TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Minister: ‘Difficult and undesirable situation’ if Ireland votes no

Minister for European Affairs Lucinda Creighton said that she didn’t want to speculate on what would happen if Ireland voted against the fiscal compact treaty.

Minister for European Affairs Lucinda Creighton
Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTER FOR European Affairs has said it would be a “very difficult and undesirable situation” if Ireland becomes the only country not to ratify the fiscal compact treaty.

Speaking this morning, Lucinda Creighton she didn’t want to speculate on what would happen if Ireland voted no in the upcoming referendum.

At least 12 countries within the eurozone need to ratify the treaty for it to come into force but the Minister said that she believes that all 16 other members will ratify it. Creighton said it was a not just a treaty for Ireland but a treaty for all of the eurozone.

“I think it would be a very difficult and undesirable situation for Ireland to be the only member not to ratify it,” she said on RTE Radio One’s Morning Ireland.

I think that the bottom line is that this is a treaty which is designed to bring into place rules that are necessary to bolster our currency and by extension our economy, to stabilise the situation, to make Ireland and the European Union a more attractive place for investment.

Creighton stressed that it was “very  much in Ireland’s interest” to ratify the treaty.

If we choose to tell the rest of the world that we’re not prepared to take steps that are necessary to stabilise our currency, [or] to show that we are committed to the future of the euro as our currency,  it would send a very negative signal to investors and to people who we need in this country to create jobs.

The Minister said that the treaty needs to be explained properly on both sides  in order to enable people to make informed decisions, which had not happened in previous referendums, she said.

“It’s very important that all of us, whatever side of the argument you’re on, that we actually provide adequate information to Irish people all over the country so that they can make an informed decision. That didn’t happen in previous referendums and I’m very determined to make sure that it does happen on this occasion”.

The Fiscal Compact Referendum: What are we voting on and why? >

Opposition parties welcome announcement of referendum >

Shatter refused to rule out second Fiscal Treaty referendum if voters say ‘no’ >

Read next:

Comments (157 Comments)

• Ciaro 29/02/12 #

The scaremongering begins. Lucinda was on RTE radio this morning talking absolute horse shite, saying nothing of substance with the exception of telling us that were all fucked if we reject this.

Well Lucinda, open your eyes. Nothing has improved since 2008, not a thing.

She was also waffling on about the recent job announcements which, while welcome, only amount to a handful of jobs a week.

I have decided that I will make an informed decision on this, however as Lucinda the fool is now making threats I reckon I’ll vote no.

• I’m a bit concerned that our Minister for European Affairs won’t speculate on the consequences of a ‘no’ vote – I think she should be speculating very hard. To judge by internet posters, this referendum is a welcome excuse to give the incumbents a kick and escape the debtors’ prison while doing it.

Maybe Lucinda should be clearly explaining why that is not what’s going to happen.

• Ciaro 29/02/12 #

Also, the current crisis didn’t come about because countries borrowed too much, the cause was that banks borrowed too much.

Where’s the legislation to prevent this happening again? this is a sideshow, designed to detract from the fact that the European currency needs to have a Central Bank that treats all the members equally.

• The rather hilarious thing is that the treaty gives us access to funds that the Yes side have said we won’t need and that the No side have said we will definitely need.

• No it doesn’t, unless of course they secretly amended a previous treaty……(as more or less confirmed last night on VB.)

• Eh, yes it does. Future deals that access EFSF funds require ratification of the treaty.

Our current deal is fine, but if we need a second deal from Europe, we will need to ratify the treaty.

• Something brought into play at the behest of our government “negotiators”.?
      It’s already been flagged as legally dubious yet it’s shaping up to be the battle cry for the YES side.

• balls donal, the germans wont let us go broke until we have paid back what they say we owe, no matter about access to this particular fund or not

• Neil 29/02/12 #

Not going well for the No side so far. SF and ULA having to discuss things they don’t like discussing, like the 15bn to be borrowed to pay for PS pay and SW this year, and how they replace that when we say we don’t want to be part of the ESM. Ruth Coppinger was reduced to a dribbling wreck on Vincent Browne last night.

