TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Planning to pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do

Today is the deadline for paying the household charge. Decided you want to pay but not sure what to do? Here are your options.

Phil Hogan looks happily at postbags filled with household charge forms
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

TODAY IS D-DAY for the household charge.

Ireland’s 1.6 million households have had from the first day of January to pay the €100 charge introduced in December’s budget. The deadline for payment is midnight tonight after which financial penalties will kick in.

A large campaign to encourage people not to pay has been running since January and if you’re not planning to pay, here’s some other options you might want to look at.

But if you are, here are your options for paying.

1. Online

The most straightforward way to pay is via the website at householdcharge.ie. You’ll need to have your PPS number, the property address, and the details of the credit or debit card you’ll be using for payment.

You’ll be asked to give your email address and set up an account with your details before you are able to pay the charge, which should take less than ten minutes.

Bear in mind that the government has been warning of a last minute rush which would seem to be borne out by the large increase in the numbers paying over the past few days. There’s always a chance that the website could stumble with large numbers of people trying to pay at once today.

You will still be able to pay on the website after midnight tonight, but you will incur penalties. You’ll have to pay an extra €10 if you pay it at any stage in the next six months (i.e. between 1 April and 30 September) plus an additional €1 per month – so if you pay it in April you’ll have to pay €111, in May it will be €112, etc.

2. Local Authority offices

A total of 95 local authority offices around the country will be open today if you want to pay it in person. You can check to see if your local office will be open on this list here (warning: it’s a pdf).

You can either print out a registration form from the website or else pick one up in the office itself, where you will be able to pay by cash, cheque or postal order.

3. Post

You can collect a registration form from your local post office, your nearest local authority office, libraries, citizens information centres or from the website, and post it along with a cheque or postal order made payable to ‘Household Charge’. The address to post it to is: Household Charge, PO Box 12168, Dublin.

The Local Government Management Agency which is looking after the administration of the household charge has said that no-one will be penalised if their letter arrives early next week, as long as it can be assumed that the letter was posted on 31 March.

Exemptions

Not all houses have to pay the charge. Anyone who owns a house in certain ghost estates or who is entitled to mortgage interest supplement can apply for a waiver while people living in social housing are among the types of properties which are exempt from the payment.

Need help?

The household charge bureau will be open to take calls from 9am until 8.30pm today. LoCall on 1890 357 357 if you have any questions.

Planning to NOT pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do >

All the latest on the household charge >

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• 1. Start saving now for next year’s charge when it will be a lot dearer than what you paid this year.
    2. Go to Leinster house and bend over and take whatever else the government want to give you because they will not stop at €100.

• Not paying this year so why should I even bother about next year…

• I pay for the light outside my door through my ESB bill ,i pay for thse upkeep of our estate though the residents assoc ,i pay for the road outside my door through road tax ,i pay to use it with fuel tax I know that there are other servicies provided by the authorities but i also pay income tax ,USC ,PRSI ,VAT ,tamp duty to buy your house CG tax to sell, The problem is Big Government

• For people who might of missed this little bit of information in the 2011 census published recently. It says that there are now 2,000,000 households in Ireland. Not the 1,800,000 according to the Government figures regarding the Household charge.

Above is a link to the census results. Scroll down to page 17. It shows an increase to 2,004,000 homes in Aprils census.

This changes the figures. And more importantly the percentages of compliance

http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/census/documents/Prelim%20complete.pdf

• Great! Another 200,000 to squeeze!

• Probably a big chunk of those are taxpayer funded council houses which are exempt from the HHC

• Aurfur 31/03/12 #

A friend of mine living in england at the time of the last census in response to one of the questions wrote as below, and her form was returned, marked “CENSUS return-ed”

In response to question # 4, “Do you have any dependents?”

She replied – “2.1 million illegal immigrants, 1.1 million crack heads, 4.4 million unemployable people,

90 thousand people in over 85 prisons, and 650 idiots in Parliament. ”

Apparently, this was NOT an acceptable answer.

Who did she miss?

Maybe her sense of humour (suitably converted into the irish statisics) would be helpful in filling out any means tested household charge forms/registrations etc should the government have a change of heart (unlikely) and means test stealth taxes.

Don’t suppose pious tds ever heard of the parable of the widows mite who gave out of her want and not a small percentage of surplus wealth as do the obscenely wealthy today in flat rate taxes!

The power of the pen is mightier than the sword!

• Aurfur 31/03/12 #

Sorry to red thumbers if offence given, she was just trying to highlight the politicians were the root cause of the problems now endemic, herself being unemployed. Money wasted by those in power has a knock on effect to the public who are being forced to pick up the tab for mismanagement. My own finances can’t be squeezed any more, in common with many others caught in the recession.

• jimbo 31/03/12 #

Not paying,i will bet some who have regret it.
    Its time to stand up and fight your corner and dont give,this charge will gobup and up and up your signing your own pitfall to invite a yearly increase.You all know it will go up and majority will win over minority.
    The country needs to stick together not divide..

• Absolutely right. It is basically just a vast data mining operation, which YOU are being asked to pay for, in order to compile a databank which can be used to levy even bigger and worse taxes. The €100 is your fee to make a stick to beat your own back.

Within two years it will be almost €2000 they will be demanding via water charges (using the database that payers are creating); and they will have you for any future stealth taxes they can dream up.

Furthermore, if you read the wording of the form, you can see it involves acknowledging you are the householder and that you are liable not just for this €100 tax, but for all future such taxes. You are entering into a contract to pay.

Now, to me paying a fine of even €2500 once off sure is better than paying €2000 a year for the rest of my life, not to finance local services but to pay off bondholders and banksters who wrecked the country and should, under the laws of the market, be taking the fall.

• What’s with the post bags, most people who paid paid online, more lies, NOT PAYING!

• Fianna Fail got rid of domestic property rates in the late 70s. Gombeen gobshites. How on earth were we supposed to pay for local services then? The Leprachawn with his crock of gold at the end of the rainbow?

It was the EU/IMF that forced Fianna Fail to recommit to reintroducing a proper means of funding local services, a property tax based on land value, in November 2010.

I figure, at that stage, the EU/IMF were none too impressed with our mythical crock of gold.

• cant pay wont pay. why should i, its not that we are going to get anything back ,our roads will still be as bad , our children loosing teachers from their schools, our hospitals overcrowed, all our childrenand grand children have emegrated . NO WORK.

• I want to kick Phil Hogan and Alan Shitter hard, just once, in their privates…..

• I haven’t paid.
    If I pay today it’ll cost me €111 (€100 + €10 late fee + €1 per month late fee).
    If I pay in September it’ll be €116.. the fines don’t encourage me to pay now.

I don’t think it’s gonna go away; I’ll have to pay it I suspect, but I’ll see how things pan out over next few months.

• mike 31/03/12 #

1 Million have not yet paid. The Brits defeated the Poll Tax.

• Well said John, get behind in the q would ya’ I’m first:-)

• 70 percent of the country voted this government in. Like it or not that’s democracy. What’s the alternative FF or SF? God help us if that’s the case.

• I would encourage you to pay this modest charge

• I have next years already saved. I have €500 ready to go.

• The law is the law, you may not like it and it may be unfair . I know most of my friends and family held off until yesterday and today to pay for it but when I meet campaigners on the streets telling us not to pay most are from council estates and don’t have to pay anyway . So what exactly are they complaining about.

Just like the car tax this has to be paid and those that don’t will pay more. So it’s like this pay 100 euro today or 111 euro tomorrow.

• Hook, line and sinker!

• Get a move on folks, time is running out. All services cease at midnight.

Add New Comment