TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Noonan rules out cuts to fuel taxes despite record prices

As the price of a litre of petrol passes €1.62, the Minister for Finance says tax cuts could mean “significant costs” to the State.

Image: Danny Lawson/PA Wire

FINANCE MINISTER Michael Noonan has ruled out a temporary cut to taxes on motor fuel, despite new figures showing that the price of an average fuel has continued to reach new records.

Noonan has said any temporary cuts to the tax on fuels “could lead to significant costs to the Exchequer”, pointing out that the State’s tax take does not necessarily increase as a result of higher fuel costs.

Because tax excises are set at a fixed rate per litre of fuel, Noonan said, the tax income “does not increase as the price of fuels increase”.

Although this was not the case with VAT, Noonan said in reply to a Dáil question from Labour’s John Lyons, increased fuel prices in turn meant a curtailment in other economic activity which would mean VAT revenue would fall again.

EU finance minister have discussed the possibility of cutting fuel excises in previous years, but agreed in 2005 and again in 2008 not to adjust their national budgets to allow for cuts to prices.

Noonan said that while the increased price of fuel was obviously of concern to commercial operations, VAT incurred on diesel could be reclaimed.

“VAT incurred on auto-diesel and marked gas oil used in the course of business is a deductible credit for business in the Irish VAT system,” he said. “VAT on petrol cannot be deducted/reclaimed.”

Figures published by AA Ireland on Sunday showed that the price of an average litre of petrol now cost 162.1c – having risen by as much as 5c in the last month – while diesel now cost 157.7c per litre.

The price of petrol has risen by almost 10 per cent since a year ago, and by 56 per cent in the last three years.

Explainer: How much have fuel prices risen in Ireland recently – and why? >

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• You’re only shooting yourselves in the foot lads.

I sold my car last week, simply cant afford to run it now. I bought a moped and its OK, although I’ll probably kill myself on it.

I’m sure I wont be the only one doing this. So please, cop on and stop this childish economics of “if we double the price we get double the money” – it doesn’t work that way.

I honestly don’t think I can take much more of this sh1t, corruption, lies, greed and bad decision making.

• Feel the same as you Biddy. The only reason I’m holding on to my car is cause my dad is ill and lives in the country and I’d have no other way of getting back to see him on as regular basis I can. Saying that, I have had to cut back on trips home to see him as the petrol is just too dear, and I have one of the more fuel efficient cars out there.

• Eggers 20/03/12 #

This is the new normal in oil prices, oil economy has to be the driving force behind all cars and purchases.

• Mr Noonan, your killing us….. If only you could recognize not everyone is on the gov expenditure list… We buy our fuel …. You write it off as an operating expense! Corrupt much?!

• I betcha if Mick had to cough up the cost of filling the tank in his car he might have more sympathy.
    But sure when you are in a job where you get paid extra for going to work (on top of your salary), are allowed to claim expenses without receipts, get your laundry paid for, get golden handshakes, obscene pensions before retirement age etc etc et what do you expect?

• made 20/03/12 #

When will this robbing thieving bastard of a government realise that the ordinary people cannot keep giving, we don’t have it any more.

• mike 20/03/12 #

Did someone think he gave a Damn about the average person.

• I agree Mike. Does Noonan think that we are also clueless as increased fuel costs means extra expenses for every consumer as almost all products have to be transported to reach the consumer. Hauliers arebeing put out of business every day in Ireland and the poorest people of Ireland are being fleeced.

• Not one of his arguments against lowering fuel taxes had anything to do with the normal people. It’s all take take take

• It’s a disgrace. It’s easy for them not to understand the common man. Sure look at their big fat expense accounts they have.

• louise 20/03/12 #

80euro to fill my tank 1.3 engine something like 60 litres! Bloody disgraceful! They don’t care, they offer taxes, higher premiums, government = don’t give a damn = there solution, they get travel expenses, if it was coming out of there pockets it I’d soon change, I think every one not fill up for a day, hit them where ur hurts

• oIL PRICES ARE BAD ENOUGH, BUT WHAT ABOUT ELECTRIC IRELAND SETTING A MINIMUM USAGE CHARGE, NOW THEY’VE FIGURED OUT A WAY TO CHARGE FOR THE POWER WE DON’T USE AS WELL.

• ”The State” being themselves no doubt.

• €1.63 point 9 is the cheapest around me. And I’m the same as moped guy, bought myself a bike. Can’t afford the luxury of a car tho I will miss it in the winter when it’s pissin down rain.