• Revolting, the Germans were the ones who insisted on the ratification for access to the ESM clause in the Treaty.

• yes donal, for a proposed future fund, we already have access for the required amount to get rid of our existing deficit, i still maintain that no amount of money is worth abandoning accountability

• Yes Neil, it’s going rather splendid for the yes camp too, what with already sacrificing health in favour of paying an EU imposed debt they want us to ratify something that will increase these cuts and all the time paying back a foreign debt which does not belong to us, – instigated by the same people who drafted this treaty.
      As for the Labour rep last night on VB – no answers just the usual party responses, a fool.

• Revolting, we have a deal that manages our deficit until 2014. We will still have a deficit after that.

If the market will lend to us to fund this deficit, it will be at quite a high rate. The rate will be even higher if the market knows that we do not have access to the ESM.

If the market will not lend to us, we default and we have austerity on steroids.

These are basic facts.

• Neil 29/02/12 #

Dermot, here’s the exchequer accounts http://finance.gov.ie/documents/exchequerstatements/2011/enddecexcheqstat.pdf
      You’ll notice that the taxes the government takes in do not even cover PS pay and SW etc, they’re more than 10bn short. You can explain to us all where the money is coming from to fund that gap, and indeed increase that gap as you want to increase spending.

These are things the Shinners don’t like discussing. You start having to talk about going back to the bond markets, markets which can make you jump by charging whatever interest rate they fancy on a whim, markets which don’t take kindly to countries who show no inclination to balance their budget in the future and pay them back.

• @donal i would cut public spending and raise taxes and get rid of the deficit in one go, this is happening anyway but its costing us a great deal more in the long term, do you realise we cut €10 billion from public spending in the last 2 budgets, yet our deficit only reduced €2 billion? and this was not including the introduced taxes and charges, no one wants a hard time but some things just arent worth the money, they are using the croke park agreement as a weapon to protect their own pensions, while fleecing everyone else, its time to put a stop to this

• But Donal.Fg assured us that everything was hunky dory, we’re on track, no 2nd bailout needed, we’ve turned the corner, we have growth, the economy is growing, we’re doing brilliant, the EU loves us, the IMF loves us, we’re the poster boys for austerity, we’ll be back with fiscal sovereignty by 2015 yet still manage to throw in the “this treaty will ensure we have access to funding”…….are they lying about the economy or just dressing it up to suit us?

• Neil – time to look at the bigger picture.
      Why are we still in recession?
      Why are we running a deficit?
      Why are we paying back a debt that does not belong to us?
      Why are we involved with the troika?

Would this country be better off if we didn’t have that noose around our necks?
      Most probably yes.
      This treaty will not loosen the burden for this state nor loosen the burden on every man woman and child who lives here.
      Granted – a yes vote would be more forthcoming if we received something in return but are we?
      Not according to Mrs Creighton.

““Creighton added that Ireland will not seek concessions from Europe to ease its debt burden to make the referendum more palatable for voters.”

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2012/02/28/uk-europe-ireland-referendum-idUKTRE81R1W420120228

Dependence on future funding in not a requisite for ratifying this treaty and has been debunked as lies.

• Revolting, your getting rid of the deficit in one go solution equals austerity on steroids. An economist who didn’t live here would probably say this is the best solution but it would be hell on earth for the citizens of Ireland for a good few years.

Dermot, see my opening post. You could also ask all those on the left who have been saying that a second bailout is definite, where they plan to get it.

Also, please explain how you would fund the deficit after 2014. That’s what this is about.

• The left, as you call them are merely suggesting that FG’s assertion that the economy is back on track and no 2nd bailout is needed as wishful thinking, I hope they’re wrong.
      Where it will come from? – it’ll come from the present day source, this idea that we’ll be shut out from the troika for saying no is preposterous, does anyone think the EU will sit idly by as one of it’s members who they have enshrined as the good guys of austerity starts to flounder again, do you think they will cut us loose and watch the whole project unravel?
      As i said – the whole notion of ratification needed to access funds was an improper request put in by FG to dissuade any potential no vote.
      That’s my opinion and unless someone from the troika and ECB comes out publicly and tells us straight out that a no vote will mean we will be thrown to the wolves i won’t change that opinion.
      If of course they do come out and confirm such then serious questions have to be put to the whole structure of the EU and why using threats to sway a nations vote is considered apt.

