TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

New Croke Park deal close to completion

The Minister for Public Expenditure, Brendan Howlin, arrived at the talks in Lansdowne House in Dublin in the past hour.

File photo of Minister Brendan Howlin.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A DEAL ON the extension to the Croke Park Agreement is close to completion, following overnight talks between trade unions and public service management.

The Minister for Public Expenditure, Brendan Howlin, arrived at the talks in Lansdowne House in Dublin before 7 am this morning.

Bernard Harbour, spokesperson for ICTU Public Service Commitee told TheJournal.ie talks have been ongoing since 10 am yesterday morning and they “continued right through the night”.

Last night four unions walked out of the talks including The Irish Medical Organisation, The Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation, the Civil Public and Services Union and Unite.

Harbour said that “talks went ahead regardless of the unions walking out” and that ”it’s better to be at the talks table than to be outside it”.

At the moment work is being done on the final wording of the deal, which is expected to be announced in the coming hours.

Read: Update: INMO, CPSU, Unite and IMO leave Croke Park extension talks >

Read next:

Comments (109 Comments)

• They can supposedly legislate to cut the wage of the average frontline worker but they can’t legislate to cut bankers pay, even bankers in state owned banks! Wtf!!

• This isn’t a democratic process, it’s a dictatorship. Fine Gael didn’t win the election, Fianna Fáil lost it. All the empty promises and rhetoric now comes to pass as people on fat salaries decided the fate of those on bad ones. This is incredible stuff we are watching unfold in our country. If it happened in the Middle East or former Soviet Union we would criticise. The salaries of these politicians exceeds most of Europe and at one stage our Taoiseach was paying himself more than Obama and Cameron. It all smacks of CJ Haughey’s tighten our belts speech while he wore the finest clothes and dined in the finest restaurants. Most of us now struggle to pay our bills, whether public or private sector and the spin doctors have split the two sectors to divide and conquer. Their spin people are on this very site. Most of these ministers have expenses that exceed the average annual industrial wage. The identities of the bond holders is kept secret, why? This is not a government of the people, by the people, for the people. It’s a group of the wealthy elite who naturally protect their own interests. The ministers take a pension from every office ever held, why? That pension is worth more than double the average wage. If this was an Arab or Muslim country we would call it a disgrace but instead we merely comply. It must be great to have such complicity, no wonder Alan Shatter can make tasteless jokes about closing Garda Stations. I will protest, even if I’m on my own.

• jft96 25/02/13 #

Ill be right beside you protesting, strength in numbers

• Eat it up jack it’s called democracy e.g. majority rules OK

• What majority are you talking about? I don’t remember a democratic vote on pay cuts. I seem to remember it being forced on the people and a flagrant breach of the existing agreement. What good is an agreement that one side only can change to suit?

• @ Jack,

Howlin will throw the union leaders a bone and as usual they’ll fold and then tell you it’s the best deal they could get and talk about the alternative bogeyman ( legislation) and the majority of you will vote for it and ICTU IBEC and the rest of the wonderful social partners will hail it as a tremendous sucess. Industrial Peace in our time and all that Sh1t and life goes on

• @ Jack

QED

• None of those so called ‘unions’ represent me. They are political puppets too, that’s why they remained while all the decent rep bodies refused to enter or walk out. Don’t think for a second that that is that, it’s only the beginning. Keep watching, this government may fall on their sword yet.

• *walked

• @ Jack,

Won’t happen. it’s warmer inside the tent and same as the last time you may be dragged kicking and screaming into it but in it you will be. ICTU have too much to lose. The pariah called social partnership gave them status that they never had before and they will use every piece of influence to maintain it

• Sorry John, but I disagree. Those unions don’t represent me. The 24/7 Alliance haven’t agreed to any of this and revolt is on the way. ICTU have nothing to do with me. The media and spin doctors are calling it agreement, there is no agreement. You can’t have agreement when all concerned are represented. That’s a dictatorship, not democratic. The 24/7 Alliance represent the Prisoner Officers, INMO, IFESA, GRA, AGSI, IPO and none of these bodies were present to agree. That’s an awful lot of Fire Personnel, Gardai, Nurses and Prison Officers that will reject these cuts. It’s easy for Unions representing ‘office hours’ workers to accept a cut in allowances they don’t get anyway.

