TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Ming: ‘What did I say that caused offence?’

Luke Ming Flanagan has spoken about his role in the conversation in which his fellow independent TD Mick Wallace called another TD ‘Miss Piggy’.

Luke Ming Flanagan
Image: Press Association

LUKE MING FLANAGAN believes there is nothing he has said that is offensive to Fine Gael TD Mary Mitchell O’Connor who was referred to as ‘Miss Piggy’ by Flanagan’s fellow independent deputy Mick Wallace.

Flanagan was responding to his role in an exchange between him, and independent TDs Shane Ross and Mick Wallace in which Wallace referred to the Fine Gael TD Mitchell O’Connor as ‘Miss Piggy’.

Flanagan claimed on RTÉ Radio’s News at One today that he was approached and “admonished” by FG deputy Mitchell O’Connor over his dress sense after a Dáil sitting recently. He said:

She should be apologising to me.

He accused Fine Gael of being behind moves to impose their own dress code upon all members of the Dáil: ”She actually goes further and her party are going further.”

When contacted by TheJournal.ie this afternoon Flanagan did not appear to believe he had anything to apologise for. He asked repeatedly:  ”What did I say that caused offence?”

He would not answer questions regarding his role in the conversation with Wallace and Ross.

Shane Ross could not be contacted by TheJournal.ie but it was reported by Gavin Jennings on News at One that the former senator intends to apologise to Mitchell O’Connor over the remarks.

Read: Wallace labels Mary Mitchell O’Connor ‘Miss Piggy’ >

Read: Mitchell O’Connor says ‘I’m over it’ >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• This calls for a Tribunal!

• Could they all just grow up and get on with the business they’re getting paid for. Even kids get over name calling quicker than these lot.

• Aaron 13/07/11 #

This is a non story and no one cares. Wallace has already said it was him and apologised. Why exactly are you contacting Ming Flanagan or Shane Ross?

• Can anyone actually take Irish politicians seriously these days in the circus that is Dail Eireann?

• How did this conversation get out on a blog anyway ? If conversation (private or otherwise) can be broadcast without permission the lets hope TD’s don’t discuss sensitive economic or security issues in the Dáil. It seems that the place simply isn’t secure.

• The old “Microphone On” trick.
    I think two of those three independents should watch their backs, as the knives are out.
    Lunchtime on Newstalk today had an interview with the lady mentioned in this article, and I`d swear I heard her issue a threat. A general broad threat about minding your manners etc but the implication was not disguised.

To Deputy Flanagan, I`m sorry boss, but come back down to Earth will you. In your own mind you can do no wrong, and you are habitually right. Be a bit more humble or there will be a big fall.
    All credit to your work and your antagonistic stance is admirable, be careful……….

• But, he didn’t do anything?!

• Agreed, he didn`t do anything, and so far he seems to be doing the job of looking after his constiuents.
      All I was saying was that he will have to be careful in what he does and says, as there are a lot of people in Dail Éireann who would like nothing more than to see both him and Wallace suffer some serious embarrassment.
      They both should make sure that their backs are covered as every trick in the book will be used against them.
      Take for instance the “Microphone”, did someone surreptitiously turn it on? Or did they not check to see if any microphone was on? Oddly enough as someone else pointed out, how did it end up being recorded?
      If Ming was from Limerick he would have gotten my vote, same with Wallace.

• I’m fast falling out of love with FG. Good on you, team: your open stupidity and attempts to deflect everything by adopting the pompous windbaggism of the unlamented FFers has made me want to spit. Pompous, arrogant, self-aggrandising, doubled-barrelled-surnamed, overweight gobshites, the lot of you.
    Get your act together. Do what’s right for all of us, not what is right for you, and come out with the truth. Surprise us with honesty. You’d be amazed how well it works.

Gobshites.

• There is a good reason that FG are only ever in one term at a time, there is a culture of entitlement and superiority in the party, that the little people are to be tolerated rather than listened to. The hoods of FF had it easy when you have an opposition like hat, besides they all look after and protect a very select few, the civil war ended very quickly when it came to how they treat the people at the top, obeying the law and being accountable and equal only apply to the bottom 90% of the populace.

