TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

In their own words: Survivors’ accounts of life inside a Magdalene Laundry

The report published today includes a section devoted to survivors’ first-hand accounts of life in a Laundry.

A man looks at a burial plot for victims of the Magdalene Laundries in Glasnevin Cemetery, Dublin.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

THE REPORT of the inter-departmental committee into the State’s role in Magdalene Laundries includes a section devoted to the first-hand accounts of survivors who spoke to the committee about their experiences.

Among those who gave oral evidence to the committee, and whose quotes appear below, are women represented by the Irish Women’s Survivor’s Network, Magdalene Survivors Together, Justice for Magdalenes, women who live in nursing homes under the care of the orders who ran their Laundries, and women who approached the inquiry alone.

The report acknowledges that there were “many other women who have not felt able to share their experience of the Magdalene Laundries with it, or indeed with anyone” – and respected the right

The report admits that the oral accounts presented to it are biased because of the passage of time, which meant that women admitted to Laundries in earlier decades were no longer around to share their experiences.

On sexual abuse

One woman told the committee that she had been the subject of sexual abuse by an auxiliary (a woman who had entered a Laundry and decided to remain there for life) during her time there, but said she was not aware of any other similar cases.

The committee did not hear any evidence from any other former residents about sexual abuse during their time in a Laundry, though some said they had been the victims of sexual abuse in other institutions or at the family home, before or after their admission.

On physical abuse

Many women said that while their treatment was rough, they were never subjected to physical abuse – pointing out that brutality they may have experienced in an industrial school was not matched in a Laundry.

No beatings, only working. Hardest work ever.
I might have been given out to, but I was never beaten.
I was never beaten and I never seen anyone beaten.
It has shocked me to read in papers that we were beat and our heads shaved and that we were badly treated by the nuns. As long as I was there, I was not touched myself by any nun and I never saw anyone touched and there was never a finger put on them. … Now everything was not rosy in there because we were kept against our will … we worked very hard there … But in saying that we were treated good and well looked after.
No, they never hit you in the laundry. They never hit me, but the nun looked down on me ‘cause I had no father.
I wasn’t beaten but they’d shake you. And we were hungry – bread and dripping.
In the industrial school it was weapons, it was desperate. It wasn’t the same in the Laundry and I never remember being hit with a weapon.

A small number of women did, however, say they had been physically punished.

Two ladies were standing there, not nuns but dressed in navy. I was left with those two. [The survivor then recounted being made to strip and stand on a stool, after which she was...] punched by one of them, one side to another. I was dizzy, I kept saying I’m dizzy. [...]

I had to line up with the rest of the Magdalenes for prayers, church, breakfast. A nun sitting on a high chair told the ‘three new penitents to say your name’. I saw they were bruised too. I never ever saw another one, just that one time, never anything.

Others described having their hair pulled and being hit with canes.

On psychological abuse

I remember a nun telling me that you came from an illegitimate mother. I suppose it was that you were no good and that’s why we were there.
In the car the nuns were saying I had the devil in me, shaking holy water and saying the rosary in the car.
The nuns were very nasty. They’d say, ‘Your father is a drunkard’ in front of everyone. It would degrade me. You know everyone knows your business.
They were very, very cruel verbally – ‘Your mother doesn’t want you, why do you think you’re here?’ and things like that.
They would make you walk in front of all the women in the refectory and lie on the ground and kiss the floor.

On the working environment

I was about 14 years old. You would get up very early, the van men brought it in. You’d check the customer of the dirty laundry, mark it and put it in baskets. You’d pack it in bags and collect them. We had to leave the room when the van men came. It was repetition all the time.
[It was] very hard work. At about 8 o’clock you’d really drop. You’d be soaking wet. I only think I loved the clothes horses, ‘cause it was warm in the drying room. [... All this time you were] never allowed talk.
It was very hard work in the Laundry. The roof was all glass, the heat was unbelievable. You couldn’t leave your station unless a bell went. In the workroom I was trained to sew, we made fantastic stuff for the outside – kids clothes, first communion clothes, priests vestments … there was a sale of work in November for three days and the public came in.
The only thing was I had appendicitis and asked [an unnamed nun] could I go to bed, and she wouldn’t let me.

There were conflicting reports from survivors as to whether some nuns had worked alongside the residents or not.

Contrary to some opinion, only one resident reported having their head shaven – explaining that this was because of lice – though many others who entered with long hair said their hair had been cut short, to a bob.

On communicating with the outside world

Your letters were checked and letters in were definitely checked.
They read them and they didn’t get out or in if they didn’t suit.
You could write once a month but the nun would read the letters [...] When you got letters they were open.
I tried to write a letter saying I wasn’t getting school and the nun said, ‘It can’t go’.
My father used to come to see me but the nun would be there all the time.
I never saw my mam. My aunt said the nuns told her I was quite happy there.

