TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Decision on children’s hospital due ‘in two or three weeks’ – Kenny

Enda Kenny says he hasn’t yet met with James Reilly and Eamon Gilmore about the site, but will do so soon.

A FINAL DECISION on the site of the new National Children’s Hospital will be made “in the next two to three weeks”, Taoiseach Enda Kenny has said.

Kenny said the Minister for Health, Dr James Reilly, was “in a position now” to present the independent report on possible sites to the Cabinet, he said – but the report had to first be discussed privately with the Taoiseach and the Tánaiste, Eamon Gilmore.

“The government will, in its decision, make the best attempt that it can of doing absolutely the right thing,” Kenny told Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin in the Dáil.

The Taoiseach added that government had “not commissioned another independent report in this matter,” following reports in the Irish Independent this morning that Gilmore was in the process of doing his own research into possible venues.

Kenny later asserted in the Dáil that the independent Dolphin Report into hospital venues “will be available once the government has made its decision”.

“The process here is now is very clear: this is a government project, this is a government decision,” he said.

“When the minister brings his recommendations to government, the government will make its decision in the best interests of all the people of the country.”

Martin said the news that the Tánaiste was undertaking his own investigations “serves to isolate even further, and undermines the role and position, of Minister Reilly within the Cabinet”.

“The Tánaiste, his advisers and officials seem to be saying they do not trust Minister Reilly to take the correct decision here.”

June 8: Health Minister receives report on location for Children’s Hospital

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• How in Gods name can any decision of such magnitude be made by reilly at this stage without being permanently tainted by his calamitous performance as minister for health. Will we have an explanation about the criteria for choosing primary care centres before he refuses to tell us the ‘criteria’ for choosing the new childrens hospital site??

• Sure, the good doctor reilly has qualifications for choosing sites. Never mind the Dolphin report!

• Somewhere on the M50 why the centre of town they need it somewhere that everyone can get to

• 2 or 3 weeks!!! But they already know the day that the budget will be announced as Dec 5th but won’t give an exact day for this announcement! Sigh!

• And it’ll be the wrong location….overpriced, ill equipped and waiting times scandalous.

• They are dragging this desision on and on. Useless shower.

• It smells of brown envelopes .

• MrKnow 23/10/12 #

have to agree with you, this hospital is going to be a disaster regarding to building time and cost, it will cost nearly twice as the estimate the government give and take a lot more time to build. Disagree with me if you want but the government has a list as long as o connell street when it comes to building these projects with over costing etc.

• mick k 23/10/12 #

A “national” children’s’ hospital is going to be in Dublin, and I’ve no problem with that as long as it is not in the city centre where the access is poor. The vast majority of people will go to the hospital by car, not public transport. And wherever it is there will be a bus route to it if necessary. Also children arriving in ambulances from the “sticks” (as some caring people like to call the rest of Ireland) shouldn’t have to battle through the city traffic. Somewhere off the M50 should be the most accessible for the country as an whole.

• Paul 23/10/12 #

Ah seriously are you offended that easily? Adjacent to the ring road is the sticks. James’s has space, trains, trams, park and ride taking you from car park to hospital in about ten minutes, and while parking in the hospital isn’t going to be ideal, if you absolutely must take your car right to the hospital door, it’s not significantly harder to get to from the West or South of Ireland than some field off the motorway (which would not be co-located with an adult university hospital and therefore not offer the best possible outcomes). The Coombe ditto.

• why dont they centralise it to somewhere in the midlands where site would b cheaper and not such a long trek for parents of sick children from all parts of the country

• I would love to see q central children’s hospital somewhere like limerick/ athlone/ Tipperary where everyone has access not just Dubliners. every 3 months I take the train to houston then the luas to city center and the 122 to crumlin. it would be much handier to have the hospital in a central location less traffic too.

• Because there’s no public transport from the likes of Kerry/Donegal to Athlone. If there were a city in the midlands your point would make sense. But easy access doesn’t just mean driving distance. Also the children’s hospital needs to be near universities so that paediatric nurses and doctors can be trained. But I suppose this is just the usual Dublin bashing we’re used to seeing on here.

• Although ill accept that Limerick would be ok. But still there’s no denying that the East is more heavily populated. Moving it south would inconvenience more people than keeping it in Dub. Maybe a good alternative would be to have a smaller one in Limerick or Galway.

• i wasnt Dublin bashing at all. was up i temple street last week luckily for us all went ok and dont need to go back.While there i really pitied people who had to come long distances to be with their sick children.infrastucture is a problem with centralising it and uni etc but as said maybe a smaller one in limerick or galway would help.Hopefully they will chose a site outside of city for easier access.

• Has it occurred to anyone that the drs, nurses etc who will work in this hospital currently work in Crumlin & temple st & therefore most of them live in Dublin! These are very specialised healthcare professionals, they can’t just pull drs & nurses in from anywhere!