• Dermot, it was the Germans who insisted on the ‘ratification for access to the ESM’ clause. The Germans.

The fact that you are making up stuff like the below indicates exactly where you are coming from – lala land.

“the whole notion of ratification needed to access funds was an improper request put in by FG to dissuade any potential no vote”

• @donal i take your point about austerity on steroids, it would indeed be extremely tough, but as i said in the last post, i see this as happening anyway, why will it be easier in 3 years when another €10 billion has been cut from public spending?, this is just a slow death, we are being bled dry, i completely believe the outcome will be the same, we can do it now or in 3-4 years time, the troika expects deficit to reduce to a % of a continually shrinking economy (besides from exports), it seems at the cost of €5billion to reduce the deficit by €1billion we will definitely be in major pain by the time that target is met, just do it now, less debt in the long run

• You must be president of lala land to think we’d be cast aside because we don’t do what the Germans tell us to do – see even in that sentence I exposed this treaty for what it is – a German directive telling us not to break the rules that they and France continually broke.
      I understand that you have to tow the party line Donal, but petty name calling and churlish attitude rarely a good debate makes.
      Why are you so eager to have us committed to austerity Donal?

• “If a country emerges from a programme – any country – the situation is that if they require any further funding, it would still be made available provided they met the conditions.”
      Mr Enda Kenny. 5/2/2012.

http://www.thejournal.ie/taoiseach-bailout-funds-are-not-dependent-on-fiscal-compact-346718-Feb2012/

• Dermot, you do know that you just contradicted yourself? I expect not…

• Neil 29/02/12 #

Dermot, if your argument is against balanced budgets then is it your hope that Ireland is always dependent on borrowing from others? That it can never stand on its own two feet?

If your argument is against budget rules going into the constitution then do you disagree with SFs demand that this went to a referendum which could put such rules into the constitution?

• Oh Donal, I do love your witty responses, engage me more, humour me.

Why would I be against balanced budgets Neil?
      No country in this day and age will ever be self sufficient, it’s a dream of many but the reality is countries will always have to borrow, borrowing more than you can expect to pay back is something basic financial prudence should prevent you from doing, don’t we have politicians elected to oversee such stuff….oh yeah, we’re been punished becasue we can’t breed a decent class of politician with basic economic knowledge.
      And why is no-one mentioning the real fact that through this treaty we may never enter the markets again as a sovereign country, we will become more subservient to the ECB who will dictate and control our borrowing and spending….or does that matter?

• Dermot, you’re claiming that “the whole notion of ratification needed to access funds was an improper request put in by FG to dissuade any potential no vote” and quoting Enda Kenny saying the opposite.

• Oh Christ.
      Do you need clarification on everything you read Donal, pardon me for not indulging you with a full break down, my fault, no need to stoop any lower.
      It was suggested that FG asked for the nonsensical line regarding a dropkick out of future funding if we don’t adopt this treaty, Mr Kenny had to go public to deny it yet now the party line is that yes, we will be refused further funding in we don’t ratify the treaty.
      Now if that’s not a flip flop I don’t know what is – maybe you’d like to contradict your Taoiseach, will we be kicked from funding if we don’t ratify?

• Awk poor Lucinda shitting herself already….

• How in gods name did she get elected? The only thing she’s worried about is losing her job! Hearing her on the radio this morning, trying to frighten the public was embarrassing! Does she think we can’t think for ourselves?

• I am sick of these peoples lies and I am sick of the idiots in Ireland who believe her and her political friends. I am very close to leaving this country with my family. How can a country have a future if the people are not even educated and bright enough to see through blatant political lies. I have just seen the Poll here regarding the referendum, I am shocked and embarrassed to be Irish, again!!!

