TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Hogan thanks 798,957 Household Charge registrants for ‘genuine patriotism’

The environment minister says the charge is a “legacy left behind” and wouldn’t be pursued if an alternative had been found.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Updated, 23:30

ENVIRONMENT MINISTER Phil Hogan has thanked those who have registered for the €100 household charge for their “genuine patriotism”, as latest figures showed the number of registrants creeping upward.

Figures as of 11pm showed that  households had registered centrally or online to pay for the €100 charge, with around another 89,000 postal applications on hand and still waiting to be processed.

In addition, another 12,677 properties which were entitled to waivers had also registered as of 2pm this afternoon, and an estimated 82,167 properties had been registered with local authorities which had yet to process their paperwork.

The overall total, therefore, was 798,957 households - 49.9 per cent of the 1.6 million households which the government believes to be in the country, and 44.4 per cent of the 1.8 million which opposition parties claim is a more accurate number.

Speaking at the Fine Gael Árd Fheis in Dublin this afternoon, Hogan thanked those who had registered so far – saying he wished to acknowledge their “genuine patriotism” in paying up despite their financial pressures and the “newness of the concept”.

He added that the charge was a “legacy left behind by the last government”, and which the Fine Gael-Labour coalition had to deliver as part of its bailout agreement with the EU and IMF.

“If there was a credible alternative, we would have pursued it,” he added.

Paul McSweeney of the Local Government Management Agency, which is collecting the charge, earlier told the Marian Finucane show on RTÉ Radio 1 that the agency was responsible only for the collection and IT systems backing the charge.

“I can certainly tell you that from our point of view, advisors advised government,” he said. “Government made a decision as to how this should operate and we just implemented the IT. Everything else I suppose is an ecumenical matter.”

“In terms of government decisions, etcetera, that’s a matter for government,” he added, noting that his newfound fame as a result of his role in the LGMA meant he was now the “most notorious public servant in Ireland”.

Planning to pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do

Planning NOT to pay the household charge today? Here’s what to do

More: TheJournal.ie‘s coverage of the Household Charge >

Read next:

Comments (326 Comments)

• The same kind of Patriotism Hogan showed last year when asked to take a 10% pay cut?? How did you put it Phil? You personal circumstances would not allow it?

• @David,

He is not a patriot – he’s a patronising f . . kwit! That’s what he is. I’d like him to live with a family that are NOT exempt from paying this so called tax. A family that are just about able to put food on their table, that their morg. repayments are crusifying them even though their home is now worth half of what it was 3 years ago! One or both of them have lost their jobs and are just trying to live an honest life, the way they were thought by their parents.

As for that little weak Shatter! If I ever meet that dog he’ll get a mouthful from me. What an awful, unprofessional thing to say, to come out with in public – “get a life”. So irresponsible of him, we know he’s thinking it but he should never say something like that when he is holding the office that he is in. Put him beside a basset hound and it would be hard to tell the difference. Fortunately, the dog would come out on top with intelligence.

• Seems kind of harsh, sounds like they have more than enough to contend with.

• coming from a man who refused to take a voluntary pay cut when asked by the late Brian lennahan to do the patriotic thing. so Phil do not call me unpatriotic as I too can use the same excuse you used and say “personal circumstances” will not allow me to contribute to the national coffers. so fuck off Phil your only a big bully who lied to the people of Ireland with your wild promises during the election campaign.

• As if Phil (I can’t take a pay cut) Hogan even knows the meaning of the word patriotism. If only the government were as transparent as this man’s bluster and propagandising.

• It is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a persons home” – Enda Kenny, 1994

• “One who breaks an unjust law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for law.”
      Martin Luther King jr.

• You’re comparing the household charge to the civil rights movement?

Seriously, have I misunderstood you comment, you actually think that there are parallels between the two?

• You’re comparing the household charge to the civil rights movement?

Seriously- you think that are are parallels between the two?

Take a bow sir. That’s first class lunacy.

• For as long as but a hundred of us remain alive, never will we on any conditions be brought under Hogans rule! It is in truth not for glory, nor riches,nor honours that we are fighting, but for freedom- for that alone, which no honest man gives up but with life itself!

• eh…. I don’t see any comparison made, do you?
      He quoted Martin Luther King and that quote applies to this situation.

• @Cliff…. try again Cliff, third time lucky maybe?

• Marie Antoinette isn’t a patch on Hogan.

• Genuine patriotism?
      I am baffled and at the same time disturbed at the mind-bending tactics that governments apply to achieve their distrustful goals.
      Patriotism as depicted by Google:
      A person who truly, though sometimes unquestioningly, loves and serves his or her country.
      It is the unquestioningly part that concerns me most.

• OK !!!
      Let’s go to the next page.
      You have not complied with Phils demand.
      You have not paid your 100 Euro.
      Your deadline has expired.
      You will be pondering in the next few days.
      Should I pay or should I await the outcome of this latest austerity?
      How long do I wait?
      At this stage the governments next step is a grey area.
      I would like to assume that their next move will be one of caution as the next step of austerity will provoke more disorder. -Property tax-.
      Watch this space!

• BE AWARE: !
      youbetterpayup is a person who causes or promotes change by their presence in a situation or their input into it (figurative).
      Refrain from any literal interaction with same apart from judging his comments as in thumbs up/down.

• “Patriotism” Hard Neck Hogan you have stooped to a new low if this is what you consider to be patriotism

• And for those of you who are not patriots, ah ah ah, get a life! God we really have some prize morons running this country at the moment. Between the get a life comments and the patriot ones, fine Gael have repeated similar comments that ff did back in the hay day, re patriotism and suicide. Shows politicians lack of intelligence to learn from the mistakes of others.

• From the 2011 Census:

Housing

Housing numbers (dwellings) have increased more rapidly than total population between 2006 and 2011, with a 13.3 per cent increase in dwellings compared with 8.1 per cent for the population.

The number of dwellings increased by 234,562 from 1,769,613 in 2006 to 2,004,175 in 2011, representing an annual average increase of 46,912.

The largest percentage increase in households was seen in Laois (21.2%) followed by Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim and Longford which all showed increases of above 19 per cent.

Therefore, if 800,000 have registered (doubtful), that’s ±40%. Not the “psychologically important” more than 50%, as Gov mouth David Davin Power claimed on RTE 9 News this evening. We really can’t believe a single word the Gov and their mouthpieces say, can we?

• @Basil. I think we should lump the TV licence in with the HHT and boycott both.

• The Hog Hogan is right about one thing. An approximate 50/50 split is a good result.
      If it was lower, the government would have to except defeat and change tack.
      If it was more they would claim outright victory and push on regardless.
      Now the scene is set for a confrontation between the state and the hardpressed people that pay their inflated salaries.
      The state has no intention of facing down the banks, ECB/EU, public sector unions. Their sites are set in only one direction. To soak the Irish public dry. No-one will be faced down or forced to blink until first the Irish public faces down it’s own government. They need to be brought to heel and reminded in no uncertain terms who it is that is paying their salaries.
      Only then will we have a government that will act in the interest of the Republic of Ireland.

