TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Personal insolvency agency to open ‘early in the summer’ – Taoiseach

Enda Kenny told the Dáil that he was not happy with the banks’ level of resolution of cases where customers are in mortgage arrears.

Enda Kenny in the Dáil this morning
Image: Screengrab

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that he expects the new personal insolvency agency will open its doors “early in the summer” and hopes that between now and then banks will engage with mortgage holders who are in arrears.

Kenny told the Dáil during Leaders’ Questions that he was not pleased with the level of distressed mortgages being resolved by the banks and said that offering interest-only arrangements was not a sustainable solution.

He suggested that in some cases debt write downs should be considered.

“I’m not happy at all with level of resolution that’s been involved here,” Kenny told the Dáil this morning as he was pressed on the matter by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin.

Martin told the Dáil that the number of mortgages in some form of distress in Ireland – which he put at 180,000 – was “truly a national emergency that demands a significant response”.

Kenny said that the new personal insolvency bill – which most notably reduces the term of bankruptcy from 12 years to three – had been passed into law and that the state agency responsible for helping people manage their debt “will open its doors early in the summer”

He said that it was his hope that between now and then that banks will “get on” with dealing with mortgage holders who are in arrears and said that write downs should be considered in some cases.

“Issues that were raised here in the house following the Keane report [on mortgage arrears, published in 2011] have been followed through and implemented but not to the extent that one would wish in terms of the different resolution strategies,” Kenny said.

He added that the Central Bank required lenders to submit options they propose to deal with those in mortgage distress including split mortgages, trade-down mortgages, and restructuring of debt.

Patrick Honohan: ‘Household financial distress is at unprecedented levels’

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• Early summer. Yeah good one enda. We haven’t had a summer here for years.

• JakkiB 13/02/13 #

I can see the seeds being sown for Bank bailout number 2

• Endas solution to people’s problems go bankrupt but make sure the taxpayer pays other people’s debt for forty years

• AUXRED 13/02/13 #

Enda stating the obvious again.

• Write down any mortgages held by Irish banks to 110% of FMV, the capital has already been invested apart from the moral hazard argument which only holds water in a buoyant economy I can’t really see a problem.

• Scarr 13/02/13 #

Thanks to the home owner tax a value will be placed on everyone’s home by revenue (albeit in 50k bands) – so just use middle of the revenue band plus a %. Write down all mortgages to that and lets get a functioning economy going.

• The Mule 13/02/13 #

Would you mind if I halved my rental payments to match? Cheers.

• Scarr 13/02/13 #

Talk to your landlord.

• @The Mule, might not be possible but you find it easier to move to a cheaper property

@Scarr, good idea

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

@Mule
      Begrudge much?

Which is it, pissed people took out mortgages and you didn’t, pissed they’re in negative equity and your not or just pissed because you have to pay rent for where you live.

If renting is too high for you take out a mortgage, house prices are cheaper now, you’ll get a bargain.

Or go back and stay at your ma’s :)

• The Mule 13/02/13 #

None of those options obviously. I’m annoyed that I’m paying too high a rent with the option to buy at too high a price because so many other people are being allowed to live beyond their means in houses they can’t afford. Not only that but I’m being asked to accept tax increases to cover their mortgage writedowns.

I played by the rules, took a safe bet so why should I also lose out?

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

Daft.ie mate cheaper accommodation for people like you who like to live whithin their means. I mean there’s no point moaning about high rent if you can’t afford it.

Consider your self lucky that you can pack up and change address with out so much as a single problem. Others have a life time of negative equity to pay back due to reckless lending. And they can’t just pack up and leave.
      The banks have already been capitalised twice to cover themselves incase of martgage default, constantly increase interest rates and your moaning about renting. Not the same thing mate.

• The Mule 13/02/13 #

I can afford it you goose. I’d just rather not have to if everyone else is getting off on paying their housing costs.
      The banks have been capitalised with my money. Again, I’d rather that money was given back to me and didn’t wind its way up into the hands of the financially feckless.

