TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

‘Optics’ and ‘rehash’: Opposition dismisses government’s jobs plan

Both Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin have heavily criticised what they see as the re-announcement of certain schemes and a lack of targets to reduce unemployment.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore, Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Jobs Minister Richard Bruton making their announcement yesterday
Image: Photocall Ireland

THE GOVERNMENT’S PLAN to create 100,000 jobs over the next four years has been criticised by the opposition parties who said that it was lacking in imagination and failed to outline how it will reduce Ireland’s high unemployment rate.

The government set out a 270-point plan at a press conference yesterday which it hopes can create 100,000 jobs by 2016. Small businesses are pivotal to the scheme which aims to increase investment and improve access to resources for start-ups.

Sinn Féin said the plans were a “rehash of initiatives already unveiled” while Fianna Fáil said that the document – which runs to over 120 pages – contained “absolutely no new thinking at all”.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny said he wanted to “realise the ambition to have 100,000 more people in work by 2016 and 2 million people in work by 2020″ but Sinn Féin said that Kenny was not clear on his intentions.

“Job creation and growth is the most important issue facing this state. In almost 12 months since this government took office, nearly half a million people remain unemployed,” Sinn Féin TD and spokesperson on jobs and enterprise Peadar Toibín said.

“The Taoiseach Enda Kenny seemed confused over whether the target is to create 100,000 additional jobs or as the he claimed, 100,000 net new jobs by 2016.”

He went on to say that “despite the fanfare” the plan was offering no new government money for job creation in Ireland.

“The government proposals today were mostly a rehash of initiatives already unveiled and the plan is to implement them within existing, significantly reduced, budgets,” he said.

Meanwhile, Fianna Fáil TD Willie O’Dea, the party’s spokesperson on jobs and enterprise, said that there was a “significant lack of imagination” in the plan.

Specifically he criticised the dissolving of city and county enterprise boards and the establishment of Local Enterprise Offices in each local authority, saying it was “optics”.  O’Dea also said that credit and loan schemes for small businesses had already been announced before.

“Minister Bruton has acknowledged there is no ‘big bang’ in this plan to deal with the unemployment crisis.  He is underselling it – there is absolutely no new thinking at all. There has been no new funding announced alongside this plan and most worrying is the lack of any specific job creation target for 2012.”

He added: “The Government’s document simply draws every measure that has been announced over the past few years, including by the last administration, into one document.”

Toibín went on to say that the lack of specific targets related to getting people off the live register rendered the document “meaningless”.

He added: “The bottom line is the document does not have a target for reducing unemployment. It is silent on the number of people who will be on the live register come the summer and the end of this year. Without these explicit targets the promises in the document are meaningless.”

Here’s how the Government plans to create 100,000 jobs >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (28 Comments)

• iBob101 14/02/12 #

Research in the U.S. shows that the vast bulk of new jobs created there every year are by start-up enterprises, not by mature or large companies. The key to creating jobs is therefore to increase entrepreurship and innovation.
    So do we help entrepreneurs in Ireland?

Central to how we treat entrepreneurs is how we treat failed businesses. If an Irish entrepreneur’s business fails, guess how much social welfare we give him to support his family?

Not a sausage. They are welcome to starve as far as the Irish State is concerned.

What about his treatment under the “new and improved” insolvency regime coming in shortly?

He may be bankrupted, banned from starting a business for 3 years, and may spend 8 years trying to repay his creditors or bank.

Draw your own conclusions on whether we have the right balance to encourage entrepreneurs, and therefore job growth, in Ireland.

• D Burns 14/02/12 #

Creating 100,000 new jobs is a big task by any standards! Based on the last year with Kenny & Co in control, i’ll take it with a mountain of salt ;-)

• The only jobs this lot will create are the numerous overpaid advisers that they pay to do their jobs. If they really cared they would be genuinely going about improving the situation to carry out business here…force the banks to extend credit to SMEs, reduce service charges and rates, reform the bankruptcy laws, offer more assistance to start ups, invest more into to R&D, improve education standards (you could start with reducing the amount of time wasted on religion classes in our schools!), offer real skills retraining programmes to the unemployed…..there are lots of things the could do but to the best of my knowledge the will isn’t there and they prefer to concentrate their efforts on bleeding tax payers dry to pay off the banksters. Sad.

• 270 point plan…..not again!

• Ratzo 14/02/12 #

I found a pot of gold under my bed this morning. There was a little man with a lovely green suit sitting on top of it. He was smoking a pipe. There also appeared to be a rainbow shining out from between the cheeks of his a……

• The Government wants to be seen to be doing something about the employment situation. This is another promise of creating jobs but will it succeed ?

• they can’t create jobs, only the people can create jobs, but they’re being crushed by austerity.
      What they mean to say is “Wahay! jobs for the boys!”

We can trust FF on this analysis, they did write the book on optics after all :-D

• G 14/02/12 #

Yes To Jobs – Lisbon Scam. ‘Millions of jobs’ – Lucinda Cretin a few weeks ago on Vincent Brown. ‘Get this country working’…. If you’re believing all this crap I got some great apartments in Dublin 86 that you might be interested in.

