on a jetplane

Emigration quiz: Where does your heart reside, Ireland or abroad?

Have you gone native or are you coming home?

First thing's first, when were you last on Irish soil?
PA Images
I've been back in the last six months.
I think it was in the last year to 18 months

I've been home just the once.
Haven't been home, haven't looked back.
Have you bought a car over there, either jointly or by yourself?
Yes.
No.
Have you become a fan/expert on either a sports team or TV soap in your adopted country?
PA Images
I pretty much watch every game/episode.
I could definitely tell you exactly what's going on with the team/show.

I'd kinda know what's going on but I'd rather watch the GAA/Coronation Street?
No way, sure aren't there beaches to chill on and pubs to drink in?
How many care packages have been sent to you from Ireland?
0-1
2-3

4-5
5+
Are you in a relationship with someone you've met since being abroad?
Shutterstock
Yes.
No.
What best describes your current lodgings?
Shutterstock
My mate's couch/fold-out bed.
A grand spot for the next while anyway.

Ah, it's my gaff alright but I wouldn't mind somewhere nicer.
Home.
What was your last Christmas dinner?
Shutterstock
A big turkey with all the trimmings. There were even roasters.
We made a turkey but it wasn't a patch on mammy's.

Had some vaguely traditional food but it didn't really feel Christmassy.
We had a session but food wasn't exactly the priority.
Do you own a pet over there?
PA Images
Yes, and I love their furry face.
Yes, little legend so they are.

No, don't fancy that kinda commitment.
Does the ant colony in our porch count?
Do you still use your Irish phone number at all?
Facebook
Yes, it's still handy for WhatsApp.
No, my friends at home know my foreign number or use Facebook.
How much of the clothing you're currently wearing were bought in your new country?
Practically my whole outfit.
I think a top or trousers are from here.

My socks and/or jocks were bought here alright.
I'm wearing my county colours right now.
And finally, how often do you read TheJournal.ie to see what's going on back home?
Several times a day.
About once a day.

From time to time.
Never, not even sure how I got here.
Answer all the questions to see your result!
PA Images
You scored out of !
You're practically Diaspora royalty
Ireland is in your past and you're now at fully fledged Diaspora level. Just promise to visit to old sod at some point and throw a few dollars our way.
Share your result:
PA Images
You scored out of !
You've gone native
You're now more {Insert nationality} than the locals themselves. Fair play to you in all fairness though, you've made a good life for yourself out there.
Share your result:
You scored out of !
You're doing well over there
When your mammy is asked how you're doing, she'll say your doing well. Because you are, but you're just there for career reasons. We know you'll be home!
Share your result:
PA Images
You scored out of !
You're just away for the craic really
You're loving the lifestyle over there and you've definitely got friendly with the locals. But let's face it, this isn't a long term plan.
Share your result: