TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Help bring diaspora home to visit Ireland, Taoiseach urges public

Enda Kenny today launched The Gathering – a nationwide project which it’s hoped could boost visitor numbers by 325,000 next year.

Enda Kenny speaking at the launch of The Gathering today
Image: Photocall Ireland

ENDA KENNY HAS called on people around the country to think about how they can help bring “our people home” to Ireland.

The Taoiseach today launched The Gathering 2013 project, an initiative which aims to engage with the diaspora as a way of boosting tourism and improving Ireland’s image abroad.

He said everyone could play a part in showcasing Ireland to the world, urging clubs, communities and businesses nationwide to “start thinking about how they might work together to develop events which celebrate their own unique stories”.

This will engage the interest of the millions of people around the world feel connected to Ireland, he added.

And if and when they do visit, he asked people to “go that extra mile to make them feel that they are truly at home.” Kenny urged:

If you run a bar or a cafe, get yourself up to speed on your local area. Become a resource and a great story to be told in from Dallas to Durban.

It’s hoped the project could bring 325,000 extra visitors to Ireland during 2013, providing a significant boost to the economy.

The Taoiseach said Ireland had a tourism product that was the envy of “many small, and not so small, nations”, and a valuable network of “highly motivated and highly in-touch and connected people”. He said:

We want to bring our people home, be they by generation, or by desire, or by adoption [...] From the pampas of Argentina to the skyscrapers of Boston to the grand chateaux of Bordeaux, there are millions who are proud of their roots, however distant, in Ireland.

The Gathering was first proposed at the Global Irish Economic Forum.

More: VAT rate to remain 9 per cent for tourism industry in 2013, says Varadkar>

Read next:

Comments (120 Comments)

• I have been away for 24 years now. During the Celtic tiger years I had friends in Ireland tell me that I should come home- “plenty of jobs for everybody”. Obviously I stayed here. Too long away now to return but i will visit for sure.

• It’s aimed at the potential tourist. Tourism is one of our biggest industries and increasing it will create jobs. I am no fan of Enda but it is a positive initiative. Some people seem to search out the negative in everything. Am I on the journal or Joe Duffy? If you could bottle and sell whinge and negativity we would be the richest country in the world

• They have to seriously reduce prices for accom, food and car rental,a scammed tourist spreads the word and we are serial rip off artists..not to mention the grunted thanks for the business.

• RDX862 11/05/12 #

Scotland did the same thing last year.

“The weekend saw 60,000 visitors from at least 40 different countries congregate in the capital as the Scottish dispora returned for a celebration on the 250th anniversary of Robert Burns’ birth.”

http://scotland.stv.tv/the-gathering/112721-the-gathering-parade-up-the-royal-mile/

• The negativity in ireland is just unreal. I really hope its only confined to these reply forums because if it is then we’re in more trouble than i thought.

The country needs as many visitors as it can get and this is a good initiative.

When you ask people abroad, those who have not yet been to Ireland, always have it on their to-do list.

We live in a beautiful country that is the envy of much of the world.

Whatever about the problems that the country currently faces, this should be supported. Because it is in everyones interest

• Cian, I agree that a lot of people who have never visited this country have an idealistic image of auld Ireland. Alas a lot of those that have visited it report dirty streets, rip off prices and unwelcoming locals. It’s a sad legacy of Celtic tiger Ireland.

• Fingal 12/05/12 #

I don’t know about the cheesy name, but I think it’s not a bad idea, to encourage Irish diaspora to come back- for a visit! Some people seem to think he means permanently, for work etc. tourism is undervalued in this country, but we are saturated in heritage, our roots reach out over the entire world.

• Fingal 12/05/12 #

Of course there needs to be an incentive, other than because enda said so! It would be nice to offer returning diaspora something that might invest then more in their experience and that would encourage then to maintain their link with Ireland in the future, plus cheap flights ‘home’ on Aer Lingus would be good.

• Nydon 11/05/12 #

Understandable negative comments I agree. But sometimes i think here’s more knockers on rhis forum than hugh hefner has to sidestep to get to breakfast. :) Maybe this isnt it , but something is needed to kickstart self-belief and positivity on this island. Hopfully the soccer team will give us a lift this year. Even though I dont play and have no GAA connection, I think a hurling “world cup” would be a great one-off event if it caught the imagination. Of course, I assume the Irish team would have to be curtailed – or would we wind up like England in the soccer world cup what with all the recent emigration?

