TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll: Are you satisfied with the government’s work on jobs?

The Government launched its Action Plan on Jobs for 2013 today.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

IRELAND’S UNEMPLOYMENT RATE currently stands at 14.6 per cent with about 430,000 people receiving some form of jobseekers’ benefit.

In an interview with US television yesterday, Michael Noonan admitted it was one area in which government still had a lot of work to do. The Minister said it was hard to translate a slowly-growing economy into jobs.

However, he claimed that unemployment had stabilised, noting that a large number of people who were engaged in the construction industry had to be retrained and redeployed to other sectors of the economy.

Today, the coalition outlined a number of reforms which it hopes will aid job creation and get the long-term unemployed back to work. One proposal is the JobsPlus initiative which will see businesses receive cash-back for every jobseeker they employ.

But is it enough? Are you satisfied with the government’s work on jobs?

Poll Results:

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (106 Comments)

• I could have applied for a course today that would help gain me a qualification and up skill me and allow me to start my own business. Sounds perfect right? Er no. I have to be at least 12 months on job seekers benefit before I could apply. I am 5 months out if work. So instead if getting a way back into employment or self employment, instead I must ask the state to pay me an allowance for at least another 7 months, allow my self esteem to further decline and hope I get work in the mean time. Makes total sense. ???? I just can’t understand the logic of this.

• I’m in the same boat Carly…
      Trying to start something myself, but I can’t get any assistance at all.
      Been unemployed for 4 months , but I can’t get on to a scheme for 6/7 months. And as for the bank entertaining me with a small loan to get started!!!! (I could still hear them laughing as I walked down the road)
      UK , US or OZ bound very shortly I think..

• Why do you need any assistance from the government? Just sign up for the course. I’ve gone back to university to upskill and haven’t received anything from the government/state. The fee’s are good value from an international perspective and you have nearly a full year to pay them. Instead of looking for handouts and letting your self esteem decrease further go out and improve yourself and stop looking for excuse’s and state handouts.

• If you’re in education, you’re not available for work and so not eligible for job seeker’s benefit, Bill. More than likely, Carly’s talking about a fas-type course if it’s specifically open to people over a year unemployed.

• E D 22/02/13 #

Let me guess Bill, you drive to “university” in a range rover that you use to tow that horse in the picture around in?
      Lucky for you.

• Or just pay for the course yourself!! Right??

• these are only the figures for those claiming jobseekers, the you must factor in those on Back to Education Allowance, Scambridge, One Parent Family Payment, and self employed who are not on the live register either,

• National Unemployment rate is 14.6% – And it would be far higher only for thousands of people had the good sense to emigrate. Here in Waterford, it is a black spot for unemployment – one of the highest in the country – 25% or more. Half of this city is over in Australia. Literally – the most common surname in Australia will be Power in 5 years at this rate.

And shame on the Government for excluding migration figures when discussing unemployment rates in any debates. The real figure must be put into context. 14.6% is only the tip of the iceberg.

• Shame

• My missus is unemployed, they wont give here any money any more as she lives with me (and I work). They still want her to go down and sign on every week even though they won’t give here any monies at all, I’m sure you can guess she doesn’t bother her hole to go down and stand in a q for hours to get nothing, There must be plenty more cases like this that are under the radar.

• Just wondering if anything has been spent from the EGF fund down there and how successful was it? The one in Limerick after Dell moved overseas for more profits was a disgrace in the way it was wasted.

• 1,000′s unemployed,1000’s leaving the country,wage cuts,property tax,water charges,septic tank charge,cuts to child benefit,special needs cuts,carers allowance cuts,apart from all that ya this government are doing a fantastic job and dont forget all the lies they and labour told to get themselves a majority in the dail,not so long ago fine gael wanted kenny out as the leader of the party now he’s the taoiseach,sums up this country in a nut shell

• That is correct Denis, just a few months before the general election there was a bid to oust Kenny as leader of the Fine Gael party. We don’t know how that vote went, Before that Noonan was ousted as Fine Gael leader not fit to run the party but now he holds the most important job in the cabinet. My suggestion come next election …NOBODY SHOULD VOTE FOR ANY POLITICIAN… Yes we should boycott the election, that would make them take heed to the electorate…

• No.

I’m not one of the people who howls in outrage at every action of the government, but I reckon their record on jobs is probably the most disappointing aspect if this administration.

