TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

MEP claims garda assault during Shell protest

Socialist Party and United Left Alliance MEP Paul Murphy believes garda actions at yesterday’s protest showed “very conscious” efforts to inflict pain.

Image: via Paul Murphy MEP

DUBLIN MEP Paul Murphy has accused gardaí of assaulting him and other demonstrators during a protest against the ongoing construction of an onshore pipeline and a Shell refinery at Bellinaboy, Co Mayo.

The MEP says he was part of a Socialist Party delegation which travelled to Rossport yesterday evening in support of the continuing protests. The delegation heard that protesters had stopped a construction truck and that one had climbed on top.

Approaching the truck and seeing that gardaí intended to remove the man using a cherry picker, the group sat down on the road in front of the truck to prevent garda access to the vehicle.

More gardaí arrived on the scene and began pulling people up off the road, according to the MEP.

Murphy told TheJournal.ie he was stunned at what he describes as the gardaí’s “very conscious attempt to inflict pain on people”.

“They were shouting at each other, ‘go for their pressure points’,” he said, adding that he left the scene with a sore jaw and ribs, and torn clothing.

The man on the truck was subsequently removed by gardaí and charged for public order offences, according to gardaí.

The Garda Ombudsman’s office said that they do not comment on individual cases. However, Paul Murphy said today that he has not yet made an official complaint to the Ombudsman and plans to do so in the coming days.

Murphy says the protests will continue in Co Mayo and while he is not optimistic that Shell will be convinced by the action to change their plans, he hopes that “a significant-enough movement can be built up to prevent them” from going ahead with the current operation.

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• MEPs: Stick to the EU parliment. Shell: Move the damn thing to the coastline as in Fishguard. Guards: Calm down, it’s just bringing bad press. Everyone else: have a nice weekend!

• Dublin MEP since April 1st. Unelected, co-opted to replace Joe Higgins.
    No wonder he’s in Mayo looking for publicity, no-one knows who he is! Gobshite.

• Shock horror a little known MEP ensures his name gets published, after a long day of self promotion on social media outlets. If he protested without obstructing the police or traffic I’m sure he wouldn’t have been forcibly removed. Isn’t he an MEP for Dublin? Why is he in Mayo?

• With gas prices on the rise only here would individuals object to introducing cheaper gas into the Irish grid… Idiots. Most of the local residents who all objected to this project have stopped now but we now have anarchists who are in receipt of public wages out in marches against reducing costs for the common man and woman…

• The idiots are the government who practically gave it away to Shell and will tax them at a far lower rate than any other country charges exploration companies. Shell will charge Irish people the International going rate for gas NOT a reduced price as Pat Rabitte incorrectly stated. It will not be cheaper gas, your argument is flawed.

• Eggfuel use your real name before talking absolute crap. The community is deeply divided on the issue. Hundreds are still against the project. Spend some time up there yourself before you make armchair statements.

• Cheaper gas. Ha. The facts are there if you care to look.

• As Richard says, your argument is entirely flawed. There will be no cheaper gas into the Irish grid if the pipeline is built. None whatsoever. The gas has been given away to Shell and will be sold back to us at international market rates.
      I and other protesters are in favour of bringing the gas into democratic public ownership (there’s around €10bn+ in Corrib alone and over €500bn off the west coast of Ireland) and using this vast wealth to create jobs, provide people with lower priced gas, invest in renewable energy etc. etc. So if you want cheaper gas, you should be joining the protests really.

• Unelected thugs will do anything for a bit of press, won’t they?

• I presume you mean gardai as unelected thugs, as the other main protagonist is an An MEP

• I have been engaging in protests like this in Rossport since 2006 and have spent a fair bit of time down there with the local community helping out the campaign. I don’t intend to stop now, just because I’m an MEP. And if I’m subject to Garda brutality (like I have been repeatedly in the past in Rossport), yeah, I do intend to use the fact that I’m an MEP now to get some publicity for the Garda brutality there. Because the ongoing abuse of protesters on a literally daily basis, is outrageous. The media generally hasn’t covered it. The fact that an MEP has now been assaulted too is another angle to try to expose it.