• …and thus the scaremongering and the soon to be sabre rattling commences. They still don’t get it..do they? They’ve been lying to us about Europe since Maastricht (forgive the spelling) and we have been buyiing their lies…up to now. We’re a desperate nation who are watching every move and now we have a say in where this might go…stop patronising us and stand up for us. This is an absolutely golden opportunity to get the Anglo promisary notes re negotiated…use it and take the first steps to get us away from living in an economy to living in a society.

• @ Irish Mammy, you see Fine Gaels policy is working Recovery by Emigation! Get enough people to leave and that will take the pressure off.

• so whats she’s saying if I can translate is ” Look everyone else is putting there hands in the fire ,you’ll look completely stupid if you’re the only one without a burnt hand ” .Does she think were all five year olds?

• The kop 29/02/12 #

Das ist mir furzegal (i don’t give a fxxk) what lucinda says…….
    and it’s about time Enda grew a pair and do what he was elected to do….. stand up for the Irish people in Europe… as for Gilmore!….well even though we heard Frankfurts way or Labours…. we know that means jack shxt…. i would call on the government to remove that eu flag from flying next to our Flag until the franco/germans stop robbing us….. it even galls me that Enda is still going to sign up to this treaty on friday….. Before the people have had their say….. what a lack or respect that is for your own people!…..
    can somebody explain that to me? why is he still signing the treaty?

• random 29/02/12 #

She says she doesn’t want to speculate, then proceeds to speculate that a no vote will reduce investment and cost jobs. She says she wants to ensure the public are well informed, but does not back up her points with references to the treaty. I hope this isn’t the standard of discourse we can expect to see on this issue, but I am not optimistic.

• yes random, surely if she knew this to be true she could get these mythical investors to tell us in no uncertain terms, they will invest with a yes vote, until i see this proof i will regard this as the usual tripe

• Nothing will happen Lucinda if we vote no. Things will carry on as they are currently. Voting no does not mean we have to exit the €.

• Any rational person knows that this is not a vote on continuing with the euro currency, it’s not a vote on EU membership and it’s not something which will mean a drain on jobs if we vote no.
      The sooner people cop that on the sooner FG can get to offering equally laughable threats to force a yes vote, maybe – a no vote will mean we can’t compete in Euro 2012,

• Neil 29/02/12 #

It’ll mean we have to have a balanced budget by 2014 = austerity on steroids.

• Whatever way you decide to vote, please make an informed decision.

• Martin says we need money to pay teachers etc. What he means we need money to pay him a massive salary and leaders allowance. Pay Micheal Noonan 80 k pension on top of 180k wage. Pay 180K to advisers pay double salaries to our 3rd level staff as that of euro equals. Pay judges and barristers massive salaries.
    No money for government might not be a bad idea.

• LEO, LUCINDA AND BRIAN HAYES will be in flying form now with the scare tactics blabbering on the usual ole scare rhetoric about atm’s and public servants pay, aka, them! These eejits really never learn that coming out with scare tactics is not going to work. Explaining things to the Irish people properly and having a bit of respect for them would serve your case much better! But then again half wit politicians with massive notions of themselves would not heed advice from a pleb civi such as me!

• So they are saying a no vote means Germans will not lend us money we need to repay them. What a joke. I have a funny feeling the Germans will find a way to give us the funds. They will not be burnt.

• If the people vote no in the referendum treaty that should let Europe know what the Irish are saying.Getting sweeteners for a yes vote is not the way to go Europe has to respect the decision of the people of Ireland whatever the outcome of the vote.. They should not as k us to vote again on the same referendum again.

• Typical of politicians telling us we need something and providing no plausible argument as to what will happen if we say no.

The only people who need this arrangement is those who do wrong in the first place and these very same people cannot see the harm that they have done.

Bottom line is these fools worship money and will do anything for a dollar.

• i call on lucinda creighton to to identify these ‘investors’ so we can ask them will they not invest if we vote no

• Just goes to show, just because we can vote, does not mean we live in a democracy.
    And now our elected representatives want to give away even more of our sovereignty!

• The fiscal treaty does not involve a diminution of sovereignty.

