TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Over €14.5m spent in policing protests against Corrib gas pipeline

The figures for the last five years have been disclosed by the Minister for Justice this week.

Gardaí at a Shell to Sea protest in 2009.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE GARDAÍ HAVE spent over €14.5 million on the policing operation at the controversial Shell refinery project in Mayo over the last five years, it has emerged.

The figures do not include the basic salaries for Gardaí on duty at the protest site in north Mayo which means the actual cost of policing the protests is higher.

Campaigners from the Shell to Sea organisation have been protesting against the construction of the Corrib gas pipeline for the past seven years.

The Minister for Justice Alan Shatter said that the €14,566,262 in additional costs incurred by the Gardaí between December 2006 and December of last year was “deeply regrettable” and described the protests as “scandalous”.

The details come from an answer to a parliamentary question tabled by Sinn Féin TD Peadar Tóibin.

The €14.5 million figure is broken down into overtime and allowances, travel and subsistence, employers PRSI, and miscellaneous expenses incurred by the Gardaí over the past five years in dealing with protesters.

The figures show that €913,729 was spent in additional costs last year. This was up from €620,326 spent in 2010 but down significantly on the 2009 figure of €3.5 million.

In 2007, nearly €5 million in additional costs were incurred by Gardaí including €2.7 million on overtime and allowances and nearly €2 million on travel and subsistence.

The protests have been notable for the sizeable Garda presence with numerous allegations from protesters that they have been assaulted including one by a Socialist Party MEP last August.

This table given in the answer by the Minister for Justice provides detail of the costs incurred:

Table S2S

“It is scandalous that some protesters behave in a self indulgent way that has no regard for the rights of others,” Shatter said.

“In turn, this requires the expenditure of a substantial amount of taxpayers’ money which could be devoted to far better purposes if it was not for the actions of many of those involved in the protests.”

The protests centre on the Corrib gas project which entails the extraction of natural gas off the northwest coast of Ireland by the oil company Shell.

The construction of the gas pipeline through the area at Bellinaboy in north Mayo has drawn protest from the Shell to Sea group which argues that the pipeline poses a risk to local residents.

A spokesperson for the Shell to Sea campaign told TheJournal.ie: “Again the Minister is doing what his predeccessor has done in blaming the protesters for what’s happening.

“The fact is the behaviour of the police runs contrary to the national interest,” he claimed while going on to say that there what was happening was at Bellinaboy was “blatant economic treason.”

An Garda Siochána said it would not be appropriate to comment on remarks made by the Minister for Justice.

Shatter added that it was not possible to project what future costs would be incurred by the policing operations at the Shell refinery as the level of protest activity fluctuates.

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• Lads there are loads of different view points on this topic I would just like to offer my opinion. I live in the Erris area and yes the project has done a lot of harm with people falling out over the rights and wrongs of the whole argument. The bottom line for me here is that this is an area which has never really seen any sort of serious employment or inward investment, at the moment Shell are employing about 500 or so people who otherwise would have to emigrate and believe me these people are very grateful to have the employment, and I do not work for or have any affiliation with Shell. Government don’t give a shit about this area hence the lack of employment or even attempt at attracting jobs to our area so we must be grateful for what we get, scenery is all good and well but we can’t feking eat it.

• “The bottom line for me here is that this is an area which has never really seen any sort of serious employment or inward investment, at the moment Shell are employing about 500″

Having lived there for two nearly years in 2005 I accept Erris is one of the most underfunded and deprived rural areas in Ireland and it is true that Shell have provided substancial employment in the last few years. However on balance this is not useful to the area in the longterm. The full time work force if the project is completed will be less than 100 many of whom will come from Scotland. Already the numbers working on the project are falling dramatically. In longterm the project will cost Erris jobs not create them. The reality of having a has refinery in the locality will be immense. Firstly an unquestionable knock on will be tourism. Even the most avid supporter of Shell’s plans will accept that no one wants to holiday beside or near a gas refinery. This will be a problem for decades even after the life term of the refinery as it will be an eyesore on the landscape.
      This project will only serve to make Erris less attractive to investment of any kind. Study after study has shown that living beside refinereries leads to longterm health problems not only in terms of direct human health but also in terms its impact in terms of agriculture. This will result in greater depopulation making it even more difficult to attract investment.
      Finally the overall argument made above in terms of our economy and control of our natural resources would benefit Erris better. No matter what Erris gets from this in the short term, it will not compare to what it could derive in the longterm were people in Ireland to control our natural resources.

• Well said Stephen, as a fellow Mayo man and a person who have as yourself, seen mates working there or having to take the boat, it does bring positives in that regard. The GAA facilities, well backed by Shell are a credit to the area down there.
      The sad thing is that locals are falling out over it, the same thing happened when the mining started on Croagh Patrick.
      The 2 things that does sicken me is that A) how the government sold it for pish money, typical no thinking, orgasmic decision to pocket quick cash and B) that a large % of the protesters are neither local to North Mayo nor Ireland. The lady who went on strike, I can’t recall her name, is/was a teacher, did she not spend days protesting down there, was she on holidays or sick and what sort of example is she setting?

Regardless of if it is Shell or God himself there are what I call “serial protesters”, moving from site to site and been a pain and possibly/probably living off the dole.
      Would I be right in saying that some of these are there for 2 or more years? Are they on the dole? Are they actively looking for work?

