TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Hogan accused of double standards over Lowry meeting

The Environment Minister met Michael Lowry days after the TD was censured by the Moriarty Tribunal.

Minister Phil Hogan
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

ENVIRONMENT MINISTER PHIL Hogan has been accused of “gross double standards” after it emerged that he had met Michael Lowry days after the publication of the Moriarty Tribunal report.

Sinn Féin councillor Micheál Mac Donncha said Hogan was prepared to meet Lowry, but had refused to hold talks with the residents of Priory Hall.

Former Fine Gael communications minister Michael Lowry was censured in the Tribunal report, which found that he had influenced the awarding of the second GSM mobile phone license to Denis O’Brien’s Esat Digifone consortium.

Mac Donncha suggested that it was not appropriate for Hogan to have met Lowry after the Tribunal’s findings, while now refusing to meet the Priory Hall residents. He said:

This is the Minister who doggedly refuses to meet the residents of Priory Hall who have been put through a terrible ordeal because of scandalous neglect by developers, the local authority and the State. Yet a few days after the publication of the Moriarty Report Minister Hogan hosted Deputy Lowry and a business delegation in his Customs House office.

Juno McEnroe reports in the Irish Examiner that Hogan granted Lowry the longest scheduled meeting with any TD or senator during his first year in office, six days after the Tribunal’s report was published.

A department official also attended the meeting, to which Lowry brought a firm from his Tipperary constituency lobbying for changes to farm waste legislation.

More: Garda Commissioner confirms DPP meeting over Moriarty>

Read next:

Comments (84 Comments)

• This is what politics in the Republic of Ireland has being reduced to: The Minister talking about shite with Lowry and talking shite to the rest of us. Vive La Republique!

• I think it’s time Big Phil, the ignoramus, was relieved of his duties. One too many slip ups, albeit we are hardly surprised he has been shown up yet again for what an enourmous bluffer he is!

• I wish this guy would have the good grace to resign, the man is a walking , talking Gaffe!

• Go on Hogan be a true Patriot (with a capitol P) and do the right thing. Resign.

• Self entitled people don’t resign, certainly not in this country.

• True patriot.

• “We’re all in this together” when they (Irish politicians) use that phrase what they actually they mean is “we are all crooks, and crooks look after each other” now back to work you scroungers i’ve got more taxes to collect and a big fat expenses sheet to fill in! Happy Easter suckers from big Phil!

• What ever about the last government the current Fine Gael Ministers are arrogant beyond belief. They have no concept of reality and the string of broken promises behind them is a mile long. Hogan should resign!

• My thoughts exactly. This government seem hell bent on taking the title of worse government ever (in such a short amount of time) their idea is to take over from where FF left off and screw everyone as quick as possible with any remorse. I seriously think if a no vote is had on the referendum that they will go ahead with it again! (betcha a pint) kenny & Co. are dispicable!!

• @Lionel Hutz, I think the fact they are now in the big boys seats has gone to their heads and it’s a case of “I’m the King now” syndrome.

• This cretin should be thrown out of the government. Just for this insult to a lady alone http://www.independent.ie/national-news/minister-apologises-for-crude-sexual-insult-3053882.html

• If this happened in the UK he would be made resign. Irish politics has no concept of honesty or dignity

• Oh no! Don’t mirror Irish politics on the UK. Try Scandinavia, they always score high on openers and transparency, least corrupt, best health and welfare, low crime rates, etc, etc, etc

• @ Michael Fagan, why on earth would we want to model ourselves on anyone that’s got it right!!! It would severely cripple our ‘entitlement culture’ and make the Irish look somewhat progressive! Silly man! ; )

• There’s a song from “The Sound of Music” that springs to mind here. “So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, good night,” Big Phil.

• Big Phil YOU are screwed, disapppear please

• phil hogan = septic tank

• Time to go to you labour TD and tell them enough is enough. Either go the way of the greens or plug the plug on this sham of a government.
    Leo, Phil and the stuffer of euros into the German banks noonan must go. As for Enda let him park cars in the whitehouse. He seems to like it there.

• Find yourself in Galway and join the protest outside the Labour Party Árd Fheis, on Saturday 14th April. If my sources are correct there’ll be a few protests going on inside too. We have to stop this government of sociopaths before they sell our country from under us!

• And so he goes very publicly lurching from disaster to disaster,you would imagine he isn’t stupid and realises his political career is over. I wonder whats going on behind our backs under cover of this headline hugging imbecile? could he be taking one or two for the team or am i just too cynical for my own good?

• Yet all the spineless sheep still follow him into years of debt and bully boy tactics & more taxes. If someone told you this happened in another country you would just laugh at how stupid those people are.