• no dermot, but it does involve a diminution of responsibility under ALL laws
      3. The ESM, its property, funding and assets, wherever located and by whomsoever held, shall enjoy immunity from every form of judicial process except to the extent that the ESM expressly waives its immunity for the purpose of any proceedings or by the terms of any contract, including the documentation of the funding instruments.- from article 3
      there is no way i am voting to give free reign to ANY body, financial, political or otherwise

• @Peasant .. the arrangements re. legal inviolability for the ESM mirror those for the IMF. In any event, my comment stands that the treaty has does not involve a diminution of Irish sovereignty beyond that already provided by EU treaties or laws.

• indeed it does desmond, your comment was in response to a previous point, would you like to make it a few more times? so why are you comparing the esm and the imf? we are not being asked if we want to vote in a legal carte blanche for the imf, relevance please

• Des, just the same way that Lisbon was meant to protect our corporation tax.
      French and Germans trying every day to get rid of it….
      Who’ll win out there? Merkosy or Kenny.

• @Peasant … the IMF is highly relevant as the ESM is being reconstructed as a European version of it, including with respect to legal iimmunity. Hence my comment. Ireland is already a member of the IMF and as such has already ceded such immunity to an analogous international body. That makes the conneciton between the ESM and IMF pretty relevant.

• @Gerard .. Lisbon had no effect on Ireland’s corpo tax rate. Recent Franco-German efforts to co-ordinate Corpo Taxes across the EU have focussed on the calculation of the tax base only. No attempt has been made to co-ordinate corpo tax rates nor to require Ireland to alter our own rate.

• no desmond it doesn’t as we didnt get a vote on imf membership, we have a decision to make now, if i had a vote on imf membership and it had these clauses in it, i would vote against that too, i will not vote to give any body free reign from any laws, despite the fact we might already be involved with a similar body

• @Desmond It involves handing substantial powers to the ESM who, through Article 32 of the treaty, will put themselves, their staff, their records and their assets beyond any sort of legal accountability. And that’s no loss of sovereignty? Pull the other one.

• We must vote No .
      Ireland will be nothing if this referendum is passed .
      We need to protect what is left of our sovreignty
      and we must not allow any more interference in
      the running of our country.Yes I said COUNTRY
      not economy. I am Irish and I am proud.

• Lucinda, you have me heart bleeding trying so hard to back all these good solid old-fashion values such as “bluesirtism” and new liberal capitalist. Unfortunally for you,Comrade Minister of in-justice Alan said it all YESterday!

• jimbo 29/02/12 #

Scare tactics will not work shut up…

• Lamb 29/02/12 #

She better speculate pretty quickly because the perception of the public is that this is a bad thing if two other members of the EU thought it wasn’t right for them. Thw public aren’t stupid, there are more of them than individuals in the government so the public are collectively more intelligent. The government need to spell out pros and cons rather than keep it topline because (in words to thw effect the previous government used) “the general public won’t understand the language of the agreement we’ll entering into or it’s implications so they should just vote ‘yes’”.

• “If we choose to tell the rest of the world that we’re not prepared to take steps that are necessary to stabilise our currency, [or] to show that we are committed to the future of the euro as our currency, it would send a very negative signal to investors and to people who we need in this country to create jobs.”

Pure and utter tripe from a person who’s party constantly informs us that we’re the good guys of Europe, we’re the poster boys for austerity..etc etc.
    Lets face it, we are paying a massive debt lumbered on us by the EU solely to protect banks and as long as that noose is around our necks the markets will view us a country mired in unsustainable debt, committing to more austerity when the present austere arrangements are having a detrimental effect will hardly change their minds

• I thought it might take a few days for the scaremongering to begin, I was wrong. A vote no will mean the sky will fall down. Stick it up your proverbial.

• Here’s a thought for you….

If our boys use this wonderful opportunity to frighten the bejasus out of the troika and get some real concessions (write off the 30bn promissory notes)……..then I will see them as competent negotiations who are putting the people who elected them first. If however, they’re using this time to brow beat us into acceptance. For me it’s a straight red card

• I don’t think our shower of servile representatives would even entertain the thought of seeking help from the very people who are imposing this debt upon us and i don’t think the troika will offer us any sweeteners, they know we are fully committed to paying of these debts.