• CMD 31/03/12 #

This shower are really p…sing me off! Between shatter with his “get a life” comment and now this patronizing bullying attitude from hulk hogan it’s shows how little respect they have for the people who elected them and pay their wages.

• I’ll pay when all the corrupt politicians are sent to jail and the rest of them greedy f**kers take a massive pay cut. Where all in this together my ARSE

• How arrogantly antagonistic of him! Moron.

• I didn’t realise it costs a €100 to be a patriot. News to me.

• Don’t be so patronising, Minister. I will pay when all have to make a contribution. This exemption clause is discriminating & causing a division. Either we are all equal in our Republic or we are not. Which is it ?

• It feels like FG are jumping into the life boats while we’re listening to the band on upper deck……FG, FF, Labour….rearranging the chairs on the titanic. We’re broke! Stop paying back money we did not borrow……in our name, or in the name of patriotism. I don’t want to be either bullied or patrinisd into paying 100 so you can bring a bone back to Europe. I can pay it I just don’t think taxing people for living in a home is fair, especially when the rich can do what the want. PS Stuff you for thinking we you can patronise us or bully

• I thank the approx one million peopel that so far, have not given into his and his governments bullying, thug, u-turn tactics!

Stuff him, stuff his tax and stuff FG and Labour!

• You got to laugh at that quote. Does he take some mind altering drugs. I was in my local shopping Market yesterday and can see the impact of austerity. Local shopping units closed down. Is that the result of patriotism.

• you know what kevin that is a very good point but what really worries me is this. on posting this there are 4 thumbs down. Now my question is this. What kind of people are they who disagree on your very valid point. They must be either extremely priveleged or psychotic.

• Fg Trolls more like ! ( the thumbs down)

• Just wait until next month. A lot of people have paid e100 and now won’t be spending it in shops. Very bad for retailers. But it was a very poorly thought out tax. I know the line that people shoudn’t fear the government, a government should fear it’s people has been trotted out quite a bit, but what the hell is going on? There’s some smug, arrogant, patronising comments coming out from the great ones. Obviously they think we’re not very bright. And it seems a lot of elderly people have paid out of fear. This is a democracy, and we’re letting pensioners be bullied into paying a very unfair tax. I’m starting to get as angry with FG as I was with FF. And can someone tell me if Bertie is still getting a pension?? We’re paying into that too you know. What’s the point of spending a fortune on tribunals and NOTHING happens. Oh and for everyone saying it’s just e100, what about next year, when it’s e500????

• I’m honestly confused. Could the 5 thumbs down please explain why? Did I say something to offend? Did I say something you disagree with? Please let me know, maybe there’s something I’m missing and could make me feel better.

• Ignore them Sue, some people thumb down the most positive and true of comments, even on a fatality, “What a tragedy, RIP” gets the red thumb. Count the positive thumbs and the people who agree with your comment not the simple minded warped individuals who go against the grain as they have damaged logic and support the other side as they can only hears word spoken but can not listen to the contradictions or all out lies/distortions within them. Sheep of people who only follow and defend the hollow words of their masters.

• Very patriotic of him to NOT take a 10% cut in his salary in 2009.

Well done Phil!

John Murphy,
    Will i get away with this ya think?
    Phil You Suck!

• I’m convinced these ministers spout crap just to see how much more people will put up with, with every new comment from yet another incompetent hypocritical gobshite it’s making my blood boil that bit more!

• 38% is not something to be celebrated you clown. In case you’re still wondering hogan, it failed!

• Conveniently forgetting that the majority of councils during the boom times were fine gael led & responsible for so much of the financial difficulties that this country finds itself in today. Fg are as dirty as ff and they know it. Patriots make a stand in the face of adversity for the betterment of their country and don’t allow dirty unscrupulous politicians lead them to slaughter.

• Them’s fightin’ words, it’s gonna get all Greece up in here.

• em …phil , how is paying 100eur to gambling banker’s patriotism ……………..perhaps you could elaborate for us ,
    actually how about you and your blueshirt cronies take a fuckin paycut , and cancel all expenses for the next 5 years ,
    fuckin parasite

• Last day of Household Tax wonder what will they hit us with next.

• Ross 01/04/12 #

“genuine patriotism”… is this man for real!!! how dare he use those words after giving away OUR money to UNSECURED bondholders

• “Genuine patriotism” Absolute patronising bullshit ,
    You know what would count as Genuine Patriotism for this country stop milking the taxpayers to hand over billions of euro to bank bondholders.
    Never again will I vote FG/LAB.

• Jerry 31/03/12 #

There is not much better out there to vote for easy for opposition to say not pay bond holders simple as this Germany cut money supply then where would we be fu..ed who will give us money to pay wages

• @ Jerry, It would be very interesting to sit back with a bucket of popcorn after Germany cut off Ireland’s money supply. I would predict the collapse of the French and German economies within 4 or 5 months after the fact as they are so heavily exposed to Ireland’s sovereign debt. The reason – their banks invested recklessly, ignoring the advice of top economists, in Ireland’s banks. When the Irish property sector collapsed it was inevitable that our banking sector would collapse too. Germany and France, through the ECB, bullied the Irish government into assuming ownership of the banks’ debts in order to protect their own banks. If Ireland fails to pay the unguaranteed bondholders then only the unguaranteed bondholders will lose out. If Germany and France, via the ECB, refuse to co-operate with Ireland in what is, essentially, a European banking failure (although the Irish are expected to pay now for the Irish, French, and German economies), then it won’t just be unguaranteed bondholders who lose out. It will be the entire European Union.

And as for those who say that there is a huge hole in our public finances. This is indeed true. However, if private debt had not been foisted on the Irish state, would the gap in public finances be as bad. Personally, I believe it wouldn’t. Yes we would have suffered an economic crash like elsewhere and we would have still needed austerity in some measure. But I believe that we would not have had as many on the dole queues as we do now which means we would have had more money coming into the state coffers and less going out on social welfare. At the moment, the only solution coming from those in charge is that the rich must be left alone, and the rest of society must be given less and less until they can no longer exist. If you think that’s an exaggeration all you need to do is check out the 2010 CSO report indicating that the wealthiest 5% in this country have gained during the recession.

And as for Minister “get a life” Shatter. Perhaps he’s right. Perhaps those protesting should “get a life”. The only problem with getting a life is that you need money, even if it’s just a little, to get a life. But Mr. Shitter and his buddies in office are only too happy to take that money and toss it in an incinerator, because, yes boys and girls, that’s where it’s going. We’re actually physically burning real money to pay for imaginary debts. They also don’t seem to realise that many in this country who will have paid the household charge will have done so by going to loansharks. €100 to the likes of him means he might have to skip a trip to the pub for a week. €100 to someone on low wages means a family will struggle to have electricity for 2 months. A republic and a society of equals? I don’t think so.

