TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Planning NOT to pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do

So you’re liable for the household charge but you’ve decided you’re not going to pay? Here’s a few things you might want to do instead.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

TODAY IS THE final day for paying the controversial €100 household charge.

The campaign against the charge has grown steadily over the past three months with opponents arguing that it is an unjust charge which disproportionately affects poorer people. Others have argued against the idea of having any kind of property tax at all.

A campaign lead by the United Left Alliance has seen large numbers of people attending public meetings around the country to express their opposition.

Nine TDs have been involved in the boycott, which saw around 3,000 people attend a national rally in Dublin last weekend.

If you are planning to pay today, here are your options. But if you are not, here are some other things you can do.

1. Protest

Bad timing for Fine Gael today: the party’s Ard Fheis coincides with the deadline for paying the charge, making it a prime target for protest.

A national demonstration is taking place from 1pm at Parnell Square in Dublin which will be marching to the nearby National Convention Centre where the Ard Fheis is taking place.

Buses are expected to bring protesters from around the country to Dublin city centre. Organisers say the peaceful protest is intended to show the government the opposition to the €100 charge.

More details are available from the campaign’s Facebook page.

2. Get involved

You can read more from the Campaign Against Household and Water Taxes here on why they say people should boycott the charge.

You can also follow the discussion on Twitter at the #NoHouseholdTax hashtag as well as at #HouseholdCharge.

3. Enjoy your weekend

Crack open a beer. Go and see that film you’ve been thinking about seeing for a while. Enjoy the last vestiges of the warm weather, with Met Eireann saying temperatures could hit up to 14 degrees today. Definitely don’t visit the household charge website.

Planning to pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do >

All the latest on the household charge >

Phil Hogan Inspecting Mail Bags Pic of the Day >

Read next:

Comments (126 Comments)

• if the Gov where so desperate to raise 160m eur , why didn’t they take a LONG OVER DUE paycut , stop claiming any expenses (but paying for the own petrol etc that would raise taxes , yeah , abolish the seanad ,
    rip up the croke park deal,

oh sure I forgot …..when Mr. Hogan was previously asked to take a pay cut he stated “MY PERSONAL CIRCUMSTANCES WOULD NOT ALLOW IT ” WTF ,
    169,000eur pa plus unvouched expense of about 50,000eur +,
    you got to be kidding me
    FG=LAB=FF all the fucking same ……………….the rich get richer , for the rest of us its a case of TOUGH TITS ,
    this country is a sham

• Alan Shatter said last night that the protesters should ‘get a life’
    Hmmmm, where’s me angry smiley

• Parents country wide are struggling to feed their families,behind closed doors folk are suffering and these piggish puppets try to inflict this,I know they are obeying ze orders but fak em.

• Our children and grandchildren have already been saddled with this debt Dave, as our hypocritical governmen has just put off paying a chunk of our/ bankers debt till 2025. Makes a mockery of their mantra, its not our fault, the previous government saddled us with this debt.

• lets just have a look at local services shall we .

Swimming pool …….to enter you must pay 7eur and Hour per person (21eur a week for my family)
    Bins…..we pay for those
    maintenance of green areas…….must people in ireland already pay those either to MGMT Company or local residence group.
    cleaning of roads…………I’m in my house 8 years and have never seen council services come clean our streets ……the residence do that ourselves.
    Road maintainence ……Motor Taxcovers that .
    Fire services …………….hold on if you call them you gotta pay them between 250—500 per call , that covers that ,
    local parks ………………local one’s in my area the funds where raised by the public and maintained by the public ….not the council .
    SO ALL IN ALL I RECKON LIKE MOST POEPLE WE ALREADY PAY OUT ENOUGH FOR OUR LOCAL SERVICES ………….
    HOUSEHOLD CHARGE EPIC FAIL FAT-PHIL

• And the wealthy still get to put away their children’s allowance for their kids college fund roight this household tax is blunt unjust and obscene how labour supported it is unbelievable

• Get a Life well if we all earned Mr Shatters wage I’m sure we’d be comfortable, they’d really want to get in touch with the real people

• This peaceful protest is working, our government past and present seem to think they can walk all over the Irish people. If you have paid this so called house hold charge that was your choice. With the treats of lawfulness and other fear mongering tactics and civic duty and all that other stuff politicians pull out of there repertoire of lies and bullshit. The country is on its knees but the people are not the ones that brought it their. So trying to get the people to pay for this mess rather than investigating the cause is one of the major reasons I will never pay this unjust tax. Why should we be paying defunct banks is another. There are lots of other reasons such as renegeing on promises made to the people then keeping promises made to bondholders. Any way to those who have not paid this unfair tax don’t register don’t pay not today not ever.

