied the chance to run.

Other independent members of the Oireachtas have either already ruled out nominating Norris, or have said they will not be nominating any candidate.

Local authorities

For the moment, however, the hopes of Norris and of fellow independent hopeful Dana will turn to Ireland’s local authorities – many of whom are to meet in the coming two days in order to decide upon potential nominations of their own.

County Councils in Laois, Carlow, Roscommon and South Dublin are all due to meet today, with the councils of Laois and South Dublin set to vote on motions offering a formal nomination to Norris.

Dana is likely to be supported by Roscommon County Council, giving her the first of the four nominations she needs to secure a place on the ballot paper.

Norris already has the support of one county council, Fingal. Seven more councils are due to meet tomorrow, when both independents are expected to secure their place in October 27′s presidential election.

Nominations for the election close at noon on Wednesday.

More: Shane Ross provides 18th signature for Norris >

Read: Norris stays out in front in latest Red C poll >

Elsewhere: Davis calls on fellow candidates to distance themselves from ‘dirty tricks’ >

In full: TheJournal.ie’s coverage of the Race for the Áras >

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• Big irony too about the democracy brigade is, name me one election or position David Norris ever got through the democratic will of the people??? As I said I will gladly vote for him should he get in but the rubbish being bandied about by know it nothings is truly frustrating!

• Unless I am much mistaken you have to be elected to the Seaned although I don’t agree with the system that’s the one that is there until it is changed. When this whole thing is over there should be wide spread reform of the whole system. In the mean time he is elected by a democratic vote by the electors of his constituency which is UCD.

• Ya that’s what I mean, the Seanad members aren’t elected through the people, but more through the boys club, that is what I find utterly hypocritical about this whole democratic rhetoric being spoken. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not "homophobic", as some people might say I am for expressing my opinion, I think he s a relatively good candidate, but let’s get a bit real like.

• The electorate for the 2002 election was 38,488 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_of_Dublin_(constituency)#Electorate returning 3 Senators. So Norris is democratically elected but by only by a small number of people of whom my Da is one. I’ve constantly argued that this is not right as I don’t have a say. He tells me to shut up, if I had done better in school then I could have had a vote as well. Democracy in action.

• Ah Brian, come on! It may be a democratic election for ucd but any election that is closed to the general public is not an election based on the vote of the people but merely an institutional vote.

• Regardless of whether I’d ‘support’ Norris or not, as soon as I heard on the radio last week that this glib tongued mouthpiece was considering giving him a nomination I knew without any doubt how it would play out. The same pathetic and predictable old Fianna Fail.

• you have to hand it to him though, he played it wonderfully, lots of publicity, “listening to the voters”, etc. outcome a complete success for Mattie (sure wasn’t that the plan all along)

• Look at the air time this eejit McGrath is after getting over the past while as a result of this issue! It sounds like he went to the Healy-Rea school of politics. He has known from the outset that he was not going to give Norris his vote.

• At least there was transparency in how McGrath went about things, which should be fully acknowledged. In contrast, the big ‘democratic’ parties have simply ruled out extending the democratic franchise to non-party candidates without any further ado. I don’t agree that an anti-Norris position is equivalent to an anti-homosexual position. Norris made a terrible error of judgement in seeking clemency for his ex-partner, and it would be at odds with common sense, let alone common decency, if his actions didn’t raise questions. Nevertheless, the nomination procedure is so flawed, elitist and reliant upon perpetuating consensus, that any and every opportunity to expand the number of candidates should be embraced and let the broad electorate make up its mind – precisely what the big consensus parties don’t want. My prediction is that if Norris doesn’t appear on the ballot paper, there will be a backlash against the smug self-certainty of FG and Labour which will favour SF.

• Good man mattie , you absolute ( just can’t write what I want as it will be pulled) will he go to his people every time he has to make a decision, sign the paper and let the country decide if norris should be president, not 40 or so homophobic bigots.

