TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Letter from an Irish housewife to Charlie Haughey

The head of the Irish Housewives’ Union wrote in 1982 to denounce “typical career women”, family planning clinics, sex education and mistresses.

Housewives' favourite? Úna Bean Mhic Mhathúna's 1982 missive was addressed to then Taoiseach Charles Haughey.
Image: PA/PA Archive/Press Association Images

IN THE EARLY 1980s, the “Women at Home” report was presented to the Irish government on the situation and concerns for women working within the home. It had been carried out by the Council for the Status of Women, as commissioned by the government.

This letter, just released in State papers under the 30-year rule, shows that not all “housewives” were happy with the findings. Written by Úna Bean Mhic Mhathúna, Secretary of the Irish Housewives’ Union, it denounced the Council, elements of the report, so-called “career women”, family planning clinics, sex education and more.

It is worth noting that Úna Bean Mhic Mhathúna was already a known entity to the Government. In 1972, she helped found Mná na hÉireann in 1972 which vowed to oppose “the legalisation of contraception, abortion and divorce.” This archive-rich post on the Comeheretome.com blog explores her background.

In this letter, addressed to then-Taoiseach Charles Haughey and dated 5 July 1982, she:

• Claimed the findings of the Women at Home report were void as it was compiled by “a professional career woman”.
  • Described the Council for the Status of Women as “a collection of professional career women, some of whom occasionally play at housework and just as occasionally are part-time mothers“.
  • Alleged that the Council had not consulted with the “housewives/mothers of the nation whom they obviously considered too dumb and stupid to be able to decide for themselves” and what trips they did take around some Irish towns and Dublin suburbs were merely meetings with “their own cronies”.
  • Claimed that a request for childcare facilities was, “A typical carrer (sic) women’s demand, this. It simply means that they want to dump their one/two kids on the taxpayer”. Mothers do not want to “farm out” their children to “strangers”, she claimed.
  • Claimed that, despite the findings of the report, “there is no call from housewives” for provision for married women’s domicile, in which wives would be granted the right to an independent domicile. “Ordinary housewives DO NOT KNOW ABOUT or UNDERSTAND this issue,” she wrote.
  • Denounced the notion that there was any call from housewives for family planning clinics, post-abortion counselling services (“They are AGAINST abortion.”), sex education classes, having the contraceptive pill “pushed” on them, nor did they want pre-menstrual advice clinics – “straight from the infamous Wellwoman Clinic this one – disgusting – and never, never brought up by our decent women.
  • Said housewives/mothers believed that “married career women should be phased out of the Public Sector”.
  • Denounced the thought of “extra monies for mistresses” (with reference to State provision for children born out of wedlock). She wrote: “The only people discriminating against these children in this country are their irresponsible selfish parents who refuse to make a commitment to each other for the sake of their children.”
  • Requested “an office in Dublin and some paid help” for the Irish Housewives’ Union, “in order to work for housewives and to represent their needs to the Government”.
  • Asked that the Union be funded to conduct their own report.

The State papers note that Bean Mhic Mhathúna rang the Department of Labour to complain that her letter had been forwarded there (it had a co-ordinating role in the review of the report) and had become “quite abusive”. It noted that the Council of Women had contacted her but that “she wanted nothing to do with them”.

This is Úna Bean Mhic Mhathúna’s letter in full:

una1

Page 1: Click here for full-screen image.

una2

Page 2: Click here for full-screen image.

una3

Page 3: Click here for full-screen image.

una4

Page 4: Click here for full-screen image.

This was the note on the reply from the Department of Taoiseach:

reply note

Click here for full-screen image.

And this was the actual letter response to Bean Mhic Mhathúna from Seán Aylward, then Private Secretary to the Taoiseach:

Click here for full-screen image.

1978: Ireland “laughing stock of progressive world” over divorce and contraceptives”>

Read more of TheJournal.ie’s discoveries from the newly-released 1982 State papers>

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• A deluded creature of immeasurable ignorance….a Vatican drone.

• The irony of a Catholic driven association appealing to the morality of a con man, thief, adulterer, and all around criminal thug and his criminal associates in Govt.

• Hard to take the stuff in the letter seriously, this reminds me of Poe’s law, which states that a parody of religous fundamentalists is usually impossible to tell apart from real fundamentalists.

http://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Poe’s_Law

• How anyone can uphold the values this woman held in such high esteem once you know the harm and damage it caused in our society is beyond me! These values of putting an institution ahead of a human beings dignity and even Jesus ‘s words of let those who have not sinned throw the first stone! I suggest people understand that it is still a mortal sin according to the catholic church for an unmarried mother to carry a child to full term the same mortal sin that applies to contraception. Priorities people!!! A man who rapes a woman or a child can be absolved as long as he promises to TRY to never reoffend. It’s a man’s world in the church lets leave it there and promote equality outside its “hallowed ” halls

• The irony is that she decries “career women” yet made a rather successful career for herself as the founder and chief of several different organisations and was a prolific writer. Her long-time friend and fellow God-botherer Meena Cribben was actually postmistress of the Santry Post Office until 2009 – sounds like she also enjoyed a career of her own!

(As an interesting aside, Cribben’s son was arrested in 1986 for aggrevated bugulary and posession of firearms. She was also reported in 2009 to have given financial and legal support to the Roscommon woman who was convicted of incest and sexual assault: Good old-fashioned Catholic family values alright!)