• ….or a new government and no liars! No austerity might help too , more jobs less tax and a partridge in a pear tree !!! :)

• Very tiresome, Susie!

• @Nydon – A GAA world cup is a phenomenal idea! Maybe run at club level – You’d have GAA clubs from every developed country, and some developing nations, who could come home to take part, and encourage friends/relations/work colleagues to travel as supporters. You should submit that idea to someone in the GAA.
      @ Susie – you are becoming pathetic, annoying and repetitive by commenting on everyone’s posts. Get Netflix or a book…

• Some terrible comments from people hear who, if they had of read the story instead of just the headline, would have realised this story is about bring the diaspora home for tourist purposes and not to live and work here if they can find a job. Considering theres between 40 and 50 million Irish descendants spread around the world its a fantastic initiative!

Heard recently the Irish are the least likely out of any of the worlds major emigrant groups to return home after leaving. Theres 3rd and 4th generation Irish in the States that have never been here. Why not sell it to them as visiting the motherland they never saw! Why not set up a government agency or something that could even help people trace their relatives still here? By reconnecting with lost family, it would definitely create a bit of a buzz and make it even more likely for them to join!

• People have good reason for returning to the country that threw them out on their ear, refuses to give emigrants any representation, insults them by calling them “plastic paddies” (and worse, at every opportunity) and only deems them good enough for lame money raising programs such as this.

• censored 11/05/12 #

drat! for NOT returning

• My experience of Irish Americans is that they are disgusted by the multicultural cities of Ireland.
      You only have to look at websites like irishcentral.com to see just how racist they are and disgusted that we arent religious anymore!

• censored 12/05/12 #

Case proven!

• Ciara, I think readers only need look as far as your previous posts on the Journal to see how racist and disgusted YOU are, but now you’re pinning it on the American Irish! And there you go spewing your bigotry again with your tongue sticking out of your mouth expecting everyone to take your comments seriously. You’ve got the rest of us embarrassed by association bc the readership goes beyond this island nation. I love this country, it’s going through a f’d up time right now, but spewing hatred and prejudice isn’t going to get us further ahead.

• Teo she’s always at it!! The negativity on this site is beyond anything I have ever witnessed!! Seriously considering deleting this app from my phone to free me from such negativity and begrudgery!!! Such bitter people! Ireland will never recover until we adopt a more positive outlook!!

• Well said Teo!

• Spot on, Starry Eyed!
      I can only come on here every so often because the comments are all so negative and begrudging.

• Fix the weather,get rid of religion, allow
    booze to be sold at convenient times, burn the bondholders, get people to stop aimlessly voting for ff/fg, stop gm foods being introduced, exile jedward, redemand a united country, guarantee free education for all, tax anyone for looking like a knacker, legalize weed+hemp and maximize the use of our renewable resources and Ill be back tomorrow.

• Just click your heels three times…….

• Some folks post negative comments cos they need to vent their anger. And comment on reality. There is no sugar coating you can apply to unemployment or emigration and families broken apart. Some folks live in the attitude my family are ok so everything else is ok.

• very true

• Aleo 12/05/12 #

True. This is a public forum, and people have a right to their opinion as long as it is not framed as a personal insult. Some of the commenters here who so stridently demand positivity are providing the worst imaginable advertisements for it. Susie Chester, may I suggest you seek help from the Three Billy-Goats Gruff? I’m sure your trolls would be well able to take it in good part.

• If this is the extent of Kenny’s imagination then we’re more fu€ked than we thought. A form of temporary dig out from people who were forced to leave this country over the years and their descendants. You couldn’t write it. Not content to use emigration as a safety valve like other governments before them, they want to add insult to injury by getting them to contribute to keeping the fu€ked up gravy train system in this country going.
    Same shit different day from a Gov who have no intention of leading by example and are hellbent on leading us into an even deeper mess.

• So what do you the ‘ all-knowing ‘ individual claim to be the solution ?

• I don’t claim to have the answers and increased tourism is a good thing, but it’s only ever going to be a drop in the ocean to the problems we face.
      Stopping payments to bondholders, trimming the fat at the top and actually negotiating a debt write down would be a start but instead we get this initiative, job bridge, and extra taxes and cuts directed at those least able to afford them.
      Then there’s also the issue of lack of representation for our emigrants and lack of support for those who work with those who haven’t the price of the flight as the song goes. But hey if you’ve got a few quid we’d love to see ya!