So never mind paying for the mistakes of FF handing over the resources to shell, we have to pay the Gardai to keep the peace and the protesters dole!!!!

I sympathize with the LOCALS only down there who feel aggrieved, but I guarantee the bill would be 1/4 of what it should be if it was only locals.

I am on neither side on this, the sad thing about is that our resources are been drained while our own people are in North Mayo or on forums flaking abuse. The only winner is Shell and I am sure somehow the government.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Great post Aidan.

• Thanks to Ray Burke. Lorna Siggins wrote a factual account of this saga and no doubt Burke is to blame

• The Corrib gas field is worth an estimated 8 Billion- the Oil in the Rockall and Porcupine basins could be worth an enormous 420 Billion euro! 14.5 million is hardly the relevant figure to be focusing on minister.

• Potentially. It could also be worth nothing. That’s why the licences are cheap, because there is very little guarantee they will yield anything.

• at Keith. They are only cheap here, similar geographical prospects were being sold in Europe in the 60′s for 1.5mn pounds a licence. Here they were going for 500 pounds a piece. The price of a car. Most prospects are duds, but people still pay big money for the licences, they still are willing to pay 70-90% tax on the oil/gas produced because the occasional one that is a success makes them incredibly wealthy.

When the people that signed the deal cannot believe the terms they got, then you know that you have been screwed. It wasn’t shell that was at fault here, any oil company that was gifted such a find and told that the normal rules were being suspended for them, would jump it.

Then again, in Ireland, we love suspending the rules in business. Especially when it is at the cost of the majority or the good of the economy.

• not to us. this money goes out the window with shell. we.ll have maybe 5 per cent of this money. so i think ur wrong, the 14 million is very relevant

• I’m not defending Shell either way but many of the things said in these comments are just untrue. Here are some fact for you…
    *We don’t have any experience in extracting gas or oil, nor do we have any money to do it. Shell has so far spent 2.5 billion euro and landed no gas yet.
    *We don’t give away anything, we grant a license for it.
    *We are NOT Norway. They find oil or gas for very 3 wells drilled. We find gas every 30 wells drilled.
    *We have so far found 0 oil, yes nada, none, zip.
    *The deals Ray Burke did have all expired and we’re now at very much international norms when it comes to tax on these wells. We can still up this tax in the future.
    *In the last round of licences, 15 in total, no major oil company took one up. Yes we’re doing them such an amazing favour that these greedy bastard don’t even bother with the licences. Makes you think that perhaps you need to stop listening to Shell to Sea.

Less ranting, more facts.

• This is insane. Normally these oil and gas companies have to pay for private security ie soldiers of fortune to protect their sites when they are in places like Congo, all over africa, middle east- they never get any local enforcement to do their bidding. They are getting a free lunch in ireland. To referring another comment at the top, the gas reserves would in worth in excess 500 million so 14 million to secure the production is a small cost of business.
    It’s a disgrace that shatter has struck an incredibly poor deal for the Irish people and we are now looking at selling assets like Colite as opposed to striking good deals for our natural resources. Please please please somebody help this country from a place that can make a difference. Shatter- wake up or get out

• God we are a laughing stock of a country. Giving away our valuable natural resources and paying for the pleasure of it.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

The deal is done now, why should the protestors be allowed to cost us money? Shell shouldn’t have to pay ffs, the protestors should be paying as they are incurring the cost but it seems unlikely they will have earned any moeny recently to do so!

Protest is healthy when there is a real issue to protest for, sitting on peat lorries is not a valid protest at this point in time.

• Ciara 09/02/12 #

EMD, I’ve agreed with you before on other articles, but I have to disagree on this one.

I’ve met quite a few people who take part in Shell to Sea actions over the past few years and I can honestly say it’d be hard to find a nicer, more inclusive or dedicated bunch of people. They’ve been protesting for 7 years now (according to the article, I think it’s been longer though) and yet they still remain committed to peaceful protest and non-violent direct action? There is a lot to be admired in that resolve.

As far as I know, there are an handful of protestors living pretty much permanently up in Rossport (in as close a way as possible to carbon neutrally by the way) and others come and go at weekends, for larger action and during the summer months. Those who come and go are asked to give a ‘voluntary donation’ when they do to help with the cost of running the house up there.

You ask elsewhere why the Shell to Sea crowd aren’t working on other environmental issues. Well, a lot of them are, you meet people who’ve been to Rossport in all kinds of political activism, and in environmental agencies in particular.

My main bone of contention here though is that I really don’t like the way you’re dismissing them out of hand because a number of them might not be working. There are 400,000 people out of work in this state, a lot of them won’t have ‘earned any money’ recently either, being scornful about it says more about you than them in a way.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Ciara,

I agree that we are usually on the same wavelength but I have met Shell to Sea protestors too and I’m afraid my experience was not pleasant. That aside I agree there are 400,000 out of work but the vast majority of them are there because they have to be and not because they want to be. Most unemployed are looking for other work, emigrating, upskilling etc. but those who are unemployed and protesting and not looking for work are they? Does that annoy me, yes it does!

