TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Dáil cannot hear another motion of no confidence in Reilly until March

Amid fresh calls for the Health Minister’s resignation, Dáil rules mean that it will be next year before TDs can debate another motion of no confidence in James Reilly who has dismissed the move.

James Reilly (File)
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

DESPITE FRESH CALLS for Health Minister James Reilly to resign the Dáil cannot hear another opposition motion of no confidence in the Minister until March of next year.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin said on RTÉ Radio this morning that his party would move another motion of no confidence in the Minister as soon as Dáil procedures would allow.

But under Standing Order 56 this cannot happen until six months after the last no confidence motion which was in September and was defeated by the government majority.

The Ceann Comhairle has the discretion to apply a shorter period than six months but this is unlikely to happen. Sinn Féin also has intentions to table a motion of no confidence in the Minister.

Reilly is under renewed pressure over the decisions he took in relation to primary care centre locations with the Irish Times reporting at the weekend that he added two proposed sites in his constituency to the final list the night before the list of locations was announced.

The Minister has insisted that he had “not hand, act or part” in the selection of a site at Balbriggan that was owned by a Fine Gael member in his constituency.

He has insisted that the process applied for the selection of sites was an in-depth one, telling the Dáil in October: “One and one makes two, and two and two makes four, but four by four makes sixteen and not four and four that makes eight. It is a logistical, logarithmic progression.”

Former junior health minister Róisín Shortall who had established the original criteria for the selection of sites disagreed with this and resigned over the decision, saying at the weekend that the choice of sites was “stroke politics”.

On Morning Ireland, Martin said: “There was no rationale for the addition of 15 more [sites to the original list of 20 for primary care centres], There was no criteria involved,” he said describing the decision-making as “shambolic”.

Speaking this morning in Dublin, Reilly said there was no justification for calling on him to resign or tabling a no confidence motion. He told reporters that he would not change anything about the selection of primary care centres.

“I’ve made it very clear I stand over what I did, and if I had it all to do again I would do it again,” he said according to Newstalk, adding that there was “very clearly a need” for primary care centres in the locations already announced.

Read: FF leader calls for James Reilly’s resignation because of a ‘pack of lies’

September: Reilly wins confidence vote as Taoiseach and Tánaiste state their support

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• The Dáil has produced a menagerie of arrogant buffooning Cretans over the last 30 years but none can hold a candle to James ‘Stroke’ Reilly

• He is a turd of a man but is he any worse than Harney, Micheal Martin, Noonan as Minister for Health. They weren’t inspirational or worried about the welfare of patients or value for money. It will be harder to find a Minister with as much disregard for people as Harney had.

• Minster o Donoghue remember him dripping with sympathy for himself when he was forced from the ceann comharle seat when his expense sheet was audited – limos between terminals, expenses for one euro charity donations, horse racing junkets with hie wife to the far corners of the world and also one ignorant arrogant buffoon and a sh#t politician to boot

• Resign.

• Why did Martin move the motion, surly he knew the rules.?This is all a game by overpaid clowns while the public is suffering.

• Martin moves the motion now when it has no chance, so that he can claim to have taken a course of action. Given that nothing happens O’Reilly isn’t under any pressure to release files and documentation about the epidemic levels of waste, the jobs for the boys, and the brutal way Martin treated the women from Louth who had those awful operations at child birth.

Martin and o’Reilly get on quiet well with each other and often share a drink in the Dáil bar. They are just showmen .

• @DaffodilDaze
      What did Martin do wrong in Louth… Scandal broke during his tender.. but unlike this present lad he set up a inqury…

Martin has flaws as being Heath Minister but thats not one of them.

• Also forgot… the ‘Ceann Comhairle has the discretion to apply a shorter period than six months’ so Martin has a right to ask…

• His Govt. set up a lot of inquiries, all of them were for political cover and none were set up with accountability or results in mind. Inquiries for the sake of it with no intent of improving things or holding them to account. Those women in Louth have not forgotten how Micheal Martin treated them, nor will their families.

• Nigel 26/11/12 #

I’ve a question, if member’s of the general public where totally unsatisfied by a member of a government party/person can that Minister/TD be sacked?

• The final proof that Ireland is no longer a democracy, it is being run for the benefit of the Government, their lackeys and not the general public. Why would the so called leader of the opposition not call for Standing Order 56 to be amended? Simple he wants to be covered by it himself. Public Service me A$$, this is pure and simple SELF SERVICE!