• As was reported in today’s Irish but not very Independent ; but last night Justice Minister Alan Shatter told them ( anti h h charge) to ” get a life – I’ve never seen such a mountain made out of a molehill in my life,” he said.
    Arrogant and out of touch – very much like yourself Mr Jackman. Fact is it will be a mountain of considerably more than 100 euros within a short period of time and who will you whinge at then Stephen? This govt pay themselves massive salaries, abuse public finances for beanos abroad & can’t produce receipts for unvouched expenses – FF may not be in power but they sure as hell are there in spirit. NOT paying ever.

• Big black mark against The Hulk Hogan, Household charge deadline on the same day as the Anglo promissory note was due, and the FG Ard Fheis!!!!
    Was he just giving the two fingers to everyone or is he really that dumb?

Personally, I know he is not dumb.

• Another farce created by clowns! It seems to me that this government think that the working class Irish are completely stupid! The threats about having to close down libraries, playgrounds and other public amenities just don’t wash! This charge should never have been brought in until a proper data base had been established! Complete fools, all of them! Why don’t they means test child benefit, or reduce tax relief on the higher paid pension contributions? Far less controversial money raising exercises! For them to think that a flat charge property tax was going to be accepted by the working classes just shows how detached from reality they really are! The damage they have now done in regards to future property tax ,and even water charges has become irreparable! Philip Hogan should resign immediately! The man’s becoming a dangerous egotistical maniac!!

• Gave the money to Crumlin Children’s Hospital. I think they will make better use of it.

• Jenny 31/03/12 #

To all those who are of the opinion that we should just shut up and pay, what is your advice to those that genuinely don’t have 100 – whose incomes don’t meet their current outgoings without more taxes shoved on top? How do you justify this tax to them? Also what do you say to those who have paid stamp duty – why should they pay a double tax? There are so many things wrong with this charge it makes me wish I had a way out of this country and it’s pathetic excuse for a government!

• Watch the film ‘the 11th Hour’ – interesting slant on economy and environment.

• its laughable. In the 70′s they abolished domestic rates (property taxes) water and bin rates, as well as a few others by bringing in PRSI (I don’t know 100% of the details, as I only know what I was told as I wasn’t about to see it back then). PRSI still exists, which is supposed to cover all these rates. It’s just another money racket/stealth tax because we need to desperately find money to prop up a bank that doesn’t even exist anymore.

For something that is supposed to be extremely logical, economics makes very little sense. It’s almost like the treaties that were put into place that caused WW1. European (and to a latter degree Global) Economic policy may as well have been built on a soil creep, because one little thing falls out of place, and everything seems to collapse. The Government should be looking at proper economic reform and pushing for it on a pan-european level, in particular if you look at the shambles Greece is in, they seem to do nothing compared to us and get rewarded for it? These ridiculous stealth taxes are really only a flash in the pan, won’t make a difference to the economy or tax intake really (it will be about 1%~), however it will inflict hardship on a great many. Waivers will likely be introduced to try and get people to sign up akin to waving a carrot in front of a Donkey. Like the bins however, as we have seen, those waivers will likely cease in a few years. I really don’t want public services privatised, to be taxed for them and have to pay (often quite heavily) to use them, even though, especially as with the water system, those services are in a bad state anyways.

but then maybe I’m crazy…

• That €100 I’m saving by not paying will sort out a very nice BBQ and a few drinks today

• Ignorance is bliss.

• How exactly am I ignorant Steve?

• Steve means he is blissfully ignorant.

• By not understanding the ramifications of not widening our tax base to fund our country. We’re broke, being kept alive by foreign money and some can’t seem to grasp that fact. I suspect that those not paying think the grass is greener however the money will be collected whether we like it or not. This is no protest, its civil disobedience at its lowest form led by a handful of leftist attention seeking populists.

Things are shit, we all know their shit, but some of us see the bigger picture here. We all need to pay our way to close the €17bn shortfall in tax we need EACH YEAR to balance the books.