• I’m sure people abroad are laughing at us as it is. Glad I didn’t pay the E100 registration fee.

• Why is this news??? What relevance to anything has this got? If the SF head thinks the Minister is corrupt then say it… If he does not then shut it… I am sick to the teeth of these SF idiots.

• @Declan Cotter

The relevance is, Mr. Cotter, if you just got off that soapbox of yours, the residents of Priory Hall have litterly lost their homes months ago, through no fault of their own, yet the banks and this Government still expect them to pay morg. on their homes, which should be demolished. They just want justice, they want to go home, somewhere they can call theirs! The worry of the unknown for them must be bloody awful and the fact that this great Government were shouting F Fail down in the Dail for their double standards and lies have done nothing for them.

That’s the relevance. Bull Hogan bullying people into paying EUR100 registration fee for a tax that will be huge next year because him and that twit Shatter brings in a new law when it suits THEM! He doesn’t pay his own bills yet, he brings in another one for us, no explanation, no please, nothing! NOTHING!

I am not a fan or member of Sin Fein, but at least this man is showing some kind of thought and feeling for these people. The stress and medication that many of them are on now is just appaulling to me. With so much that is wrong, looking at people in the face, Tribunals, double standards, Ministers looking after their mates with contracts (allegedly), many of you, electorate, paid that EUR100 without questioning it. This is all so wrong, I feel like giving up sometimes. My family home would be my children’s not the bank of Scotland and at least I could leave them a little bit comfortable without the banks and this/any government screwing them.

• Well said Sheila, it’s not news to people who don’t give a damn about anyone but themselves.

• Typical hipocracy from a typical politician. We need a real new political thinking in this country, one where politicians & government serve the people and not their own personal interests

• This man is heading for a fall. He is being given enough rope to hang himself by the cunning Enda who now has no need for him. Remember who it was who faced down the opposition during the heave against Enda. That’s right Big Phil. Who stood behind whispering the answers during the media circus that was the General Election? Right again Big Phil. Who gets rolled out when the tough stuff needs to get done? And where is Enda the new Mr Teflon? We seek him here we seek him there but one place you won’t find him is near Big Phil. So he let’s his big bull loose to crash into the nearest mountain like the Brown Bull of Cooley. Who says the history doesn’t repeat itself?

• B7584 05/04/12 #

You are a disgrace Hogan.

• A quote from the above News article…What a fool!

Ms O’Connell who owns a number of buy-to-let properties, said she “took the opportunity to say to him that I hoped he would not ‘screw’ property owners in promised legislation.

“He replied in a loud voice: ‘I have no problem screwing you. Hasn’t Mairtin been screwing you for years.’ Then he turned his back on me and said: ‘Business tomorrow.’

• Yet another double standard from a politician who refused to pay the service charge on his holiday home in Portugal…hmmm was that because he was not happy with the service????

• Phil and Michael are actually very strong personal friends.
    Nothing wrong with that in itself, but never be surprised when snakes speak with forked tongues.

• Phil needs to take Outlook lessons. Mine has a Cancel Meeting button.

• Sinmac 05/04/12 #

Maybe if the residents of Priory Hall had been corrupt, accepted bribes, and evaded tax instead of saving hard for deposits and buying their homes with hard earned money Hogan might have seen fit to meet us at some stage over the last 6 months. We were evacuated from our homes on the 17th of October 2011 and Hogan has refused to meet us since then using the courts as an excuse, even though the residents have not been before the courts in the last 6 months.
    Phil Hogan is the minister responsible for Building Control regulations ( Prioryhall has serious breaches to building regulations including, Fire, Building Control and Planning ) . Surely he should meet the residents to discuss our concerns for our futures?

This is the same Minister who recently appointed Conor Taafe of Homebond fame to the Building Regulation Advisory Board. How was this appointment made personally by Hogan ( This was not an advertised position ) be allowed to happen? Given Homebonds close links to the controversy over insurance cover for homes destroyed by pyrite. These homeowners were left high and dry after HomeBond opted out of legal responsibility last year. HomeBond refused to attend the Oireachtas Environment Committee into the pyrite problems into 1000’s of homes. And now this Conor Taafe is on sitting on the Building Regulation Advisory Board? Surely this appointment should be reconsidered?

One of the first things Hogan did when he became Minister for the Environment was to put on ice the independent planning enquiries set up to investigate planning irregularities in various councils ( including investigations into Carlow and Kilkenny Councils, his own constituency ). These independent enquiries need to be re-opened immediately!

