TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Govt apologises for treatment of Irish WWII veterans

Defence Forces members who fought with the Allies in WWII were persecuted in Ireland for desertion.

Image: Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTER FOR Defence Alan Shatter is to introduce legislation this year which will formally provide an amnesty to Irish citizens who absented themselves from duty with the Defence Forces to fight for the Allies in World War II.

“The government apologises for the manner in which those men of the Defence Forces were treated after the war by the state,” Shatter said in the Dáil this evening.

Irish soldiers were persecuted for deserting the Irish Defence Forces and fighting with the Allied forces against Hitler. Soldiers were immediately dismissed from the Defence Forces under Emergency Power Order 32 introduced by Eamon de Valera’s government.

The dismissal included a ban from state employment for seven years and blocked their Defence Forces pay and pension rights.

“Individuals were not given a chance to explain their absence,” Shatter said in the Dáil this evening. “No distinction was made between those who fought on the Allied side for freedom and democracy, and those who absented themselves for other reasons.”

“In the almost 73 years since the outbreak of World War II, our understanding of history has matured. We can reevaluate actions taken long ago free from the constraints that bounded those directly involved and without questioning or revisiting their motivations.

“It is time for understanding and forgiveness,” he said, and for the contribution made by Irish soldiers to the Allied effort to be recognised and their rejection understood.

“The Government recognises the value and importance to the State” of all the works performed by all members of the Defence Forces during World War II. However, Shatter insisted that “the loyalty of the Defence Forces is essential” and “especially at a time of crisis”.

The minister said that the legislation will not undermine “the general principle regarding desertion” and will not give rise “to any liability of any nature on the part of the state”.

Read next:

Comments (109 Comments)

• Not before time. Well done Shatter…

• They acted in the best interest of the free world.

• is that the same free world that now imposes its freedom on others with military interventions, coups and drone bombings?

• Ah Kerron we are talking about 70 years ago. It was a bit more direct then you know face to face.

• Imperialism still operates with the same motives: profit and power

and has the same outcomes: death and destruction

saying things are different simply because they happened X amount of years ago is ahistorical

• And the Third Reich was such a kindly, peaceable regime, wasn’t it? “Empire?” what are you blathering about? The Empire was sacrificed, the nation bankrupted, the people starved on the sort of weekly rations you or I would use to make one sandwich, and 1500 British civilians killed every single day, in the name of defending the world against the vilest bunch of murderers the world has ever known – despite Britain being specifically offered peace-terms by the Nazis as “Anglo-Saxon brothers.” Are you totally insane? Do you have any idea what would have happened to Ireland without the sacrifices made by the allies? One squeak out of you and you would just have been a smoking hole in the ground. The courage of these men, the integrity in choosing to fight true evil, knowing the bigotry they would return to, is beyond belief, truly awesome. You should be proud to have produced such people, not wittering on the same tired old rubbish. What a backward freak you are. No doubt it is people like you who DeValera was referring to, when – unlike every country in shattered Europe – he refused to take in Jewish orphans, who everyone else had pledged to bring up in their own faith: “only 500 and only on condition that nobody is told they are Jews, for fear of reprisals.” No civilised person uses the words “orphaned children” and “reprisals” in the same breath. Eternal shame on you for being one of only three nations low enough to have maintained diplomatic relations with Nazi Germany. This ruling is a sign of – finally – growing up and behaving in a statesmanlike manner, instead of embarrassing yourselves by ranting outdated, self-pitying b*llocks.

• Most of these men went to fight facism. They should be placed in the same category as those Irishmen who went to fight in Spain for the Republic against Franco and his facists. It’s 73 years too late for some of them but a pardon is justified. Some of the posts criticising the men are a disgrace tbh.

• Appropriate, but well over due.

• They acted in Ireland’s best interests. Full stop.

• Karl they acted in her best interest when they volunteered to sign up to defend the people of Ireland and her interests. they then BROKE AN OATH and joined a foreign military, the propaganda machines were working for both sides back then. there was no public knowledge of the death camps, nor of the battle fronts on the eastern or western campaigns. these DESERTERS could not have known what way the war was going, I’m proud of every Irish man and women who fought on allies or axis side during the war for a cause they believed in. but do not feel we should forgive those who broke an oath to defend our shores if it was needed.

