TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

James Reilly tells Dail: I have acted with complete propriety at all times

The Health Minister told the chamber that the current difficulties stem from ‘complex’ litigation.

Reilly giving his statement this evening
Image: Oireachtas website

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly has told the Dail that he acted with complete propriety at all times in business dealings which saw his name entered in Stubbs Gazette over a debt of €1.9 million.

Dr Reilly told the Dáil that the current difficulties stem from ‘complex’ litigation which he believes will be resolved, and that he and other investors in a nursing home intend to meet their financial obligations.

The Minister also rejected suggestions that there was any conflict of interest in his investment in a nursing home at the same time as holding the position in  Cabinet.

In a personal statement lasting just under ten minutes, James Reilly said that that problems stemmed from an investment he had entered into 12 years ago involving the Green Hills nursing home in Tipperary.

A dispute arose between the 13 investors in the nursing home which saw the case being brought before the High Court.

He said that he very much regretted that it had not been possible to reach an agreement before he was named in Stubbs Gazette.

The Minister said he had twice tried to dispose of his involvement in the nursing home but had not been bought out by the other investors.  He said that he had granted power of attorney to his solicitor in March 2011, following his appointment to government, for the purposes of “doing all acts necessary to dispose of my interest” in the investment.

He told the Dáil he had sought the advice of the Standards in Public Office Commission (SIPO) over how he could set aside his interest in the nursing home while he remained as Minister after his lawyer had failed to dispose of his interest in the nursing home, despite several attempts to do so.

The Minister strongly rejected criticism from opposition TDs that he had a conflict of interest through his investment in the nursing home.

“I’d like to state very clearly on the record of the House that nothing could be furthest from the truth,” he said.

He cited the fact that he had never been the operator of the nursing home, which is run independently; that he had attempted to divest his interest in the property for the past 16 months; and that his interest is the “well-being of older people” as reasons why there was no conflict of interest.

VIDEO: Health Minister James Reilly’s statement to the Dáil >

Pictures: James Reilly’s name on the Stubbs Gazette defaulters’ list >

Health Minister’s business affairs ‘entirely in order’ insists Taoiseach >

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• How could there be a conflict of interest, he has involvement in a private nursing home while as Minister is closing public nursing home beds. No conflict whatsoever.

• Does he stand to gain from being a part owner of the nursing home? IF YES then that is a clear conflict of interest and no amount of waffle will change that fact.

• Such trivialities as conflicts of interest and ‘etticks’ only apply to Fíanna Fáil; Reilly is not in it for the money; it’s for the love of mankind – my place or a trolley.

• So he is still listed as a defaulter in Stubbs.Still an investor in a private nursing home,while minister with responsibility for closing public nursing home beds.So I’m curious whats changed since this story broke?

• Ah Mark the new FG Rottweiler attacking posters who criticise FG! Himself and big Phil are only in the cabinet as they backed Enda during the heave against him! Waste of space hope he gets a rough ride tomorrow like they attacked Wallace!

• No Labour TD’s present….. And as for Reilly he is making Harney look like a competent minister for health…

• in it for the good of the nation not for money. pay your debts out of your over inflated salary and your tax free loop hole thats your luxurious home. same circus ,different clowns

• jrbmc 11/07/12 #

The funniest part of that speech ( if there is one) is Noonan’s face!!! It says it all…..

Do the right thing Minister!

• You’d better tell him what the ‘right thing’ is!

Having that pesky money to invest in the first instance was the cause of it all- nothing to do with an unpaid debt! The lawyer failed to offload Reilly’s interest.

Dang that lawyer!- (why was he or she not named in the House of Cads (yes CADS)).

The only ‘agreement to be reached’ was to shell out, and sharpish – just like we pay the household tax!

The HIgh Court does not suffer fools gladly; nor do the electorate. The Dáil might, but none of them can throw stones across the same trough; might break the wrong snout!

Is there anyone in the Dáil who has not got something to hide? I don’t mean hiding personally, like Enda, but something else to hide. Like an unpaid bill, a soft loan given for the love of them, a dodgy business scandal, going to church on a Sunday, or any other frowned-on behaviour.

Well, maybe there is one: Mickey Noonan. No personal scandal there! Save for a feta fetish, maybe!

• That I may be struck de……just take my word ok.

• Ed 12/07/12 #

O Reilly needs to man up and walk the plank , the plank

• Take the health portfolio of him just to be sure.
    (Not that’s he’s doing a good job with it anyway)

• I actually believe him , to bf .

Still though , it’s not enough , it makes a complete mockery of government and state that a minister appear in a debtors list , whatever the mitigating circumstances may be . In any proper democracy , he would have tendered his resignation .

• FF head on VinB calling him a disgrace. People in glasshouses and all that?