• @Brian
      Excellent Comment.

• Briain O’D
      Brilliantly well written and very well explained .

• @ Brian O Dalaigh

Hear, hear, what you say makes perfect sense! Both Hogan and Shatter are dogs for accusing hard working Irish people non patriotic and then told to get a life. How dare they judge me, you, anybody.

They don’t know my life, your life. They don’t know how we go through life each day. How dare they, I am so angry with those irresponsible, so called representatives of the electorate.

• Well said Brian and entirely true, and you’re in agreement with some of the top economists in the world also recognise this to be insane, you can’t cut and tax your way out of a recession like this, an economy is based on people having money to spend any moron can see it makes no sense.

• Very well put Brian. All our thoughts together,concise and to the point, thanks for that!

• Very well put, Brian.

• Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it!

• Let’s not forget the remark made by his colleague get a life . Swap pay packets or stop dipping into ours then maybe we could get a life. Cheeky git.

• John 31/03/12 #

Patriotism the last refuge of a scoundrel.

• You beat me to it John, Dr. Samuel Johnson, a greater intellect than Mr. Horgan or his cabinet colleagues, who appear to believe we’re as brainless as they are – we being the majority of the Irish population who have had just about enough of their nonsense.

• Bob Dylan used the line aswell:

“They say patriotism is the last refuge, to which a scoundrel clings, steal a little and they throw you in jail, steal a lot and they make you king”

• Those that have registered are now caught in the net for next time when they put the charges up when next year comes around.

• Genuine patriotism? Nobody shows more patriotism more than the civilians of Ireland whether they pay the Household Charge or not!

This is the problem, the people of Ireland are having to show their “patriotism” through bailing out not only the current government, but those who have gone before. Each government prolongs debts, and passes everything on to get worse to the next one. Nobody betters anything for the long term, they do it just to lift their public image.

Patriotism, Mr Hogan, is not something shown by you or anybody else in government or the opposition. If Enda Kenny takes home 200k, Eammon Gilmore €184,405, Michael D €249,041…Former president Mary Mac has a pension of €162,754 (based on the wage she had BEFORE the pay cuts she took), how patriotic is it of all these people to take home an annual salary of all this money and then tax the real patriots of this country until they can pay no more?

My figures might be a bit dated since I looked them up months ago but my argument still stands.

• Jesus Christ. Hogan u bastard!!

• How dare he question our patriotism so boldly?

Honestly, this country is run by scum. People of the worst calibre

Hogan – you are only in that job because we let you to be.
    If a vote was put to the public if you should be removed or not, you wouldn’t see 20% in your favor.
    You’re only brass enough to say comments like that because you know that we will never have the power needed to keep our government in check.

Sad days when that needs to be done…

• How dare Phil Hogan be so condescending with his praise of patriotism. All he has done in his handling of the entire affair is infuriate and inflame reactions.

• I hope he gets the worst dose of arse grapes and mickey rot known to man!!

• I’d like to thank 800,000+ Irish households for their fight for fairness, justice and the truth. Results show you can fool less of the people most of the time.

• 38% is not a success mr hogan! You failed.

• His 38%is OUR success Congrats all to All who protested and went to the meeting and did leaflet drops and gave the country the information, unlike Minister phill looser hogan where no information came from. V I C T O R Y to ONE AND ALL

• Big Phil can bite the butt end of my bollox! I really hate these muppets they are just a continuation of Feel and fall!

• Very interesting piece in the papers tomorrow. It seems Phil ‘Bullyboy’ Hogan hasn’t paid over €4000 in management fees on property he owns in Portugal. As usual one law for them. And how patriotic buying Portuguese!

• If I may be allowed quote the astute Fr jack Hackett, “Gobshite!”

• So minister HOGAN the 52% who did not listen to your scar tactics are not patriotic! While you and your so called “Socialist” partners sell off Ireland to forgin institutions

• These figure are actually a lot like the trick that was pulled with the prom. notes for Anglo Irish…all rubbish to fool people. On Thursday evening we were given a figure of 500,000 that has registered and the following morning we we given the ‘actual’ (probably inflated also) figure which was 427,000. These people tell lies for a living and have no morals…don’t believe anything you hear in relation to this government and just kindly fail to pay – encourage and support other to do the same…It’s about what is right!! Fair play to all who turned out today and last week and at the many events up and down the country. And to ‘youbetterpayup’, of all the people in this country that need to get a life – you top the list!! I wouldn’t bother replying to anything said by the sad, sad person. Ignorance – definitely a FG supporter they all have the same stupid shite to say, along with other big business party supporters.. they don’t have minds of their own – (I’d equate them with parrots) cliche after cliche. MORONS!!

And by the by the figure for the protest today was definitely downplayed by at least a half. The figures for non-registration are mighty healthy though. Keep up the good work!!

Oh the census figures are interesting too…2 million homes in Ireland – would that make 2 million liable to register>?? Someone owns them!!

• Don’t be so disrespectful, we all have feelings.

• ……and the number of households that had to register and pay is 1,800,000 , when did it reduce to 1,600,000 and why ? as you say these are professional liars . Shame on them.

• @Susie – The government has always worked from a number of 1.6million; the ULA and other opposition parties have always used 1.8m. The figure suggested by the Census this week is 1.625 million. Use whichever you believe in most.

• Thanks Gavin ,

• @Gavan Reilly I beg to differ with you there on the original number it was 1.8 million and million it went to 1.6 million and then over the past week 10 day the 1.8 figure has been mentioned again
      I will say it was the airwaves that mentioned 1.8million and Phill Hogan stated that figure first So I do agree 1.6 million has been mentioned but so has 1.8 million as the first figure who is right I hope This and future Governments will NEVER know thanks Gavan

• Genuine patriotism- get this prick out of government now. The f- ing cheek of him.

• @ Pearse

Not sure where you got your figures, but if it was 70% that voted Labour & F Gail they voted because they wanted change, they wanted honest politicians, honest people to help this country, our country to get on our feet again after being kicked at the back of the knees by people like aherne etc.

We hoped that everybody would be willing to take a real pay cut, and everybody could work together. But unfortunately, as always power goes to peoples heads and F Gail and Labour are no different to the others. They cannot keep blaming everyone else any more. They are there a year now and I don’t see them giving anything back themselves. It’s ‘take, take, take and take more from the ordinary person on the street. It’s always the middle class person that ends up paying and the poor get poorer.

• “I favor the policy of economy, not because I wish to save money, but because I wish to save people. The men and women of this country who toil are the ones who bear the cost of the Government. Every dollar that we carelessly waste means that their life will be so much the more meager. Every dollar that we prudently save means that their life will be so much the more abundant. Economy is idealism in its most practical form.”
      Calvin Coolidge

• The most hated man in Ireland!