• Are you for real John? Facism was well known about from the early 30s. Jews were being openly persecuted in Germany for over 6 years before the war. Franco’s regime in Spain was committing atrocities from 1936 up until the advent of war and he was openly being supported by Hitler and Mussolini. How quick would you be to swear an oath to defend our country? So easy to say type those words isn’t it?

• If these men were so interested in fighting fascism then why didn’t they go to Spain and fight with the International Brigades??

They weren’t!!

because there was no money in it, just the likelihood of death fighting for the Spanish Republic against fascism

• The full extent of the Holocaust was unimaginable, but enough was known – through refugees, smuggled information etc – for everyone to know that genocide was in progress. And of course, everyone knew that every other country in Europe – except the UK due to immense courage and sacrifice, and Eire thanks to the UK – was being invaded and enslaved, treated as sub-humans – literally. Are you really, truly, equally proud of those Irishmen who chose to actively support the Axis powers? How sick can anyone get?

• I am shocked by the number of people who have presented a negative attitude towards these brave soldiers. The anti British sentiment lives on at a time when I believed the country was changing. I also find it truly appalling that there is an attempt to equate these soldiers with those who joined the Nazis. Please take a serious hard look at yourselves.

• William, I totally agree with you..

• You should take a look at yourselves first. It’s not anti-British to be proud of being Irish, but I’d suggest your attitude is anti-Irish and naive in the extreme. Just look at actually happened in WWII. The US took the opportunity to dismantle the British Empire for economic reasons. That’s how they treated their “allies”. Wake up and realize that in the real world either we look after our own interests or we get taken for fools.

• @censored – those men did look after our interests, they looked after this country and its future generations, they took the fight to the enemy instead of waiting for hitler and the boys to make their mark on irish soil. it doesnt matter what flag was on their uniform, they knew who they fought for, why they fought and they did a bloody good job of it!!!

• These men served their country proudly and they had the bravery to leave and fight a greater injustice. They should have been welcomed home as hero’s. In my opinion, it’s 70 years too late. I’m not saying the Irish single handedly ended the war but I’m sure the allied forces were happy any extra help.
    Besides, wasn’t there a plan to attack the Brits during WW2. How would we have looked as a nation I that had happened?

• There was indeed it was called operation sealion.

• Britain Also had a plan to invade Ireland in order to use our Atlantic sea ports.

• So did the germans…ironically enough called Operation Green :)

• If Britain had not survived, Ireland was planned to be used solely as a military base for the planned invasion of the USA. You were considered to be troublesome and lacking in natural resources, and while a nasty “Poland style” occupation was planned for the British which Hitler considered to be blood brothers, but who had rejected peace-terms, the Irish were on the list of those not considered racially suitable to be treated as equals – which generally meant a form of apartheid forbidding “interbreeding” with the native population, actual slavery, medical experimentation, or death. You should be proud of these men – they are the ones who were actually defending your homeland, not those who served a government which was busily kissing Hitler’s bum.

• Churchill requested the use of those seaports, and was refused by DeValera’s pro-Nazi government. Sorry to break it to you Emmet, but if we’d wanted to take them by force, we could have done.

• There was no draft in Ireland. They didn’t have to join the army and were free to leave and join the British forces. Instead they chose to enlist. They were trained (at public expense), trusted and relied upon. Then they sold that training to a country that was seriously considering attacking Ireland. That’s desertion. I’d doubt any of them had some special knowledge of what was happening in the camps of Eastern Europe. That wasn’t public knowledge.

If they received undue harsh treatment above and beyond their official punishment then fair enough, there should be an apology for that and maybe even reparation. But why should they be pardoned for an offence that they committed? Ireland was counting on them and as the minister said “the loyalty of the Defence Forces is essential”, “especially at a time of crisis”.

• Agreed. An army can only function, especially one at a time of conflict, when it knows that each man and woman will play their part. A situation where so many decided not to turn up one day was unacceptable.

If they had done this in Britain or America or France they would have been shot, or died in jail.

• But chuck it was public knowledge that nazi germany had invaded all of eastern, western, southern and northern Europe!
      The Japanese had control of the pacific!
      I am sure that bit of info was in the newspapers don’t you think?

• I think it was public knowledge that Britain acquired an Empire through conquest too. Or did you miss that memo?