• 100,000 jobs in next 4 years… Gilmore and Burton can’t even keep straight faces!

• LOL LOL LOL

More window dressing buy Auntie Edna.

Create jobs my arse

He mentioned 2 key areas for growth.Gaming and Cloud computing. I applied to do a one year VEC course in cloud computing and was rejected as I had a degree (graduated 89) in civil engineering. They don’t accept graduates. My daughter just finished a weeks work experience (transition year ) in an expanding gaming company
    The bulk of the staff are foreign as the jobs are for Tech Support and Irish people don’t have the language requirements.

• Im sorry but no matter how much time passes, i still cannot stomach fianna fail, it still really is anyone but fianna fail!

• If the government managed to create 100,000 jobs right now, that would still leave 200,000 people out of work.
    That’s if it happened right now, but the government is promising these jobs by 2016.
    In 2014, people from Romania and Bulgaria will be able to come here looking for work.
    Will we have enough jobs available for all of those who choose to come here, and the Irish people who need jobs but aren’t able to leave, and what happens if we don’t?

• Re Irish people speaking foreign languages. It’s a rarity. Even an A1 in honours or University standard French or German DOES not equate to conversational standard. Blame the pop culture. That’s in English, no other language required.

• FF and SF giving out about job creation. Well I suppose we’ve come to expect as much.

• If this Government had not facilitated the ruination of the greatest job creator this country has ever produced, then perhaps they would have more credibility about being interested in protecting and creating jobs.

Seehttp://quinn-anglo-story.com/

• That should read http:/quinn-anglo-strory.blogspot.com/

• that really should read the previous goverment in the interests of fairness!

• Patricia, Quinn owes €2.8 billion to your country, He himself has admitted that he made huge mistakes, your parochial blind parish pump cheerleading is indicative of the type of prevailing mentality that got this country into the unmitigated mess it is in today: “Aragh fair play Sean, well done, who cares if he gambled away his business empire, who cares if he owes ireland €2.8 billion sure didn’t he give my little Tommy a job when he needed one “.

€2.8 billion for 8,000 jobs? I guess in ireland that is a ‘sound investment’ Patricia?

• Ratzo 14/02/12 #

Ah sure wasnt he the greeeeet man to be sure,like goin forward like

• I see Lizzie Day below is now an expert on what happened with the Quinn/Anglo Story? Does she know how much Liberty Mutual paid for Quinn Insurance? Does she know how much the “receivers” are paid per hour on top of all their adivsers, accountants, security etc – how much they have sucked out of the Quinn Group since 14th April 2011? Does she know that Anglo squandered €500,000 of “our” money reversing the place where Quinn was made Bankrupt? Lizzie I suggest you have a look at http:/quinn-anglo-story.blogspot.com/ YOU MAY get your eyes opened!!

• Paddy O’Donnell is partially right – the previous government started it BUT when seeking votes both Enda Kenny and Frank Feighan stated that what had been done to Quinn Group was wrong and that they were supporting the Quinn Group. Did anybody every question why FF gave the top Anglo job to Alan Dukes (whose religon was FG)??? Think about it.

• Ratzo 14/02/12 #

Maureen and Patricia, I rejoice that I have found such kindred spirits. I have thought deeply about what you have had to say about our beloved Seanie,if I may call him that. I myself have a shrine dedicated to the the great man as I am sure you have also. I am looking at it here as I watch the tears fall… yes, tears. Tears of happiness at the realization that I am not alone in my dedication to the great man.

Let us meet for tea and biscuits and together we can hold hands and rejoice in our love for Irelands first and only son.

• Maureen.Its sad that many of the people of Ireland
      appear to be falling for the propaganda that is being forced down our throat by Anglo and which we are paying for. Attempts have been made to silence people like us who simply want answers to legitimate questions, Its strange to see that an article on the recent bullying and threats perpetruated against the Quinns on the journal is not open for comments.Those who have nothing to hide, hide nothing.

Regardless of what anyone thinks of Sean Quinn, he submitted a proposal which would have facilitated the return of all monies and the guarantee of all jobs and creation of 1800 additional ones. That offer was thrown in his face. Anglo maybe fooling the people for now, but the truth will come out as Caoimhghin O’Caolain predicted and there will be a lot of red faces but unfortunately, it will be too late to save thousands of jobs and prevent the misappropriation of billioons of euros of our money.

• @ Lizzie,
      Actually it came out in Court last week that Anglo used Quinns companies to support their own shares, and there would have been no loans but for Anglos desperation to stop the bank collapsing. Wouldnt surprise me if 2 years from now, Courts find the Quinns actually owe nothing to Anglo, and Anglo just lost another 2.8billion on top of the 31 billion it has already lost. Then there will be the astronomical legal costs of 3 years fighting in several countries, to be picked up by the taxpayer. A multimillion enquiry into why Anglo put the Group into receivership over loans which were for market manipulation. No doubt followed by a tribunal to see who in Government, Regulator,and Central Bank knew what ? In the intervening years we will pay the dole of the Quinn employees as it is widely known Anglo are not capable of running the manufacturing companies and it is failing.

• Have to agree with you on that one Tom

Add New Comment