• Why would you automatically assume that they’re ‘homophobic bigots’ the very word homophobic suggests an irrational hatred of gay people. Perhaps they just don’t agree with the political ideology that Sen Norris holds which is perfectly legitimate! Stop throwing around the homophobic slur at anyone who doesn’t share Sen Norris opinions!

• Just to remind you – David Norris supported a man who was convicted of statutory rape of a minor and should not be the president of our country or is it ok for him and not for others because of who they are? Have we learned anything? Perhaps the media is not as concerned as the pretend about the safety of children!!’

• To be honest Dave I would expect him to go to his people to see what his electorate want. Even though I am a Norris supporter and I’m bitterly disappointed at this decision I think that McGrath did the right thing in consulting the people who elected him and asked their opinion. After all he is there to represent the electorate and their views and then express those views as a public representative. I would be much more worried if he decided to follow his own opinion all the time with out once asking what the people wanted. I wouldn’t take it out on McGrath, it’s the people that told him what to do are the one’s that don’t want to see democracy in action.

• Sheelagh, he had consensual sex with a 15 year old, which is legal in half the countries of the world. Gay Mitchell supported convicted murderers, but nobody has a problem with that apparently.

• @ Mister Crabs: When in Israel the law in Israel stands, whether you like it or not. If a Western woman visits certain Middle Eastern Islamic countries, she must cover her face or head to comply with local laws. And in a recent RTÉ Radio interview, Norris’s ex-partner admitted he knew that the child was underage. He knew what he was doing when he broke the law – consensual or not.

As for Gay Mitchell, he wanted the death penalty commuted to life in prison. There is a big difference between wanting someone convicted of statutory rape to walk free from court with no jail time, and wanting someone convicted of murder to spend life in prison rather than to receive the death penalty.

• Well done McGrath, for a change. The sexual circus that is Norris’s campaign has to end. It is degrading to the office of President. Which, if we are honest is probably his intent.

• While I would give Norris my number 2 vote if he gets in, I can’t understand people who don’t respect Matties wishes! Calling him a homophobe just because he disagrees with a man who has a different sexual preference is amateur, childish and pathetic! Sometimes I wonder are Norris supporters any better than McGuinness’s, yes they may use fear and intimidation in a different way but it’s still used to try get their way! Doesn’t change the point that Mattie is a big egjit who loves the limelight but, Norris supporters, not everyone is going to agree with you and Norris, stop using a difference of opinion as some wort of metaphorical violin and grow up!

• I really wasn’t expecting a positive outcome from this man!! He will do anything to grab a bit of attention and he succeeded in doing that over the weekend. He is a joke of a man.

• He consulted his constituency organisation (very democratic no???) and they decided that Mr McGrath shouldn’t sign the nominating papers of Sen Norris & he is fulfilling their wishes.

• He consulted the members of his constituency organisation and they voted in favour of Mr McGrath not signing Sen Norris nominatig papers – Democracy in action!!!

• 40 people denying a national candidate with relatively large support from running? Democracy in action, wha?

• That’s democracy! Ever watched the movie "Swing Vote"? Is it only democracy when you agree with the result? Dáil seats have often been won or lost on a margin of way less than 40.

• @ Noel – Democracy is a form of government or a system of governance where every person has an equal say in the decisions that affect their lives. It comes from the Greek words “δῆμος” meaning “people” and “κράτος” meaning “rule” or “power”. In this case the vast majority of people do not have a say at all in the decision to nominate a candidate for the Presidency. That is not democratic. You may think it is, but saying something is one thing does not automatically make it so.

• Noel, I understand how this could be presented as a representative democracy at work but I think it’s difficult to argue that that’s what’s happened here. Are McGrath’s backroom team democratically elected? I know that the point will be that McGrath hasn’t blocked Norris’ nomination single-handedly (after all, all but 18 Oireachtas members chose not to nominate Norris), however I would feel that, with the support Norris is enjoying in the opinion polls, that a true representative democracy would represent his support and give him the nomination.