• Chuck I must have been asleep during my Irish history class to know about that! Now do you want to defend the actions of nazi Germany and Japan in the second world war? Cause it sounds like you are! You give them a pass because of the history of Britain. Tell that to the 60 million who died in ww2

• Nothing I said implies giving Germany or Japan a free pass, and if you really thought that then I’m not surprised that you are having so much trouble remembering what you read less than an hour ago.

Here it is again; I’d doubt any of them had some special knowledge of what was happening in the camps of Eastern Europe. That wasn’t public knowledge.

They volunteered for the Irish army and then deserted. Ergo, they are deserters.

• Do you honestly think the Irish Defence Forces would have lasted more than a couple of days in the face of an invasion by either the Allies or Axis powers? By going to fight for the Allies these soldiers were proactive in defending Ireland’s freedom. There was a great danger after the fall of France and the Dunkirk evacuation that the UK would be taken by the Nazis and Ireland would certainly fall after that, neutral or not. The Germans would not have left such a strategic island open to the US for counter attacks. The men who left the Irish army to join the Allies should be regarded as heroes not just for freedom of Europe from fascism but also for Irish freedom. Details of what was happening in the concentration camps was public knowledge by late 1942, but I don’t see what that has got to do with it. The extermination of Jews, Homosexuals, Roma etc was a despicable crime but the threat of occupation of the UK and Ireland would’ve been far higher in the thoughts of these men.

• “Do you honestly think the Irish Defence Forces would have lasted more than a couple of days in the face of an invasion by either the Allies or Axis powers?”

Yes I do, and so did Montgomery and so the the Americans. Read “Step Together!” by Donal McCarron for more information

In any case, the prospect of victory isn’t the point. You defend your country to the last, which is why Churchill, like the Irish, prepared for fighting a guerilla war and the most immediate threat to Ireland came in fact from the Allies. So should we laud these men for deserting our forces in order to put themselves in position where they might have helped to invade Ireland? Should the Polish not have bothered trying to defend themselves since they were unlikely to win? Weren’t the British unlikely to hold out after Dunkirk? Should they have capitulated too?

As I said in my original post, they had the freedom the join the British forces as tens of thousands of others did. That’s fine. What’s not fine is swearing an oath, letting the Irish pay for your training and then deserting.

If you desert, you are a deserter, it’s pretty simple really.

• Fact is Ireland should have joined the war on the side of the Allies, or at the very least should have given the use of our ports to Churchill. It was only DeValera’s insular anti British views that prevented more Irish from fighting nazi Germany.

• No, we were right to stay neutral. These Imperial wars are nothing to do with us and we’ve given up enough dead Irish people to their war machines.

• Oh let’s all condemn these anti-British sentiments that DeV and many others held

It’s not like the British were on the verge of putting him up against a wall and shooting him 24 years earlier!

• As the ones who remained with the Irish army were supporting a government which kow-towed to a regime which planned to treat the Irish as they treated the slav people (yes, that much was known, btw!) they were, in fact, collaborators. It is the ones who fought the Nazis alongside the British who were defending Ireland.

• DeValera also had some sick views on Jewish orphans. A statesman should be lofty enough to consider the greater moral good.

• What threat was there from the Allies? I hate to downgrade something you are bound to be proud of but honestly, don’t you realise that the occupation of Ireland had virtually no public support in the UK? Why do you imagine us all rubbing our hands and gloating, yearning to control a country which, frankly, always cost more to police than it ever produced? Most people just wanted to make sure that you didn’t kill each other in the kind of religious feuding which nobody here has been able to understand since the Englightenment. If we had had any evil intent in that respect, do you honestly think we couldn’t have pulled it off? If you are going to quote Montgomery, here’s one – he was asked if he could put down the Irish uprising and replied “Yes, in 36 hours, but not without significant loss of civilian life – and my name isn’t Cromwell.” Do grow up, please. The Irish army – which supported a regime which was actively collaborating with the Nazis who planned to give the Irish the sort of occupation the British never dreamed of – would have been as much use as a chocolate tea-pot against the forces of the Third Reich.

• But 24 years earlier, we didn’t, did we? During WW2, he was posing as a statesman – that means abandoning his own petty spite in favour of what is right.