Burn the bondholders? Would make feck all difference to our budget defecit. Tax the rich? Would be a drop in the ocean. Default? Would be economic suicide.

These are all facts by the way.

• @Steve Jackman How would ‘burning bondholders’ not save money ? Part of the €17bn shortfall you mentioned is to service debt – we borrow money, as instructed by the EU/IMF, to pay unsecured bondholders among other things. The unsecured bondholders in Eircom have just seen €1.7bn written off – that’s the way capitalism is supposed to work.

• when the G starts leading from the front
      ill think about scraping up some cash.
      It will never take the form of a household tax tho, for me anyhow.

but right now, there is no real leadership,
      just a bunch of yes merchants, leading from the rear.

when they stand up and be counted,
      i will then.

• Yeah Steve, we could do a much better job of protesting than these leftie twats but like you I prefer the “Stevie facts” from planet FG.

• Aurfur 31/03/12 #

Rather than burn the bond holders just cancel the bonds and reissue with ‘emergency issue economic bonds’ in which the priciple amount without interest is not repayable until favourable economic times (if ever). Simple

• I used it to pay my son’s leaving cert fee of €116.

• i dont have my 100e paid i donated it :-P dis crap about them puttibg us in jail if we dont pay it they dobt even have space for the real criminals.they can start with bertie and cowen

• jimbo 31/03/12 #

The plan is simple dont pay.
    A fine of ten euro i will go to court come on hogan im waiting,i will gladly be the first person in the country in court and i will laugh my head off at you the courts and walk free a proud man…

• We all consume services. If we all had to pay it would be fair. Those who consume more services than others, council housing, don’t have to pay even if they work 40 hours a week living next to somebody working in the same job, earning the same money whom bought their council house when credit was easy to get. Maybe if it were fair it would be a just tax but it’s not.

• I read today that the government has shifted total responsibility of collecting the charge from non payers to local authorities to sort out. They have gotten their budgets for the year, which were dependant on everyone liable coughing up €100. That hasnt happened so realistically, how much do you think it will cost the local councils to chase after people, fine people and threaten court proceedings?? Especially as the money to do so simply is not there. As previous comments have said, Quote from the Irish Times today on protesters against the household charge – “…..Alan Shatter accused Sinn Féin of hypocrisy and said they and other protesters should “get a life”. Well minister, its very hard to live with feck all money. I will be marching today. Its one hour out of my life, the pensioners did it and government backtracked. We need to show our anger and say enough is enough.

• No spongers here Steve.
    Its an inequitable tax. Had to laugh that Gerald Keane refuses to pay it! Loose change down the back of his couch….
    No the real problem is next year it will be 500 euro and on and on…

• Steve, you sound like a lemming! Once the government start showing some real intent in reducing the deficit through much needed reform of our over inflated public sector, the outrageous remuneration packages paid to many in the public system I will be quite happy to contribute to a localized tax system. I will not pay a penny more until this happens! Grow a mind of your own for christ’s sake.

• I wouldn’t pay it if it was €1 for every household. It’s the principle, and nice to see the majority of Irish people are standing up for what’s right.
    Increased tax base is fine but do it in a fair way.
    As usual the majority (low and middle income earners) get shafted, and our high earning overlords get away scott free.

• One last chance to say NO to a charge which conveniently creates a database for the government.
    This database will be used for the implementation of a property tax.
    And this will be way in excess of 100 Euro.
    I notice that one of my yesterdays comments disappeared.
    Here it is once more:
    Irish people urgently need to stay firm on this issue.
    You people have been taken for a ride over and over again.
    Beginning with the occupation by the English.
    You have been robbed by bankers,politicians and property developers.
    Only you can stop further austerity by saying NO to household charges.
    This tax will in the end effect ever social class in Ireland.

• We already know where you live. The 100 euros is for my personal circumstances. Geez, get a life and just pay it will ya.

• To “Stray Mutt”, your kind of ignorance goes to explain the anti-British undercurrent here and sectarian bigotry in the North. “English occupation”,?? Check you history and get your facts correct before posting. In 1166, Mac Murchada,deposed King of Leinster,invited,(pleaded with,!!), King Henry 2nd to invade and help him regain his Crown,!! The English NEVER attacked/invaded Ireland as an act of war. They were invited, liked it, and just tarried awhile,!!

• Absolutely right. It is basically just a vast data mining operation, which YOU are being asked to pay for, in order to compile a databank which can be used to levy even bigger and worse taxes. The €100 is your fee to make a stick to beat your own back.