• Rayven 26/11/12 #

Fianna Fáil got a bit promo in the Sunday indo and now they are spinning like tops to promote themselves as some reinvented party. The Indo is a disgrace and ff are a scurrilous shower of sound bite opportunists who sold this nation down the swanny with zero accountability and the bandits went and retired on mass on massive bench marked pensions Fianna Fáil should get a room and a bottle of whiskey

• No confidence in Reilly? How about no confidence in any of them, government or opposition.

• thy will never remove any member
    this is a gentlemens club to cheat rob and help each other to get as much as thy can while in office
    the ride off into the Sun set wit there pension . and every 4 years we elect an other 164 parasites and the games goes on. when was any member of. this club ever f @@@ed out for been dishonest . and you won’t

• That suits him fine, he’ll hang on till he qualifies for a pension and a re-shuffle will be arranged or he’ll resign!

• James Reilly will bring the Gov down, not if, but when. The man see’s nothing wrong on what he did, Roisin did, most of the Back benchers can see it too alo g the the general public & the media!

The one & only politician in the Labour Party who has NO balls is Gilmore!
    The Labour Party will go the road of the Greens & the PD’s, Gilmore is hanging on to Power if it kills him, it may not do that, but he is killing the Labour Party by a Thousand cuts & committing political suicide!
    There will be no sympathy from the general public …rightly so!

• This is a nightmare . The man should resign . His arrogance alone is nauseating .
    What is it about theses effers that they can not see how bad they are . They
    and HE in particular is a disgrace . I just feel like giving up ! But that is what they want ….
    No way .

• ur political system is officially a joke, inefficient waste at the top.politicians Un touchable.

• It’s amazing that in opposition parties seem to forget that people lost confidence in them three years before the were forced to leave office. Just look at the last three portraits of Taoiseach hanging proudly in dail eireann. All now judged by history to be either incompetent or corrupt. martin was only to happy to show is confidence in those pension sucking leaches. Nothing has changed other than the parties involved. labour has turned into the greens/PD’s. FG has surpass the achievement of FF buying an election because of people’s fears and hope that the entire political system was not completely rotten, then rewarding their flock with either advisers jobs or numbers on state boards. Martins only outrage is that oreilly is FG. If it was harney handing out PPP contracts to FF developers or renting warehouses of FF donors to house e-voting machines he would be only to happy to show confidence. Instead of bringing in legislation on lobbyists which is a role many ex-TD take up we are forced to watch parish pump politicians looking for the high ground while swimming around in the filth they created themselves.

• The fact that they say in headlines “another motion” says it all. Why is this dinosaur still in over health care. Sorry did I say health care because in Monaghan we don’t have a hospital that can do as much as it used to be fit to. James was recorded on YouTube in Monaghan telling the people that the hospital would not be closed. Government can’t do it’s job all monkeys.

• Great stuff Declan!!!! Its all about Monaghan is it then?? I laugh when people accuse politicians of playing parish pump politics when in truth thats all you actually want… Tell you why dont we close a hospital in Tallaght or Galway so we can keep the much less viable hospital in the sparsley populated Monaghan open…
      Joke….

• Dr. Reilly has to go. He is in debt, health department is a joke and he has no compassion for the sick, the poor, children or the elderly!
    His sickness is the personification of Fine Gael’s sickness. It is time for them all to go but there is no viable alternative as the Irish Political elite all suffer from the same sickness and are unable to see or hear the pain and suffering of 95% of the Irish People. They only hear the lobby groups, the rich and the EU.

• @ Declan Cotter of course it’s not all about Monaghan but when these so called ministers come to your area telling you bare faced lies you will understand. But personally I don’t see any party fit to run this state.

• Why are unhealthy individuals such as Harney and the current stooge picked as health ministers? Surley they shouldn’t be allowed dictate to others when they can’t even look after themselves!

• It is not about the physical health of the minister but whose health and welfare they are concerned with. Harney, Micheal Martin, O’Reilly and the others were/are only concerned with the benefits that can accrue to their friends, large businesses that support their parties etc.

A cost effective health service that provides a professional service is not of interest to them. Give me a morbidly obese Minister who wants that and he’ll have my undying support.

• He wouldn’t be your amazing minister for long if he was morbidly obese daffodildaze!!