• Jim Ryan 13/06/12 #

If you are that worried about the opinions of the Iraqi people then go to iraq and ask them :)

• Our ww2 war vets chose bravely to confront the most evil blight to humanity. We should salute them or shut up

• If Ireland had been invaded by the Germans, which was clearly on the cards, would the British have let these “deserters” or other Irish in the British forces leave to help protect ireland or if they went AWOL, leave them go unpunished? The answer I believe in absolutely not. Alternatively if the British had Invaded Ireland as a “defensive measure” would thay have expected these “deserters” to carry out that invasion against ther own countrymen? Absolutely.

• To John Mack, they did defend our shores by fighting on the front line!!!

• which front line… I have a grand parent who was pow in Burma, I have friends Who’s grand parent was a German fighter ace pilot. I have no problems with the Irish men who fought on either side, I have no disregard for any Japanese who’s grandfather may have been a guard in my grandfather’s camp. the main point is these warriors/soldiers joined and served one nation one flag. The Irish soldiers signed up to protect Ireland, it’s shores and it’s people. those who left their post and served under another nations flag do not deserve to be pardoned. If we used military law within the bounds of war time then sentence can be as harsh as death or lifetime prison. Since we were a neutral nation the government were just with their judgment of a seven year no state job and forfeit of irish military pension. to both the allies and axis sides they were treated as deserters.

• Declan, cards on the table do you know of Irish military personal who abandoned their posts, and signed up with another nation and fought under their flag?

• Quick question for you John, would you ever consider it acceptable for a soldier to ignore his oath of duty to his country and fight for what he truly believes is right? Think about those soldiers fighting against loyalist forces in Syria right now, soldiers who are now technically classed as deserters but are heroes in the eyes of many around the world.

• heroApologies. . .In my haste to cheer I forgot a) that it’s Peter Mulvany and b) to read the comments above. Irishmen risked their lives to fight the nazis and all some can do is talk nonsense about “oaths” and lack of loyalty. When the ‘hero’ De Valera finally took his seat in the Dail he took the oath of allegiance with his fingers crossed. Mental Reservation not a modern phenomenon. When the evil Hitler killed himself the bold Dev sent flowers (figuratively). So it oakes me sad and angry that the mindset of the 30s which informs our nation to this day is alive and well in the eejits who think loyalty to a country is more important than doing the right thing.

• Three cheers for Peter & Co. for all their hard work and dedication. Delighted for everyone involved.

• Shatter Island – the lunatic asylum…..

• The punishment did not equal the crime. Desertion is defined in the defence act 1954 as if a soldier “absents himself without due authority from his unit or formation or from the place where his duty requires him to be, with the intention of not returning to that unit, formation or place, or

(iv) if he is absent without due authority from his unit or formation or from the place where his duty requires him to be and at any time during such absence forms the intention of not returning to that unit, formation or place”,
    Key term being “with the INTENTION of not returning to that unit” From what I gather from this the soldiers in question did intend on returning to ther units. Unlike cowards who deserted with no intention of return and who were just shirking their duty.

I am all for keeping oaths etc, but branding thses men with the same mantle as those that abscond from the army to avoid dangerous circumstances when they themselves went to actively seek dangerous circumstances is a bit like locking a 17 year old lad up with sex criminals for sleeping with his 16 year old girlfriend, Yes, its a crime, but a bit of perspective please!

The fact that these men could see the need to fight the tide of facism when the government of the time chose to ignore it only speaks volumes for the character and courage of these men, and if anything, that should be remembered. Yes the old adage of “englands difficulty” etc was more apparent and more acceptable then, but the fact that hundereds of thousands of Irishmen fought and died for Britian in both world wars, and earlier and later wars, even today, shows that even amidts national need and patriotism, the bigger picture has always been something that Irishmen have always been able to see. Unfortunately many have also been guilty of letting cowardice and hate blind them to what really matters on a bigger scale. It seems to me that alot of the anomosity towards these soldiers is not because they absented themselves to fight for a foreign nation, but because of the nation they chose to fight for.

• what exactly was the “bigger picture” of World War One??

It was an imperialist game of chess, based on tensions created during the so-called scramble for Africa and older territorial ambitions on the European continent.

What big picture were the Irish who fought in Gallipoli and on the Western Front seeing exactly?

• Most wars are based on territorial ambition Kerron. Kind of goes with the definition of war.

• The crux of the issue is whether WWII was fought on an ideological basis

I was merely correcting the above comment which conflated the pointless imperial slaughter of WW1 with the more complex basis for WWII

• and these days most wars are not fought with territorial ambition in mind, rather they are about geo-political and economic control and military spheres of influence – oh and outright plunder!