• im getting a pain in my face looking and listening to these bunch of tits… they wouldnt know what patriotism is if it jumped up at hit them square in the mush…. oh wait they will. 1 million people saying UP YOURS hogan.. slimy little weezel.

• What a complete gobshite.

• Not so much as a dickie bird’s mention of the protest on RTE’s news channel or on Radio One’s seven pm news!!! Chinese style censorship at its best!!! So along with the HHC, I’m going to ditch paying the TV license too!!!!

• And Minister for Justice Alan Shatter says that protesters need to “get a life”. Yet more arrogance by this government. I hope that soon, and very soon at that, that Minister and everyone else in Fine Gael and Labour will be told to “get a job”. At least then perhaps, they can empathise with the very people they are trying to ruin.

• Phil Hogan, what an arrogant wanker

• Fine Gael are sounding more and more like a bunch of texas creationist republicans every day. Their only loyalty is to their pockets and the people that can fill em for em. Seems the nazi element has shown its face in the Blueshirts again with their contempt for mandates.

Standing up for democracy and the will of the majority of this country, THATS PATRIOTISM PHIL.

• I was at the march and I am so proud that I went. Lovely, decent people there. A lot, like myself were there, not just because of the household charge but for many other reasons. There were doctors and nurses there for patients. There were parents angry that their child’s SNA in the school was let go. One of the parents told me that she is getting called to the school asking her to take her child home because he’s causing disruption in the class. There were carers there young and old shouting for help, for a break.

I was there because I need people to be made accountable for Leas Cross and deaths of lovely old people, that died needlessly. Old people that gave us a better Ireland. John Aherne received over EUR4million for what? Nothing and then sold Leas Cross to the HSE for huge money. Just wrong, so wrong.

I was also there for MS patients that have been told that their large pads will not be supplied any more because of cutbacks! They are being given tiny pads the size of ST’s. These people are in wheelchairs, can’t speak, can’t use most of their limbs. Huge pressure being put on these nurses as they will have to change them more often, if they can that is! More clothes will be soiled more often.

To me, this Government are no better than the last. I don’t care if they’re only there a year, nothing has changed and some things should have been better by now.

• Sheila…….Please repete this comment at every opportunity….Make people aware of what is happening to the elders of this nation….while thos in goverment fill there pockets………..SHAME ON THIS GOVERMENT

• hehe, and here’s me thinking it’s patriotic *not* to pay it.
    I know some people who paid it so they wouldn’t have to incur €10 charge. Personally, I’d prefer to voice my objection by not paying. If I end up having to pay double at least I’ve caused Hogan a headache

• He’s pathetic…first he trys to bully us into paying and now he’s scolding us for not paying by calling us unpatriotic? Look to you and your party’s actions and the way that you’v broken promise after promise and selling us out to your European overlords before you call us unpatriotic. Gobshi*e!

• Doesn’t Phil Hogan look like Claude Greengrass, character who was the local village swindler and cute hoor from the old 90s TV series Hartbeat.

• Household charge is just like cannabis, a gateway to more devious and sinister taxes. Firstly, the friendly Mr. Hogan(as we have only seen over last few days) tried to coerce by threat of fines and penalties upon the majority of Law abiding citizens into signing up to a lifetime of property tax, water charges and waste(effluent) charges. Secondly, he informed the public that we are a great nation who obey the law( one rule for us etc, no one has really been prosecuted for their behaviour or recklesness in public office) and we WILL pay up in time. Well Mr. Hogan has been given a clear message today. I suspect the number may have been much lower(in registering) but for the fear of old people and those who are true patriots( he has a nerve, considering his attitude to his bloated salary) I wonder how many will do without in the next couple of weeks to keep our services running? A bloated county council system where we have too many councils, councillors, chief fire officers, administrators etc., that’s wastes so much money into that black hole that needs to be seriously overhauled before compliance is considered. Many have offered great arguments on this matter , but will Mr. Patriot Hogan and Mr. Getalife Shatter really think of how much they are hurting their law abiding minions.

• Ellebee 01/04/12 #

What a disappointment, half of us caved! Ignoring this charge is an opportunity to register our disgust over a mess created by muppet politicians and their greedy pals. We have power, let’s use it!

• jeasus. i’m really angry at that. wtf. christ…..

• A usless bull of a pig headed man like him doesn’t know the meaning of patriotism. If he had been around the time of the rising in ireland he would have been told no. We don’t need you. Go back to pen pushing.

• Keep protesting, it is patriotic to stand up for your rights and not to tolerate theses, well I,ll leave it at that, Ireland stand up for your self…

• Tara 31/03/12 #

Another bill, along with €100 for Junior Cert Mocks, €200 for Transition Year, €2K for College…another bill for Voluntary Contribution to Secondary School…

• Most people these days HATE……HATE Ireland as a country to live in & personally I dont blame them!

• I am actually on anti depressants havin to tolerate living among cowards who run and do the governments bidding blindly like sheep. Also having to suffer a priveleged over class lord it over the majority of decent people is driving me to the edge. I am one of those Hates having to live here and I am too old now to leave and have too many bills to be free of the halter of these evil domineering taskmasters.

• Take it easy Chris, it’s only a hundred euros and Shafter will give you a life.

• Well said Gavin! You’re my hero! But make sure we get the 100 euros first

• @Gavin & youbetterpayup: So somebody admits at the start of their comment that they are currently on anti-depressants due, I gather in part at least, to the economic reality in this country and yer response is to call him a ‘moaner’ and laugh it off!!?? Am I reading that correctly?

• @ Kevin no you are not correct.

Only post present when I replied was Martin Mac’s. Depends on how web browsers update the journal web page.

• @ Gavin ” I like kicking people when they’re down ” Tobin. Does attacking people who are financially struggling and suffering from depression, make you feel good?. It seems so. Try having a bit of empathy with your fellow citizens instead. It might actually make you feel better, instead of bitter.

• Kicking fictitious people or people who haven’t the balls to use their real name on the web?

• @gavin, did you post that in response to Chris or wot happened?

• Chris and Martin
      After the turn out and the atmosphere at the protest today , my faith in my fellow country men and women has been fully restored. I have no doubt that we will get this tax abolished , in time . Please stand together, we have come thus far , A Nation Once Again !

• @ Gavin. Whether people use their real names or not, is entirely up to them. The pain and suffering that people experience, regardless of them using their real name, is still absolutely real. Your attack against somebody who is clearly suffering, is both despicable and cowardly. Do you not realise, that when somebody is on the edge, that all it takes is a careless, thoughtless, crass throwaway and heartless comment such as yours, to literally push somebody over the edge?.

• Do you want the Queen back? Look around you. Everyone else in Europe is paying property tax. Why are we so special. I love my country. I want to make it a great country to raise my kids, educate them and hopefully they can secure a future here. That costs money my friend. Contribute or feck off.