• I know here is a novel idea how about we create some jobs for the country.

• Bring back the people forced to leave this Country ,get them to spend their hard earned cash here,give the cash to the Bond Holders . Classic

• This is a fantastic initiative that will bring well needed tourists, jobs any income to the country.

• Niall, it’s just hard to take these government types seriously when they’ve done NOTHING to to make people accountable for their actions that heavily contributed to the collapse. And nothing to ensure the same thing doesn’t happen again. They just ramp up the taxes and cuts and carry on as usual, they have no vision and as a result these ideas carry no weight, how ever good they are in principle. If the government are not tackling the problems that caused this collapse (and they won’t because too many from their own parties would be accountable) then all these ideas they come up will continue to irk the public and result in this “moaning” as you put it, and rightly so. And before anyone says “we all partied blah, blah, blah…..” Even if we did, we will pay for that mistake with high interest rates and bankruptcy; people in positions of power who abused that position – either on purpose, mismanagement or simple complacency should be held accountable.

• Supporting tourism is now a bad thing.

Priceless!!!!

• But what if they prefer the lifestyle abroad?

• I notice kenny didn’t mention giving the diaspora, irish citizens, a vote in referendums, only popping in to empty their wallets that they’ve earned in foreign countries to pay bankers debts is premitted. Whatsdamatter inda, worried giving a say to the people who had to emigrate thanks to the austerity policies you’re continuing might result in having your arse handed to you??

• Eh subsidize long haul flights and you’ll get thousands coming home for a break. It’s the least you could do after destroying their hopes of living in the country they were born in.

Walking around Perth West Australia and every 2nd person is Irish. Thx Celtic Tiger!

• Only for those who left the social welfare bill would be huge and unemployment be at the same levels as Spain. Families broken apart, that is the sacrifice my family has made. How can they come back. No future for them. Create a future Enda first. Austerity is killing us.

• Your so right so many people have left the country and not all ‘want’ to go, my own son is gone alone and I miss him very much and worry about him, its not all fun and games living in another country where you know nobody as Connor Declan Black said at beginning of thread. When the initial gloss wears off, lots would love to come home, but to what???

• Has he seen the price of flights lately?! I spent 3 hours today looking at every possible way home for a wedding and didn’t book anything, and I’m only in the UK. He has little grasp of the reality I’m afraid.

• Sorry Enda, I asked a few family and friends to come home and they laughed at me…..seemingly they now have about as much patriotism as you have…well done.

• So many negative comments on here it’s unbelievable.
    No wonder the country is in the toilet…only a handful of people have anything positive to say.
    Tonnes of begrudgers and too willing to try and bring anyone down.
    The Gathering is a pretty good idea actually…at least he is trying.
    I return to Ireland about twice a year and spend my tourist money. When I read too many negative comments on here it always just irks me at the mentality of people. People in the US say to me “oh people in Ireland are so friendly” etc…I smile and nod and give some bs response when I’m actually thinking “Are you kidding me? They’ gladly knife you given the chance!”

• You know John I agree. I don’t know what’s the matter with folk on this blog but I am seriously thinking of deleting this app. I already no longer listen to joe Duffy btw. It just isn’t good to be saturated in so much negativity. This to me seems like a reasonable idea worth considering. As they say “better light a candle than sit and curse the dark”. I don’t think people really understand what is meant by this initiative. But I just wish they’d at least read the full article before coming out with these ridiculous comments.

• ha ha ha ha. HE wants to bring us home!!!. :) :) :) :)

• Really? That’s the economic plan? Get some money from the Irish in Americay?

Somehow, I don’t think tourists, 20 dollars in the Christmas card, and relatives visiting with black bags full of hand me downs are gonna weather the storm for Irish families this time.

For starters, the diaspora have their own problems, and secondly this is still one expensive place to visit.

• That’s a very interesting debate while the principal behind voting from abroad is sound and should be rolled out to an extent. If you wish to vote in this country is it not unreasonable to expect to pay some tax?

• Enda Kenny: If you really cared about us, you’d give the diaspora a vote. The Republic of Ireland is one of only 4 countries in the Council of Europe that does not give their emigrants a vote of any kind.