• Kerron – WW1 was disgusting and from here and now appears pointless – but it was fought on a territorial basis. Neutral Belgium was invaded and its people subjected to horrendous slaughter, so was France – 3000 Frenchmen died for every day of that war, leaving half the male population either dead or disabled. The land was devastated, industries bled white, territories annexed, POWs starved and used for such things as mining – without pit-props. Large parts of Northern France are still inable to be used because they contain discarded weaponry, toxic gas-cannisters, and saddest of all, corpses. Chemical war-fare was used for the first time by the Germans, England suffered the first air-borne bombing raids, and the Kaiser declared his intentions to annexe every part of the existing Empires (which included Ireland at the time.) At that time, every European nation had an Empire to some degree, and they were considered a measure of success and economic growth, not oppression. So although at a distance it looks like a pointless squabble among royal cousins, close up and seen through the eyes of a recruit 99 years ago, it was very real and necessary, to defend a way of life which the protagonists had no idea was already obsolete. And the whole thing was planned in 1905 (the Von Schlieffen plan) – it was no flash in the pan.

• Ceallaigh & Co making the case that Irishmen fighting the nazis was somehow a crime because it involved standing with the British. Hardly revisionist to know a jack-booted moron when you see them. . .or read their silly comments. Not replying any more on this. Sad, sad, sad.

• A crime to fight Nazis? Hyperbole much? It was a crime because they deserted their own armed forces during the greatest crisis the nation had faced to sign up for the army of a belligerent nation.

Nothing to do with uncle Adolph. Winston was the greater threat to this country’s sovereignty back then.

Of course, despite all the high horse moralising, evil stinky Hitler wasn’t even the greatest mass murderer of that era. That honour would have to go to one of the Allied nations. Funny how the winners are absolved of such things.

• OiSan O Ceallaigh, stand up and take a bow. Your comment stands out as the most spectacularly bigoted and splendidly pig-ignorant comment in the history of post-war Anglo Irish relations – and that’s up against some pretty stiff opposition. Congratulations. Your Prat Of The Year rosette is in the post. Now run along and polish your tin-foil hat – I daresay the mother-ship will soon be calling.

• About time.

• The definition of Neutrality is not that you dont allign yourself to a particular side but also that you are in a position to defend yourself. These trained soldiers were required by Ireland to provide a deterent to Invasion and keep its own citizens, as much as possible, safe from the madness that was occuring on the continent and elswhere in the World.

• So you honestly think the Irish Army with practically no modern equipment would’ve acted as a deterrent to the Allies or Axis had they decided they wanted to take the country. We had four Gloster Gladiator Biplanes and three Hurricanes which had come under our control when they landed on Irish soil. I don’t think that would have given the Luftwaffe or RAF much nightmares. The Irish army may have put up a brave defence, maybe even to the last man, but had it been attacked the country would’ve fallen in days. The best thing these soldiers could’ve done to protect Ireland was what they did do, join with the Allies.

• “So you honestly think the Irish Army with practically no modern equipment would’ve acted as a deterrent to the Allies or Axis had they decided they wanted to take the country.”

They did. Christ, read something before you comment. Why do you think no-one tried to use our ports without permission? Politeness??

Invading isn’t enough, you have to hold a place to make use of it and the Allies assessed this as not being do-able without committing more forces than they could spare.

If everyone had taken their lead from these men and deserted, Ireland would surely have been invaded

• God bless all the people who fought against Hitler. Thats why we have the freedom so we can comment on sites like the Journal.

• No matter how you swing it, they ignored the oath they took to the state and abandoned their post. They should be punished as such.

• Jason you said “they should be punished” -your words! Do you realize that these are elderly people or have passed on? They fought the good fight! It’s time to move on. This is the right thing to do.

• Jason, do you think the soldiers in Syria who refused to shoot at innocent civilians and instead deserted deserve to be “punished as such”?

• @Ignoreland
      Comparing apples and oranges. You can’t compare desertion to fight a civil war an desertion to a foreign power to fight a war that doesn’t involve you.

@Declan
      The good fight? How many German soldiers were conscripts? How many had blood on their hands before they were thrown to the wolves? There were no good or bad sides during that war, the “good guys” in your opinion nuked and firebombed cities so where does your good factor in?