• when was the vote dick head

• @mary
      Try and keep up

• @jack
      Don’t want to burst your bubble but despite the fiery words from your reps. They”ll sell you out again

• No, unlike the unions our Reps don’t get paid €100k + and any changes to pay effect them the same as the rest. That’s the difference. They aren’t union reps that can be bought off. I don’t know what you mean by ‘again’ since I don’t remember when the last ‘sell out’ was. Do you even know who my rep body is? I guess not.

• It’s a sellout , the unions that are left in are obviously in bed with the government . Union leaders nests are well feathered and they don’t give a fiddlers about there workers. We all know that whatever deal is agreed it is going to suit the 8 to 5s and anyone that works weekends , nights and bank holidays will be screwed.

• Unfortunately the 8-5′s are a majority. Anything that is decided will likely not effect them greatly, overtime, premium payments and longer working weeks being case in point.

• Enda, you managed to get information on the deal before it is announced?
      Well done, the rest of us will wait and see what the deal actually is before commenting on it.

• What a rediculous notion ,talks;but if u don’t agree we’ll legislate .thats dictation at its best.if they want to save a billion , cut the quangos ,advisors advising advisors,created by governments for votes; .one of the first suggestions by “an bord snip” and only one gone so far .;and leave front line staff enough money to get to work .

• The “back door deals” will be rife.
    I wonder how many nests will be feathered in order to get tgis passed.

• All the frontline services should stop work and then see what ‘ agreement’ will be reached !!!! Of course that might mean that our politicians get no security protection but who cares !

• Yeah who cares if patients aren’t seen or our children not taught at school…

• In a situation where large groups of workers are having their heads ducked into a toilet, what would you suggest the other options are David?

And please, give some GENUINE options not the illusion of choice…..

• Workers who still have guaranteed jobs and who have higher pay than their counterparts in the private sector.

Either we find the €1bn ourselves or the troika will make them conditions for our loans.

At least with these talks they’re not aimed at the patient or the pupil. If the agreement is not implemented, the savings will have to be found through ward closures, increases in the pupil teacher ratio and other measures that would hit the real “most vulnerable” in our society.

• What is a “counterpart” in the private sector? I’d love to hear someone define this – I’ve heard many efforts but none that comprehensively acknowledges the differing factors.

I doubt that you would find many in the public sector who would disagree about the higher paid public service jobs which need addressing – but that’s not the question.

Can you be more specific on where we should be looking for the €1bn from because your answer was predictably vague.

• Spoken like a true Young Fine Gael member. Your Twitter account shows your political affiliation along with your quips about homosexuality.

• Young Fine Gael party member, look at his Twitter account

• Son, you are a Trinity College Student so I think it’s a while yet before you even have to concern yourself with paying bills and feeding a family. Come back when you’ve spent some time in the real world with mortgage arrears and unpaid utility bills.

• David you are disillusioned…… What should have happened to this country , in my view is this… IMF come in and cut the head of that monster that is sucking up all the cash in the public arena , the HSE…. this behemoth is now in a state of incontrovertible frenzy…. I was recently told that they have the equivalent of 150 mangers with a generals pay grade , that of 90% of the PAYE monies goes into this monster… Now these figures can be argued as I got them off a guy who is very much like me , ordinary hard worker doing research, but the crux of this is, we are top heavy with management in the public services and it’s needs to be dealt with… Feck sake our country as less of a population than some big cities across the pond and they have nothing of the personnel hired in their public arena.

