TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Ming: I want my penalty points back

The Dáil deputy described what led up to him not receiving penalty points or a fine though he was caught by gardaí driving while on a mobile phone on two occasions.

TD Luke Ming Flanagan leaving the Supreme Court in Dublin today.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

DEPUTY LUKE ‘MING’ Flanagan has told the Dáil that he is to appeal for fines and points due to him for driving while using a mobile phone on two occasions.

He said this evening that on June 3 he was in his car travelling to a Dáil meeting when he was stopped by a garda car. He had been using his phone and was told that he would receive a fine because of this.

He said he thanked the garda for doing his job well, and told him that his actions may have saved his life. Flanagan said that he received a fixed penalty notice in the post. A few days later he met a garda sergeant who said he had heard what happened, and told Flanagan he was covered under a rule regarding travelling to the Dáil.

Flanagan said the Sergeant insisted he write to the station and explain. The deputy did so and did not receive any points on his licence. Flanagan did not name the Sergeant in the Dáil.

On another occasion on the way to a council meeting in Roscommon, he was stopped by gardaí and told he was going to get a fixed penalty notice as he was using a mobile phone again. Flanagan said he told a senior council official what had happened, and later that evening was contacted by this person, who said he had ‘sorted out my penalty points issue for me’.

He has not received any points in relation to that case.

Cancelled

The Deputy told the Dáil:

Not only is there a cohort of gardaí who are going around asking people do they want penalty points cancelled, it appears there is a franchise system going on whereby if you are cosy with the senior garda then you too can have people’s offences quashed.

He said that the Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan and Minister Alan Shatter may not believe this is true, with the commissioner saying “that there is no question of what has been described as a culture of non-enforcement of penalties being tolerated by an Garda Síochana”.

How can you explain my experience then? I did not ask the garda sergeant in question to get involved, but he insisted he should. I do not believe it was an attempt to trip me up, I believe it is a culture that has festered for years, all the garda was doing was what he had learned along the way.

Flanagan said he did not release the information before the press released it, as he believed it was illegal for the gardaí to release such information, and he intended to release it on publication of Minister Shatter’s internal review.

He said this was to show there is systematic abuse, which he believed the report would “whitewash” over. He said he has contacted the fines office in Clare and asked how can he get his points and fines back.

Deputy Flanagan also called on the reported 15 members of the Dáil and Seanad who are said to have had penalty points removed “to come out and tell us were they approached by the garda or did they go in proactive way go to see could they have their points removed”.

Read: Flanagan to address Dáil amid claims he denied penalty points were wiped>

Read next:

Comments (236 Comments)

• So he thanked the first guard who stopped him using his phone while driving and said that guard may have saved a life… Then got caught again using his phone while driving. Were they the only times he used his phone while driving?
    Did it ever cross his mind to get a hands free kit?

• Poor Ming! A victim of a cohort of gardai going round forcing points off yer licence.

• Ming says he was travelling to the Dail on the 3rd June 2011. However, the Dail was not meeting on the that day, which was the Friday of the June bank holiday weekend. So where stand his claim to be on Dail business?

• So if on Dail duty safety can be disregarded Incredulous. Dail business is in Dail travelling to it is different.

If he’d had accident & injured someone should he get off because of Dail business.

• Disingenuous to say the least. No one forced him to write and ask for his points to be expunged. Let’s have some honesty.

• Said he thanked the garda for doing a good job and his actions might have saved his life?? Then gets caught again!! Numpty

• The sergeant INSISTED he write a letter into the station, ya right Ming. Did he force you to do it, did he? Unbelievable what dung this man comes out with, egg on his face

• So he’s blaming the guards for getting his penalty points wiped. I’ve heard it all now.

• The finest example of trying to put the shite back in the horse I’ve seen for some time.

Anyone naive and gullible enough to swallow the statement of Deputy Flanagan this evening should themselves receive penalty points for bloody stupidity.

Why oh why Luke did you deny having points quashed when enquiries were made of you months back? Absolute bloody bullshite.

It’s bad enough not admitting to your wrongdoing, but trying to blame others for your own actions as an individual, is absolutely pathetic. I would expect this type of excuse and defence from a child caught with their hand in the biscuit tin.

Deputy Flanagan you are nothing less than a spineless disgrace. You could at least have had the bollocks to stand up for your own actions like a bloody man.

• ieoinu 13/03/13 #

‘Putting the shite back in the horse’ quote of the day!

• Brilliant. That’s almost as hilarious as Mings list of pathetic excuses. Seeing him squirm on Vincent Browne show tonight showed him up for the hypocrite he is and he confirmed it in his comments. Run with the hare and hunt with the hounds……. Luke, step down if you have any integrity!! Save face if you can, good luck.

• Mr.Ming the mobile king…

• Cylon 12/03/13 #

Those guards are awful feckers. Forcing good law abiding citizens to not take the rap. The cheek.

This story is mingin’.

• Jason 12/03/13 #

I very nearly puked when i saw this man in the Dáil earlier. He claims that everyone is at fault for his lack of penalty points other than himself. Unbelievable. The procedure to challenge penalty points is to write to the superintendent in the area that covers the location of the offence and explain why the transgression was exceptional and should not attract penalty points. There are genuine reasons that the penalty points may be cancelled and being on Dáil business rightly or wrongly could be one of them depending on the view of the Superintendent making the decision. Minger has thrown the blame around on everyone and anyone and then like a child having been caught out says “i swear i was going to fess up but i was waiting for the right time”. He then creates a situation where he corners the other 15 TDs alleged to have had points cancelled into either saying yes i actively sought the cancellation of points or the Gardai made me do it. He also tries to claim that someone leaked the fact that he had points cancelled and that they were wrong to do it yet he had no problem clubbing in with the other left wingers and telling all about others having got points cancelled when they were claiming massive corruption (which is not the case). Minger has shown himself up for what he is. A hypocritical, cowardly excuse for a politician that is now trying to blame everyone for his own actions and hypocrisy. He accidentally had two sets of penalty points cancelled. Ya right.

• So the guard pulls him over,tells him he was breaking the law and that there was obviously a price to pay for that,and ming simply says..’oh,thanks a million,youre as good guard.’ does he actually think the public believe that? I dont care who you are,its not normal to say thanks a million,im so appreciative of being handed penalty points, and actually mean it,after being caught in the act.

• Popcorn 12/03/13 #

Looks like Sergeant Flash Gordon is based in Roscommon.

• Technical group really standing up for the little people…. Tax dodger & now point dodger…. What’s left in the merry band!

• self righteous know all gets exposed by newspaper & then claims it was the gardai at fault x 2 times. Not born yesterday ming !

• Oh Ming, you sound even sillier now! Keep them stories coming my man. Hilarious. The people who elected must be beaming with pride tonight! Those gaurds making you write letters, the humanity of it all!!!!

• I have a couple of questions for Ming, did he claim for a hands free set as he is entitled under Dail expenses. And what Dail business was he doing on June the 3rd ? It was the bank holiday weekend….

• The ‘Left’ representatives are a joke that no-one is laughing at. Wallace, Daly, Flanagan et al spout platitudes about caring passionately for the down-trodden and oppressed while safely ensconced in the cosy confines of the state structures they rail against.
    With fiery disregard for the reality of business or economics, they float fanciful kites of rebellion and revolt that serve only to turn the truely disadvantaged against the barely coping.
    Please…for the sake of us all…stop giving oxygen to these eejits.

• Surely Ming this information may have come in handy months ago when the points issue arose , Why not mention your terrible situation of how these corrupt gardai forced you not to get points then , Haha. He is incredible

• A pointless politician wants his points back ! What’s the point ?

• He doesn’t want his points back .. He just wants his credibility back!!

• ieoinu 13/03/13 #

Nail on the head!! Complains about the law being broken in one breath and advocates it in another. Whatever about points and exemptions, the sheer presence of this man in our national parliament embarrasses me no end.

• I’m still lmao!! Only in ireland, funny that he is looking for his points back! Surprised he didn’t say the guards rang him while was driving then call it entrapment! #becauseigothigh!

• Did ya ever hear such rubbish out if him!! “I thanked the Garda for doing his job well”

• Is this guy for real? His quite simply trying to add some credibility to this hypocritical situation his finding himself in.

• Nelly 12/03/13 #

Would he have this sudden change of heart if this didnt come to light?Ming your no different than the rest.have lost faith in these new wave of independent TD’s they’re all the same out for themselves

• What an awful explanation, Ming has let so many people down, especially himself. Zero credibility

• And the electorate voted the likes of Ming and Wallace a protests against the traditional rogues …. The funny part is that democracy elects people who have the respect of the majority and no doubt they will get elected again and thus it proves that the silent majority of the people have no problem with one of their own pulling strokes, Lowery has a seat for life, Bertie only left when retired, the Healy-Rea dynasty. Our elected officials are just a reflection of our society.