This plan should have been one of the biggest priorities on taking power (after all, get someone off the dole is a great way of cutting government spending too).

We should also be a long way into addressing the structural problems in employment at the moment (no skills to fill available jobs and no jobs to match available skills).

Plus, I would have really like to see some incentives to get people who do have money (and they do exist) to spend it.

• “However, he claimed that unemployment had stabilised, noting that a large number of people who were engaged in the construction industry had to be retrained and redeployed to other sectors of the economy”

They’d need to entice them all back from Australia first…eejits.

• That’s it, now what you do is cut the sh1te out of everything, tax people into the ground and now come up with another “jobs plan” to get everyone back to work, what about the last 5 point plan that’s disappeared like this one will, its just another deflection to take your attention away from the property tax etc. there is no plan this gang of teachers have never run a business, they are just used to telling people what to do, they never listen, overpaid gobs*ites

• There’s still significant numbers of people who previously worked in construction but who have not emigrated.

Sadly our previous over reliance on the construction industry means that there will never be enough jobs for those people. Retraining and redeployment to other sectors of the economy is the only way for them to get back into the workforce.

• Given your tireless shilling for FG on here, David, perhaps you could ask Enda what retraining my 59 year old father can do and who, with government assistance, will hire him? He’s got countless years’ experience in first and second fix carpentry, as well as being an experienced foreman and construction project manager.

I suppose he’ll get an ECDL certificat from FAS and be off to head up one of Google’s R&D team soon, yeah?

How about the other four guys of ye same age he’s worked with, they can’t all have lovely tech jobs with twitter, can they?

But hey, at least the figures look good… not many Spanish or Italians have emigrated to Australia.

It’s window dressing. Nothing more.

• Alan…. this is the elephant in the room nobodys talking about. .. all the over 40s that will not be employed due to massive age discrimination in this country. ..sure it’s great to bring along the googles..PayPal etc to Ireland …. to employ Spanish. .Germans… Italians etc… what about investing in our infrastructure and getting our legions of older workers back to work? …oh…I forgot. ..We have to send any money we have abroad to pay unsecured bond holders. ..silly me

• Indeed, and that’s just it!

I have no problem with the govt encouraging companies to locate on Ireland with high-tech jobs and all. They pay well an those employees will rent/buy property, shop here, pay tax here, drink in bars here etc… All necessary for the economy to tick over . But there is a massive drain on the tax take through the various unemployment payments, medical cards etc and its not going to be solved by spending money where it’s not needed and not spending if where it actually is.

Older, but still in working age, people can’t simply do a course and redeploy themselves elsewhere. Most, of not all, have done the same job, or type of job , for the last 20-30 years.

Not addressing that and engaging in money-go-round schemes like they’ve announced today will do nothing to solve that.

• Totally agree Alan. … no probs with people from anywhere paying taxes here from productive employment. … we still have large gaps in our infrastructure here that could be addressed by sensible investment which if properly managed and thought out could get some of our more experienced construction workers back working again. … the government does not seem to understand the economics of the domestic economy and continues to ignore it at our peril. … seems it’s the same old nonsense up at Leinster house with jobs for the boys being the main concern

• Now David, your constant defending of the dear leader and his party is admirable but tiresome to be honest. With regard to training people do you recall anything about the EGF fund of about €54 million that was wasted by your administration which was supposed to have been specifically targeted at construction workers so that they could re-train? Any comments on that please?

• @Joe Shaw – no we once again are the eejets – . this is all window dressing for IMF . they could not care less about Irish – or else they would not have driven tens of thousands of potential taxpayers out of country- which may have ” stabilised unemployment ” – but is a sign of a failed state and faioed policies of Austerity /
      these ” people ” go abroad and BS – and give an impression that they are doing a fine job . the ones that have got out IMO are the lucky ones .
      The politicina s need to be thrown out of office – like soon . The Liffey might be a good place to depoist them – if they survive – they are agents of the Devil and shpuld be hung – and if they drown – well they were guilty of robbing the people .
      After all since we are headed back to the middle ages – surely that is fair .

• Regardless of the bailouts/bondholders etc, construction rose to 25% of economic activity at its peak. There’s absolutely no way we can every achieve that level again.

The only way to provide work for ALL unemployed construction workers would be to create another construction bubble, which would provide a temporary set of jobs for people, but in the long run would be another disaster.