• Dave! 23/10/12 #

None of the Dublin hospitals have the infrastructure for a new hospital on their grounds. You can’t park in them as it is never mind adding what’s needed to support all the staff and patients. A new undeveloped site west of the m50 that can be fed from the national road network and m50. Maybe along the n7 as its already well equipped with Luas, keep out of the city.

• I heard a rumour that the funding for the hospital will be taken from a fund that was supposed to be ring fenced for the survivors of institutional abuse . Money that the religious congregation gave to the government to keep in trust for the victims. I can’t fully substantiate it , but maybe it is a question worth posing to the relevant minister by a journal reporter.

• The criteria given in the legislation that set up the compensation fund wouldn’t allow for the funds to be used that way. Anyway, the government has already committed to using some of the money from the auction of the National Lottery licence next year to pay for the hospital.

• Are you so sure Gavin ? Is that your assumption ? That’s what one would expect should happen , but since when has legislation prevented the redirection of funds by the government before. There’s no harm asking the pertinent people the relevant question? Even if their not dipping into the fund what exactly are the government doing with it? The fund in question was an additional contribution which should not be confused with the redress board compensation fund.

• Just as a matter of interest,where did the millions that was spent on the Mater site.
    Whoever made that decision needs to get the “grey matter” looked at. I think there may be a wee leak.

• Angelas Poodle Enda and Gimmemore have shown their competence at Following and Getting out of the way..Time to LEAD lads. Good lord, what do we pay these people to do?

• Oh dear ,Which is it ? Two weeks or three weeks. The indecision of this government is laughable !

• Publish the Dolphin Report, which the government themselves asked for in order to provide options, and allow the public to see transparency in this decision. For the record, I support Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown. St. James’s Hospital has serious planning concerns.

• David 23/10/12 #

Operator: “Hello, Angela, will you accept a reverse charge call from Ireland?” (In German, obviously)

• They are determined to drag this desision on and on. Useless shower.

• Just heard on newstalk that Enda and Gilmore have a detailed report on the best location of the children’s hospital since the start of the summer.
    In my opinion this is proof that the government is playing politics with the decision. Why Are they afraid to make a decision? is it just delaying tactics?

• Sure why not put it in Castlebar cos Enda would love it there
    But Seriously the M50 would be the best if it has to be in Dublin

• Swords or Balbriggan. I think that’s the sticking point.

• 500MILLION euros the country has not got ; 2 years minimum to completion ,so add 2 yrs interim funding for
    existing hospitals
    Empty Elmpark office park with an underground the size of Croke Park, rests quietly in a #Nama a/c beside the sea, the Dart , St.Vincent’s ,Blackrock Clinic
    It was built for minimum ongoing utility costs
    Surely an option in ‘straightened times’ as the Taoiseach describes our contrived penury
    Kids heal best beside the sea air ,views,access …
    An interim solution till the world economy turns round ?

• Didn’t Kenny promise us a month ago the decision would be made in 10 days ?
    And why Dublin? What about all the trouble people have from all over the country trying to get there? And surely property would be cheaper outside the city ?

• I responded to this further up the thread, and it’s all common sense.
      Because there’s no city in the midlands. Making Dublin the best location geographically. Only other options could be Galway or Limerick, since they are in lower population areas they’re not good choices as this would inconvenience more people.
      Because all of the current staff in Crumlin live in Dublin.
      Because Dublin’s Universities are currently set up to provide paediatric nurses and doctors.
      Your Dublin bashing is boring.

• 19 September 2012

A Chathaorleach/Ceann Comhairle,

This motion could be described as mere political opportunism because that is what it is.

It’s the empty noise of a party that ran out of ideas and idealism a long time ago.

A party that has damaged each and every family in this country because of the economic collapse they presided over.

A party that sold our nation down the river.

It’s a bit ironic to be charged with poor governance by a party

That left this government with the biggest budget deficit in our history
    That through collective incompetency, lost Ireland its economic sovereignty, damaged our credibility and international reputation
    That gave new meaning to the “brown envelope “and seriously discredited our system of Government
    I’m not going to engage in political rhetoric. I’m going to deal rather in facts and measurable outcomes.

I just want to say at this stage, to paraphrase Bill Clinton….

…..what Fianna fail is giving out about is the speed with which Government is clearing up the mess they, Fianna Fail, created.

Yes Deputy Martin, your mistakes, your mess.

• I’m very lucky in that my children have not had exceptional illnesses that can’t be treated locally so far so good. Which is why I don’t understand the neccessity to have a Children’s Hospital. I’m probably very ignorant all right not knowing why as everyone else seems to think its imperative. I could understand a national Cancer hospital, or Coranary care hospital or Transplant hospital; I understand the neccessity to have all the best professionals working at one centre and the patient willing to travel as they couldn’t get that expertise elsewhere. Then men, women and children of all ages could go to get the best care there. Am I missing something obvious? Do children get illnesses so different that they need to be treated differently?.

Add New Comment