Within two years it will be almost €2000 they will be demanding via water charges (using the database that payers are creating); and they will have you for any future stealth taxes they can dream up.

Furthermore, if you read the wording of the form, you can see it involves acknowledging you are the householder and that you are liable not just for this €100 tax, but for all future such taxes. You are entering into a contract to pay.

Now, to me paying a fine of even €2500 once off sure is better than paying €2000 a year for the rest of my life, not to finance local services but to pay off bondholders and banksters who wrecked the country and should, under the laws of the market, be taking the fall.

• @ Charles McCormack
      It was an Anglo Norman Invasion not ‘English’ by King Henry the 2nd under the authority of Pope Adrian IV who wanted to bring the Irish Church under more direct control of Rome. It was more essentially a papal invasion by an oppressor still at large in the throughout the land. The similarities to the usurpation of administrative authority by the current European establishment is uncanny with the exception that the name MacMurchada along with his court could be replaced by Kenny and his government. Oh, and by the way, the Anglo Normans were planning to invade anyway. MacMurchada (Kenny!) just saw his chance and went along with it out of self interest. History really does repeat itself!

• Bit off topic, but Charles you should get your facts straight. The NORMANS were invited in, and never managed to gain full control over the island. The BRITISH (who history records is a distinctly different group) decided that they inherited the lands of the Normans and decide to invade militarily. Notably most Norman lords…wait for it…resisted the British invasion militarily along with their Gaelic neighbours. So how is that in your mind not an occupation?

Back on topic I’ve always said a property tax makes economic sense but only when the government leads by example and starts taking the hit themselves. The people of Ireland have paid and suffered enough as it is. Not one more red cent wasn’t it FG?

• Maybe not as ‘off topic’ as you might think Jason! The old Gaelic order paying taxes to the the new Anglo Norman Lords – ring a bell?

• In any democracy the majority rules Looks like we win this one.Dont pay.Let them cut their outlandish expenses and salarys to help out.

• Segregated buses were LAW once in much of the Southern United States ….

Krossie

• It’s clear that there is a large amount of people who will not be registering for the HHC and I salute you all for standing by your decision and I note that the reasons for not paying are diverse which is interesting.
    What happens next? God only knows but I suspect that it will get messy.

I’m not going to comment on this topic anymore as I have said my piece and I am clearly in the minority.

Enjoy the rest of your fight.

• Steve! Don’t give up! How will we fund the septic tank inspections?

• steve,
      i appreciate ur input.
      sorry if ive said anything too unpleasant to you.

i understand that u believe that u are acting in the best interest of the country.
      this whole thing is horrible,
      its adding yet anther wedge between people.

all the best to you.

see ya on a different thread

• Thanks Joseph.

• Do you want some cream for that back-flip Steve?

• You’re on a roll today, Joe. Great comments. I still haven’t paid & Steve – I don’t like the exemptions. I argue that everyone needs to make a contribution. Start from the top. Slash all TDs pay. Our Taoiseach on what ? E200k a year. Why ? Thought we were broke. The Mahon findings are shocking in every sense of the word. Read other day Pee Flynn’s Mrs is on a nice little nixer growing trees from a farm she bought with “that” cheque & she is receiving tax payers money for that. Up to E100k so far. FFS !! I’m making a stand on this & will gladly pay up when politics from the top down has been cleaned up, everyone makes a contribution. NO exemptions. I’m no “lefty” btw.

• well Steve I wish you well and unfortunately that a55hole who will remain nameless who pretends to support you with imbecillic comments did you no favours.

• Thanks for the balanced coverage Journal. I personally will never pay.

• @laura great idea that I wouldn’t mind doing myself. @youbetterpayup I don’t like you, you to me are a lick arse and a kick up the arse is what you need and I’m your man.

• “It is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a person’s home” – Enda Kenny, 1994 …. hummmm?

• “peaceful protest”? There in lies our weakness!!!!

• Yupe plus initial fine only ten per month hang in there!