Furthermore Ciara many of those at the Rossport camp do not understand what a rel environmental issue is and have hitched their wagon to ridiculous issues such as the felling of a small area of conifer and immature broadleaf plantation to make way for a powerline for a local town. Their brand of “environmentalism” brings those of us us who do work in the area into disrepute which means it actually lessens our power for change. I asked a number of their supporters about the issue of turf cutting and they were pro-turf cutters because hey it is all about fighting the big man who wants to oppress the little man. So I guess my experiences have coloured my view of what Rossport really stands for. I also genuinely believe that it is now a redundant protest on all levels.

• I consider protesting and working for a better world a more honourable and respectful work than working for money.

• “Self indulgent and no regard for the rights of others” I think you’ll find that describes the sale of our gas rights for a pittance so that an elite few can line their pockets!

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Adam I think you’ll find that the gas rights are not worth all the aggro, division and money spent to keep protestors in line. They are not impacting Shell anywhere near the way they are impacting the rest of us through costs like this. Enough is enough, they are not making a difference they are just impeding the inevitable and costing money.

• Even the top guys in Shell have commentated on how they can’t understand why Ireland did the deal on the terms agreed.

Then again when you have shite bags like FF doing the terms, you can be certain that the welfare of Ireland is least on their mind.

• At EMD. In most countries that have a proven prospect of this size, 14 million would be the tax take by the state for a week’s production. This field should last 10 years.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Tim,

I don’t doubt that we lost out on huge amounts of money and that our government let us down. 100% agree that it was a disgrace but this piece is not about that it is about the cost of a redundant protest to the country. Standing in front of lorries, abusing people, chaining themselves to machines etc. is not a valid protest when Shell have essentially run off with the cash. They should be looking to the future and being proactive about similar not happening and also actually inputting in a positive way to ensuring protection of Irelands natural heritage. This is not an environmental protest no matter how much they try to label it as such, this has now become one of the most heavily monitored pieces of infrastructure within the Republic.They consistently abuse and threaten those sent to monitor this work from an environmental vewpoint so what is it they want? Shell are not going to up and leave and if they did we are going to have a right bloody mess left on our hands.

It is done, the protest is not valid, find something worthwhile to protest about like real Irish environmental issues.

• Ireland doesn’t have access to massive offshore oil and gas deposits. We don’t have the knowledge to exploit the few we have ourselves. So if it wasn’t Shell then it would have been some other company that bought the rights. The country will still get money from the company in the same way as it does from others. Pointless protest if that’s the reason for it. I thought it was about preserving the environment.

• EMD

If we taxed this like all other Western Countries then we would have between 6-8 billion coming in to the economy over the next decade. If they quit the protests now, then we are only going to robbed and robbed again. This is 14 million over 6 years. Shell would consider that a rounding error in paper work. The make 2.2bn an hour in profit and several times that in gross profit. They are one of the richest org’s in the world even though they pay tax on production ranging from 62-90%. Here they are handed it. A fool and their money are soon parted and that has been the theme of this country for decades. Unfortunately the vast majority of the people are happy for that to continue. It’s been such a great success so far.

I like the environment, I love out natural heritage, but in this case screw the environment, where is our money.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

But Tim they are costing us money not making us money? No one that should be listening to them is listening to them so what is the point of the protest?

• Keith I have no problem with Shell exploiting the province, best of luck to them. What I have a problem with is that they received a deal so sweet that no other Govt. in Europe would dare continence it. out of respect for the good of their economy and out of fear what the electorate would do ti them for betraying their interests.

As for renegotiating the deal, then they state should at least try. Shell know that they were given it for nothing. There have been cases in Europe where the tax rates have shot up for oil provinces. The Tories did it in the 80′s and Labour did it in the last 10 years.

• The cost of policing the protests exists for two reasons
      1. Garda are being used as private security acting under the instructions of Shell in Erris. This includes almost daily selective enforcement of laws like the Road Traffic Act where Shell and its private security are allowed to close roads but Shell to Sea campaigners are arrested for doing the same.
      2. The project is being imposed on a community that overwhelmingly oppose it in its current form. The justice of their position is shown by the fact Shell have been forced to redesign significant sections of the project again and again – the main reason why is has taken so long.

The crazy thing is that Shell’s costs as well as this overtime bill will be passed onto the people of Ireland because of the terms of the Great Oil & Gas Giveaway. Shell’s attempted to bully people into accepting an experimental high pressure raw gas pipeline running under their front drive will result in us not seeing one cent in revenue from the Corrib field

• €14 million for overtime for cops in Rossport and only 11 guards investigating the actions Anglo which has seen a burden of €45-90 Billion pushed unto us.

Sure the government has you bests at heart right folks?

And if it wasnt for the folks standing up at Rossport, its probably fair to say that fracking would no be resisted in the way that it has.

• Mark did it ever dawn on you that if there wasn’t a need for such a large Garda presence and expenditure in Rossport then the Gardai could commit more resources towards Anglo? The Anglo investigation does not involve serious disorder but the Rossport protests do.

• They are wasting tax payers money? If they pay tax then they are wasting their own money which they have a right too if they feel it is the right thing to do ! If we got a better deal on this i doubt there would be a protest this long !

• We won’t get a better deal. The deal is done wether we like it or not. and i highly doubt those people pay any tax.

• Have you not seen The Pipe? Please watch it and notice the protesters – they are ordinary Irish people – the type who are the backbone of EVERY community in Ireland – so be careful condemning them – because in doing so, you condemn us all who feel that protest is now our only hope – Do you WANT to be constantly treated like a doormat in your country????????