• Smartarse trying to be a man of the people …. what a knob !

• Ming’s false honesty makes me feel sick. It’s no secret what he thinks of ALL Gardai and if this wasn’t discovered and published in the papers he would have gone on quite happy with his stroke. I don’t believe a word of his crap. Go roll a big fat one you pathetic bullshit artist, you earned it

• So this is what all the fuss was about? Ming’s great revelation after the long build up and all the lies and spin of the last few days and weeks – all this holier-than-thou guff is just a white smokescreen – or maybe it’s just Ming’s drug of choice enveloping him. Wonder who’s the dopehead now? He must think we all came down the river in a banana boat if he thinks we’re gullible enough to buy this yarn!
    And his Gardaí vendetta won’t win him many fans – his appalling comments on the Gardaí being a corrupt force on the day of the funeral of the murdered Garda were more than just atrocious timing.

• Judging on the comments here, this attempted damage limitation exercise by Luke may well go down in the annals of Irish political history as the greatest ‘how not to do it’ PR campaign ever. Luke is now demoted to Jackie Healy Rae status….I imagine if there will be calls for his resignation over the next few days. According to the Irish Times Luke recently, in a twitter exchange, denied he had points wiped. Fate sealed. Trigger pulled. A pity I feel, as he had some qualities to offer.

• In England yesterday a politician and his vengeful wife were jailed for 8 months for swapping points…and look what happens in Ireland….

• Ehhhhhh why exactly did he not mention these episodes a couple months back when they were raising the points issue , I’m almost sure he denied at that stage ever receiving points ….

• As a fan of the old fixed line, loving this cell phone mayhem. De brudder said it from the start.

• Spoofer! Does he think we’re all gobs..tes.

• He’s getting torn apart by Vincent Browne right now!

“THAT’S IRRELEVANT!” storms Vincent as he keeps coming back again and again to this idea he was advised to send the letter.

“You’re impugning the reputation of everybody who was at that meeting! How can it be someone else’s responsibility to undo the damage you’ve done?” he asks on Ming’s identifying the meeting where people were arranging to have points taken off without naming specific person involved (therefore leaving a cloud of suspicion over all 12 people there).

• Yeh. Right MIng. That’s ok then…..

• I’d rather him take back his penalty points and get out of the dail and allow someone useful to take his place.

• Alan any suggestions who that might be….me I can’t think of even one! They are all a load of shite and the reason is they get away with it, none of them are EVER held accountable, unlike their counterparts in the UK!

• So it seems that the guard threatened Ming with penalty points if he didn’t write to the station. He had him there alright…. can’t trust those guards at all eh?

Whatever about the second time when the guard just “sorted it out” for him without being asked to which actually almost sounds plausible, the first story just smacks of Ming taking advantage of the system. Of course MIng was just about to tell us all this when a newspaper published it. Why do all ;politicians think we are all gullible? it sounds about plausible as saying that you won money on the horses when you can’t explain how you came by a pile of cash !!

• What a plonker!

• Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ming wants his points back what a g######e

• Denzil 12/03/13 #

Time to resign Ming , I for one accept your resignation

• I didn’t realise there was an appeals process that allowed an offence that hadn’t been prosecuted to be prosecuted. How does that work?

• aw shut up ming. Sick of listenin to the man talk utter b****x

• I too would like to travel back in time!!

• What a complete crock OD sh1t

• I’ll give him mine instead
    Got them overtaking some bearded idiot on the phone in the “Z”

• He should resign. He’s lost all credibility by denying it a few months ago. The guy has never had a job in his life, uses harmful and illegal drugs which have decimated families in this country and blatantly lies as a public representative, to the public…you’d have to wonder about the people who voted him in!!

• The British have just sentenced a politician to eight months in gaol over a penalty point issue, let us see what happens to Mr Ming

• All Joking aside, I hoped that Ming and the other independents would set a new standard In Irish politics, It’s a such a shame that they are all falling into the same pit of self serving bastards that was there beforehand.
    I know that in the Wallace, Daley and Ming story’s, some of the old time spin masters are doing all they can to smear the credentials of the Independents, But I wanted the new Independents to be better than that, I suppose I wanted them to be better than Us.
    It’s a shame, The public will be worse served in the end of the day.

