TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Government “strongly disagrees” with decision not to conduct public Finucane inquiry

Speaking in the Dáil today both Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said they would continue to seek a public inquiry.

Geraldine Finucane (centre) and her two sons Michael (right) and John (left) at a press conference in Westminster today.
Image: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said the government “strongly disagrees” with the decision by the British government not to conduct a public inquiry into the murder of solicitor Pat Finucane.

Speaking in the Dáil today, Kenny said the De Silva report, and Prime Minister David Cameron’s statement today, acknowledge the “shocking extent of state collusion” in the man’s murder and the efforts to subvert and frustrate subsequent investigations into that murder.

While he welcomed Cameron’s condemnation of the “nature and scale of collusion” by security forces, Kenny said the government’s position is that there should be a “full, independent, public inquiry”.

“We have also consistently supported the Finucane family in their efforts to ascertain the full extent of collusion behind Pat Finucane’s murder and the subsequent investigations,” Kenny said in the Dáil.

“I have also spoken today with Geraldine Finucane and I know that the family are not satisfied with today’s outcome.”

Kenny said Finucane’s wife Geraldine has “campaigned tirelessly for the truth about her husband’s murder”.

The Taoiseach said he and the British Prime Minister have agreed to discuss the matter with a view to “redoubling” the commitment to work together to support and develop peace in Northern Ireland.

Speaking in the Dáil today Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said the government will continue to set out why it believes the matter is best served by a public inquiry.

“The Irish Government will continue therefore to seek a public inquiry into the murder of Pat Finucane as committed to in the agreements,” he said.

Related: Report on Pat Finucane murder uncovers “shocking levels” of state collusion>

Read next:

Comments (66 Comments)

• Without being a conspiracy theorist, it sure makes you wonder if this is what we are finding out, God alone knows what’s going on that we never find out about.

• The Stevens Inquiry by of the London Met. opened up a lot of worms for the British Army and establishment. His office burned down after it was published. His report was edited and cut down and a small version came out, much to his outrage.

One point that always struck me was that out of the hundreds of UVF men that he looked at and investigated that only 4 of them were not working for the state as agents.

Whatever about conspiracies elsewhere, they was only one badly hidden one in Ireland. Loyalist paramilitaries were run, supported and commanded by the Security forces and that killing was a state tool. Govts here knew that but went along with it.

• That is so true, and I would think it’s not only in this instance, or this country, or this continent for that matter!!

• The british Government have again admitted their security agents organised, armed, provided the intelligence, provided operatives and finally covered up and protected the loyalist gunmen who murdered IRISH passport holding citizens in their own country. What other state in the world would react in such a limo way as our lackeys in Fine Gael and Labour (BTW, FF would be no different. Finally I don’t believe for a second that they didn’t know this was going on and in fact not only did nothing but colluded with those same security forces by providing information on Irish citizens to the British.

• People are against so many things that their intellects have Jammed. FF did and would handle British/Anti Catholic schemers better.

• Tom. FF never acted any differently over the last 40 years, why would they now? All they would have done is ask for a payment. When one considers the vast corruption and criminality that defined FF. It is impossible not to imagine that an enterprising Mi6 spook wouldn’t have arranged for envelopes of sterling to pass over. A dig out as such.

• “Government “strongly disagrees” with decision not to conduct public Finucane inquiry “but will refuse to do anything about it.

Was there ever a Govt. here in the last 40 years that actually gave a toss about the Irish people above those in power or being good little boys to their self-perceived betters.

• “Strongly disagrees”. yah that’ll scare them

• Compare and contrast the difference between how Kenny attacks Gerry Adams over Jean Mc Conville with little evidence and the mealy mouthed way he criticises the British with loads of evidence that implicate it in Pat Finucanes murder.

• One was the brother of terrorists and the solicitor of terrorists, the other was a woman showing compassion to a dying man. They are both hideous crimes, but not everything can be equated to each other.

• @prof even the british press has now accepted that jean mc conville was an informer. the dying soldier line was put out by the army at the time as part of the propaganda war. seems you still want to believe it though. she should never have died anyway as pat finucane should not have

• I cannot believe some of the comments I have read here . I think they are incredible ! So what if this man represented ‘terrorists, that did not make this man one ! If you follow this logic then all solicitor who represents murderers are murderers themselves !

Just in case people have forgotten this man was not accused of any terrorism activities. He was murdered in cold blood on front of his own family .
    Shame in anyone who tried to make excuses for this action by blaming his associates or his family .
    The whole point of this article is to show the cover up job done by Britain on this mans murder . And those who have nothing to hide … Hide nothing !

• this lad was brilliant at his job, he represented everyone who crossed his door….and his success level was high….brits were sick of him getting IRA men off the hook so they shot him.