• For the record Paul.

“Creighton added that Ireland will not seek concessions from Europe to ease its debt burden to make the referendum more palatable for voters.”

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2012/02/28/uk-europe-ireland-referendum-idUKTRE81R1W420120228

• Then she has declared herself to be an incompetent buffoon and I will be fighting for a ‘no’ vote. Not to leave the Euro (although that might be the right reason), but a no vote will trigger an election and we can jettison the incompetents

• @Paul i can see no bargaining position from a treaty that doesnt require us to vote yes in order to be ratified. i doubt we would get to vote on something that would put us in a position of strength

• @Revolting Peasant – you are right, they don’t need our vote to ratify but I bet they would be willing to make substantive concession for us not to leave the EURO. They don’t need us for the Euro, but we have two factors in our favor.

1) The ego of the high kings of europe would be offended by the idea of losing a member. This gives us leverage.
      2) If we did leave, all monies owed to European banks would be immediately converted into Pun Nua’s and they would take a savage haircut

The cost of keeping us in the tent is a lot less. Time for our heretofore shrinking violets to go get a substantive chunk of that 85Bn structural funds.

It is for all of us to now let Europe know that we saved their banks when the whole Euro project was at it most vulnerable and it’s now pay back time – or else….

• absolutely Paul, i am certain that under current conditions, were we to be voting on our continued membership of the euro, that we would have great bargaining power, but we are not voting on that, i took 4 main points from reading this proposal
      1. this is a vote on whether we want access to a particular fund in case we ever need a bailout in the future
      2. it has no influence on our current bailout, we will continue to have access to those funds
      3. they want to set up a controlling body that is above ALL laws
      4. i will be voting no

• @Peasant – you’re more clued in that I am. What do you see happening if the vote is ‘no’?

• nothing at all at the start anyway, maybe some disapproval from the ecb and germany, but until we repay the bondholders, the germans arent prepared to further jeopardise our ability to repay them, the very worst thing i foresee is maybe a small rise in interest rates, but i think that also unlikely, just because we vote against access to this particular fund does not mean we cant borrow from the ecb, the yes campaign will try and say this is so, but until i hear a spokesperson from the ecb confirm this, i will consider it the usual bullshit

• The kop 29/02/12 #

revolting could you answer the question i posed in earlier comment….from reading your comments as Paul as stated you seem to be very tuned it to this whole thing…..i just want to know that since we are going to be having a referendum on the fiscal treaty…meaning the Irish people get to say if we agree or not with it….WHY is Enda Kenny signing up to same treaty on friday? or have i got that wrong? how can he sign it without the agreement of this Country…..

• I think he signed up to it on principle, but i’d say he signed up to it full, this referendum is a side show and he will always do the bidding of his EPP buddies – the ones he will bend over backwards to please.
      There’s always the chance that our no vote may be superseded by a -’tough shit Ireland, Kenny already signed it.”

I’m not 100% serious of course but i never have and never will trust FG to put Ireland first regarding Europe.

• @Kop, the signing is because they agree with the content, e.g. it had to be changed for the fg/lab to try and avoid a referendum, its just an agreement that its wording is ready for the countries to attempt to ratify

• The kop 29/02/12 #

thanks Dermot&Revolting…..
      i will be voting…… Ní hea…… NO…NON…NEIN AND another European language that Enda would like me to vote in……

• Pat OH 29/02/12 #

Fear Tactics

1. On primetime last night M Martin says we are borrowing 350m a week to pay for public service, social welfare etc. and that to be able to borrow in the future and function as a state we will need to show that we are good little boys and will pay back this debt (leaving aside the fact that it is unjust debt). So basically the threat is: vote no and there’s no more social welfare or public sector pay and we descend into mindless anarchy

The reality – Ireland cannot be held to ransom by Europe because it is vital to the european economy that Ireland does not go bust so we will still have access to loans. A yes or no vote will still leave Ireland in austerity for many years but at least with a no vote we will not be subject to ‘severe fines’ for not having the severity of austerity measures that Merkel wants.

