TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

GALLERY: 5,000 attend anti-Household Charge demo in Dublin

Thousands gathered outside the National Convention Centre, where Fine Gael’s Ard-Fheis is taking place this weekend.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

AN ESTIMATED 5,000 people from across the country travelled to city centre Dublin today to participate in a protest against the €100 household charge.

Protesters from across Ireland included demonstrators from the Donegal Action Against Austerity group, who had walked from Malin Head to Dublin in protest at the charge, and who featured on last night’s Late Late Show.

The demonstration began at about 1:30pm, with busloads of further volunteers joining in at around 2pm, gathering around the National Convention Centre where Fine Gael’s Árd-Fheis is continuing.

A security cordon was put in place by Gardaí, who eyewitnesses said intervened on a number of occasions as protestors tried to gain access to the Fine Gael event.

RTÉ said one man who resembled environment minister Phil Hogan, whose department is responsible for the charge, had to be assisted by Gardaí after being confronted by demonstrators mistaking him for the minister.

Gardaí said there had been no reports of any major public order disturbances, and that no arrests had been made.

GALLERY: 5,000 attend anti-Household Charge demo in Dublin
1 / 36
  • Household Charge protest at FG Árd Fheis

Photo: Stephen Kilkenny/LightCurvePhoto.com

Photo: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Patrick Doorhy (8) from Galway outside the Convention Center in Dublin, protesting over the household charge. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Ruth Shiels from Donegal outside the Convention Center in Dublin, protesting over the household charge. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

The small number of demonstrators remaining at around 4:40pm. Photo: Christine Bohan/TheJournal.ie
  • And inside...

Read: Hogan thanks Household Charge registrants for ‘genuine patriotism’

Planning to pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do

Planning NOT to pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do

More: TheJournal.ie‘s coverage of the Household Charge >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• Kenny doesn’t speak till tonight David don’t get your knickers in a twist, I am sure Enda will make your dreams come through tonight.

• Good to see a peaceful protest, that’s something people can be proud of. Makes it far easier for moderates and people sitting on the fence to empathise with other people’s strong feelings on the matter.

• Congrats to all who attended today’s protest and past protests. True Patriots.

• alan 31/03/12 #

More than 1000000 households haven’t paid, approx 1.8million homes in Ireland, even if they collect from 700,000 that’s some kick up the arse for these bullies.

• Can’t wait to hear the final tally in the next few days.
      I live in hope that Phils misconstrued policy backfires on him.
      Not just on the household charge but any other austerity measure he might come up with.
      At this juncture I have to remark that the handling of this issue was so poorly thought out by FG.
      Just incredible.

• 5000 seems like an underestimate. I’ve been to football matches and concerts where the attendance was 5000 and this protest had far higher numbers at it.

• alan 31/03/12 #

Your lackeys in RTE are looking after that david, enjoy the 5 star treatment while the rest of us suffer

• The credible idea is To make it fair and equitable, means tested across the board and protect the vulnerable. Could start by getting rid of the state sponsored “WELFARE “of tax breaks and loopholes which go to the most wealthy in the country.

• Well done to all the protesters, fight for your rights. Remember the fight has just begone, fight the state if need be…. Well done you are the true patriots….

• Amazing hopefully it will be the start of a real resistance to the orthodoxy or austerity. Even judging from the pictures there was a lot more people there then the reported 5000 looks more like 10000. Of course it will be misreported by the media. Maybe the closed blinds got in the way of the truth

• Our Government.

The Hand Puppets Of Europe.

• Congrats to all who protested today! These are true patriots. Standing up for fairness to all!

• In ancient Rome, the emperors staged games to entertain the populace..as they feared an unhappy mob!! It would seem people power was stronger in the Roman Empire than it is today as now the wishes of the people are the furthest things from our leaders minds. Instead they cant wait to bend us over to get screwed by the German and French bankers and Shatter tells us to just take it a get a life! our country is being run by a bunch of Eurofascists Pity we can’t throw them to the lions!

