TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Swedish House Mafia make statement following Phoenix Park incidents

Swedish House Mafia have said that they’ve been asked to remain “quiet and respectful” of event safety processes at the gig.

An image tweeted by Swedish House Mafia from the stage at the Phoenix Park

SWEDISH HOUSE MAFIA, the band who headlined Saturday night’s gig at the Phoenix Park in Dublin have issued a brief statement today.

Writing on their Facebook page the band said that they have asked for all the information and are planning to liase with promoters MCD directly on what they can do to help.

They also said that they have been requested by the promoters to “remain quiet and respectful of their event safety processes”.

The band went on to play at Scotland’s T in the Park festival on Sunday. Calvin Harris, Snoop Dogg, Tinie Tempah and Dublin band Original Rude Boys were also on the line up for Saturday’s show.

Here’s Swedish House Mafia’s statement in full:

We played a festival in Ireland at the weekend and reports of incidents are coming to us. We didn’t see anything but have asked for all the info and are respectful of the promoter’s need to wait and give us all the clear facts.
When we know more we will liase with the Festival promoter directly on what we can do to help but for now we have to respect their request to us that we remain quiet and respectful of their event safety processes.
The festival itself was amazing and we had no idea this had happened and neither did the other numerous artists who played. Once we know all the facts we will deal with it in the best way we can. Thank you. Swedish House Mafia.

Nine people were stabbed at the event on Saturday night and one person has been charged in connection with incidents at the concert, which was attended by 45,000 people.

Yesterday concert promoters MCD issued a statement expressing their disappointment that “an individual or very small number of individuals engaged in anti-social behaviour” at the concert.

MCD managing director Denis Desmond said CCTV footage has been handed over to gardaí.

Three males in their teens or early twenties died of overdoses on Saturday night in Dublin – one of them had collapsed prior to the concert in the Phoenix Park and had sought medical attention inside the arena.

Phoenix Park stabbings: Man charged over attacks at concert>

MCD issues statement after stabbings at Phoenix Park concert>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• “…their request to us that we remain quiet and respectful of their event safety processes.”

Another gag-order from MCD. Disgusting.

• How can you suppose that equates to gagging? If they saw nothing then there’s not much else for them to say! They’ve got zip to do with the festival organisation other than turn up and play. They would have come in the back door in a limo, enjoyed the rider, stand on a stage and then go home.

• Denis Desmond and Eamon Mc Cann are the directors of MCD , this information is a fact . Just as much as saying that Swedish House Mafia were playing the Park last saturday ! FACT . Why are you removing my post Journal .

• Exactly! So why didn’t their statement say something just like that? Including of course, expressing their dismay at what happened, condolences to the dead and a wish for a successful recovery for the injured.

The whole response stinks of the corporate self interest that permeates the whole spectrum of the music industry.

• Translation:”zip your lips and let our legal staff handle it..”

I’m so pleased to hear it was only “10 or 20 ” spoilers that caused all the trouble. They sure left a lot of empty liquor bottles in their wake.

• @Eileen Gabbett Eamonn McCann isn’t a director of MCD.

• ah so you have some sort if connection with MCD then Brian, that explains you’r support for them then…

• Brian Daly
      The company was founded by Eamonn McCann and Denis Desmond, the company name MCD is made up of their initials.[1]
      Mr McCann worked as the public face of MCD organising indoor and outdoor events in Northern Ireland and in relation to bar sales at events throughout Ireland. Mr Desmond was the public face for outdoor events in the Republic of Ireland.[

• It speaks volumes that neither MCD or any of the artists have expressed sympathy or condolences in relation to the injured or dead.

• Good point Sam..

• Spot on Sam! This statement proves to me that while most of these bands like to promote an image of reckless abandon in terms of promotional gimmickry their concern for the welfare of fans is little better than the concert promoters and record labels they associate with.

• THe promoters are afraid of being sued and if they express sympathy that could translate into being responsible ….. Just saying like .