• I feel quite sick that my tax is paying this muppet to spout shite.

• Denzil 12/03/13 #

Prime time showed some footage of his rant where he can be seen reading out his bullsh@t story alongside that other clown mick wallace from his iPad well he can afford one !!!!!!!!!!

• We voted the donkey into power but its a pity we can’t vote him out now. There should be a big brother style theme where we can vote them out of the Dail when they prove themselves to be useless clowns

• Why is Ming using his position and his TD status to use Dail time to represent himself?

• …by the way, the fool is NO relation. Not even a distant relation!

• Ming the Pointless

• Denzil 12/03/13 #

Vincent Brown is letting him have it now on Tv3 HA! He hasn’t a leg to stand on

• Keego 12/03/13 #

So he is the upstanding citizen and reporting this….AFTER sitting on the cancellation for 9 months ??? Dirty!

Also, he thanked the first officer, saying it might have saved his life …. Only to do it again?!!

Joke! He’s just another greasy slimy politician

• This turf cutting pot smoking hash head is an embarrassment to Irish people everywhere . This knob gets elected and the uses the time for personal attacks on the garda . The conspiracy nutjob is no better than that other nutter Jim corr . Smoking all that weed hallucinating wild storys .

• Apart from all the above and below,

As a TD, not alone did he break the LAW once but twice, showing no respect for the lives of other road users and

passengers of those cars……..He won’t learn from this because he is a gombeen and an idiot, a muppet…..He

thinks we believe his crap about the 2 Garda, and the Garda Sergeant insisting he write that letter…..I would

suggest that he buys a push bike to get around…….Why did he tell the senior council offcial that he was

stopped, because he wanted those points squashed as well……He has an inflated opinion of himself, which

i think is an embarrassment even to those that voted him in…….He has proved what a spineless article he is,

resign and try to do the 1st decent act since he went into The Dail….

• James 12/03/13 #

Corrupted to the core
    I smell a can of worms

• Not Ming again. Does he ever shut up. Attention seeker

• Denzil 12/03/13 #

Ill give it to him at least he went onto the vincent brown show to be interviewed but he’s still a joke

• Ah go on .you will.you will , Have a point ah go on go on , ya will ” only in ierland .

• Jason 12/03/13 #

ming the artful dodger

• With interest, 12 points, off the road

• Stupid is as stupid does and this fella is one stupid dope

• Shut up Ming. If people didn’t find out would you want them back. What a tool

• He lambasts the Gardai, calls them corrupt on the eve of the funeral of the slain Detective Garda in Dundalk on national TV, and severely criticizes the Ombudsman’s office and the system for investigating complaints against individual Gardai. He kept shouting from his soapbox in the Dail about the scandal. It was described as ‘corruption regarding penalty points’ according to his cohort, Joan Collins. Claire Daily, talked about the loss of ‘millions to the state’ and added it was a ‘systematic abuse of motoring charges and terminations to those of some very powerful and influential people in the State, including members of the judiciary’.

During all of this, as Ming joined in support in slamming the Gardai, he was one of the group of people that was resulting in the loss of ‘millions to the state’. Ming was one of the ‘very powerful and influential people’. He said nothing, but joined the group in the typical opposition fashion of bashing the government and the Gardai. He appears to have lied to the Irish Independent when he said that he appealed his penalty points in court, receiving four points as a result. Then it was revealed that indeed that was incorrect and he managed to get them written off, the same as those ‘powerful and influential people’ did.

Now that it turns out that he was one of the very people he spoke out against, he claims to be a victim of the system. He suggests he was forced into getting the points cancelled because a Sergeant in the Gardai who he “bumped into” by chance “insisted” he write to the Gardai citing that he was on ‘Dail business’ – a history law that allows them escape the force of the law. If the Gardai are corrupt, why take their advise? Why take time out to write a letter seeking the points be removed? Even if the Garda insisted, or the Councillor offered – why not insist back and refuse point blank? He was just elected, on the moral high-ground about doing politics differently – yet, he has proven beyond doubt that he is the same. He could have spoken out when this happened, raise the matter in the Dail. When the opportunity arose to show an example of ‘corruption’ and ‘abuse’ – he said nothing. His hand was forced when the rug from underneath him was pulled and he was outed.