(PS There was one scene in the Pipe which showed a Garda gleefully (you could see he was actually ENJOYING it) beating those ordinary people with his baton. One of the women said that’s why the most of them stopped – they were terrified that someone would be really hurt or worse – are those now our only options??)

• well said Brian Ward

• Rambo Burke sold out our natural resourse for next to nothing. The only tax payer getting any benefit from the Corrib gas line is the Norwegian taxpayer, their govt cleverly took a shareholding in Shell when they (Shell) looked for exploration rights off their shore. If a shareholding is not an option then do as the Russians have done where there is a gas find, they approve exploration licence on the basis that 40% of the find is sold to the Russian Govt at a 60% discount, therefore allowing the Russians to sell on with a base cost of 40% of the market rate. What do we get is nothing but a fat protection bill.

Shell should contribute to that bill, just like the general public have to pay for a firebrigade call out or a garda call out for monitored alarms. So if the general public has to pay in those circumstances, why not Shell?

• If you were doing legitimate work on your house or land and a bunch of protesters turned up and started causing chaos would you be happy to pay the Garda bill for the next 5 years. After all what you are doing is legal, on land you own and you certainly don’t want those protesters there. You might not even have called the Gardai but once they are there they have to ensure that no laws are being broken. By your reasoning you would have to fork out for Garda protection that you never wanted in the first place but because someone took offence to your work your now should be saddled with a nice hefty bill.

• No other country in the world would have agreed to terms like these on such valuable prospects. From tin pot dictators to Thatcher’s Britain they all take the majority of the earning from a field. This still leaves the oil companies incredible wealthy and cash rich.

It’s normal business in the oil world.

Until along came Ireland and decides to give it away for tuppence. Shell were hardly going to turn down an offer, that consisted of them providing a thousand jobs and allowing them to keep an estimated 10 billion in revenue that would otherwise have gone to the taxpayer in an normal country.

If you want to know why Ireland will never reach its full potential, never have a strong economy, then look at the likes of EMD here and all the thumbs up he gets. He thinks that this is about hippies etc, fuck the hippies, this is about money and the wealth that should accrue to the owners of that prospect. The people of this country. Until we stop doing things based on some perverse code of “which side do we hate most” and start looking at facts and figures, like a normal country, we are going to be screwed continuously.

• The people who made the deal are gone. What would you suggest? Ireland just pull out of the deal after Shell have invested so much? And when the country is sued and has to pay back all the money that was spent how financially better off will we be?

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Tim there is no need to be so personal. I am also a she and not he and I do not think it is about hippies in fact I never mentioned hippies particularly since hippies are generally a peaceful bunch. The protestors at Corrib are not peaceful and are now redundant.

Shell have gotten the gas, the government messed up big stylie, the fight has been fought and at least in environmental/human health terms some concessions were one. My point is simply that there is no valid environmental or economic protest remaining and I don’t think the protestors should be continuing nor that the government should pay to police them. This is not the Congo which has huge issues within its own boundaries, this is Ireland where people for the most part aren’t shooting each other so I can’t see why they would need private security.

• John 09/02/12 #

Divide and conquer. That’s what this story is about. Why are Shell not being billed for this? Protest is healthy.

• Why should Shell be billed for this? It’s not like they want protesters there.

• The GAA, IRFU and FAI pay the cops for protection at games… None of those organisations want trouble at their games

• That’s a good point.

• That is a fair point Jack however those organisations expect people to turn up to large sporting events and the role to Gardai is H&S and crowd control. Shell on the other hand just want to get on with their job, don’t want large amounts of people putting themselves in danger by interfering with machinery and don’t want any threatening or intimidating behavior. I don’t remember Dublin Corporation having to ask for a large Garda presence when they were putting down the LUAS or the NRA when they were doing up the M50.

Large sporting events that attract a lot of fans demand policing for safety purposes even if it is unnecessary on the day. Large engineering projects on the other hand should not require that level of policing.

• Brain, I see where you are coming from but the question could be asked in the same way of the GAA, they just wanted to host a game. Common Senese says that people some times have too much to drink and ‘threatening or intimidating behavior’, other people just get confused.
      We have Garda presence at games because of experience of trouble in the past. Otherwise stewarts (which there is plenty of) could handle all the H&S Crowd Control.
      People are allowed to protest. Shell’s actions albeit legal were causing the protest, the GAA having a match is also a legal… Why does one not have to bother paying the bill…

• But they aren’t simply protesting Jack. They are constantly breaking many laws.

• I see where you are coming from Jack however there is a difference between me standing on a roadside with a placard and me jumping on trucks, chaining myself to machinery or lying down and blocking the road thereby putting myself in danger. If these protesters were peaceful as people would assert it would probably take one maybe two guards to police the whole thing. I think that everyone can agree on that. If on the other hand it costs €14m over 5 years then I think that if you quoted that figure to anyone who knew nothing about the situation they would probably come to the conclusion that the protest was more than a peaceful one.

The GAA pay because they are putting on an event where they WANT people to turn up and they expect large crowds. Shell on the other hand don’t want anyone to trespass or engage in unlawful acts against a lawful enterprise. Why should Shell be made pay for a protest that they don’t want?