On when they would be released

There was never any communication to tell me the reason for anything. [...] No one ever spoke why I was there. In our heads all we could think of is we are going to die here. That was an awful thing to carry.
There was never a reason given for anything, we never thought we’d see the outside of the world again. … While you were in Ireland they knew exactly what you were doing. You had to leave Ireland to escape them.
I thought I was there forever.
I don’t know why that happened. I learned later only women with illegitimate babies went there. I was a young virgin, I don’t know why I was put there.
I seen all these older people beside me, I used to cry myself to sleep.
It was devastating to hear that door locked and I was never ever to walk out. There was a big wall. I knew I was there for life. When that door was locked my life ended. I never moved on from there.

On being allowed to leave… or running away

I remember it clearly. … [named auxiliary] knew I was good at sewing and came and said ‘come and fix a zip’. She closed the door and said ‘come on, you’re going’. Leaving just like that, I had butterflies and bumblebees in my stomach. I made friends there, I was leaving my security, I was going out in the big world. I was given shitty clothes and shoes and a tiny brown suitcase and then taken to train by an auxiliary to [place].

A number of women said they were placed in live-in jobs after they left, but had no choice in these jobs.

I kept going to [named nun]. She would say ‘It’s a big bad world out there’ and I couldn’t [leave]. See I’m a quiet person. She was telling me you’re going to be a Child of Mary, I’d be going for my blue ribbon, this was going on for years. I had to sit on the stairs and go on hunger strike. It could go on for a week.
I ran out. I thumbed to get a lift.
We would roll the trollies to the van at the back of laundry. I told the van man, ‘I’m running away, I’m going to get in the van’. He said, ‘Oh no, not another one… I don’t know you’re there.’

In full: TheJournal.ie‘s coverage of the Magdalene Laundries report

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• This is reliable testimony and it speak eloquently and sincerely of slavery and oppression. The response of an Taoiseach was formulaic, inadequate, pro forma and reluctant. It was ungracious and it compounds the injury done to those female victims of a prison camp environment.

These victims were deprived of their liberty.

It is appalling.

We truly do live in the same society which produced the Magdalen laundries. Even the name tells us so much.

• Words cannot express the pain I feel for those women who suffered at the hands of the religious orders nor can i find the words to express the anger I feel towards the RCC and the politicians and civil servants who supported and still support their regime today.

• Those poor women deprived of their freedom and treated badly……..some them of died too.

• Give them women the pensions they deserve! “God” knows they worked hard enough for them. Imagine the fatso’s in the dail with their big wages and fancy pensions for doing nothing while these women never got a penny for their slavery. It would make ya sick!

• There is a lot of dishonesty about the Magdalene laundries. Everybody knew about these laundries, not jut church, police politicians but everybody. They accepted it and mostly approved. It suited the beliefs and mores of the time and everybody was complicit. People in Germany say they didn’t know about concentration camps. They did – you can’t keep something that big a secret. People of an appropriate age in Ireland claim not to know about Magdalene laundries. They did. People just approved or otherwise chose to do nothing.

• Henry, if you knew, then you should have gone to the Gardai and your local TD. While you obviously knew about what was going on, I did not. Neither did any of my brothers our sisters.
      The Government knew what was going on and did nothing. They had inspectors visit the slave camps. Every one who served in government, right up to 1996, should be sent for trial, regardless of age, and face the full rigour of the law.
      They and the church are a blight and cancer on Irish society that needs to be removed.

• Enda Kennys response is a disgrace!
    are these women being let down again by the state?
    If this was not slavery and abuse what the hell is?
    An 82 year old woman spoke on Prime Time, her sincerity and eloquence was so touching.
    Give these women some dignity please Taoiseach, in their final years !

• I haven’t heard anything from the “saintly” church hierarchy on this yet. The cardinal, who is most vocal on subjects such as the abortion debate, is strangely silent today. As the vatican’s senior representative, and mouthpiece on church matters, it seems very strange that we haven’t had to endure his opinion today. Does anyone else find this odd? Or am I being too cynical?

• I agree they are strangely reticent on the subject. Perhaps their attitude is “least said soonest mended”. I’m sure they know there is no justifying what occurred in the magdalen laundries. As many of them were part of the hierarchy of the church responsible for their existence they don’t want to speak up and remind people that they exist and have so far gotten away Scott free.

• If that isnt like a Nazi war camp I dont know what is – the sustained psychological abuse, brutal slavery, horrible conditions- absolutely disgusting treatment – and these were supposed to be ”caring” for these children, innocent, vulnerable and often disadvantaged children.

These were nuns supposedly ”doing the work of God” !! No God told these degenerates to do this to any child – and this most certainly was not in God’s name. My heart goes out to the women who were sent here, and Im sure all the Irish people are in support of these brave and very courageous survivors.

• If there was a god he’d be spinning in his grave.

• What was it if not slavery?

The collusion between the state and these institutions between 1922 and 1996 is well documented in that the “state played a role in funding and regulating the laundries, which were commercial operations that never paid wages to inmates who often did not know why they had been committed or for how long.”