Aside from all of the lies and hypocrisy, which are damning enough and seriously damage his reputation and credibility, he was pulled over twice within six months for the SAME offense! He claims in the Dail that he thanked the first Garda for doing his job well, and told him that his actions may have saved his life. Yet, six months later, he continued ignoring the law and putting both his own life and other lives in danger by using his phone. Complete disregard for the law and those who enforce it, those he calls ‘corrupt’.

Resign Ming. Do the right think and step down from politics. You didn’t enter the Dail on the mandate you sold to your electorate and you lied to the Irish people. This isn’t a media witch hunt. Its not the ‘corrupt’ Gardai marking your card. You made your bed, now lie in it. Continued disregard for the law. Continued insults towards the Gardai. Continued insulting of the Irish people and the people of Roscommon.

• Popcorn 12/03/13 #

Poor Ming wants his points back. Will somebody ever tell him he can’t exchange them for a toster in Tesco.

• Denzil 12/03/13 #

He’s like a school boy being told off he doesn’t know what to say your a joke Ming !!!!

• Jason 12/03/13 #

Minging wants his points back. ??

• MingTone good to see the power didn;t go to your head and glad to see you’re not going to bring anyone else down with you!!!

• I remember a friend of mine coming out of the polling booth saying she gave this guy number one because she was so pissed of with FF whom she had voted all her life a felt that she could never due to history vote FG

This fella she decided was a God help us who would do shag all harm to anyone and she felt she was making her protest vote known

I spoke to her a month ago and she denies all saying she voted FF then as she will now ! !

Not sure what lessons I have learned from that except that maybe Democracy
    does not work all of the time

• So ming is going in Vincent Browne Tonight #getspopcorn #anotherhypocrite

• it shows how desperate people were during the last election to have elected this fleabitten crack head who stood on the high moral ground with the tax evading mick wallace and the drink driving clare daly only to be brought down by his own petty crusade against the guards.

• No Ming you don’t want them back, you just thought you would highlight the problems you did because you knew it would get you plenty of media attention and votes. All for self gain, politics never changes. I give you something, I get something.

• funniest headline i have ever read

• Dail business my ass, he was prob on the phone to his drug dealer….

• Yeah Luke, just because you’ve been found out, like. Hypocrite!

• Techies are getting as shabby as the look. Where is your high moral ground now Ming.

• Ring ring Ming Ming

• Very disappointed in Ming Flanagan on this one. Getting caught on the phone twice is pretty embarrassing for anyone not to mind a TD!

• He can’t afford a blue tooth?

• Eire 12/03/13 #

Here in Banana Republic it’s not what you know but Who you know !!!!!!! Joke !!!!

• Pot smoking g0bshite!!!!!

• Truly politics is the last resort of the scoundrel.

• They might be a bit easier to get back than your credibility !

• Roscommon doesn’t really exist, he is only a piece of Percy French’s imagination.

• S L 12/03/13 #

Burn one Ming

• Ming is self praising attention seeker . He should not have been using phone in first place. He is off the wall with some of the stuff he comes out with. The only decent thing he done was support the turf cutters protest. He may be ok at council level but he should not be in a national parliament making laws then breaking them. He won’t be re elected, I bet

• I can’t help thinking if a nice bedtime story I often read after Oireactas Report:

“Little pig, little pig, let me come in!”

“Not by the hair on my chinny-chin-chin!”

“Then I’ll huff, and I’ll puff, and I’ll blow your house in……..

• This is the type of gombeen that votes these corrupt self serving accidental politicians.
    Would he be so sympathetic to poor old Micheal Lowry. Same clown but in a different costume.

• Denzil 12/03/13 #

Hahahahahaha butter wouldn’t melt in Ming’s mouth sur

• This country is rotten to the core. Corruption, inner circles, gardai doing what they want, cute hoors, Michael Lowry, etc etc etc. Its so unfair on those of us who dont have a guard in the family or who dont fundraise with the local gaa.

• Has he given Shatter the names of the Garda Sergeant and the Senior County Official yet?