• The Gardaí preserve public order and enforce the law. That is what they are doing. They aren’t there to protect people acting illegally. You seem to think the Gardaí should be getting involved in the politics. Is that really something you think a national police force should do. Would you like an independent police force or one that does it’s job.

• So, we give shell free protection while they rape the country. Boggles the mind.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Protection? Nope they are preventing a bunch of misguided people from hurting themselves and others and as a result they are costing this messed up country money we cannot afford.

Irish people are raping the country, why don’t you protest at that? Support Friends of the Irish Environment, Irish Wildlife Trust etc. by helping them protect valuable habitats, natural history and biodiversity in Ireland from destruction by Irish people. Shell are the least of our worries today, they are watched far more closely than a hundred other far more serious environmental issues which occur daily and perpetrated by Irish people. Ha! If you cared that much about Irish resources you wouldn’t be nearly as concerned about Shell.

• Having read your rants EMD, i’d be grateful if you could please enlighten us to the other 100 environmental scams in the country that, you say, are being ignored…i’m all ears

• EMD 09/02/12 #

D Burns, they are not rants but opinions that you obviously dislike. I didn’t say 100 I said at least 10 and I didn’t say “scams” I said homegrown environmental concerns.

Pollution of groundwater due to one off housing and inappropriate or malfunctioning wastewater treatment systems
      Pollution of groundwater from farming due to poor farming practice
      Illegal turf cutting on designated bogs
      Pollution of watercourses due to ill functioning sewage treatment works
      Destruction of wetlands (including bogs) through drainage, inappropriate development, pollution, extraction, abstraction.
      Poor quality and often dangerous to human health drinking water due to many, if not all, f the above.
      Ignoring EU Directives on all of the above, EU Habitats Directive, Environmental Liabilities Directive, EIA Directive, Water Framework Directive, Freshwater Fish Directive etc. etc.
      Pollution from large scale industrial peat cutting which is not being subjected to the kind of scrutiny and legislative compliance that it should be.
      Poisning of re-introduced birds of prey
      Lack of funding within the NPWS which means the government has the ability to keep them relatively powerless to be able to deal with all the issues they should be.
      Corrupt county councils authorising illegal landfills and quarries although that has been grinding to a halt now with the recent legislative changes.
      Illegal quarries
      Illegal landfills
      Inappropriate works in our rivers, destruction of habitats supporting otter, salmon, crayfish, Freshwater Pearl Mussel.
      The list is endless.

• EMD You mention the following

“Destruction of wetlands (including bogs) through drainage, inappropriate development, pollution, extraction, abstraction.” Shell drilling pipelines through bog land in Mayo is causing destruction such as this

“Poor quality and often dangerous to human health drinking water due to many, if not all, f the above”. Well the levels of aluminum found in local drinking supply in Mayo is 400 times over WHO guidelines

“Ignoring EU Directives on all of the above, EU Habitats Directive, Environmental Liabilities Directive, EIA Directive, Water Framework Directive, Freshwater Fish Directive etc. etc.” Well Shell and the government are ignoring the fact the this area in Mayo is a special area of conservation and that Shells actions are damaging the area and the natural habitats of many species of wildlife

It seems you are actually quite ignorant on what’s happening in Mayo. And I’d be pretty sure that you live in a town/city as you show a great deal of ignorance where rural life is concerned. You’d really want to brush up on your knowledge of environmental scams!

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Ah Poppy the old town vs country chestnut lol, not even worth refuting….

So shell are putting a pipeline through and what do you think happens then? Do they leave a big open hole in the ground without any silt traps, settlement ponds, bunds etc.? Nope they do not, because they have been subject to the EIA process and they have been pulled up on a number of issues they are now under legal obligation to ensure there will be no siltation or polluting discharges to watercourses or waterbodies, they will need to continue monitoring the site until vegetation has restablished and the soil/peat has stabilised. During this time they will be required to monitor water quality, monitor the pollution prevention measures and report on same to the CoCo/EPA/NPWS as appropriate.

So the turf cutters go out on the bog, they cut where they like, release silt/peat into the watercourses and waterbodies, have not carried out any ecological assessment, have no mitigation measures in place and carry out no remediation. So the turf cutters in essence have a far more damaging ecological effect when you consider the mitigation Shell must provide.

Again I never used the word scams and again I can say that Shell will have an environmental impact and the government were a pile of plonkers in terms of economics and the natural environment but Shell are subject to far more restrictions than many everyday activities in Ireland which are more damaging and should be stopped. I am well aware that the pipeline is crossing an SAC but they are doing so in a restricted manner as opposed to the activities which are deemed acceptable because they are not being undertaken by a large multinational corporation.

• These feckin hippys should be made pay every penny of this back, its well known the IRA are down at that camp aswell stirring up trouble so why dont the ’cause’ pay some money towards this bill. muppets.

• The scandal is not the peaceful protests but the disruptive ones.

It’s a blatant attempt to illegally block a project that has gone through just about every proper procedure you can think of.

And still, you have the same old loonies out there who just can’t accept democracy and move on.

There would be little or no cost if these protest were peaceful, but guess what, they aren’t.

• @EMD

You’ve a lot to say. Yet a lot of it is rubbish. If you actually think FF and others didnt personally profit from this shame of a deal then…….. you sir are an idiot!!!!!