To anyone who has been in construction all their lives and for whom retraining isn’t an option, I honestly do not know what the solution is for them. But I think we can all agree another construction bubble is not the answer.

• David, nobody has suggested or intimated that we need or ought to create another construction bubble. To suggest that they have is incredibly flippant of you.

But it is nice at least that you have, in a round about way, agreed that the current Government is doing nothing for a huge portion of the long-term unemployed which, today, they claim to be targeting.

• PEOPLE higgins is a goverment stooge beaware the propaganda .

• higgins Alan kennedy has wiped the floor with your dribble ,the time has come for you to go and do something else .

• Julie 22/02/13 #

Ticket and visa got for Australia after months looking for jobs when I left college.sister and boyfriend gone, 2 cousins gone, 20-30 people I know gone, another few heading over in July. I live in a very small town, that only a quarter of people who have gone. Job creation are you having a laugh. Maybe if I had gone and studied IT I would have had some hope, but with my course there is nothing.
    The jobs section in my local paper takes up sometimes half a page 2 to 3 adds but mostly just one job a week and the rest are training and courses.

Government can’t seem to grasp something pretty basic , okay you increase taxes or decrease welfare, people have less disposable income, which means they don’t have as much money left after they pay all their bills to spend in the local economy, therefore not enough business generated for the local retailer and they close, 4 people lose their jobs. This might happen at least in every town at some stage after prop tax and water charges. That means gov have to spend more because they have more people signing on, plus they will have to increase your taxes to make up for this.

Maybe the government need to stop taxing and cutting to pay banking debt and start investing some money in the economy to boost business and in turn more staff needed woohoo job creation.

• Ryan'O 22/02/13 #

Good luck Julie :) I’m in the first stages if the visa process my self , fingers crossed I’ll be spending this Christmas in hot perth with my family and friends who are already there.

• Julie 22/02/13 #

Good luck to you too, in sure you will get the visa fine. It pretty standard enough. Yup will be on a beach somewhere myself having a BBQ next Christmas weird thought. Your lucky most of your family out there most of mine are here so it mixed emotions of happy and sad. Looking forward to meeting my sis longest I have gone without seeing her. And we meant to believe Enda and his buddies are doing their best to create jobs their doing the total opposite and then creating stupid schemes(scams) just to make it look like the numbers have been reduced.

• Well said julie…. good luck in oz. ….

• Julie 22/02/13 #

Thanks Marc. hopefully it will all work out, sorry it has to work out because at the moment its my only option. would like to thank bankers politicians and media. Bankers and politicians are the ones that caused this mess, how funny it is that they are the only ones getting away scot free. You gotta love Iceland

• I think they are starting to believe their own lies.

• If the government wait long enough the country will right itself and no doubt the tools will claim they fixed it. I have 4 daughter’s and they haven’t a chance have they. I hate this kip

• All they have done is kill the domestic economy.

• Thumbs up if you think the goverment are out of touch with reality,get paid too much and are incompetent at what they do.. Thumbs down if you really love ENDA..!!! :))

• Sibhs 22/02/13 #

Just because the government announces new jobs, it doesn’t mean they actually had anything to do with creating them. They only jobs the government create, are for their cronies.

• Hahaha. Bloody hell. How can anyone in this country say that they are happy with this governments performance on jobs? Even David Higgins and Richard Rodgers will have to put their hand up on this one.

• No one’s happy with over 14% unemployment, but considering most other countries in Europe have seen massive increases in unemployment over the past two years, stabilising unemployment in itself in an achievement.

Yes emigration plays a significant part of the stabilisation, but even looking at the number of job losses, we’re doing much better than the rest of Europe, especially better than the other PIGS countries.

• Blind subservience and ignorant drivel

• Ah c’mon David. Enda promised us 100,000 jobs 2 years ago. You’d have thought that at least some of those jobs would have been here at this stage. Face facts, they’re completely out of their depth.

• To be fair to Enda he did create a lot of jobs – for government special advisers!

• Well paying jobs too Con.

• There was a large reduction in the number of special adviors vs. the last government.

Sadly the pay cap was breached a number of time but overall their salary levels are down and there’s less of them.

• “No one’s happy with over 14% unemployment, but considering most other countries in Europe have seen massive increases in unemployment over the past two years, stabilising unemployment in itself in an achievement.”