• think its all a joke really,, come on when has one ever met an honest polilitician,they lie to get in, they lie to stay in,, and then they give seats to anyone who has a family member that passes,, pity they dont put those jobs out and just have a vote in that area,, i dont think anyone inherits a seat is that even legal or lawful or honest,,oops silly me an honest pollitician as i said no such thing,, each and everyone of them sitting is either a liar or backing a liar,, i voted honestly and feel very let down as what i voted for was lies,, but i know labor or fg will not get back in again,, everrrrrrrrrrrr,,,

• This boy is beyond a joke lads, he’s sitting in a seat that was put under his arse by the blood and sacrifice of fine men, who left their families and gave their lives to put that Dail there. The clip of the late Shane Mcentee entering through the gates almost overcome with emotion by the honour the people of Meath had bestowed on him, the honour of following in the footsteps of those pioneering patriots , will live long in my memory, he knew, he knew… Ming Flanagan doesn’t , he just doesn’t get it….

• stupid is as stupid does.

• I’ sure the question has been asked before why did Ming keep quiet up to now?

• God, poor Ming seems to have been forced to get his penalty points quashed by a sergeant and a council official. Did the sergeant stand over him when he wrote the letter explaining he was on Dail business? The excuse he came up with is used countless times by thousands of children around the country every day: It wasn’t my fault! He made me do it. Truth, it seems, is stranger than fiction after all.

• Maybe Ming and the cop decided over a joint, to let matters rest…

• Cheer up Luke, at least the bog men and turf cutters will still like you….

• I actually can’t get over how many comments there are on this subject, me being one of course. Ming is a joke and the quicker we get clowns like him out of the dail and try and get some decent ones who can have an input the better, although to get someone decent will be the problem.

• Anyone caught using a mobile while driving should be banned for a year. No exceptions. It is equally as bad as drunk driving and kills dozens of people every year.

• I don’t really care Ming.
    Have them if it will shut you up.

• I have just stolen my neighbour’s car and sold it to a guy down the pub who had suggested to me that selling cars is a good way to get money.

My plan is to use my knowledge of my crime to embarrass Alan Shatter as he is publishing a report in a years time that crime numbers, including car theft, are at lows.

When he brings out the report, I will announce my deed and prove the report is wrong.

I should disclose that I was involved in another car theft recently under different circumstances and I will use that crime as another way to embarrass the Minister..

Of course, none of this reflects badly on me. I am only doing it to show how morally superior I am.

• This guy is the symbol of paddy whackery, what a flute, just clean your act up and try to look professional

• Well done your are what wee need wright now an ass hole

• Spiff(ing) great story

• I’m amazed by the green/red thumbs on this topic. Impressive rallying by all involved. Never seen anything like it on any other topics except maybe the pro lifers. Nicely done! Let the corrupt prosper eh!

• This is just one more example of the corrupt nature of this state, the flippant comments here just confirms this fact,its the reason this country is bankrupt.

• Back of the net!

Ming has totally put this story to bed.

I don’t think his detractors were ready for the robust and comprehensive rebuttal he had prepared.

Case closed. Move on.

• Simon 13/03/13 #

I would just like to know if he informed his insurance company of the penalty points…..

• granted, jokes can be made and all that but you all seem to be quite happy that theres another law for Dail members and the elite, strange, you deserve all you get tbh and it plays right into Shatters hands, denial. Over the last few weeks you’ve also had 2 TDs remark on people as “knackers” and not be held accountable for such comments yet Pat Rabbite throws his rattler out when his name is mispelled, if even made a joke of its still nowhere near the “knacker” remarks his fellow members made. Banana Republic.

• Several points in this matter annoy me but the overriding one is why do TD’s have an exemption from any laws that apply to the rest of mankind in this country. These people have no known advanced driving skills that makes it any safer for them to use hand held mobiles when driving than the rest of us. What other exemptions from the law do they have?
    As for Flanagan and that motley crew known as left alliance it strikes me there are a lot of things they might give their time too such as issues affecting the poor in our society, but perhaps on their massive salaries and expenses they have long since forgotten realities of life facing the folks who voted them in to power.

• This is just the latest and worst in a line of bad behaviour from this guy. We need to draw a line in the sand for the standards we expect from our Dail reps. He has to go.

• Watched his performance on Browne. Classic. I was reminded of a school child who got caught stealing the collection money. The more he talked, the more he protested, the bigger the hole he was digging. His best friend should have told him to shut up and just be honest. Looks like honesty is so difficult for him that it’s physically painful. The way he sunk lower and lower into his chair as the night wore on was almost comical.
    Not that he isn’t a fine TD, mind you. LOL.

• The real story is Michael Lowry.