Mary Mitchell O’Connor is a bit of a loose cannon, her defense of Col. Gadaffi wsas quiet interesting and left a lot of her own party scratching their heads. Wallace was wrong to say what he said, she should have minded her own business and be more concerned with her party’s prog. for Govt. than worrying what he wore. Basically there are enough problems in the country without the likes of her going on a moral crusade.

• Repeating my comments on a previous thread, Ming has earned credibility in his constituency by taking a stand on turf-cutting and hospitals. And I still wouldn’t imagine that too many around Roscommon will be overly concerned about what nicknames are being given to South Dublin blueshirts, or his sartorial tastes.

If this is the best that the Government can do in trying to attack the independents, would have to grade it as Must Try Harder.

• Turf cutting? He’s a legislator now, time to grow up.

• What are you on about? Care to explain?

In case you’re not aware, there are moves to prohibit turf cutting pursuant to the EU Habitat Directive. Ming has been a vocal and energetic campaigner on the issue.

Now, I’m can see both sides of this one, I’m from the Midlands myself, and I’ve done my time in the bog. Tbh, if they’d outlawed turf cutting when I was a nipper, I would’ve been delighted. But it’s a big deal for my family, both in terms of a potential trebling (at least) of energy bills, and cultural heritage. Seriously, (almost) as much as the money I think they’re attached to the ritual of it, the connection to their parents and grandparents. Now, maybe it’s my fancy Dublin education, but I can see the other side, how valuable a natural resource the boglands are as a habitat, and I’d trade the well-being of my lumbar spine for any amount of cultural heritage.

Point is, this is a serious issue for a lot of people in the area. Rightly or wrongly, there’s a perception that the city smart-arses are coming down to tell people what they can’t do, with no regard whatsoever for their opinions: no argument, no consultation, only prosecutions.

Ming has been agitating on it for the past couple of years, and has earned people’s respect, I think this is one of his main selling points. As far as I know he was involved in getting the Peatlands Council established. Whatever about the substance of it, at least people get the chance to be heard.

http://www.npws.ie/peatlandsturf-cutting/peatlandscouncil/

You may be aware, also, that his position on hospitals has been consistent at least. Whether he’s an opportunist or not is open to question, he is a politician after all. What’s beyond question is his work rate and ability to identify and connect with people’s concerns.

This Piggy thing and the dress code are a pathetic side-show, which, rather than damaging him, seem likely, from where I see it, to win him more support and sympathy among his constituents. And properly so, in my opinion. If, as I suspect, it is an orchestrated attack, it’s a misjudged one.

Play the ball, not the man.

• Unfuckingbelievable ! who gives a crap who called who “what” in the Dáil.
    This Country is in the shit and this is spin to distract people from the bigger picture.

• If what Ming says there is true, he’s perfectly entitled to call her Miss Piggy. I’d go further and call her a nannying fussbucket.

• Barry 13/07/11 #

How is he perfectly entitled?
      He is doing a job and like anyone in any professional workplace you are expected to deal with people in a professional manner. He did not.

• Ming didn’t actually call her “Miss Piggy”! And anyway it was a private conversation picked up by microphones that were supposed to be turned off. And given that she had the brazen temerity to “approach and admonish” Ming over his dress sense (which I find perfectly acceptable) I think she deserves all the abuse she gets. The phrase “Feckin’ Wagon” for some strange reason is stuck in my head.

• It was a private conversation that got into the public domain. So what ? Who hasn’t said things in private they wouldn’t like made public ? She needs to grow a thicker skin. I’m sure she has said things about people herself. Get off the “mna na hEireann” bandwagon & grow up.

• Well, I call him cookie monster

• What’s he on about anyway, look at the state of him, atrocious, and as for Mick Wallace long grey hair and pink shirt, wouldn’t do it for me and I’m about his age ugh ugh ugh! It was a stupid remark but hey who can honestly say they haven’t said something similar be they male or female, but just didn’t get caught!! Not me anyway. Get over it, women need to stop being so sensitive, we ogle men too, but for some reason some women seem to think that’s not the same thing!!!