Aside, of course, from embassy staff living abroad and full time members of the defense forces serving abroad just to rub it in.

The Aussies and French had elections recently. Their expats vote in large numbers.

• What a load of ould shite

• Enda Kenny is a deluded fool. Why would they want to come home when there’s not work. if I was abroad I wouldnt come home.

• Is he going to pay the air fares for me and my family from Australia? I think not.

• Well Said Niall.

• Do you really expect him too? I suppose all those other countries paid for your flights when you went there?

• Niall
      What is your point ? Of course the other country did not pay their air fare …. But Inda wants them to all return home to spend money ….what is their incentive ?

• @susie the incentive is supposed to be aimed at people rediscovering their roots from the country they’re from and try and promote Ireland when they go there. The fact that people moan because he won’t pay for their flight is ridiculous

• Yeah some incentive ! Thing is Niall . They talk about the number of unemployed being ”down” and that emmigration being a lifestyle choice and then expect the emmigrants to return with lots of cash to spend as tourists …… Not really fair is it !
      I have lost complete faith in Everything that this government has to say and or offer. Liars and wasters .
      Encourage real tourists by all means but not this !

• @susie heritage tourism is one of the most popular forms of tourism worldwide. I’ve seen countless yanks in Donegal talking up about their ancestors when they haven’t a notion where they are! Point taken about the bluffing on the figures but you don’t necessarily have to like someone to agree with them? Enda and this government are like most politicians buffers but they are coming up with some pretty good ideas this being one of them. They let themselves down with the whole 5 point plan but that’s irrelevant to this argument. The Irish diaspora are currently our greatest resource. Our footprint truly is global possibly on a par with the Chinese on global reach. They’ve been abondoned and forgotten about for so long that every opportunity to welcome them home should be encouraged and not just in a money kind of way

• He’s thinking of the extra tax take if all those who were forced to emigrate came home. Greed in disguise. If I could leave I would. Friends of mine have left and have no intention of ever coming back. Better quality of life to be had elsewhere at the moment

• Niall
      Last October A long lost relative of mine , her Husband , daughter and son in law came ”home” She was descended from a man who travelled to Alaska in the late 1840’s during / after the Great Hunger This man was one of my Grand father’s Uncles , they had lost touch as they all did back then ,but thanks to facebook I tracked them down and I am in daily contact with them and her brother in Canada, and his son in Colorado,others in Mississippi, Albuquerque, Chicago, Boston , NewYork, and Seattle . Some of them did not even know about each other til they ”met” on fb through me…Amazing stuff! But when my cousin came home last October it was not because Inda said so or that it might do us good …. no it was so that we could meet up and they could see where they came from.I get the whole finding their roots etc ., but for Kenny to be so cavalier is annoying , to say the least . Now I will not take up any more of your time it is very late and Apologies for moaning , but take it up with inda and tell him to stop annoying me :)

• Very well put Susie Chester but as you know Inda he just is such an arrogant man that he thinks his ideas are the best ever but we all know he is just a G.S that really has no Skills aylt the Job he acquired through lies and more Fn lies

• It’s cheaper to holiday in France or Greece. Why would they come to a country that is on it’s knees borrowing to stay alive. Enda stop talking crap and stop austerity, it’s not working.

• The best country to try for work abroad is Nigeria. The government pays for your flights!

• Typical begrudging on this site as usual.

Explain to me how this initiative is a bad thing?

• At least he’s trying…

• …to do what ?

• To boost tourism susie no need for the constant moaning

• Niall
      Do I know you ?
      I know I do not know you so have some manners . Do not presume you casn tell me ”no need for constant moaning” I have never seen you post anything before so cop on to yourself boy .I am entitled tyo my comments , you are not obliged to respond :)

• @ susie
      No I haven’t had the privilege of meeting you however when you reply to so many posts in a sarcastic dismissive tone it becomes rather tedious to read. You talk about manners and than call me boy? I don’t have to respond but can and will at this stage

• What are you then ? The idea that I dismiss anyone is laughable …. I do not have that power :)
      I obviously irritate you so why answer me ? I am tired of the way I have been dismissed out of hand on this site , but I learn a lot by reading comments and asking questions And of course the articles themselves are mostly very informative .
      The idea that Kenny can choose to invite emmigrants home to fill the coffers when it suits him , and no jobs to offer them here is laughable . The man is not for real . Lipservice , that is all and what of their families here ? How heartbreaking for them to have them return just to have thwem go away again …. Some lifestyle choice .