• Actually, yes the queen is welcome back. She took the trouble to learn a few words of Irish and she spoke those words during an official engagement. That had never happened before. She also wore green during her first visit here, in what I saw as a latent gesture of humility, deference and humility towards ourselves. She also paid her respects to the dead Irish soldiers at the garden of remembrance, who fought for her country as well as ours. I never thought, that I would see such respect displayed towards our country during my lifetime, from an English monarch. However, I was wrong, and am happy to admit so!. But back to the other question of property tax. Having paid twenty thousand in stamp duty, which will be thirthy thousand including interest by the time I’m finished paying it. How can anybody accuse me of not paying a property tax?. I have been paying it, I will continue to pay it, but don’t in the meantime, come to me and look for a tax that I am already paying and insult my intelligence as well.

• Phailure Phil the Government’s Septic, Bully Boy, Hatchetman talks about “genuine patriotism”.

Now that’s Septic.

• @ Sascha,

Oh, our friends (not) RTE did a minute report on it alright. 6/1 news. They chose to report on the dimwit of a F Gail delegate that the gardai let through the barriers into the crowd. He was the spit of Hogan. Unfortunately, RTE and others didn’t bother to show the recordings they did with some doctors and nurses that were there for patients. They obviously weren’t newsworthy and not negative enough for them.

The media can be arseholes sometimes.

• Fine Gael are the most arrogant shower of UNpatriotic egotistical shams I ever came across! My blood is boiling so much I don’t know what to say anymore, I have never felt so frustrated. And stop trying to blame FF hogan! You are the one responsible, you and no one else! But you know that don’t you? You’ll say anything because you think we are fools.

• FF ARE responsible. They f****d up the country. They hung on for the couple of years beyond the slump instead of dissolving the dail, to leave the successive government in an unwinnable position. The next government in would have had to tighten the belts, thereby p*ssing so many voters off that they’d probably vote FF back in… People have very short memories,

• they pay themselves some of the biggest political salaries in Europe, have the EU/IMF controlling the country’s finances and they have the feckin nerve to call people patriotic?! CHEEKY B*STARDS

• What a kont. How dare he challenge my patriotism the wanker.

• This is not yet a victory. The deadline is not a closure date, but a cut off point at which a penalty will be applied. Success can only be mesured when payments stop and the final tally is in…

• Wow, Big Phil using the “P” word.

This from a Minister who is putting the interests of his political party before the interests of this country by refusing to proceed with independent inquiries into planning “irregularities”, in a country with “systemic and endemic” corruption in the planning process over decades.

I wonder how patriotic this government feels having ignored their own pay caps for their “special special” advisers?

This flat rate tax is unfair. Mr Hogan’s lazy approach to a property tax is yet another indication of how incompetent he is.

In twelve months this government has managed to destroy the goodwill I had towards it by refusing to introduce local government reform, ban corporate donations, refusing to be open and transparent (FG promised to publish 2010 party accounts pre election), performing one u-turn after another, going for the easiest options, failing to stand up to vested interests and have been caught out making promises they had no intention of keeping.

• alan 31/03/12 #

Are all them bags full of kittens for him to drown, I’d say he loves that, sadist.

• The “household charge” is nothing to me. 100 EUR? Hardly a sushi dinner.

But the government itself has stated that the charge is unfair, and as far as I can tell, that was the last thing the government said about the charge that was truthful.
    It is unfair. It beats the poor and tickles the rich.
    There is no more vile and disgusting man in government than Phil Hogan, for his damnable utterances.
    If there is a Labour Party that has a spine, they must break this government immediately lest they face the same fate as the Greens. FG held FF’s weenie when it urinated on the Irish people. Do not forget that.

• These are Fake Statistics, more of the same tactics trying to divide and conquer.

• What about the 2800 euros for use of “amenities” I paid to my local council when I started building my house…? Now another 100…? The road is so bad a section has collapsed into the drain… Arrogant phil and his “patriotic” fervour can go shite .

• why should anyone pay it when you have that slightly tinker of Perry claiming 32k on travel expenses……

• How long are they going to blame the last shower for……

• time to get real Phil.there has been no nationwide strikes rail air public transport all okay unlike some other counties.this is people saying enough is enough the easy way.I would take it on the chin mate

• a west brit talking about patreisim f**k off Hogan you excuse for a human

• Milly 31/03/12 #

Looks like the people have won this battle. At least it shows the people of Ireland will not simply bend over and take everything that is thrown at it. Fair play and well done. One battle the government could and did not win. Useless shower

• Congratulations to those who stuck it out! You are the ones with “genuine patriotism”!

• B7584 31/03/12 #

Dont believe the figures for ONE second.

• Patriotic my ass! Just pure fear! Fine Gael have continued the FF government debacle and we’ve been under the thumb so long we just bend over and take it

• Patriotism to who? The EU thats who. forty something percent of the District of Brussels formerly known as Ireland are lacking spines.Fair play to all who refuse to pay.

• jimbo 31/03/12 #

Fcuk you hogan

• In any democracy,the majority rules.His deadline was today.So he has lost.Be democratic now Hogan and admit defeat.

• Can’t wait for the window tax

• What a f******g idiot… I mean between him and Shatter and “get a life” , are they for real? Has everyone gone bananas? The IMF were called in to stop us going bankrupt and we the people must pay, literally pay, for these clowns and there forebearers mistakes? Is everyone going loopy? If this was France they’d tear the whole lot down? Why are Irish people so complancent? Because we do what we are told, you will pay this charge, you will, all of you

• Mr Hogan must be taking advice from supernanny- praise the “good” behaviour and all us bold kids will see the error if our ways and rush out to sign up- so we can get our gold star…..

• The absolute cheek saying people who had paid were patriotic , in other words those who didn’t are unpatriotic.
    Won’t pay , don’t pay …. On the back of the Celtic tiger built on governments property bubble …. Never pay

• I wonder how many people out there might have paid but don’t actually have €100 or a job or this months mortgage payment for that matter? I bet they feel f**king great tonight at the suggestion that they are now NOT patriots of dear old Ireland, but maybe if they sell their furniture on done deal then they too can “get a life” as Mr Shatter recommend’s, sure f**k it the kids can sleep on the floor eh Alan!

• So half the population is genuinely unpatriotic? Good call Phil…

• What a load of bullshit ! So if I don’t pay I’m not being patriotic !? I think the word he should be using is democratic !!! The people have spoken ! 38% we win ! But if I don’t agree with you I’m traitor ?

Well I have one for him ……DICTATOR ……… If he and the rest of his patriots wish to help how about working pro-bono for the next 3 years as that is what all these new taxes are subjecting all “his” SUBJECTS ! Too

If 51% pay then I will but until the majority have spoken I’m not !

And why is all council housing exempt ? But if some one on social is living in a private rented property the land lord has to pay ???? This whole tax is a reflection of the bunch of clowns and why they need to go !