• It’s easy to laugh at such a ridiculous letter but what a nasty bitter cow. It must have been awful living in a country where people with such attitudes had influence.

• As someone who hopes to be a ‘carrer’ woman, I’m glad that women who are so against women’s rights are much fewer in number nowadays. I’d love to ask her why it’s so reprehensible for a woman to aspirations other than baby-maker/ cooker/ cleaner/ dishwasher.

• Another sex-obsessed catholic zealot, unfortunately there are still many older women in Ireland who would rather see their own sex enslaved and subordinated and society as a whole to be non-thinking drones for the church, always laugh at how the minority claim to speak for the majority

• Has she not got something to do with the youth defence . Figures really

• Isn’t this the same woman who referred to
    The pro divorce campaign as a bunch of wife swapping sodomites !! …

• There are about a dozen clones of her advocating that we let more women die in order to appease their ultra-Catholic dogma.

This woman is a stain on Irish society, and an enemy of progress and civil liberties.

• EMD 28/12/12 #

Exactly, one of the most shocking interference by this deluded and negative woman

• gerry 28/12/12 #

Ah, that’s gas!

• Poor Una needed a bit of lovin’

• In some circumstances things haven’t changed, I often hear a lot of women saying they’d love to go back to work but couldn’t afford the childcare or are refused unemployment benifit because their husbands/partners are working which of course leaves the man in control of the money, I would imagine its very degrading to have to ask someone for money but you’d be amazed at how many women and in fairness men that have to do it. You don’t get paid to be a stay at home parent and raise the future generation. I’ve also wondered if a family are on unemployed benifit does the money still go straight in the mans name? Leaving him once again in control of the finances or is it split in both names. No need to attack me I was raised in the 80′s with unemployed parents for the majority of it, (like a lot of Irish), my father would often drink the money and my mother would bring us to relations to be fed so I know all about the reality of the 80′s!!

• GUBU indeed :-(

• Bren Dan 29/12/12 #

Bring back calor housewife of the year . What a great show.

• I am open to correction but are not this woman’s children also pro-life agitators?

• Down with that sort of thing!

• It is very interesting to observe in late 2012 how the RC fundamentalists were able to manipulate the politicians at a time of such political instability back in 1982 . It shows how a well connected and coherent minority, supported by the RC hierarchy, successfully foisted in the people an unnecessary and life threatening Constitutional amendment, Article 40.3.3 , by means of the Eight Amendment.

It is a pity that we will not see the 1983 papers until late next year when we really need to see them now.

• The “Mistresses” reference is very dated, but her point about the state paying for single mothers is still relevant today.

Don’t get me wrong here. Most of the single mothers I know are career women who have never looked for a penny from the state, but there is a culture where young women have children in order to get a free house, and have the state pay for everything.

You can bury your head in the sand and pretend it doesn’t exist, but it’s not going away. It won’t go away until the government brings in measures to prevent both unwanted pregnancies (abortion, proper sex education etc.) and stricter guidelines on who gets the free house.

If it was up to me, you would have to be literally living on the streets before you got a council house (unless you are a married or co-habiting couple who genuinely cannot afford a mortgage).

Don’t want to get knocked up by someone on a one night stand? Make him wear a condom and make sure that you have taken your contraceptive pill. It’s that simple.
    Also, condoms should be free like they are up North. Walk into a clinic, grab a handful and ride away.

• I agree with a lot of what you just said but remember contraception will never work 100% and boys/men will always put a lot of pressure on girls/women to have sex with them so it is not entirely the girls fault if she falls pregnant like your insinuating, newsflash it takes 2!!! and remember behind every girl getting that free house and free money is a male rubbing his hands together about the “free gaff” he gets to live in now. These women always have a man behind the scenes. Also a country that forces its women to have full term pregnancies should provide housing and a decent standard of living to the mother to be as she hasn’t been giving any other options and their are no laws for fathers in this country to pay towards their child. Sure he might be ordered in court to pay but if he chooses not to, he’ll get away with it.

• How many mistresses did Charlie have ? He doesn’t strike me as a man who would have one of anything.

• Very good article! And i actually agree with a few of the statements made in it! Different not better times, but society could do with a refresher course!

• Just give me a minute to conceive a child Dr ‘s advised against, make my husband his dinner and iron his clothes while I say the rosary in penance and allow him abuse ny child because of fear of what the neighbours and the priest would say. Is this the type of life you want inflicted on a daughter

• Some of her comments may seem a little dated now.
    However, she wasn’t far off the mark and as time will show she will be shown to be right in many of her views.

‘Career women’ please feel free to red-thumb as you would be expected to do

• EMD 28/12/12 #

Indeed Jim, in an alternate universe she will be shown right. She was a bigot and a nasty old bag to boot, she is succeeded in poisoning her kids and they carry on the bigotry and nastiness to this very day. We need her views like we need a hole in the head.

• An Bean made some valid points but her attitude was bigoted and sadly typical of that era, as a consequence of our 1937 Constitution regarding women’s place in the home. This Article remains but is considered aspirational and doesnt seem to have any bearing on womens rights. Otherwise chlidcare provision would be a priority for women needing/choosing to work outside the home and women who remain at home to care for families would be recognised and supported. Membership of the EU facilitated a more liberal approach. However, consider the recent budget in relation to Mothers. State papers highlight the importance of history as a living subject in schools.

Add New Comment