On the subject of severe fines for not meeting budgetary targets, surely these fines will make more difficult to reach future budgetary targets? wheres the logic?

• Lucinda go away. You are no longer relevant. However I am as a voter now more relevant so you will just have to wait & see what lm going to do like I have had to wait 4.years to see what the political elite were going to do. However the end result will be different. Unlike the politicians the people of this country are about to do something. Vote no save Europe.

• Is the Tobin tax included in this fiscal compact in any way? Dublin can’t lose competitiveness to London with taxes on financial services

• The fiscal treaty makes no mention of a Financial Transaction Tax, aka Tobin Tax.

• It is to placate bond holders and markets. Why should we prop up a corrupt fraudulent system that is been pushed along by austerity measures which are punishing the people that didn’t cause this crisis. Why has this crisis not been investigated fully? Who caused this crisis? Will fiscal compact solve the crisis?

• @ Desmond: That’s good. Might vote Yes so.
      @1 Human Being: How is it to placate bondholders? That’s completely untrue. In fact, if this fiscal treaty was in place constitutionally before the crisis, Ireland would never have been legally capable of taking on the massive bondholder debt.
      In fact, doesn’t the fiscal compact pretty much guarantee that Ireland could never again take on private banking debt for fear of having too large a deficit.

• Neil who are the bond holders and why should we not burn them. The idea of the fiscal compact is to reassure markets that Europe is a stable place thus when a country goes to look to selling bonds be it 1, 3, 5 or 10 year or even 30 to 50 year bonds that particular country bonds will yield a return for the buyer of the bonds of less than in ideal German case minus percentage at the moment Ireland will have to pay about 5 to 6 percent. That is the case for government bonds in the case for bank bonds such as Anglo or ibrc these are unsecured bonds that have been bought by speculators and are not sovereign debt but because of banking guarantee or so we are told have to be repayed. The fiscal compact may mean tighter control of the purse strings but that will still not solve the debt issue which is be exacerbated by overissuence of bonds. The problem has been delayed by the fiscal compact this treaty will not solve anything it will basically push other country’s in to a unstable zone of no growth as other larger country’s can redistribute assets belonging to other smaller country’s to re balance the books. As we are seeing the start of with the recent government announcement of selling of state assets.

• Aw poor Lucinda crying already

• Bullying tactics and scare mongering by every minister is obviously the way the government intend to go, and throw in FF into the mix, after all they created the mess…. NO.. NO.. NO.. NO..

• BO HOO THE ANSWER IS STILL NO!!!!
    So keep the bullying and threats and shove them where the sun don’t shine.

• If you’re planning on voting no – please record your reasons here -> https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.369022693122343.91757.369022319789047&type=1

I’m trying to establish a community to resist the onslaught of fear uncertainty and doubt that we’re going to be confronted with from Lucinda, Eamon, Enda and gang

No offensive/personal comments please.

• Ciaro 29/02/12 #

To be specific: Minister of State with special responsibility for European Affairs (Departments of the Taoiseach and Foreign Affairs and Trade).

So what exactly is her job?

• Here’s the wonderful treaty in a nutshell. Ask your TD to explain this. Share it around please

http://youtu.be/EPcWHBPYOSU

People start reading up before falling for the imminent bribery.

• Everyone is asking for proper information to be released and to stop the scaremongering but the comments on here are ridiculous! Scaremongering at its very best!

“Roll out Lucinda… That’s a great way of getting the great unwashed to go along with your (troika master’s) plan.”

“So they are saying a no vote means Germans will not lend us money we need to repay them. What a joke.”

“the germans wont let us go broke until we have paid back what they say we owe, no matter about access to this particular fund or not”

For my mind anyway I don’t think I need to receive information about the treaty. The self-proclaimed “great unwashed” on here are very “reliably” informative. Perhaps we should give them a chance to explain why a YES vote is important instant of hopping on the bandwagon of hypocrisy? Also, no need for personal jibes I don’t think.