• Dvonne 27/08/11 #

By the sound of it you were dragged off the road because you wouldn’t get up off it… how noble of you…. and you may be getting a bit of publicity but you’re not getting much sympathy from my reading of this.

• All men have equal rights to liberty, to their property and to the protection of the law.
      Voltaire

• Dvonne 27/08/11 #

And after looking it up I might add that you’ve gotten bugger-all publicity bar on this website.

• Would u ever get over yourself, Paul Murphy MEP.

• Anonymous and Dave

Thanks for your posts.
    I’m so disappointed by the negative reactions from a lot of posters here.
    Do they not realise that the gas belongs to us? Yes, US the people of Ireland.
    That Ray Burke gave it away to Shell for a song?
    Dave, I hope your right, that the ‘deal’ FF did and who got what for it will come out.
    I pray it will come out.

• Really hate left wing gobshites that halt progression. I wonder how many people from Mayo were at the protest. This idiot should of being arrested

• It’s not progression. We are giving away our natural assets so that American, British, Norwegian and other foreign companies and citizens can make billions, while all we in Ireland will get is a few thousand jobs at best and nothing more (other than corporation tax). Progression my arse. Why did we not take the Norwegian approach? If we had taken that approach we would have had those same few thousand jobs, wiped out our national debt, created an energy independent and exporting Ireland, as well as had several hundred billion euro left over to do with as we please. But oh no, people like you just don’t want to question the infallible status quo. Suck it all up. And when things go wrong or there are injustices simply pretend they don’t exist.

• Well said Brian,
      cant believe the amount of dipshits around here

• I really hope The Journal does some serious research into fracking – seriously guys – for all the good things I could say about Canadians they seem to be hell-bent to destroy their environment (and economy). The tar sands project is wreaking havoc and causing terrible sicknesses (especially among the indigenous). The Canadian government is selling off all their resources to the USA at piss poor prices while the US hoards it all. Fracking poisons the planet and the people on it.

• Glad to read all the above comments. Common sense prevails. Time for these so-called protestors to S.U.M.O. = shut up, move on.

• How many protestors are blow-ins, tourist whiners, with state welfare supporting them? The only jobs The Socialist Party (weird Stasi era sounding stuff) have created are most likely fr it’s own. No change there.

• Dave very simple reason why I can’t protest. I have to work to pay the bills. Don’t think work would be too happy of I just didn turn up one day so I could sit on the middle of a road blocking a truck. And when I get the sack I don’t think the bank would take that as a valid excuse either.

• Cormac.

You don’t have to go to Mayo to to protest or to have an opinion for that matter.

And maybe now (while you still have a job) its time to stand up to your corrupt bank like other people are successfully doing.

From a financial point of view fair plate of the people in the middle east !!

From 30 odd years ago they were a simple people with little money and English language, living in a desolate desert land with the odd fishing village
    Fast forward to today where they are flying around in ”Private” 747′s, buying (for cash) streets in prime areas in the top western cities, with the worlds leaders on their speed dial pandering to their every need.

Whilst our fine leaders worry about their expenses,pensions and about trying not to upset their ”owners”

http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0124/burker.html

• Wow! While I have no time for the party he belongs to I have to say I’m surprised at the comments so far.
    The government ‘contract’ for this gas is an act of economic treason against this nation and it is well documented (in video) that the Gardai have used excessive force against protestors in Rossport.

• And the protesters are innocent?