You haven’t stabilised unemployment. How dare you include those who have emigrated in great numbers in your metrics for “stabilising unemployment”. That is the main factor for the unemployment rates not sky-rocketing even further. Why doesn’t Fine Gael ever take about this? Why don’t they accept the HUGE role that people being forced to move abroad has on the unemployment figures? Emigration has tripled since the ‘good times’. That’s the reality. Stability has zero to do with this Government’s work. Zero.

Be honest for once. Just once.

• E D 22/02/13 #

Could someone in The Journal organise a charity event where we could throw rotten fruit at the serial thumbs down posters like David here, it’d be great craic for a good cause.

• David- I’ve read many of your pro-government comments, often with surprise, given the way you seem intransigently wedded to towing the party line, regardless of their performance, but never has your inability, and indeed unwillingness, to see the reality of this situation been more evident. Defending FG’s failed jobs policy is bad, galling even, given its lack of substance, but trying to claim things could be worse, by deflecting to other struggling countries is pure political cowardice. Without a mass exodus of our youth, and the careful movement of people from unemployment to other welfare programmes, our figures would be much worse, as you nonchalantly brushed over. Your willingness to ignore the facts, so as to defend failed policies that are ruining the lives of the middle and working class is more of the shameful stuff we see everyday from government benches. FG, or their more polished cousin, FF, may welcome such blind commitment, but increasingly our wider society is starting to call it what it is, soulless waffle.

• Bluffing their way through a term, get their pensions and dissappear!

• im still unemployed, so to say im satisfied with the government’s work on jobs could be taken up as a lie….!!

• Mass emigration doesn’t count as the country being stable. Just as many jobs being lost – as being created. Enjoy your stay f/Gael , it will be short lived. As for labour ( the sell out party)
    They should be erased from history.

• Gerard 22/02/13 #

yeah . erased from history , Just like F.F. were , oh hang on the sheep have just returned them .
      An Ambassadores wife when she was leaving the country ( can’t remember who it was) was asked for her thoughts on Ireland and the Irish , her reply was all the usual cliches but her last remark was that she thought the Irish ” have lost their sense of outrage ” hhhhhmmmmmmm interesting and so right .
      thats why we are in the c**p ,talk the talk but ……..

• No but their policy on emigration is going swimmingly! What need for jobs when you can slowly squeeze the population so that more and more numbers leave our shores…shortening the dole queues! Well done “the government”….er…all government!

• They haven’t a clue what to do, bar disgracefully keeping their fingers crossed that our people keep emigrating in their tens of thousands!

• The only reason the unemployment levels are as low as they are is because so many people have left! No problem for the government there.

• Well somebody must have been employeed to come up with the action plan.

• after taking the illegal promissory notes and turning them into sovereign debt they are far from doing any good!!

• Basically, if you are not a software developer, you better not mind queuing and being rather hungry…

• I dont think that there is anyone happy with the Job the goverment is doing full stop…..

• Unemployment has been stabilised? because there are people leaving the country every day of the week !! government should be run out of the Dail! we have sat back and let them ruin this country and now we have to pay our debt by 2052??? that’s our children’s debt ! and no one seems to care . I’m done with this country !

• Of course it’s stabilised. All the youth have gone. The great thing about statistics and percentages is you can slant them any way you want. I reckon the true unemployment is closer to 20% if everyone came back tomorrow.

• Our idiotic government needs to learn that in order to create jobs you have to spend money, this in turn gives people money in there pocket which they can spend creates confidence and the wheels start turning again. There so called initiatives are merely efforts at political point scoring, we all know Enda has given all of our potential seed capital to the Germans. Fair play to ya Enda your lookin out for the Irish, and oh yeah I didn’t forget that this is all the last administrations fault, you plank.

• They have done nothing but create useless “action plans”

• If you suck out all the money that has been taken from the economy over the last 5 years through ever increasing taxation of course jobs will be destroyed. €250 by the change in PRSI, €400 in property tax, €300 in water charges in the next year alone means spending of individuals and families is only going one way, down. This report sets some great targets – the IDA to secure 130 investments creating 13000 jobs. Think of a figure, click your heels twice and wish, ta da! Another report of useless rubbish that will do nothing but gather dust.
    The last plan stole from people’s pensions and created no new jobs. This one seems to be finding new and not very imaginary ways of doing the same!

• 100% NO!! Omg that’s telling them!!