• Is Kenny having a giraffe??????? Telling the banks to consider giving debt write downs to mortgage holders in arrears!!!! If it’s good enough for the individual why is it not good enough for the country!!!!???

• M Bowe 13/02/13 #

Re read para 2 and 3. Interest only payments not viable solution and write down is nessessary. This from the guy who claiming last wks IRBC fiasco is a positive development.

• this should have been the first item on the agenda for this government, some debt relief or extension etc for this many households could have allowed a lift to the stagnant domestic economy, but no, they prefer to leave it till its on the brink of a crises and many homes that could have been saved are now lost and lying empty, a burden to the state for years to come

• Peasant
      If the State or the Banks concede too early you would have an overnight collapse because the moral base of this Nation is somewhere below ground. How else do you explain the eight hundred thousand bogus non resident Bank accounts on one side and the five hundred thousand people not paying their Household charge on the other.
      Whatever and wherever the real difficulties lie the issue in Ireland is the enormous number of scam merchants.

• the collapse may happen anyway as there is no job creation and too many mortgage holders simply cannot afford to pay, surely creating conditions for economic growth (i.e. job creation and public spending power) would solve this quicker than creating conditions whereby the public has even less money by which to pay (taxing and cutting the hell out of everyone), its not sustainable, either the government or the banks will have to make some concessions

• All mortgage holders should be treated equally – write down 10% of one persons mortgage, you must do it for everyone else.

That is still unfair because some cowboys got interest only mortgages and haven’t paid off any principal yet. (the mind boggles as to why they thought they should get a mortage in the first place if they couldn’t afford it).

Better solution is to extend the term of a troubled mortgage out to 50 years or more, like they did in Japan.

This notion of forgiving people the debts they have incurred encourages me to quit my job and go seek the same forgiveness because I can no longer pay my mortgage. That’s hardly good for the economy if you show people that their neighbour has just got a mortgage write-down that will take me years to pay off if I keep working. Simple solution is to make ones-self unable to pay.

• % my ar@e, that would mean someone with a 2 million mortgage would get a €200k write down, why give write down to those who dont need it? it is an extremely short-sighted way to look at it, as those that dont need it will end up having to pay extra tax to cover the guaranteed banks losses under such a scheme.

• Well if not a percentage then the same monetary amount should be reduced across the board. It can’t be that we selectively forgive people who borrowed and now cannot pay, particularly if there is any element of recklessness in their original borrowing. We are just rewarding recklessness.

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

The only recklessness that happened was on the banks side of things, financial advisors spinning the numbers so people would take out more.

Where was the regulation?

Where?

If someone offered me a 110% mortgage on 20K per annum wage stating I wouldn’t have a problem with the payments because of doctored applications…….who the hell wouldn’t take it. It’s their job to sell….anyone remember a shop call the mortgage store?

Now the original asset is worth 1/2 of the original value and ontop of that you lost your job, getting €180 per week.

Now arb, tell me what you see happening in the future for the 100k people already in arrears?

You think the bank wants all those un sellable houses back? There’s not even enough staff to give them as a bonus.

Tick tock…..the time bomb slowly counts down.

• I didn’t take that offer Ryan. Myself and many others. Please pay back your debts.

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

Ah here don’t beat yourself up over it, I know they were throwing money at people but I guess your credit rating was just too bad. You’ve always got yer ma’s gaff to crash at. I’ll rent ya my second property in south county Dublin on the green line. €1400 pm but I know you can’t afford it as you said on other threads. Ohh and btw both my properties are mine, debt free me, not a sausage owed to anyone. Some of us were smart, others not so much, your the latter. Now you really hate me but you’ll get over it.