• That’s grand,thanks for clearing that up….we going to the bar now then?..you must be gasping at this hour.

• Eileen I am surprised at you and your earlier rush to judgement…you want to now call the Minister a liar after he makes a statement in the House quoting as independent authorities two solicitors and a Dail Commission. Crawl back into your den misses.

• Mark Hamilton
      Go suck a lemon . I am entitled to my opinion and as he is in Stubbs Gazette , the minister is the one who has to keep explaining . Not me .

• And as. Minister that is named in Stubbs He should be asked by Enda Kenny to resign immediately and to close the door behind him. What a disgrace he is minister for health and he is named in STUBBS and the BIGGER disgrace he has nit resigned. We are too soft with these liars. If Kenny does not ask for his resignation he is proving yet again that he is not fit to be in the position of running the Country
      Resign now Reilly get out clear your desk and just get lost What an embarrassment this Government are starting with the fact they are proven LIARS and as for Labour If they have any back bone they should insist that Reilly is sacked immediately

• It means upgrading the hospital trolleys for the elderly every century!!

It has NOTHING to do with tax incentives at all, at all.

Brenner put on some clothes, you look positively gay.

Upsets my Jack Russell terrier!

He is very modest and refined in his ways. And he has about 40 offspring- real man-dog, that!

• Why cant they just tell the truth? he says he cares for the elderly! we desperately need a hospice in Kerry. I witnessed something in the aghadoe ward in the KGH, something i would never want any family to go through. We need an in patient hospice in kerry. The nurses in aghadoe are not trained to meet the needs of end of life patients and as i witnessed the nurses added to the stress of my Mothers needs. This was confirmed when i brought the nurses care to the attention of the top palliative care Doctor, and do you know what, I dont mind mentioning her name Dr sheehan, she was horrified at my complaint and agreed that this is why we need specialist nurses in an end of life hospice..so lets keep fighting for this hospice..I never thought cancer would come to my door, but it did, and i will never get over the impact it has had on me, i was ignorant to it, it wouldnt happen to us…but the reality is it can happen to any of us at any time, and believe me you wouldnt want your loved one ending their days in a public ward surrounded by noise laughter and the clatter of equipment… guess what i am trying to say is that we have to lobby for better care in our own hospital!! share this with your Kerry friends, like i said you never know when it comes to your door x

James Reilly tells Dail: I have acted with complete propriety at all times

• Didn’t get a chance to watch it, were the Opposition allowed to question him?

• Ha ha ha it’s after ten , and the bar will be closing son….time for question at 10.30 in the morning , wonder if the front page has been held in the broadsheets?

• No, the Dáil was adjourned when he finished the statement. Suspect they’ll have a lot to say about it tomorrow though.

• Whats the Opposition….Mr Martin was sliding further into his seat as the Minister outlined the facts. Maybe now he can tell us where he was the night of the Bank guarantee. As for the rest…Mr Adams wanted to question the Minister but he didn’t have any equipment with him.

• Mark, with respect, I think your missing the elephant in the room here. James Reilly’s primary role is to legislate. A legislator, as such, sets the Laws of the Land. Those Laws must be obeyed by all citizens, if not, the courts enforce these Laws on people, through rulings/sentences. James Reilly has ignored the orders of the High Court to repay his bad debts, therefore he should no longer be allowed Legislate. Same should go for any elected representative who breaks/ignores any court rulings! In essence, he cannot be a Law Maker and Law Breaker!!!

• Mark it must of escaped your notice that even if Adams had his ‘equipment’ with him he could not have questioned our soon to be ex minister (hopefully) as Enda fully transparency and paddy want’s to know decided no questions could be asked. Noticed Enda was not in the chamber while the minister was making his statement. I wonder was he back in his office rubbing out a star on the bold James’s report card?

Bit of a joke to see a serving minister not obeying a court order. Expect Phil will be sending him a letter pronto.

• Is this government just one big conflict of interest ridden joke? On top of this, we have a finance minister selling his personal German bonds in 2011, a secret bond holder himself, paying himself back his personal gambling losses indirectly from the public purse, along with his billionaire mates?

Our minister for Justice endorses the cold blooded murder of European citizens in international waters by Israeli death squad pirates in contradiction to international law? This government are a law onto themselves, above the law they seem to think, and who know, we will see if they are right and keep out of prison yet?

• Just cos James says it, doesn’t mean its true…..find it all a bit strange really!

• He failed to carry out his financial interests in the business and tried to get out.
    Maybe not enough profit for him. His interest in old people is what he can make out of them.
    He is no different to the rest of the gangsters in the dail.Step down and be a man.
    The public do not believe your statement.

• What did Minister James Reilly think would happen after he failed to comply with the High Court order?

• ”his interest is the well-being of over-people” What does this mean ? Over people ?