• You are all missing the point , in my opinion. It seems to be a monumental cover up. The British Government appear to be hiding. The family are , apparently , correct. A public enquiry is the only way forward.
    Cameron is hiding behind a very limited enquiry.

• I think the point that Katia is making is that 2 families are hurting and the Irish government are failing to support either.. maybe I’m wrong? .. Katia.. I don’t think you can really compare the 2 stories because we don’t have all the facts in Savita’s case yet, she wasn’t murdered.. Pat Finucane was…

• Joan, you have picked me up right,thank you! I couldn’t quite understand the angry backlash! And agreed Savita wasn’t murdered. I was just trying to say that both families would feel a life has been stolen. Anyway,I’ll shut up for now as I’ll only dig another hole for myself!!

• Katia.. Everyone’s comment is valuable & everyone is entitled to express their opinion.. including you!! ; ))

• phil 12/12/12 #

People tend to forget when they talk of the IRA what 60s Northen Ireland was like. Yet the same people would credit Mandela for taking up arms in order to get equal rights. The fact remains the IRA brought the British to the negotiating table. Killing of innocent people is wrong no mattr what way you look at it. Before you go making accusations about this mans brothers do some research as to the reasons they joined the IRA.

• Phil,
      All I can say is face palm.

• phil 12/12/12 #

What mehoop if your house was raided just because you seen yourself as Irish. Housing,healthcare, education and employment opportunities denied for the same reasons. Army and law enforcement completely against you. Internment, shoot to kill just because you where suspected of been involved. It was so bad a former Irish President compared it to the treatment of jews in 30s Germany. Meehoop now what would you have done.

• The actions of the British security and the actions of those who covered up this crime are disgraceful . Only people with brass balls like the British would refuse to conduct a public enquiry on this matter and hold those responsible accountable ! If the shoe was on the other foot you may be sure that the British would Demand a Public enquiry not any ‘ encourage one ‘ !!’

• The real victims of the British government whitewash today are its own people that have been denied the truth of what was done in their name.

• Most of the Irish political elite since 1950’s onwards didn’t give a toss about Irish citizens north of the border of finding out about the Dublin and Monaghan bombings.british air force aircraft are still allowed into Irish airspace by successive governments.sell off of natural resources to foreign ownership and control for a pittance have shown to be traitors & lackeys if also to Britain but at the present time to troika eu desires.FG the Irish Branch of the British Tory party will do sweet FA about any follow up.

• No Mention today to of Pat Finucane’s two brothers , Seamus and Dermot , both of whom were Senior Commanders within the PIRA , who were actively involved in a “War” against the British establishment at the time their brother was murdered. Have they any comment to make today .

• Yes, but what do you suggest we do? Invade them?

• Adhere to the weston park agreement? What’s your suggestion, allow for the murder of Irish citizens by the British state with absolutely no response?

• I don’t know, but government-sponsored assassinations happen all the time. It would be naive to think otherwise, and when they are in the context of a war (whether cold, hot, or somewhere in between) they may well be justifiable in order to defend national security. Unfortunately sometimes that line is crossed, as certainly appears to be the case here, but significant blame must lie with the perpetrator of the war – in this case the terrorist group, the IRA. There is one inescapable fact: if the IRA were not committing terrorist atrocities against the British, Mr Finucane would not have been murdered. The British were most definitely and unequivocally wrong to collude where they did, but the IRA cannot walk away from responsibility here either.

• Both of his brothers aer very quiet today . Serious questions need to be asked there . Can’t foresee a Happy Xmas in the Finucane household.

• Professor Mehoop. For a Professor, you are not very included in your history. British Military forces have always been very pro-active in getting their retaliation in first. The killings of random Catholics was a consistent event by the RUC on a regular basis for the proceeding 50 years before the “troubles” started.

The first RUC men and Soldiers killed were by Loyalists, some of whom went on to be very successful killers of Catholics with British support.

For some in the South the IRA can do no wrong but for some people, often those in politics or media here, the UFF could do no wrong either.

Your no different to any sneaking regarder of killers, you don’t have the balls yourself to say it straight out that you support them.

• Stephen,

Not sure what you mean by “not very included in your history.”

I have absolutely no problem whatsoever in declaring that I am eternally grateful to whatever goes on behind the scenes that keeps my family and me safe in our cities and in our neighbours’ cities. If that means preemptive attacks on terrorists, then bring it.

Clear enough for you?

• That wasn’t clear by me.

Professor Mehoop thanks for being so clear on your support for Loyalist terrorism. You must have been gutted that they didn’t burn that police woman a few nights back. Maybe you should up your donations.

• Stephen,
      Such logic by you indicates your level of intelligence. I have no desire to converse with double-digiters.