• Making comments about being patriotic for bending to that arrogant ar5e really got my blood boiling… you are one election away from the dole herself … I have being paying tax and prsi since 1979 During the 80s I also really resent that remark made by Shatter i will not be bullied into handing over my last bit of cash to the three stooges

• Apologies IPhone going daft !! I am sooo fricking mad typing this lol!

• It’s easy to make a just count.Simply check the density of crowd,area occupied by 100 x total area covered.I’d say closer to 10,000 than the reported 5,000.

• What a fantastic turnout today , I am so proud to have been among the thousands of people , all ages , that were there. 5000 is way underestimated , I would have said twice that . An historical occasion where once again I could feel the pull of my ancestors efforts pull me to stand up and be heard. Still over 1,000,000 house holds have not registered and have not paid.
    Eire go Bragh

• Try doubling your numbers there. Do all the reporters think the 8,000 – 10,000 people who attended won’t notice the media downsizing the numbers!?

• Wow plenty of money available to protect the government from reality surely enda and phils rounding support from Ireland’s patriots negates the need for all those expensive Garda siochana .
    Enda you fatted calf grandaddy of Leinster house 30years sucking on the taxpayer not one cent more from me, hands off our homes .

• Comparisons to Hitler should be made as people are being forced into hardship, yet a lot of people seem to be surviving without too much struggle. It seems we have a 2 tier society with the poor paying for the rich. Would Enda and the civil servents manage their personal finances the same way as our countries? I suspect they are like the government when it comes to their personal finance, they save and have a stash of cash. Enda and co borrow and put the country in hock while doing the opposite with their own money. Conflicting behaviour will lead to conflict. Strange how Joe Higgens knew this for years and nobody listened not FF,FG, LAB or many of the Independants. Maybe it was because he said politicians were paid inflated wages.

• “Free Education” banners too. Maybe it’s not just a household charge protest?

• The right to protest peacefully should be preserved. But, it seems to me that it is also accurate to say that it has become pointless. Fair dues to the people who marched from A to B today, good exercise on a fine day does nobody any harm. But, our country is now run by the EU/IMF/ECB and no amount of peaceful protest is going to make the slightest bit of difference to them (and I certainly do not condone any violence)!

• I see children in those pictures! Three weeks ago the journal featured a story about a youth defence anti-abortion rally where children were present

Andrew Telford likened the protestors to Nazis with their ‘indoctrination of children’
    Simon Mernagh compared them the Westboro Baptist Church
    Imran Ali and Phantom Duck Nibbler agreed that it was ‘pure propaganda’
    Shanti Om said that children on such protests would later feel ‘violated’

I’d say they’ll be fuming when they see this…….

• I don’t mind so long as all the kiddies pay up their 100 euros.

• Just take it off them. They’re totally weak

• To be fair I was talking about how I was brought along to a pro life rally by my PRIMARY SCHOOL as a child. It wasn’t my parents who brought me, perhaps as this protest was on a Saturday it may be fair to assume that they were not brought there by a school.

I was brought to a pro life rally – without being allowed to hear the pro choice side of the argument, and by the catholic school – not my legal guardians, In that sense I was violated. Indeed, my mother was quite incensed when she discovered that we were used in this manner.

There’s a few kids that may or may not be there with their parents in the pictures, neither you or I know for sure. It’s a similar situation – ill give you that, but the same? Not really..
      And maybe those kids will grow up to resent having been photographed at this event.. I’m not really very supportive of children being brought to protests full stop. I don’t think it’s a good environment for children as sadly between agent provocateurs and those who see a protest as a great place to start trouble even a peaceful event can have negative elements, but what’s to say the parents could afford a sitter? Indeed, maybe there were more parents out there who could only attend in spirit for that very reason.

• 5000 seems like a very small number considering it was a national protest on a Sat afternoon

• Jerry 31/03/12 #

Just wondering if no austerity measures where is the money to run the country going to come from no credible ideas put forward

• There are very well paid special advisors that can’t get the answer right to that one and you expect a debate on it here?!What do you suggest Jerry?