It cost us money to give it away and now its costing us money to “protect” it. I feel sorry for the Gardai that have to do theyre job, while theyre getting taxed to the hilt

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Piaras where did agree with what FF & others have done. I think you should look to yourself before accusing others of speaking rubbish and name calling. This article is not about the stupidity of governments past rather about the stupidty of the cost to the taxpayer of maintaining the peace at a redundant protest.

How do you propose to resolve this issue?

• When yez are all finished assessing the expense of protests maybe we should all be investigating the vast sums spent by the state relating to the activities of the IRA and latterly the Real IRA, both of which were not elected representatives of anyone in the South but who contributed in no small way to the state of our current deficit. It is Just possible that both of these entities might be in a position to contribute to some form of attricion instead of attacking the elected politicians down South with drivel at every turn.

• And this relates to the topic on hand how?

• I’m surprised you didn’t throw in the bankers as well there ,,,, ! . There is always one to deflect the story to another topic . This story is about the usual tree buggers that hijack everything on behalf of nobody , Dale farm , occupy dame street and every other protest you want a shake a stick it . We know there is millions wasted in other sectors and let’s deal with that as well but for now let’s look at the waste of money in this story about activists that cost the country money for nothing as they are never going to win. Like the activists that stopped progress on a motorway because a rare snail was found . It’s ludacriss that they are even allowed to object on such nonsensical grounds in that case . Oh we found a spoon that a man 100 years ago used for his breakfast so let’s halt progress and cost tax pagers millions just to see if we can find the plate . The mind boggles . The Garda pander to these muppets because of fear of repercussions or cases of assault taken by them constantly and the ” I know my rights brigade ” … If they did something useful it make people have a level of support for them . Just like the occupy movement , how much have they cost so far , with council bills for collecting their rubbish each week etc .. For what ? So they can sit playing chess all day and look unsightly . The scenes at the pipeline demonstration from the past are all on YouTube and my sympathy was with the Garda , having to deal with these people sitting on the ground . Do they have kids , jobs , where do they get the time to do all the protesting and there answer when you disagree is ” what are you doing for society ” . Maybe the fact that people are working are actively seeking employment is putting more into the country and not sitting on my arse on a road or in a tent in a pointless protest that’s already a given .

Pointless protest is a waste , mass protest is constructive .

• Stay away from the drugs Kevin!!

• Minister for Justice describes a peaceful and legitimate protest as ‘scandalous’

The fact Alan Shatter is Minister for Justice is scandalous in my opinion.

• Its far from a peaceful protest over there

• To echo Karl’s comments if it was peaceful there would be no need for this huge waste of Garda resources. There are peaceful protests outside the Dail everyday that don’t require a large Garda presence. So if the protest is so “peaceful” in Mayo why is there a need for so many Gardai? Not to mention that batty woman driving her car at Gardai some time back, are you telling me that was peaceful? In some states in the US that would be a serious criminal offence.

• It’s nowhere near peaceful or legitimate. Trespass and criminal damage has never been legitimate.

• Trespass should be punishable by death. Imagine going onto land owned by a private corporation who due to the complicitly of FF politicians managed to swindle that land away from the people of this country. Shoot the lot of them, I hope they didn’t harm any fences or railings or anything, would be very sad :(

• First of all Enterprise Oil found the gas not shell, where the raw gas pipeline was intended to go though Glengad and Pollathomas there was a massive landslide, so if this pipeline was put there, then there would be no 14.5 million on Garda.The area would be uninhabitable due to all the toxins and explosions that would of happened. Planning permission was was then denied, shell bought out Enterprise Oil along with statoil and marathon.They then bullied there way in with payouts, put 5 men in prison for the only reason that they needed three proven faults for the pipeline, thus they can now tunnel under the SAC bay. The pipeline will be 12 years or older before any gas is pumped though, and that still has to go though some more planning procedures. People have the right to protest by what ever means to protect them self and their families, The law states that you can use deadly force when some one comes comes on your lands and home; But when a raw gas leak invades your lands and home poisoning your family and farm animals you just have to say it’s all right they had full planning permission, Bullshit, why should the people put up with such a threat because they tell you, only 2 years ago the APB board told the people thy had 30 seconds to kiss their ass goodbye::: Back to the 14.5 over time, it’s a lot more as many Garda who come down then retire with massive pensions due to all the over time the received for coming down, One last fact ; who really owns the oil an gas companies, the Banks own the most shares and not Irish banks. It’s a rotten deal for people that have lived here for generations to have that deadly risk put on them. In most places around the world oil and gas companies buy out the people homes and land around the area, but some old and sick people don’t want to move and the live in fear of an other, that’s right another leak or explosion. All one has to due is look up all the deaths and damage due to oil an gas leaks all over. What real guarantee do we have that it’s 100% safe, over 14.5 million in over time that’s what money will buy. Shame on the Irish Government to continue this on the people who lives are at risk by living where the were born..

• Well said Keith!

• EMD 09/02/12 #

The Garda would protect the people of Ireland if they weren’t all over in the West of Ireland trying to keep a bunch of misguided people from lying under peat lorries and causing meaningless fuss.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Soupy that is an idiotic response, it really is. I think you will find that it is you who are waffling but whatever you are entitled to your opinion as I am to mine. Oh haven’t you been accused of trolling on here before?