• Why register if 51% pay?? The majority of those who paid don’t actually agree with the tax but were to afraid to not pay. I know from talking to people on the streets of the home town. Old ladies that would not have registered if they had known at the time of their neighbours, friends and families willingness not to pay. Also the threats of jail and massive fines which are simply not true helped worry people into paying the morally wrong tax. Just remember Enda’s words: ‘It is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a person’s home.’
      Stick with morality Gerry and do the right thing. DON’T PAY!!

• @Ceiteach

Fines and jail is true.

Anyone who doesn’t pay this will eventually get fined.

If you don’t pay the fine you’ll be dragged in front of the court.

Still refuse? Jail.

That’s the current law.

Maybe they’ll change the non-payment of fines act to allow for recoupment from earnings etc but right now jail is a possibly outcome.

• Heil Hogan.

• Well there u have it deadline gone and I didn’t pay the household charge! I suppose this criminal government will manipulate the figures to show over 50% have paid but I don’t believe them especially with today being April fools day!

• ah Bite me Phil. Your not getting a 100 euros off of me :-)))))

• Well all I can say is I hope now next year when all those who rushed to pay don’t start wingin and wondering why the cost goest to 500 upwards because I have no sympathy for anyone who cowardly paid this tax. The time will come when they will rue the day they paid that tax.

• I paid it, and I’m no coward. In short, I couldn’t afford to, and didn’t appreciate being informed I had to, but I personally just felt it was the right thing to do.

• I feel sad for you, in fact I pity you!

• You’ve the right to express your objections + I’ve the right to choose to pay it

• @trokidoll
      I don’t object to you paying it. I find it sad that you fell into the trap even though you admired that 1. You can’t afford it and 2. You were told to pay. It’s a shame and a pity. I was protesting today, not just against the charge but for people like you who got sucked in with the scare tactics and fear mongering. How will you manage to pay next year when it’s upwards of €100 if you can’t even afford that now.

• The only scaremongering I’ve come across is people like you saying it will be over €100 next year, with some even suggesting sums of €500! If anything this makes people afraid to pay it despite there being no word or proof of any such intended increases! I’m unaware of any scare tactics to make me pay it, but there are plenty circulating to try prevent people paying it. And for the record, nobody protests for anything on my behalf

• @trokidoll,

Well then that put me firmly in my place and coincidently is parallel with the ‘screw you bob I’m all right’ syndrome that the temporary blue shirts in the convention centre have, and with that I’ll say that I kndly hope you get eveything you deserve. Your truly worth it!
      Good evening!

• Ive paid it cause its the law and thats the way I live my life, no I dont think its fair, I think if its a household charge every household should say it including council houses, I wasnt bullied into paying it I paid it cause its the right thing to do.

• @ Tokidoll I don’t think stating the blindingly obvious can be construed as scaremongering. In NI, where they brought in a similar property tax, rates now average at 1000 – 1,200 euro and if you don’t pay your home can be repossessed. All these charges start off low, for the very reason so many people paid, it was a nominal 100 euro. I wish people would actually think these thing through logically. Why anyone would trust their government before anyone else, given all that has emerged from the sewer of our political system over the last few years, baffles me.

• A@ Ryan I totally agree after all it is The Government who stated that this year this HHC is €100 and in 2013 it will be maybe in the region of €500 for the house charges and approx€500 for water so if we have a problem now paying €100 what about when it could be 10 times that ??????? This year €100 is not the problem ir even next year when it could be €1,000 but what about when we are on pensions and really cannot pay it any more. SECONDLY my problem is we have and continue to pay tax on our homes while we pay mortgage through the interest rates It really saddens me to think that so so many just paid this tax over without as much as a by you leave What about our Children and what about our old age We bought our home to give us a small bit if security in our old age.our own home = no rent out of a pension which is a reduced income to when we work and work we did in our day Yes I am on a pension and I have no problem with that but I do have a huge problem with having to pay RENT ON MY OWN HOME THAT WE BOUGHT TO LOOK AFTER OURSELVES AND AS I SAID A LITTLE SECURITY IN OUR OLD AGE … Thanks a bunch the almost 800,000 that have been recorded and registered I hope and pray that you will never feel the fear I feel tonight.I really thought we Irish had more gumption and self respect than to allow ourselves to be bullied. God Bless you all

• Hogan’s demagogy is appalling. Prosperity is created by VOLUNTARY exchange of goods and services, not by
    forceful taxation. Introducing new taxes and increasing existing ones does not solve fiscal problems, it just increases the size of the honey pot from which politicians can embezzle. If ‘austerity’ is needed, perhaps it would
    be better to cut down unnecessary government spending and bureaucracy salaries.

• The “household charge” is reminiscent of the taxes which were instrumental for the Great Famine. At present, paying 100 Euro may not seem as much to some, but it can be the straw that breaks the back of the poor. It has been historically the case that politicians tend to introduce controversial taxes at lower rater, and to increase them when the population gets accustomed — e.g. personal income tax in the United States.

• what does dat blue shirt no about patriotsim.they tryed every trick in t book but still 1mil stood strong.victory 2 t people.id say most people dat payed were penisoners dat were afraid not 2

• Or a portion of the rich.

• The rich don’t have to pay, we’re widening the tax base.

• 1Million says it all HOGAN OUT and Do not bang the door on your way out and hand your keys back to the security man/woman at the door

• Is it really a victory? I don’t see the gov caving in.

Is it really a victory that 50% of the country will now be levied with late payment penalties and eventually fines.

Fines I might add that will land a person in jail if they don’t pay them.

Non payment of fines is a jail-able offence. Just ask the people that get jailed for not paying their fines for non payment of tv licences etc.

Anyway. The money will be taken from the people somehow. Why give the gov the satisfaction of taking way more than the 100?

Yes. They can’t jail 1m people but they can start somewhere and make examples of people.

Yeah. A real victory……..For the government.

• I noticed when I was standing at the barriers that there were a lot of people attending the Ard Fheis waving out at us, from the large windows, patronising us. I thought it was rude and terribly disrespectful.

The RTE news reported that a F Gail delegate was attacked when he went through the crowd. To be honest, yes, he was by a few twits, one who shouted, ‘its Hogan’!! Everybody went towards him. It was scary to see a certain amount of protesters acting like this, some call it ‘crowd mentality’. The guards let him out through the barriers into the crowd! The man was the spit of Hogan. I felt the media had a ball and it was the only thing really that they reported on on the 6 News.

• Shame on this government useless shower of idiots….

• There are 2,004,175 households, not 1.6m — from the 2011 Census:

Housing

Housing numbers (dwellings) have increased more rapidly than total population between 2006 and 2011, with a 13.3 per cent increase in dwellings compared with 8.1 per cent for the population.

The number of dwellings increased by 234,562 from 1,769,613 in 2006 to 2,004,175 in 2011, representing an annual average increase of 46,912.