• I remember reading afew months ago when the young irish girl was murdered after the Nicki Minaj concert in Japan, that Minaj tweeted her condolences to the girls family and friends after hearing about it.. and that was AFTER her concert, it didn’t happen there… 3 people died at the concert in the Phoenix Park and SHM or MCD haven’t expressed their sympathies. MCD are more concerned with maintaining they are not responsible, it’s a little sickening…

• MCD have got away with a lot in relation to incidents at oxegen over the years. Although it is very difficult to search everyone and to hold the accountable for one persons actions. Their safety and security procedures should be audited as a whole and they held accountable for any failings.
    This includes the underage service of alcohol , teens smuggling drink in or going in already off their head. And how they dealt with antisocial behaviour and its perpetrators!

• The problem is squarely with the behaviour of the crowd and not the promoter. Take a trip into the city council office and read the gig application for all the safety and security arrangements.

• Not to go too far off subject Brian. You could likewise visit the city council office and read the reams of documents submitted in application for Fire Certificates for developments like Priory Hall and then you could proceed to examine how the provisions set out in these documents were enforced and complied with!

• So Brian you’re of the opinion is mcd don’t have responsibility for the safety and security of the patrons of their concerts from whom they make a fine profit from?

• Metal detectors. Seriously.

I’ve been to sporting events in the US that managed to check everyone with a wand metal detector, including dipping them into handbags.

This is corner cutting and nothing else. It is perfectly feasible to check everyone sufficiently if you spend the money. You don’t need airport level security to do it either, but even this could be processed quickly if you spend the money on equipment and personnel.

And there’s no need to pass on a ‘security charge’ to the consumer either, I’m sure MCD and the gluttons at Ticketmaster can absorb a euro each between the ticket price and the booking fee

• Ridiculous behaviour. I’m an avid trance music fan, been to manys the festival and gig without incident. However, I find that security at gigs in Ireland the UK lax in comparison to continental procedures. I agree with you fully Rónán, MCD are cutting corners here and are seriously putting people at risk by letting little sh*ts destroy a perfectly enjoyable event. I heard that there was little Garda presence at the gig, and that they were just confiscating knifes and letting people off as they went along. I also agree that PP isn’t the greatest spot for a gig…I once got a free ticket to Coldplay two years back (please, don’t judge me ha!!!) and felt that the walk into the site was fairly unsafe. I’m going to see SHM in Milton Keynes next week…let’s hope there’ll be no incidents.

• “just confiscating knifes”

What?!.. I say bring in the Danish knife law. You carry a knife around with you = 7 days minimum mandatory jail time. There are NO reason for anyone to be running around with a knife anywhere.

• Yeah sher that was what the security staff were doing…taking the knives off them and letting them away about their business. That to me indicates that they didn’t have enough guards around to detain people for carrying a weapon….which isn’t good enough imo. Not been a good weekend for festivals over here in England too…Bloc was cancelled because of overcrowding in the Pontoon Dock site near my house in London, with the cause linked to a glitch in their system which led them to oversell by 20,000 tickets. The people at the gates weren’t adequately scanning the barcodes on them either so it was hard to tell who had a genuine ticket and who didn’t. Was going to head to Wireless on Friday to see Deadmau5 but didn’t end up doing so in the end…heard Hyde Park was severely under pressure to keep things ticking over there aswell.

• mcgoo 09/07/12 #

Didn’t these promoters make a complete hash of slane a few years ago as well??

• Knackfest

• Really well I have followed this music all over the world & yes there are clowns that mess it up for the rest of us but overall its great. So knack fest to you. ?Wheel out selector? for me. So as Im the one with more knowledge & experience of these events all I will say is educate yourself.

• I’ve been to my fair share of these festivals following the same kind of music and would say that every single one of them has a bunch of shams knocking about trying to be knts.
      Ireland is no exception.

Almost ‘unlucky’ how bad it turnout out here because of 10-20 nutcases, who probably all came from the same area!

• Name the ones that give you that view of these events even the clubs?