• Long enough to maybe get the job done. We could mourn him then.

• DaffodilDaze…That is basically an allogation of corruption which journal.ie should remove from forum!!!! I cant see any evidence at all to suggest that favours were being done for business men??? Its plain wrong that people can come on here and spit out bull day after day without any reprise…

• Declan that is an allegation that you have made, not I. The political culture of FG and especially FF has always been to look after a very select few friends. Many FF’ers did it in return for illegal payments but most of the rest have done it for free because the genuinely believe that the few should be rewarded no matter the cost to the country or our people.

• Who’s installing the water meters Declan?

• And that my friends is a classic example of arse covering buddy buddy politics.
    I wouldn’t trust one of them as far as I could throw them.
    Next election it will be independents and nothing to do with so called main parties.
    It’s amazing watching the little insignificant lap dogs jumping up and down to protect their respective masters.

• What other job in the country would reward you with six month’s grace for doing an abysmal job !

• Brian 26/11/12 #

Smell of Benjy off him

• There is a difference between knowing something and having empirical proof. It took quite a bit of time of wrangling with FOI requests before we could see in black and white, the evidence that Reilly was indeed feathering the nest by sticking 2 PCC in his own constituency without any basis to do so. This also means that he has been caught mis-leading the Dáil (again with actual evidence) when he said that there was a selection criteria other than, “it’s where I’m from”.

• I wonder what party he took his cue from…

• Does Micheal Martin really want to get in to a debate about nest feathering, he was a Minister for a very long time, in a Govt. that was the very definition of Gombeenism, he was also the Minister for Health that created the parallel HSE structure, jobs for the boys, and turned the Health service in to a middle management bloated behemoth. Just to buy votes for the party. It really is a case of a very dirty pot calling a very dirty kettle black.

• None of your accusations against Martin come close to corruption.

Martin set up the HSE which turned out to be a bad decision. But at the time it was welcomed over the crap local politician run system that was there… Martin was far from the worse when compared to any of the others that held the post during the last 15 years…

• Jack I take it you are talking about Brian Hic & Fat a$$ Mary.

• There is no evidence that Martin was corrupt as Minister for Health, nor do I believe he was . Do I believe that he looked after friends and was more concerned with using the role to ensure FF had friends and support from certain voters and powerful businesses – certainly.

• censored 26/11/12 #

@DaffodilDaze: what you just described is called corruption.

• Sack him before he resigns. Maybe this might affect his pension and if he’s not done his job properly take away his pension.

• Is there anything the public can do outside of the D?il procedures? Like the ton of complaints that were sent to the Clerk of the D?il over Michael Lowery and his land in Wigan? Just to mount more pressure…!

• I see Panto season is up and running. Mind you it has been for some time now.

• If Martin does not understand the rules of the Club, he should quit.

• Reg 26/11/12 #

More tom foolery from Fianna Fail. You would have thought they would have known this already?

• doh in the background says it all

• As much as i hate Fine Gael what exactly is O’Reilly allowed to do for his own constituents. You know the people who voted for him. Is he not allowed to do anything for them without getting calls for his resignation.
    This is politics and i would love for the useless idiots i voted for to get elected would just do something for my area. They have done nothing so far. Nothing.

• It is the attitude that you have that has battered this country in to a pulp for decades. His job is not about his local constituents, it is about the Nation and what is good for all. That is the only attitude that can improve the welfare of all.

• Come next election i am voting for an independent td that has local problems as their main concern. The main parties can go and Sh..e. Voted for the main parties all my life never again. A complete wasted vote thats spat back in your face.

• He is a minister first, that means he is responsible for all in this Country and If he can’t do that much? Then he should resign or be sacked, he has a conflict of interest anyway and I thought that prevented a person from getting the job?

• This is simply a baseless witch-hunt.

At worst Reilly is guilty of poor judgment. However he stood to gain nothing personally of any monetary value in adding names to a list as Minister, and worthy locations they are too. A new set of criteria, different to the criteria the HSE drew from their deck of cards, could have rejigged the priority list radically.

If it wasn’t this, the growling infantry of the opposition would be trying to have him removed because he has a beard, or some other excuse.

Simply, the anti Reilly venom is a smear campaign to destabilise Government as otherwise the likes of FF feel they have nothing else to offer but negative destructionist politics, they are driven to complete the path they were on while in power and further grind the country into the mud.

Add New Comment