• Of course it involved us. We were entirely dependent on the fate of Europe as much as England or France etc. And from a purely humanitarian stance, what Nazi Germany did to the Jews and other classes of people affects humanity as a whole.

• Jason, another dinosaur stuck in 1916, maybe you’d rather be speaking German. As for the rag tag Irish Defence Force, they literally would not have lasted five minutes, de Valera knew it and so did everyone else. Irish neutrality cost them dear and it took some time before American and British confidence was rebuilt

• Glad to see these men finally got what they deserved and are recognised and appreciated for it.

Faugh A Ballagh!!

• Can’t we all just get along?

• Jim Ryan 13/06/12 #

The bigger picture of WW1 was that our closest neighbours were at war. You might not like it but Ireland in 1914 was part of Britian and people had an affinity for the Crown. it was only after the executions after 1916 that turned the majority of Irish people against the British establishment and furthermore in 1939 Ireland was a Free State and still had links to Britian. And the “crux” of this argument is, that they were not deserters, they were absent soldiers as defined by the Defence Act.

• I hope any soldiers who left the Defence Forces to join the German army will receive a similar amnesty, because it’s the same difference.

• Ur a shit stirrer….

• Well he makes a fair point regardless.

• Not really, just pointing out the hypocrisy of it. They left our army to go sign up with an army of a foreign country. It shouldn’t matter which army they joined, they’re still deserters and got the punishment applicable under law.

• Paddy you are talking shite!

• How am I Declan, just stating some facts.

• Paddy – their ‘crime’ wasn’t treated under the applicable laws at the time of the offence; the govt of the day actively set out to punish them without regard to due process or military law, didn’t hold trials or allow any defence by using legislative sleight of hand which in itself raises the question of the then govt acting outside its powers and the high probability its actions were in direct conflict with the constitution.

• It might not be what we want to hear but technically Paddy is right. Not that I would agree, but that’s just opinion.

• I am pretty sure Irish soldiers in the German Army were not treated the same as those that went to the British side. That was the main problem the fact that they joined the British Army and not that they joined a foreign army.

• Sean T Russell joined the Germans, and he got a statue. Those who joined the British Army and fought for Ireland’s freedom (make no mistake about that!) were named and “shamed” and barred from public sector jobs. This bill serves to REDRESS the previous hypocrisy, not to perpetuate hypocrisy.

• Paddy, you’re completely wrong and possibly just trolling. The issue isn’t whether you get pardoned because you deserted to fight for a different army, it is the fact that you deserted to fight for an army who, despite our official status of neutrality, was fighting for a cause we also shared.

• Ignoreland: Sorry, but you are wrong. Desertion is a black and white issue, why a soldier deserts is not a topic that should be up for debate.
      Felicity: Sean T Russell earned his place in history, as the saying went, “England’s difficulty is Ireland’s opportunity.”. But while you mention it, I wonder if some of the turned POW’s from Camp Friesack were deserters and if they would be pardoned also.

• Sean Russell did not “join the Germans”!

What utter revisionist tripe. He went to seek assistance to rid Ireland of the British Empire, and had no truck with any other invading army. He would have fought the Nazis had they put Operation Green into effect.

• There’s a long history of Irish people making common cause with whoever happened to be fighting the British. The nazis were pretty evil, but many other war making organizations (such as the British Empire) deserve just as much opprobrium.

• While their actions in fighting facism were laudable and should be recognised. They shouldn’t be pardoned these soldiers deserted our army. Though morally right they broke the law and were punished as such.

• Here we go, another u-turn – one century the governement is punishing these people, and the next century they’re being pardoned? Come on Government, lets have a bit of consistency!

• “absented” doesn’t he mean deserted. They were deserters, plain and simple.

• Paddy, you’re the typical imbecile who’s keeping your country back. They joined the British army to help free Europe from tyranny. What do you do, ii would say nothing except whinging; grow up and move on.

• Having some pride in your own country (Ireland, in case you need a reminder) doesn’t make you an imbecile. In fact, William, I’d say you’re the “typical imbecile” brainwashed by revisionists and the Daily Rag. There’s no other country in the world that would have stooped to this idiotic apology.