• The Mule 13/02/13 #

I’m already on the green line buddy. From what I know the old landlord is doing a fair bit of top up work on my place. Bought at the wrong time, unfortunately for him. What is the difference between him and you? One put it all on red and the other on black. Both clueless.

• The Mule 13/02/13 #

Also, your attitude is typical of the disdain and sneering that a mortgage holder has for somebody renting. The problem with the celtic bubble is that peoples sense of self worth got tied up in how much property they thought they owned. When you suffer from that sort of personality disorder then it naturally follow that these people would look down on renters as second class citizens worthy of pity.

You have shown your true colours here.

• Ryan – who wouldn’t take it? Any intelligent adult wouldn’t.

It galls me that people in jobs with questionable security borrowed stupid amounts of money ‘just cos they were offered it’ and now want to be let off the hook. Let alone borrowing more than 3 or 4 times their annual take home pay.

Under no possible future scenario was their borrowing rational. You can’t play the ‘i was an idiot’ card and now want to walk away. You knew you were just being greedy. Sounds like you might have been well suited to a job in Anglo.

Maybe you should read your mortgage document, sounds like you didn’t bother when you were signing it.

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

Arb….
      Did you miss the point that I made about reckless lending? The bit about financial advisors doctoring paper work, bank managers and under writers signing off on mortgages with even giving them a glimpse?! Getting bonus’ for each mortgage the signed. I know this because of inside knowledge.

It’s all the borrowers fault according to you, however I believe if the ‘banks’ had scrutinised, provided safe and professional practice along with the regulator keeping a check in things, the mortgages wouldn’t be loaned in the first place.

So it is the borrower following dodgy banking practices who’s at fault or the banks for applying the dodgy practices?

@the other fella
      I’m debt free because I was smart. It’s nothing to do with contempt, if I was in a different situation at the time, like the rest if the population I would have taken the bait, lucky I didn’t go for property 3 the wife was right. However that doesn’t mean I’v no sympathy to the people who got shafted by the banks, quite the contrary as I see friends and neighbours struggle with the stress of it all. I feel real bad for those people who don’t know if they’ll have a house this time next year.

As I’v said tock tock, it’s a time bomb waiting to go off. Leaving distressed mortgages until its out of control is a bad thing to do.

• Spot on Ryan.
      From 1st hand experience with 90% of the Irish banks.
      I can truthfully say that, the product was poisoned at source.
      To try and blame the end user, is less than ridiculous.
      1000’s of financial distress related suicides.
      Where is the banks duty of care, in all this?

• Anybody taking bets the CEO will be a FG member with not financial background, so will have to hire external consultants most likely from the failed banks to show him or her how to read a set of accounts?

• Harsh stuff Mule but you make some valid points. However you have to consider that people who are not economists got stung trying to put a roof over their heads and weren’t all greedy property speculators. They trusted that the banks and the government were doing their jobs properly and ultimately ended up being defrauded by the biggest pyramid scheme in the history of the state.

• I’m always reading about how the government or some other offical are displeased with the banks for not dealing with mortgage arrears. Why not blame they people who took out a mortgage and then stopped paying it.

• Fail much in Life? Just asking since you clearly dont have a clue what you are talking about?

• “Fail much in life?” is not a complete sentence.

Au contraire mon freund, I know a lot about this subject. Would you like me to post a screen grab of my savings account?

• they are blamed, the point is that the risk was on both sides and only the borrower has responsibility, the majority in arrears are so due to circumstances beyond their control, if these things arent resolved they will end up costing the state, that is the reality

• Sorry Peasant, the risk was not on both sides. Due to our bankruptcy laws and non-recourse mortgages the risk was almost entirely on the mortgage holders side and that is the way it should remain or any future contracts would be meaningless. You don’t buy a property off a bank. You loan the money off them to buy a property and you owe that money no matter what happens. So if you bought in Priory Hall, tough. Be more careful with your money in future.