• It was a knackfest… I love this kind of music, i have been in techno & trance festivals in other countries as well, and it wasn’t my first SHM concert, but the most knacker one! I would like to share my observations: I took the 39A from the city. the bus was full of drunk teenagers, then we all got off somewhere on the Navan rd. From the round-a-bout to the concert entrance I saw broken glasses, half naked young girls and boys, vomit, rubbish etc and amazingly 4-5 Gardai. After a long walk, I arrived at the check point. I was checked by the security guys by a metal detector which couldn’t detect my keys with a penknife key-ring and coins. Then walked in… I saw the blood strains on the plastic ground on the way to the toilets, as I was an hour late i had no idea what happened there. anyways, at the place where I stayed for 1,5 hrs, there were 6 fights, 2 passed out people from drugs and/or alcohol and very busy paramedics. About the end of the night I have seen absolutely disgusting behaviours around the toilets area that I cannot write here… I think maybe I was so sober to see all these… so who will get the blame? Gardai, parents, media, social welfare system or education system?? Pick one!

• @Olive
      Pretty good comment – I wasn’t at this one myself so it’s good to hear from someone who can remember!
      To answer your question, I think picking the education system or parents (or whatever else) as the fault of these people is just ignoring the situation and passing blame.

The blame is the current culture.
      Simple as.
      I have so many dole4lifer friends who couldn’t be bothered doing anything else on an average day than just get drink and smokes.

It’s a weird twisted world, and the weird thing is it’s not even an underworld in this country.
      It’s in plain sight, for all of us to see and nothing’s being done about it.

A judge had to put a minimum price on shots in Bundoran a while back because the clubs were selling them to everyone for 50 cent a shot.

What kind of a society needs a judge to say that this is wrong?!

• It’s a shame, the show they put on looks amazing, from sound to lights! I’m not into that genre but I have respect for it and the work that goes into it! it’s a Pity that it draws in the worst of our society but not all of their followers are bad… As I said, it’s a shame!

• Music shows in the Phoenix Park are a bad idea in general I think. Saw the Chillis there myself a few years back and I wouldn’t go to the PP again for an event …. the air was very sinister and felt unsafe.

• Keith 09/07/12 #

Like the concerts me self but wouldn’t put my body through the pain that” 6 or more”pints of watered down Shity Heineken gives you at these MCD controlled events..

• I think limits on crowd size would help make it more manageable. Also crowds that large wreck an area that has had heavy rain. Weather cancellation and/or insurance policy requirements are necessary to prevent trashing the park.

• Peter 09/07/12 #

Maybe I missed something but I too was at the Chillis a few years back in the Park and the atmosphere was anything but sinister! It was the most pointless gig I ever attended due to the woeful sound quality, astronomical number of people and distance needed to walk there and back. FAR FROM SINISTER. This post gets 138 likes, I really don’t know….

• i was at that gig as well, i mustn’t have been in the sinister area. i do remember the toilets were complete mank though and overflowing, and some people were so drunk they didnt even know they were standing in it. we’re an odd country

• It’s the usual thing. Blame the Gardai. Blame the promoter. Blame the bands performing. What about personal responsibility? None of the above encouraged anyone to take drugs, bring knives to a concert or get absolutely obliterated on alcohol. These choices were solely down to the individuals involved. So the blame for all the trouble lies squarely with these individuals. Disgraceful behaviour.

• Gerard 09/07/12 #

If a guard arrests one person it means that guard is tied up for possibly 2-3 hours at best dealing with prisoner, paperwork etc etc. Can you imagine what would happen if each guard were to arrest the first person they found breaking any laws? There wouldn’t be a guard on the street by 5pm. And I heard there were very few guards at the venue or around the location which is just another indication of all the cutbacks and retirements. Sad but true

• I was there yesterday and I was a member of the security sector for 20 years , did all the gigs you could think off, the security aspect seemed quite professional and it seemed to go off without a hitch, that being said it was a different crowd but….. Some of the punters that we’re allowed in initially would make you think again about entrance rules and regs… One girl was dragged in by her friends , fell face down and oh for there’s around her she would have drowned in 3 inches of mud… 2 hours later I see her and her two friends out cold….

• I remember working an Oasis gig in Marley Park where the medical tent got hammered by people coming in badly beaten. It turns out a group of 4 or 5 guys were making their way through the crowd picking people at random and laying into them. Security came down pretty heavy on them when they were spotted, and they were swiftly arrested.

Point is, the actions of a few can ruin the night for many, These lads were not at Oasis for the music, they turned up with the sole purpose of causing harm to the revellers at the gig..