• peter 12/12/12 #

What happens when they get it wrong & kill an innocent man & leave his children without their father ? what if it happened to you ? What if those same people protecting you shot you 14 times in front of your children ? This man was executed because he was a human rights solicitor not a terrorist.

• Peter,

I think you might have missed the point a bit. His murder was wrong, as I have already stated, and one which I condemn. My other point was on the sometimes necessity to remove terrorist threats before they become real. Mr Finucane was not one of them.

However, the “human rights lawyer” term is used a bit too easily.

“Finucane was a lawyer who was a faithful servant of a terrorist group that carried out in his lifetime many hundreds of vicious murders that he himself condoned.” – good piece by Ruth Dudley Edwards that might challenge perspectives a bit. (http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/ruthdudleyedwards/100193952/pat-finucane-was-shockingly-murdered-but-that-doesnt-make-him-a-human-rights-lawyer/)

• Thought the IRA was and is still considered as a group of dissidents/terrorists. Wonder if any of you guys would have been so supportive of Ossama Bin Laden! Come on the red thumbs….. But honey belongs to the bee

• Nelson Mandela, widely regarded as one of the worlds greatest leaders was once called a terrorist but do i equate him with Osama Bin Laden? No, i see through the rather propaganist term of “terrorist” as it clearly shows bias- in nearly all cases i use militants as it stops the confusion you obviously have. I see however that bombard the IRA with abuse have yet to appear- I wonder why?

• @bunga what hve his brothers got to do with it. he was murdered for giving legal representation to those that where entitled to it if guilty or innocent of the allegation. the security services had him murdered. how can his brothers be in any way responsible

• @mehoop Is a solicitor who represents a person on rape charges to be deemed a rapist themselves?

Damn these ‘terrorist’ solicitors with their uncanny ability to use the law in a court of law. It’s almost as if they want their clients to be innocent until proven guilty. The cheek!!

I’ve read that article, an article that for some reason had a go at the late Pat Finucane for attending college in Trinity at the expense of the British taxpayer. Christ, it’s as if these people now want an education also!

Don’t give me this green v orange shite this is about civilised society and this mans murder for daring to use the legal process. Lawyers everywhere should be extremely worried by these events.

• peter 12/12/12 #

Patrick

I did not miss any of your point, I asked you a question & you chose not to answer it. Your quote & link are from someone I generally would not read but at least you have giving me the opportunity to realise why.

• Maybe those red ignorant thumbs still think the IRA is a group of honest politicians cum angels…. Lmfao

• Hear hear Professor. The murder of Pat Finucane and the collusion of state authorities was wrong. However, I’ll save my sympathies for the victims of the real atrocities of the Troubles (Eniskillen, Monaghan, Omagh, Dublin, etc.) Rather than for a terrorists solicitor whose actions facilitated the heinous crimes committed by his IRA clients.

• Sinn Fein and Gerry Adams and Good old Prez Martin were always saying that in war there is always casualties. He is just one of them. The Shinners and supporters on this never worry about other people that were killed and the ones that were innocent but in the wrong place at the wrong time. If people moved on and stopped living in the past, life would be a lot nicer and peaceful. You only have to see the trouble with the Union Jack, half of the ones who were throwing stones at the police were not even born when all the murdering was going on yet they will grow up as bigoted at the rest of them. Time for people to move on with their lives and stop living in the shadows of the past. There will never be peace in Northern Ireland as both sides are filled with hatred from the very young to the very old.

• “Both sides” what planet are you on? Let me guess Planet Free State. Do you see Nationalists rioting because the Tricolour is not flying over Belfast City Hall or Stormont?

• Perhaps, kenny, could run to the germans and tell them about the big bad brits !!

• who gives a shit…………..MOVE ON you seriosly want an enquiry………………let ireland pay for it lololol

• although I agree with supporting the right the family to obtain as much justice as they can, I can’t.help but think they were not that supportive to Savita’s husband. I guess it’s easier when it’s a different country that has to cough up the money for the enquiry.

• The British bombed Sackville Place in 1972 murdering two CIE workers and injuring 70 people, they did this so as to influence a Dail vote on Section 30 of the Offenses against the State Act.

The British bombed Dublin & Monaghan two years later murdering, men, women, children and unborn babies and injuring over 300.

Successive Free State Governments allowed the British to get away with these heinous crimes, is it any wonder that the British had no problems murdering 1600 others as well as Pat Finucane over a 30 year period?

I say “1600 others” because republicans have always known that the British controlled the loyalist death squads, now even trash tv, tabloid loving trolls, INM loving trolls, Irish Times loving trolls, Cork Examiner (sic) loving trolls, members of Fine Gael, FF, labour etc are finally facing up to what happened in this Country.

As for Enda Kenny not being happy, the brits must be quaking in their boots.

Add New Comment