I wouldn’t even vote for Norris, but it’s difficult to argue that he shouldn’t run considering the numbers of people who have indicated that they would support his Arás bid.

• Lovely, the immature homophobic accusers are out again today. if you don’t llke Norris, then you are not homophobic, you just don’t like him…. some prople honestly have no wit.

• If people want to know why our elected representatives (and the public in general) are turning their back on Norris, then they should start on this website. According to the lame-brain Norris fanboys anyone who won’t support Norris is “homophobic”. Yes, according to them, it has nothing to do with Norris’s poor judgement, his blurring the lines between child abuse, pederasty and homosexuality. It has nothing to do with the fact that Norris would be an incredibly divisive candidate. It’s all down to “homophobia” according to these people.

I’m still waiting to hear why these intellectual giants think that many prominent people in the gay community have shunned Norris’s campaign from the start. Could it be (and say it slowly so that everyone can keep up) that Norris is just a very poor candidate and someone who has proven themselves to be unfit for the highest office in the state?

• DubDon 26/09/11 #

Think McGrath was right he dosent have to endorse anyone if he dosent want too… Not to many on here giving out about TD’s or senators not endorsing Mary Davis or Sean Gallagher. To me David Norris is a career politician one who in all his years in the Senad done nothing to reform it from the aloof self serving chamber than it is. He and his supporters shout about democracy in action but when did Norris ever do anything to change the selection procedure for the Senad??? Never because he was quite comfortable with the majority of the people not having a day in who does or doesnt join this special club… As for the redneck comment above that’s really the attitude that Norris and his followers have shown to Rural Ireland for years… So much for being president for "all the people of Ireland"

• “The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.”
    – Winston Churchill –

This quote is as apt today as any. And in this instance it extends to a particular variant of Irish Politician aswell. Ireland; Advanced Liberal Western Democracy, Ah I think Not.

• by the logic of norris supporters ‘anyone who doesnt vote for him is homophobic,’ does that mean that anyone who doesn’t vote for obama is racist? or for dana is sexist? this ‘election is turning into a farce, a very expensive farce for the taxpayer. put an end to it and ask mary mc aleese to stayon for another 4 yrs or untill the country can afford an election, at least we know she still has some respect in the political world.

• Well said! At this stage I’d rather see a one time only motion passed to allow Mary another term. She’s been excellent.

• Funnily enough that sort of situation exits normally in some backwater African or South American country where “El President ” is “asked” to stay on for another couple of years until things come right, just ask Bob Mugabe. Listen people there is a constitution and procedure there for a reason and just because someone does a good job doesn’t mean that they should be there for life. I agree that Mary has done a very good job and I think that she would continue to do so if she stayed on, however the law is the law and that’s it. We could of course have a referendum on it but then you would have people whining about the cost of it when the law has worked well for the last 80 odd years or so.

As for Norris supporters screaming homophobia every time someone disagrees with them I think that this is wrong. In the same way that anti-Norris supporters (?) go on about “left-wing pinkos” (as above), there is too much labelling going on and too many emotive words and slurs being thrown around and not enough reasoned debate. I am neither left wing, gay or a pinko and yet because I support Norris people throw these accusations at me. Likewise not all people who are opposed to Norris are right wing, homophobic Jesus freaks. Christ at times this whole thing is like being back in school where you called someone a name because you didn’t have the ability or maturity to form a half decent argument!

• By the same token, any sign of the other six letters that were mentioned on the times yesterday… what was in them, and is it true that netenyahu received one…???

• What is really concerning is Mr. Graths two fingers to our democratic system. He seems to lack a basic understanding of the principles of our Dail.

Firstly, he was elected by the constituency of Tipperary as their representative to the Dail. Once there he is a national representative and acts for everyone in the decision making process i.e. me as well. This means he has to look at the bigger picture and what is in the national interest. Surely he must be aware of the considerable public interest and support for the Independent candidates that have not got a nomination?