Hogan has stated numerous times that his department is working very closely with DCC on Priory Hall. He also stated in the Dail that the developers of Priory Hall were being brought to book!!!! Is the minister aware that DCC decided in same week that that the Mahon report was published not to contest property developer O Mahony’s appeal on his conviction for fire safety breaches at the Priory Hall apartment complex. O Mahony was convicted along with McFeely in April 2011 in the district court. DCC decided 2 weeks ago not to contest his appeal. Why would DCC have the developer convicted and then decide not to contest his appeal?

Background to O Mahonys conviction http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0404/prioryhall.html

• Cmon guys, Phils a politician, elected in the land of make believe. He can do whatever the fuck he likes and there is diddle squat you can do about it. He knows it, in fact Phil baby is knockin back grande lattes and munching on muffins right this minute safe in the knowledge that he was elected by a nation of blowhards, bred to bend over and do what the fuck they’re told.

#Mark Lingard sadly has a point, your not cynical dude, large corporates love ex-politicians. Just ask Sean Sherlock, he’s not waiting till the end of term to secure his tenure at any number of corporate entities, that fucker cant wait till he is voted out. Just the thought of all those golden parachutes to choose from keeps him up nights.

• This government is made up of gombeen men who havent the brains to realise that they will be annihilated at the next local elections to start with and then at a general election.
    But of course they will all have qualified for the big ministeriall pension at that stage.
    It would seem that the personal rewards are what irish politics is all about.
    Time we changed that.

• jrbmc 05/04/12 #

That’s all they give a shit about, lie through their arse to get in, get the pension and then don’t give a fuck what happens afterwards, all these Gimps that are now Ministers are the ones who back kenny when members of FG tried to replace him as their party leader.

• Annihilated by who exactly? Sinn Fein are poised for gains yes but mainly at Labour’s expense. FG has no competition since FF is on the floor leaving a vote for independents the only way to annihilate anyone at the locals. And since there are always so many Indos that go nowhere, the coalition is statistically poised to do ok at the locals.

And of course opinion polls still show FG’s pretty much unchanged since the election.

• @David, By Independents, Sinn Fein, United Left Alliance and Fianna Fail. Thats who.
      History repeats. When the German establishment imposed austerity on their people in the 20′s and 30′s guess who got huge popular support. Was it thought out, was it wise, definitely not but it was democracy in action.
      Are we so wise that we wont turn to those outside the establishment. And who can say that it would not be better for Ireland.

• Fagan's 05/04/12 #

Time for Phil to go, time for Michael Martin to go, time for Willie o’Dea to go, time for John McGuinness to go.

• Barry O 05/04/12 #

Nothing ever changes. Hogan has to go at this stage. As much use as a chocolate tea pot

• Due to the minister using electronic mail, he is unable to find out when or who requested this meeting. That’s a lie a big fooking lie. do they think us stupid,, perhaps you should check your received mails/requests Phil, and better still try to treat the people who elected you with at least an ounce of respect.

• jimbo 05/04/12 #

Hogan needs to resign right now

• @Hairy Date

I suppose he has two expensive coffee machines like James Reilly, Minister for Health!! Costing huge money. One wasn’t enough, he put 2 on his expenses because he has two offices. Poor thing, I’d hate to see him without his expensive coffee, rich bikkies and cream cakes.

• The Moriarty report mentioned the fact that the reason why so many FF were mentioned in the report was due to the fact they were in power more, this sort of cronyism shows that if FG were in power for the the time FF were, the tribunals would be full of FG heads.

Any way, most councils have been controlled by FG / Lab for the last decade and this is the root and branch of dodgy decisions and dubious relationships …… while FF were caught out, FG I have no doubt are just as bad.

• Fagan's 05/04/12 #

If FG had been in power for most of the last 80 years, as FF were, then about half of the die hard members of FF would have joined FG instead and would castigating the FF’ers.

• I really dont think so Dave.

• The way planning / local government is structured in this country leaves it very open for ‘dodgy’ dealings and that is the problem.

While the bile towards FF is reasonable, FG are more than capable of being as bad.

Lowry was dammed in the Mahon report, he still tops polls and his FG friends at grass root level are still his friends.

Don’t be naive to think that dodgy politicians are the reserve of FF

• Gilmore shoud give Enda an ultimatum. Get rid of Hogan or the walls come tumbling down.

• @Mark,

Even, if we were lucky enough to see him being sacked or resigning, the b . . . ard will get a hefty retirement plan! We saw charlie haughey, a big gangster in every way, bertie aherne, even bigger, as he learned from haughey! But, the biggest gangsters and double standards of all is Bull Hogan and Fine Gael. They have had time to watch very closely, learn, and ultimately, be the best liars, gangsters, double standard party yet!