• may be i have got this wrong. so if any T.d or senater is caught using a phone when driving are entitled to have the points wiped clean if this is true. sure am sure ming is not the only one.it all sounds like one rule for them and another for the rest of us. no change there?,……..

• Roy Race 13/03/13 #

Couldn’t believe the hypocrisy of this clown on radio last night trying to deflect attention away from the fact that he was an integral part of the corruption in this instance – it really is a frightening reflection on where we are as a country……another guaranteed poll topper in the next election along woth Lowry and Wallace….enough…i give up…..

• Guards are excempt for reasons like this. Every few days, a station picks up a messy call, that they need to explain in detail and relay it to the guard in the car.thus ringing his phone instead of long drawn out details on the tetra whose channel could be in use considering at least four stations use the channel. Moan at the government instead and get them to enable our tetras for proper conversation since the facility is there but theyre too scabby to do it.

• Ming For President of the European Commission !……….l.o.l.

• Compared to what other politicians in this country have got away with Bertie,Cowen,Lowry etc he should be given some slack.

• It’s thinking like that which causes the likes of Bertie et al…’ah sure what he did wasn’t that bad, he’s a grand fella, sure didn’t I go to school with his father’…there’s people out there who think like this about Bertie, Charlie and Lowery too!

• He would have been given some slack if he hadn’t been all over the airwaves last December, and in the dail, spouting about corrupt gardai getting rid of points for people. When the reporter from the Sindo approached him 3 weeks ago with the allegation he still denied it.when Claire daly raised the issue, if he had said, yeah that happened to me, he would have been better off and shown himself as the hypocrite he now appears to be.

• Not to be the hypocrite*

• Now to all of you who have jealously posted that Ming gets away with it and you don’t -
    1. Law is based on equality- if mr. Flanagan gets his points taken care of then all you have to do is go into your local council office and say “I’m looking for the official that gets the guard to take of the points like they do for Ming!”
    If you are informed that no such official exists then you ask for your points to be heard in a court of law and you inform the judge that you have been discriminated against ; end of case , end of points !
    2. Rather than attack Mr. Flanagan READ what he has said ! One of the signs of intelligence is an ability to comprehend what is written …this is the intellect of extrapulation. berating someone out of jealousy or their appearance or indeed their actions while ignoring all the facts and the timelines involved is emotional intelligence and while emotional intelligence is a very necessary tool in your head every animal on the planet has emotional intelligence ; it is generally referred to as monkey horny monkey ride ! (a study on the Benobo primate is an excellent pointer on this subject )
    3. Ming and the independents are the only group that see corruption as the single largest problem in our society – they are correct !
    4. Mr. Flanagan is a novice ….. he is not a person who entered politics to take advantage of “Party Connections” …… dislike him if you will that is your choice , but please display a little bit of intellect when posting – this is the internet after all and the world can see what you think !
    5. Ignore all that is written above and pay your fines and your taxes etc. , be a goody little two shoes and wait for Enda to come down to your house and give you a big shiny Gold Star for being such a good pupil .
    6. Ignore all that is written above ………. most politicians don’t care so I don’t either!

• Say what you all like about Ming, but he did the right thing to expose the corruption within the Force! One law for Jack and an other Law for Billy I don’t think so! Like to see how minister Shatter and the Garda Commissioner get out of this one! Oh but I forgot they are the Law!!! “so come on condemn me? I’m waiting”

• Jason 12/03/13 #

IWANTJUSTICE The only thing that the minger exposed was his absolute hypocrisy, dishonesty and the fact that he must think the Irish people are completely stupid if he believes that anyone other than the most simple believe his fairytale.

• o.k. so Shatter and callinan are not the Law ….Our constitution and all laws not in violation of same are the law ….. that’s the best I could do with all you have posted …sorry !

• Jason: why do you think Ming’s claim is a lie?

• Was he doing a case-study when he got his penalty points being wiped?

• Jason 12/03/13 #

Iwantjustice. To start with he categorically denied back in December 2012 that he had points wiped from his licence. I think that qualifies as a big porker of a lie. He now admits that he did have them wiped for no other reason than that he was caught by the media. He then tries to blame a Garda sgt who allegedly advised him that he may have a genuine reason for not receiving points and to weite to the superintendent to argue his case. There was nothing wrong with that advice in that it is the correct procedure to adopt if the points are to be disputed. He then scurrilously tries to accuse that sergeant of an ingrained corruption and embarrassingly and cowardly tries to use it to his advantage by hiding behind Dáil privilege and claiming that he was going to produce the fact that he had points canceled when this report into the penalty points issue was published. That was another lie because he had denied he has points wiped in December. He then finally brings a council official into the mix and claims that he had no hand act or part in looking for the points to be quashed and only happened to mention it in conversation. He is making vague scurrilous allegations hiding behind the protection of the Dáil against people that will find it very difficult to defend themselves. That’s how he’s telling lies and disgracefully standing up expecting us to believe that he is the virtuous political pillar of society and that he has done nothing wrong. Give me a break and get real.