Therefore, if 800,000 have registered (doubtful), that’s ±40%. Not the “psychologically important” more than 50%, as Gov mouth David Davin Power claimed on RTE 9 News this evening. We really can’t believe a single word the Gov and their mouthpieces say, can we?

• Feck me that Hogan fella sounds like he belongs on fr.Ted. somebody tell me he didn’t really quote fr. Jack

• Is that fucking traitor hogan for real!!
    The scumbag should be shot for selling. Get out his country just like most of the media lap dogs.

• I think these figures are a load of bollox! I don’t know any one paying me included! It’s just a brain washing technique so people think they better pay! Would like to see Horgan’s receipt from paying it! Prick.

• jimbo 31/03/12 #

I love it

• You don’t know anyone paying?

Therefore, based on that, the approx 800k number is a load of bollocks?

You must know a hell of a lot of people to be able to stand over that comment.

You know what is a load of bollocks?

The deluded view that we achieved a victory yesterday. The gov win either way.

We all pay then perfect.

Loads don’t pay: eventually even more money for the gov.

• Eggfuel 01/04/12 #

The call to patriotism is “the last refuge of a scoundrel”

• Genuine patriotism….was shown by TRUE Men and Women who fought an empire and died for the cause……you Phil Hogan…..are neither.

• I’m proud to live in this country again and I’m proud to have so many great fellow citizens!! Well done to everyone, keep up the boycott. Don’t forget that as well as your anger being directed at the government it should also be directed at the system that keeps them where they are and doing what they are doing!!

Also ‘usury’ and taxation without representation (what the banks do to profit from the fact a family or person has somewhere to sleep at night and what governments do to keep the gravy train going from the rich!!) has been condemned by the morally correct since ancient times…on usury -
    Aristotle’s condemnation of interest as an ‘unnatural breeding of money by money’
    Jesus – overturning the tables in the temple
    Thomas Aquinas – ‘To take usury for money lent is unjust in itself, because this is to sell what does not exist, and this evidently leads to inequality which is contrary to justice….’
    As well as many more. Fight the system that makes us slaves!! Fight the banking institutions that profit from our poverty!!

Time to act people, well done today…now make sure to keep at it!! NO to austerity and NO to putting profit before the people! NO to the austerity treaty too!!

• Has anyone paid the charge for Leinster House yet?

• I hope he gets the worst dose of arse grapes and mickey rot known to man!!

• pull it out of my arse cause thats the only way fg,lab are going to get it of me ,,p hogan and alan shatter shame on you both for treating irish people like shite

• franco 31/03/12 #

Sheep to the slaughter .

• so I guess not paying the property tax makes one a traitor. It’s good to know the descendents of the blue shirts are such great patriots licking their euro chums bums and screwing their own people.

• Patriotic……?? I dont remember Phil Hogan standing beside me on a checkpoint in south Lebanon wearing a Tri-colour flash on his arm with pride representing Ireland and the UN.

• This page makes me feel sick. Have we, as a country, lost the ability to disagree in a civil manner or argue a point coherently, or is it just the people posting on here that are afflicted this way?

There are so many comments here that are so aggressive and abusive against the current government (and individuals within it) that I fear these commentators have forgotten that it was a different government that created all of the problems that the country has. Has this government not inherited these problems near the trough of the curve and have to make unappealing choices? Yes, the household charge is not perfect, but what would you prefer? Mention specific taxes or other money making schemes that you would prefer? 1% income tax increase + 1% social welfare decrease? 10c extra on fuel? Less hospital beds? Motor tax up by 10%?

Martin Luther King was quoted earlier. That’s not all he said.
    “Anybody can become angry – that is easy, but to be angry with the right person and to the right degree and at the right time and for the right purpose, and in the right way – that is not within everybody’s power and is not easy.”

• I think certain people here are just out to stir up trouble. Just ignore them. Or him. There is a lot of anger about, why on earth wouldn’t there be. It’s all well and good to say the money has to be paid from somewhere, but just look at what has been paid on tribunals, and they may aswell be fairytales. Except fairytales usually have a moral as to why you shouldn’t do something bad. Tribunals, as far as I can see, are just a waste of money (a lot of money) and there’s no happy ending – nobody EVER goes to jail.

• I agree that the tribunals cost us all too much money, but why use the language above against current ministers who are trying to clean up an unholy mess when others (Bertie, Padraig etc.) were dishonest to the point of needing investigation?
      BTW, I try not to feed the trolls, but they seem to be taking up the majority of this.

• And Shatter saying “get a life” is alright.

• But that’s my point. There’s very expensive tribunals, but nothing ever done. Surely the current government haven’t just inherited the mess, they’ve inherited the tribunal, and the right to do something about it. I know I’m going off topic, but I’m just looking at saving money. Maybe in future we shouldn’t have tribunals, we should just let politicians do what they want and let them away with it, and save ourselves millions in not having a tribunal because they don’t make any difference anyway.

• The things that make me really angry about this current government are how they try to bully us into doing things and how they told us blatant lies to get into power. Here are a few:

1. FG/Lab voted against Budget 2011. Now it seems they are only too happy to take ownership of it.
      2. They were going to burn the bondholders. They now refuse to impose losses on the billions of unsecured, unguaranteed senior bondholders at Anglo & Irish nationwide.
      3. Varadkar said not another red cent would be put into the banks. I think they put in €19bn last year (not sure bout that one)
      4. They signed a USI election pledge to reverse the €500 increase in the student services charge in Budget 2011. They refused to do so once in government.
      5. FG promised “Fair Care” and Labour promised Universal Health Insurance. Fair Care has disappeared and in government the 2 parties have admitted that the insurance proposals will not happen for at least 10 years.
      6. “There will be no more ‘golden handshakes’ for public servants that have failed to deliver”- According to their manifestos. Big playoffs for senior civil servants continue.
      7. FG pledged they would cut the number of junior ministers to 12. Once elected that appointed 15.
      8. Fine Gael pledged to abolish 145 quangos. By end of Feb 2012 they had created 3 times the number they abolished.
      9. Ministerial advisors will be subject to salary caps. Most ministers advisors have breached the cap.

I could go on but I’m getting bored and tired. It’s been a long day ;-)

• But I do like your quote, I’m going to try to remember that one.

• @Niall – No, of course that wasn’t right of Alan Shatter. However, renaming him to ‘Alan Shitter’ doesn’t (IMO) gain you any points in the argument.

@ThevoiceOfreason – Some good points in there and I’m not suggesting that this government is perfect. I don’t agree with the bullying line though. There is a new, unpopular, tax and the govt have outlined fines etc. for non payment. It’s not much different to any others from that perspective. I haven’t felt bullied or threatened for a second.

• @Brian
      I can honestly tell you that all of the people I know who paid it did so because they were scared by the way Phil was telling them they would go to jail and other things. They felt threatened when he said people would come around knocking on their doors looking for the tax and didn’t want to live with the fear of being confronted like that.

