TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Gardaí and MCD hold preliminary review of Phoenix Park concert

Gardaí say there were 33 arrests at the Swedish House Mafia concert on Saturday.

A general view of the concert site at the Phoenix Park the day after the Swedish House Mafia concert
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

GARDAÍ AND CONCERT promoters MCD have held a preliminary review of the Phoenix Park concert on Saturday at which one person died and at least seven people were stabbed.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan is to prepare a report for Justice Minister Alan Shatter on the concerts.

In a statement this evening, Gardaí confirmed that there were 511 security personnel present at the concert headlined by Swedish House Mafia on 7 July and there were more than 145 Gardaí on duty.

A total of 33 people were arrested at the concert with most charged with public order, drunkenness, and drug-related offences.

A further 25 people were arrested at the two other concerts held at the Phoenix Park site, headlined by the Stone Roses on 5 July and Florence and the Machine and Snow Patrol on 8 July.

An incident room has been established at Cabra Garda Station to investigate all incidents from the three concerts.

MCD and the Gardaí agreed to carry out a more in-depth review of the concerts looking at all aspects of the event, including security concerns and violence, in a bid to minimise any recurrence.

Man charged with Phoenix Park stabbing >

Swedish House Mafia make statement following Phoenix Park incidents >

Phoenix Park: Shatter promises ‘developments’ in event security licensing >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (28 Comments)

• No Ian u are spot on no need to explain yourself, bang on the money.!

• without oxegen there is knowwhere for the muppets to go bring back oxegen and peace and order will be restored at concerts

• I was at the concert on Saturday, and iv been to a good few concerts, but this was hands down the worst organised event iv ever been to in my life…… From walking in to the concert, getting searched.. Haha well I had combat shorts on 6 pockets. Phone, keys wallet, nothing asked to be taken out and checked, surly at this type of concert with a younger average age than most concert stronger measures should be taken…. Like at hifi back in the day sleeping bags nearly ripped open to find drugs, alcohol. And daft punk in Marley was very strict. And as for in side the venue hahaha. I actually can’t remember seeing any security walking around usualy you see teams of security with head gear on( I’m one of those weird people that actually take notice of these things just a weird bad habit I have) and the bar was a joke NO WATER for sale they ran out!!!! @6.00 in the evening that is a fact because I went to purchase some. I could buy alcohol, and the set up for the bar it was the usual 50 foot bar with and in and out section normal procedure, which was completely surrounded by fencing which From a point of view was understandable, BUT… They had a entry point of maybe 6 feet wide which led into a cueing system of what I call the s’s going up and down to and entry point, nobody asking for I.d. And this silly entry point being more of a risk with people pushing in the heavy mud and security that was there 3 security 1 with a mega phone that didn’t appear to be turned on and a Garda member not looking to bothered. It really seemed that any security that where working really just didn’t want to be there, But all we are going to hear is the usual crap from promotors and Garda offices there was plenty of staff and a bad crowd bla bla bla the more I think back on the night the more it annoys me about all procedures at it…. Which is such a pity because the acts that played really were very good. Just my 2 cents

• I’m somewhat shocked you’d have to buy water. As far back as Feile they had free water stations , when acts like The Prodigy were on there were guys on stilts doling out water to the crowd.
      They really seem to have cut corners to try and eek the maximum profit and it’s the gig goers who have suffered

Even if they were trying to keep the costs down could they not have provided free passes for St Johns Ambulance or similar to attend the gig.
      It was 21 degrees on Saturday a lot of people would’ve been drinking all day, some would’ve taken drugs, no sunscreen and muddy conditions. It seems obvious to anyone with half a brain there would be dehydrated people and people suffering from overindulgence.

I was at The Stone Roses gig and it was a similar / the same set up. They have to check everyone’s ticket and did a pat down search it wouldn’t take that much longer to check bags for glass bottles at least.
      I can understand they were not anticipating people carrying knives

There were a number of run ins between people and security staff on their way out of the bar area. Service at the bar itself was fine but the cattle run used to queue up was incredibly muddy already so I can only imagine how trench like it was by Saturday.

I saw first aid points within the venue but saw no evidence of emergency staff circulating the crowd, likewise for security and gardai – I would’ve thought that would be standard practice.