• Less fuel tax = cheaper fuel = more activity = more business = more tax

Idiots

• louise 20/03/12 #

When will people stop complaining & actually do something ?? I’m 1st in the queue

• I’ve protested. Not enough of us.

• Theres going to be a major protest on Saturday 31st March at the Fine Gael ard-fheis. That day is also the last day to pay the household charge and the day that fine gael will commit financial treason by throwing the €3.1 BILLION euro they’ve taken from health and education cuts and throwing it into the anglo black hole.
      Theres coachloads from all over the country going. Don’t miss this one!

• @too trueleft can you supply finer details please, when, where, what time, etc genuinely going to protest for the first time!!!!!! Thanks

• The price of a barrel of oil is relatively stable and has been for the last several months if you really want to know why the price has increased so much look no further the the greedy grasping thieves in govt.
    See this: http://pumps.ie/FAQPricesExplained.php

Over the past 6 months and also in the near furture, brent oil prices have remained very stable and mostly within a $5 deviance from $110. This has been one of the most stable period for oil prices for many years, yet in the past 6-8 weeks the forecourt prices have risen by 10c-12c.

But before blaming the hardpressed forecourt owners who take an average of just 5c cut of the €1.55 average we are currently paying lets see what has happened since October.

1. The Budget. – Added 1.4c petrol / 1.6c diesel to carbon tax on Dec 6th, it also added 2% vat on Jan 1st. – Total extra taxes approx 4.5c / litre

2. US Dollar / Euro. All through the summer and up til October, the average exchange rate was about $1.43 / €1. Yesterday it dropped below 1.27 – that’s an 11% difference in just 3 months and a good chunk of the drop was from end of November. Fuel is bought in US dollars, so this added 11% to the ex tax price of fuel (approx 60c unleaded / 62c diesel) – about 6.5c + of course vat @23% making 8c.

So 8c of the recent increases are attributed to currency moves and 4.5c due to tax hikes – makes a total of 12.5c increase from the October averages of 1.43 & 1.45.

And with oil prices still stable and not looking to move much in the near term, the only potential change in prices will come from the exchange rate between the US dollar & the Euro. In the short term, this may bring some relief, but most commentators are suggesting mid 1.20′s as the exchange rate in the medium term.

Noonan is a fraud and why should he care about rising fuel costs, he gets YOU the tax payer to pay his on his expenses, Suckers!

• We need rid of this government, not one single minster and very few government TD’s care even a tiny bit about the ordinary person in this country.
    I am going to write to every government TD and councillor telling them under no circumstances to neither knock on my door or post any leaflets in my door. An envelope full of sh1t along with their leaflet will be returned through their letterbox.

• Watch the price of food and clothing go up, when petrol goes up everything else goes up. Everything in this country gets moved in a lorry

The govt don’t have a clue, the opposition are clueless

• So who is up for a fuel Boycott and maybe a Block The City Protest like the Taxi Drivers did,
    Bring it on

• What gobshite put out of touch Micky noonan in charge of the money!

• we all know where its heading girls and boys, so let just pull our pants down and take another rodgering and put it up to €2 a litre.

• Noonan must be taking out a page from the household objectors.
    Don’t give an inch.

• See you all at the 31st of march for the Fine Gael Ard Fheis.
    Stand up and be accounted for with the rest of us who feel were being takin for and just want to have some sort of life before we move on.

• B7584 20/03/12 #

166.9 for petrol in at least 2 stations in the galway city area.

Also its probably better and more efficent to just buy a half tank of fuel twice a week (or when needed) than buy a full one and be carrying that weight around,especially on short journeys around the city as these are heavy enough on fuel consumption as it is.

• Red cheap fuel using it years ,,, sod them ,, I don’t get a fuel allowance like the folks in Kildare st!!!!!!!!!

• Best comment yet jimbo

• 80 euros to fill my tank 1.4 engine, governments solution do nothing they will pay anyway!! When are people actually gonna do something ?? Id say everyone not fill up for a day, hit them where ur hurts!!!

• One thing that would make the Oil Companies and the Government Cop on a bit would be if EVERYONE Boycotted the Pumps for One or Two days,
    If everyone stands together like the Household Tax then Someone May Eventually listen

• Agree Eoin

• Money money money in a rich mans world

• Just looked up pumps.ie, in Kerry it’s 1.55, highest in Dublin 1.69 what’s with that???

• Fuel rises push up the price of doing business for everyone. Food prices are already rising in the supermarkets. But when you are on a salary of 170k (don’t forget the laundry allowance) you might not notice this reality.