• Increased tax base cant see the lodgic in that, have we not learned from the mistakes of the 80′s? Time for Hogan to wake up and smell the coffee….as for Shatter….Tiocfaidh ár lá

• People don’t give in to this bullying don’t pay……….,,,, this will b the biggest slap in the face to the government – may start the decline of Fg/Lab
    Alan Shatter “get a life” u are a disgrace how dare u don’t forget who put u where u are and how quick the house of cards fall
    Phill Hogan- genuine patriotism – u wouldn’t know a genuine patriot if they came up and smacked u on the head- lest not forget people died for this republic to give u fat ***ck a job- how can u face anybody in this country

• Suppose, a people rise in revolt. They cannot attack the abstract constitution or lead an army against proclamations and statutes…Civil disobedience has to be directed against the salt tax or the land tax or some other particular point — not that that is our final end, but for the time being it is our aim, and we must shoot straight. – Gandhi-
      Mahatma Gandhi, along with many members of the Congress Party, had a long-standing commitment to nonviolent civil disobedience, which he termed satyagraha, as the basis for achieving Indian independence. Gandhi saw “an inviolable connection between the means and the end as there is between the seed and the tree. He wrote, “If the means employed are impure, the change will not be in the direction of progress but very likely in the opposite. Only a change brought about in our political condition by pure means can lead to real progress.”
      Satyagraha is a synthesis of the Sanskrit words Satya (truth) and Agraha (holding firmly to). For Gandhi, satyagraha went far beyond mere “passive resistance” and became strength in practicing nonviolent methods. In his words:
      Truth (satya) implies love, and firmness (agraha) engenders and therefore serves as a synonym for force. I thus began to call the Indian movement Satyagraha, that is to say, the Force which is born of Truth and Love or nonviolence, and gave up the use of the phrase “passive resistance”, in connection with it, so much so that even in English writing we often avoided it and used instead the word “satyagraha”.
      Ref- From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

• Stray Mutt, ok, back on topic, by VOTING for them,(LANDSLIDE),we GAVE them the right to govern,ie.,pass laws,impose taxes et al. It does not give the electorate the option to cherry pick which laws to abide and which to reject. Ballot box next time to do that. “A nation gets the Govt. it deserves” etc. etc. BTW, I DO think they thought collection of this ill thought out charge would be a gimme, back to the drawing board,as they don’t seem to have a plan B.

• @ Chris Bewildered no not FG clone I haven’t paid and I won’t pay read coment again you might just have enough brain power to understand but I doubt it.

• Great article. Well done journalist.

• It’s not the last day to pay it, though, is it? You can still pay it late, with the fine or whateva, I’d imagine

• I see an article in the Irish Times saying that local authorities funding had included funding from the HHC and that they have all been told that no extra funding will be made available.

Hope all the spongers are looking forward to reduced services as a direct result of their selfish actions.

• jimbo 31/03/12 #

The USC and taxes pay that steve

• I don’t think it does Jimbo (unless they increase it which I suspect they might have to now).

• yes steve, i hope all the spongers in the dail, the banking elite
      the corrupt politicians who happily take their pension every week from US

yes, steve i hope they’re happy with reduced services for everyone else.

selfish bastards, i fully agree

• Steve, how dare you call me a sponger. You know nothing about me, or indeed about the vast majority of people who are taking a stand against this unfair tax on our homes. I am prepared for whatever is thrown at me for my refusal. That is the essence of protest, not sponging. I don’t insult you because of your choice to conform and pay up. There are a lot of derogatory terms that might apply but to use them would be to disrespect your right to act according to your conscience and free will. Please afford the same respect to those who disagree with you. By all means argue the toss about the consequences of the various courses of action but name calling is puerile. Big nose.

• Steve Jackman.
      I resent much of your viewpoint.
      Especially where you claim that attention seeking lefties are behind this.
      You could not be further off the mark.
      At this stage everyone knows that the household charge is a precursor to the property tax.
      Property tax will probably hit you when implemented.
      And you can bet that it will be a lot more than a 100 Euro.
      Austerity in the near future will hit every class of cItizen in Ireland.
      NOT JUST LEFTIES

• Padraig, if you don’t pay your tax but are happy to use local services then you my good friend are a sponger.

• We’re seeing reduced services as it is & have been doing so for some time

• Padraig: be careful – you don’t know what Stevie could throw at you.

• @Steve & Joseph
      Well said lads, it’s about time they gave some of our money back, they’re bleeding us dry.