• Yes David. That 4/5 year waiting list for a child to see an ENT at Waterford regional will simply vanish into thin air now that your associates in government are near a deal on public sector pay. That waiting list exists as a consequence of the gross mismanagement of resources by the HSE.

Why don’t you wake up David, our children are already on a governmental pay no mind list, a deal on Croke park will not change that. The regurgitation of political soundbites from an individual with a FG catchphrase chip embedded in his brain leaves little to be desired.

It worries me that someone at some stage gave you a microphone at a venue outside your lounge room and in doing so permitted you to contaminate public space with bullshit political rhetoric.

• sean 25/02/13 #

Need to find 1bn EUR,
      Ok ,lets see
      Cut overseas aid down to €100m from €600m
      Cut number of td,s by 66
      Implement a third income tax rate 48% on earnings over €100k pa
      A complete ban on all expenses with the political and public sector system , politicans claim about 7m a year , while county councils are claiming in excess of 500k pa ………wexford county councillors claims a grand total of 598k in 2012.
      Levy on bankers bonus,s , as well as retired politicans pensions that are over 50k pa ,
      And how,s about the quango,s why to FAS still get 1bn a year
      Why does the head of the FAI earn twice the salary of his Spanish counterpart ( compare the successor Spanish football domestic and I,ntl to that of Irish football
      Abolish the seanad
      impose strict tax laws on international companies profiting yet not paying tax in Ireland
      ( that guy that owns the Beats headphones , stated he was moving business to Ireland to available of all the tax breaks ) .
      There’s a few ideas off the top of my head that will save us in excess.of 1bn EUR

• @david can you tell me how much a Garda earns in the private sector?
      Can you tell me how much a teacher is paid in the private sector
      Nurses earn more in the private sector
      Doctors earn more in the private sector
      When you ring for the fire brigade you obviously get the private fire brigade.
      You would like Ireland’s dangerous criminals locked up in private prisons. Frontline workers are a public service not a profit generating organization, but that is obviously the world where you want to live in when you ring 999, 112 and the first question your asked is not what service you require but your credit card number

• “quips about homosexuality”…..

I’m completely in favour of gay marriage and adoption.

C’mon guys. Play the ball, not the man.

• Your undisguised adulation for a political party that got stinking drunk on subsidized alcohol and exchanged €100 billion in unsecured debt for significantly more in sovereign debt renders you a ball in play.

Deals? What in hells creation would this government know about making a deal. They kiss European arse at one table and save the legislative approach as a hammer to use against the locals at another. I would have thought a patriot would have the negotiating strategy the other way around. Not so with our elected reps in government and not with individuals like you advocating for such policy directives on their behalf

You consistently advocate for this crowd and to my mind that makes you the ball my friend.

• Il guarantee you the troika would probably do a fairer job than the bunch of misfits in government. If happily hear the troikas proposal fg wouldn’t tho because it would no doubt mean less of a hit on the heroes on the front line and more on CEOs and politicians. David I hope I never see your name on a ballot box because you will be remembered after all your anti Garda anti front line talk.

• Did you change your profile picture David and link to your Facebook account instead of Twitter now? Do you not want people to know that you are a Young Fine Gael party member or see your homophobic tweets?

Here’s a direct copy from Twitter which people can see @davehiggz

‘If Kerry formed its own independent breakaway state you could attend a Gay Marriage and then drink drive home from it :p’

And

‘To visualise recent motions from Kerry County Council imagine lots of people drunk driving home from a gay marriage’

So, since you place both in the same vain, do you also support drink driving then? That would be in keeping with the wife of your minister for justice who also seems to see nothing wrong with it. The courts took a different view though when they convicted her for it. David, homosexuality and drink driving are not ‘jokes’ so stop embarrassing yourself and your already embarrassing political party who should remove you for your comments.