• your right mate corporate greed and money assholes don’t know what they chatting about !!!!! What is Ireland inc making out of this ??? love to see the figures

• You are right but then again most of the angry men commenting here have previous form and never seem to read beyond the first paragraph before their rage kicks in

• Perhaps the only asset this country has left are our natural resources, and no matter what one thinks of the socialist party, they are right about one thing and that is Shell are getting away with robbery, they were handed “OUR” gas by Ray Burke, yes remember him? and anyone who thinks that Shell are going to give us cheap gas, for Gods sake cop on! Are the banks we rescued giving us cheap mortgages? are the IMF/EU giving us a cheap bailout? are the bondholders taking a haircut? are the large pharma companies situated here giving us cheap drugs? even the electricity company that gets its energy from the free air are uping the charges on electricity, Shell aint here to help us and anyone that thinks otherwise should look at their history before ranting populist slogans

• Ireland Inc they reckon is getting 7% of profits. 7% of declared profits after all expenses!!!

• Unelected MEP? Earns about â

• So everybody here is happy to see the gardai assaulting a public representative and other peaceful protesters. People here have a pretty loose grasp of the law if they think setting out to injure somebody protesting is legal. If the protesters were doing anything illegal the gardai could have arrested them, so I wonder why they didn’t?

It’s only a matter of time before someone gets seriously hurt over in Mayo. We’ve already had Shell hiring fascist thugs who later turned up in Bolivia trying to launch a military coup against a democratically elected government but everyone here seems to think it’s perfectly fine for the gardai to turn into hired mercenaries for Shell as well.

I suppose given the recession we can’t expect first world standards of policing or human rights and should be grateful to have our natural resources raped for no return like in Nigeria.

• what evidence do you have that the gardai assaulted him. pressure points could easily be a reference to trying to break up a human chain. as is their court appointed legal obligation.
      also the protest was about bogus safety concerns for a year until they transformed into an economic protest.
      every single scandal about that whole was completely overblown.

• Denis 27/08/11 #

I’m not happy with the level of force used.
      Too soft, a few split heads could knock some sense into this rabble.
      Who wants to arrest that lot anyway, probably not enough room for them at the station and could you imagine the smell of few of them in the same area.

• 27/08/11 #

most of the comments here are an ignorant disgrace. as someone previously said say burke gave it away, and then in the 90s that idiot bertie made the deal even sweeter. now he sits on at least 2 foreign boards I know of vying to privately purchase natural resources such as our forests. the people in rossport had to change their argument to am economic one because it was the only way they could raise awareness since we generally care very much for money and not for the welfare of our fellow citizens having to face their environs being destroyed, their livelihoods being taken away whilst living under the threat of volatile unprocessed fuel being piped inland which has never been done anywhere else in the world because of the dangerous unpredictability. not to mention the stress and pain of having the gardai who are supposed to be there for the protection of the rights of irish people instead betraying us and treating us like degenerates.

• Great to see the reactionary posts in this thread . An MP and several peaceful protesters were assaulted by the Gardai and people are weighing in to say “more and harder” .

Hope to whatever you believe in that the Gardai don’t take this as carte blanch to crack skulls should you ever be forced to protest the sell off of our natural resources , the closing of a hospital or the education cuts . Or the incoming water charges . or any dire attack on your living standards.

But hey , its fun to rage on the internet , it means never having to look someone in the eye as you spew uniformed hatred of people fighting for your rights .

• yet another case of gardai being nothing short of bully’s throwing their weight aroud. simple as. i’ve heard of more than one story of gardai using their power to get theri own way. one friend was bet savagely by a detective in a cell and my own father was harassed for driving in front of a off duty darda forcing him to slow down to the usual speed limit. only 2 cases of gardai abusing their power!!

• your friend was beaten savagely?

we have a very good police ombudsman you know?

• Your father driving in front of another person to slow him down. A person who happens to be a Garda. How did he know who the driver was, Sean Joe Kearns? Was he “stalking” this person who happens to be an off duty Garda ? Sounds like you & your father are not shy about doning the self righteous attitude yourselves & harrassing others when u think it suits. “Savagely beaten” ? My arse !! Get a grip & don’t be so childish.

• Your comment bears not relation to the story reported but merely vents your anger with your personal experience Gardai.

Add New Comment