• I borrowed (remortgaged) heavily in the boom years to finance expansion of my business. Now, business is still doing well, but I’m struggling to make repayments on my loans (on which I am not entitled to tax relief) because of the shifting of the goalposts re income tax. I employ 14 people, work 65-80 hour weeks, earn (on paper) a good living, but have nothing left after loan repayments and all the extra tax. I haven’t taken any time off or had a holiday in 18 months. There’s a very real risk I may lose my house.
      I feel that the shift in the tax landscape is very unfair to me personally, BUT I’m still paying income tax because:
      1) it’s a legal requirement
      2) it’s my civic duty
      3) I don’t get to pick and choose which bits of the tax base suit me and which don’t.
      Stop whining and pay, and perhaps our grandchildren won’t get saddled with the results of OUR generation’s profligate excesses

• jim,
      whether its your civil duty to pay it is very debatable.

as for your stop whining and just pay it comment,
      i wont say anything as my post would probably get deleted,
      but if i were to say anything it would probably be along the lines
      of preforming an explicit act upon yourself.

and yes, you do get to pick and choose some bits
      if you don’t want to pay road tax, don’t drive.
      if you don’t want to pay tv license, get rid of ur tv.

a tax on someones home? what choice there?
      get stuffed hogan, FG/LAB

we pay USC. income tax,vat, duty etc etc etc

and with all of this,
      NOT 1 POLITICIAN OR BANKER CONVICTED

• @ Steve: “…., if you don’t pay your tax but are happy to use local services then you my good friend are a sponger”. In that case you are a sponger too, because you have been using local services for a good few years and only paid your tax sometime from January this year.

• Spongers? Well in comparison to my friends in other countries, we pay the USC (which is double taxation), increased car tax, pay for health care weather it be a trip to the doctor or to A & E, increased VAT, inflated stamp duty and VRT and these are only the things that spring to mind. Meanwhile you have the fat cats who sit in the Dail for 35 weeks a year. They are on inflated stupid salarys, stupid expences of ink for printers and the rest, and to make matters worse the people are exempt from paying the household charge! And I will now ask you Steve, do you think that this is fair? You have the likes of SINN Fein’s Dessie Ellis who earns €92,000 a year and he lives in a council house. This is also right in your world Steve isnt it. You have the likes of Fine Gael TD Noel Harrington from Cork South West. He was given over €53,000 in expenses…..€53,000. Steve, I also drive from Dublin to Cork every week.It doesnt cost me €53,000. Considering that Neol Harrington only has to be present in the Dail for 90 days a year, does it not seem a bit steep??? Wake up and smell the coffee Steve, you are the fool that is being taken for a ride but how dare you call the people who are standing up for what they belive in to be spongers.

• All of us “spongers” already have reduced services as a direct result of this governments policies. My bins have not been collected this year, I have paid greyhound still no service, and I just cannot afford the household charge or any other charge. Spongers, in my experience are genuine people who just cannot pay any more. Unlike you Steve spongers live in the real world and if I had an ivory tower like yours, to look down on ordinary folk and form uneducated opinions about their lives, €100 Euro would not be a big deal to me either. Try paying €100 when you are left with €45 a week to feed a family of four. I suppose the fact that I have to “sponge” dinners from family and friends so the kids don’t go hungry makes me a terrible person and really I am so selfish not paying the charge Steve. Fuck off back to your tower and pass your judgments, tosser.

• Jaysus Steve your so, yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaanw interesting ……..

• The fact that you buy the Irish Times says all I personally need to know about you.

• If the local authorites used the money wisely I might consider paying up, mine are useless they sit in their vans smoking and then drive slowly back to depo wasting 40 mins ever day which works out as an extra weeks holiday a year!We have no street lights, no pavements roads like farm tracks to get anthing done is like pulling teeth when they get their act together send me a bill and I’d pay. As for paying taxes we are middle income earns paye and have been hit the hardest we now pay 10% of our wage in tax whch used to be 2% and we earn less than €300 a week so why should we pay the same as someone on €900? They can reduce our services wouldn’t notice any difference !!!

• you are a right fg clone aren’t you. were you labotomised by any chance?

• The law is the law, you may not like it and it may be unfair . I know most of my friends and family held off until yesterday and today to pay for it but when I meet campaigners on the streets telling us not to pay most are from council estates and don’t have to pay anyway . So what exactly are they complaining about.

Just like the car tax this has to be paid and those that don’t will pay more. So it’s like this pay 100 euro today or 111 euro tomorrow.

• I would encourage you to pay this modest charge. It’s the law, and we made it last week.

Add New Comment