• Jack why not report him via emai to Fine Gael head office surely those homophobic remarks are against some code of conduct. He’s a hateful young man alright

• Cliona 25/02/13 #

Totally agree Irish Mule…..
      Shows the degree of intelligence in politics if he is on her slating the public sector…….bad move David

• C’mon guys. Play the ball, not the man.

Then address the question. You can’t tell others that they’re “playing the man” and not make an effort.

I’ve asked you a genuine question David. It’s not uncommon for you to respond with something that seems little more than the party line so can you give us an answer?

• I have screen captured his original Twitter post before he blocks or deletes it and will pass onto my local TD (who is a Fine Gael party member). In one fell swoop this young man manages to insult Kerry, gay couples and the families of those killed or injured by drink driving. Shame on you David Higgins.

• Well done jack fair play to you, hopefully you have just stopped another potential politician from going on the payroll. You may have saved the country a nightmare

• jft96 25/02/13 #

Can’t see this as being as fair deal if only three unions are left in there to negotiate. War is on the horizon….

• Another sellout by SIPTU and IMPACT

• It would make you laugh, if it wasn’t so serious. All. The union members come on here and blame their leaders for selling them out. Don’t they realise that the leaders are actually employed by them? They alone have the power to kick the leaders out. SIPTU in particular are nothing short of a gang, but the members seem to think that there’s nothing they can do to change this.

• Agreed but the system within SIPTU and IMPACT makes this almost impossible to happen cancel your subs will have an immediate effect

• It will be a fudge ,the government can’t look as if they failed ,there will be a payback in some form or another wait and see.

• I’m sure members of siptu and the teachers unions will be delighted to find out this morning that their so called unions have agreeded to them taking A massive cut in wages .

• Impact and siptu government puppets, shame on you

• It looks like war im afraid if they force through draconian cuts, roll on the next election so these incompetents can be ousted

• Faceful 25/02/13 #

Absolute bastards!

• The unions that walked out represent 24 hr workers. Ones that stayed in talks haven’t as much to lose.. Not good!

• Protect the frontline staf, It’s the ones pushing pens from management up. Should be targeted, politicians especially!

• Jack o connor siptu WAR !!!

• This government would not have made that play without a prior ňod and wink from siptu and impact. They now smile to themselves and gloat about how smart they are, but lads you hate to be embarrased in front of those big boys from europe and guess what they’ll be here regularily for next six months, need i say moře

• Ha do as we say or we will ramp it down your throat anyway is there message! Three big issues Minister Howlin; 1 just because you get a ” deal” ( equivible to asking do you want to loose either your right or left testicle)at your “negotiation’ you have to snake it through the ballet box to be ratified, 2 you are going to possibly the biggest greatest walkout of frontline staff in history3 you may try and legislate but who’s going to enforce it ? The Gardai ? Sure your causing them to go out in mass ! Who’s going to provide state escorts for you? In every country that’s been forced in to austerity the emergency services were protected by legislation, infact the governments recognised how vital they were; they got wage increases! Surely that billion could have been saved in that money you snuck through for Wexford hospital and Kilkenny hospitals unauthorised rebuilds! More ridiculous since it flys in the face of the acute hospital reconfiguration, the cases will be flying past the door of these places because ambulances take patients to definitive care ( major hospitals) or two major hospitals via helicopter ! Mr Howlin you cost us almost a billion by doing this back hander is that going to come out of your wages ? Finally talks aren’t talks when the people effected aren’t at the table in the first place and the few that are walk out that equals you and ictu and Siptu and impact colluding ! Any members of the fire and ambulance service that remained with Siptu take note

• Its about time that the Unions find where they left their Balls and see if they still work, They’ve been the Governments Human Resource Department for far too long.

• Don’t expect anything near the reform and senior level cuts that this country needs when Labour (political wing of the unions) are at the negotiation table…..

• That doesn’t reflect Labour’s voting base. Labour does very well among lower income public sector workers. If anything their incentive is to see a minimum amount of cuts in their direction. The cut off point of €60k being a prime example.