Also, I’m sure the gardai did their best with the resources but their presence would have been most required at the end of the gig. There were none by Parkgate St on Thursday night so you had people walking into traffic , strewn about on the footpath and the courthouse many didn’t leave the area until the early hours of the morning.

I think all 3 gigs had mostly the same problems it’s just unfortunate that there was a rougher element at Saturdays gig who were able to take advantage of the poor organisation

I’m actually glad the venue will not be used for gigs again, even though I live near the park. It could not be policed properly , traffic is still going through the park and I’m sure other park users will not miss the sight of people pissing and puking all along the tree lined avenues leading up to the gig

• It was a disgrace what happened on Saturday night, anyone with a bit of sense could have envisaged what was going to happen.

Personally speaking I was not there on Saturday but was at Snow Patrol on Sunday. It was a pleasure to attend.

I see the powers that be have stated that there will be no more concerts in the park as a result of ‘that night’. I think this is a sad mistake. I think the park is a great venue just maybe consider the line ups. Concerts that generally attract a younger crowd end up a disaster, and let’s not just brandish this Dublin’s fault. Let us not forget the thousands that got on buses and trains all around the country getting absolutely hammered on the way up to the concert.

Ultimately I think the finger of blame falls upon the promoter who just wanted a quick buck. Security could have refused anyone who was in anyway incoherent but they didn’t, people should have been searched more thoroughly but they weren’t and dare I say it metal detectors installed….

• How can you blame a line up or genre of music for the incidents on Saturday.Ridiculous statement.

• Says the man sticking his middle fingers up? Yeah, that’s my point a gig that attracts a younger demographic has a tendency to attract the idiot concert goer like your fine self. The person who is more likely to go out and get plastered beforehand, sneak in a few drinks and maybe more. Yes it maybe deemed as a sweeping generalisation but I think the figures speak for themselves. The Stone Roses had an older audience along with Florence and The Machine and Snow Patrol and there was very little disturbance so please tell me where I made a ridiculous statement?

• Before you jump down my throat saying not all people at the gig on saturday were idiots, I know that. What I’m trying to say is SOME of the people going to it would have been very immature and went pure wild when put into that environment

• I think it’s unfair to blame the genre of music. I was at an oasis concert a few years back and it was rough out. Went to another after that and it was grand and peaceful. All it needs is for a group of dodgy scangers to decide to buy tickets. Granted its less likely they’ll go to Florence and the machine for example, but just because the Swedish House Mafia are a dance act doesn’t make them any more likely to draw bad eggs,they can turn up at any gig. It’s spotting them and stopping them where the issue is, and that’s up to the promoters to work towards by employing numerous and efficient security guards.

• @Dirt at what point did I mention a genre? Please read comments before you make one. I said a gig that attracts a you get audience which is what Swedish House Mafia would do. You said you were at an Oasis gig years back, guess what Oasis fans were younger then, and as you said you were at one later in life and it was fine, why? Because the fans were older! Ask any fan of the Who, AC/DC etc and they will be first to tell you they ran a muck years ago but would be a lot better behaved today. Many if my friends (I’m 30) said they would have loved to go on Saturday but refused due to the expected messy element

• *younger audience

• @Ian WalshnSo Ian, if it’s the youngsters causing all the trouble, should they just introduce an over 30′s rule? Would that solve it?

• @Chris no need to be so cynical, the point that I’m trying to make is that if there is going to be a younger audience in attendance put the proper measures in place.

I’m in no way a party pooper, I just don’t want something that can be so good being looked at in a negative light and ultimately ruining it for the many people that can behave themselves….

• You’d have thought the Swedish Mafia would’ve been stopped at Dublin airport never mind been allowed get as far as the Pheonix Park to have a house party!!!

• Phoenix Park was a shocking place for a gig.mcd should have known the skangers would show up Saturday.I was at the roses gig and I couldn’t get a drink and the drainage was terrible.I have seen shm in ibiza in a club and the type of people there were great.Unfortunately we this gig Saturday the skangers were mad for aggro and no doubt masking money from drugs.The knives were brought in because they might of known some rival dealers.This is the world these knackers live in where it’s no big deal to stab someone.The cops should have known it was coming.