• Vincent 31/03/12 #

How come someone who bought their house in 2004 doesn’t have to pay but if you bought in 2003 you do have to pay!! This doesn’t seem fair and just. Do they not have the same services in their locality as you and me. Same parks libraries fire service as this tax is supposed to supplement.

• @ Vincent…that’s incorrect, you’re only exempt if you’re in receipt of ‘mortgage interest supplement’ and other obvious exemptions. Doesn’t matter when you purchased the house. Think you’re mixing it up with mortgage interest relief. People on ‘mortgage interest supplement’ would have recently lost their jobs etc etc. And for the record…I ain’t payin.

• It seems to have been missed by all media, that over 3 million Irish people are taking part in this boycott. Government figures say there are on average 3 people per home. More than 1 million homes are refusing to register, so ergo, more than 3 million people are taking part in the boycott.

See a bit of the march here.

http://youtu.be/E6uw8_zNXsQ

• @ John Fitzpatrick

Thanks for putting up the video of the march. It was great to be there. The crowd were very mannerly and had respect not only for themselves but for others.

Hogan and his cronies can’t ignore the electorate that was on the street. I don’t believe for one minute that it’s the amount that have paid as he has quoted. Liar, liar, pants on fire!

• ….so ergo, that makes no sense at all.

• “I can certainly tell you that from our point of view, advisors advised government,”

Now that’s a quote to live your fucken life by.

• Shame on those who have paid! It’s time to stand up for the good of this country

• C Hall 01/04/12 #

Seriously, when will they grow the balls to take responsibility for their own actions and stop this blaming on “the last government” bullshit. Is there anything they have done that FF wouldn’t have? Time to grow up lads.

• What a joke, Mr Hogan wouldn’t recognise patriotism if it bit him on the backside! It’s very well for the political class with their huge salaries, expenses and ministerial drivers; however in the real world ordinary people are being stretched to breaking point!

• how many have actually paid though?

• See yis in court lads

• Hypocrites the whole lot of them – the people who paid will be the one’s complaining

• jimbo 31/03/12 #

Still to many folk got scared and paid,well done you have invited yourself to a 200 euro charge next year

The non payers have one
    Youbetterpayup hope i never meet you on the street.

• I ride in style jimbo.

• He’s just a troll, ignore him!

• So by not registering and paying this year people have avoided a property tax next time?

When the government want to they will get all the info they need from land registry and invoices will be sent to every property in Ireland.

By then the property tax will be signed I to legislation and people will have to pay.

The people that have paid are glad they don’t have to pay late payment penalties and possibly eventually fines. Non payment of fine will a person in court.

The only victory is for the government.

Only half the country chose to pay. And those that did realised that it’s better to give the gov 100 quid rather than up to 2500quid.

• People should protest in his town and have some impact on his life and the lives of the people who elect this arrogant TD. Otherwise he carries on as normal. Protesting in Dublin has no impact – I bet if Enda s local town couldn’t do business as usual for a few days he would get the message. Where is Phil Hogan from?

• Good to see the comments section on Journal.ie remains a bastion of sensible debate :)

• Extract from an E-mail I sent to him. Probably a waste of time short, sweet and to the point:

“minister,

Only paid your tax out of fear, a fear you spread. I don’t scare easily but you having glorified fear messages being sending out your cronies and threatening legal action shows that you are nothing ore than another heavy handed debt collector…. And no better than you predecessors in government.

There are whispers of you trying to raise the “levy” to €300+ for 3 bed homes, If you want to stay in government i would say simply, don’t do it. I have little time for your party anymore let alone government, I and a lot of others will share my reasoning if you try it.”

• Awe well looks like the nation balked at yet another government scheme and brutish scare tactics.

It’s a pity the aftermath is exactly what the government want – each of us vying against each other – we are truly divided and conquered once again by a feeble and corrupt government policy to bail out the elite at the expense of Hibernia’s people.

This tax is unfair, unjust and poorly conceived. We already pay these taxes by other means in affect it’s a double taxation that has no intent to improve our local communities and services when we need it the most. Instead any monies will be written off against toxic debts and a failed financial system. They dare to use the word patriotic – for me that says it all.

I didn’t pay the tax myself, I have no qualm with a property tax in fact I support the idea of bolstering local communities through this payment. I didnt pay as for me it was drawing a line in the sand in hope of standing side by side with my fellow Irish men and women in protest against our governments failure to put it’s people first and to let them know we will no longer support their il conceived and poorly rolled out policies. Unfortunately we have lost this opportunity and we stand divided once again – we have lost the moment to be truly patriotic and to finally come out of the shadows of our founding forefathers/mothers who sacrificed so much to even give us the chance to stand up for what is right for our nation.

Alas like everyone the time has passed to make a stand. To draw it out any longer will increase any charge against already crippled families and incomes. It’s inevitable that the charge will be paid in full – the country has spoken its time to follow suit and pay up.

It’s a very sad day in our history and is a clear indication of how far we still have to go before we are a nation once again.

Our day will come, our day will come mo chara.

• Let me get this straight ! If I’m renting a council house I don’t have to pay ? But if the social are renting a private house for me next door then the landlord has to pay ? Can someone here help as I don’t get it ! I’ve lived in NYC for 20 years and every year I get a statement as to where my property taxes where spent , schools , police , roads , parks , where will my patriotic 100$ go should I be bullied in to paying ?

• Ed 31/03/12 #

Well now mr hogan , what have you done for the sake of Ireland , you have pinballed around county councils and graveyards and there you are now telling paddy what a good boy he is for coughing up a few pound ,
    Theres a few good men and women of old Eire spinning in the the sod Phil,

When the day of reckoning comes and the medals are given out for toggin out for the boys in green ………….
    Oh yeh!
    You saved Edna’s ass once

Good man Phil.

• Phil says ‘Thanks for saving my job’

• 70 percent of the country voted this government in to govern! That my dear folks is democracy. Live with it. Whats the alternative? FF or SF? God help us if that’s the alternative

• Ask yourself why did they get 70% in the election Pearse .. Then have a look at trait manafestos, then have a look at the many election promises thu have already broken.. But your ethos is to just put up with seing the country go down the tubes, because we can’t do any better!!?? That’s an extremely poor and subservient attitude and far from democratic!!

• Also, this government bangs on religiously about job creation!! Do you understand on a simple economic level, that the 100 charge is anti-jobs!!! It further decreases the spending power in the local economy thus pits further jobs at risk in local businesses!!
      2 local businessmen I spoke to today both lamented how much could have been spent in their shops with the 100 euro, and that they are struggling and under pressure to hang onto staff!!

• I worked out that out of an electorate of 3167417 FG and Labour’s combined vote was 1233424 in other words 38.9% voted for the government parties, even if you are to take that as as a percentage of those who voted on the day that’s only 55.55%, so not sure what orifice you pulled that 70% figure out of Mr Kelly.