• Problem is that even with a vote I can see this rubbish being passed… That is what scares me…. People in some of the unions – INTO anyway- are too nice and accept too much… This is not a good day

• A deal in the loosest possible terms.

• The biggest problem in this country is that the public service haven’t been allowed to do it’s job for a long time. Most of the bigger ticket items have been outsourced to Quango’s (NRA, RSA, Garda Inspectorate, etc….). How much to these institutions cost the state? The primary reason for this model of government is so that the minister elected to take responsibility does not have to do so, HSE being a prime example, instead a faceless body can be blamed for all the ills befalling a department. I submit that we should eliminate all quangos and place the responsibility where it should be, on our elected representatives., this would also save the country a fortune, I don’t know how much because you can’t get these figures.

Also I would like to point out that the people in the Government departments that are advocating that public servants should take a pay cut, asked and were granted a private audience with the then minister for finance, the Late Brian Lenihan, and were exempted from the pay cuts. Now that is Hippocratic for you!!

• I have had enough! it will be a 30-40% pay cut since the beginning of Austerity.. ! 14+10.6+12% in increase working hours,+PRSI+ increase inflation and freeze of my core pay increments! Feck that!

In all the years of unions… We get what we want! We have the power to do so… Shut the public sector down and show our strength in numbers through mobilisation! Our contracts (CPA-1) are binding..Retroactive savings plan with interest… But for the future we mobilise and if nothing is done we shut it down! Our lives, our families, our society our constitution are at stake due to these cronies! It didn’t have to happen this way… Industrial unrest is not worth the pain and suffering of the most vulnerable in society… If this Gov wants hardball… I’m up to bat with 80,000 strong!!! Ethics out the window.. Bring it on!

In a strong way, we can shake Ireland!

A storm is coming!

• Dillon 25/02/13 #

Very strange. Went to bed last night reading how the fall of the Government was both imminent and inevitable as the Unions flexed their muscles…

• Scarr 25/02/13 #

I didn’t know ladybird did those kind of books.

• Jimmy 25/02/13 #

The question that should be asked is Why is this deal being “renegotiated” all of a sudden by the larger Unions when the current deal still has 16 months to run? It would appear to me that Frontline workers are being hung out to dry to protect the higher paid Civil Servants….

• Jimmy, I believe that the timing also involves the teaching year.
      If the frontline services were to strike now they would still retain much public support. When teachers strike alongside then it directly effects a lot more people – when it affects them at this time of year it’s particularly upsetting to those in exam years.
      At least, I think that’s part of it.

• Jimmy 25/02/13 #

I reckon you could be on to something there Tomy. What is also equally baffling, is that a deal of this magnitude can be completed over a single weekend….unless it was just a case of rubber stamping….it just doesnt smell right!

• If half plus 1 of supti impact and into members vote in favour of whatever deal the three unions have enough vote at ICTU to pass the deal . Then the government can say the unions voted for it. All votes ain’t equal

• if double time is reduced to time and threequarters and agreeded to by the unions members this will filter down to the private sector where we will see our paypackets reduced again by employers .people on shift work , people working weekends ect. so this proposal will not only affect the public sector but the private as well so union members please give great tought to what you are goining to ballot on for everyones sake thank you.

• The price our nation will pay for labour supporting all the austerity and failed policies of this government, they get their Croke Park extension. Wonder what this one will cost us, apart from the continuation of massively flawed public sector.

• If 10% of the best and brightest staff left the public sector and each started a company that eventually employed 15 people, that would employ the entire number of people unemployed in Ireland right now.

If we could encourage some of the public sector top talent into to taking some risk and a salary cut by joining the private sector as entrepreneur employers, it would transform the economy for the better.

The enormous public sector is a brain drain, absorbing talent that could instead be engaged in economic growth.

• I smell another 4 year shafting of private sector workers.

• @Stephen Nolan well said – my sentiments exactly

Add New Comment