• Double standards???? The average Irish voter is too naive to see even this much!

• This is hilarious. People calling Hogan to resign for meeting Lowry, another democratically elected TD? Then the party whose members were gun runners and killers give out (and serial printers)? No wonder Ireland is so messed up!!

Lowry should have been out of politics years ago yet he still manages to get elected time and time again despite the knowledge of dealings revealed in the tribunal and previously with ben Dunne. The tribunal only put in writing what was widely known across a decade.

We get what we vote for.

• Ah sure what’s wrong with that? Michael Lowry is a gentleman and a scholar, who had his name ruined by the “D4 media!” He was just handing Phil Hogan a brown envelope… the plans for a Casino in North Tipperary of course.

• @Fiachra Reilly

Just been watching 6/1 News. Lowry was been interviewed and mentioned and…. advised Joan Burton to more or less mind her own damn business and work on her own Ministry which is in huge disorder!!!!!!!! What an arrogant f . . kwit!! This is another little rat that needs a size 10 up his ass. Pity I only wear a size 5! I suppose I could kick him with a left and right! That would make it 10!

• Hey Hogan you big lump ! Why wont you meet the residents of Priorly Hall and why wont you explain the Conor Taffe fiasco ?? Same old story, FG/Lab exactly the same as the other shower Fianna Fail

• More like Kenny’s advisers are sharper operators than people give Kenny credit for.

• My ‘wittty’ retort to Fagan’s comment

” Loose Rubies. That seems to be the case. Philly has been allowed become the magnet for anger at the Govt. Kenny is a sharper operator than people give him credit for.

ended up down here where it doesnt sound as witty

• Denis 05/04/12 #

So because a minister met an elected member of the Dail not meeting the residents of Priory Hall is a gross double standard?
    I’m not seeing it myself unless some of the former residents of Sinn Fein towers are TDs too?

• Explain how Phil Hogan is corrupt?? These sort of comments get posted on here and quite frankly if it was print media there would be a legal case…. Phil Hogan may be a stubborn man but corrupt??? I actually think there are way more ‘liars’ posting on this site than the dail could even dream about…

• Bertie wasn’t found as being corrupt .. either has Hogan … but both can be questioned about some dodgy relations with dodgy people.

• @Declan

Listen to what you just said. Whether you or the bull hogan wants to admit that his property fees are no different to the fees/tax he wants from us is immaterial. THEY ARE THE SAME! How is there a close friend/colleague appointed to this board and … not advertised either!

Wake up and see the light, the lies, the double standards. No different to the other shower of b . . t ards! They’ve had time to learn and experience how its done!

• I am by no means a fan of Phil Hogan and think he should probably be reshuffled out of the cabinet but this story is a load of bull.

The comparison between meeting someone AFTER a tribunal and meeting people while a court case is ongoing is apples and oranges.

Sinn Féin are ones to talk about double standards!!!

Unfortunately Lowry is still a TD and he’s going to end up having meetings with Ministers as a part of his job. What is Phil Hogan and all other TDs supposed to do, just ignore him? Ban anyone from even talking to Lowry in Leinster House? I think it’d be great to give him the silent treatment, but it’s totally unworkable!

Can’t believe TheJournal just prints the ramblings of some Sinn Féin Councillor as “news”.

• He should be reshuffled over to your place for tea and biscuits.

• Fagan's 05/04/12 #

Ah when things aren’t going your way start shouting about the man who said it.

Phil Hogan was never fit to be in cabinet. He is FF to the core in outlook and deed, and was always going to be a festering sore for the Govt. He will continue to be.

• Just a reminder David as you seem to have a touch of amnesia, priory hall residents are not in court, it’s DCC VS MCFEELY. Phil hogan is a moron, he’s a coward, they all are. That ‘rambling’ councillor has been an ardent supporter from day one and certainly deserves credit. As a councillor, regardless of which party he is member, he has done the work of ten Phil Hogans.

• amnesia, jesus lady, have you seen that photo, he has one next to Phil as well. Thats a brick wall your banging your head against there. Your in digestive city, no choc chip cookies for Dave.

Hats off to you David, your a publicity machine.

• @David Higgins,

Doesn’t matter to me at this stage who is trying to get them help, could be the devil himself. The fact is, these families need someone to care and fight for them. They are being ignored for too long. They are human beings, voters, Irish people with children that are trying to do their best for them. It’s just soul destroying for them.

• Gerard 05/04/12 #

Is “apples and oranges” the new fine Gael buzz expression because all the blue shirts seem to be using it as much as Cowan used his “going forward” tripe for years?

Add New Comment