• Mule.. To say people just stopped paying their mortgage displays a remarkable level of ignorance of the torment too many of your fellow country men and women are being subjected to today. Take a minute to consider they may very much want to pay their mortgage but due to circumstances that are being engineered by others are simply unable.

• Endas not pleased! Bank bosses are quaking in their boots like never before. Then he goes on about how being able to declare yourself bankrupt is the great solution to people’s problems. Bankruptcy is a tool that was designed by the wealthy to save themselves. It was never aimed at ordinary people.

• Scarr 13/02/13 #

Trolls gonna troll.

• @mule you show a great deal of naivety if you think there’s no risk in lending money, reality contradicts your contention.

• What risk is there on the bank’s side? They probably didn’t account for crazy legislation that blocked repossessions and completely rewrote contract/bankruptcy law.

• the risk is non-repayment, did you really need that pointed out? have you considered the notion that you cant get blood from a stone?, i know one guy that been brought to court 3 times for the one debt, each time the judgement was against him and each time his debt increases, he will never pay it, and before you say this or that will happen to him he will not pay it, he owns nothing and is unlikely to ever work again as he is early 60′s, tell me how the bank took no risk lending to him? the banks were stupid and took incredibly stupid risks, theres plenty of developers sailing off into the sunset without paying their debts’, no risk you say? are you sure?

• Ok, non payment. Then they have an asset that is worth a lot of money. Does it cover the total mortgage plus costs? If no then they persons still owe the shortfall. You can’t get blood from a stone you say but if somebody is 35 are you telling me there is no way they would be able to pay back 100K over their lifetime? Your example of a man in his 60s would be outside the norm. Even then a person like that could find themselves with an inheritance so it is worth the banks while to wait.

• plenty of people of all ages have handed back the house-keys to the banks, the house is worthless unless you can sell it, maybe you aren’t aware of what’s happening to property prices here? or how many empty houses there are? many mortgage holders no longer view their house as an asset and if you would just scroll up the page and look at what’s written in the article, you will see, based on the number of distressed households involved, that the banks did indeed take a great number of risks, you seem to be failing to grasp the extent of the problem, debts have been written off in this country before

• Mule, that’s the typical reaction I’d come to expect from an Irish person who is in a good position: “why would I give a toss about anyone but myself”.

• I spend about 5K a year on the less well off Mark so forgive me when for trying to preserve some more of my income for myself.

• Mule if there is not a solution found we all lose. there are 80,000+ who are close to losing their homes, if they do who is going to house these people

• They can rent somewhere cheap. This village is a bit grim but its an hour from lots of places including Dublin. I would hate to live their but at least its affordable to everyone and it has probably 100 empty houses.

http://www.myhome.ie/rentals/brochure/65-radharc-an-mhuilinn-killucan-co-westmeath/1884407

Here is an apartment that they could easily afford.I woudln’t like to live there but then why should I have to.

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/3-the-orchard-cloverhill-road-clondalkin-dublin-22/2321380

• Think thats the part most of the pro bank brigade don’t realise frank, you can’t have families with children on the streets so someone is going to have to rehouse them and it will be the goverment, so in the end people like the pro bank lobby will end up footing the bill.

• elambra 13/02/13 #

Mule you are exactly right. Good on you.

• Mule
      go on admit it you are really Phil Hogan (or Enda Kenny).

• Admit it Enda you don’t even have a clue what interest only is.
      Europuppet Stoogeen Schoolteacher “Government”
      Sher you’ll have it all sorted out by summer Enda, just in time for another few hundred suicides (and 50,000 emigrations) .
      Hope it doesn’t mess up your generous summer holidays or the Gathering Enda.

Just imagine it Enda
      especially for the Gathering
      you could have lines of distressed mortgage holders throwing themselves into the Liffey on front of The Four Courts all at one time.
      Throwing themselves into the Liffey because of your cowardice and inaction Enda.
      “A True extravaganza Enda.”
      “Bravo”

Add New Comment