He refers to his supporters which seemed to have numbered 70 at the meeting. If was being democratic he should have canvassed the entire constituency or at least all of the 14.7% of voters who gave him a first preference – over 6,000 people. Hardly a democratic consultation.

How Mr. McGrath can say is being democratic is beyond me. He clearly doesn’t understand the principle. Also, I would also expect an independent to take some decisions that may not be popular.

Also why does he have to consult his supporters for decisions like this? He certainly didn’t consult his supporters when he was making stupid badly informed comments about drink driving (drinking can help some drivers).

• He is being democratic. He took advise from his supporters and made a decision. He does not represent you if you are in a different constituency.

He is perfectly entitled not to vote for Norris. That is democracy. The Norris fanboys are turning people off even considering voting for him with their constant toys out the pram comments. If he gets his nomination, fair play. If he doesn’t, so be it. Democracy gas taken place.

• You would, of course be making the same arguments about his sense of democracy had he voted pro-Norris, no?

• @billie He is certainly not being democratic as he is a member of a national parliament and this is a national issue and not a local one. Another example of independents holding the country to ransom and not acting in the national interest. In any case 70 people is hardly representative of either his constituency or his first preference voters. Plus, surely he is his own man capable of making his own decisions.

@Noel Makes no odds who the candidate is – same thing applies. Norris isn’t getting my number 1 vote in any case.

• I think Davis and Gallagher have both gone the County Council route rather than seeking the 20 signatures so hence there’s no debate there.

Seanad is part of our democracy and is need of reform. I don’t think it’s aloof or self serving, some members are appointed from various walks of life while others, such as Norris, are elected by the university panels. The university electorate is rather large. There was no real call to change the Seanad procedure until Kenny put it on the agenda one day. He doesn’t seem to be rushing to follow through on this one.

I’m not sure what the reference to red necks is but it would appear that Norris support is nationwide. Nearly all the candidates are urban based.

• 10 years in the senate and all Norris can do is turn the contest into a gay rights competition. Patethic

• I’m sure the people of Tipperary are very proud of their elected representative.

David Norris has the right to be judged on his whole career. He has worked over the past decades to ensure everyone in society is treated as an equal, regardless of race, creed or sexuality. His humanitarian efforts are well known. He is unbiased and unprejudiced.

A lady on here commented earlier that she has two gay friends who will not be voting for Norris because “he endorsed rape”. I would challenge those two gay people to reflect on the changes in Irish society over the past five decades. Despite constant homophobic remarks, slurs on his character, the never-ending rebuke of the Roman Catholic church, David Norris was the leading figure in ensuring equal rights for gay men and women in Ireland. Remember it’s only a couple of decades ago since homosexuality was legalised in this country. Somehow it reminds me of Charles Stewart Parnell – didn’t the Irish people turn his back on him, so-much-so that he was driven to an early grave? Oh, and before anyone rebukes me by saying divorce and sex with a minor are entirely different things – I agree, they are! I’m simply making an allegory.

David Norris would also make a fine figure-head since he is a world renowned scholar and classicist, decorous, refined and capable of speaking the English language correctly. These qualities are lacking in the other candidates, with the notable exception of Michael D. Higgins.

• Norris should be allowed to partake in the election and let the whole country decide not the elite few.
    I think that Hitler would be elected right now – when you see Mc Guinness and compare the decisions he made in the past about peoples lives, you must think Hitler would get elected 1st count.

• The right thing !

• Fair play Mattie don’t let yourself be bullied by these left wing twats

• The sad thing in all this is that the one politician who was a liberal agitator for gay rights is now shown up as being a mediocre politician and one trick pony. This entire episode will do nothing for Norris’ standing in the long run. In any case, the work he needed to be done has been done. I think his ego got the better of him in the end.

Add New Comment