• @ susie theres the things you say and there’s the way you say them! Something my mam taught me growing up! By all means take part in the debate however it would be more constructive if opinions were articulated rather than government this government that.( not quoting you there it just seems that’s what an awful lot of complaints are)
      I think you’ve misread the article susie although he talks about bringing them home I don’t think he means permanently. Whilst yes he should be making it as attractive as possible for all the diaspora to return to work realistically neither him nor Gilmore not Adams can whisk up that amount of jobs in a year despite what they’d tell you! This is a tourism incentive and seen as over 9 million people worldwide can claim Irish ancestry aiming for a target of just 5% of them to visit Ireland could create jobs in the tourism sector

• Yup Susie, you are moaner. Niall is spot on. All I see are comments where you bitch and whine. Do us all a favour and STFU for a bit will you? Cheers!

• Just arrived back tonite..(from España, OMG, that’s desperation!

• Report from abroad: I’m here in sunny California. We ride mountain bikes in the morning and go surfing in the afternoon. We drink lattes and everyone has an iPhone and some even have iPads with imbedded iPhones. We can shmoke the green stuff here ’cause anyone can get a medical card that allows it. I play the pipes under redwood trees, fer christs sake. It’s freaking idyllic. 74 degrees F EVERY DAY. You’d think you’re going mad. Women are skinny with boob jobs and REAL tans and the adult women wear as little clothing as Tallaght teenagers. You’d think you were at the freaking academy awards ceremony. These people out here are all lookin’ like movie stars. They hire color consultants for their eye makeup!
      But Christ almighty are they self-absorbed whining little bleepity bleeps. . Completely full of horse leavings. It’s all on the outside and nothing on the inside, if you get my drift. I can’t wait to get back to rainy, noisy cold Dublin where I’ll live out my life in peace and contentment. Well, peace anyway. I try not to get too content. And with Enda at the helm, that should be no problem. Home, Enda, I’m coming home–a century after me dear old grannie Bridgie left Cobh. Wish me luck, fellas.

• franco 11/05/12 #

The madness of king enda …

• B7584 11/05/12 #

Yes, come home to austerity. Nice one Inda.
    (BTW, ANOTHER great picture of him)

• Deluded Man, living on the moon

• the clown kenny doesnt want anyone back on a permanent basis,,he wants the irish to come back and visit,, so he can rip them off with his vat on fuel drink etc,,he is a bigger muppet than cowen,,but like cowen he will get it in the neck come election time,,more u turns in fine gael / labour than u see on top gear,,

• Think about the people still in the country ya bleeding donkey.

• Another white elephant .

• Hope they are told about the
    no go areas along the board walk Thomas st and many areas along the City centre oh and also they must bring piss pots as we have no public toilets.

• eimsley 12/05/12 #

I live away and reading all the neggy comments on this site does not make me want to move home! A lot of people seem so miserable….

• Exactly! That’s why when I visit I can only take a max of 7-10days! Then when I visit the next time I say to myself “ah don be silly it wasn’t that bad. U will enjoy it”…then the next trip happens and it’s all doom a f-ing gloom!

• Brilliant idea. Bring them all home so they can see exactly the reason why they left in the first case.

• StemC 11/05/12 #

That’s it inda. Bring back more people to tax

• He doesn’t want them to come home and stay, god forbid, he wants them to come home spend there hard earned money and get lost again! Cant believe i voted for these liars, fool me once-shame on you, fool me twice shame on me!! I will be voting no in the threaty as a protest against this goverment and its fianna fail policies!!!! The only problem is who would we replace thhem with??????,

• I agree this has merit but surely the focus should be on creating real jobs, not minimum wage slave jobs where people can barely cover the cost of breathing. Wasn’t the Lisbon treaty supposed to provide jobs? Oh wait… Enda, concentrate on fixing what is already broken & allow our people to return here to work, live & contribute. Stop chasing the yen, the dollar & whatever else.

• I love our country.

Our Diaspora would all be living in Ireland Enda if only our greedy,inept ”leaders” stopped betraying them.

• This man is loosing the plot more and more each

• Nonsense.

Add New Comment