• I honestly believe that dress don’t come into it…… how long have we watched them Suited and Booted in there and THEY have done nothing but SQUANDER any decent chance we Irish people have of survival – along come Flanagan & Wallace who to date seem to be fighting for their constituents and in fear: THIS is how The “Suits in Boots” are trying to take them down.
    Presently : Any Intelligent Roscommon S Leitrim voter who voted for Flanagan – have got a better return for their “stroke” than those who have voted for the others – (even presently John Mc Dermot, HAC candidate is more “People Focused” than some! actual elective Reps.
    And for those outside of Roscommon who are “Fed Up ” of hearing Luke Flanagan on Bogs & Hospital, Tuf! ! As these were the issues he met on the “door Step ” of his canvass and he is endeavoring to work towards a “People Resolution ” not and EU dictatorship.
    And yes ! I am sure that the Females within that room, have similar little chuckles from time to time on the boys,,,, we… / (well i hope they) are human after all)
    All this has done is given more press to the boys and by the way I never knew who Mary Mitchell O Connor was or indeed that she was in the Dail – hence Good work Mary…. worked yourself a bit of P.R
    Good luck to the Irish People and Representatives- Get on with you “People Representation duties” and stop throwing your toys outa the pram!!

• who’s Kermit then?

• He should be dress appropriately. Dail Eireann is not a building site. Its a house of the Oireachtas. If we cant take the people here seriously, then we need not wonder why the country is in a mess.

The difference between making it known one is unhappy with the casual attire of certain TD’s is very different to resorting to name calling.

Miss Piggy was a personal attack on the deputy.

• If toy can’t see past the clothes then you have the problem…..

• You are dead right. O’Flanagan and Wallace both look like gurriers. All politicians should dress appropriately. How in the hell will the public ever respect them? Appearances are important and always make a first impression. Irish politicians are an embarrassment when they stand next to their European counterparts. Always in their anoraks etc.
      Everyone seems to agree the country is in the shi**er, well is it any wonder with knackers like these two? They may as well be in shiny tracksuits.
      The reins of the country should be handed over to some other country for a while because the Irish can’t govern themselves….it’s like a circus the way things are.

• Its not about what Ming said, he was agreeing with Micko by laughing at what he said. Guilty by association. If you allow people to make derogatory comments without being challenged it becomes acceptable and a cultural norm, this is not the norm of behavior that we need in Ireland at a time when elected members should be working together to get the country out of its current mess.
    As for MMO’C approaching Ming about his dress, at least she didn’t do it behind his back.

• What he wears is not her problem, he was elected by the voters, warts and all, he made it clear he was not wearing a suit. She has absolutely zero rights to comment on his clothes, it was none of her business, that is between him and the electorate. He is not accountable to her. If politicians like Mary Mitchell, and Séan Barrett had were more conscious of that, then we would be in a lot better situation. Will we see herself or Barrett going in to the Dáil bar during working hours and rounding on Govt. TD’s that are drinking tax subsidized pints, where Govt. TD’s voting while drunk is not considered rare. No better that Ming changes his friggin shirts than look at that or TD’s robbing expenses. There has been no shortage of FG and FF TD’s that have been crooked and a disgrace to the house, Irish freedom and our country, there are still many that are, they will never have to worry, they know that they will be protected.

• Muppet!

• Ming didn’t get his name by accident, you let these scobies in you have to Listen this sort of stuff, cmon Mick and Ming let’s hear something intelligent as in what to do to get us out of the mess were in, the turf thing is all well and good but we don’t all live in Roscommon.

• Lesser known fact: we don’t all live in Dublin either.

I think that showing a willingness to fight for the preservation of our health services would is a good a place to start. For fear of sounding like his biggest fan (I really amn’t), I think our democracy would be in a much better state if each constituency had a Ming or two keeping the pressure on:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0706/roscommon.html

Seem to recall there being a fair selection of scobies in the 30th Dáil and all, even if we don’t talk about Mr. Gogarty.

I’m sure those microphones pick up a lot of interesting conversations, week in week out, I just wonder how it happened that this was the one that got leaked?

• TP 13/07/11 #

Flanagan is the ultimate empty vessel…

Add New Comment