• jimbo 20/03/12 #

Selective editorial skill continue amongst staff here i wonder why much worse words the fcuk you are allowed remain (w*****r) still remains plus fcuk you spelt correctly also remains.
    Freedom of speech???or just a prefered comment from the author or which political party they have interest in….

So noonan thanks a bunch..

• I blame the Arabs. Prices were high but steady enough until the war in Lybia, then they shot up even though world supply was not affected. Now theres some stability there the price didnt fall back. They’re using Iran as the latest excuse to raise prices. The whole world is bending over for these guys because we’re over reliant and theres no practical replacement yet.

• im not paying road tax ever again in this country.feck them all in leinster house bunch of lying bas…ds.carbon tax doesnt even get spent on what its meant for.every goverment is the same as the ones before. lies lies lies lies…

• Any cut to fuel taxes would only mean greater taxes elsewhere or further cuts. No easy option.

• If you expect me to believe that after seeing the wages of Mr. Boucher last week then you are having a laugh, he won’t have a problem paying €1.60 for diesel and neither will any government TD.

• Point of dimishing returns.Keep jacking up the price,less people buying,hence less tax take.

• Ah David, my ol mate, that old chestnut – cuts to fuel tax would mean cuts elsewhere.
      It goes back to the argument about austerity really – If you take everybodies money out of the economy, (dont forget that its not just fuel that gets more expensive, everything else goes up because of higher transport costs) there will be no growth. No growth means more cuts and so it goes.

Austerity is not the only answer

• B7584 20/03/12 #

Spot on Norman but ssshhhh dont mention economics, the government arent interested in such trivial matters.

• For every litre of petrol the govt takes €1.10 of it in taxes, one of the highest tax in Europe

• We have growth in this economy. It’s not great but it’s better than no growth and it’s happening within the context of austerity. And the reason for a slowdown this year won’t be because of austerity but because of slowdowns in the rest of Europe, thus dragging down our exports.

• Ah David, but the domestic economy is in tatters. High fuel prices will only make this much worse. We need more than exports to start improving growth at a reasonable rate.
      The Australians, faced with the 2008 financial shitstorm used a raft of stimulus measures – and what do you know – it worked! I know there is’nt much money for this sort of thing here, but the emphasis on trying to stimulate this economy is not there, and needs to be.
      A temporary reduction of fuel taxes could do this

• I wouldn’t mind any of this stuff if our tax was going 100% back to us.
      We’ve chosen austerity, its a system that has worked many times, Japan and Germany did it after ww2.
      The problem is, it leaves you bitter when you see the amount of money being given to the wealthy investors and institutions who got really really really lucky when fianna fail guaranteed their investment.

I’ve started cycling, not as a 100% replacement for but just for all my short trips. Its saving me alot of money.

• Neil 20/03/12 #

@Adrian De Cleir
      There´s 13bn being pumped into day to day government spending this year from borrowing. And you want even more to be borrowed?

• Neil 20/03/12 #

@David Higgins
      the Shinners are promising higher spending, lower taxes, and keeping quiet about the fact that the government is already borrowing 13bn+ this year to cover the difference between day to day spending and taxes. Maybe its what you need to promise to get elected. Actually delivering on it is abviously impossible.

• Australia has a large domestic economy, Ireland is an export economy. A stimulus wouldn’t work well here. Most of the stimulus would leave. And I know the last thing people on this site want is more money going to Europe!!

• Neil, not sure if my post was clear, I support austerity because we need to balance the books, and yes , high petrol prices is inevitable as a result, I dont see it as a case of Noonan “taking money from us”. Its our money, its our tax, and no, id rather not borrow any more money.

What I DONT support is trying to balance the books , engaging in an austerity programme with financial support of the EU, but only on condition that certain very wealthy institutions get all of their investment back.
      Its just too much money to be paying back when you are trying to run an austerity programme, my issue is that it is unfairly incurred bank debt, not genuine sovereign debt.

Im not talking about an all out default, Im talking about prioritizing where our money should be going. 3.1 billion a year for 10 years, and about another 10 billion until 2030, and thats only the anglo promissory notes to keep the ECB happy. Its insane. Can you imagine what that money alone could do for a budget every year if it were freed up and the debt was restructured over a very long period of time.

• @Neil,

Yeah, lets blame the “Shinners” for the high fuel prices …. Again, typical FFg/Labour approach, blame everyone else except themselves. Cant blame FF for the current petrol prices, because you guys raised the VAT and duty, so you hve to balme SF … ah, come on, just admit you couldnt give a fiddlers about the pain and stress the average person in this country is suffering.

• pint of heineken is 4.10,,litre of petrol is only 1.63, good value really when ya think about it

Add New Comment