• paddy….ye fool. we were sitting on our arses waiting for some emergency to happen back then, at least those 5000 lads got up and done something about it. and before ye crap on about allegiance remember that the majority of catholic lads who fought were trying to free other catholic countries and succeeded and also helped our continent and country falling under the rule of dictatorship!

• And yet, it seems to be supported by the intelligent majority on this page, doesn’t it? (By the way, in 1939, only two other countries “stooped” to maintain diplomatic relations with the Nazis.) Does that inflate your national pride?

• I hesitate to add a comment to those already made by Irish men and women but personally I congratulate the Government of Ireland for the apology . Whilst we might condemn members of the Defence Forces who as it is said deserted to join the armed forces fighting against the evils of fascism ,their actions helped prevent the Nazis from enslaving the whole of Europe (including Eire).
    Several dates live in Infamy including 8th August 1945 when the Irish Government dismissed almost five thousand personnel for desertion.These brave people were unrepresented and tried in absentia.Surely contrary to natural justice.Many of those dismissed had been killed in action long before August 1945. Murdered by the Japanese in Singapore,or on the death railway in Burma,in north Africa fighting the forces of Rommel, in June 1944 on the beaches of Normandy,Kasteel France,Assisi and Cassino;Italy and even on the very day of dismissal 8th August 1945 one died taking food to Germany.I have only mentioned a few in the army,but Irishmen in the Navy and Air Force died also.
    It was spiteful to treat fellow Irishmen in such a manner,to also ban them from employment ( a term of seven years , I believe) -many decided to live in England and elsewhere because life would have been intolerable in Ireland.It should also be remembered that there was support for the Nazis from some Irish people. To return from the Spanish Civil war and be refused a job “because you are a premature anti-fascist ” added insult to injury. after that war Franco murdered probably in excess of half a million Republicans and Hitler transported thousands from Vichy France to death camps . No doubt the same fate would have befallen Irish ,English Scots and Welsh if people had not fought Fascism.

John Berry
    England

• Whilst their dismissal might have been to save money why the ban to prevent them working….
    Sorry an after thought !
    John Berry

• can mr shatter please arrange it that the 1-3 scoreline on sunday meant an ireland victory #fantasyland

• This is totally inappropriate and disgraceful.

The only ones who deserve recognition are the ones who stayed at their posts. Although ill-equipped they were prepared to defend this small island against the tyranny of ALL would-be invaders.

• The necessity to survive in a time of war produces strange bedfellows – for example, Stalinist Russia, the epitome of an evil regime, nevertheless did more than most to destroy Naziism. At a time of such intense crisis, what counts is the common enemy – not whether everyone can be best buddies in normal circumstances. With all due respect, Ireland’s tiny army wouldn’t have stood a snowball’s chance in hell against the 3rd Reich – and yes, they had every intention of invading you, and, even worse, considered you racially inferior – on a level with the Slavic people, whose fate the whole world knew at the time. A guerrilla-style war of defence only works if, at some level, the invader is ham-strung by some consideration for humanity: you only have to compare the actions of Cromwell and Montgomery to realise that. We had no intention of invading Ireland. Irish Independence actually had massive support in England. We asked, as one sovereign state to another, permission to use your ports – and were refused, by a pro-Nazi Irish government. If the British had fallen, so would you – and into a far worse case than us, because we were classed as being an Aryan nation. Would you have preferred your country to have been subjected to the full “sub-human” treatment, on anti-British principal? These soldiers were heroic in every way – you should be immensely proud of them, not moaning that they did something more useful than lining up like lambs to the Nazi slaughter.

• Ah yes, The usual self flagellation and forelock tugging that fuels the revisionist agenda. It’s almost traditional now.

Funny how Shatter wouldn’t call them “deserters” which is all they were. Solider’s who deserted their nations army to join another that was preparing to invade this state. Traitors in every sense of the word.

• They abandoned our defense forces without permission. It doesn’t matter what the reason was. We were a sovereign state at the time. A sovereign state counts on the loyalty of its defense forces. You can’t just up stakes and leave and expect no sanctions.

• Ah – I see where you are leading with this: you are saying, the existing sovereign power must at all times be given absolute loyalty regardless of all considerations of moral right or personal inclination. By your own definition, then, the Irish citizens of Britain – a sovereign state at the time of the Irish uprising – were not fighting for freedom from a foreign power, but committing technical treason in rebelling against British rule, and fully deserved to be shot in punishment. Don’t be daft.

Add New Comment