• The government have done extremely well on jobs.
      The length of dole cues are increasing.
      Emigration is at 80,000 well qualified, well educated, well schooled (mainly) native Irish people per year.
      Yet immigration is at 50,000 per year????
      A famine or a grotesque plague could not have done better.

• Its f^%$ed, the whole EU plan is not equal. The bottom line is, not your skills, come 2nd, 3rd stage of your interview amongst 1,000 for that one job – what are your salary expectations? that my friend has been dwindled and dwindled and squeezed to minimum wage rates over the past 5 years. We don’t need this crap, but i wonder how long they can continue making poor mouths and spouting lies.

• sean 22/02/13 #

Nein

• They hide the real stats behind courses, emigration etc. This like the former government failed miserably in these areas. Only job creation they are doing is jobs for the boys.

• If you look at the unemployment rate, this 14% has come exclusively from the private sector. So when the economy collapsed, 30% of the jobs in this sector were wiped out in one stroke. The government is going to protect its own, with the Croke Park agreement so we get these bones thrown to us to show they’re trying something. A couple of hi-tech / customer service positions aren’t going to make any difference.

• What work on jobs?

The only way the government can influence the creation of jobs is by stimulating the domestic economy, austerity does the opposite, so the government has done nothing to deal with unemployment. Yes the IDA are paying for jobs to be created and the government would like to take responsibility for that but that is nowhere near enough!

• I’m thrilled!

(I heard today was Opposite Day by the way)

• Ehhhh, let me think about that. NO!

• Just keep bring in cheap labour from Eastern Europe and sure the irish will all just leave that what it looks like to me

• many jobs filled here where theres an abundance of home grown skills are even been filled by non-EUs, anywhere the job can be done cheaper. its business for their buddies in business, sure Richard Bruton said it, we need to be competitive! imo i think it should be illegal, wouldn’t happen in Canada or Australia or even Brazil where the job can be filled by home grown talent. Even with the minimum wage here, if i had a home country where that weekly wage is worth triple, i’d be sending it home too plus of course i get the huge child benefit for my kids that don’t reside here – a great incentive if you’re not from here. I know many are here with their house back home on the rent market.

• The government does not and should not have amandate for job creation per se but should put a system in place which facilitates employers to hire. There are plenty of studies and models to back this up. Creating and pushing the knowledge economy only widens the gulf between skilled and unskilled. We need balance in employment across sector and skill and no scheme currently successfully facilitates this.

• It would be interesting if the government could publish a breakdown of the unemployed to identify what sectors and skillsets they are from. Different solutions are needed if 80% of the unemployed are construction and hospitality, for example, rather than IT and Financial Services. Retraining may be required in both cases, but with different targets for bringing companies in to ireland to employ them etc.

• Just to be clear: govt can’t really create jobs,but they can provide the conditions for job creation

• Ah yes Brutons drive on jobs…Herd our popuation onto planes and export them to austraila….

• Ah come on. You could ask this question in any country at any time and the answer will always be NO. Dumb question.

• The government doesnt create jobs, industry creates jobs , and to help industry you need to lower commercial rates, lower taxes , ease planning regulations , ease all regulations in general.

The very people here complaining there are no jobs are the ones who recoil in horror at corporate tax cuts and deregulation , you cant have it both ways , the best way for the government to create jobs is to not interfere in business.

• pauric 22/02/13 #

Ff were not as bad as these crounys fg they want every other body to take pay cuts.but enda refuses to even sinnfein take pay cut.people in this country deserv all they get

• Why do so many people seem to think the government creates jobs?! The government can create jobs mostly unsustainable jobs. The government is needed to foster good conditions for private business to boom.

• To be honest, I am one of the people that do believe that the government is doing a lot on job creation. They have continued the transition of Ireland from an agricultural to a high skilled country. This is evident in the design, gaming, pharmaceutical and agri-food areas. Ireland has a great reputation across the world for being a high tech country (yes we have great tax rates but that’s not everything).
    The country is adding a lot of jobs in these areas, but this is offset by jobs lost in other, decreasing areas such as traditional high-street shops like HMV. What the government should do is have a more open immigration policy, and to keep more money in peoples pockets to increase consumer demand. I’m happy with this governments progress in this area, but not everything they have done in general. People in this country have to realise how much of a shambles the country was before hand, and how bad we looked.

Add New Comment