• Fair point: but, is it fair to have one law of one and an other law for an other?

• Jason 12/03/13 #

There are certain exemptions for certain professions in certain legislation that are generally logical. For example a TD cannot be arrested on the way to or from the Dáil. This was designed so that police could not interfere with the democratic process by preventing TD’s voting. Minger obviously abused this process by adopting the correct procedure and writing to the relevant superintendent who most likely interpreted the law and decided that the points were not to be issued. I have no idea what happened in the other case because he can’t be believed.

• @iwantjustice5, you must go to the same dealer!

• As You?

• Well done Luke we need more like you

• We really don’t…he’s the same as the rest of them!

• There are plenty of hash heads already, what exactly are you on about? Trolling I presume

• Clare daly and Ming , thank god for ye everyone else on here are so used to corruption in ireland and are so anaesthetised to corrupt politicians that they can’t recognise the fact that we have at least 2 politicians fighting for the small man who has no voice .!

• Jason 12/03/13 #

Ha good one Norbert

• Nice one norbet! That’s some funny shit. Don’t forget about the jackie Healy Rae and mick wallace. Heroes of our time!!!

• John Joyce – maybe you should inform yourself a bit more about Ming and all the hard work he does for the underdog rather than be influenced by the establishment like most if ye ill informed!(:

• Sorry, Norbert, I just don’t buy it. TD’s rightly can’t be detained when on their way to the Dáil but they should be fined for traffic violations like the rest of us. Ming-I-want-my-points-back only brought this up when it was revealed by the papers. Sad, really and just shows you can’t trust any of them. Work for us my foot! Work the system to his own ends more like.

• Is that not his job? Maybe he could do some work for the Roscommon gaa team, they will be serious under dogs this year. Seriously mate, what he did would not be an issue with me if he hadn’t made such a song and dance about other people doing the exact same thing he did! There is no defence and you know it. He had long enough to come clean about it if he was bothering him. He is a public representative and it’s a bad day for him. Simple as that.

• Dylan – talking shite son shite.!

• I wonder how upsetting it would be if a banker done something deemed an abuse of power; God forbid !!!!! Another non news story while the real corruption goes unpunished !!!!!

• Mr Ming. The real thing .Rockin Rossie rebel!

• Typical guards first they frame clare daly now there after ming. Have we learned nothing from donegal!

• Mark Nolan or the dundalk case where the judge spoke out about not seeing what went on

• Jason 13/03/13 #

There you are Harry Price

• See you have a link to the Garda traffic on your twitter Jason!

• Jason 13/03/13 #

Iwantjustice. Not that I’m aware of as I only set up a twitter account to enable me join the discussions on the journal. i have to admit to knowing nothing about twitter and don’t think that I have any links as you call them. I don’t really see your point iwantjustice. So what if I did have a link to Garda traffic on it? What has that got to do with anything? Would my opinions be invalid if I did? Would I not be allowed to show my anger and revulsion at the unacceptable behaviour and hypocrisy of a sitting TD if I had a Garda traffic link on my twitter?. I wonder if you saw mr minger on Vincent Brown last night? I have to say I’ve never seen anyone look so silly and childish on the TV before.. The guard made him do it!!!!! Half the reason our political system is the way it is stems from the Irish way of just not saying it as it is. We have hypocrisy and brass neck lies flying around and the likes of you go off the point and try to undermine the opinions and views of those that actually see it for what it is. It is quite pathetic that that’s the best you can come up with.

• What station are you attached to?

• well done ming all the above negative comments shows what a shower of uneducated people we have in this corrupt dictatorship country that disagree with your honesty show there are a lot more corrupt garda and politicians who are afraid to comment irish people never learn the only way to survive in this shit hole of a country is become corrupt

• It looks like this is a “Anti Ming Page!” except for a few folk with real MORAL’S!!!

Add New Comment