• @Jerry how about all those pigs in Leinster House take REAL paycuts, get rid of the Seanad, get rid of the high ranking civil servants and all the fat multiple pensions the lot of them are on! Get rid of the advisers and quangios, Enda was elected to do his job not the advisers. There are a few ideas for you but by the sounds of your comment I think we know what party you support if not working for like @David Highins!

• @Jerry
      What do ya think? I’d say there is a hell of a lot more than €160 million worth of savings there and that would just be a good start too. There are plenty more ways to save money and cut costs without effecting honest people who can’t afford to pay it.

• Jerry
      Cut TDs wages
      Cut ministers wages
      Cut their advisers (if they are so useful why do they need advisors)
      Sort out the government expenses scam
      Stop bailing out defunct banks and gamblers/bondholders
      Start setting up the economy to trade something!! People’s brains, tourism, agriculture, our resources etc. etc.
      Actually reduce some tax – Yes you heard me, reduce it (so more money is flowing around the economy)
      There are loads more!!!

• Equate the economy to a salad washer, where the natural way to get the water (money) out is to apply energy (incentives/ release of restrains) getting it spinning while then extracting the (tax)water but the Govt and its highly paid advisers think that its best to apply pressure and breaks so it comes to a grinding halt without adding any energy to it, and let the water slowly leak out of the washer (economy) until its inedible and stagnant.

• My first reaction on seeing the photo in the article, was a gut wrenching laugh. Not at the poster but at the protester. The man holding the poster is a well known Galway auctioneer, with a large property portfolio. It’s clear to me who this man was protesting on behalf of.
    This tax is part of the IMF agreement wether we like it or not. It’s is also now part of statute law. The time to protest and lobby was prior to it’s introduction into law. However as with a lot of people I know, they only see it fit to protest once something affects them directly. Any tax that effects me, is a bad tax, can not apply in our current circumstances.

• Ahem yes Bill it is subjective in the extreme we don’t get to vote on this … The vote is handed to the elected representatives – god forgive thoes who sought fit to put them in power – hence the uproar against this inequitable and unjust tax – maybe you can afford the cost many of the electorate have to decide whether to feed their child or heat their house – or forgo eating themselves it’s Dickensian but hey i need to get over myself Bill

• 800,000 non payment. i think that equals non consent to this statute.

• Typical mainstream media watering down the number of protestors. I didn’t think the journal was another ‘controlled’ media outlet. And regarding Garda figures I find it funny that ye would take their word for it considering they are also puppets for the state who are puppets for Europe and they too like the Govt are listed as commercial entities for profit. Good to see so many genuine people. And surprise surprise ye also had photos of the man being jostled. Appropriate that tv and photographers were there at that time mmmmmm

• Okay, I don’t like Hogan or the rest of FG, but still, the comparison to Hitler was harsh.
    I’m pretty sure Phil Hogan hadn’t 6 million people murdered. The comparisons of politicians to Hitler really need to stop.

• Tonights deadline is to avoid penalties. Payments will continue well into next week. To get a real handle on success of protest, commentators really need to hold off…

• And FGers need to get a grip of reality and see that this is the first step to get you out of government ASAP. Bury your head in the sand all you like, 1million in silent non payment protest and 8-10 thousand on the streets, we will not be walked on anymore!

• maura 31/03/12 #

Do all these people own houses. Some look too young

• Two articles on the protests thus far, little on what’s actually being discussed at the Ard Fheis. TheJournal anti-government bias continues…

• Dear the Journal: it’s spelt Ard-Fheis, or in full “Ard-Fheis Fhine Gael”. No síneadh fada in sight!

• There seems to be a lot of FF sympathisers on the Journal judging by the anti-FG fest. Fools that believed in and still believe in fools gold well after the 2006 peak.

• Ahhh he good auld ignorant lazy left wingers, dont want to pay nor work for anything but expect everything for free, and of course it’s always somebody else’s fault for heir failings or predicament! The sooner Ireland rids itself of these parasites the better for us all.

Add New Comment