• Ciaro 29/02/12 #

I agree totally, look at these scaremongering comments:

it would be a “very difficult and undesirable situation” if Ireland becomes the only country not to ratify the fiscal compact treaty.

“I think it would be a very difficult and undesirable situation for Ireland to be the only member not to ratify it,”

it was “very much in Ireland’s interest” to ratify the treaty.

it would send a very negative signal to investors and to people who we need in this country to create jobs.

• Ciaro 29/02/12 #

She is a junior minister, NOT a Minister.

• Roll out Lucinda “Loose Lips” Cretin the day after the referendum is announced. That’s a great way of getting the great unwashed to go along with your (troika master’s) plan.

• If the people vote no in the referendum treaty that should let Europe know what the Irish are saying.Getting sweeteners for a yes vote is not the way to go Europe has to respect the decision of the people of Ireland whatever the outcome of the vote.. They should not ask us to vote again on the same referendum again.

• If we vote no, how many more times will we have to vote again until we vote yes.

• skeolawn 29/02/12 #

“I think it would be a very difficult and undesirable situation for Ireland to be the only member not to ratify it,”

Why does Lucinda think we’d be the only ones not to ratify?

• it makes me laugh that they have already refused to rule out a second referendum

• I think Lucinda is fit.

• It needs to be a vote on whether Ireland stays in the euro or not. No point voting no and staying. We are either in or out. Good that we are getting the chance to have a say.

• Whatever way we vote on the Fiscal Treatry will have no material impact on our membership of the Eurozone.

• Actually asked that on another thread. Thanks. So how will it affect use if we vote no? The basis of the yes campaign seems to be about market perception of ireland and investment. Not very much going for it.

• Hi Niamh, you’re welcome. As to the impact of a no vote. Firstly, the one thing we do know is that we would not then have access to the new European Stability Mechanism (ESM), i.e. the EU’s barrel of cash, in the event of Ireland needing a further bailout. According to the treaty such access is only available to countries that have ratified the treaty. If Ireland did need further emergency funding, a possibility if the eurozone pitches further into recession, we would likely have to negotiate seperate funding arrangements with our European partners. The likelihood would be that this special funding would be at higher interest rates and more onerous terms than available under the ESM.
      Secondly, there is the issue of market sentiment. This is the imponderable and relies greatly on predicting the thinking of the “confidence fairy”. If the markets are spooked by Ireland failing to ratify this treaty it would result in the cost of Irish bonds rising (or not falling back to the rates at which the State can fund itself, which is the current ambition of the Irish government). The markets, however, may ignore an Irish no and focus instead on other variables. That’s really the bit that has people worried.

• Wow we have five Sinn Fein members ranting on just this piece alone. Must have plenty of time on their hand now that the ink has gone dry!

• I never cease to be amused by people who scaremonger here on a daily basis crying that the government are scaremongering.

• An example of scaremongering would be for example to claim that not voting for this treaty would mean that we leave the euro. Of course that’s not the case as no member can be kicked out of the euro.

What Lucinda says here isn’t scaremongering. She’s said she won’t speculate on exactly what will happen only that she believes it will be difficult and undesirable. That’s only her opinion.

She makes a very good point that unlike Lisbon and Nice, if we don’t pass this treaty then it goes ahead without us. It’s something worth remembering as we debate the issues. We can’t go back and get assurances like Lisbon.

• I am voting no but making personal remarks about the minister is below the belt

• Iam voting NO but please keep the personal remarks out of the debate

• Let’s play opposites if they push for a No vote we’d vote yes, we’ll do anything the government don’t want

• If a Minister is not a minister when is a minister a minister please consult the ciaro book of the english language

• EM 29/02/12 #

Well Lucinda, you and your ilk have left this country in a “very difficult and undesirable situation”. What are you going to do about it?

• Its need to be a vote on whether we stay in the euro or not. No point voting no and staying. Great though we get a chance to have a say be it a yes or no vote.

• If a person is a junior minister or a senior minister they are still a minister thats a no brainer

Add New Comment