• Well done soupy for showing what kind of people the Gardaí are dealing with.

EMD is right. The article doesn’t really address the actual cost of manpower tied up with these “protesters” instead of working elsewhere.

• I think they should have told them that there was a big oil well in Limerick. That way we could get all the crusties and scummers together, lock them in and let them fight it out between them.

• @ workers solidarity You might refer to it as Shells law but it is actually the Public Order Act and the Criminal Damage Act. i suggest you look them up if you plan on continuing to break them.

@martin Why would the Gardaí be removed? Just so the protestors can break whatever law they want?

• well said Keith. as for comment about not needing a police service….well thats just pure BS

• The Garda exist in Shell as an auxilllary private security force for Shell – that’s why its referred to as Shell’s law

• shell cops throwing people into deep ditches http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSMF4GgnC_I&feature=related rather then arresting them.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Steve where are the shots of protestors shouting and threatening people going about their day, telling women that because they were doing a job that their children would be deformed etc. Yeah really whiter than white lot over in Corrib.

What exactly are they still doing over there? If the environment is your concern I can list at least 10 homegrown ones that none of you are protesting about. Ridiculous cost of money and time and I don’t like Alan Shatter but for once I agree with him.

• This man is a disgrace.
    In case he’s forgotten, people in this country have the right to protest.
    I would argue that when the well-being of their families is at issue that right becomes a duty.
    The fact that state employees are being paid to intimidate and assault people on behalf of a foreign multinational is particularly sickening, as those who are being beaten pay the wages of the Garda doing the beating.
    This is yet another example of out-of-touch politicians getting things arse about tit, and then blaming the public.
    Perhaps if they listened to the people and stood up to shell we might have a modicum of respect for them. As it is though-Shatter is just another name on the ever lengthening list of national traitors and scoundrels who could well do with being booted out of office at the earliest opportunity.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Yep disgraceful but I guess those protesting never gave a thought to the economic cost to the country due to their actions. Stopping peat lorries, abusing those contracted to cary out work and costing the country a small fortune-very worthy indeed. How do they fund this behaviour if they are not working?

• @EMD have you actually any knowledge of what’s happening with Shell. Have you been down there to see the destruction they’ve caused?

Firstly they are constructing the highest pressured pipeline in the world that will be ran through peat land prone to landslides.

Secondly despite the locals pleading that the gas be refined offshore Shell aren’t going to do this. Instead it will be refined onshore meaning that on route to that refinery if a leak is to occur which is quite probable given how unstable the peat land is, then local people have about 10 seconds in which to evacuate the area or be blown up given that the gas won’t have that distinct smell we associate it with as that is only added at the refinery.

Thirdly the destruction to the local area has led to a loss of income for many fishermen as Shell’s actions prevent them fishing the area.

Fourthly levels of aluminium found in the local drinking supply since Shell began work were 400 times over the World Health Organisation guidelines.

Fifthly the area Shell are destroying is a special area of conservation. Ireland can be fined by the EU for allowing Shell to dig up and destroy this beautiful area.

And finally (I could go on all day with a list of what Shell have done). The Irish people gain nothing from allowing Shell in. We removed all royalties and any taxes charged can be written off by shell. We have to buy our own gas back on the markets at full international price.

I have family in Mayo were this is going on. I’ve been down there to witness it first hand. The people of this area are possibly some of the nicest people you could meet in Ireland. They’d give you the shirt off there back and they remind me of the sort of friendly people Ireland is famous for. Yet Shell are destroying their lifes and in-dangering them. It disgusts me the way that people label them. Unless you have done your own independent research on the Shell fiasco and you’ve been down there to meet the people affected, then you have no grounds to go shouting your mouth off about it.

I’ve seen the ridiculous amount of Gardai down there -sometimes on days when there’s no protesting and I’ve also seen the way the Gardai and Shell’s security men treat the local people when they hold peacful protests.

What happened to freedom of speech? What happened to standing up for our own people. If you want to blame someone blame the government and get up of your arse and actually see for yourself what is happening in Mayo. And ask yourself this; How would you like the highest presured pipeline constructed by a company with an appalling safety and environmental record, running through the bottom of the garden your children play in. Please people wake up and see what’s really happening!

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Yes Poppy I do know what is happening down there.

Yes Poppy I know about peat stability issues and I also know that this pipeline is one of the most heavily policed in the country in terms of environmental monitoring. I also know that they are required to mitigate their impacts and I also know the effort and cost that they are being forced to go to in terms of remediation and compensatory works.

With regard to the human element, I have no doubt there were some saftey issues but again they have been brought to task on this.

Fisherman are not being prevented from fishing and that is just spin from the anti-shell camp.

Heavy metals etc. are a threat to groundwater thoughout the country and are activities causing such pollution are allowed to continue daily without any monitoring or insufficient monitoring. At least the Shell pipeline is under such scrutiny and subject to such intensive monitoring you can be assured that they will have to comply with all H&S measures.

Finally going through the SAC should never had happened but now it has and at least they are being forced to pay for ongoing remediation and monitoring. So if you feel strongly about the SAC why not lend to support to helping stop the illegal cutting of designated bog SAC? That is an even worse example of destruction of the countryside especially when you consider that only a small number of environmental groups with hardly any funds are the only ones trying to stop this illegal behaviour which results in destruction of habitat, pollution of waters and increases floodrisk downstream.