What a terrible indictment of Ireland, the Catholic Church there and the religious communities involved.
    Shame on them.

I cannot begin to imagine what went on in these Magdalen laundries, these prisons of bodies and souls.

God bless those courageous, brave and determined women who are speaking out and fighting for justice.

Sister Maureen Paul Turlish
    Advocate for Victim/Survivors & Legislative Reform
    New Castle, Delaware, USA
    maturlishmdsnd@yahoo.com

• Hi, can I ask you do you view the Catholic Church as a perversion of Christianity? A twisting of Christ’s words to suit the needs of the greedy? Genuine question as, despite being agnostic, I see no good in the Catholic Church but can see it in Christianity itself

• I view the Roman Catholic Church as a continuation of the Roman Empire. A sick twisted monster that dressed itself in a religious cloak. Pick any point in its history and you will find dark corners and sordid tales(sorry facts). How people can still stand shoulder to shoulder with it is beyond me!

• Mjhint 05/02/13 #

This state has a lot to answer for down the years.We seem to continuely abuse the vurnerable & innocent. It seems to be a constant problem. We are still doing it & we will have more reports in the future about more abuses that are going on today. What is the problem with this nation.We have a huge amount to grow up & change. These women were on the radio today & Im sure they will get some type of compensation but everyone of them just asked for an apology & again this nation failed them.

• Mental torture is equally as bad as physical torture in my opinion. Disgusting what happened to the people who ended up in the system, there is no excuse in the world that could explain the continuous abuse of these people.

I’m slightly shocked at the people who think it would have been an easy thing to stand up to the church in the 50′s, 60′s and 70′s.

• Do you think the Civil Rights Movement in America was easy? Protesters in Prague standing up to the USSR? Any of the other many social and political changes between 1950 and 1979? Just cause it was hard doesn’t mean it shouldn’t have been done

• the nuns were more sadistic than priests. rot in hell bitches.

• You can’t say the nuns were more sadistic than the priests. They are different cases and the priests talk about ( the corrupt monsters) were from a different case! The sexual abuse of young innocent children is as sadistic as it gets and quite frankly we cannot put these cases in the same category!

• And they called that religion!!!

• Just been scrolling around the radio stations. Rte 1 has a good documentary about the Magdalene laundries while another national station is on about a guy who gives bjs to his dog!! Suffering Jesus!! For once I don’t begrudge rte their licence fee!!! Vile. !

• This is an Irish tragedy.

• This is so horrendous

• In the 1970 I worked in a Dublin 6 hosp,the carering staff were from these ins, they were so uneducated and unpaired for life ( no education) and looking for acceptance ,What hope did these young girls have? When they would talk to me about going out and having sex,I would always say go on the pill ,which of course they would say it was wrong, often wonder why I didn’t try and put it into their porriage , . Always felt I let those grand girls down, sorry to the few lovely girls I met

• Eammon de Valera and John Charles mc. Quaid ran the country !! Total curruption

• Asking that the report be read in it’s entirety is an insult to these women two weeks to respond after a debate in the dail. Get real here the truth has been diluted to precentages %went in or sent in is totally irrelevant,the times we lived in irrelevent,the apology never came to-day for the reason the times we live in to-day. An apology = liability.If the argument here is we all knew it would be after the fact,and as a tax payer i would rather pay a tax to the wrong that has taken place rather than bail out banks. Truth is money our god? One good thing to come out of this was listening to these Lady’s even though they were abused by the religous orders they never in some cases lost there faith,or regained there faith and knew right from wrong and over came deception. So for the State and it’s response
    an apology is not such a big ordeal, stop playing the percentage game show some leadership best insurance you can achieve in the long run the damage is done

• My heart goes out to these women. I really hope they get a ‘real’ apology from the government and proper acknowledgment for the torture they went through! This island of Ireland has had a lot to be proud of as a nation but our pride is slowly but surely going by the way side with realities like this! Shame on you Ireland!

• We’ve been independent since 1922. We’ve made plenty of mistakes. There is no reason why we can’t learn from the many mistakes we have made. That means we need to face up to them and acknowledge these mistakes. That means, in this context, the government must give an official apology for failing to close the Magdalen laundries after 1922.

• if nuns could do this again they would. poor girls. i am disgusted and to think a few are alive . makes my skin crawl. horrible nuns. i mean opening your letters. supervising your visits . keeping you up sick. while they enjoyed their lives and sat back . it makes me sick . ugh i actually wana knock one out.

• Although you cannot deny the abuse of these poor women
    you cannot compare the laundrys to nazi concentration camps. Check the facts.

• Nuns were a shower of bastards in those days

• I am apalled by the lack of apology from current Government.The pain and suffering endured by the women and girls, was nothing short of disgusting and inhuman.! Mna na hEireann…………I ask you……Institutions and corrupt politicians……..recipe for disaster..Ireland calling itself a modern country………sick joke.!!!!!!

Add New Comment