• auds 11/07/12 #

So they are going to cancel concerts in the park? Why? Yes there were a number of arrests, but as a percentage of the pp, who were there it was less than 1 percent. Why spoil it for the rest of the ppl who had a good time and didn’t cause any trouble. Arrest the ppl who caused trouble, put them in jail ( not suspended sentences because they come from a broken home etc). If we were to stop every event that ppl caused trouble at then we would have to cancel st Patricks day, Christmas and probably every bank holiday weekend. The perpetrators of these crimes should be put on a watch list and banned, let the other 99 percent of us go to a concert, have a great time and come home safely

• the park is no place for any concerts , it is no fair on the animals in the zoo you also have the deer that someone metion already walking on glass…..who every agreed to this should pay now to clean up the mess……

• MCD and Guards meet to discuss what happened at concerts….do either of them know?

I was at SnowPatrol on Sun. Thought the music was great. All three bands were class. The venue looked great but I cant help being appalled at how a beautiful park like Phoenix was destroyed for a few concerts. Ground churned up by rain. No rubbish bins in the park so its littered with cans and bottles. Irish people really are filthy. The poor deer will be walking on broken glass for weeks to come.

I saw lots of aggressive behavior. Lots of young guys supped up on drugs. Lots of pissed girls with no clue where they were, what they were doing, or who they were with. Like that fool from Cork who drove her parents demented for a couple of days.

Bag searched and pat down at entrance but they didnt really look in the bag. Take my water bottle in but not the lid. Bar was fun…almost a stampede at one stage before Snow Patrol played. 2 drinks per person and ID required but we got as many as we wanted.

I didnt think the event was that badly organised. The transport to and from the event went well. I think the 40,000 people maurading through the park afterwards without a guard in sight was probably something that should have been considered.

I have to say Irish guards are shit. None of them look like they could handle trouble….all seem to be a fat bean guards now. I also saw a few acting really aggressively with some pissed girls…..no professionalism about them. Making a situation worse by cursing and screaming at them.

I enjoyed the night. But I cant help despairing that Irish people just cant have fun without getting pissed/drugged and wrecking the place.

Snow Patrol are gods :-)
    Marry me Flo

• I’m not surprised the Gardai on duty were losing their cool. They were faced with complete anarchy in the park and were abandoned by their superiors who failed to deploy sufficient resources to deal with the lawlessness that prevailed.

As soon as it was apparent that things were getting out of hand, Garda management should have called in reinforcements from across the city and further afield to restore order. Instead, they left the few Gardai that were on duty high and dry! The Garda Assistant Commissioner in charge of policing in Dublin has serious questions to answer as to how he presided over a situation whereby this part of the capital city descended into total anarchy on Saturday.

It is the job of the police force, not MCD, to police the state and restore order when citizens disregard the law.

• 150thousand people attended the park over the weekend.of this 58 people were arrested. yes this probably could have been prevented and better handled but don’t bring the rest of the country down with comments like
      “Irish people just can’t have fun without getting drunk/drugged up and wrecking the place”!

• “The transport to and from the event went well. I think the 40,000 people maurading through the park afterwards without a guard in sight was probably something that should have been considered.”
      Funny, there were hundreds queued for taxis at the rank when we left, not one taxi at it though. We had to walk for miles to get one. The transport was a joke- people just spilled out into the city in the hopes of getting a bus or taxi. Terrifying when you’re surrounded by literally 1000s of drunk people.

• Phoenix Park is a terrible venue. Its a logistical nightmare. After the roses on Thursday we had a two and a half hour walk for a taxi. Swampy venue, horrible queues for drinks and no way home that does not involve huge walks. there is no way I’d ever go to a gig there again. MCD must get the park cheap as there are no benefits to having concerts there for fans.

• It’s the venue if it was in Marley park a lot of the trouble would not have happened, I’m not having a pop at northsiders it’s just Marley is a much better venue of u drive u can park there public transport is well laid on the bus park is a 5 kin walk from
    Venue gates and the walk from bus drop off to venue is well securied so the situation where 6 people were held up at knife point for there tickets would not have happened

• The old national stadium what a place
    Gallagher at x mas concerts great
    Anybody out there remember ?

• I thought there were 0 arrests at The Stone Roses?

• And these children that you spit on
    As they try to change their worlds
    Are immune to your consultations
    They’re quite aware of what they’re going through

• Any news of the missing cork girl?

Add New Comment