You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Joe Dolan was on a UN blacklist over a performance in South Africa

As were Foster and Allen.

THE IRISH GOVERNMENT was alerted to the presence of a number of entertainers on a UN blacklist in 1986.

Documents released under the 30-year rule show that a number of Irish singers were on the blacklist of the UN Centre Against Apartheid.

The register, dated April 1986, says it is the third such document and includes a list of artists who had performed in apartheid-era South Africa and not pledged to avoid the country in future.

The Irish Permanent Representation to the UN sent a note back to the Department of Foreign Affairs, alerting them to the list.

On it are:

• Foster and Allen who toured South Africa from May-June 1985
  • Singer Geraldine Branagan who performed in October 1982
  • Michael Bryan who sang there in June 1985
  • Margo and Trevor Burns, who played in September 1984
  • Phil Coulter who played in May 1983
  • Joe Dolan who played in 1981 and 1983
  • The Danny Fisher Showband
  • Tom McGrath
  • Dave and Harry Monks
  • Cissy Stone

A  further page shows that singers Mitch T Mitchell, Mary O’Hara and comedian Hal Roche were removed from the register as they had pledged not to perform in South Africa until apartheid was ended.

The register came at a time when apartheid was hotly debated in Ireland. The Dunnes Stores strike led to high-level discussion over an embargo of fruit from the country.

Read: This day 30 years ago the Dunnes Stores anti-apartheid strike began

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute James O Connell
    Favourite James O Connell
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:23 AM

Oh me oh my

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:16 PM

….you make me sigh…

Those great Irish artists chose to contribute in normalising relations with the rogue state by visiting and performing there, in SA, when it was neither fashionable nor too profitable.

Soon after these visits the apartheid beast was tamed for ever.

Love and music conquers all.

Maybe Glen Hansard, Bono and Imelda May and a few more Irish artists could now give North Korea a bash!

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:52 PM

@Rory

Are you still on the booze? What a lot of bollix!

They played and toured there to fill their pockets even more and they did not give a shite about the political situation!

Shame on them greedy feckers!

Mute Benjy Dempsey
    Favourite Benjy Dempsey
    Jan 1st 2017, 1:00 PM

Respect to the Dunnes strikers who were hounded by establishment Ireland for the stand they took against the poisonous Apartheid regime.

Mute Celtic_Horizon
    Favourite Celtic_Horizon
    Jan 1st 2017, 1:47 PM

But I do think it’s a good idea to send Bono to north Korea wonder how long they will put up with his shite

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jan 1st 2017, 2:44 PM

Benjy the Dunnes strikers were lionised by the political and media establishment.

Mute Benjy Dempsey
    Favourite Benjy Dempsey
    Jan 1st 2017, 2:55 PM

Really? “I have given much thought to this question and I am afraid all my instincts tell me that the Government should not become involved in any activity which is designed to restrict imports from South Africa,” said John Bruton, the Minister for Industry, Trade, Commerce and Tourism. He had warned Labour Minister Ruairi Quinn on July 23: “There is no gain for Irish exports but there are potential dangers” because South Africa was “a hefty net importer of Irish goods”.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jan 1st 2017, 2:59 PM

Free open air concerts, were they? Don’t be so naive. Yes, apartheid was “unfashionable”. For good reason!

Mute Brian O'Loughlin
    Favourite Brian O'Loughlin
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:20 AM

Interesting…Not so holier than thou Dolan and Coulter….Anything for a buck

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:23 AM

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    More, and more and more
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:59 AM

Maybe it was a clandestine full-on assault of Irish country music that finished off the apartheid regime. That stuff should be tried against NK.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:26 AM

Maybe it was later but wasn’t there controversy about Paul Simon recording the grace land album there, even though it includes a lot of work by black artists?

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:51 AM

There was but as Paul Simon said @ the time it was the only way to get SA musicians into mainstream ears ,,, Soweto Choir & Ladysmith Black Mombasa would otherwise never have been heard

Mute Conor Foley
    Favourite Conor Foley
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:54 AM

Perhaps it was part of an elaborate plan to bring down apartheid from within, if this list of awful “entertainers” was all one could see it makes a compelling case to end apartheid

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:54 PM

I don’t hear the do-gooders complaining about Mugabe The Black people were better off under Ian Smith

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:15 PM

Never see the Sunday world mention that when they’re going on about st joe

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:14 PM

The UN are of course pillars of decency…

Mute Max Johnson Powers
    Favourite Max Johnson Powers
    Jan 1st 2017, 2:27 PM

Phil Coulter? We should ban Ireland’s Call

Mute Gus Dennis
    Favourite Gus Dennis
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:49 AM

good for all those talented artists!The un is all washed up.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:20 PM

Maybe artists should blacklist the UN in return

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:54 PM

@Gus

Fool! So you did support Apartheid then?

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Jan 1st 2017, 11:09 AM

I’d like to know if they performed during lent when half the place here was closed.

It doesn’t justify it at all but some context can be helpful.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jan 1st 2017, 12:24 PM

He was gay (not that there’s anything wrong with that) is that context enough for you

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 1st 2017, 2:38 PM

@Boganity:

Where did you get that info from Boganity. I knew Joe fairly well and never saw him with another man. If he was homosexual it was his own business and something he wished to keep to himself. It is none of your business.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 1st 2017, 6:10 PM

@Robespierre: A bit far to go for an open pub on a Good Friday then ;)

Mute Allan Mathew
    Favourite Allan Mathew
    Jan 1st 2017, 8:05 PM

Today there is a reverse Apartheid in a lawless South Africa. Affirmative Action and BEE. Farmers are been murdered, mugged and raped everyday. You may call it Genocide.
    The world does absolutely nothing now…..the racist ANC government has an incompetent “leader” with god knows how many charges of corruption against him. The ANC are corrupt to the core…..much like the present ruling parties in Ireland and the world does nothing.
    It is time to sanction all sports and music events in South Africa until there is proper democracy and the corrupt ANC removed and law put back into the country.
    Anyone who thinks otherwise should travel to the lawless and corrupt African state and see for yourselves…..

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jan 2nd 2017, 11:38 AM

Alan Mathew, bad boy…don’t you know it’s only white Anglo-Saxons that do wrong. Everyone else is utterly blameless as anything they may have done was due to them being radicalised by the aforementioned group.

I sometimes wonder how these commenters can stand to live with themselves, they are filled with so much hate for their own group….or is it just virtue signalling? Hmmmmm.

Journalists I can maybe understand. They get paid to write whatever suits the editorial narrative and money beats morals every time, or seems to in journalism.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 1st 2017, 6:08 PM

At the same time the UN was protecting pedos in its army?

Mute Blackwater
    Favourite Blackwater
    Mar 25th 2017, 10:29 PM