• He will draw a line in the sand on this!

• How is it that no minister or no Government has been able to sort the problems in our health service. It has to be one of the most astounding failures in modern times that 5 ministers later we’re still trying to build a proper health service. Is it possible that what we have is the best we can hope for? Too many people have it too good the way it is at the moment except the patients and the front line staff. Id love to lock the lot of them in a room until they sort it out. The only change we can realistically hope for at the moment is in the weather. As for the government, we just changed the guard and nothing has changed.

• All politicians are corrupt. Discuss!

• Because my Mother passed away, it seems the hospital are no longer accountable for this delay…THE family of a woman told that she has lung cancer has criticised the delay in reporting the finding of a chest X-ray two years ago which they believe would have given her better chances of survival.

The 72-year-old woman was diagnosed with cancer in both lungs at Kerry General Hospital (KGH) on Monday.

She was one of three patients who had been recalled for care following a radiological review at the hospital, the Irish Independent has learned.

The woman, from Lixnaw in Co Kerry — who does not wish to be named because some of her relatives are not aware of her condition — had her chest X-rayed at KGH in November 2009 after she was admitted with suspected pancreatitis.

Investigations revealed she had a stone near the liver duct, which was removed at Cork University Hospital (CUH) in March 2010.

During post-surgery treatment in KGH in June 2010 she was told there appeared to be “a question mark” over the November 2009 X-ray.

She was then sent for another X-ray, which revealed she had a tumour in her lung.

In October 2010, she underwent surgery to remove the tumour. In a follow-up appointment this week, she was told she had developed cancer in both lungs.

“We were told the reason the first X-ray went unreported was because there was no admitting consultant’s name on her file but that’s just not good enough,” her daughter told the Irish Independent.

In a letter to the woman’s daughter dated March 9, 2011, general manager of KGH, PJ Hartnett, accepted there had been an “unacceptable delay” in reporting on the chest X-ray taken on November 30, 2009, and he apologised sincerely for this.

In a statement, the HSE confirmed some patients were recalled for the purposes of a follow-up following clinical review.

- Majella O’Sullivan

• God help the poor man – sure the previous ministers set a very high level of ethics. You would be foolish to think he could maintain the standards handed down from a long list of ministers in the past. To expect him to resign is so silly as 1.2 million is a fraction of the BILLIONS the previous gang had vested interests in.

• You sound like the spineless coward Bell-Enda there, always trying to refer back to the ‘Previous government’. It’s hardly like he has covered himself in glory now is it? His sheer ineptitude has created as many problems since. For the record, neither the previous government nor the current one are fit to lead. Looks like a god damn freak show in there. The bad, the worse and the ugly

• All the clowns in the pub where I work think he is in the brown stuff. Jasus I was busy tonight. Resession my backside..

• Has anybody bothered to read this story? He says he is involved in a court action involving 13 other investors, and has been trying to get out of the arrangement for some time.

No one on here knows all the facts, so I for one will give benefit of the doubt until all the facts cone out.

• Isn’t it a refreshing change that someone in the Dail who is in the middle of a controversy just comes out, explains what happened with references and does his best to clear up the allegations? Unlike other TDs who blow all their fuses at once, blame the media and the government, and tells the tax payer that they can do what they want, when they want and tough cookies.

Now, on the basis of that statement alone, its clear that he is trying to dispose, and has been for sometime, his part ownership (9%, massive eh?) in a private nursing home to get rid of 90% of the doubters. He even handed it over to someone else to take responsibility, informed the Register of Interests since the beginning and worked closely with SPO to ensure everything was done above board. It wasn’t his own fault that the debt was outstanding. Its not his own fault he cant sell the stake.

So unless someone can come out and point out inconsistencies in his story, or provide evidence that part or all of what he said was incorrect then I think this storm is best summed as a storm in a teacup. Embarrassing no doubt, but in the context and in the bigger picture the drama lamas will have to soon find another distraction to avoid their party or TD being the focus of negative attention that no statement or clarification will clear the matter up with an “Ah, that makes sense. Panic over!”.

Id say Joe Higgins & Co, plus Sinn Fein are absolutely delighted and grinning from ear to ear that the heat is now on the government. They can continue to milk the state and know that thanks to James Reilly, nobody will remember anything about their “justifiable” misuse of expenses and the “manufactured controversy”.

• He knew this years ago, before he was appointed. He knew he couldn’t take the position because of standards of office, but felt sub standards were good enough for Ireland in order to please himself. Bit late coming forward now that he was forced to explain himself….

• & if he had acted with complete propriety at all times, he never would have taken the office which he did. He just didn’t want to explain why he could not take the health ministry instead of another. He would be laughed out of that office too for admitting being a defaulter….

Add New Comment