Yes whatever did happen to free speech?

• garCPD 09/02/12 #

Why do we the taxpayers have to pay for the Garda overtime to protect the Shell site? Why are Shell not levied/invoiced for this cost?

• Hold on, on any economic decision that a government makes, they have to take into account expenses such as security prior to making that decision. That forms part of the decision making process. It will especially be part of the process if fracking goes ahead in N Leitrim and W Fermanagh given dissident activity in the area. That has to be balanced against tax/royalty take and any employment uplift. While it may be a significant outlay, the government got it wrong – This was the time when both government and opposition were all talking about light regulation – and so the government has ended up with a large bill to pay, and now seeks to deflect that blame on the protestors, rather than their own public servants who were supposed to be analysing costs for this project. I do hope they do a better job when they look at the whole fracking debate, but sadly I fear analytical minds are missing in many of our public servants, representatives, and our media.

• What about option 3, no police force. The police exist only to protect private property and the interests of the elite. No police force, no massive bill. Problem solved.

• 14.5 million is nothing compared to what we lost when that resource was sold for the bargain price of 1 euro! shocking!! fair play to protesters, the Garda should helping them get back what was robbed from us!

• Darragh you totally contradict yourself in the space of two sentences! “that resource was sold ” but one line later you want to “get back what was robbed”. Which is it? Answers to Ray Burke and FF HQ as they are the people who sold/ threw/gave away the rights and royalties to those resources.

• I don’t see the contradiction. I was outlining the fact that the figure of 14.5 million the protest costs is small in comparison to what the FF threw away. And the figure of 14.5 million is not the issue that should be focused on. The government and the Irish people should be fully behind this protest. Not to mention the land owners who’s civil rights are being trampled on!!

• Some commenters here (and Minister Alan Shatter) argue that people from outside northwest Mayo are not entitled to protest against Shell’s experimental inland refinery and high-pressure raw gas pipeline. Does this apply to all campaigning and protest? The thousands of people in Ireland who campaigned against South African apartheid: most of them had never been to South Africa and didn’t know any black South Africans. Does this mean they had no right to protest about apartheid?

Northwest Mayo is remote, sparsely populated and long ignored by politicians. People who live there really need support from elsewhere and they have always welcomed it.

Let’s look at the “outsiders” involved in this dispute:
    - hundreds of Gardai bussed in from other parts of Ireland;
    - hundreds of IRMS security from around Europe;
    - Shell workers, many from elsewhere;
    - the shareholders of Shell, Statoil and Vermillion around the world;
    - Alan Shatter and various ministers past and present who have pushed this disastrous project.

But the local people defending their community should not ask for help from outside?

• paul 09/02/12 #

well the reason for the large gardai presence is simple. OVERTIME for the gardai. interesting that in they spent over 5 times as much on overtime in in 2008 2009 and 2010 compared to the last 2 years. it shows that the gardai were wasting money on resources for no reason. how did they manage the last 2 years while only spending 1/5 of the money on overtime compared to other years.
    fair play to the protesters also, it is a disgrace plain and simple what the government have done with this and people saying oh just forget about and move on and let them away with it is incredible.

• you sir are spouting ill informed rhetoric which bears no resemblance to balanced objective debate. a lot of the expenses requiring overtime are investigations into serious organised and subversive crime..maybe think before you spout rubbish

• paul 09/02/12 #

did you read my post colm. the figures are official and this relates to only the protests at corrib. have the numbers of protesters dropped by 80% in the last 2 years. if so then fine. if not then how have the overtime costs dropped by that amount. the answer is simple.

• simple fact being the protests have dropped in numbers AND in their methods. you seem to think that a major protest can be policed effectively without overtime..love to hear your suggestion. you placed overtime in caps i simply stated that it is a necessary evil in service as a whole

• paul 09/02/12 #

well why don’t you stick to the subject. this is about the situation in corrib, not overtime as a whole. The number of protesters i can assure you is not down 80% in the last 2 years, far from it.

• paul..they have dropped in numbers and thankfully in the intensity of illegal actions that explains the drop in cost

• The Gardai always use more men than they have to with most of them asking to go there just for a gawk. Protesting is just very un-Irish and these people must seem like aliens to Gardai. Remember when there was a protester tunnel dwelling at the site of the M3, it took 20 guards to deal with this one man, a peaceful protester. Ditch the groupie mentality and earn your bloody pensions.

• Keystone cops chase london cops @ taxpayers expense While in the golden mile boy’s are living it up on the back http://youtu.be/5QkXvDeDdlQ of shell oils record profits WTF ?? farewell piccadilly so long leicster square ?? ‘Tis a long way to Tipperary ??

• There is no oil province in the world that returns value in year one, they all do it over 10-15 yr span. That is normal. Your factoring in the establishment of an Irish Stat oil, why – maybe if there is more provinces but not now. Why didn’t we do, like every other country in the world, that has test wells coming up.

You say that the tax take is only 500mn out of 13bn. That is the whole problem, there are oil wells in England, near London, that produce 50 barrels a day that are taxed at 62%. In Norway at 80% and many others at 90%.

The oil industry think we are fools for giving it away at the level we do, do you think that Thatcher would have allowed it. Not a freaking hope.

Add New Comment