• Trying to do a bit of translation for myself here – The statements read like a FF press release!

Here’s my take on it: The band know nothing or seen nothing; but just in case they do know something they will stay respectful and quiet (as all self respecting rock bands should!) until MCD tells them what went on and then they can all take the stage together and sing from the same score sheet.

• Very good point Sam

• This woul never happen at a Dana concert

• I’m hearing reports of mayhem in the city centre, on the luas & PP before the event, the steps in front of the criminal courts were jam packed with underage drinkers, people getting attacked before they even got to the venue, where were the Garda when all this was going on?

• It was more like a drug fuelled orgy than a concert…

• I was at Eminem at ennents vital last august, drake, ofwgkta and Kanye and Jay in Dublin over the last year, all very good crowds whose fanbases came fir a good time and to enjoy their music. In my opinion too many people just went to pheonix park for a big binge session, thats when the trouble starts, obviously not everyone goes around stabbing people but it just creates a dzngerous atmosphere.

• Not enough law and order in this country.Media should look at events like Saturday and assess where as a nation we have failed.

• It was a failure of society i think… I’m 28 and i might be very conservative but i think young ppl are influenced by all these stupid shows like jersey shore etc. if there was a few misbehaving teenagers around, you may think that it’s a problem of their parents,but there were 1000s of them!

• I was also in PP at Sunday’s gig and it was quite well organised. They had metal detectors and searches on the way in. The security in the gig were on the ball aswell, I saw one voilent incident and it was nipped in the bud very quickly by a security team who werent too heavy handed about it.
    I do agree with Dave about people being locked drunk going in and throughout. I was on the dry myself so noticed it all and the state of some people was madness and made them a danger to themselves and others. I did find myself wishing I had a sniper on the payroll a few times, many of those when disgusting men produced the one eyed snake to wee where they stood. NICE.
    The majority of people I saw too drunk to function were women.

On a positive note Florence and Snow Patrol didnt dissapoint.

• lol, Snoop Dogg played this gig and yet the Swedish House Mafia are getting all the abuse! A quick review of each acts lyrical content should reveal who the likely offender was there to see.
    Having said that, when I went to see Fatboy Slim (headlining Marley Park) last year the crowd was INSANE. People vomiting on the bus on the way down, people so waisted on pills they couldn’t stand; one guy had to be carried off the bus barely concious – and this was about half six in the evening, they weren’t all 17 year olds either, plenty of people in their mid/late twenties and early thirties completely off their heads, either drunk or on pills or coke or whatever. At the gig there were fights breaking out all over the place, it was nuts!! I think it’s as much the culture as anything else. I’m amazed half those on the bus we got into the gig at all (or could walk to the entrance for that matter).

• Jack. 10/07/12 #

Reading all these horror stories make me never want to go to a concert that isn’t in a proper venue (such as the O2 etc). It sounds absolutely horrible.

If I were to experience what ye are talking about at a gig it would ruin my night.

• I wasn’t at the SHM gig, but was at the Florence/Snow Patrol one. While there was significantly less violence/shenanagins at that, it was still very poorly managed in a lot of areas. I think the fact that it attracted a generally older/different “type” of punter probably helped make it calmer (not that I’m judging any SHM fan!).
    For instance, there was no crowd control at the portaloos. Literally every woman for herself. Amazed someone didn’t get badly hurt there.
    It was also downright terrifying walking out of the gig later-thousands of people all streaming out, overrunning the place, not a taxi to be seen at the “rank” that had been set up, yet hundred standing at it.
    I’ve been the gigs at the Phoenix Park before and similar happened, so I won’t be going to anything there again. If MCD can’t run the outdoor events properly, they shouldn’t do them at all.

• I dunno.. Maybe I’m being harsh but surely if there was enough security & Garda presence at the gig all this wouldn’t have happened?..I’m sure we’ll be hearing more & more as the week progresses anyway.. Such a pity all that trouble ..

• Down with this sort of thing

• The age that you are allowed buy alcohol should be raised!

• Everyone was frisked and a metal detector used going into snow patrol on Sunday so can be done!

Add New Comment